Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked Jasmine at Magnolia Lake in the last 24 hours

1 of 18 View Image Gallery
  • Jasmine at Magnolia Lake - Devon - 1060791 - photo 1
close

Jasmine at Magnolia Lake

(Ref. 1060791)

Mamhead near Dawlish, Devon Show on map

3.9

Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • comfortable (10)
  • diane (6)
  • clean (6)
  • our (6)
  • peaceful (6)
  • well (5)

15 Customer Reviews

  • "Comfortable , clean and well equipped ."

    Peaceful location . As stated in several other reviews not easy to find . Better directions would be after taking the turn towards Mamhead/Starcross take the right turn signposted Ashcombe .

    Reviewed by Stephanie4.1Sep 2023

  • "The property was very difficult to find, I would advise signs at both gateways (at least), it could be very much better signposted in our opinion."

    It was romantic & ideal for anyone wanting a very remote holiday, however, no indication was given as to the distance from any 'civilisation', which can be accessed sometimes through very narrow steep lanes. The conservatory was comfortable & a nice place to lounge, however, as it was the main living area a TV would have been better suited to that room rather than the bedroom. Also, the kitchen was very well-equipped. Dianne was very friendly both on the phone & on arrival, we would like to say thank you for allowing us to stay.

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay here in Jasmine Cottage at Magnolia Lake. and for your positive comments. I do recall going over the directions with you on the phone when you checked in prior to your arrival but I do remember when you arrived you saying you had driven past 3 times because you did not have any navigation guides or map. In reality we are only a short hop away from the main A380 Trunk road. 1 mile in fact, just far enough not to hear the traffic noise. So not remote by any standards and not locked away on the narrow Devon lanes. The reason the TV is not in the conservatory is because it is all glass you cannot see the picture clearly! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrea3.8Sep 2023

  • "After collecting the keys from Diane at the main house, we headed about 200 yds up the lane to our accommodation."

    Jasmine at magnolia lake is absolutely perfect for a couple wanting a peaceful and relaxing holiday. We cannot fault the accommodation, it has everything you could possibly need during your stay. The king-size bed was extremely comfortable there was plenty of room in the bungalow to put all our luggage etc out of sight. The accommodation needs a little tlc in places but good value for money. We didn't see another person during our stay, it's so quiet and peaceful. It's located in a beautiful part of Devon close to many beautiful towns and villages nearby. There were a few negatives for us. The first was actually finding the property on the first day. The satnav does not direct you too it, and if you put the postcode in it takes you somewhere else. There are few signposts to direct you down what are single vehicle lanes which is frustrating. It took us a couple of days to find a route to the property that we could remember. Larger vehicles could struggle getting through some of the narrower lanes. The entrance to Jasmine was also difficult to get our car up and down. It is on a slope and everytime we went out of the property the skirts on our car caught the road, causing damage to the under side of the skirt. Lower cars will struggle entering the access to the property. That said we would like thank Diane, it is a lovely place to stay and she was very helpful.

    Thank you so much for your lovely comments about Jasmine Cottage. You were great Guests to have to stay and I am so pleased to hear you had a good holiday with us. I hope you will be able to come and stay again, but this time I will most definitely steal your car! With very best wishes to you both Diane Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen4.1Aug 2023

  • "The bedroom and shower room were superb, the bed very comfortable."

    The kitchen/diner was also very good. The conservatory was great when the sun shone but went cold quickly when the sun set, note I was there at the end of September when the nights were getting colder. AS there was no heating in the conservatory this meant it was not usable in the evenings, OK I think in the summer but not out of season. Otherwise a good location for this corner of Devon.

    Thank you for your feedback We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope we can look forward to having you come again. Diane Property Owner

    Reviewed by Brian3.4Sep 2022

  • "Very hard to fined, lack of any signage, poor directions."

    As listed we thought it would be on one level, it was not, my wife is a wheelchair user and this made life difficult.

    Thank you for your feedback which we always welcome. I am sorry that you found the property hard to find as we have not had this problem before. There is a photo on the website that do show internal steps in the property and if you had you mentioned that your wife was in a wheelchair at the time of your booking, we would have suggested another of our properties which we feel would have been more suitable. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian2.8Jun 2022

  • "A clean, comfortable and well equipped property."

    A warm and friendly welcome on arrival. I enjoyed the opportunity to wander in the spacious and wildlife-friendly grounds. Many interesting places to visit within easy reach. A treat not to be missed was the Dartmouth Steam Railway and associated boat trip on the River Dart. Some visitors might resent the number of very narrow roads in the area but others (like me) would accept this as the price to pay for the rural location. The written travel directions for the immediate area are confusing and need revising : (1) the signs to the Mamhead Sensory Trail are not on the advised route and (2) it is important that visitors are advised to follow the road sign for Ashcombe at the top of the road on which the property sits.

    It's so lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear that you found the directions difficult and we are surprised to hear this. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Roger5.0Jun 2022

  • "We found Diane a very good host and nothing was too much trouble we had a very ..."

    We found Diane a very good host and nothing was too much trouble we had a very restful holiday although weather could ha e been kinder very comfortable accommodation

    Reviewed by Craig5.0Sep 2021

  • "We arrived early due to the distance we travelled."

    Diane was very kind got our cottage ready early so we could get sorted with our unpacking. Some of the reviews are a bit harsh. Read a review about getting wet feet from wet grass, put some shoes on that normally works. Another about spiders and cobwebs really you are in the country. If you want a nice peaceful retreat then this is for you. We enjoyed our stay and Highley recommend. We hope to return in the future

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Aug 2021

  • "The Jasmine was lovely."

    It was clean, well kept and comfortable. Diane the owner was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We had a fantastic week and were sad to leave, we will return again hopefully. The Jasmine is in lovely surroundings. Very peaceful. Gardens and walks close by. The Anchor pub, a short drive away serves delicious mussels!!

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jul 2021

  • "The cottage is cold and damp we had to wash all unworn clothes on return as they smelt musty."

    A dehumidifier was in conservatory. Central heating is controlled by owner and even though cold no heating would come on.The Owner will say there is heating but it does not come on & was fixed at 22 degrees. No radiators in bathroom to dry towels due to heating issues. Plug in towel rail given but not very good. Outside furniture old and unsuitable for use removed during our stay so we had no outside seating. No Gas BBQ. Conservatory has no tv and is cold at night as there is no radiator in that room even if it was on. so you use the bedroom as your lounge as it was the warmest and nicest room. Very comfortable bed and bedding which was great. Very nice bathroom with lovely shower. Only 1 small oven dish. No oven trays. Property dirty except main parts as not cleaned thoroughly. Lady owner was rude and obnoxious when trying to resolve heating issues and slammed phone down and issue was was resolved so we had a cold property week and no further contact made with us. We would definitely not recommend unless the above issues are resolved.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. The owner has informed us that they have investigated the issues and advise as follows: The central heating in Jasmine is controlled inside the cottage. It is an entirely self-contained system and controlled by the thermostat inside the cottage by the guest. The Bathroom radiator is thermostatically controlled, if the ambient temperature is higher than the thermostat setting it is not likely to come on. The cottage is not damp. The kitchen is fully and properly equipped and everything is in working order. The TV is clearly advertised to be in the bedsitting room of the cottage., unfortunately placing the TV in the conservatory results in difficulty seeing the screen. The kitchen is fully and properly equipped, everything is in working order. There is a BBQ and garden furniture for each property at Magnolia Lake. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martin1.6Jul 2021

  • "Had a wonderful holiday, perfect peace and quiet."

    Diane, the owner was brilliant, always helpful

    Reviewed by Michael3.4Jul 2021

  • "The cottage very much failed to meet the description on the website."

    It was unkempt, damp and not very clean. The grass had bit been cut, the outside furniture was rusty and dirty. The only tv was in the bedroom. There was an all pervading smell and feeling of damp to the point that stainless steel itms like the cup holder and toilet roll holder were rusty. There were cobwebs everywhere and mould in the corners.

    Thank you for your feedback which we always welcome. We are surprised, not only because this is our first negative review, but also that you felt the cottage was damp as it has an auto heating system and is in a lovely sunny spot, The cottage has not been unoccupied and so heated constantly. Had you mentioned during your stay that you were unhappy, we would have been only to happy to help. We are a little confused by your rust comment as there is no cup holder in the bathroom. As mentioned to you before your arrival, there is one tv in the bedroom because you cannot see the picture in the conservatory clearly in summer months. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linden1.9Jul 2021

  • "The location of the cottage was perfect and the cottage itself was of a high standard and very clean."

    It was well equipped, tastefully decorated and really exceeded our expectations. The host Diane was welcoming and very helpful during our stay and her knowledge of the local area was very good and helpful. We would have no hesitation in recommending Jasmin at Magnolia Lake and hopefully one day we may return.

    Reviewed by David5.0Jun 2021

  • "The owner was very friendly and helpful and the cottage was set in a beautiful private, peaceful garden."

    The cottage was clean, comfortable and well furnished. Great location with easy access to the coast and inland.

    Reviewed by Graham3.8May 2021

  • "We had a magical, peaceful, restorative few days at Magnolia Lake."

    Jasmine is comfortable and well-equipped, with plenty of storage space. We loved being surrounded by trees and deliciously scented shrubs. We appreciated being invited to explore the beautiful grounds, sensitively managed in a way that encourages the thriving of rich biodiversity. Wild spring flowers, grey deer, red fox, owl... and long-tailed tits nesting just outside our window. It was wonderful being able to walk straight out into forest and heathland, from where we could see the ocean and Exe Estuary. This short holiday reminded me how vital woodland, peace and beauty are for heightened wellbeing, and I hope to return.

    Reviewed by G4.7May 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday

Summary

  • All-ground-floor
  • One king-size bedroom
  • Shower room with shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, Freeview TV, DVD player, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Private parking for 2 cars
  • Lawned garden with furniture and barbecue available on request
  • Shared use of 18-acre grounds
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 4.6 miles
  • Note: No children under 8 years old, except babies under 2 years old
  • Note: This property has a private water supply which is tested regularly
  • Note: Bookings for any other reason than holiday/leisure are not permitted, this property cannot be used as private accommodation for work trips

The property

Dawlish 5.1 miles.

Resting within 18-acres of beautiful Devonshire farmland is this charming detached bungalow, Jasmine at Magnolia Lake.

Perfect for a romantic getaway with that special someone, Jasmine is a one-bedroom property offering two guests a wonderful retreat to Devon.

Be welcomed in via the sitting area within the conservatory, boasting pretty seating here to relax on.

Head through into the kitchen and dining area, with a table for two to enjoy delicious meals rustled up in the well-equipped kitchen, here you'll find an electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer and even a handy dishwasher and a washing machine.

A lovely, contemporary shower room provides the perfect spot to freshen up, whilst the elegant king-size bedroom (accessed via 3 steps) is a serene setting to catch your rest, TV with Freeview and a DVD player.

Delight in alfresco meals at the outdoor furniture, with a barbecue available on request being wonderful for warm, summer afternoons.

Explore the 18-acre grounds to get some fresh air in the morning, and delight in being within easy reach of the coast at Dawlish, as well as the Dartmoor National Park.

Enjoy a wondrous stay with your loved one at Jasmine at Magnolia Lake in Devon.

Note: This property can be booked with Refs. 1060804, 1060805, 1060806, 1060807, together sleeping up to 20 guests.

Magnolia Lake

Five individual cottages set within 18 acres of private woodland and gardens close to the beautiful hamlet of Mamhead in an unspoilt corner of South Devon and amidst rolling countryside and stunning woodland areas. Tucked below the beautiful Haldon Forest; a haven for walkers, cyclists and wildlife the cottages at Magnolia Gardens offer wonderful rural retreats yet are easily accessible form the A380 which connects Exeter and Torquay. Ideally suited to groups of friends or families, this accommodation caters to a variety of group needs, there's no better choice for your escape to Devon. All of the cottages offer a homely and traditional interior, with woodburning stoves in three of the cottage offering an added warmth in the winter months, while their private gardens offer the perfect spot for alfresco dining and social gatherings in the summer, with all of 18 acres of beautiful grounds to explore too! On the southern border of Haldon forest and just below the Mamhead Sensory Trail and the Mamhead Obelisk, the cottages are well placed for those seeking a relaxing escape, with walking routes leading you past the landmark via dens and wooded trails to explore. For relaxed days out then the coast is a short drive away with Dawlish Warren offering a huge sweep of golden sand plus a wild bird sanctuary and nature reserve or explore Regency town of Teignmouth with its pier and sandy beaches. Both Dawlish and Teignmouth are home to a scattering of shops, pubs, restaurants, ice cream shops, cafés and so much more, there's sure to be something here for every kind of dining occasion. Take a day trip to Shaldon to discover the Shaldon Wildlife Trust and the Shaldon Botanical Gardens both making lovely spots for a leisurely stroll, or enjoy a family-fun day out at Paignton Zoo Environmental Park, home to baboons, red pandas, crocodiles, wallabies and so much more, it's well-worth a visit. The adventure seekers will delight at the surrounding attractions of Ashcombe Adventure Centre, Go Ape Bullers Hill and Crealy Theme Park and Resort, all offering a memorable experience and rides suitable for a variety of ages. While the history lover will be happy to find both Powderham Castle and the National Trust owned Compton Castle just a scenic car ride away too. In easy reach of so much excitement, the cottages at Magnolia Lake make a superb choice at any time of the year.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

DAWLISH

Teignmouth 3 miles; Exeter 13.4 miles; Exmouth 19.7 miles

A charming seaside town set on the southern coast. The town of Dawlish offers all of the facilities for day-to-day living including a pleasant variety of shops, restaurants and cafés and a small cinema. Dawlish is famous for its Black Swans that live with other wildfowl on the Dawlish Water that runs through the central town park down to the sea, at night in the summer it is beautifully lit by strings of coloured lights. Dawlish comes with a wonderful, sandy beach with a crazy golf course also nearby, it is the perfect place for a family holiday. Up the coast is Dawlish Warren that can be reached by car or train or, for those energetic types, a walk along the sea wall. Further afield, Dawlish mainline station offers access to Exeter, Exmouth, Torquay, Paignton or even Plymouth, trains are plentiful.

Note: Please arrange with owner if planning to charge electric vehicles at the property.

Note: Bookings for any other reason than holiday/leisure are not permitted, this property cannot be used as private accommodation for work trips.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas