Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 0 minutes ago

1 of 18 View Larger Image
  • The Crows Nest - Devon - 995371 - photo 1

13 people have recently viewed this property

The Crows Nest

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 995371)


Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets No

  • Show on map


  • Broadband / WiFi
  • Seaside
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

9 Customer Reviews

  • "Great service."

    The flat needs some TLC, broken fittings, mish mash of crockery etc. Dated sofa and a very feeble shower. Some things lovely such as the huge space and some furniture but a little bit dated and tired.

    Many thanks for leaving us your feedback. We were sorry to read that the presentation of the property for your stay was not satisfactory. We have passed on your comments to the owner and can only apologise for the inconvenience caused. We do hope you still had an enjoyable stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by LucieJul 2021

  • "The house is very warm and comfortable and centrally located but as a result of its location there is virtually no parking provision other than the short stay pay car park which is not practical as you can only stay overnight for £2 between 6pm and 8am."

    too much worrying about am i going to get a ticket outside in one of the dozen or so street parking spaces which are limited in hours. we didnt get a ticket so i dont know how accurate the parking signs are.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were really pleased to read that the property was comfortable for your stay. We were only sorry that you had some difficulty with the parking arrangements and struggled to park for longer periods of time. About a five minute walk from the property, there is indeed a long stay car park available. We were sorry you did not come across this and hope that you still enjoyed Salcombe at its finest. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by RussellMay 2021

  • "The cottage is surprisingly hard to find."

    The street has absolutely no parking and even loading and unloading is shocking. There's a gap on the opposite side of the road, but you're not supposed to park or stop there. The car park is 15 minutes walk. Check in procedures are outrageously inconvenient. You have to go pick up the key at the rental office, then go check in, then go park the car. You have to loop around the village to do that as it's all one way. Would it be so hard to have a key safe at the property like every holiday cottage on the planet? The place is clean and homily, but was so grumpy by the time I got there I really wished I had booked somewhere else.

    We were terribly sorry to read that you had some difficulty with arriving at the property and that you felt the key arrangements were inconvenient. We have passed on your suggestion for a keysafe to the owner. We were pleased to have read that the cleanliness of the property was satisfactory for your stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Salcombe soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by YaraSep 2020

  • "Shower needs updating can't stand under it properly due to shape of bath and not very powerful."

    Smart TV but can't use it due to Wi-Fi dropping out constantly

    Reviewed by LynnSep 2020

  • "We visited Salcome 3 years ago and stayed at The Crows Nest."

    We booked again for September this year but were very disappointed as the property was not up to the previous standard. There were many issues including problems with the lock on the entrance door which was not resolved. Also, the property appeared not to have been cleaned to a good standard as there was a filthy tea cloth in the kitchen. The TV did not work and there was no foot mat in the bathroom. Overall, very disappointing.

    Reviewed by WendyAug 2019

  • "The property was furnished with broken furniture and there was a broken towel rail in the bathroom with its bits dumped on top of the mirror cabinet."

    Other people's socks were left in the wardrobes, open & half eaten bags of crisps & biscuits were left in the kitchen cupboards. The cutlery, crockery and glassware all had to be washed before use as it was so greasy. A filthy tea towel was also left in the Kitchen which gave serious concerns about the general cleanliness of the property. So - having rented through C&C (under mine & my wife's names) for many years, we were really disappointed on this occasion. We never usually complain but I will also do so by email when I get a moment as this was sub-standard. I very much hope that our next booking in August is a significantly better experience in terms of the property?!

    Thank you very much for your recent feedback, we were very disappointed to hear that the property was not satisfactorily presented for your arrival, the team work very hard with our owners and housekeepers to ensure high standards of cleanliness are maintained and we apologise that this had slipped through the net. Your feedback has been passed over to the Housekeeper and will ensure this is not repeated, please rest assured that your future visit to Salcombe will be a more pleasant stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in August. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DominicJun 2019

  • "We had a great half term break."

    The crow's nest was perfect for us (2 adults 2 kids). It's has a great feel and we will definitely come back to it. Many thanks, benny

    Mr C HillNov 2015

  • "Excellent location, well appointed and clean."

    Aug 2015

  • "The house was a great size, very clean and convenient"

    Oct 2014

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • Two bedrooms, both on first floor: 1 x King and 1 x Twin
  • Family bathroom with shower over bath, w.c, basin and heated towel rail
  • Dining room
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting room.
  • Night storage heaters
  • Fridge/freezer, washing machine/tumble dryer, oven, hob, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, kettle
  • TV, Sony Blu-ray player, orbit sound bar and iPod dock
  • Decking area
  • Wifi available
  • Bed linen and towels supplied, Guests will need to bring their own beach towels

The property

The Crow’s Nest is a homely duplex apartment in a fantastic location in the heart of Salcombe.

With easy access to the town estuary and local beach, this is the ideal property for couples and families.

Walk up the few stone steps to enter the property on the first floor. Leading through to a hallway and dining area with a large table and seating for up to 6 people. Adjacent to the dining area is a fully equipped galley kitchen with modern units, 4-ring halogen hob, electric oven, dishwasher, fridge/freezer and washer/dryer.

The living room is light and spacious with a large L-shaped sofa, coffee table and leather chair with an additional pouffe, facing a large flat screen TV.

A wooden bookshelf is also tucked in the corner of the room which can be useful for storing belongings.

Walk up the stairs to find both bedrooms.

The master bedroom contains a king-size bed, bedside units, large chair, dressing table and a wardrobe.

The second bedroom has 2 single beds and bedside units.

The upstairs floor also has a family bathroom including a bath with an electric shower over it, WC, wash-hand basin and a heated towel rail. There is a small outside decking area to the rear of the property with great views across to East Portlemouth.

Salcombe has a wide range of pubs, restaurants and local galleries and boutiques to keep you thoroughly entertained during your stay. A cosy and ideally located holiday cottage for you and your loved ones.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

Located in town centre opposite The Ferry Inn.

Decking is accessed via a series of stone steps shared with neighbouring properties.

No pets permitted.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas