Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Somerset & Wiltshire 29 minutes ago

4 people have recently viewed this property

The Cottage

Winterslow, Wiltshire (Ref. 1039366)



Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes


  • Icon/Feature/Open fire Open fire
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Cot available
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Highchair available
  • Icon/Feature/Shop Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

3 Customer Reviews

  • "We loved the cottage and owners were friendly but would not return due to early ..."

    We loved the cottage and owners were friendly but would not return due to early morning noise for shop deliveries, future holiday makers should be aware of this

    Thank you for your feedback.The reason for this is due to the early deliveries for the shop. We have made provisions to ensure minimal noise in the mornings and sorry for any inconvenience. We are pleased you enjoyed the cottage. Best wishes Property Owner

    Reviewed by MarySep 2021

  • "I contacted Sykes for some clarification about facilities in the kitchen and never received a reply."

    Overall my experience of Sykes Customer Service was a poor one. The property was pleasant enough but was not entirely as shown in the photographs or as described in the listing. Overall, the experience left us feeling that a bit more effort could be made to make the customer feel welcome & comfortable. When we stayed, cushions were missing from the sofa (contrary to the picture in the listing). Also, a coffee machine was listed in the description of facilities (and was shown in the photos) but was not present. Overall, the property was presented very well (clean and tidy), but some aspects require attention. The over-bath shower set-up leaked (poor seal on the window-curtain). The washing machine leaked too. The oven was not secured/fitted properly, so it fell forward every time I opened it. Some of the flooring in the kitchen was raised/warped and a couple of panels slid underfoot - quite dangerous if carrying a hot pan. The fridge is very small for a family of four. I thought the kitchen was scantly equipped and we had to buy a couple of extra baking dishes (which we left for future guests to use). As I said above, a coffee machine was listed but was not present and the sofa was missing cushions so was very uncomfortable to sit on. Lighting in the lounge/dinner was restricted to ceiling lights and one up-light, all of which were a bit harsh for relaxing in the evening. The lounge area would benefit from some softer lighting options. The double bed was missing slats, instead it looked like it had been reinforced with hardboard - consequently, it was not as comfortable as it could have been. One of the wardrobe doors was a bit damaged, with a screw and magnetic plate regularly falling out. One of the hinges on the bedroom window was broken, making it difficult to open. The boiler stopped heating water, requiring a reset after a power-cut, but this issue was unresolved for around 9hrs after I reported it. When we returned after a day out to find the hot-water wasn't back on, I was told that getting it fixed had relied on a call to someone in the village who'd said they "might pop in" if they got time! Nothing was done to check whether this had happened. If the owners spent just a little money rectifying these niggly issues and put a little bit more effort into providing improved amenities & thoughtful touches for guest comfort, it could be a 5* rental.

    We are sorry that you were not made to feel welcome. We welcome our guests with a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival and a welcome note that highlights the essential bits of information that a guest would need on arrival - for example the wifi code, phone number for booking the village pub for dinner, opening hours for the village store etc. The cottage does differ slightly from the photos due to us adopting the Safer-stays policy of cleanliness and prevention of cross-infection. This anti-Covid certification ensures that we meet a specific standard - all non-essential items that are difficult to keep clean and hygienic are removed. This includes decorative cushions and regularly touched stationary items which includes the coffee machine. This is why the coffee machine and all cushions were removed from the property. In place of the coffee machine we have a box full of coffee sachets,,teas, drinking chocolate sachets along with sugar sachets, milk sachets etc. This box is disposed of at the end of each stay and a brand new box is used for each guest to ensure there is no cross-contamination. We are upset that you didn't find the soft leather sofa comfortable even without cushions. If the leaks in the bathroom and washing machine were reported we could have attempted to resolve the problems immediately. The wood flooring was laid exactly one year ago and when investigated recently after the complaint no such issues were found. The kitchen is equipped with enough cutlery and dishware for 4-5 persons. The new oven was recently fitted by a contractor and I apologise that it was loose. I have since had it bolted into position securely. The lighting in the lounge area offers a choice of 2-bulb floor lamp and/or small ceiling lights for a softer or brighter feel respectively. We apologise that the choice of lighting didn't suit you Being an older-style of wooden frame bed there are no slats. Instead a rigid floor box along with boarding are used as a base for the mattress. These are all original parts. The mattress is 1 year old and is an excellent quality pocket sprung mattress - previous guests have commented on the comfort. I am sorry that you didn't find it comfortable. One of the bedroom windows does need a little more of a tug to open. Also the design is different to the usual which could be why you had an issue. We have inspected it and it isn't damaged. When we was informed of the faulty boiler a plumber was notified immediately and booked. Unfortunately he never arrived despite promising that he would. We were alerted that the boiler still wasn't working. Luckily the local village plumber was available when called and came and fixed it. All guests are our number 1 priority and we treat them with courtesy and respect whilst ensuring that their stay is safe and pleasant. Getting the Safer-stays certificate was imperative for us to ensure our guests stay safe during this climate. We are glad that your family enjoyed the beauty of our village, the convenience of the pub and shop, the walks and local attractions in and around Salisbury. Again we are sorry that we didn't quite meet your expectations, and we certainly hope that you will visit us again during the summer season next year. Many Thanks Property Owner

    Reviewed by AndrewAug 2021

  • "We stayed here for a week and the cottage is in a lovely little village well positioned for exploring the surrounding area."

    Be prepared for driving on some very small and narrow country roads. The downstairs living space is good although the kitchen is tired and the property would benefit from replacing some of the basic kitchen equipment e.g. baking trays, pans etc. The fridge is small for a family of four staying for a week. It was also disappointing that some of the kitchen cupboards and plates hadn’t been cleaned particularly given the covid climate we are living in. The laminate floors downstairs are also starting to warp in places. The private enclosed garden is a great feature of the property. Upstairs was fine although the master bedroom window didn’t open and close easily which wasn’t ideal in such hot weather. The owners live right next door and own the adjacent village shop. We bumped into them on arrival and they were very friendly. The immediate area outside the property is used to store the bins, park the owners and guests cars as well as access shop stores and gas canisters. It was a little unnerving each night to leave our car parked right beside the gas canisters. The owners inevitably need to access this area frequently and there was often noise right outside the property from early on each day. This wasn’t a huge problem for us as we are early risers but for those who like a lie in this could be disturbing. The property is fine and has potential to be excellent. It needs a little tlc in places and some improvements. Highlights of the stay were visiting Paultons Theme Park, Moors Valley in the New Forest (Gruffalo Trail) and the Dorset Heavy Horse Farm. The take away from the Lord Nelson just round the corner was delicious.

    We are glad that the property met your expectations and that you enjoyed the private rear garden and BBQ patio. The kitchen is kitted out for 4-5 persons in our opinion and since your comments we have added extra cooking items. The kitchen has also benefitted from a brand new oven very recently. We are upset to hear that the cleaning wasn't to the required standard and we will be reviewing with our housekeeping staff urgently. We expect the cleaning to be in line with our Safer Stays certification and would expect no less if it was ourselves staying as guests. The laminate floors have expanded very slightly in a few areas and we will be arranging for our carpenter to repair this. We were not aware that the bedroom window wasn't functioning optimally and we would have commissioned an immediate repair had we had been informed. The village has no gas supply and the gas cylinders are a popular item. They are securely stored in metal cages at the back of the car park and unfortunately need to be sited outside. We always ensure that they are out of the way of guests, and that our guests are kept safe. We are assured by the suppliers that they are stored in a safe location and comply with all health and safety regulations. Deliveries of shop stock can come early on occasion but this isn't a regular occurrence. We apologise that you heard some noise. We will make some provisions to ensure that noise is kept minimal in the mornings. As you mention the property is in a great location to access family attractions. Nearby are also Bentley Woods - a large and nationally important nature reserve, Salisbury Cathedral and Stonehenge. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlanJul 2021

Show more

The property

A welcoming base from which to explore the countryside of Wiltshire, The Cottage is a captivating holiday home offering an idyllic position within the civil parish of Winterslow.

In easy reach of all of the wonders of Salisbury, as well as Winchester and Portsmouth, this cottage is the perfect choice for a family of four.

Make yourself at home within this charming cottage by relaxing in front of the impressive Smart TV in the living/dining room, equipped with a DVD player and a CD player, this cottage provides plenty of entertainment for when you're not out exploring; the open fire bringing a homely aura to the room in the winter months for the ultimate family escape.

Sit together around the dining table as you tuck into a tasty treat prepared in the amply-equipped kitchen where you can find an electric oven and hob, microwave, Nespresso Machine, fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer and dishwasher, providing all you could need and more for a self-catered stay.

Be sure to spend time in the well-maintained garden in the summer months; the large gas barbecue gives you the option to dine alfresco as you bask beneath the sun and end each day in the perfect way.

Venture up the staircase to find the two sleeping spots of a master double with its own Smart TV and a twin, both home to characterful sloping ceilings and skylights so you can make the most of the views below, as well as being served by the stylish family bathroom where you can choose from either a relaxing bath or a refreshing shower to start your day.

The cottage benefits from being with walking distance of a good host of amenities, with the owner's own shop where you can pick up any last-minute essentials as well as an inviting pub, everything you could need for a self-catered stay is just a stone's throw away, with the nearby Roche Court New Art Centre being well-worth visiting for a day of culture where you can find a enticing sculpture park and gallery with an educational centre, making a lovely way to while away the hours.

A short car journey will bring you to the medieval city of Salisbury, famed for its impressive 13th century cathedral boasting a spectacular 123m spire, 14th century clock and original copy of the historic Magna Carta, it's well-worth a visit for the history lover, while you should also be sure to visit the Salisbury Museum with collections about the Stonehenge and local archaeology, as well as being housed in Grade I listed building of The King's House where King James I of England was formerly entertained!

Explore the National Trust wonder of Mompesson House, featured in the award-winning film Sense and Sensibility, its fine period interior is a marvel to be seen.

While Salisbury is also the perfect place to visit for shopping and a good host of eating establishments, the excitement of The New Forest, Old Sarum Castle, Wilton House, Stonehenge and Paultons Park are all within driving distance too, while if you're visiting with little ones, a trip to Peppa Pig World at Paultons Park in Romsey is a must.

In easy reach of Wincheshter and Southampton too both offering their own unique experiences and a host of historic attractions, The Cottage is ideally situated for an exciting escape at any time of year.


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with Smart TV, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room with open fire
  • Oil central heating and open fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, 2 x Smart TV, DVD player, CD player and WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter logs for fire inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available on request
  • Off-road parking for one car
  • Enclosed lawn and patio with furniture and gas barbecue
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub within 0.1 miles
  • Note: Sloping ceilings on the first floor, please mind your head
  • For our Christmas guests The Cottage will be decorated with a Christmas tree ready for your arrival
  • Guests are able to pre-order groceries which can be delivered to The Cottage prior to arrival, please see your key collection details for further information and point of contact to arrange this service
  • The local Village shop is now a OneStop with great value offers and local food selection

View on map

About the location


Salisbury 7.8 miles; Winchester 19.6 miles; Southampton 23.9 miles

Winterslow is a civil parish consisting of the villages of West Winterslow and Middle Winterslow, along with the hamlets of East Winterslow and The Common, in Wiltshire. The parish boasts evidence of prehistoric settlements, such as Bronze Age features and an Iron Age hillfort at Ashley's Copse, making a lovely spot for a scenic walk. There are also various imposing buildings to observe throughout the settlements, The Church of England parish church of All Saints at West Winterslow being the most impressive; a Grade II* listed with 12th century origins, you'll find plenty of history to discover within the local area. There are a good selection of amenities scattered about too, with a convenience store, pub, and the Roche Court New Art Centre, located in a nineteenth-century house in parkland with a sculpture park and gallery with an educational centre, there's plenty to explore here. In driving distance you will find the medieval cathedral city of Salisbury, boasting easy access to the iconic prehistoric wonder of the Stonehenge, here you can find a wide range of fun-filled attractions. Marvel at the beauty of the city's 13th century cathedral flaunting a 123m spire, a working 14th-century clock and an original copy of the Magna Carta (the Great Charter), it's the perfect place to visit for the history lover, while other spectacles in the city include the National Trust-owned Mompesson House, the Salisbury Museum, the medieval house of Arundells, and much more, along with wonderful shopping experiences and plenty of eateries to choose from. Visit Winchester, also home to a renowned cathedral for its 17th century Morley Library, the Winchester Bible and a Norman crypt, or spend some time in the port city of Southampton with plenty of waterside walks and family-friendly attractions at any time of year. Offering easy access into the Cranborne Chase AONB and the New Forest Park too, Winterslow is an extremely scenic base for your escape to Wiltshire.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it