4.6★ Very good Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Sleeps 10 Bedrooms 5 Bathrooms 5 Pets Yes Show on map Features Off road parking Open fire Garden / Patio Highchair available Washing machine Dishwasher Games Room Seaside Sky TV Broadband / WiFi Reviews & Ratings Accuracy of the listing Cleanliness Comfort Facilities 15 Customer Reviews "Very disappointed at the letting agents proactiveness." There is an ongoing complaint still unresolved since we first arrived and I last spoke about in on Thursday and yet you still send me this questionnaire ??? Not having an en-suite bathroom and toilet with any functional lighting is quite an issue and we had to take the oldies who would need the bathroom in the night out if a twin room and put youngsters in there. Really not ideal Reviewed by AlysonOct 2021 "Nice kitchen but really need to de-clutter the kitchen cupboards, one small empty cupboard for use of up to 10 people is insufficient." Otherwise no complaints. Please note the large fridge appears to be leaking. Thankyou for your comments and we are delighted you enjoyed the house. We are very sorry you found the kitchen cluttered but we do leave 2 large cupboards and 4 drawers empty for your personal use. We don’t seem to be able to win as many say the house is well stocked and others find it cluttered. We try and meet all expectations and catering for 10 adults, it is difficult. Thankyou also regarding the fridge and we will get our caretaker to look at it. Response from the owners Property Owner Reviewed by PeterSep 2021 "We were thrilled to return to this gorgeous area of Devon and Treetops is a substantial and attractive house." We did however have some initial issues with the dirty barbecue that did not work properly. If previous guests do not leave it clean they should lose some of their deposit and the cleaner should clean it for the new guests. The caretaker did come and sort this out after we complained. The outside space (patio) was unswept, which you would not expect from a luxury rental. The house was surface-clean and tidy, lovely bathrooms, comfy beds, good quality sheets and towels. There were however cobwebs in all the rooms and large spindly spiders in the corners of almost all the rooms which we had to either live with or remove. The house would benefit from a bit of a de-clutter. Kitchen cupboards, drawers, utility room etc. The location is fabulous,though quite a steep climb which was fine for us but not an older group of guests. Overall this is a good holiday house that would benefit from some extra attention. Thank you for your feedback, although we are sorry you found problems with our wonderful home We employ the highest quality cleaners and gardeners to meet expectations but even they are up against the elements and our location! The terrace had been swept prior to your arrival but trees do drop detritus and in inclement weather spiders go for nice cosy nooks. We are sorry you found this an inconvenience and we do leave brushes to remove cobwebs as this is obviously a recurring problem. As for the clutter, we leave cupboards and drawers empty for your own things. If these have been filled, it is down to the fact our previous tenants have not been caring. We do have a lot of things as this is a large house and many would complain if they found it was not sufficiently equipped. Our cleaners have a short time in which to get a large house cleaned particularly in these difficult times and we can only apologise if drawers were not emptied. We appreciate the BBQ was not up to your standard, but this had been checked and our caretaker sorted this for you straight away and repaired the broken knobs which had been forced. Owners of Treetops Property Owner Reviewed by AngelaJul 2021 "Excellent house." Very nice bedrooms and bathrooms well suited to large family group, super well equipped kitchen, nice sitting and dining rooms and garden with great patio. Only very minor downside was rather more cobwebs than might be expected. Only rated ‘met’ expectations because we were there last year so knew what to expect! Position outstanding. We were delighted to welcome you back to Treetops and thank you for your feedback. We have spoken to our cleaners, and we are sorry for any inconvenience. Unfortunately, spiders manage to creep in from the woods quite quickly! We reinvest most of our rentals each year into our property and the inside of the house had been painted with a new kitchen floor, utility room upgraded and a total refurbishment of the upstairs bedroom and expanded bathroom. In addition, new doors had been placed at the front and upstairs and we had replaced a bathroom window to provide a better aspect. We will continue to invest in the property to meet the high expectations of our clients and have further renovations planned for this winter. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon. The Owners of Treetops Property Owner Reviewed by PeterJul 2021 "Nice location , very quiet, comfortable, bit hilly, beaches near and good, ideal for family." Reviewed by JohnMay 2021 "Loved the property - we were a party of 10 and it was ideal." The shower rooms in most bedrooms were new and large, the kitchen was a good space and the outdoor area was excellent. Unfortunately the bbq cylinders left were both empty but after a call to C&C, new ones were brought the next morning (thank you). Regrettably, even with our calls from three days in to the holiday, the rubbish that had been left in the bins which were full were never emptied. We were surprised this was not resolved at this bearing in mind the cost of the holiday wasn't cheap. No recycling opportunity which is regrettable but we had seen this from previous comments so took all of ours back home to recycle. The property is 10 min walk to both North Sands and South Sands beaches (and about 20 minute walk back because of the hills). Probably about 30-40 minute walk into the town of Salcombe depending on whether you are a strider or an ambler! Bantham Beach nearby is worth a visit (it is huge and great surfing / body boarding). The coast path is stunning. Also recommend a guided trip on the estuary with Whitestrand Boat Hire (https://www.whitestrandboathire.co.uk/). Thank you for your recent feedback. Unfortunately, the local council did not collect the refuse due to a clerical error which took a couple of days for them to resolve. We can only apologise for the inconvenience, but this has now been rectified. It is for this reason that we leave additional bins as it seems to be a perennial problem for a couple of weeks a year! We have a weekly commercial collection but unfortunately a recycling service is not offered as part of this collection. Paper and bottles can be recycled at Malborough or at Batson. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed the property and we hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner Reviewed by MikeAug 2020 "Felt that as it is child and baby friendly there could have been stair gates for the stairs in the hall, otherwise the play room and the high chair were good." I also think it could be mentioned it is up four steep hills to get to the property. All that said we had a lovely holiday the BBQ was good. Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Treetops. We have passed on your comments to the owners. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in this lovely location and we hope to welcome you back to the area soon. Property Owner Reviewed by AnitaSep 2019 "Information about the rubbish was a bit difficult to understand." In these enlightened days it rather went against our principles to have to put everything in the green bin! Despite that, we had an excellent week of walks and relaxation We are sorry about not being able to recycle and the owners are very aware of this and have tried to please all of their tenants. There are facilities for newspapers and bottles in Malborough which are mentioned in the information pack, but unfortunately the majority of tenants do not wish to recycle on holiday. The house also provides a "green" food waste in a compost bin which includes cardboard. We are pleased you had an excellent and relaxing holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Property Owner Reviewed by JaneSep 2019 "Our stay in Treetops was really enjoyable, the location was great for both North Sands and South Sands, which is obviously why the house is priced as it is!" Be warned though, the elderly or infirm might struggle with the walk back up the hill, as did one of our party! The house was really homely and extremely comfortable, home from home, everything we needed was there, we just felt that the kitchen cupboards could have done with a bit of a sort out! The gas BBQ ran out of gas, which was eventually replaced, it would be far more sensible to have 2 gas cylinders, therefore avoiding the problem of no gas at all!! The outside terrace really makes the property, we were so fortunate with the weather and were able to put it to full use. A lovely holiday! Reviewed by NAug 2019 "The house is in excellent condition, with a particular mention of the bathrooms." My only niggle was having to collect and return the keys to a difficult location. A key box would be great. Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Treetops. The owner has taken on board your comments and we can confirm that a key safe has now been placed at the property for guests convenience. We hope to see you again in Salcombe in the not too distant future. Property Owner Reviewed by NickJun 2019 "A house that has everything for the whole family, all looking forward to returning." Beautiful setting, very aptly named set amongst the trees. A very happy experience for everyone. Reviewed by SusanApr 2019 "Just right for family, very well equipped and plenty of space,beautiful gardens." Mr P JunkerAug 2017 "Glorious location and wonderful, spacious home over several levels that were perfectly set out for us." Much use was made of the well maintained grounds (including a confession that we used some of the fresh herbs in the garden to compliment our evening meals!). Endless hours playing badminton (our own set) and table tennis (theirs) in the courtyard, walks to and from the Salcombe beaches, lazy evening dinners and cosy evening film nights. Couldn't have asked for more. Other than we really wished this property was ours to keep! The ConnocksSep 2016 "A homely, well equiped house comfortably furnished and v." Much suited to family holiday enjoyment. After nearly 60 years in the area rental market Treetops is rated one of the best. Situated above North and South Sands you need young legs to walk to either or the town, had to use car to easy local car parks but it all worked well - may be a problem when school hols come? Jul 2014 "A beautifully equipped property - comfortably furnished." Everything was of the highest quality and the overall impression was that we were welcomed as guests in a gorgeous family home. Jun 2014 Show more This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection. Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round. Summary Five bedrooms: 3x King-size beds with en-suite bathrooms 1x Twin room (can be converted into a King-size bed on request) with ensuite bathroom 1x Twin plus Family bathroom with bath/shower, w.c, wash-hand basin and shaver point Cloakroom containing w.c and wash-hand basin Utility room Well stocked kitchen / breakfast room Dining room Sitting room Separate TV room Playroom Large terrace Large gardens surrounded by the trees providing seclusion. Oil fired central heating with back up from immersion heating at peak times Larder fridge, freezer and drinks fridge, washing machine, double oven, hob, dishwasher, tumble dryer, microwave, toaster, kettle, Nespresso machine TV, DVD, Sky Q throughout the property Wifi throughout the house Baby friendly facilities with cot and high chair on request Hairdryers are provided in each bedroom Parking for 4 cars off road Gardens, terrace and balcony with large table and chairs together with outside sofa Bed linen and towels provided The property Treetops, nestled among the trees above North Sands and with glimpses of the estuary , is a substantial family home which provides interest for all ages. The house benefits from providing space for larger parties and is accessed via a Bridleway off the main road. The beach at North Sands is a short walk down hill through the trees which surround the property The large outside space, accessible from bi fold doors both in the dining room and kitchen, provides excellent entertaining space with a large table and chairs for dining together with a separate seating area. Large picture windows throughout the house make it bright and sunny. The property aims to cover the occasional rainy day and has the benefit of a separate playroom for younger children equipped with books, toys and SkyQ/DVD player. A separate TV room with a large sofa also has a Sky Q box away from the main areas of the house.. The kitchen is extensive and hopes to meet the catering requirements of large parties providing a well equipped facility for the discerning cooks. Granite work surfaces with a large breakfast bar provide a clean sleek look with an induction hob and double oven/grill. Other facilities include a dishwasher , microwave, Nesspresso machine, larder fridge and freezer and second smaller drinks fridge together with SkQ. There is a separate utility room with washing machine and tumble drier. The large sitting room has views over North Sands beach through the trees and has an open fireplace for those chillier evenings A CD player and smart speaker are also provided together with a TV/DVD player connected to Sky Q. Double doors lead off a small balcony down to the extensive terrace. The dining room can be used for more formal entertaining, if required, for special occasions. Three of the five bedrooms are equipped with king sized beds together with ensuite facilities Bedroom four (twin and ensuite) can be converted to a king size on request. Bedroom 5 is a twin room next to the family bathroom. All bedrooms have views over the gardens with 4 of the bedrooms views down to North Sands beach through the trees. Baby friendly facilities are available upon request. A "Z" bed can also be provided on request . All bathrooms are equipped with heated towel rails and two have baths. The extensive and sunny terrace provides the ideal space for outdoor entertaining and provides a table tennis table, gas fired BBQ and games for the garden. The property is surrounded by mature gardens providing a safe area for children away from the busy roads whilst being only a 20 minute walk from the centre of Salcombe. Normal welcome toilet rolls and tissues are supplied but the owners also have provided back up supplies of tea/coffee and dish washing. All bed linen and towels are provided together with tea towels for the kitchen. A welcome pack of wine and chocolates is also provided. Parking is provided. Well behaved dogs on request. This a no smoking property. Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £400. View on map About the location SALCOMBE Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles. Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path. View more holiday cottages in Salcombe Region Information Cornwall Holiday Cottages Devon Holiday Cottages Dorset Cottage Holidays Somerset Holiday Cottages Telephone available. One well behaved dog may be permitted upon request.We do not accept Stag/Hen partiesPlease note the charging of electric cars is not permitted at Treetops.