Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

8 people have recently viewed this property

Sandsfoot House

Castle Cove, Dorset (Ref. 994616)

4.6

Very good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 4

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

30 Customer Reviews

  • "Excellent location and first rate facilities."

    We were impressed with the decorative style, and the local touches too!

    Thanks for your feedback Mark, we are glad you enjoyed your stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by MarkMar 2022

  • "The cottage was very nicely decorated and very well equipped, we did have a couple of issues, we contacted the housekeeping team at dream cottages but it seemed they just passed info to Sykes who passed it to owners and nothing got done!"

    The outside dustbin was over flowing on arrival, the coffee maker didn’t work and the cafetière had no base

    We are sorry you had a problem with the coffee maker Karen. We can't find any problems with it - it is making perfect espressos and cappuccinos! We can only think that the steam button may have been pressed in when you were trying to make an espresso. Thank you for pointing out the problem with the cafetiere - it has been replaced. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KarenFeb 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our half term break here."

    The location was perfect both in terms of facilities in the immediate vicinity and for exploring the Dorset Coast with Durdle Door and West Bay only about a 30-40 minute drive away. It was also great to be able to explore places closer by like Portland Island, Chesil Beach, Weymouth. The house itself was spacious (we are a family of 5 with 2 teenage boys & a 10 yo plus a dog). We were able to self cater easily as well as eat out a few times. It was great to have the Rodwell Trail literally on the doorstep where we could take our dog for a walk & I could run. Highly recommend it.

    It sounds like you had a great time here Harjit, we are glad you like it. Property Owner

    Reviewed by HarjitFeb 2022

  • "The property has been refreshed and some items upgraded ."

    Our last stay was affected by a poor standard of cleaning. We could not fault the cleaning standard this time .The provision of the Xmas tree was a lovely time treat and really made our stay special thank you

    We are glad you enjoyed your Christmas holiday at Sandsfoot House Jonathan! Property Owner

    Reviewed by JonathanDec 2021

  • "Felt very privileged to stay for a week in this house, especially with its location."

    It was very comfortable at all times of our stay. We enjoyed a fabulous week here.

    Reviewed by RachelNov 2021

  • "Suited our party perfectly."

    Lovely location with views over the gardens, castle, and harbour. Close to a beach, and the property was well-presented and comfortable. Everything we needed.

    Reviewed by ChristineOct 2021

  • "Sandsfoot House is in a perfect position with views over the sea and garden."

    There are good walks just behind the house towards Chesil Beach and Portland. We can't come next year but but we hope to be back for our third visit in the not too distant future.

    Reviewed by StuartAug 2021

  • "Having visited Sandsfoot House 2 years ago, we knew what to expect and were not disappointed."

    A well maintained house in a lovely location. Our extended family of 6 plus 2 jack russells were very comfortable. Very pleased to see that there is now a tumble dryer which was our only negative during our last stay. We would definitely stay there again.

    Reviewed by MarkAug 2021

  • "Great location for a group of 6 adults plus dog with the gardens and beach two minutes away."

    Loved the lounge with comfortable sofas and also the dinning area with sea views- very special experiences. Walk-in shower unit is small and bath is high for using the over shower - anyone with mobility issues this could be a problem. Kitchen utensils should be checked for cleanliness each change over and another large lidded pan would be useful. Looking forward to staying again next year, thank you for letting this property.

    Reviewed by DianaJun 2021

  • "Great location, close to small, quiet beach and around 20 min walk into Weymouth."

    House was perfect for our family, only one small comment - time to upgrade to a larger TV! Hope to book again soon!

    Reviewed by SusanJun 2021

  • "Corners in kitchen on floor and bathroom need cleaning as do kitchen cabinets require wiping down Due to Covid, small windows on front upstairs should have been open as ventilation is key with Covid and indoor doors left open More comfortable outside seating as seats hard being metal and stick in back."

    Reviewed by IanJun 2021

  • "We really enjoyed our stay and have already booked another holiday in this property next year."

    Our only suggestion would be that blinds or net curtains be put up in the bedrooms.

    Reviewed by MaryJun 2021

  • "A lovely house in a perfect location."

    Sea view from 2 front bedrooms and safe enclosed garden for the dog. One small thing - there were some dirty marks on two of the radiators and the back door. Easy to miss but suggested they had not been wiped down with an anti viral cleaner which I would have expected at the present time. Otherwise it was very comfortable and everything was provided.

    Reviewed by MarilynMay 2021

  • "Fantastic sea views, better than expected and advertised."

    Near 2 beaches which were quiet and shallow perfect for a toddler. Everything we needed in the house and clean. Only annoying thing was not being able to get in before 5 but understand that’s COVID!

    Reviewed by JulieMay 2021

  • "No everything was perfect"

    Reviewed by LoraineSep 2020

  • "The House was lovely."

    spacious and comfortable.There were cleaning issues with the Kitchen and bathrooms which, in the presence of Covid 19 were a great source of concern. The microwave interior plate had food left on it,the cups and glasses were dirty. In the bathroom, the floors were dirty, and the tiled area at the back of the bath was not clean. We had a great stay. the locality is ideal for visits to the beach and easy access to weymouth. There is an is an issue with young people congregating in the park opposite and gathering at the rear of the house on the Rodwell trail so not always peaceful. Having said all of the above we would stay again and would book with Sykes.

    Reviewed by JonathanAug 2020

  • "Perfect position ."

    Only thing I had was the key safe to low .

    Reviewed by StuartAug 2020

  • "The general cleanliness was not fantastic, really expected higher standards with the covid requirements currently in place."

    Found 4 nail clippings in the bathroom by the toilet base. Kitchen floor had lots of crumbs and debris around the edges. Would not usually highlight items like this, but having been advised not to arrive till 5pm for deep cleaning had expected it to be spotless! The location was perfect and will definitely return in the future.

    Reviewed by JeanAug 2020

  • "Although the view was spectacular the house was very basic."

    We were told that the house was having a deep clean but when we arrived there was cobwebs with and spiders in every room hanging from the walls and ceilings. The Freezer had a lump of ice frozen in a bag in the one of the drawers and when we removed it it was stuck to some orange sticky stuff stuck to the drawer which was disgusting. The bathroom door didn't lock properly, it needs a new lock fitting for sure. When we sat on the sofas the throws had white dog hairs stuck to them so we folded them up and put them to one side. When we did our first wash in the washer/dryer the clothes came out with white dog hairs on them. We won't be returning to this holiday home.

    Reviewed by HeatherAug 2020

  • "Property is in a nice quiet position with views over the old castle & sea, nicely decorated throughout & comfortable seating etc."

    Short walk to two beaches & just 10 minutes to pub, very easy access to cycle path & walking trail, about a 20 minute walk to Weymouth harbour. Personally we found the beds a little soft but all the bedding seemed good quality & clean, towels were provided in each room. The only real problem we had was a 2 hour power cut at 8pm one evening but that was the fault of power company, not the property. My only real negative would be the inflated price over new year, but I guess most do that!

    Reviewed by JohnDec 2019

  • "Very well appointed cottage, warm, clean and homely."

    The only thing we could find missing in the kitchen was a knife sharpener. However, we were surprised that we didn't have to separate our rubbish for recycling. FYI - we brought home glass to recycle ourselves as ASDA no longer have a glass recycling bin.

    Reviewed by CaroleDec 2019

  • "A really comfortable cottage in lovely area, with beautiful sea views."

    The park opposite was perfect for morning dog walks along with other friendly dog walkers. The cafeteria was also a good meeting area with locals & travellers. We had a great time even for this late time of year. Many places to visit.

    Reviewed by LindaNov 2019

  • "The house was located in a lovely area with excellent dog walks starting right outside the house (eg the local beach and the Rodwell trail)."

    We also visited Portand on several occasions where we found spectacular views of Chesil Beach, and an excellent cafe at Portand Bill.

    Reviewed by CarolynOct 2019

  • "Sandsfoot House is a lovely home in a beautiful location with direct access to the SW Coastal path/Rodwell trail."

    The lounge and dinning room are perfect with lots of light and beautiful views and the kitchen is small but functional. The rear garden isn't large but is fully enclosed with 2 seating areas and we felt happy to let our dog out. Upstairs is also very light with 2 double, 2 singles 1 bathroom and 1 shower room. The 2 front bedrooms again have a lovely view . If we have any gripes it's with the upstairs main front bedroom, unfortunately the mattress is too large for the frame which causes it to slope from either side into the middle. We were also slightly disappointed that the property has no rubbish recycling option. All being said we enjoyed our stay, the location and would come back again,

    Reviewed by GrahamSep 2019

  • "It's access to beach and coastal walks."

    .went to the olimpic sailing centre and enjoyed all the water sport activities..

    Reviewed by CarolineAug 2019

  • "The house was really lovely and we had a fantastic holiday, so much so that we came home and re-booked."

    There was was only one thing that was a problem, but it was a real problem. The lack of a tumble dryer!!!! We had six adults in the house and so was doing washing every other day , there was a small airer ,(not big enough for a full load). Washing was taking 2 to 3 days to dry, consiquently we had damp washing draped around the house the whole time. We even sat a few times with the lounge fire on and airer in front obscuring people's view of the TV. I am hoping with all toes and fingers crossed that this is resolved before next August

    Reviewed by MarkAug 2019

  • "The cottage is beautiful sea views really make this a perfect place to relax."

    We were concerned about being a few minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of Weymouths harbour but the peace quiet and tranquillity more than made up for it. So much that we love Sandsfoot House's position and will be coming here again next year. We feel that we have experienced a perfect holiday in an absolutely beautiful location.

    Reviewed by EllenJul 2019

  • "The cottage was lovely and very comfortable but the walking distance into town was further than we thought it would be."

    Needs more saucepans and the tin opener was broken, also it would have been helpful to have had a guest book so that you could leave tips for other guests. Deck chairs, BQ and fishing nets for children in the shed Ideal for dogs as the garden was very secure. We had a lovely time staying here even though the weather was not good.

    Reviewed by ShayneJun 2019

  • "Would have liked visitors book to pass on knowledge we acquired eg dog friendly pubs and doggie walks."

    Lovely views from cottage and old railway footpath takes you to Chesil beach or into centre of Weymouth without using roads. A few more saucepan please especially if there had been more of us. The location and views brilliant secure garden very good for dogs or children.

    Reviewed by AndrewMar 2019

  • "This was a lovely property and we had a lovely holiday."

    Stayed August 2018

    Mrs Gleny ReevesAug 2018

Show more

This property is part of the Dream Cottages collection.
Over 350 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Bedrooms: 2 x Double, 2 x singles
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting Room
  • Dining room.
  • Gas Central heating
  • Microwave, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, washing machine
  • Smart TV, WiFi
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Landscaped rear garden with seating area
  • Bed linen and towels inc. Welcomes 2 well behaved pets, charge of £21 per pet per week Sorry no smoking.

The property

Sandsfoot House is a detached house sitting proudly adjacent to Sandsfoot castle and gardens enjoying beautiful sea views.

Offering all the space you need with its separate sitting and dining rooms in this traditional family house means you can spread out, have some quiet time or watch TV or play games at the table.

The well equipped kitchen has everything you need to prepare wonderful family meals.

This bright and generous house is comfortably equipped, and only a brisk 10-minute walk from Brewers Quay and the Old Harbour in Weymouth, where you will find numerous local cafes, pubs, restaurants and Weymouth's Award-winning Georgian Seafront and beach.

Located in the favoured area of Old Castle, this wonderful house enjoys stunning sea views from every window on the front of the house.

Being adjacent to Sandsfoot Castle and Gardens, its enviable position means you can enjoy your seaside location from the moment you arrive.

Sandsfoot beach is moments' away from the front door, and the Rodwell trail, part of the South West Coastal Path, runs behind the house, giving perfect access to this enticing walk, in one direction it takes you towards Chesil beach and Portland and in the other direction it takes you to town.

If you want to travel further afield, the Sealife Centre, Monkey world and The Tank Museum all offer exciting days out.

Lulworth Cove, Durdle Door and the Isle of Portland all offer stunning scenery.

All of these days out are within a 30-minute drive.

View on map

About the location

CASTLE COVE

Castle Cove is a firm favourite with locals, sitting along side the Rodwell trail area, Castle Cove Beach is usually uncrowded, and offers safe bathing from it’s gently sloping shoreline. There are two main beach areas, Castle Cove, new steps to the beach opened early in 2019, and Sandsfoot beach, both with soft golden sand and the vibe of the best kept secret. Sandsfoot castle is just two minutes’ walk from the beach where you will find castle ruins, pretty award-winning gardens and a small café, offering snacks, drinks and ice-creams. Accessed off Old Castle Road in Weymouth, this area is a real treat for those who want to be away from the buzz and bright lights of the traditional Weymouth Seafront, and yet close enough to venture there when they choose. When you are on the beach you could be forgiven for thinking you are miles from town, and yet you are only a 15-20 minute walk from the old Harbour and access to Weymouth town centre. If you want to know where the locals would recommend you spend your beach days, then Castle Cove and Sandsfoot beaches are it.

Region Information

Notes: No cot or highchair at this property.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it