Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 54 View Larger Image
  • Estuary House - Devon - 995405 - photo 1
close

18 people have recently viewed this property

Estuary House

South Pool, Devon (Ref. 995405)

4.3

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 10

  • Bedrooms 5

  • Bathrooms 3

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

17 Customer Reviews

  • "Estuary House is such a lovely property."

    The owners had equipped the house with everything we needed to make our stay so enjoyable. The house was furnished very tastefully. And the house felt very homely. And the standard of cleanliness was second to none. There was even the use of a canoe equipped with life jackets. Of which the family made use of. And had great fun.

    We really appreciate you taking the time to leave such kind feedback in respect of Estuary House in South Pool. It is fantastic to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and that you found this property suited you so well. We are also pleased that you made use of the canoe. We hope to welcome you back to Estuary House in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JenniferApr 2022

  • "Mould in corner of master bedroom shower was disappointing."

    Dishwasher did not seem to wash efficiently and took hours for a normal wash. Trade waste was not collected. We are used to saving recycling and it came hard to put it in refuse bin. We did manage to dispose of some recycling but had to go to Ivybridge to dispose of it correctly. I appreciate this is not a problem caused by the property, but a result of the system.

    We really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback about your stay at Estuary House after your departure. The Estuary House Welcome brochure does request that guests report all problems to the caretaker during your stay so that repair, housekeeping, or replacement issues can be resolved. We have now arranged for the concerns to be addressed. Trade waste has been notified. Response from owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BarbaraAug 2021

  • "The property could have been cleaner, e."

    G. pool of solid fat in base of oven, under rugs and furniture was evidence of previous lettings. Dishwasher missing top tray rotor arm, so crockery left dirty, once we realised the problem we only used the lower tray.

    Many thanks for sharing your valuable detailed feedback in respect of you stay at Estuary House after your departure, we were sorry to hear the issues with the dishwasher. The Estuary House Welcome brochure does request that guests report all problems to the caretaker during your stay so that repair, housekeeping, or replacement issues can be resolved. Having received your feedback, we have now arranged for the concerns to be addressed. Response from the Owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by GillJul 2021

  • "Our only problem was the room with bunk beds which could not be used by adults."

    This left us one bedroom short for our party. Despite that the house was excellent, clean, very well appointed, light, airy and comfortable. Beautiful location.

    Thank you for taking the time to write such positive feedback about your stay at Estuary House in South Pool. We were delighted to hear that you really liked the property's location just a few yards from South Pool Creek. We do hope you choose to stay with us again soon. Owner relations Property Owner

    Reviewed by PatriciaOct 2020

  • "Estuary house was really super."

    The house has a beautiful view over the estuary and lovely walks. The village is really pretty and quiet. The house has lots of room to spread out and is really well equipped. We will definitely be going back again.

    We really appreciate you taking the time to leave such kind feedback in respect of Estuary House in South Pool. It is fantastic to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and that you found this property suited you so well. We hope to welcome you back to Estuary House in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JulieSep 2020

  • "Great holiday house that is bright and spacious."

    Loved the location and the every changing tidal creek with the use of the canoe. Would be useful to have info book there to suggest good places to visit, pubs and restaurants etc. Slight musty smell to house at times, heating may correct this but not practical in August.

    We are so pleased that you had a lovely time at Estuary House. Many thanks for sharing your valuable feedback in respect of your stay. Your positive views are particularly appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time exploring the Creek with the use of the canoe provided and do hope you chose to stay with us again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by YvonneAug 2020

  • "We had a wonderful holiday in this light bright sunny house” It was fantastic having two separate kitchens, which were well equipped."

    The extra parking spaces were brilliant. We appreciated the extras; Canadian canoe, life jackets and crab buckets plus the public slip way being so near for us to launch our paddle boards. We had lots of fun in the canoe at high tide and our dog loved the welcome treats and blanket!

    May 2020

  • "Generally the house and facilities were excellent and as advertised."

    There were however a couple of issues :- 1. Both fridge doors in the upstairs kitchen need repair as they do not stay closed. 2.There is intermittently no hot water in the mornings and it is impossible to ignite the boiler. 3.We replaced the main bulb in the downstairs kitchen at a cost of £10. As there is no mobile coverage in the area it is difficult to call the caretaker.

    Many thanks for sharing your valuable feedback in respect of you stay at Estuary House. Your positive view that you found the house and facilities excellent and are particularly appreciated. We were sorry to hear the issues with the fridges and hot water. The Estuary House Welcome brochure does request that guests report any problems to the caretaker during your stay so that replacement or repair can be organised (the two integrated fridges have since been replaced) The brochure also contains guidance for the domestic hot water supply with additional notices in all the bathrooms. Unfortunately, as in any rural location, mobile phone signals can be variable depending on your provider. We hope that despite the issues raised you had an enjoyable time exploring the beautiful South Hams and do hope you chose to stay with us again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RenwickAug 2019

  • "South Pool is just lovely."

    A tranquil setting with very little traffic. We enjoyed visiting the Millbrook Inn where the food was delicious and the staff and locals friendly and welcoming.

    Reviewed by MaryMay 2019

  • "The house was ideally located, loads of parking - we loved the friendly pub."

    One day the shower wasn't working on the ground floor. We rang the Caretaker and it was fixed on our return home. The house was lovely and suited our party of 7 Adults and 1 Teenager. The only issue was that there were only two sofas upstairs, so in the evening, some of us had to sit on dinning room chairs. Overall we had a wonderful Christmas stay at Estuary House.

    Reviewed by KimDec 2018

  • "4.5 stars - house well positioned on edge of Southpool Estuary/creek and a brilliant way to introduce small children to water and boating - tides permitting."

    Split level accommodation excellent for the needs of three families of various ages. Well set up for children incl DVD! We appreciated extras ie Canadian canoe + lift jackets and a nearby public slipway to launch our dinghy. NB may need a gate across path at the top left of house beyond washing line to stop any wayward (not ours!) children getting out to front unnoticed.

    Oct 2018

  • "Everything covered in previous section."

    Mrs L SurteesApr 2018

  • "Excellent accommodation-fulfilled expectation"

    Jun 2017

  • "Good property, good location."

    Heating and hot water not efficient enough

    Nov 2016

  • "Estuary House is a modern 5 bedroom house in a really good location."

    It was well stocked and had lovely views of the surrounding countryside and the river when the tide was in. The kids loved the canoe that they could use to paddle in the river. When an issue arose with the wifi connection and a power cut, this was fixed very quickly by the local caretaker.

    NICOLAJul 2016

  • "The house was in a good location unfortunately the interior of the property was not as good as others I have previously rented, for example broken tiles in the conservatory, no explanation re the heating/towel rails etc."

    paintwork not finished. The bathrooms are a little dated also, carpets not clean and general cleanliness could have been better.

    Jul 2016

  • "Spacious house in a quiet location which perfectly suited our needs."

    CAROLEJul 2016

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Village location near tidal creek. Five bedrooms: three bathrooms. 2 x kitchens. Sitting/dining room. Conservatory. 1 x king with en suite shower room with shower cubicle, wash-hand basin, W.C
  • heated towel rail. Family bathroom with a bath, separate shower cubicle, wash-hand basin, W.C
  • and heated towel rail. Shower room with shower, wash-hand basin, W.C
  • and heated towel rail. 1 x king. 1 x bunk room (suitable for children 11 and under only)
  • 1 x snug double. 1 x snug twin.
  • Oil central heating, wood burner. Three under counter fridges, 1 x under counter freezer, electric range double oven, five- ring hob, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, microwave, toaster, kettle. TV with Freesat, DVD, Blue tooth speaker
  • Wi-Fi available. Off road parking on private, drive for up to four cars and a boat trailer. A Canadian canoe is available, along with crab lines, buckets and nets for use on the village pontoon. Paved terrace with large table and chairs, private garden, furnished decked balcony on the first floor Bed linen and towels supplied

The property

Estuary House is a detached holiday home, just a few short steps from the tidal estuary in the rural village of South Pool.

The two-storey house provide a good standard of accommodation for families, couples or those simply looking for a holiday retreat in a sought-after location with quick access to the Kingsbridge/Salcombe estuary.

The split-level accommodation has five...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

South Pool

The busy little town of Kingsbridge lies at the head of a marine estuary in the attractive South Hams area of south Devon.

Region Information

Non-smoking property
Bunk beds suitable for 11 years and under only.
Bookings can only be made to commence on a Friday
Electric Fair Usage We allow for 250 units of electric a week inclusive, additional usage will be charged

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas