In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

10 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 82 View Image Gallery
  • Deer Leap House - Dorset - 1060785 - photo 1

Deer Leap House

(Ref. 1060785)

Moreton, Dorset Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 15 Guests

  • 7 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (19)
  • grounds (14)
  • stay (13)
  • family (12)
  • our (11)
  • bath (11)

27 Customer Reviews

  • "What a beautiful house!"

    We really enjoyed our stay and would consider coming back. We do however have a couple of things we were not really happy with. 1. The small shower wasn't very good because we were unable to regulate it. It needs a new shower head as this one has only a jet flow. 2. The toilet in that bathroom didn't flush very well. 3. One of the mattresses had a large stain which is not really acceptable. 4. Areas of the house were really dusty, especially on the architrave above the oven in the kitchen. 5. A few light bulbs did not work. 6. The handle on the downstairs bathroom is broken and had to be opened from the outside! Apart from those points we were very comfortable and we can see that the owners are gradually making improvements and modernisations through the property. The grounds are exceptional and we would love to come back during summertime. Please pass on our comments to the owners because those little things that we felt were lacking are just little things that make such a difference. Many thanks.

    Reviewed by Janette3.8Mar 2024

  • "We had problems with the bathrooms."

    Shower door loose and had come off its moorings. Cold water in the bathroom with the bath. No instructions how to use the bath with the jacuzzi. Downstairs bathroom doors not attached either. Equipment a bit basic 8n the kitchen and Aga difficult to use. Vacuum cleaner sparks and a smell of smoke. Dangerous. Lots of space for the family, lots of rooms and games room. Heating was good and warm. Grounds outstanding. Towels provided and beds were comfortable.

    Thankyou for your feedback and for leaving a note about the vacuum cleaner which I have removed from the property. I did notice the door had come off its moorings after check out and have now placed it back. I am sorry that you could not work the jazuzzi bath during your stay and felt the kitchen was a bit basic.I am always available during your stay to assist. I am so pleased you loved the grounds and founds beds comfortable. Hopefully you will come back to Dorset again soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda3.4Nov 2023

  • "Amazing place for a family gathering, very efficient heating system, could do with another toilet - 3 between 14 people a bit difficult."

    Good facilities eg pool table, tennis courts, and lovely grounds. Please install a coffee machine. Need better instructions for disposal of food waste. It would be helpful to have another twin instead of a double for those sharing.

    Reviewed by Jean3.4Nov 2023

  • "Good points."

    lovely house and great surrounding grounds. Heating great with Arga cooker and open fires the house was warm. Games room was well used. Local pub just a short walk. Hanna, owner, was available and easy to talk to. Tennis court was again well used. All bedrooms were a good size and dining room seated 14 of us easily. Bad points. none really but just mention some curtains need fixing to curtain pole, cooker in corner a bit awkward to use and clean, was a bit dirty. Overall really enjoyed our stay there and would go again

    Reviewed by Robert4.4Nov 2023

  • "This is my second booking here and I must say that no maintenance has been done since then."

    We had no heating for the first few days, although the caretaker did bring a few extra blankets, we had to keep letting her know that the heating was still not working. The curtains need attention, quite a few hanging down. Dustbins were already full. Some windows did not open one in the kitchen and some of the upstairs ones. The whirlpool bath did not work, and could not be used even as a normal bath as the plug would not go down. The arga was not hot enough to cook on and the other cooker is tucked away in a corner. Apart from that the grounds were beautiful and so is the house, it is quite lived in but that suited us as it made it more relaxed. Some of the bedding has seen better days, flat pillows and bobbly quilt covers. But saying that we would stay there again.

    We are very proud of Deer Leap and it is very much loved by all. Sorry to hear your second visit was not as good as your first visit. I am delighted that you have stated you will still come and stay here again for a third stay though ... The only aspect of the property which was found not to be maintained by myself was the curtains in the dining room. Thank you for bringing this to my attention The heating does not usually go until October. When you contacted me I came up the next day and put it on i also personally delivered you 5 new brand new blankets as you expressed you were all ladies that sit knitting so therefor feel the cold easily. Dustbins were half full because you arrived mid week. Again thank you for raising this I may look at getting a second bin but it is rarely full after 3 day stay. Aga is hot enough and is serviced every 6 months, i was happy to personally come up and help if you had asked. I am always on hand. There are 2 pillows for each person , your comment about the pillows being flat is noted and will be looked at. It is important to us that all our guests are comfortable and sleep well, We look forward to seeing you again. Hopefully we can improve on your satisfaction for next visit. :) Kindest Regards Hannah Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen3.1Oct 2023

  • "The beds were clean and comfortable."

    It would have been nice to have a tray for carrying and water jugs available. The kitchen feels very confused in layout, could do with a rethink. The whirlpool bath instructions couldn't be found, a disappointment. The rubbish from outside had not been emptied, so we struggled to put our rubbish out. When a big group is using the property, it is hard to be out by 10 and leave the dishwasher empty. The house overall is lovely. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Fiona4.1Oct 2023

  • "Fabulous place to stay for a family get together."

    The grounds are beautiful and the house and rooms are spacious. We really had fun in the games room and with ping pong and swimming pool. Only marked down as not many of the electrical sockets work making it difficult to use hairdryers etc. Also the Aga was not hot enough to cook so had to use the normal cooker which was tucked away into a corner making it difficult. Despite this would absolutely recommend and would go back again with the family.

    Reviewed by Alison4.4Sep 2023

  • "We loved Deer Leap House."

    It was set in the most beautiful grounds which we enjoyed walking around and exploring the woods just beyond. The lake was alive with beautiful fish. Lots of baby fish showing it to be a healthy breeding ground. The deer we saw in the early mornings and evenings were delightful. They weren’t too shy and came quite close to the house at times and we were able to get some lovely photos of them. The house itself was more like a home than a letting house and was full of charm. It had lots of nice touches showing a thoughtfulness towards the guests. Loads of soft furnishings adding extra comfort. It was clean, tidy and warm upon arrival with fairy lighting wrapping the stairs and balcony giving it a nice feeling of welcome. We enjoyed free Wi-Fi, Broadband and Sky TV and the games room. The pool table was used a lot amongst all of us. We even used the record player to play a few LP’s one evening which took us back to the time of our wedding in 1973. The reason behind our family holiday. Magic. There were a few minor plumbing issues which need attention but they didn’t detract from our stay nor our hopes that one day we could return for another stay. We were able to enjoy the pool on several occasions. It did need a clean at the bottom of the deep end but we were unable to use the hoover to sweep it as the hoover was broken. As the rest of the pool was very clean it was not a problem and more likely to have been a recent occurrence or just simply a build up it being towards the end of the season. We all loved the pool. We would recommend Deer Leap House if you want a real homely stay in a beautiful part of Dorset. Don’t expect top end corporate luxury instead expect a real nice family home feel. The owner has made every effort to ensure that anyone who stays can enjoy a wealth of comfort and entertainment. Space for everyone is premium and was especially enjoyed by our four legged family members. I would definitely recommend Deer Leap House and would dearly love to revisit it again. Thank you to the owner for sharing your lovely house with us.

    Reviewed by Sandra4.7Aug 2023

  • "Overall a very pleasant stay ."

    Very comfortable and a great location . A beautiful house with excellent facilities and ample space , good size bedrooms rooms. Just a few points to highlight though … for a house that size to not have the dishwasher working was a big disappointment . Cooking dishes very limited for the Aga . Ice maker not working on fridge . Found rubbish and towels left from previous occupants …cobwebs in most rooms . Curtains certainly need some attention in some rooms . 3 bathrooms ( toilets ) not adequate for a house that sleeps 15 ! ( 1 bathroom very small ) An airer would be good for indoor drying on wet days !

    HI Sharon I am glad you found your stay comfortable and pleasant. Unfortunately the dishwasher was faulty for a short period during your stay . Your other comments are untrue there were not cobwebs in every room. There most definitely was not old towels and rubbish left either. Apologies if the airer was not left out thank you for bringing this to my attention. For future reference I am more than happy to help with any issues for guests. If you has contacted me during your stay I could have helped at the time.. However, I ma glad you still very much enjoyed your stay. :) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon4.4Jun 2023

  • "I jave never ever stayed in a ring down unkempt properties we jad no electric most weekend ."

    .properties is filthy and unkept One bathroom we could not use as sewage smell and riolet not much bad stuff some r party left early .....its a rip off

    Thank you for your review and I am very sorry that you felt the property did not meet your expectations. Deer Leap is a wonderful house and previous guests have left many positive and happy reviews in its visitor’s book which you may have seen. We take a lot of pride in the house and its grounds and have many happy guests return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samantha1.3Jun 2023

  • "Idilic gardens and lake."

    Just a short walk to a fantastic pub. Very friendly and accommodating owner. Fantastic place to stay!

    Reviewed by Rohan5.0Jun 2023

  • "The property was everything we hoped it would be."

    It was set in wonderful grounds and the deer visited daily which was a joy. However, the cleanliness of the property was not up to the standard expected - for example there were cobwebs everywhere. Some of the curtains were shabby and hanging loose. In one of the bedrooms, the sockets didn't work. We happened upon the information book for the property on the penultimate day as it was tucked away in a kitchen drawer - not very useful. We had to make a phone call to get the code for the swimming pool gate even though it was supposed to have been sent.

    Hi Helen I am glad to hear you Deer Leap a joy. I am disappointed to hear you didn't feel the house was cleaned to a good standard and have took this on board. I did personally inspect for cob webs and found 2 small ones in the very highest part of the house these were since removed. Other than that it did meet the high standards set. There is one socket that apparently doesn't work, however, there are many alternative sockets and this has not posed a problem before, again thank you for bringing it too may attention. The house keeping team did not find any faulty curtain whilst cleaning. The information book is always left out as part of the welcome pack in the hallway for guests arrival I am wandering if perhaps this was moved by someone on arrival . The pool is always locked for safety reasons. I believe you should have received this prior to your arrival from Sykes. As you know I was always on the end of the phone to help if ever help is ever needed as with the code for the pool. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen3.1May 2023

  • "We had a fantastic time as an extended family."

    The house was bigger than we expected and the grounds blew us away. We really wished we’d booked a longer break.

    Hi Elizabeth So glad you had a wonderful time at Deer Leap House. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Hannah Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elisabeth4.1Apr 2023

  • "We have just returned from a week’s holiday at Deer Leap House, Moreton (Ref:- 1060785)."

    It was a bit disappointing that the electronic gates didn’t work so our dogs had to be kept on leads when out in the garden. This despite the sign on the gate stating that dogs were roaming freely !! which given the proximity of the busy main road they most certainly could not do with the gates open. What was more worrying was, as we were preparing to leave the property, my daughter opened the wardrobe door to find rodent droppings in the wardrobe (pictures available but will not copy onto this form). This was in the main, large bedroom facing the front of the house. It appears as if the hole where the pipe goes out of the wardrobe has been gnawed allowing the rodents into the wardrobe, and maybe into the room. We found the kitchen quite difficult to use as the equipment seemed to be randomly arranged in the numerous cupboards and the positioning of the electric cooker made cooking awkward if not potentially unsafe. We did have a good week, with the tennis court and pool room being top of the list! I assume you will pass these comments on to the owner/leesor.

    Reviewed by David3.4Apr 2023

  • "Amazing property for the money, perfect for our large family trip"

    Reviewed by James4.4Mar 2023

  • "This a beautiful house and fantastic for a family."

    It was difficult getting used to an aga but it was fantastic to put something in and leave it! The house is tired in some places but that didn’t bother us. The outlook is amazing Deer visited in the morning, and the games room was a real asset. We had an amazing time and we hope to return.

    Reviewed by Karen4.1Feb 2023

  • "We stayed at the house for a few days before Xmas and had such a lovely time."

    The house was brilliant for a large family group, so much space inside and out! The Xmas decorations and tree in the hallway were a lovely touch and the living room was way cosier than it looks in the photos. All generations (and two dogs) loved our stay, the young ones enjoyed the space and the games room and the not so young ones enjoyed the cosy spot next to the fire in the hallway with a glass of wine. Perfect way to spend my 40th birthday!

    Reviewed by Roz4.4Dec 2022

  • "Beautiful house in a beautiful setting."

    Ideal for a large gathering of friends or family. We arrived during the coldest week of the year and had an issue with the heating but was resolved after I contacted Hannah. One of the highlights of our stay was to wake up one morning to see upwards of 20 deer coming out of the woodland, lovely.

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Dec 2022

  • "When we arrived at the property, it was well presented and welcoming."

    The Christmas decorations were a lovely touch. There were a few things that would have made our stay more comfortable. We were advised before our stay that there wouldn't be any wifi available. We were, however, advised that we could connect to the wifi in the adjoining cottage. This wasn't the most convenient solution though. Upon arrival, there weren't any hand towels in any of the bathrooms nor enough towels for all of the guests. We advised the owner who was very apologetic. Apparently there had been an error by housekeeping. The towels arrived the next day, albeit in the afternoon. Some of the rooms could get quite cold so we would recommend taking additional layers in the winter months. We weren't sure if there was a knack to using the upstairs bath but we couldn't get the hot tap to work nor could we figure out how to fill the jacuzzi tub. It would be helpful if the jacuzzi tub came with instructions. The games room is great for keeping everyone entertained. Only minor issues experienced but we would definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by Sara4.4Dec 2022

  • "Amazing house and grounds!"

    Just perfect for a big group away! A few issues were the wifi did not work (no one could connect to it), there was not enough hot water for eceryone to shower so those showering last had coldish showers and then no hot water for washing up for the rest of the day, the aga was not hot enough to cook with (so used the other oven provided instead), most of the plug sockets in the room at the top of the stairs did not work, and the record player did not work. Despite these the house was perfect with great space areas for everyone and a brilliant games room! Would stay here again!

    Reviewed by Oliver4.4Nov 2022

  • "HI We had a great time at Dear Leap, the grounds are stunning."

    I do feel the house feels very unloved. It could do with some maintenance, fairly lights around stair case needs removing as do not work, jacuzzi bath does not work. It felt like there had not been anyone staying for a while, there were alot of dead flies in the window. The hot water did not stay on constant too, so had to contact he agent. However the agents were very responsive and dealt with this. Communication from them was excellent throughout. We would stay again.

    Hi Marie Pleased to hear you had a great time.! I can say the house is very much loved and The maintenance is completely up to date except the fairy light unfortunately as i explained was missing the plug. The Jacuzzi bath 100% works . It was myself not the agents that you were communicating with so I am pleased you felt i was responsive. Thank you for bringing to my attention about the flies this maybe where housekeeping didn't go back to do one final check in order that I could arrange for you to go into the property early. which i hope you felt was a positive you could take away. Kindest Regards Hannah Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marie3.1Nov 2022

  • "My visiting family from New Zealand, Cardiff and Ottery St."

    Mary, all had an amazing time at this fabulous property. So much there for entertainment, the grounds were lovely, and we were fascinated by the number of deer that visited every day, including four stags in one occasion! Ideal for a large family get together!

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0Sep 2022

  • "An incredible house and grounds with tennis court and pool - we stayed with a big group of friends and their children, and we all loved it."

    It’s well located for amenities and a short drive away from many attractions (we went to Corfe Castle, Old Harry’s Rocks and the Swanage railway!). There were ample cooking utensils for us to cook (the second cooker was much appreciated in addition to the Aga) and we appreciated the tea and biscuit that greeted us on arrival. The host’s communication was great and she was happy to help us with any queries. Thank you for having us.

    Reviewed by Frances4.7Sep 2022

  • "Such a lovely house in a beautiful setting."

    There was 15 of us and we celebrated my sisters 60th and even though there was lots us there was plenty of room and plenty to do. The house and garden was well equipped even had a fire pit to keep us cosy . It was lovely to watch the deer so closely , one evening we counted 15!! We were offered an extra night free of charge as one of the showers weren't working which was really kind and even though only a couple stayed it meant we didnt have to rush home as it was the day of the queens funeral which meant we could watch it all together. I would definitely recommend this place, it's a wonderful place to stay , thank you so much

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Sep 2022

  • "Lovely big house, enjoyed our holiday."

    Just to let you know the showers need looking at the new bathroom shower cold, the downstairs bathroom shower too hot, one in the bath just trickle, we all ended up using the one in the small toilet upstairs, works great. Struggled with the aga, with the weather being so hot, and it takes ages to cook anything, maybe a separate cooker would work well. Thank you for a lovely holiday. Debbie and family. X

    Hi Debbie It was lovely to meet yourself and your family. Sorry to hear about the showers this will now looked into. Unfortunately the aga settings had been turned down, this will also be resolved so not to happen again. I’m sure the guests in later cooler months will love this aspect to the house even more. Glad to see you all making lots of use of the swimming pool. Looked like a fun holiday for you all Property Owner

    Reviewed by Debra4.7Aug 2022

  • "We’re disappointed with the cleanliness of the house."

    When paying £3700 you expect things to be clean ie fridge most of the windows were filthy and shower vent in smallest bathroom was absolutely caked with dirt,my daughter had to remove a great clump of hair from drain as shower wouldn’t drain away and would of over flowed.A lot of cob webs and light fittings nead a good clean.

    Sorry you felt the need to change your initial positive response which you had written in the visitors book. This is disappointing I have only had positive feed back from guests who have found Deer Leap to be very comfortable and enjoyable but we will take your feedback on board to offer the best service possible in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul3.1Aug 2022

  • "A beautiful house, excellent facilities and a great location – we had a wonderful family holiday!"

    We stayed at Deer Leap House at the beginning of August and had a fantastic family holiday. The property suited our party of 12 (across 3 generations) plus two dogs perfectly! It is a very spacious house (the photos do not do it justice) and there is something for everyone. The games room (pool table, tv, a wide variety of games and an arcade machine) supplied fun entertainment, whilst the living room, large wrap-around veranda and outdoor seating areas were ideal for relaxing with a book or drink. The outdoor solar lighting in the evening was lovely, allowing us to sit outside and catch up with each other at the end of the day. The heated outdoor pool - which was gated and safe - provided hours of fun for the children. Next to the pool, and housing a table tennis table, was a large garden room with plenty of seating that could be taken outside – great for viewing the inflatable and diving fun! Bath time was far more popular than usual thanks to a jacuzzi bath with fancy lighting! However, the deer sightings in the mornings (the front bedroom has the best viewing seat) was the real highlight of the house. Within the vast grounds, there is a tennis court (equipment provided), football goal and lovely woodland walks. The dogs loved the outdoor space! Upon arrival, they also liked the comfy dog bed and tennis ball gift – a really nice touch! The owner was very friendly, helping us to use the Aga and answering any queries we had promptly. A short walk from the property was a pub serving good food and in the opposite direction was a Co-Op, which was helpful for any essentials. Many local attractions are only a short drive away so it was ideal for day trips. As a family we have stayed in a wide variety of properties over the years, but at the end of the week, all ages agreed that it was the best yet! We’d very happily return!

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Jul 2022

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Dream Cottages collection.
Over 350 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Seven bedrooms: 3 x double with basin, 1 x double, 1 x ground-floor double, 1 x twin, 1 x family room with double with single,
  • Bathroom with bath, walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Bathroom with bath, basin and WC
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, double hand basin and WC
  • First-floor cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room
  • Study
  • Games room with TV
  • Entrance hallway with woodburning stove
  • Central heating and woodburning stove
  • Range cooker with oven and hob, microwave and fridge/freezer
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • 2 x TV, WiFi and pool table
  • Fuel, power and starter for woodburning stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and high chair available on request.Ample off-road parking to the front of the property
  • Wrap around terrace with furniture, communal grounds including heated outdoor swimming pool (open from the beginning of 1st of June - 1st October), tennis court (with basketball net) (rackets can be provided), table tennis and unfenced lake.
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Shop 0.4 miles and pub 0.3 miles
  • Note: There are steps throughout the property, please take care
  • Note: There is a wrap around landing with railing, please supervise children at all times
  • Note: This property has a lake, children must be supervised at all times
  • Note: Check in at 4pm, check-out by 10am
  • Property grounds are shared with Deer Leap Cottage 1060768
  • Note: This property can be booked with Ref 1060768 sleeping 21 guests in total.

The property

Nestled on the outskirts of the village of Moreton in Dorset and set on beautiful grounds is Deer Leap House, aptly named for the wild, roaming deer you may spot while here.

This wonderfully spacious holiday home welcomes up to 15 guests across seven spacious and well-appointed bedrooms as well as two of your canine companions, making it well suited for a large family gathering in Dorset.

The property also affords use of the shared tennis court and outdoor swimming pool and boasts charming features seamlessly blended with contemporary, characterful decor, a games room with TV and pool table and plenty of off-road parking.

After exploring Dorset, cross the threshold into the entrance hallway where a crackling woodburning stove creates a homely ambience that is continued in the spacious living room; unwind here and snuggle up with loved ones on the plush, blue sofa while the TV plays in the background.

The designated chef will feel at home in the fully-equipped kitchen furnished with a range cooker, here they can rustle up tasty meals for the whole group that can be enjoyed in the large dining room with seating for everyone.

Reminisce on memories created or catch up with loved ones who you don’t see often before stepping outside where the wrap-around terrace provides the perfect place for watching the sun set over the countryside.

When the evening draws to a close choose from seven bedrooms, five doubles, one of which is on the ground floor, a twin, and a family room with a double and a single.

All bedrooms have access to two bathrooms, a ground-floor shower room and a first-floor cloakroom.

Be sure to get some well-earned rest before another fun-filled day in Dorset.

Deer Leap House rests on the outskirts of Moreton where you can stock up on the necessities or visit one of the many attractions including The Tank Museum, a must-see for any history fan, and Monkey World - Ape Rescue Centre which is a great place to learn about and see primates up close.

For those who love the outdoors, National Trust - Clouds Hill is a beautiful nature reserve to explore, and after a long day of sightseeing, The Frampton Arms is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a delicious meal and a pint.

Or travel to Dorchester which is famous for its extensive collection of artefacts from the Roman era; explore Maiden Castle a well-preserved Iron Age hillfort, and National Trust - Hardy's Cottage the former home of famed writer Thomas Hardy.

Venture further afield to Weymouth to enjoy the beautiful stretch of sand at Greenhill Beach before marvelling at the range of exhibits at the SEA LIFE Centre.

Deer Leap House is ideally located for families looking to explore Dorset’s countryside and coast.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £500.

View on map

About the location


Dorchester 7.6 miles; Weymouth 12.3 miles; Blandford Forum 14.5 miles.

Moreton is a tranquil village that sits just 8 miles east of the County town of Dorchester, and is famous for it’s association with the celebrated soldier, writer and pioneering archaeologist T.E.Lawrence, better know as Lawrence of Arabia. He settled in the village in a cottage called Cloud’s Hill and now owned by the National Trust. While living here he struck up a relationship with Louisa Frampton and some of their letters can be seen in the Moreton Tea rooms. Moreton sits just 8 miles from the County town of Dorchester where you can find Thomas Hardy’s Former home and cottage, as well as many cafes and restaurants and other high street amenities you require. If you are interested in military history then the Bovington Tank Museum is just 6 miles drive away, and a very informative day.

Please note: Communal area is shared with Deer Leap Cottage 1060768

Please note: No stag or hen parties are permitted. All-adult groups must enquire with booking agent to check with owner prior to accepting a booking.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Christmas