4.5★ Sykes rating 8 Guests 5 Bedrooms 3 Bathrooms Pets Yes Features Off road parking Open fire Garden / Patio Cot available Highchair available Washing machine Dishwasher Broadband / WiFi Reviews & Ratings Accuracy of the listing Cleanliness Comfort Facilities and Maintenance Search All reviews cottage (22) lovely (21) location (18) our (13) barn (13) only (12) 39 Customer Reviews "Please tell the owner NOT to hide the new wifi password on a scruffy piece of paper in the cover of the black folder." AND to get rid of the signage for the old wifi! This caused a lot of confusion and was only rectified by accidentally meeting the electrician! Reviewed by ElenNov 2023 "The house itself was fine, what was only very annoying is that the heating was on a timer." So you couldn't turn on the heater during the day. According to the owner (Peter), this was because a thermostat was broken somewhere on the roof, but that would be repaired the next day. We were allowed to get some extra wood from Katy the housekeper. However, the pieces of wood turned out to be so large that they did not fit in the stove. When we got home the next day in the afternoon, an electrician was working in the house and Peter said that the heating was working again. When Peter left, the electrician asked us if we actually knew what he was doing. It turned out that he was installing internet instead of repairing the stove. Finally the electrician finished at 6pm. We found this very annoying. And they think it's a shame that Peter didn't just tell the truth about installing the internet. The next day it turned out that the heater was still on a timer and that we were in the cold during the day. Peter could not be found so we bought bags of wood to light the wood stove. All in all, this experience left us with a bit of a bad feeling. I am sorry that the heating had to be on a timer and that I had failed to adequately communicate the reason. The reason was that the thermostat on the hot water cylinder that closes the hot water demand valve had stopped working and I was informed that there was a risk the hot water could overheat if the control was left on permanent instead of timed. The electrician was asked to replace the thermostat as a priority and soon as possible and I understood from him that this was what he was going to work on. The upgrade to the internet (not installing the internet) was a relatively unimportant job that could be done at any time. It is regrettable that you thought we were not being truthful. At my request Kate advised you that you could help yourself to my personal store of logs. I am sorry you could not find pieces of wood small enough to fit in the woodburner. Property Owner Reviewed by HenkOct 2023 "We had a tremendous holiday on Exmoor with friends, family, 2 dogs and 2 Exmoor ponies." Barn Cottage was a perfect choice, I especially loved the location and the river provided a lovely soundscape. So glad you were happy! Property Owner Reviewed by HarrietAug 2023 "Fantastic location." .. home from home ... lovely secure garden so we could let the dog and the 2 year old play outside in the sunshine.. having a 2 year old a toilet on every floor was a god send and he loved feeding carrots to the horses in the stable next door ..some great walks along the river and woods right on the door step. thoroughly enjoyed the piece and quiet at the property to escape the rat race .. Reviewed by NigelJun 2023 "The cottage was just what we were looking for." Quiet and peaceful location. Plenty of space. Well appointed kitchen. Bathroom on all floors. 5 good bedrooms. My bed was probably the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Great walks for dog owners. Overall, we had a great time there and will certainly look to book again. Thank you. Reviewed by GerryJun 2023 "We had never been to Exmoor before and loved this place." A perfect accompaniment to our previous week in a beautiful but rather cramped Cornish fishing village.....If you would like to experience mature trees; an abundance of bird life; a broad, clear, rocky river; a sense of space; and a quality pub in easy walking distance; this location is for you. A central base from which to explore Exmoor or just relax in idyllic surrounds. The property is charming but large, generally well equipped and clean. The garden is a surprisingly good suntrap……Our Spaniel did acquire a couple of ticks. Probably we should have known to pack the anti-tick kit. Maybe a few more clothes hangers. The multifunction oven defeated me, resulting in one incinerated roast (possibly not all the oven’s fault)…..Overall, we think the property is great value for a unique location. Thank you. Reviewed by IvanMay 2023 "We loved our week in Barn Cottage." The house is incredibly comfortable and homely. The location is fantastic - great walks and a lovely pub nearby. Thank you for an amazing holiday! Reviewed by MichelleOct 2022 "It is a lovely cottage in a (very) lovely location, and there is a lot to like about the property." For the most part, we enjoyed the accommodation very much. However, there is a need for some maintenance which unfortunately led to a bit of discomfort. Firstly, it got too hot on the top floor. We discovered that at least one of the radiators still heats up, even when the valve is set to off. We settled for reducing the thermostat, which then meant it was a little on the cold side downstairs. Opening the windows upstairs was possible but a lot of flies were wont to come in, and letting out heat like that is environmentally not good. The beds were reported to be comfortable mostly, although the double upstairs on top floor was hard and I could feel what felt like a spring through it. It's probably time to buy a new mattress for that bed. The kitchen was good but there were a few issues: one of the oven door handles immediately came off when we tried to open it. Also the toaster was non functional, perhaps it just needs a new fuse. And there was a strange lack of teaspoons!! The lounge area was comfortable and enjoyed by all. The main issue was the DVD (and VHS! Thank you for your comments. We have a caretaker on site so if anything breaks (and things do of course from time to time) please let Kate and Kamil know and they can repair and replenish immediately! Our policy on flies is not to use chemical sprays and we prefer to think of them as a sign of a healthy eco system! The mattress will be replaced asap if it is uncomfortable. Property Owner Reviewed by JoeOct 2022 "We had a lovely stay, very comfortable and it felt like home." Property looking a little tired in places noting the top price being charged. Broadband failed after day 3 and didn't return but this didn't impact our holiday. Loved the enclosed garden which was very handy for our young dog. Given all the above, we had a great time and were very reluctant to leave, could have stayed for another week :) Reviewed by AntonSep 2022 "Lovely cottage, very peaceful great sun trap in front garden." It was great to walk down and paddle with the dog in the river by tarr steps followed by a pint in the pub over looking it. Reviewed by AnthonyAug 2022 "Great property, well equipped with what you need." Internet is slow but didn't bother us and meant kids just spent more time playing and exploring. Short walk down to Tarr Steps and the kids loved paddling in the water. The cottage is such a lovely location and great for exploring the beautiful area. Reviewed by GazJul 2022 "We enjoyed the beautiful location, deep in the countryside, though tricky to find." Please include the nearby street name so that Google maps can direct to the Hawkridge side of the Tarr steps. House is well equipped and comfortable. Great for a family holiday. The rotary washing line needs to be replaced. Reviewed by JulieJul 2022 "Perfect location for all the family." We really enjoyed the area walking, cycling and some beach time only 40 mins away! Would definitely come back again Reviewed by JanMay 2022 "The holiday cottage is in a beautiful location and is a lovely comfortable space to relax in." A couple of things could be improved. The stair gate, which is useful as we had a dog, is broken and constantly falls off when you open and close it so needs some attention/replacing. Despite there being a huge box of old vcr videos, the vcr player does not work so I suggest replacing the player or removing the videos to avoid guests’ disapppointment. Perhaps a bit of warning about the ford in the directions information would be useful as we were tempted to think travelling into the cottage from the other direction would be easier but did not appreciate that there is the river to cross that way. We also did not attempt to use the shower on the first floor as the curtain looked very old fashioned and difficult to use. Updating with a glass screen would be an improvement as otherwise there is only one shower on the ground floor which is not ideal for such a large property. But we loved the open plan layout of the cottage and we loved the location and the garden. Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. We were unaware that the stairgate was broken, we will look to get it either repaired or replaced. The video player and box of videos will be removed, there is a DVD player in the cottage. We advise that guests follow the directions emailed to them from Sykes/Helpful Holidays, which will get you to the property without having to cross a ford. If you should choose to use a SatNav this will take you via a route where you will need to cross a ford. We will check the shower curtain and replace if necessary. We are glad that you enjoyed the layout of the cottage, along with the garden and the local area. Property Owner Reviewed by KatherineApr 2022 "The Barn Cottage was a beautiful setting and had everything you needed." We had a lovely stay and would recommend to others to enjoy the surroundings, especially the walks. Thank you for having us stay. Reviewed by GeriJan 2022 "Absolutely wonderful - comfortable, nicely equipped." The only thing is the cooker is a bit temperamental and the oven can overheat. Thank you for a lovely stay Reviewed by AlyssaOct 2021 "Don't expect to pop to shops there 40 mins away." No phone service totaly out in sticks.beds need changing totaly uncomfortable. TV a joke Size of a stamp cooker burns everything .photos make place look Hugh miss leading Reviewed by PeterSep 2021 "We really loved Barn Cottage, very comfy, clean and spacious for our four children and the dog." After a few day trips out the roads leading to the house were less daunting and we felt very happy in this beautiful secluded spot! i have racked my brain for any improvements that could be made and the only one i could come up with would be maybe more pegs for the washing line! A really lovely family holiday from Hazel, Chris, Alfie, Poppy, Tilly, Peter and Chance the dog! Reviewed by HazelAug 2021 "Amazing location and accommodation, exactly what we were after, it really is a beautiful part of the country - possibly the best nights sleep we’ve ever had!" we didn’t want to leave! Reviewed by DeanJul 2021 "This was our 2nd visit and it did not disappoint." The accommodation is stunning, as well as the area. We met the lovely lady , Katie, who works hard keeping the place clean and tidy, and she was incredibly friendly. We will definitely be returning for a 3rd visit in the future! Reviewed by SarahJun 2021 "We had a lovely stay at Barn Cottage." The cottage itself is lovely and is kitted out with everything you could need during your stay. It is such a tranquil location and handy being near to the pub which we visited a few times during the stay. The weather was not on our side though-out our weeks stay, but hopefully will be better next time we visit :-) Reviewed by JamesMay 2021 "We loved barn cottage and would return." Highlights: The position of the cottage was 10/10 -right by the Tarr steps and so quiet. Could not have picked a better spot. If people love wild life then this is the cottage for them! All you can hear from the cottage are the sounds and sights of nature which is a refreshing change. The cottage is secluded but not as secluded as some have stated as there is a pub 2 mins over the Tarr steps and a few houses located very near ( we could not hear any noise from the houses). The cottage was so clean and appreciated that . Negatives were that the cottage's heating was set by the owner and was cold when we entered the property. There was a box of logs that we topped up from the forest so it would have been nicer to have more logs. When we tried to contact the named person the number did not connect so unsure if that number is still correct. Think if an older couple stayed here they may have struggled with the temperature as we were not able to adjust heating. I suppose the solution would be to extend the hours of the heating or supply more logs. As other people have mentioned there is no welcome pack however appreciate that these are currently tough times for people and did appreciate the milk that was left for us. I forgot my hair dryer which I never normally do but there was not one that I could find in the house. In all cottages where I have stayed there was a hairdryer so that would have been useful. When we had a BBQ it was very nice of the owners to supply the coal etc but there was no tin foil to hand so this would have also been useful. All being said I would definitely book Barn cottage again and the positives very much outweighed the negatives and I am already looking in the diary to see when I can return. We both had a lovely time at Barn cottage and loved Exmoor. Reviewed by AbigailApr 2021 "Lovely spot with dark sky opportunities." Great for a relaxed multi family holiday. Cottage has great facilities with plenty of kitchenware for those wanting to cook. Reviewed by TracyOct 2020 "We had a great time at the Barn Cottage we just found the sofas needed updating along with the chairs and most definitely the mattresses!" Other than that no complaints. 10min walk from the Tarr steps in a beautiful setting and so so quiet! Reviewed by MandiSep 2020 "Stayed here Christmas week." A lovely property 5 minute walk to the Tarr steps. Set in beautiful surroundings with outstanding views. Visited Dulverton with its quaint village shops and tearooms. Added bonus for our stay was meeting Ralph the deer who played in the garden with our dogs. Unfortunately we had no room to smuggle Maisy the border terrier home with us. Only slight issue was flies in top floor rooms and the temperature control in the larger oven. Ideally would have liked more oven trays for smaller oven and a new dvd player is probably needed as everything has a yellow hue. Having said that we enjoyed our stay here. Happy new year. X Reviewed by JoannaDec 2019 "Holiday was spoilt by your lack of communication and unhelpfulness, hopfully I will never have use you again." Reviewed by LynneNov 2019 "Barn Cottage is in a magnificent setting in the Barle valley only 300m from the Tarr Steps clapper bridge." It is a spacious cottage, has three bathrooms, a large kitchen and plenty of association space. It is deep in rural Exmoor and this means that steep hills and narrow roads are to be expected, and only small shops are found nearby but they are well stocked. Tarr Steps are great fun for children and there are many country walks along well maintained paths close to the cottage. For anyone who loves the countryside this comfortable cottage is the base for an ideal holiday. Reviewed by DavidAug 2019 "Despite a very isolated location and single track roads to negotiate everything was ok." Kettle switch broken and reported on first day but nothing done. Towel rail in ground floor shower room loose on wall. Otherwise just wear and tear and needs a little love to bring to standard. No welcome pack which is unusual! Reviewed by JohnAug 2019 "Barn Cottage was a lovely base but did need some updating." It is also all electric which caused problems when we had a power cut one day and being so remote you couldn't just pop somewhere you really have to plan. The description mentioned the village pub, but as we found out on our first evening, don't expect an evening meal unless you've booked! With no provisions or welcome pack, and after a 7 hr journey to get there we had to get back in the car and negotiate the roads again for something to eat. It is described as remote but that is an understatement I would almost say isolated, so unless you are keen on walking I would think twice for a family. The nearest convenience store was in Dulverton which requires a 15/20 min drive down single track lanes, which proved quite hair raising at times when you met oncoming traffic, as there was nowhere to get out of the way. We did have a good week but wouldn't go again. Reviewed by AmandaAug 2019 "Fantastic cottage