Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

19 people have recently viewed this property

Rowan Cottage

Barton on Sea, Hampshire (Ref. 926160)

4.3

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

33 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely stay again at Rowan Cottage - the house is always a comfortable and comforting place to kick back and relax and is well situated within walking distance of the beach."

    Also good transport links - busses and the train station - to enable exploration further afield. The gas fire in the living room adds that extra level of comfort. The smoke alarm was beeping with a low battery the night of arrival and was dealt with within the hour by the maintenance team even though it was 8pm! Very helpful! Thanks again - will be back!

    Reviewed by ClaireApr 2022

  • "Great location for the local area."

    Set back from the main road so nice and quiet.

    Reviewed by HeatherApr 2022

  • "The kitchen needs updating big time, so does bathroom."

    We had to clean house plus plate’s cutlery ext for our use only. We were asked for a cleaning bond, but there was a lack of products to do the cleaning, the hoover hadn’t been emptied for a very long time as was packed solid with dust, picture can be provided if needed. Overall we were very disappointed with our stay, I do hope this property isn’t a reflection on the rest of your property’s you rent out. I do think you should spot check them more often!!! Sorry this is not a glowing report you we’re hoping for

    Thank you for your comments and for taking your time to provide some feedback. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment. The Good Housekeeping Bond applied to some of our properties is not considered a 'cleaning bond' although it may be charged if the property is left in a poor standard of cleanliness on departure. It also covers charges required for any damages to be repaired or replacement items purchased. The property owner was in contact with you directly during your stay and as soon as the cleaning issue was raised she was immediately in touch to try and resolve your issues. As a good will gesture for any inconvenience caused the property owner did also send a £20 voucher to you. After every clean completed by the cleaners the property is thoroughly inspected by the Management of the cleaning company. The property has also undergone some recent work with new tiling being completed in the bathroom and has had a lot of good reviews and since you vacated a deep clean was completed. A deep clean is not a requirement following every booking as a standard changeover clean is, but the property is monitored to maintain the highest possible standards and will be undergone when required to ensure this. All measures seem to have been taken to prevent any future issues, but we're sorry you were unhappy with your stay on this occasion. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarolineMar 2022

  • "We were very comfortable in this beautifully situated house."

    It was warm and cosy and even though it was on an estate it had a private outlook and was also convenient for beaches. Although our visit was in February we went out every day visiting the New Forest and the beach areas both by car and bike. We were so comfortable that we stayed in most evenings. We would both recommend this holiday home in which to relax and from which to use as a great base for exploring. (A few leaflets wouldn't go amiss.) We hope to revisit.

    Thank you for your lovely review Property Owner

    Reviewed by SusanFeb 2022

  • "The property is in a lovely quiet location and within a few minutes walks to the local shops & takeaways."

    It was clean and nicely presented. We would use again.

    So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review Property Owner

    Reviewed by RachelFeb 2022

  • "We had two weeks in January at Rowan Cottage."

    We found it very comfortable and warm and would like to add that it was most attractively set out to greet us on arrival. We stayed there while work was being done on our house and we felt that we had made an excellent choice.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. So glad you enjoyed it Property Owner

    Reviewed by MatthewJan 2022

  • "The property was clean and well presented."

    The location was great, close to the centre and the beach - everything in walking distance. However, a few suggestions to improve the overall experience at the cottage would be: Add a topper to the main bed, it was so hard it was like sleeping on the floor. Also the duvets seemed to be thin summer ones. Tweak the heating timer as it goes from being like a sauna in the evening to really cold in the night time. The equipment in the kitchen is just barely enough to prepare a basic meal, one blunt carving knife available for chopping, no steamer, an old rather unpleasant chopping board. Things like a few decent knives, a garlic press and basic condiments etc would go a long way to improving it. And a dishwasher would be the icing on the cake! Hand soap and a towel to be in the downstairs toilet on arrival The covers on the sofa make it feel quite tired and not the inviting space it could be.

    Thank you for your helpful comments which we will take into account. However the facilities available at the property are clearly stated on the website. We’re sorry that you didn’t realise there is no dishwasher. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JoseDec 2021

  • "The property was very clean and tidy and the starter pack was a nice thought."

    Reviewed by PeterNov 2021

  • "We had a few issues which were resolved immediately once we contacted the owner, most of which should have been picked up on changeover."

    We found the wi-fi rather slow and the sofas rather uncomfortable, but the beds were very comfortable and the location quiet and peaceful. Having to dispose of our rubbish and recycling once the bags had been collected on Tuesday morning was a real pain. It would have been so useful to have a couple of bins outside in which we could have placed our bags on leaving either for the next occupants to put out for collection the following week or for the cleaners to dispose of.

    Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry you felt it was a nuisance. The cleaners remove rubbish as part of changeover but some people leave too much for them to remove during changeover when they have many properties to visit. Normally if there is excessive rubbish we have to arrange for removal. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RosemarySep 2021

  • "The property is listed as sleeping six people."

    It should be made clear that the sixth person will need to sleep in the master bedroom on a fold out bed. I booked for four adults and two children and had to input the child ages, 15 & 17. I feel it should've flagged up that sleeping arrangements are not suitable for a family of this size with the children being that much older. Also for our family it was a tight fit and squeeze to be all seated around the dining table. There wasn't a large frying pan to cook for six people.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, the listing clearly states the sleeping arrangements for Rowan Cottage, I am sorry you missed this information. Property Owner

    Reviewed by VanessaAug 2021

  • "The house was comfortable and adequately equipped."

    Barton-on-sea provides a good base for exploring parts of Hampshire and the New Forest. The coastal area and cliff top is lovely with a nice beach but I'd struggle to walk there in 5 minutes unless there's a quicker route which I didn't find!

    Thank you for your feedback Customer comments are very important to us We are glad you enjoyed the property and the beauty of the local area We do advise on the property description that the beach is a 12 minute walk away and 5 minutes by car Once again, thanks for your comments Property Owner

    Reviewed by PhilipJun 2021

  • "A clean and comfortable house in a great location that served us well given we wanted to spend time exploring the New Forest."

    The owner obviously listens to feedback as a coffee machine has been added and the new cleaners had left the place spotless. We walked to a couple of restaurants for dinner and there are numerous takeaways nearby, again within walking distance. The coast is about a mile away (cliffs with beaches accessible for the more mobile) and we were able to access all of the New Forest easily by car. While the weather was changeable during our stay it was nice to have the option of sitting in the small patio garden. Overall a comfortable base for exploring this beautiful part of the country.

    Reviewed by LisaJun 2021

  • "The house was very close to pubs and shops however the garden area was spoiled by lack of maintenance."

    Other than that we can't find any fault.

    Reviewed by JenniferJun 2021

  • "The cottage is well-equipped, warm and clean."

    It’s in a great location, central but in a quiet cul-de-sac. The main bed was very comfortable with a quality mattress and so I slept very well - not even needing ear plugs (which I normally do when away being a very light sleeper). The little garden is a sun trap in the mornings and a lovely spot for coffee - although you’ll need to bring your own coffee machine! Stunning views from the cliff-top which is a 15 minute walk away. Thank you for a lovely break.

    Reviewed by LindaApr 2021

  • "The cottage was well appointed and cosy."

    It is easy walking distance of the see (12 minutes to the cliffs, another 10 minutes to the beach). The Forest is an easy drive through New Milton and Bashley, straight into a very nice area of the forest with plenty of good walks.

    Reviewed by JonathanDec 2020

  • "Cottage could be alot cleaner - alot of cob webs about, windows needed cleaning and too much clutter about ie pillows and throws on beds - I do not think this should be on the bed at the moment with the virus about."

    Plus alot of ornaments in windows again should all be cleared out with the virus about. Also the beds were not very comfortable fit for the dustbin I think - certainly not very suitable for sleeping on.

    Reviewed by JulieOct 2020

  • "A very pleasant, roomy house with everything we needed."

    The area is quiet, parking easy and shops extremely handy. Very good value and we had an excellent week.

    Reviewed by WinifrideSep 2020

  • "The property was quite good, with everything we look for except a coffee machine and a dishwasher."

    Quite clean but needing some basic maintenance (some floor edging was loose and one of the toilet seats kept coming loose).

    Reviewed by JohnAug 2020

  • "Very clean and comfy, good location"

    Reviewed by ClareJul 2020

  • "Thank you for the Christmas tree and decorations etc."

    all of which made us feel at home and full of Christmas cheer. Lovely comfortable home, warm and cozy and my 92 year old mum really enjoyed her stay with us.

    Reviewed by CynthiaDec 2019

  • "What a lovely cottage , Tidy, clean very welcoming ."

    Every home comfort you need , beds were extremely comfortable. Parking right outside the property 15 minute walk to the seafront and perfectly situated to visit the New Forest As a family it was excellent and a nice enclosed garden for our 3 year old granddaughter to have a run around in will definitely book again

    Reviewed by WendyNov 2019

  • "On arrival everything was spotless and there was a lovely welcome basket for the ..."

    On arrival everything was spotless and there was a lovely welcome basket for the much needed cup of tea, the towels and bed line were so fresh, clean and crisp and there was everything that we could have needed, in fact it is by far one of the best holiday rentals that we have stayed in, you are usually always a bit disappointed but like they say it does what it says on the tin, so we have already made the decision to return next year hopefully for 2 weeks, so after Christmas I will start to look for booking

    Reviewed by MandyJul 2019

  • "Found cd player/radio?"

    broken and could not use. Would have liked small low tables in main and single bedded rooms. Also, would have liked table mirror in main bedroom. Very pleased with welcome pack of milk, tea, coffee and biscuits etc. Shower curtain needs replacing.

    Reviewed by BarbaraJun 2019

  • "I found the cottage very comfortable and warm and it had everything that I needed."

    Reviewed by PaulMar 2019

  • "The cottage and the location were superb, with parking right outside the front door."

    The excellent local pub (the Wheatsheaf) was only 2 minutes walk from the cottage and I was made to feel so welcome there during my week at the cottage. There was a well-stocked and reasonably priced mini-market, also 2 minutes walk from the cottage and a super fish and chip shop 3 minutes walk away and several take away outlets in the same row of convenience stores. The homely town of New Milton was a ten minute walk away, with banks, shops and supermarkets to provide for all needs. Barton-on-Sea beach was a pleasant 15 minute walk away from Rowan cottage, through a residential area with stunning views of the Isle of Wight and Hengistbury Head from the cliff top. In all, it was a perfect location to visit and a great 'home away from home' for a week of work and recreation. I thoroughly recommend Rowan Cottage and New Milton/Barton-on-Sea. Top marks and thank you Sykes Cottages and also the lovely, helpful local staff.

    Reviewed by DennisFeb 2019

  • "Rowan Cottage was very warm and comfortable and well equipped."

    The welcome pack was good and the welcome book was excellent on its contents for information. This property is well maintained and in a very quiet area. A very quiet relaxing and peaceful holiday was had by us.

    Reviewed by PeterNov 2018

  • "Ideal family holiday cottage."

    Comfortable furnishings, quiet location, shops, restaurants and take-aways all close by. Transport links easily reached and plenty of interesting places to visit nearby.

    Reviewed by RachelSep 2018

  • "Nice quiet setting ,cottage comfortable with all you require but felt the need for improvements and some TLC especially the bathroom rather dated with a poor shower ."

    Reviewed by JohnSep 2018

  • "The only improvement I would like to see , as with all holiday properties I have stayed in, is to have lined / blackout curtains, particularly in bedrooms aimed at children to avoid early morning waking in the light mornings."

    Reviewed by ClareJul 2018

  • "Previous lets rubbish not cleared , loos dirty in lower pan, no cleaning goods available, hoover never had a new bag!"

    ! FULL. Garden needs some TLC. **** Owner Response**** Thank you very much for your feedback. We understand that guests expect a thoroughly cleaned property on their arrival, would like to reassure you that we take every step to ensure it is the case for our guests. Apologies if this was not the case with your stay, in these circumstances we advise our customers to contact us so that we can rectify any issues immediately. We are aware that this was done by yourselves and we were then able to remove the rubbish. Following your feedback we have also discussed with our cleaning company to ensure our usual standard is maintained for all future bookings.

    Reviewed by HowardJun 2018

  • "Very comfortable - a perfect choice for our family."

    Really wished we could have stayed for another week! Will certainly visit again!

    Reviewed by JoannaMar 2018

  • "This is our second stay at Rowan Cottage."

    The property is comfortable, clean and well maintained. Car parking directly outside the property. Peaceful. Within walking distance of shops and good value for money. Will certainly rebook.

    Reviewed by RosemaryNov 2017

  • "Perfet"

    Reviewed by EdgarasJan 2017

Show more

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size double with folding bed, 1 x single, 1 x adult bunks
  • Bathroom with bath, electric shower over, hand-held shower, basin and WC
  • Ground floor basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting room with dining area and electric flame-effect fire.
  • Gas central heating with electric fire
  • Electric oven and ceramic hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, TV/DVD combi with Freeview, CD, radio, iPod dock, WiFi, selection of books and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair
  • Off road parking for 1 car, unrestricted parking just past the property on a first come, first served basis
  • Enclosed paved garden with furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shops, pub, café, fish and chips and other takeaway restaurants 2 mins walk
  • Beach 12 mins walk
  • Note: No children under 6 in top bunk
  • Note: No stag/hen or similar parties allowed
  • Note: there is £100 Good Housekeeping Bond.

The property

A well-presented and attractive modern terraced cottage, situated in a private residential area, close to all the local amenities of New Milton and Barton on Sea.

The cottage has been comfortably furnished throughout to suit both couples or a small family group, with bright bedrooms, a pleasant fitted kitchen and a sitting/dining room which offers a great social space for all your group to meet up and relax after your adventures.

On warmer days sit out on the patio of the enclosed garden enjoying a glass of your favourite tipple whilst you plan your next day out.

The patio can be a little sun trap so there is an electric awning to create some shade.

The shingle beach at Barton on Sea is ¾ of a mile away, five minutes by car or just a 12 minute level walk.

When the tide goes out it's fun to paddle along the shore hunting for fossils, or take in the magnificent views towards the Isle of Wight.

The beach and clifftop at Barton are home to a lovely café and ice cream parlour, a popular choice for holidaymakers.

Should you wish to visit the Isle of Wight there are regular ferries running from nearby Lymington which is just 20 minutes by car.

Alternatively, take a trip inland to the picturesque New Forest National Park where wild ponies and cattle roam freely and if you're lucky you may catch a glimpse of the native deer.

Visit the National Motor Museum at Beaulieu, or hire a bike and explore the hidden forest trails.

Nearby are a variety of seaside resorts including Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole.

All these attractions and more are easily accessed from this delightful Hampshire holiday base.

Note: This property has a refundable Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

BARTON ON SEA

Christchurch 5.5 miles; Lymington 7 miles; Bournemouth 11 miles.

Barton on Sea is a clifftop village adjoining the bustling town of New Milton, only 5.5 miles from Christchurch on the south coast. Situated at the eastern end of Christchurch Bay, there are spectacular views across the Solent towards 'The Needles' on the western end of the Isle of Wight, towards Hurst Castle to the east and towards Christchurch and Hengistbury Head to the west. The coastal path winds its way beside the local golf course towards Lymington, where you can take one of the regular ferries to the Isle of Wight. Explore the beautiful New Forest National Park with its wild ponies and pretty villages, whilst a visit to the National Motor Museum or the stunning gardens at Exbury is a must. No visit to this area would be complete without a trip to the cosmopolitan seaside resort of Bournemouth, with its award-winning beaches, vibrant shopping centre, theatres and restaurants, or enjoy the attractive riverside town of Christchurch or Avon Beach at nearby Highcliffe which is popular with surfers. No matter what time of year you visit there's always a lot to do to suit all ages.

Region Information

Note: No stag/hen or similar parties allowed.
Note: there is £100 Good Housekeeping Bond.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it