Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Somerset & Wiltshire 7 minutes ago

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 22 View Image Gallery
  • Surridge Farmhouse - Somerset & Wiltshire - 967290 - photo 1
close
  • Surridge Farmhouse - (Ref. 967290)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  

Photos

Video

Surridge Farmhouse

(Ref. 967290)

Waterrow, Somerset Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 9 Guests

  • 5 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (25)
  • lovely (24)
  • well (24)
  • property (22)
  • all (22)
  • our (21)

59 Customer Reviews

  • "A fabulously comfortable and welcoming farmhouse."

    We enjoyed the beautiful and peaceful gardens surrounded by the countryside whilst luxuriating in the hot tub. We spent a lot of time in large family sized kitchen, warmed by the Aga, making and eating some lovely meals together. Later we lit the fire in the lounge and spent hours playing quiz games. The bedrooms were spacious, warm and comfortable.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.1Mar 2024

  • "An absolutely, gorgeous property, full of charm."

    Perfectly equipped, the open fire was amazing. The hot tub was an added bonus. We would definitely book this property again.

    Reviewed by Gemma4.7Feb 2024

  • "We had a lovely week at Surridge farm house!"

    The house was well equipped and any issues were sorted immediately by the owner. (The outside umbrella was broken and a new one was ordered straight away!) It had lovely grounds and the perfect place to use as a base to explore the local towns.

    Reviewed by Bobbie5.0Sep 2023

  • "The house and gardens are in need of a good clean and maintenance."

    Painting, new carpets , new setee, new cutlery, needs a good overall. The garden and shrubs are unkempt and it’s such a shame as it could be a good location , but first impressions were disappointing. The front door itself needs varnishing or something as it spoils the look of the outside. The hot tub made lots of noises that meant it was only used once as it sounded like it was about to breakdown, the garden furniture has been left to rot and the cushions left on it are mouldy and dirty - not very inviting at all. I’d definitely recommend a deep clean , especially in the bedrooms as they clearly hadn’t been vacuumed very well due to the debris found under the beds and dead bugs around the edges. I think you may need to consider a cleaning service as on arrival due to finding a vape, dirty socks, hair accessories and what looked like dirty sheets in the single bedroom meant our first few hours were spent cleaning and re washing bed linen, as it hadn’t been checked. I’d hate to see this property become an eyesore as the gardens and surroundings could be a real selling point, especially to those who want to be deep in the countryside. It didn’t feel as homely as we expected. Please please change the setee those greasy leather covers don’t make for comfortable sitting. It’s a shame to say we all felt a bit Grimey at the end of the week. I have registered this already with customer services on return .

    Thank you for your comments and although some of your list is not very accurate I can reassure future guests that the property has now had a deeper clean throughout now we have had more of a gap in between bookings this week Sometimes it tricky to clean at a deeper level with only 4hours between back to back bookings As you will see from all the other recent feedback the cleanliness and furniture condition is not listed - ps. there were actually brand new patios seat cushions in the porch! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa1.9Aug 2023

  • "My family of 7 enjoyed an amazing week in the beautiful Surridge Farmhouse."

    We enjoyed the fantastic views and scenery and the house was really well equipped with comfortable beds and plenty of space. The hot tub was perfect after busy days exploring Somerset. I would definitely recommend this property to other users seeking a tranquil and very relaxing holiday .

    Reviewed by Ros5.0Jul 2023

  • "Wonderful holiday home ."

    The property was well equipped with everything we needed for our stay .

    Reviewed by Andrew4.7Jun 2023

  • "Amazing stay, in the middle of know where."

    Amazing views, beach 40 min drive. House has everything and more. Comfy beds, brilliant bbq area, large tables for the whole family to dine. Definitely go back!

    Reviewed by Jennifer4.7May 2023

  • "Our family ranging from 20 months to 86 years old had a wonderful time here."

    The cottage was very well equipped, spacious and comfortable. The surrounding countryside was beautiful. We made good use of the outdoor facilities as the weather was very warm. The only suggestion for improvement would to provide new outdoor wooden furniture, the picnic table was not in good condition and it would have been nice to have a few more reclining chairs. That’s it though we would all love to return.

    Reviewed by Peter4.7May 2023

  • "Wished we were staying longer than 3 nights."

    Such a wonderful house in peaceful, beautiful setting. We weren't expecting it to be so isolated but that was fine. Loved the tranquility. Couldn't understand the instructions to get to the Iron age fort but had a good walk anyway! The children in our party loved the space and the games room. Hot tub went down well too.

    Reviewed by Debra4.7Apr 2023

  • "We were extremely happy with Surridge Farm - secluded and peaceful with lovely views of surrounding countryside - exactly right for our Diamond Wedding celebration with our family - enhanced by very helpful and accommodating owner."

    It was extremely spacious, comfortable and had all that we needed, the beds being very comfortable after doing a lake walk around Wimbleball, and dining! The fact that we took all our provisions with us meant there was no need to drive to shops, which were a few miles away in Wiveliscombe - a useful tip for future hirers - especially as there is plenty of storage space and very large fridge/freezer to use. We came away with good memories of our time together, made possible by it being more than home-from-home. Thank you to Stephen, the owner.

    Reviewed by A Neil4.7Apr 2023

  • "Shortly after arrival at Surridge Farmhouse our 10 year old granddaughter exclaimed ' THIS PLACE IS AA-MAYY-ZINGG!"

    ' By the end of the week all three generations of our family echoed these comments. The farmhouse has everything you could want and in good condition. We thoroughly recommend it for family and friends get-togethers - so much space to spread out and a variety of places to visit in the local area.

    Reviewed by John5.0Mar 2023

  • "The location of the house is beautiful and remote."

    Great for walking. The house itself is a gorgeous , very old farm house, and is very atmospheric with huge fireplaces. The beds are good. The pillows and duvets are synthetic. The hot tub is round (but not inflatable!) and we found only half the jets seem to work. We had a lovely stay and really loved the house. Suggestions and specific feedback, that would make it even better: - Please provide dish wash tablets - Please provide some Spare bath towels, as they were missed. - The 2 parts of front door are not connected, and this needs to be fixed - There were only 2 broken recycling boxes in the wood store, so we assumed the ones by the road belonged to the house? - We thought the kitchen looked lovely, but is very basic. Things like a hand blender, or a mixer were very sadly missed. - As the frying pans are all very used and not non stick, we spent quite a lot of time scrubbing - The location instructions: sat nav brings you perfectly to the house. All of us came from the other direction than you gave us the directions to - Maybe mention on the description that there are bumble bees in the garden? We loved seeing them, but there are people allergic to them.

    Thank you for your feedback Some points are incorrect and information in the guide pack would give you the answer or you can contact housekeeping for more dishwasher tablets for example & more towels - 2 towels per person are provided to each guest anyway The hot tub is working fine I checked it today Yes recycle bins are collected fortnightly and the empty boxes are left 20m at roadside, not sure what your point was on this …! again you could have called housekeeping with any questions. Finally There is lots of wildlife at surridge farm including bees, there is a bees nest nearby and there is lots of information in the guide pack but clearly we can’t control when and where insects like this fly ! They really keep themselves to themselves , don't sting humans and focus on the heather bushes and goat Willow tree flowers well away from the patio and lawn areas Property Owner

    Reviewed by Saskia3.8Mar 2023

  • "We all had a delightful stay at the Surridge farm house ."

    .The kitchen was fully equipped and I loved cooking with the AGA cooker..We made full use of the Log fire and the Hot tub was Beautiful and relaxing watching the stars at night..Stephen the owner of the property came and introduced himself to us such a lovely person and he gave us information on how to see the sight of the landscape on his beautiful property and the surrounding area..Me and my Family will definitely be coming back..

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Feb 2023

  • "This was a super house - well suited to our requirements."

    The kitchen, dining room and living room were an excellent size and well furnished/equipped. The weather wasn't fantastic (but then it was December/January) so we were pleased that the house was so comfortable and cozy - it made staying indoors a pleasure.

    Reviewed by Roanne4.4Dec 2022

  • "Place was amazing great to get away with family and friends."

    Reviewed by Luke5.0Dec 2022

  • "Fabulous house!"

    Really comfy beds, very spacious with great views and great sunsets! Hope to return one day!

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Sep 2022

  • "Only criticism would be that the internet did not work."

    Router was transmitting signal, but there was no connection to the internet. A minor inconvenience only, on the whole a fantastic stay, amazing house and fantastic area!

    Reviewed by Adam4.7Jul 2022

  • "Really well equipped farmhouse in a remote location surrounded by fields and sheep (mostly)."

    Lovely and quiet location. Hot tub was a bonus. Would recommend for a family get together with 4 double beds and one single bedroom.

    Reviewed by Keith5.0May 2022

  • "The house was perfect for our group of friends."

    It’s in such a lovely location and a great place to just relax in the garden. We did lots of walks straight from the door as well as being near to plenty of places to visit. The house itself is spacious and well appointed. We really enjoyed using the large dining room as well as sitting around the log burner of an evening. I loved using the AGA (there is conventional too ) . I would recommend this property especially for family and friends get togethers.

    Reviewed by Jean5.0Apr 2022

  • "Charming property, very well appointed."

    Delightfully tranquill location. Had a family celebration for 7 guests, plenty of space for us all to relax. Would highly recommend

    Reviewed by Isabel5.0Mar 2022

  • "A wonderful property with plenty of character."

    It had plenty of space for everyone and all house facilities were very good.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Mar 2022

  • "Our family enjoy lots of weekends away together and this is one of the most luxury and well-equipped homes our family have stayed in."

    The bedding and towels sumptuous, the beds super comfy and the kitchen really did have everything you could need. The manager communicated extremely well and check-in was smooth and easy. We had a lovely break!

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Dec 2021

  • "Lovely home, very well appointed and incredibly clean, lovely fires and hot tub, we would definitely stay again"

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Nov 2021

  • "Surridge Farmhouse is a beautiful, spacious, well equipped property, with lovely views, well positioned hot tub and great communication with the owner for a relaxing break away."

    Reviewed by Jill5.0Nov 2021

  • "Generally exceptional property - there were a few issues with : 1."

    Lack of hot water - as a family group with small children, we used lots of hot water, twice ran out. 2. For 3 families sharing the property, some of the provisions ie toilet paper - there was inadequate supply. Would recommend this property.

    Reviewed by David4.7Nov 2021

  • "Very tranquil and relaxing place to stay."

    We loved the walk up to the fort and the views across the hills.

    Reviewed by Naomi5.0Aug 2021

  • "House was lovely and really comfortable, all as pictured and instantly felt like a home from home."

    Landscape was stunning with amazing views with lots of lovely walks for the dogs and nice places to pop in for food and drink. If you jump in the car there are plenty of day trips out. House is really well supplied with lots of games, hot tub and fire all nice for any stay at home days.

    Reviewed by Bethanie5.0Aug 2021

  • "The cottage and grounds were wonderful."

    It had been equipped to be a home from home. Only slight irritation was you can only access the WIFI in the living room. Apart from that a wonderful location

    Reviewed by Roger5.0Jun 2021

  • "Beautiful house, really comfortable with great surroundings."

    We would like to stay here again.

    Reviewed by Eira5.0Apr 2021

  • "Wow, the photos don’t do this house justice!"

    It is so beautiful and very spacious. The rooms are all amazing and beds comfortable. The kitchen is very well stocked with equipment. The games room entertained the children while we relaxed by the fantastic fire! The surroundings are breath taking and plenty of walks. We will definitely be booking to go back!

    Reviewed by Katie5.0Oct 2020

  • "Beautiful farmhouse with lots of space and far off the beaten track so very quiet and peaceful."

    Reviewed by Tim5.0Sep 2020

  • "Property was in a very quiet area and surrounded by hills and fields, ideal for a relaxing get away."

    The cottage was very spacious with ample bedrooms and bathrooms/wc. Lovely size kitchen with plenty of crockery, pots and pans etc. Plenty of local villages, towns, bars and restaurants to visit by car. You do have to access the property by approximately 1.5 mile single track road but that is because it is in a rural location. Due to COVID the hot tub is emptied and re-filled after each stay which meant it was not hot enough to be used on our first day. I feel this should have been something stated to us before our stay as we were a bit disappointed what we could not use it straight away. We also had a couple of times when the hot water was not plentiful enough for us all to have a hot shower, even though it was stated the water was constantly heated via the Aga. We were a family of four so not sure how a larger family would manage. We were also disappointed that there was quite a bit of litter left in the outside area. This is not a complaint to the owner as they are not able to control this. It’s just very sad that other people don’t respect the property and clear up after themselves. We did have a lovely conversation with the owner about the hot tub and the rubbish and he apologised that we were not informed about the hot tub by the cleaner. He also apologised about the litter and explained that because he lived two hours away he was unable to personally inspect the property after each hire period, which was something he would have done had he been more local. All in all we had a relaxing time, plenty of land for the dog to enjoy. The hot tub and the log fire complemented our stay too.

    Reviewed by Rebecca3.8Aug 2020

  • "A lovely period property with all mod cons."

    We have stayed at many self-catering holiday homes but this would be one of my favourites. Wonderful setting with sheep to look at first thing in the morning, and an excellent seating area for the evening. The family enjoyed the hot tub and playing cricket on the grass. We would recommend a visit to Halden Forest as it has lots of activities for the sporty and a wonderful setting for those who just want to walk or picnic. Thank you to the owner for all his efforts to make our stay comfortable.

    Reviewed by Anne4.7Aug 2020

  • "Although a little more expensive than some of the properties we looked at, this was by far the best place we have stayed in."

    Everything about the farmhouse was described correctly. It was especially very well appointed with crockery, cutlery, and all the cooking utensils and pots etc that any family would need. Excellent bedding throughout, both mattress and linen, with generous helping of quality towels. Plenty of room inside and outside the property, wonderfully peaceful and quiet. Excellent communication from both Sykes and the owner. The only comment I would add for future travellers would be to mention, is that it is accessed by several miles of windy, single track lanes which are tricky to navigate, especially if someone was in a small/ low vehicle. WiFi was a little weak, but area had a good 4G signal. Will definitely be back! Richard.

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Jul 2020

  • "Really relaxing and enjoyable even with storm Denis hitting."

    Highly recommend A*****

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Feb 2020

  • "The house is comfortable."

    Lots of space. Some things are a bit tired. Some beds a bit uncomfortable.

    Thank you for the feedback. As we understand it was the new zip/link bed therefore a mattress topper has now been added for additional comfort. All other beds are comfy. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dawn4.1Dec 2019

  • "We were a party of 8 family members ranging from 22 to 88 years."

    We loved the tranquility and setting of the property. It is a perfect base for exploring area or just chilling in the beautiful garden and hot tub. We did have concerns reading a few recent reviews but coming from rural areas we found the lanes fine to drive with care. The hot tub is lovely and temp easy to control. The house has all the facilities you need and plenty of equipment for us all. Would comment that my 88 year old mum had two falls (her doing) because of misjudging the number of steps in the house. This is a beautiful old property and full of character and charm but may not suit someone less steady on their feet. Would love to return in winter and light the beautiful log fires.

    Reviewed by Mary4.7Aug 2019

  • "We are a group of 8 that like to travel on motorbikes and tour around."

    We like cottages (as we are now past camping) that are beautiful and luxurious, have a local Pub that we can walk to and make us feel safe and secure. This property was off the beaten track, very safe and very quirky that was stunning with beautiful scenery awaiting you at every turn. We were a little shocked just how off the beaten track it was, if the weather hadn’t have been hot and what you would expect abroad then we would not have been able to access the house or leave it if we had, due to the single track road, suitable for tractors. We had 1 car with us this year and that was scratched by the hedges as it was wing mirror to wing mirror, with no more than a few yards in front of you of visibility because of the tall hedges. We didn’t let this put us off and we made the most of it by trying to find taxis to take us to the nearest pub as it was not walkable unless you went across fields and we were told by locals to take a map! This was a shame as we enjoy walking to the local so we don’t need to drive everywhere especially when we been on bikes all day and fancy a pint. The house was comfortable, a few cobwebs here and there and in need of TLC (broken wooden chairs and stained cushions on the patio) and the plumbing was an issue. We spent a few days fixing a toilet that leaked and a shower that stopped mid way through bubbles and lather and a hot tub too hot to sit in. But when mentioned in a first night review a plumber was called and came out straight away to fix everything so we couldn’t grumble, and were very thankful for the fast response, even though I had already spent a few days on the phone sorting everything. I did try to ring the appropriate people at the time and their shortness with me on the phone was apparent and unnecessary and a little upsetting especially when using help numbers provided to me. We had a fantastic holiday and made it our own, but it was a little disappointing to be ringing help numbers in the first few days and using my valuable holiday time trying to remedy the situation and being able to use facilities that we booked for. The neighbours were lovely, including their dog and they helped us with directions etc. The roads around Somerset were fantastic and we had great days out touring around and through Exmoor national park and into villages with lovely ice cream and pasties. The house was quiet and we would definitely recommend it. Sykes were very helpful and did listen, especially after a day of phone calls and folk being short with me and they helped to sort out any issues we had.

    The single track road is council maintained tarmac lane typical in any rural location and is easily passable by cars and farm vehicles It serves a number of residential property along the same lane but like any lane verges can get overgrown at this time of year. The property is not "off the beaten track" The local pub is 1 mile away and easily found by walking along the above mentioned lane, This pub is mentioned in the house information pack as well as the location and numbers of other pubs nearby Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susy3.4Jul 2019

  • "Surridge farmhouse is a lovely location."

    Very secluded and the perfect place to chill. It could do with a few extras More cutlery, we struggled with the amount and there were only 6 of us. If we had been at the max capacity there wouldn't really have been enough A small hand blender, the kitchen is lovely and makes you want to cook but this is quite an important piece of equipment for a number of recipes these days A large jug, we had to use a small milk jug which isn't ideal if you are sitting outside as you are constantly back and forth Garlic crusher

    Reviewed by Kirin3.8Jun 2019

  • "This was the perfect hangout for a chilled birthday stay with best friends."

    From the very start, we had good communication with the agent and all expectations were met. Plenty of room for everyone...walks for those that wanted to, remote enough not to disturb anyone with our birthday singing, lots of interesting wildlife too. And really snug inside at night with the fire lit. Easy driving to Watchet Harbour, Dulverton and Tarr Steps - all recommended viewing. Country lanes are very tight...few passing places so take care. The village pub (1.5m) opened up specially for us! Now, that’s service. The only advice we’d give is that external photos do not do this property justice. Need a refresh to accurately reflect how lovely this is! The view from the hot tub is stunning.

    Reviewed by Kirstie4.7May 2019

  • "We were due to leave home on Thursday morning prior to starting our holiday on Friday."

    We had been watching for details of the key collection but did not receive an e-mail. I texted the owner at 19.58 (Wednesday) explaining that we had not received the key collection details and he said he would send it again when he had got home. I watched my e-mails until 10.00 and then gave up and went to bed! The following morning I checked again and still it had not come through so I texted again at 6.55 and this time I actually got a response and received the e-mail just before 7.00 in the morning. This caused a lot of unnecessary stress prior to our holiday. We found the property had not been cleaned particularly well. The bedrooms and bathrooms were fine but the lounge and kitchen carpets were covered with dog hair. I set to and with 'henry's ' help cleaned the carpets as best I could. We also found that most of the games in the play room had bits missing. The cue ball from the pool table, the number sixes from the sudoku and two white pieces from draughts to name but a few.

    Reviewed by Geoffrey3.1May 2019

  • "The concrete ramp approaching the farm house is too steep for the average car(in my case a BMW 430 saloon) Car scraped chassis even when driven very,very slowly!"

    Details provided just prior to arrival should make this very clear! The farmhouse has great character but carpets, pots and pans need a good clean. Also the toilets need dissinfecting as the smell on arrival was obvious.

    Many thanks for your feedback, information is provided in relation to available car parking space that is on flat ground, we have taken on board your comments regarding pots and pans and the toilet - A deep clean has been arranged to bring everything back up to standards expected, if you require anything further, please do not hesitate to contact us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul2.8May 2019

  • "It was an amazing cottage and a beautiful setting it far out water our expectations."

    Reviewed by Linda5.0May 2019

  • "We have just stayed for the Bank Holiday weekend at Surridge Farmhouse and had a fantastic family break."

    We have been enjoying short breaks in various properties across the UK for several years and genuinely believe this to be the best one we have experienced. As always before booking a break we read the reviews and some of these left us wondering if Surridge Farmhouse was going to let us down, but trust me, unless you live in a 7 star home then you will not be disappointed. The farmhouse sits in a lovely secluded location surrounded by wonderful countryside and views. The property is incredibly spacious with all the facilities and equipment you could need. There are a number of lovely, heart-warming fireplaces with plenty of firewood available (not charged extra as with a lot of similar properties). A spacious kitchen with all mod cons, including an Aga which kept the kitchen lovely and warm, as well as perfect for keeping food warm. A lovely spacious dining room with large table that seats 10 comfortably, plus a huge lounge. Upstairs were 5 lovely bedrooms and throughout the house there are numerous bathrooms and toilets. We booked an online groceries delivery from Asda Taunton which arrived soon after we did so didn't need to venture out of the property. The outside area is perfect with a lovely hot tub, seating area and barbeque which we made full use of this weekend. The gardens and surrounding countryside merge into one, and the first morning we ate breakfast whilst watching a roe deer in the garden and the second morning saw a pair of rabbits loving life. If you are looking to book a property for a good old fashioned family holiday, or a break somewhere peaceful and quiet to recharge your batteries, or even somewhere to get your creative juices flowing then I would most definitely recommend Surridge Farmhouse. We will definitely be returning ….thank you

    Reviewed by John4.7May 2019

  • "This property was so beautiful and spacious."

    The location is easy accessible following satnav, close to good attractions for a variety of people. Beds were so comfortable and the environment was also very comfortable and easy to make ourselves at home. Cleanliness, ease of using appliances, comfort, scenery all fantastic. Highly recommend for a luxury home from home experience but also escapism. Thank you

    Reviewed by Jo5.0Apr 2019

  • "On arrival we found a live pigeon in the grate of the living room wood burner, we called the manager of the property who told us he was 2 hours away and we would have to “man” up and get it out ourselves."

    We did, but not easily. There was no welcome pack of any kind, we have always had some kind of little pack which has contents that vary from milk, cake, wine, eggs etc - have not booked with Sykes before and felt disappointed this was not included. It is a nice personal touch. General decor was fine but there were several very chewed cushions on some of the beds which probably should have been removed, and some of the towels had dirty marks on them. The cafetière was broken so we had to make coffee in a teapot, not ideal. We wiped some water off the kitchen floor and realised the floor was very dirty from the colour of the cloth. Only one toilet roll and no spares in each of the 4 toilets, definitely not enough for 8 adults for 3 nights. We were unable to get any terrestrial television all weekend despite following instructions. In all, some good and some not so good bits.

    Thanks for your feedback, all your comments have been considered. We supply milk /tea /coffee as a welcome pack and if more towels/toilet roll are required, these can be provided on request by the housekeeper as per the info at the property. A Pigeon in the fire grate was an isolated incident and thank you for your assistance on this matter due to speed being of the essence in resolving it. I have been unable to find any issues with the cafetiere and TV but they’ll certainly be monitored . Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane3.8Mar 2019

  • "Lovely place, lovely setting, well equipped kitchen, our only comment is that the bedrooms are a bit stark, lack of mirrors, plugs etc."

    We had a great time however. Thank you

    Reviewed by Gerry3.8Mar 2019

  • "Lovely farmhouse, very clean and well equipped."

    Very quite position.

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Feb 2019

  • "The farmhouse is fabulous."

    . plenty of space, a great location and really well equipped. As it was Christmas, there was a lovely decorated Christmas tree waiting for us and the house was really warm and welcoming. Just a few of things that would have really made a difference. We had allocated the single room to my 88 yr old mother. Unfortunately this bedroom was a real let down. The mattress was very uncomfortable, there was no mirror, and nowhere for her to put her clothes. We ended up swapping a mattress from the twin room for her to sleep on, however, the twin beds are very narrow (fine for children) but as an adult she still struggled, which was a real shame. The only other comments we would make is that none of the dinner plates fit the current dishwasher, they were all too tall so to clean them properly we had to do them by hand. There are no champagne glasses (I did check this beforehand as I had seen previous comments about it, so we brought our own). However, for Christmas celebrations or any other celebrations I think they should be supplied as standard, and there are ony 2 pint glasses and one set of cutlery. Apart from the above the kitchen was really well equipped with cookware and cooking utensils and the layout worked really well.

    Thank you for your feed back. We're glad you had a great Christmas in Surridge Farmhouse. We have since replaced 3 mattresses in the property, thank you for letting us know. We have checked the dishwasher and can confirm that they do fit in the dishwasher, we do provide a number in the property for you to call if you encounter any problems. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carolyn4.4Dec 2018

  • "We rented Surridge Farmhouse for a family celebration."

    2 families (1 with boys aged 14 & 10 and 1 with boys aged 12 & 2) plus our 80 year old Mum. The bedroom layout worked extremely well. The size of the house meant that the families had enough space and bathroom facilities. The living space was very generous and the TV room just off the living room allowed the children to hang out in their own space. The kitchen is large and well equipped. I would thoroughly recommend this farmhouse.

    Reviewed by Sean5.0Dec 2018

  • "We were a three generation group with a dog and Surridge Farmhouse provided ample accommodation for us all."

    The children enjoyed the games room and large walk-in cupboards to play/hide in and the use of a hot tub was an enjoyable bonus. The area is very beautiful and peaceful and we had a lovely walk from the house up to the fort with fabulous views at the top. The lanes are quite narrow however they were generally traffic-free so not really a problem.

    Thank you for staying at Surridge Farmhouse and providing feed back. As the property is in the countryside the lanes will be narrower than the standard road, however isn't a problem for vehicles. We hope to see you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sheila5.0Oct 2018

  • "Quiet location beautiful surroundings"

    Reviewed by Barbara4.4Oct 2018

  • "Amazing holiday home away from all the hustle and bustle of city life."

    .... beautiful house and areas to walk.... driving on the country lanes bit difficult sometimes as it was wider than the road lol..... Family and dogs loved this property and would highly recommend

    Thank you for providing feed back on your stay at Surridge Farmhouse, it is much appreciated. As the property is in the countryside the roads will be narrower than standard roads but won't be an issue for vehicles. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carl4.7Sep 2018

  • "The accommodation was excellent and suited us very well, however there was a lack of glasses, not enough wine glasses, bubbly glasses or water glasses for everyone."

    Also there were no hand towels in the downstairs toilets and the dishwasher was full of dirty dishes when we arrived,it had a tab in but just hadn't been switched on........just minor really but it was a bit annoying not having enough glasses.

    Thank you for your feed back. There is around 18 wine glasses and 20 tumblers in the property. There are now hand towels in the downstairs toilet. We have made the cleaning team aware of the dishwasher, thank you for letting us know. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jean4.7Aug 2018

  • "There were small issues as listed below There were a number of light bulbs needing replacement under the units in the kitchen which meant it was very dark for cooking I would have expected some milk to have been left as part of the essentials considering how far shops are from the property so that people can have a tea or coffee on arrival."

    The information asked us to check and treat the water in the spa but the testing and treatment equipment were empty and there was no help available from the housekeeper who told us the spa maintenance person was on holiday . There was no wifi available during our stay despite being advertised , again the housekeeper was unable to help us and it seems that a bill had not been paid. There were not enough towels in my opinion for the week forcing us to wash and tumble dry the one large and one small towel we had each, not something I wanted to spend my time doing. However it is a lovely old farmhouse in a delightful secluded position and we did enjoy our stay.

    Thank you for your feed back. We have replaced the bulbs under the units of the kitchen, thank you for letting us know. We provide a welcome pack in the property for when guests arrive. There is a number in the property to call if there are any problems during your stay. The WiFi in the property has been fixed. More towels can be requested by calling the number left in the property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jacqueline4.1Aug 2018

  • "Although quite remote with lots of single track roads to negotiate you would be hard pushed to find a better equipped holiday cottage."

    Reviewed by Simon4.4Jul 2018

  • "Surridge farm is a stunning old farmhouse in wonderful English countryside we had good weather and enjoyed BBQ and eating al fresco And ofcourse the hot tub!"

    Beds very comfy and lovely white bed linen and towels .... This didn’t spoil our holiday one bit but a few things do need replacing the outside table and seat . Overall an enjoyable weekend

    Thank you for your feed back. We are in the process of replacing the garden furniture and will be completed in 2019. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Jun 2018

  • "Surridge Farmhouse is a beautiful house set in a beautiful location."

    It’s one of the best equipped houses we have rented and was extremely clean. There were a couple of issues which were beyond the control of the owner who dealt with everything as quickly as possible and kept us up to date so we couldn’t ask for anything more. We had a fabulous stay and would definitely go back. The only thing which would have been nice would be a small welcome pack so we could have a cup of tea/ biscuit whilst we waited for our on line delivery to arrive after a long journey there.

    Thank you for staying at Surridge Farmhouse. We provide a welcome pack for guests on arrival. Thank you for your feed back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanna5.0Mar 2018

  • "The cottage is far better in real life, it was huge and really clean."

    We were able to check in early and also due to being snowed in part of the party were able to stay an extra night. The master bedroom and en suite is super special and the kitchen was well equipped with essentials which are always forgotten. Thank you so much for a great stay.

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Mar 2018

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Entrance Hall
  • Sitting Room
  • Dining Room
  • Cloakroom with WC and washbasin
  • Kitchen/Breakfast Room
  • 2nd Cloakroom with WC and washbasin
  • Walk-in Larder
  • Games Room
  • First Floor: Bedroom 1 with 6ft double bed and en-suite shower room with double shower, WC, washbasin and bidet
  • Bedroom 2 with double bed
  • Bedroom 3 with twin beds
  • Bedroom 4 with single bed
  • Bedroom 5 with king-size bed
  • Bathroom 1 with bath, hand shower, WC and washbasin
  • Bathroom 2 with bath, hand shower, shower cubicle, WC and wash basin.
  • Central heating and wood burning stoves
  • Electric oven and hob, AGA, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, microwave
  • Washing machine
  • TV/DVD, WiFi
  • Bed linen and towels included free of charge
  • Off road parking for 4 cars
  • Large lawned garden and south facing terrace, hot tub, BBQ
  • Games room
  • Up to 2 pets accepted
  • No smoking
  • Shop 4 miles
  • Pub 1.5 mile
  • Beach 16 miles

The property

At the foot of the quietly beautiful Brendon Hills and on the edge of the Exmoor National Park, near the small hamlet of Waterrow is Surridge Farmhouse.

This handsome, detached Grade II listed farmhouse, dating back to the 17th century, stylishly combines elegant modern living with original period features.

On the ground floor, you'll find a smart kitchen/breakfast room with AGA and additional conventional oven, an excellent dining room with wood burning stove and an enormous 29ft lounge with fireplaces at either end, traditional beamed ceilings and original window seats.

The games room with TV/DVD, bean bags, table football is perfect for rainy days or just keeping the children occupied.

The original half-turn staircase leads up to five bedrooms; the enormous master double with lovely views and an en suite shower room, two smart doubles, a twin and a single room.

Two further bathrooms complete the accommodation.

Surridge Farmhouse sits in a ring fence of 80 acres of pasture and woodland with its own Iron Age Fort perfect for exploring, or perhaps relax in the illuminated six person hot tub on the large south facing patio whilst taking in the endless views across the surrounding countryside.

Whichever you choose you're sure to have a fantastic holiday in a truly peaceful spot.

View on map

About the location

WIVELISCOMBE

Taunton 11 miles.

Known affectionately as Wivey, this historic market town is set in wonderful surroundings on the edge of Exmoor, in the Brendon Hills. This is a perfect centre from which to set out on outdoor pursuits; from fishing for trout on the peaceful waters of Clatworthy Reservoir or Wimbleball Lake, horse-riding at a number of stables in the area or simply taking a long walk through the idyllic countryside on well-signed paths. There are several excellent independent shops in Wiveliscombe including an award-winning butcher, antique shops, a gunsmith and the well known Court House, a striking three-storey independent shop that attracts visitors from far afield. The village is half an hour's drive from North Somerset's beaches, such as Blue Anchor Bay and, as the gateway to the Brendon Hills and Exmoor, an ideal base for walking and other pursuits in one of Britain's loveliest National Parks. The picturesque Exmoor towns of Dulverton and Bampton are within driving distance. A perfect holiday destination - peace coupled with good facilities and leisure pursuits.

Note: Water is supplied by a borehole and is regularly checked. There is an unfenced pond within the grounds. Note: Pets are charged at £30.00 per pet, per week (or short break)
Note: Please be advised that from 01/01/2023 all booking will command
a £100 surcharge for heating if there is a 5 or 7 night booking and £50 charge for 2/3 night / weekend bookings

Please Note: Due to the location of the property, In extreme weather the hot tub may not be available for use

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas