Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 24 View Image Gallery
  • Rosy Lodge - Dorset - 936071 - photo 1

Rosy Lodge

(Ref. 936071)

Shorefield Country Park, Dorset Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Sauna
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lodge (23)
  • well (19)
  • great (17)
  • rosy (14)
  • comfortable (13)
  • all (13)

46 Customer Reviews

  • "The standard of the property was first class, perhaps just look at the decking near the gate as it's a bit soft, but that's probably because of all the rain in the last few months."

    Only other thing, the shower. The fixed head is a bit too near the edge of the bath to stand onder comfortably, personally, I'd prefer the head on the hose, so I can remove it and just spray myself all over. All together though, we were very happy.

    Thanks for the comments, yes the decking has really suffered from all the wet weather. It's making repairs difficult to arrange. Hopefully some sun will help. We'll look at the shower, and see if we can adjust that. Glad you had a good time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Perry4.7Mar 2024

  • "The metal bed was not very comfortable for my friends back and banged her legs on the metal on getting in and out, the next night we swapped and I found it better for my back."

    The sofa's although very comfortable were very low for the less able people. Plenty of cupboards in the kitchen with items but just not enough room for food items. Nice well equipped lodge. Definitely need transport to get to the entertainment, bar, restaurant and reception unless you are physically fit. A small shop would have been good on site for bread, milk or papers.

    There is a shop on site close to the reception. Sorry you didn't find it, or the shortcut to the amenities which is in the instructions. We haven't heard about the bed frame before before ,but will see if we can put a little padding over the frame when we're next there ourselves. Thank you for pointing this out. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.7Mar 2024

  • "Was a great lodge in a great location we went for new year amd so much to do as ..."

    Was a great lodge in a great location we went for new year amd so much to do as we had children and grandchildren amd dogs so was ideal for everyone amd very well equipped and a lovely warm lodge

    Glad to hear you had a good time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Zoe5.0Dec 2023

  • "Cosy warm cottage with lots of character, well equipped kitchen."

    It’s very dog friendly too. We stayed for 3 days between Xmas and new year and the cabin is close to some good walks which was great. The facilities in the holiday park are also good, nice pool, decent shop, restaurant and entertainment. Great family stay

    Glad to hear you had a great time. You're always welcome. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Dec 2023

  • "Comfy place."

    Perfect for 15 min walk to beach and cliffs. Well stocked

    Thanks for this 100% review. So glad you had a great time. Happy to welcome you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kate5.0Dec 2023

  • "Enjoyed,warm and comfy."

    Nice to find 8 proper beds and space for dog crate. Liked the Christmas tree and fairy lights. No way could we get 8 round the dining table and the chairs were very heavy. Felt one bathroom between 8 was pushing it but realised to change things would probably mean sacrificing a bedroom. Nice new cooker hob, managed to cook a roast in the oven. Property in need of TLC but suited our needs. Wish it was bit closer to the facilities.

    Glad your stay was comfortable. There is a bench in the large bedroom which may have helped with the seating issues. Unfortunately there is only one bathroom, but we can't really change that. There is a quicker route to the facilities, as in the visitors information, and many guests like the peaceful location being at the beach end of the park, and away from the hustle and bustle. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Frances4.1Dec 2023

  • "Such a cosy well equipped lodge with a homely charm that the more modern looking lodges lack."

    We had a wonderful stay and perfect location for the dog walks. It was a shame that we had no sunny deck to sit on with a cup of tea as it was surrounded by mature shrubbery which kept us in the shade most of the day. It might benefit with having a couple of feet cut off. Certainly didn't spoil our stay as so much around to explore.

    Sorry the shrubbery was so large I'll get on to Shorefield to attend to the trees, as it's their responsibility to keep the shrubs in the park trimmed. So glad you had a lovely stay and enjoyed Rosy Lodge. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Sep 2023

  • "As soon as you enter Shorefield Country Park you know you are somewhere special the woods and nature around you is magical."

    The Lodge was very spacious for 5 adults and a dog, it had everything we needed, the beds were comfortable and there were lots of books and board games for rainy days, it's not super modern but it meant we could relax and gave it a homely feel. It is located on the outskirts of the park but nearer to the sea so was ideal for walking and was really quiet and relaxing. The property owner very kindly provided us with discounted passes and we made full use of the pool, gym and sauna. The main bar, restaurant and Show Bar are all new and really beautifully decorated. The food was of very good quality and very reasonably priced. There were plenty of doggy designated areas which was a really nice touch. The staff were always happy and polite and welcoming. We were only minutes away from the New Forrest so ideally located. I would not hesitate recommending this as a place to stay and would like to visit again perhaps for a sunny week earlier in the season to make use of the beach as well as outdoor pool. Excellent value and loved by all the family, 3 generations in all. The caretaker and owner provided excellent communication throughout the stay.

    Thank you so much for this lovely feedback. We really do care and try to make our guests feel welcome and at home from home. Clare does a wonderful job keeping the lodge to a very high standard and is always there to help. We'd love to welcome you again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cheryl5.0Sep 2023

  • "Rosy lodge was very spacious and comfortable."

    We all slept well in this quiet part of the park. In the kitchen, there were utensils for every occasion and could want for nothing.

    So glad you enjoyed your holiday and everything was perfect for you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Aug 2023

  • "We had a lovely time, property was perfect for our family."

    There was everything we needed there. Good to have the use of the decking even though the weather wasn't quite up to sitting out.

    Thanks for your feedback. Glad you had a lovely time despite the weather! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda4.7Aug 2023

  • "Lovely lodge that had all we required."

    Park has great facilities. The location was excellent.

    So glad all was up to the standard we aim for with our lodge. Thank you for this lovely feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lorraine5.0Jun 2023

  • "Really good accommodation, great location, cosy and very clean."

    We had a great week and would deffo book again. Thank you to the owner and caretaker who were brilliant and great with communication also :)

    Thanks Nerice, so glad you enjoyed your stay. We'd be delighted if you want to return ,just contact Clare as we get booked up very quickly. Look forward to seeing you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nerice5.0Jun 2023

  • "Place very "Homely"."

    ..lacked for nothing. Area beautiful and a great place to go for walks. At the time,it was very quiet but not all the other Chalets were occupied...this may change with the oncoming Holiday Season. Would recommend the place....good for families.

    Thank you for a lovely review and so glad you enjoyed our lodge. We look forward to welcoming you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rodney5.0Apr 2023

  • "The cabin is very well equipped with every essentail that you could hope to find and more."

    It was easy to find and the site had lots to offer. All communication was great and easy to follow instructions. The cabin is well away from the main area with very little through traffic and close to the beach. The cabin was a little tired but that suited us with children. There was a damp feel to a couple of the bedrooms but otherwise nothing we could complain about.

    I am glad you enjoyed the peaceful location of Rosy Lodge and that you found everything you needed. We were there the week before you , and can only imagine the radiators had been turned down as we only used one bedroom. Apologies for that , but glad everything else met your needs. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Deborah4.7Feb 2023

  • "The lodge was really spacious and comfortable."

    We felt very at home and had a perfect week away. Would definitely return.

    Thank you for this lovely feedback. So glad you had a lovely time and look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ann5.0Nov 2022

  • "Lovely and clean."

    Everything worked. Comfortable beds. Would definitely recommend. Beautiful country walks for us and the dogs.

    Thank you so much for this review. It's very rewarding when visitors appreciate our efforts to ensure you have a lovely holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Donna5.0Sep 2022

  • "No issues with Rosey Cottage, great position on the site, 10 minute walk from the beach, its old and needs some TLC but who doesn't these days."

    The outside bushes need to be cut and tidied up but apart from that it was a good a week and happy to recommend the cottage but Shorefield Park needs to address the Facilities Pass, all we wanted was access to the indoor and outdoor pools and to get that we had to pay £168 pounds for the Pass. That entitled us to use the on site restaurant (you had to show the pass each time you ordered food and drinks), evening entertainment (which we did not want), gym facilities ( if you are that way inclined) and the pools. They should have a menu of items you wish to use while on the site and charge only for those you want to use. Also Shorefiled Restaurant - I ordered 4 pizzas and two portion of fries to pick up and take away, £64 total - I assumed the pizzas were made fresh to order but when I arrived to collect I saw them take the ready made pizzas out of a bag and place in the pizza oven at front of counter - Its a rip of so be warned.

    Thanks for your helpful review. I phoned Shorefield for the fifth time to deal with the bushes, and will do so again tomorrow. We are going to get a pass which will include all our guests ,if we can next year, which will involve guests giving us their details in advance of their visit. It may include a small extra charge , but as small as is possible. I will update the Sykes details when this is established. I am sorry for the Shorefield excessive charges for mediocre food. I completely agree with you and will pass on your complaint. However I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and found Rosy Lodge met your needs. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Roger3.8Aug 2022

  • "The property does have potential to be a lovely holiday destination."

    However for the premium price paid I would expect a better standard of accommodation. The whole property needs a good renovation and the fixtures and fittings need to be replaced. Examples were beds were not the most comfortable and new mattresses throughout would help. Kitchen equipment needs updating. Outside area tidying so hedging is not overgrown and you can sit comfortably in the sun on the nice decking area. Furthermore we was disappointed as a family of 6 to have to pay nearly £200 extra to use facilities on site. This includes getting drinks and food at the bar. I must say the swimming pools outside and indoors were great and we made good use of them ! The owner was very friendly and was helpful in getting property ready for our stay when we arrived. I think it is only fair to give a honest review. As I say the whole place needs a bit of a revamp and some TLC to reflect the premium price being paid. It is located well and we still had a lovely holiday. Thank you

    Thank you for your review. We have taken note of all the points you have made and have rectified some of the smaller issues. We have quotes coming for a revamp of the kitchen, and Shorefield have not responded to repeated requests to trim the hedge. We are exploring getting a yearly pass for our visitors, hoping that we can cut the costs down. We're very glad that you had a lovely holiday and made good use of the facilities. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard2.5Jul 2022

  • "Unfortunately we left early the place was filthy and sticky every where it was ..."

    Unfortunately we left early the place was filthy and sticky every where it was covered in dog hairs and the porch area was filthy the garden furniture was broken and uncomfortable the chairs inside are falling apart very disappointed with the 950 price I paid to stay there it needs attention desperately I didn’t even like my dog sleeping there first break in three years heartbreaking

    I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. As our usual feedback is 90% and often 100% I am surprised by this feedback. My cleaner sent me pictures of the state Rosy Lodge was in after you left. After 6 years she decided she would have to resign if it was ever left in such a state. In six years we have found people respectful and careful with our cabin, and only once before has there been a problem. As a result of your visit we now have a good housekeeping bond which insures that should our property ever be left in such a disgusting state we can at least pay the cleaner for her extra time and replace broken items. Hopefully this will not happen again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah2.2Jul 2022

  • "Our second stay at Rosy Lodge."

    Great location & easy access to the beach. We had a very relaxing & enjoyable stay & hope to return next year.

    Reviewed by Elaine4.4Jul 2022

  • "Fantastic lodge, great facilities, perfect family home from home."

    Reviewed by Rebecca5.0May 2022

  • "The lodge was spacious, comfortable, well equipped and in a nice quiet position within the park."

    We really enjoyed the stay and will definitely return.

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Apr 2022

  • "Rosy lodge was everything it should be."

    It was only 15 minutes from the beach so had lovely walks. Also just down the road was an ancient woodland, it was beautiful with a lovely stream running through it. . (watch out though its very big and we got lost on the way back). It was good as I had a dishwasher (which was a treat for me on holiday) , washing machine. Weather wasn't very good so we had wet clothes and a wet dog (dog towels). Shower was very good too. . Claire who looks after the lodge was excellent, she rang before we got there, checked up all was well while we there. Offered to help us with anything and everything. So all in all would highly recommend staying there. Maggie Sheppard

    Reviewed by Maggie5.0Feb 2022

  • "Home from home very cosy"

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Oct 2021

  • "Great find , amazing location ,mon site all that you need."

    Rosy lodge just fabulous. We hope to return next year

    Reviewed by R5.0Oct 2021

  • "Very comfortable, cosy accommodation."

    Can’t think of anything we were short of. If we were to point out a few things they would only be observations. A bit of maintenance required, front door sticking, looks like for a long time. Front gate has loose pales and I think a bit of TLC required in general. Still in decent order but doesn’t look like it’s been redecorated since built. Probably a new smart TV would be useful and Netflix at £10 a month would help families for rainy days,I’m sure guests would be happy to pay a little extra for those type of facilities. Bar and restaurant were a good walk away and very family orientated, not our cup of tea really. A good walk away from Rosy cottage but had pizza and beer one night and although not cheap it was very nice. Staff were young but very good at their job and one was kind enough to give our little dog a bit of cheese as I had forgotten her treats. Claire text to let us know the cottage was ready early which was kind, I think check in at 3 would be better and 11 o’clock check out would be appreciated by most. Accommodation would be cramped for 8 but 2 couples or small family it is more than adequate. As I said just observations and we would have no hesitation in staying again, as I said very comfortable and great value. Regards, Phil Kent.

    Reviewed by Phil5.0Sep 2021

  • "Excellent accommodation, everything you could wish for, home from home."

    Well positioned on the holiday park within walking distance of the beach and fantastic facilities available on site.

    Reviewed by Gillian5.0Sep 2021

  • "Rosy Lodge is comfortable and has everything you need."

    It's position on the park is perfect if you want to walk to the beach and have some privacy. We really enjoyed our holiday.

    Reviewed by Lisa4.7Aug 2021

  • "We had a fantastic week in Rosy lodge, with 4 adults and 4 children we still had lots of room."

    The lodge and everything we needed and more than we even knew we needed. The children were sad to leave and are already begging to come back. Thank you creating such a wonderful place for our holiday it was definitely one to remember.

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Jul 2021

  • "We had a fantastic week at Rosy Lodge."

    It was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. It was well placed on site (nice and peaceful and away from the amenities) and was really close to the fishing lake which was small but well stocked.

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Jun 2021

  • "The site was easy to find and very well kept, tidy and litter free, well done."

    Rose Cottage was at the far end of the site and situated very close to the beach which was less than 10 minutes walk which was great for the children. Had a great holiday as the site is well placed to see the Durasic Coast and many beaches and towns. Thanks.

    Reviewed by Raymond5.0Jun 2021

  • "Everything with our booking of Rosy Lodge went well and smoothly."

    We were pleased with the cleanliness of the Lodge and liked Shorefield Holiday Park very much. Would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Lynne4.4May 2021

  • "Rosy Lodge was lovely, really comfortable and spotlessly clean."

    A ten minute walk gets you straight to the seafront. Situated on the edge if a large holiday park meant it was a nice quiet spot. We will definitely return.

    Reviewed by Lynne5.0May 2021

  • "Very good lodge."

    Getting a bit old now but neverthelesseverything was fine. Thank you

    Reviewed by Rod5.0Apr 2021

  • "For a last minute change of accommodation, we really got lucky."

    Very well equipped and comfy. Would definitely visit again

    Reviewed by Suzanne5.0Sep 2020

  • "Despite the obvious restrictions due to C19, Rosy Lodge is situated on a superb park with all the amenities you could possibly need."

    Excellent place for a holiday or short break.

    Reviewed by Carl4.7Sep 2020

  • "What a lovely warm cosy place with everything thought if to make your stay great ..."

    What a lovely warm cosy place with everything thought if to make your stay great , would love to go back great great great

    Reviewed by Rhona5.0Feb 2020

  • "Plenty of amusements for the young children, but maybe more could have been done for the older children 11 to 14"

    Reviewed by Charlotte4.1Aug 2019

  • "Website clear and easy to use even for a technophobe."

    I expected you to be good and fair because you are a well known and established company. My expectations were met.

    Reviewed by Nichola5.0Jun 2019

  • "The lodge was as described, we were comfortable with up to 9 of us including 2 toddlers."

    They were sufficiently separate to not wake each other. There was more kitchen equipment than anyone could want. It was safe for the toddlers. Little things which were particularly useful, were a catch to hook the door open, and a gate on the patio; both which kept the toddlers safe. There were more than sufficient towels and even fleecy blankets and slankets.

    Reviewed by Anita4.1Apr 2019

  • "What a surprise we all loved it large bedrooms great location near the sea dog friendly near the pubs where are you allowed to go inside with your dogs and they loved it Kind regards John Jackie and Family."

    You can but only first names.

    Reviewed by John5.0May 2018

  • "We had a lovely peaceful stay in Rosy Lodge,we found it comfortable and had all things we needed during our stay."

    It is a great base for visiting the surrounding area. It is only ten minutes walk to the shingle beach.You can walk down to Milford on Sea on the promenade or woodland walk from Shorefield site. I would recomend Rosy Lodge and hope to stay in the future

    Reviewed by Janine5.0Apr 2018

  • "Found Rosy cottage to be clean, comfortable, and well equipped."

    Very pleased!

    Reviewed by David4.1Mar 2018

  • "First time staying in Rosy Lodge and it's clear the owners put in a lot of thought into a holiday makers stay, a lot of pride goes into this lodge!"

    Milk and orange juice in fridge upon arrival with plenty of kitchen utensils, washing up liquid/dishwasher tablets etc. Lots of games provided to enjoy with the family and extra bits for the children (beach buckets, crabbing gear, books and teddies). Theres even a highchair, travel cot and airer if you want to make use of the washing machine. Plenty of towels and bedding/pillows with VERY comfy beds in all rooms and I think the carpets are new throughout as they felt lovely under your feet. As you can tell we were very happy with our lodge, definitely recommend and also has some lovely local walks for yourselfs and the family dog (5 minute stroll from the beach) Thank you for such a lovely place to stay, as dog owners we are used to "second class citizen" accommodation and Rosy Lodge was such a breath of fresh air and a real pleasure to stay at. Kind Regards, The Owen Family

    Reviewed by Charlie-rose5.0Mar 2018

  • "This was the second time at this lodge and once again it was excellent we have a ..."

    This was the second time at this lodge and once again it was excellent we have a larg family and we have been booking with Sykes for over 5 yrs now so once again thanks for your great service

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Feb 2018

  • "Everything you could need was provided, lots of space and comfort."

    the whole of our holiday party enjoyed the whole experience, beautiful surroundings very well kept park, wont hesitate to book again.

    Reviewed by Kevin4.8Jul 2017

Show more Hide all


  • All ground floor
  • Four bedrooms: 2 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x 2'6" twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area (seats 6) with electric flame-effect fire
  • Gas central heating with electric fire
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, 2 x fridges, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, iPod dock, WiFi, hairdryer,Iron, selection of books and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent (Please bring your own beach towels and don't take our towels out of the chalet)
  • Folding highchair
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Private deck with furniture and BBQ
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome to be kept on a lead within the park
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • On-site shop and bar 10 mins walk
  • Beach 10 mins walk
  • Note: Max 6 adults plus 2 children
  • Note: No stag/hen or similar
  • Note: Property is accessed by 3 shallow steps
  • Note: Pass for all leisure activities (inc. pool, gym, bars and evening entertainment) can be purchased directly from the owner at a discounted rate of £50 per week
  • Note: Shorefield Park rules forbid the parking of trailers/boats, camper-vans and caravans
  • Note: Please do not use all the beds unless needed and do not let dogs sleep on spare beds

The property

A detached timber lodge, quietly situated within the award-winning family-friendly Shorefield Country Park, only 1.5 miles from Milford on Sea on Hampshire's lovely coast.

The lodge provides comfortable, open plan holiday accommodation, furnished and equipped with everything you need to create a really pleasant family holiday experience.

There's plenty of room for your whole group to relax and dine, whilst the fitted kitchen comes fully equipped to prepare delicious meals and snacks, and a dishwasher to relieve you from the washing up afterwards!

Outside is a private decked patio where you can sit out and plan your day's activities.

Should you wish to take advantage of the many leisure activities on offer within the park, you can contact the owner to purchase a pass prior to arrival which gives access to the indoor and outdoor pools, gym, restaurant, bar, and seasonal entertainment, as well as play areas for the younger members of your group.

Fishermen will love the well-stocked carp lake which is just a minute's walk away, plus there are many opportunities for sea fishing along the coast.

When you tire of all on offer within the park, venture out and enjoy a picnic in the nearby New Forest National Park, take the ferry from Lymington to the Isle of Wight, walk the coastal path to Lymington, enjoy the nightlife of Bournemouth or just take your buckets and spades and walk down to the beach at Milford on Sea.

Then, after all the excitement, return to your homely lodge for refreshments before you snuggle up in the cosy beds.

A comfy holiday base for the whole family to enjoy.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Milford on Sea 1.5 miles.

A superb family-friendly award-winning holiday park of lodges and caravans, set in 100 acres of landscaped parkland, a super Hampshire location situated between the New Forest and the coast at Milford on Sea. You can take a short walk through the park down to the beach where there are extensive views across to the Isle of Wight and the Needles. The park itself has great entertainment for all ages, with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, Jacuzzi, sauna, gym, tennis courts, crazy golf, and children’s play areas. There are a selection of food and drink options on site, plus a wide programme of evening entertainment. Be sure to pamper yourself at the spa with luxurious treatments at Reflections. Just a short drive takes you to the New Forest National Park, where swathes of heather and woodland are home to wild ponies, deer and cattle. There is lots to do locally, with the attractions of Beaulieu and it’s famous motor museum only a few miles away, and Peppa Pig World at Paultons Park also close by. Within a short drive is the cosmopolitan resort of Bournemouth, with its award-winning golden sands, vibrant shopping centre, and lively night life. Alternatively, take the ferry from nearby Lymington and spend a day exploring the Isle of Wight. In fact there’s so much to do appealing to all tastes and ages a week isn’t nearly long enough!

Note: Max 6 adults plus 2 children.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Christmas