with everything you need." Plenty of walks and a pub not too far to walk to and stumble back from! If you like peace and quiet then this is the place to stay. We were even supplied with an electric storm that lit up the sky for ages, spectacular! One thing to note is that because of the remoteness location you do need to plan your supplies in advance unless you fancy a hour long round trip. Can't be running out of G&T while relaxing on holiday. Thank you to owners who made everything perfect for our stay. Reviewed by RodneyJul 2019 "The cottage is in a fabulous position - think a little more stress on where exactly car parking for cottage is ie in front of stable block rather than behind where pedestrian entrance to cottage is." Reviewed by JynniJul 2019 "Barn Cottage is a true find and we loved every minute of our stay." The cottage and its facilities are of a high standard and it is well equipped (especially the kitchen). There was more than enough space for our family seven. The real charm of the cottage is its setting; close to Tarr Steps and within striking distance of spectacular walks, good fishing and riding, there is plenty to do for those who wish to keep active. We can highly recommend this cottage and are looking forward to staying there again the future. Reviewed by SophieJun 2019 "Location was perfect for peace & quiet would not change a thing ." The walking was superb, you could walk from the door without ever using the car, the coastal paths only an hours drive away, if you wanted a change it was not a problem . Only thing to say was be aware that the nearest town for a big shop was a 40min drive away so stock up well for the week . Reviewed by SueMay 2019 "The cottage was in an idyllic location, perfect for our holiday with friends and their dog." Lovely walks on the door step, and a fabulous gastro pub within a few hundred yards. The cottage was spacious, light, clean, fully appointed, and comfortable. WiFi was a bonus. Everything we needed was there, and some lovely extra touches, such as nice liquid soap in all the bathrooms. Couldn’t have asked for better. Reviewed by RebeccaMay 2019 "Loved the house , its situation and garden." So near to some lovely walks and busy stables. Concerned that the house took a lot of warming when we arrived. I felt it should be warm with heating actually on, especially in March. I had to rummage around and hit the ch override. Small things, no kindling (provided later), no paper towels and napkins. Otherwise lovely. What a place to stay. Reviewed by ChristopherMar 2019 "Lovely quiet family retreat; just right!" Reviewed by MichaelDec 2018 "Barn Cottage is a warm and comfortable cottage ideally placed for those who like long or short walks." We recommend that you follow the directions issued by Helpful Holidays otherwise you may find yourself thwarted by the ford at Tarr Steps only 5 minutes from the Cottage. Reviewed by PatriciaOct 2018 "There was not a functioning shower in the property, shower hose in bathroom missing from bathroom, shower hose in other bathroom has no fitting to hand from wall, downstairs shower in WC has non closing doors that leak water if used." Tap in bathroom won’t shut off, top floor of cottage has serious amount of flies/insects flying around in bathroom and bedrooms. Outside light permanently on not allowing for night time sky viewing (Main reason for our booking) trail hounds kept in stable block adjacent to property that howl and wail at night keeping you awake. We left the cottage three days early as had enough. Will not use again. Dated, worn, poorly equipped and shabby. The location is perfect, that is the ONLY upside but sadly not enough. ****Owner response**** Your feedback on the showers was very useful and we are sorry as it should have been spotted and repaired before your stay. We are glad to report that the showers have now been fixed, and are fully functioning. We are also sorry that you did not let us know about the broken tap: our very competent onsite caretaker was able to fix the tap in five minutes once notified of the problem. The attic had been left clean and spotless. We are however fortunate to live in an area of outstanding natural beauty with a fabulous abundance of insect life. The flies hide away in autumn and when there is a sunny warm day they appear from nowhere. It is however easy to get rid of them by opening a window. The outside light has been adjusted and is now on a short timer so that it only comes on briefly to help guests arriving or leaving. We are glad to know that you and your dog enjoyed playing with the hound puppies, and really sorry that you didn’t let Danielle know that the puppies’ yelps had kept you awake. Further renovations and redecoration are planned for the winter months to ensure Barn Cottage is looking its best for 2019. “Your feedback on the showers was very useful and we are sorry as it should have been spotted and repaired before your stay. We are glad to report that the showers have now been fixed, and are fully functioning. We are also sorry that you did not let us know about the broken tap: our very competent onsite caretaker was able to fix the tap in five minutes once notified of the problem. The attic had been left clean and spotless. We are however fortunate to live in an area of outstanding natural beauty with a fabulous abundance of insect life. The flies hide away in autumn and when there is a sunny warm day they appear from nowhere. It is however easy to get rid of them by opening a window. The outside light has been adjusted and is now on a short timer so that it only comes on briefly to help guests arriving or leaving. We are glad to know that you and your dog enjoyed playing with the hound puppies, and really sorry that you didn’t let Danielle know that the puppies’ yelps had kept you awake. Further renovations and redecoration are planned for the winter months to ensure Barn Cottage is looking its best for 2019.” Property Owner Reviewed by GuyOct 2018 "This could be a lovely cottage however, some of it is tired and neglected." For example, water damaged wood panelling, stained and split kitchen lino. The front door frame was splintered by the top hinge, which could have caused a big problem. We tried to use the other door instead but the handle was broken therefore it could only be locked from the inside. We reported the split door frame first thing on Monday, as soon as we realised why the door was sagging, and this was atttended to as we were leaving. We wanted to use the payphone during our stay but it did not work and we reported this also. Other people had commented in the visitors book that the TV remote does not match the TV so does not work completely. The WiFi connection is intermittent. However, the kitchen is well equipped, the cottage characterful and the location idyllic. ****Owner response**** Thank you for your feedback. We entirely agree with you - Barn Cottage is lovely and characterful, the location is idyllic, and some TLC and maintenance is overdue! The downside to our idyllic, West Country location is slower and occasionally intermittent WIFI. We have however repaired the damaged panelling and front door, and renewed the lino on the kitchen floor. There are new handles on the front door, the landline has been checked, and the new remote works perfectly with the TV. We look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Barn Cottage. “Thank you for your feedback. We entirely agree with you - Barn Cottage is lovely and characterful, the location is idyllic, and some TLC and maintenance is overdue! The downside to our idyllic, West Country location is slower and occasionally intermittent WIFI. We have however repaired the damaged panelling and front door, and renewed the lino on the kitchen floor. There are new handles on the front door, the landline has been checked, and the new remote works perfectly with the TV. We look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Barn Cottage” Property Owner Reviewed by EaJun 2018 There are no reviews featuring this term Show all reviews Show more Hide all This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection. Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday Summary Over three levels Three first floor bedrooms: 2 x double (one king size), 1 x 2'6" twin Bathroom with bath, hand shower, WC, basin Two top floor bedrooms: 2 x double (one super king can convert to twin, the other king size) Bathroom with bath, WC, basin Ground floor kitchen with breakfast table Sitting room with dining area and open fire Hall Downstairs shower room with shower, WC, basin. Central heating with open fire Microwave, fridge-freezer, tumble dryer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with DVD, WiFi, Payphone, Fuel and power inc. in rent Bed linen and towels inc. in rent Cot and highchair available on request, Off road parking for two cars Enclosed garden Two well-behaved dogs welcome Pub less than 1 mile from property Note: This property has a private water supply which is tested regularly Note: £20 per pet per week supplement charge The property This detached cottage is situated in woods and countryside, in a rural spot 300 yards from the medieval bridge at Tarr Steps and a lane-mile from Hawkridge. Light and airy, it is an excellent location for families or anyone who enjoys the great outdoors. The large kitchen comes in true country style, with a breakfast table for morning coffee and the papers. Snuggle up later around the open fire in the living room with its dining area, or throw open the French windows on a sunny day. Steep stairs head up to three bedrooms on the first floor, or choose your room for a peaceful night from the two bedrooms at the very top of the house, under the eaves. The enclosed garden is a very tranquil spot with views across to woodland where you may spot a red deer or two and the gentle sounds of birdsong and the nearby river. You can arrange to fly fish for trout or salmon along seven miles of this river, together with tuition in fishing or shooting if you wish. Nearby riding stables are the perfect opportunity for a canter across Exmoors heather hills. With the River Barle valley to explore and spot wildlife in, this is an ideal spot for outdoor activities, or if beaches are more your thing, head to Porlock or the surf at Saunton, Woolacombe or Croyde. For shops and restaurants, Dulverton is a fine old town with plenty to offer. With such stunning surroundings, Barn Cottage is an exceptional location for a wonderful break. Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100. View on map About the location HAWKRIDGE Dulverton is the southern gateway to the Exmoor National Park, a small town standing between the rivers Barle and Exe, which meet further down the valley. Dulverton has some quaint narrow streets weaving between fine Victorian buildings and a three arched bridge crossing the river leading to riverside walks. Note: 2'6" beds in first floor twin. Steep stairs so may not be suitable for people with mobility issues. Low headroom in top floor bedrooms so please be aware. Property has spring water supply. Sorry, this property does not allow any short break bookings. Note: £20 per pet per week supplement charge.