Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

16 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 8 View Image Gallery
  • Mill House Barn - Devon - 976091 - photo 1
close
  • Mill House Barn - (Ref. 976091)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  

Photos

Video

Mill House Barn

(Ref. 976091)

South Tawton, near Sticklepath, Devon Show on map

4.5

Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (19)
  • barn (12)
  • garden (12)
  • recommend (10)
  • cottage (10)
  • all (10)

36 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely cottage,"

    Reviewed by Arran5.0Sep 2023

  • "First impressions disappointing, outside area untidy nothing like photograph, outside flower pots all full of dead plants, wasps/bees entering roof space."

    Very tight space for parking car all can be confirmed with photos. Finally large sofa very uncomfortable needs replacing.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. Your comments have been taken on board and are being addressed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith2.5Jun 2023

  • "21/04/2023."

    Lovely 3 nights spent at Mill House Barn. Very clean and good linen and towels provided. Comfortable bed. Everything you need is there - I definitely overpacked! The parking space is adequate. We have a Nissan QashqaI and I managed to drive and reverse it into the spot and we could both get out. We agree with previous comments sofa needs replacing or even just more Cwtchy cushions perhaps would make it more comfortable. A footstool and a small table to put in front of the sofa would be good too. DefinItaly need a mirror in the bedroom nearer the electric points for using a hairdryer - I looked a right fright this morning!! The wood burner is great but instruction how to light would be good and smaller logs provided. Managed 2 nights but went out last night. No there isn’t WI-FI - good and bad. We were unable to plan our day or check on the weather. The TV is tuned into Midland news so we’re aware of what weather was like at home! The TV was good but instruction on channels would be good -ok for us. Found radio onTV 701,702,703, 704 which was great. Yes the garden is a bit wild and could do with a tidy up but charming all the same. The Pub we wanted to go to for dinner on Monday The Oxenham Arms is shut on a Monday - bad planning on our part. Lovely place. Our biggest problem was going at this time of the year when you cant take dogs off lead. We are new to dogs and our Cocker spaniel Luna is not a lover of the lead. We drove 30 miles to Westward Hoe! so she could do 10 miles on the beach! Hubby put his back out putting on his walking boots - or so he says! Meant I had to do all the work today! And drive home to Worcestershire!!! All in all a lovely place and would recommend and go back.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear you had a nice stay and we will review the points you have raised. We hope to see you back again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrea4.1Apr 2023

  • "Had a week in this property over half term."

    Inside very clean, tidy and comfortable. But unfortunately the TV, barely worked properly all week. Reported to owners every time we saw them, their response was I am sorry. Really not good enough.. if like tv for your entertainment don’t go there. Also garden poorly maintained, difficult to walk in with very long grass, leaves and apples!! We will not be returning.

    We are sorry you had problems with the TV during your stay. We have spoken with the owner who confirms a new conventional arial is being installed at the property and has been assured this will resolve the issue for future guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pamela3.1Oct 2022

  • "Great little place tucked away, nice and peaceful with all the facilties you need!"

    Owners were great, very friendly and helpful, enjoyed the scones on arrival thankyou! Definitely use again and recommend for a nice quiet break!

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Sep 2022

  • "Lovely location in a beautiful area."

    Had a relaxing holiday.

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Jul 2022

  • "Was lovely inside and out."

    Nice small welcome gift and owner seemed friendly. Pretty gardens and a quite location. Very clean and tidy. Only a couple things to note. The tv didn’t really get any channels and the ones it did get would stop working all the time. There is absolutely no signal or internet connection at the property or in a radius and no WiFi. The upstairs of the property you can’t use as it’s being used for storage by the owner. The car parking space is so tiny any larger car I think would struggle to fit.

    We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the gardens and quiet location. The Free Sat had been giving some problems, but we have since had an engineer out who 're-aligned the satellite dish'. This seems to have sorted the problem. We do not offer Wi-fi at Mill House Barn as the BT connection is not adequate for our needs let alone for visitors. The Mezzanine floor of Mill House Barn is not what is offered as part of the holiday rental and is out of bounds to visitors. This is not because we are using it for storage but because the head height above the rather steep, cut-out stairs is inadequate from a safety point of view. Also, at the Mezzanine level, there is not adequate headroom. For these reasons, the stairs are chained off and we ask visitors not to use this area. This and the fact that that Mill House Barn is warm and dry is why we have things stored there rather than the other way round. The British Parking Association reports that the current average parking space size is 4.8 metres long by 2.4 metres wide. The space we have got for cars parking for the barn is 5.4 metres long by 4.5 metres wide. Access to this space is however through a restricted opening of 2.6 metres which is the gap between two houses. So, whilst this gap may appear daunting, it is 20 cms wider than the space they would have to access even the average sized parking space anywhere else in the country. Most drivers do not have much problem with this. Thank you again for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hannah4.4Jun 2022

  • "Had a lovely holiday at Mill house cottage everything you need is in the cottage ..."

    Had a lovely holiday at Mill house cottage everything you need is in the cottage garden was beautiful as was the sitting area near the river would definitely recommend

    Reviewed by Jacqueline5.0May 2022

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our little getaway in Mill House Barn."

    The accommodation was cosy and inviting and had all the facilities for our needs, special mention for the welcoming gift of jam and cream scones that we enjoyed in the little garden that leads to a bridge and wild meadow walk by a stream truly idyllic and magical.Would definitely recommend Mill House Barn for a break from the hustle and bustle and to explore the Dartmoor countryside.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0May 2022

  • "We were welcomed with warm scones, jam and clotted cream need I say more, what a treat - thank you."

    To be able to escape from the pressures of everyday life is a rarity but if you're in need of a quiet, relaxing break without wifi I can't recommend this place enough. It was a soggy, damp week when we visited, however the log burner was a great relief after a long walk. There are a couple of pubs in the neighbourhing village which provided great excuse for a walk, we recommend them both. Thank you to the hosts of this cottage for providing such a warm and welcoming stay.

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Dec 2021

  • "Could not fault the accommodation ."

    The barn was well equipped with the usual homely requirements, the owners were very welcoming and pleasant, the welcoming treat was pleasant , As advertised the accommodation had no WiFi which I found in this day and age unusual?? But the deciding factor in not returning was the mobile phone signal being very patchy, and elusive

    Reviewed by Graham4.4Sep 2021

  • "Found the cottage well presented and well equipped and the host very welcoming."

    Lovely area. Walks from the cottage on Very quiet country lanes. The owner mentioned and we agreed the sofa may need replacing or re-upholstering . Nice to see the use and provision of eco friendly cleaning products.

    Reviewed by Peter4.1Sep 2021

  • "Very comfortable and well equipped holiday home."

    Wonderful garden in a peaceful location. Lovely early morning walk from the barn with our dog. Super welcome pack from lovely hosts. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Aug 2021

  • "We found dog food under the spiral stairs ."

    The shaving point in bath room only worked if you wiggled the light pointed this out to owner was not concerned about it which real can cause a fire. We had mice running around the floor . Windows never been cleaned for a very long time . Garden paths over grown & not kept tidy. The TV single very poor most times unable to watch due to freezing also no WIFI & in this day & age they are to be inspected to be available in a property. Before going away to the barn, we read some of the reviews which some of the above was mentioned & still have not been addressed.

    Thank you for your feedback. It has been addressed by the owner who confirmed the following. When you reported the bathroom mirror light issue and the shaving point not working the owner came to the property and fixed it by re-positioning the cover over the light that has an inbuilt safety feature that stops the light working if it is dislodged. The owner also provided an extra two pin socket for you to use. The TV signal does work. The owner provided instructions showing that the satellite box and not the TV controls the TV signal and this needs to be turned on. Regarding the Wi-Fi, the property is not advertised having it. The garden is maintained by the owner but it is weather dependent, this is why it was slightly untidy but it has now been resolved. For the dog treats under the stairs the owner does apologise. The previous dog must have nosed them underneath the outside seat cushion covers under the stairs where they were out of sight. The owner assures it will be always checked in the future to be sure it doesn't happen again. Regarding the little mouse, which was caught the day after you reported, it is the reality of being in the country side, in the middle of nature with fields nearby particularly at this time of year as the nights get cooler. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert1.9Aug 2021

  • "Horrible smell inside property, mess outside, no outside table & chairs and aweful access to property via extremely narrow roads."

    Worst holiday we have ever had, wished I had saved my money

    Reviewed by Julia2.5Aug 2021

  • "The barn is very nice, the pictures are outdated also the parking is awful the ..."

    The barn is very nice, the pictures are outdated also the parking is awful the front is like a timber yard, i understand this but tidiness in a holiday home is the key, tv signal is weak, depending on the weather , garden could do with a bit more upkeep also

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback which has been discussed with the owner. The timber in the shared garden with the owner has been purchased to make a garden shed. However, the window on the opposite side of the barn provides a much prettier outlook over the garden with its flowers and lawn. The TV reception is via a Freesat Satellite dish which was installed about three months ago and is aligned correctly and receives a good signal. The parking space for the barn is 5.4 metres long by 4.5 metres wide, so is of a good size. The owners would have been more than happy to help with any issues you may have had, if only they had been made aware of these during your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark3.8Aug 2021

  • "Spotlessly clean and everything you could possibly need provided for, even a cream tea left for us on arrival."

    Really good bed. Would recommend to anyone looking for a quiet place to stay.

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Jun 2021

  • "Brilliant time ."

    Nice welcome pack . Lovely places to visit .

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0May 2021

  • "A fabulous retreat, peaceful and perfect for recharging the batteries."

    The owners were lovely and left us cream tea and scones on arrival and ensured we had a lovely welcome. We have already decided that we will return and would highly recommend Mill House Barn to anyone seeking somewhere tranquil and cozy.

    Reviewed by Tamsin5.0Oct 2020

  • "The holiday cottage was brilliant!"

    Lots of considerate little touches like the cream tea on arrival and the OS maps of the area, (I forgot mine, so saved me having to buy another!). We liked the layout, the appliances etc were all of a very high standard which we have not experienced before, the dishwasher was a nice touch. It was very warm and cosy, by far the best cottage we have stayed in so far. Some really fascinating books to read and a decent collection of DVD's. The location was perfect for walks on the moors or on the very quiet local roads. Nice dog walk on site with the lovely river setting. Whilst it is tucked away in the countryside, it was very easy to find and not very far from the A30. If you want to get away from it all, walk the moors or just laze about and chill, this is an ideal location and property for achieving that!

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Oct 2020

  • "Great location."

    Good hosts. Value for money.

    Reviewed by Anne5.0Sep 2020

  • "If you want peace, quiet and an escape from the rat race this is the place."

    The only downside for us was the lack of public footpaths on the doorstep, we like to park up and walk. Can't fault the facilities and hospitality provided by our hosts.

    Reviewed by Louise4.4Aug 2020

  • "Your directions to the property are slightly misleading, as there was no pub or Post Office in South Tawton."

    Also, it was lucky we had a small car, which could fit onto the drive in front of the property. For people with a larger car, parking would have been extremely difficult, as there was no other space in close proximity to the cottage. Beware of the very narrow and windy lanes too, as there isn't any room for manoeuvre should you meet a vehicle coming in the opposite direction, especially tractors !!! All in all though, it was a very enjoyable stay and some beautiful walks for people and dogs alike, all only a short drive away.

    The Owners are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and took full benefit of the lovely walks in the area. The village pub has recently closed (temporarily we hope) and we have removed mention of it from the arrival instruction.The PO sign refers to the PO in South Zeal and is correct.The parking space at the property is photographed clearly and has accommodated tractors and SUV's. The local lanes are typical of this part of Devon.Thank you for taking the time to ensure the listing is correct. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lesley4.4Aug 2019

  • "Lovely place to stay - parking for the car was a bit tight & Wi-Fi facilities would have been useful."

    Other than that perfect

    Reviewed by Dorothy4.7Jul 2019

  • "Accommodation was great."

    However there were no facilities for hanging clothes up eg. wardrobe. The location is great - not far from A30 and Oakhampton yet peaceful and nice walks

    Reviewed by Garry4.7Jul 2019

  • "The barn was very well equipped."

    Everything we needed was there and it was comfortable - big fluffy towels and kitchen knives that were sharp. The garden has some more uncultivated parts with wildflowers and nettles to encourage the bees and bugs and there are feeders for the birds that you can see from the windows. The owners have a lovely river walk which is also available for use. A perfect retreat for a couple who need a getaway.

    Reviewed by Kenneth4.7Jun 2019

  • "Mill house barn was a delight to stay in, very well equipped an thought out."

    The cream teas was a lovey touch by Mervyn and carol. The information Sykes supplied about the surrounding area an the dog friendly places, especially as we had taken our westie Archie,was superb with handy links to each venues website Over all as a first time user I would definitely use Sykes again. Very impressed with attention to detail an quality of venues. Have no hesitation in recommending Sykes to family an friends.

    Reviewed by Damian5.0May 2019

  • "Lovely and private accommodation."

    The owner met us when we arrived and then we did not see them again for the duration of the stay which for us, met what we were hoping for. Also, there was a lovely cream tea on arrival. The accommodation itself was clean and met exactly the description. Being able to adjust the heating easily was great..the week started off very cold and ended in glorious heat!

    Reviewed by Jen5.0Apr 2019

  • "Pleasant barn conversion in lovely peaceful setting and location."

    We loved the garden, the fire and access to the river. The only downside was the uncomfortable settee.

    Reviewed by Graham3.8Apr 2019

  • "The cottage was very warm and well fitted out except for the lack of hanging space."

    The use of the extended garden along the river was a treat the dog loved. The Barn was well placed to explore Dartmoor with good pubs nearby for eating etc. We would stay again and recommend it to friends. The wood burner was lovely with a generous supply of logs and looking out of the garden window we counted at least 9 diferent birds plus a squirrel, most relaxing.

    Reviewed by Mike4.7Mar 2019

  • "The barn was exceptional everything you needed and more very comfortable easy access to things around Devon and some lovely walks but better for that in spring."

    Very friendly owner would use this place again

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Feb 2019

  • "We had a lovely stay, the cottage was really clean within a really quiet ..."

    We had a lovely stay, the cottage was really clean within a really quiet location but only a short drive to the shops, the cream tea waiting for us was a nice touch and the owner was helpful, our terrier loved the walk next to the stream within the gardens, really nice

    Reviewed by Christine4.7Sep 2018

  • "A truely hidden gem."

    It ticked every box for our requirements. A wonderful dog friendly location with a beautiful secluded garden with access along the river. Didn’t manage to visit everything in one week so would certainly go back and would also recommend to others.

    Reviewed by Karina5.0Sep 2018

  • "An excellent cottage that is very well equipped."

    We were made to feel very welcome and had everything we needed on hand. The cottage caters very well for dogs with lots of local walks. The cottage is ideally located to travel to both North Devon and Cornwall. We had a wonderful week and thoroughly recommend to other travelers. We hope to come back!

    Reviewed by Ellen5.0Jul 2018

  • "A really well equipped cottage, everything we could have wanted was there and it ..."

    A really well equipped cottage, everything we could have wanted was there and it was very clean a good size garden and with the added benefit of being able to use the field for our dog who also had a brilliant time padding in the river We had a lovely relaxing time and will be booking again when we get so more time off work Thank you to Mervyn and Carol

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jul 2018

  • "Lovely place for a couple to get away from it all and reconnect with each other and nature - the cream tea on arrival was a great bonus."

    Reviewed by Sharn5.0Apr 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday

Summary

  • One level
  • 1 x double bedroom
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, WC, basin
  • Open plan living space with seating area with wood burning stove, dining area and kitchen.
  • Central heating with wood burning stove
  • Microwave, fridge, washer-dryer, dishwasher, TV with DVD
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available on request
  • Off road parking for one car
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Note: Babes in arms only due to proximity of the river
  • Note: The wifi is only suitable for emails (not streaming) due to it being a data connection type.

The property

In the pretty little hamlet of Taw Green 1½ miles from South Tawton is this dear little detached cottage converted from a barn behind a mill house.

Head up the stone steps into the open plan living space, all warm and cosy with a wood burning stove, lofty ceiling and attractive paintings and furnishings.

You will sleep peacefully in the comfortable double bedroom on the same level.

Sit out and enjoy the sun and the peace in the shared garden beside the River Taw, with its table and chairs and bench.

This is lovely countryside for walking, with Dartmoor nearby for getting your pulse racing heading to the top of tors.

Pretty little villages with friendly old inns abound and the cathedral city of Exeter has everything you could wish for in the shape of restaurants and shops.

With its wonderful rural setting, Mill House Barn is a fabulous tranquil retreat for couples to enjoy.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

SOUTH TAWTON

The small village of Sticklepath lies along an old ridgeway path within the northern boundary of the Dartmoor National Park, and is home to a handful of shops, two traditional pubs serving good food and the fascinating Museum of Rural Industry. Encompassed by superb countryside, the surrounding area is a haven for nature lovers, walkers and bird watchers alike, while the nearby town of Okehampton boasts the remains of a fine Norman castle which dominates sleepy River Okement. Visit the nearby vibrant city of Exeter, with its magnificent cathedral, outstanding restaurants and colourful nightlife. Within easy reach, the fabulous beach resort of Bude, with its golden sands and cascading waves attracts surfers from the country over, while Westward Ho! with its prestigious Blue Flag awarded beaches is well worth a visit. A superb location for friends and family alike.

Note: Babes in arms only due to proximity of the river.

Note: The wifi is only suitable for emails (not streaming) due to it being a data connection type.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas