Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 37 View Image Gallery
  • Swanage Driftwood - Dorset - 994706 - photo 1

Swanage Driftwood

(Ref. 994706)

Swanage, Dorset Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 10 Guests

  • 5 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • location (22)
  • great (15)
  • family (14)
  • driftwood (14)
  • our (14)
  • stay (13)

35 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a lovely stay at Driftwood ."

    It is such a lovely house in a lovely location with everything we could have wanted for our stay xxx There were 9 of us and at no point did we feel like we were under each others feet so that was brilliant

    Reviewed by Debbie4.4May 2024

  • "Lovely large property for families to use together, lovely kitchen dining & living area for all to use."

    High standard of facilities & equipment through out & fantastic massive utility room for storage. A big bonus is that it is in the middle of the town for access to the beach & all eateries & shops & play areas. Beds are comfy & even the bedrooms on the roof area are spacious & room to move with nice large single beds. Great that there are three toilets, so each of our family claimed one to use each. Very clean, our Grandchildren said it was the best property they had ever stayed in. The only set backs we had, was that the star gates are quite antiquated & hard to fit to allocated walls & when pushed against easily came loose, so we had to manage by keeping our toddler in the living room with the door shut. We also did have a problem with the heating & hot water on the first day/night & after reading previous reviews expected not to have this, we also didn’t get any response from the emergency number given until the next day. Obviously this was a set back with the number of adults & kids that needed these facilities but it was resolved the next day & everyone was very polite regarding the issue. If we didn’t have the set backs we would have rated this property a five.

    Reviewed by Anna4.4Apr 2024

  • "We had a three generation family holiday in Driftwood, Swanage and it was perfect for everyone."

    There’s plenty of space, the three bathrooms are brilliant - no waiting for your turn. The kitchen is really well equipped - we don’t cook on holiday but if you want to there’s lots of pans, dishes etc. The utility room is a bonus and we put all our sandy gear in there and made use of the washing facilities. Great property in a handy location. We didn’t need the car when we stayed in Swanage as the beach is just down the road.

    Reviewed by Marie4.7Aug 2023

  • "This was a 3 generation family trip."

    ...with various combinations of numbers through the week from 5 adults and 2 children up to 8 adults, 2 children and 2 this is a collective review.... On Arrival 1st impressions were great.... Rooms were allocated according to relationships, and age.... However, due to boiler failure and emersion failure we had almost 2 days without hot water, which for a full house was an issue..... It started Saturday evening, reported on Sunday and fixed late Monday afternoon. The boiler remained broken for the remainder of the stay and the emersion was 'hard wired' as a permanent source of water heating. The Utilities for a large group are excellent.....washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, oven, hob, 2 fridge freezers and plenty of crockery, cutlery and glasses etc. The lounge / kitchen is ideal for a large group. The 'Utility room' (single garage conversion), was a super store for two paddle board, a beach truck, body boards and fishing gear... Subtle attractive decoration throughout, bright and airy..... So lots of Pros...... As the week went on there were a few things that might be considered Cons by some..... - Each of the 3 bathrooms had a towel radiator, but as they were all sourced from the central heating, they were never on. - The ground floor shared bathroom, had a hand shower but no curtain. - The ground floor ensuite is located under the stairs. It had a great shower, but the shower rail bracket needs attention..and any male over 5 feet tall would find themselves leaning backward to have a pee due to the restriction of stairs. - Not sure what the cleaning company use for a vacuum, but having found the Henry, we used it mid week and when in use the smell coming from it was awful...On investigation there was no bag inside it and it was rammed full of dust, hair etc...... Rubber gloved hands, careful cleaning and finding the last bag in the Utility room, solved the problem..... - The stickiness around the kitchen sink (a bit like a pub's sticky table), is apparently due to the cleaning fluid being used rather than not being clean.... - The Shower head in the upstairs shared bathroom needs a descale as half the head wasn't effective. - The outdoor area for the waste bins needs a jet wash and perhaps disinfecting. (Also it seems that the bin collection schedule is different from the what actually happen) So perhaps our Cons are insignificant ...who knows...everyone would have their own perception as to their perception of 'value for money'. Ours was mixed.... That's about it.....

    Thank you for your valuable and constructive feedback. We are sorry you had issues with the boiler during your stay, we are looking at replacing as soon as possible and will also rectify any other issues you mentioned. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the utilities excellent, thank you once again. We hope to welcome you back to Dorset again in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Graham3.8Aug 2023

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at Driftwood."

    The location was brilliant, just a few steps from the shops, restaurants & sea. Driftwood was perfect for all of us, the children enjoyed sitting around the big table together. We had everything there for all to enjoy. The only thing that wasn’t good was whoever used the oven before us had left it very dirty. We didn’t clean it & left it how we found it. The scones & clotted cream were much appreciated. Not sure if we would need such a big house next time but if we did we would certainly book to stay again. Mr & Mrs C. Kirby

    Thank you for letting us know. We will have the oven deep cleaned as soon as possible. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again one day. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pauline4.7Jul 2023

  • "Lovely property ,we love the fact when you come out the front door and turn the corner you have views of the sea and town centre is 5 min walk away."

    There are 2 patio areas where we loved sitting in the evening but they could do with a bit of garden maintenance, but apart from that we had a great holiday experience.

    Reviewed by Debbie5.0Jun 2023

  • "Great stay lovely property in a convenient location"

    Reviewed by Melvyn4.4May 2023

  • "Relaxing accommodation and location was fantastic to enjoy Swanage."

    Great holiday for kids and my 3 year old grandson was overjoyed when he found the Brio train set. Took up most of the lounge area! Not having parking was inconvenient but always managed to park elsewhere. Broad Street car park very close but didn’t need to use the car unless venturing out of Swanage.

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Mar 2023

  • "This property is beautifully decorated and furnished and is in a central location with close access to shops and beach."

    However, there isn’t a large enough outside space for everyone staying in the house to sit and gather together, and there was no parking. The garage is used as a utility room. The bedroom on the first floor is large but there is no bathroom/en-suite on this floor so we had to use the 2nd floor bathroom because the ground floor one has no shower. As it is in the attic, it’s sloping ceiling meant my son and husband who are over 6ft tall had to tilt their head every time they used the toilet. The sink is very small and it was difficult to have a wet shave in it. Plus there was no shelf or cabinet for toiletries so they had to be left on the floor under the sink. It would however be suitable for children. The property would benefit from a shower over the bath in the ground floor bathroom, especially as it is the largest bathroom. We couldn’t fault the ground floor king size bedroom with en-suite and patio area. The kitchen didn’t have any pint glasses for a pint of beer or squash. There wasn’t a sharp knife or set of knives so we had to use the only knife there which wasn’t very sharp. We wanted to tenderise some meat for a meal and there wasn’t anything to do this with, no tenderising mallet or rolling pin. The property had only one clothes airer which wasn’t enough for the amount of people using the property, and the internet also kept dropping. The open plan kitchen/dining/living room is a nice large space. The property is more suited to two families with young children and not teenagers.

    Thank you for your valuable feedback and glad you loved Swanage Driftwood's location and décor. We do try to be as informative and transparent as possible on the website, so guests are aware what facilities the property provides; including both bathrooms on the ground floor which have full height ceilings. If you contacted us during your stay we would of happily provided you with the missing equipment and looked into the internet for you. We are not aware of any other guest experiencing issues with the internet. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen3.1Aug 2022

  • "Fantastic house, much bigger than expected and so we’ll set out with everything you could possibly need and more."

    Big spacious airy bedrooms, well equipped kitchen with all appliances, plenty of bathrooms for everyone, two separate outdoor areas and an amazing garage to store all your beach stuff. Perfect for large families or for more than one family to share. Lovely and clean and beautiful furniture and fittings. Right in the centre of town so perfect location I’d highly recommend staying here. We didn’t want to leave driftwood and will definitely be returning. The only negative’s are that it’s noisy at night time when you are trying to sleep as it’s situated behind a couple of pubs/ bars where people are drinking outside, and parking is a bit tricky as it’s double yellow lines right outside. Street parking can be found a short walk away. But it’s expected due to the fantastic location of being so close to the town and the beach. We didn’t use our car all week!

    Reviewed by Samantha5.0Aug 2022

  • "We had a wonderful weekend at Driftwood for my mums 70th birthday."

    We are a party of 10 (6 adults, 4 teenagers) and I was slightly worried that the house would be a bit small for us but it was not. The pictures online of the living space and kitchen don’t really do it justice, it’s bigger than it looks. The location is fantastic, very central to everything you could want and the house is beautifully presented and very well equipped. Can’t recommend this place enough.

    Reviewed by Eleanor5.0Apr 2022

  • "An excellent property right in the heart of the town."

    We never moved the car the whole of our stay and we were able to either walk or get the train for our days out. Would recommend and would definitely stay here again with family.

    Reviewed by Patricia4.7Mar 2022

  • "Such a brilliant location at my family’s favourite place."

    We hope to be back next year

    Reviewed by Brenda5.0Sep 2021

  • "An excellent place to stay ,very well equipped."

    Only complaint from family was how hot they were at night , the weather was very warm during our stay .The duvets we’re 15 tog so perhaps some sheets in a cupboard would have been helpful. The downstairs large double bedroom tended to smell fusty and damp in the evening we kept the doors open to help the air to circulate but obviously closed doors when out and came back to a damp smell These are small points .we had a smashing holiday and hope to come back. It’s position was superb.

    Reviewed by Susan3.8Aug 2021

  • "The location of the house could not have been better."

    The facilities within the house were exceptional. If I could change anything it would be the check in time...5:00pm was really late. But other than that I have nothing but praise for Dreams and the house.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jul 2021

  • "A fantastic holiday at Driftwood."

    The property is lovely, all the rooms have a high quality finish and the space works very well. Location is great, right in the centre of Swanage and only a few minutes walk from the beach and all the shops. Only drawback of the location is the amount of late night noise from at least one local bar. Not much the owners can do about this, but it would annoy some guests more than us. Overall though I’d recommend this property, we had a great holiday and staying at Driftwood helped to make it memorable.

    Reviewed by Tom4.7Jul 2021

  • "We had a lovely time staying in Driftwood, Swanage, perfect location, everything was there to make our stay special, thank you for the items left for us especially the lovely bread and yummy apple cake."

    Reviewed by Janice5.0Jun 2021

  • "The location of Driftwood is perfect & the open plan living suited us perfectly."

    We wouldn’t hesitate to come back & stay here again.

    Reviewed by Gail5.0May 2021

  • "We had a lovely week in Swanage Driftwood."

    The house was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The big lounge/dining room/kitchen area was great for the whole family to enjoy together in the evening.

    Reviewed by John5.0Aug 2020

  • "The layout of the house was perfect for 10 people."

    The kitchen and utility facilities were excellent. The property has been well thought out to enable storage and cleaning of beach equipment.

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Jul 2020

  • "Lovely Cottage, Swanage is a great town and the area has so much to see, will definitely come back."

    Thank you.

    Reviewed by Mariela5.0Jul 2020

  • "Great location for walking the South Coast path, lots of places to visit, especially Corfe Castle."

    The house was within walking distance of the town which was great. The town had a great selection of places to eat and lots of shops. A lovely beach and pier which was great to walk on any time of the day.

    Reviewed by Therese4.7Nov 2019

  • "Driftwood is an excellent property - we had a great time and would certainly return."

    It was very comfortable and well equipped - and particularly nice in our case that the owners had thought of families and children, with some lovely children’s toys, children’s plates and cups and a good high chair etc. There are a three minor points which may be helpful for future visitors: 1) The garage is really not suitable for storing a car unless your car is very tiny. It would be good to make clear on the details that the parking for one small car is in fact an internal garage. As it happens, the long stay car park 2 mins walk around the corner is good value (we paid £33 for the week), and the garage is then a very useful space for pushchair, coats, shoes and general family clobber. 2) The Delonghi kettle is very stylish but is possibly the slowest pouring kettle in the universe! We got the old spare plastic one out from under the sink and used that instead! 3) The information booklet in the property doesn’t say anything about recycling, only about what to do with the black general waste bin. We filled up the recycling wheelie bin and glass container, but didn’t know what - if anything - to do with it. Many thanks for an excellent stay.

    Reviewed by Ashley5.0Oct 2019

  • "Our party of 6 ladies on a girlie weekend thoroughly enjoyed Swanage."

    Driftwood was fantastic and offered us everything we needed. The house was extremely well equipped and comfortable. The garage was a bit snug but we knew that would be the case and we managed to find on street parking close by for our second car. The bathroom on the top floor was a bit 'cosy' and it was a shame the big bathroom on the ground floor didn't have an overhead shower but this certainly didn't spoil anything and we were impressed by the constant supply of hot water. The goodies left for us on arrival were much appreciated. The location was perfect - so close to the High Street with its terrific selection of pubs and restaurants. A great base for a thoroughly enjoyable weekend exploring Swanage!

    Reviewed by Janice4.7Oct 2019

  • "Ideal property for family holiday with good size rooms, ample clean linen, crockery, glasses etc plus good facilities (fridges, dish washer, TV etc)."

    Excellent location close to town and beach and also headland area and cost path. Parking very limited but we expected that and there was a large car-park nearby plus free on-street parking when the day-trippers had gone.

    Reviewed by John4.4Aug 2019

  • "We were a group of eight, age range 8 - 82 and everyone enjoyed their stay."

    Overall the kitchen was well stocked with utensils but could do with some larger saucepans. The cottage is centrally located so everything is easily walkable, the only downside to this is it can be noisy when the pubs close!

    Reviewed by Susan4.4Jul 2019

  • "A rally lovely property close to the beach, town and some lovely walks."

    A very well equipped family holiday home with attention to detail . Highly recommend for a multigenerational traditional family holiday .

    Reviewed by Penelope5.0May 2019

  • "Driftwood was perfect for our family stay."

    It was like home from home. The location was perfect. A true hidden gem. We'll shall definitely be back :)

    Reviewed by Nina5.0Apr 2019

  • "We had a wonderful 5 days at Swanage Driftwood celebrating the New Year."

    The cottage was amazing and perfect for our family. We ranged from ages 78 to 11 and the spacious living area was ideal for all of us, it had everything we could ever need and more. Everyone commented on how comfy the beds were and the bed linen was beautiful, we didn't want to leave. The little extras, like toiletries and the treats left for us were all much appreciated as was the lovely Christmas tree. Everything is literally on the doorstep, the shops, eateries, pubs and the beach all within a couple of minutes, we didn't have to use the cars once. Spent lots of time walking with our two dogs who are now sulking since we got home! Thank you to you all and we would definitely like to return in the summer months.

    Reviewed by Lorainne5.0Dec 2018

  • "Driftwood was the perfect place for us to spend Christmas for our extended family."

    The location was great being right in the town and very close to the beach. The house had everything we needed and the owner arranged for us to have a a christmas tree which was really important as we had children. We also appreciated the effort made to make the house Christmassy! Thank you!

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Dec 2018

  • "7 book club ladies from Hampshire had a most enjoyable stay."

    Felt at home and especially liked the little extras, ie, tea bags, toiletries. Stylish, contemporary home from home, we plan to return - stayed May 2018

    Mrs Liz CummingJun 2018

  • "Great homely house, fab location."

    We will be back - stayed April 2018

    Mr Anthony GillJun 2018

  • "Loved the decor, everything we needed and great location - stayed April 2018"

    Ms Nina RennieJun 2018

  • "Perfect location, well suited to us ( 6 adults, 4 children aged 2 to 8)."

    Well equipped and comfortable. Garage space was invaluable for storage, buggies, beach gear etc. The team were highly responsive to any requests & phone calls we made. Stayed May 2018

    Mrs O'DonellJun 2018

  • "The service received by yourselves was wonderful, as was the property, location, cleanliness, everything."

    I had already emailed thanking you and advised a small issue with the extractor fan in the downstairs en-suite, this was picked up immediately. I would definitely use you again and recommend to friends and family. A very nice touch we thought was the contact on Sunday evening advising that we could check out later as the property wasn't being cleaned until the afternoon, very thoughtful and this goes a long way. Thank you for a wonderful stay. - Stayed August 2017

    Ms Evey LivensSep 2017

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Dream Cottages collection.
Over 350 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Bedrooms: 1 x Ground floor king-size double with French doors leading out to small south facing patio
  • En-suite with double shower, basin and WC
  • 1 x twin singles
  • Bathroom, bath with hand shower, basin and WC
  • Stairs to first floor, landing with door to small terrace
  • Open plan living kitchen diner with Juliette balcony
  • Two steps down from landing 1 x king- size double bed
  • Stairs to second floor
  • 2 x twin single beds (limited headroom)
  • Bathroom, bath and shower over, basin and WC, this bathroom has a sloping ceiling and limited head height
  • Gas central heating
  • Dishwasher, Washing machine, tumble dryer, fridge, freezer
  • Cot, highchair and stair gates
  • Blue tooth wireless speakers, TVs, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bedlinen and towels inc. in rent
  • Welcomes two well behaved dogs
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • A range of relaxing yoga and spa sessions available to book separately with Purbeck Retreats via their website or telephone.

The property

Located in Swanage just a few minutes from the beach is Swanage Driftwood.

This beautifully presented detached home has five bedrooms, two private courtyard patios and three bath / shower rooms.

It has been furnished to a high standard.

Beautifully decorated the upside down living makes this a really unique property that is in the heart of Swanage but yet quietly tucked away.

On the ground floor is the master en-suite bedroom, a twin bedroom and a large family bathroom.

The first floor boasts the lovely open plan living kitchen dining room, a truly lovely space to relax and be together.

Prepare your meals and then sit around the large contemporary dining table and share your stories.

Swanage Driftwood is so well placed that there is no need for a car to access the beach or town. Swanage Driftwood has also teamed up with Purbeck Retreats to offer bespoke Wellness retreats and treatments.

Purbeck Retreats will come to you to deliver a heavenly choice of luxury treatments.

Each retreat package includes a light lunch, a 45-minute spa treatment with robes and slippers, plus healthy snacks and speciality teas.

For a more indulgent experience, add a yoga session and perhaps a specialist workshop, such as mindfulness meditation or a raw-chocolate-making class.

Advance booking is essential, so give Charlotte a call for more options, details and prices on 07939 821 901 or visit Swanage is a family seaside resort with a fine sandy beach, good choice of shops and numerous places to eat, all within walking distance of Swanage Driftwood. Children will love building sandcastles, paddling in the sea, or crabbing along the water's edge at Peveril Point.

Step back in time as you travel on the Swanage steam railway to Corfe Castle.

Walk your dogs for miles on the headland, enjoy the stunning views, all less than two minutes from the front door.

It’s easy to venture further afield where you will be spoilt for choice, Corfe Castle – famous for Enid Blyton Stories, Studland for its beaches and heathland.

Old Harry Rock’s, an iconic south coast land mark, and so much more all within a 30-minute drive of Swanage.

This house would suit a large family, group of friends or even two small families who want to explore South East Dorset.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Wareham 9.7 miles; Poole 20 miles.

The small, family-friendly seaside resort of Swanage is situated at the eastern end of Dorset’s famous Jurassic Coast, on the celebrated Isle of Purbeck and is probably best known for its wonderful, gently shelving golden sands. The little town offers visitors plenty of shops, good pubs and restaurants, some of which specialise in locally caught seafood, and is also well known for its annual jazz festival, which takes place each July. The attractive, Victorian wooden pier offers a great place for a stroll or try fishing, and often used a departure point for divers, it’s a wonderful place to watch the world pass by. The historic Swanage Railway has its terminus in the town and regular nostalgic steam engine trips take tourists for a picturesque 6-mile journey, chugging through lovely countryside to stop just beyond the romantic ruin of Corfe Castle. Nearby Durlston Country Park offers a lovely day out with spectacular coastal walks, dolphin spotting and wildlife watching, together with comfortable viewing points and a well-stocked cafe for a treat after all the fresh air. Take the short drive to Studland, which has one of the finest beaches in the country, surrounded by heathland, together with the regular chain ferry, which crosses the mouth of Poole Harbour to Sandbanks. This truly is a delightful holiday destination at any time of the year.

View more holiday cottages in Swanage

Note: To get the full enjoyment from Swanage Driftwood, we would recommend a maximum of 8 adults and 2 children.
Note: On road parking subject to availability a short walk away from the property or additional parking is available in the local Pier Long stay Car park on Broad Road on a first come bases, fees apply please ask for further details.
Note: Property is situated on a slight incline.
Note: Due to the small courtyard, dogs must be exercised away from the property. The Downs are located just a two minute walk away.
Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping Bond of £250.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas