In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
  • Little Claremont - (Ref. 974455)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  
1 of 9 Artboard Created with Sketch. View Larger Image
  • Little Claremont - Devon - 974455 - photo 1
close
  • PHOTOS
  • VIDEO

Little Claremont

Yelverton, Devon (Ref. 974455)

Book with confidence

Request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund if there’s a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland (T&Cs apply).

4.5

Very good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 2

  • Bedrooms 1

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

20 Customer Reviews

  • "First Class all round and very welcoming owners."

    Would definitely go back again.

    Reviewed by CarwynAug 2021

  • "Location was perfect for the moors and popping to Brixham or Looe for the day."

    Friendly couple that left us some bread, milk, tea, eggs etc which was a lovely touch..thankyou. Just on the outskirts of Yelverton but near enough to shops, pubs etc. Small unmade road a bit rough so drive slowly and pick your path to miss the big dips. Facilities had everything you need for your time away. Kitchen a nice size and living room with comfy chairs. Clean enough for us. Parking perfect. We struggled with the bed. I am larger man and the wife is a smaller woman and we both felt it was uncomfortable...Dogs, lovely pair of Labradors but barking at gone 11pm in the garden on the Wednesday night and frantically trying to get into the Annex that evening. Barked for at least 30mins so may have got out and not realized by the owners.? All in all a nice stay and worth the price. If you are looking for a quiet get away in a lovely location then you could do a lot worse.

    Reviewed by BrianAug 2021

  • "Obviously Elderly parents lived there."

    Tired furnishings, flimsy shower rail and front door rail for hangings.Found a mouse dropping in bed. Retriever of there’s crashed in 4 times during our stay by pawing the door handle and gave us a fright. Lighting was poor all round. Kitchen was adequate. Good geographical location. Bed was rock hard.

    Our property is immaculately clean and cared for. We do not have mice.The kitchen is fully equipped, apart from a built -in dishwasher. The photos displayed are a true representation. Please read other reviews, all of which bear this out. Referring to deceased parents is highly offensive. However, lIke ''The Palace'', we will remain dignified in spite of these lies and not comment further, remaining happy that our other guests have been very pleased with their stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by StephenJul 2021

  • "Excellent accommodation in a brilliant location very near the National Park and Burrator Reservoir."

    Kind and helpful hosts.

    Reviewed by KelvinJun 2021

  • "The accommodation and hosts were brilliant."

    Exactly as described. Had a little problem finding the place because my satnav was taking me elsewhere but we rang the host and they quickly guided us to the accommodation. The entrance into the plot was a little tight but not a major problem. I have a large car with the turning circle of a double-decker bus. The hosts were very helpful and friendly making us very comfortable all of our stay. Amenities close by but although within walking distance, the lack of footways long the main road make that less desirable, but only a minute or 2 in the car. Had everything we needed and expected, a small TV , fridge, cooker, cleaning equipment, bathroom and toilet and bedroom with double bed and plenty of wardrobe space. Small dining table, nice sitting areas outside and lovely garden. Were going to take our dog along but found out he is not a good traveler, so left him at home with a friend. He would have loved it though. What a wonderful break we had. Perfect.

    Reviewed by KimJun 2021

  • "A great location for exploring Dartmoor which is on the doorstep."

    The owners had taken care to provide a safe environment for our stay in these Covid times. Everything we needed for a pleasant stay was provided. We hope to return here again when there is less rain.

    Reviewed by BruceOct 2020

  • "Lovely accommodation in a great location for exploring Dartmoor."

    It was lovely when we arrived to find Milk, Butter, Bread & Eggs in the Kitchen Despite the inclement weather, we had a very enjoyable break. The owners Martin & Lynn were most welcoming & gave great suggestions of where to walk our dog They also recommended a great dog friendly pub in Milton Coombe a few miles away, called The Who'd Have Thought it Inn . We had 2 meals there great service & good food. We would be very happy to stay there again Peter % Sheila

    Reviewed by PeterSep 2020

  • "We had an amazing stay at Little Claremont."

    The property had everything we needed for a relaxing holiday. The owners and their gorgeous dogs made us feel very welcome, helping us find suitable walks to take our dog on and were always on hand if we had any problems, which we didn't. The cotttage was well positioned in a beautiful part of Dartmoor, with many incredible walks on the doorstep. It was also conveniently positioned for visiting Tavistock and Plymouth. We are already looking forward to when we can stay at Little Claremont again.

    Reviewed by TeresaSep 2020

  • "We had a lovely holiday the couple who own the property were lovely and very ..."

    We had a lovely holiday the couple who own the property were lovely and very helpful, we had our dog with us and they had a enclosed garden which was good and he enjoyed playing with their two dogs Highly recommend this holiday home

    Reviewed by JacquelineSep 2020

  • "Everything was perfect."

    ... directions,.facilities, location. Would certainly use this lovely cottage again. Nothing too much trouble for the hosts Lynn and Martin. Lovely to find bread, eggs, butter and milk on our arrival. Thanks.

    Reviewed by RuthAug 2020

  • "Lovely little annex with everything you need."

    Plenty of storage space in the bedroom for two people. Could park our car on the driveway and were offered to leave our mountain bikes in the garage. Owners very friendly and super helpful. Really couldn't ask for more. Had a fantastic mini-break. Wouldn't hesitate to book again.

    Reviewed by KatjaAug 2020

  • "The accommodation was amazing bigger than expected from the photos."

    The host weren’t brilliant so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was spotless and plenty of cleaning materials for us to keep it clean. it had an amazing big safe garden for our rescue dog. Our rescue dog hasn’t been with us long and is still a work in progress and the hosts were really understanding, our doggie is coming on really well and hopefully next time we visit she will be a bit friendlier. Cannot recommend this property enough, true dog lovers and look after the accommodation with pride. Cant wait to go back next year.

    Reviewed by SusanAug 2020

  • "Lovely base for our week's holiday, Martin and Lynn very helpful, well equipped, ..."

    Lovely base for our week's holiday, Martin and Lynn very helpful, well equipped, comfortable cottage, beautiful garden, and very peaceful surroundings, will be sure to visit again

    Reviewed by JanetJul 2020

  • "Well presented property; the owners were very friendly and helpful."

    Left us milk, bread, butter and eggs to help us initially. A good location for our Dartmoor and coastal walks with dog. Secure garden area useful for our dog.

    Reviewed by IanOct 2019

  • "Little Claremont was peaceful with no traffic noise and the bed was very comfortable."

    Lynn and Martin were excellent hosts, as were their 2 lovely dogs. There were a couple of issues on arrival, but Martin and Lynn quickly rectified them. We also offered them some ideas for improvement which they readily accepted. A thoroughly enjoyable holiday. We will certainly consider coming back.

    Reviewed by KeithOct 2019

  • "The holliday cottage was very clean and comfortable and was very nicely decorated."

    The bed and furniture were comfortable. It is a perfect cottage in a lovely quite location , there is a lovely courtyard garden at the rear with a table and chairs to have your meals or just sit and relax , there is a bench and table at the front that overlooks the nicely laid out front garden were you can sit out in the evening sun with a glass of wine and chill . The he owners Lynne and Martin ,we found very friendly and kind ,it was nice to chat with them and discuss our day . Theyou have two lovely retrievers that were very friendly and great fun to watch . We are hoping to go back next year .

    Reviewed by MichaelAug 2019

  • "We stayed here for a week, with our Cavalier King Charles spaniel, it was perfect for our needs."

    The accommodation is small, but adequate and the garden is enclosed at the back, which was great for dog. The grounds at the front were beautiful and extremely well kept, it’s also possible to walk dog around lanes so perfect. It is also very quiet, location is lovely. The owners Martin and Lynn, could not have been more helpful, with useful local information, including good places to eat where we could also take the dog. They also have 2 beautiful, but very friendly dogs of their own. Really nice place to be based to explore, Devon and Cornwall, being only a mile or so, from Dartmoor.

    Reviewed by JulianJun 2019

  • "Martin and Lyn were the perfect hosts,nothing was too much trouble for them to do on our behalf."

    The gardens are beautiful and parking very accessible. Dartmoor is just a short distance away , with Plymuoth within easy reach,altogether a walkers paradise.

    Reviewed by KeithSep 2018

  • "Very uncomfortable bed , poor quality bed linen ."

    The owner apologised and replaced the mattress after our 1st uncomfortable night . However the replacement was not much better . Unheard of in a Sykes Cottage to have this happen ! No mirror in the bathroom for my husband to shave . Very disappointing and definitely NOT RECOMMENDED XXX OWNER RESPONSE XXX We were sorry to hear that you did not find the mattress comfortable on your first night. Although this is down to personal preference, we were very keen for you to enjoy your stay with us and therefore replaced the mattress for you. We are sorry to hear that you did not find much improvement in the new mattress.

    Reviewed by CarmelJul 2018

  • "We had a lovely stay."

    Our hosts were very welcoming. We used our stay as a base as we were house hunting. We had everything we needed and it was perfect for us as we could take our dog with us.

    Reviewed by JulieJul 2018

Show more

Summary

  • All ground floor
  • One bedroom: 1 x double
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Lounge/diner with electric fire.
  • Central heating with electric fire
  • Electric oven and ceramic hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, TV with Freeview, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Off-road parking
  • Lawned garden with patio area and furniture
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • shop and hotel 1 mile.

The property

This lovely annexe is set in Dousland, Dartmoor National Park, a wonderful location for walking and cycling, with plenty to see and explore around the area.

Ideally suited for couples, this cosy retreat is perfect for some time away from it all, or a wonderful romantic escape for two.

A lovely hallway invites you inside, dividing off into a series of rooms, including a modern kitchen with views of the garden and a beautiful lounge.

Comfortable seating rests before an electric fire, so you can sit back and unwind with your favourite movies on play, or gather at the dining table to spend some quality time together.

The same sense of charm continues through to the double bedroom, a characterful arrangement with ample storage, wardrobes and bedside tables.

Lastly, a classic bathroom finishes the property, a nice place to get ready ahead of a busy afternoon.

A peaceful aspect of the cottage is the garden, a cosy little suntrap with a collection of furniture, overlooked by natural trees and shrubs.

The 21 mile-long cycling and walking route, Drakes trail, runs through Yelverton and links nearby Tavistock and Plymouth sweeping through wooded valleys and open moorland.

Nearby attractions include Buckland Abbey, The Garden House and Burrator Reservoir.

The South Devon coast is within easy reach for day trips to Salcombe and the pretty riverside village of Newton Ferrers makes a memorable day out.

The naval port of Plymouth can also be easily reached, and cobbled streets are lined with a fine selection of restaurants and bars.

A getaway not to be missed.

View on map

About the location

YELVERTON

Tavistock 5.7 miles; Plymouth 9.5 miles; Salcombe 21.9 miles

The pretty village of Yelverton makes a perfect base for exploring Dartmoor with excellent walking and cycling routes in the area. The 21 mile-long cycling and walking route Drakes trail, runs through the village and links nearby Tavistock and Plymouth passing through wooded valleys and open moorland. It is also possible to hire bikes in the village. There are several eating places around Yelverton including The Drake Manor Inn and The Royal Oak which provide a warm welcome and superb locally sourced food. Nearby attractions include Buckland Abbey, The Garden House and Burrator Reservoir. The South Devon coast is within easy reach for day trips to Salcombe and the pretty riverside village of Newton Ferrers. The Naval port of Plymouth can also be easily reached, famous for its maritime heritage and the historic Barbican district its narrow, cobbled streets lined with a fine selection of restaurants and bars.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it