Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 26 View Larger Image
  • The Piggery - Somerset & Wiltshire - 1000783 - photo 1
close

8 people have recently viewed this property

The Piggery

Horsington near Wincanton, Somerset (Ref. 1000783)

4.5

(21 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

21 Customer Reviews

  • "If you're looking for peace and quiet The Piggery certainly gives that, the only sound we heard was the Blackbird"

    Reviewed by RoyJun 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at the property."

    Very quiet and peaceful. The beds were very comfortable and it's very well equipped with everything you need. There was only the two of us but there's plenty of room for four people as it's much bigger than it looks. We hope to go back again next year. K. Godfrey.

    Reviewed by KayJun 2022

  • "We had a great stay."

    We were attending a three-day event locally and this was an ideal base. The property was very comfortable and well equipped, and in a nice location. Would happily return.

    Thank you so much for your feedback! Best wishes, Helena Property Owner

    Reviewed by DavidMay 2022

  • "Directions from Wincanton would have helped our arrival"

    Reviewed by margaretOct 2021

  • "As a previous Sykes customers we have always been impressed and able to trust that the properties you offer are at a high standard."

    Unfortunately I am sorry to say that we have been very disappointed with "The Piggerey". Damp in all rooms, bedlinen damp, causing congested breathing, especially the small bedroom. Bathroom and shower room toilets don't flush properly, constant noise of water trickling through the cisterns very annoying. Kitchen ceiling stuffed with tissue paper where cracks must have appeared. Tiles bulging away from walls obviously caused by damp from walls pushing them out. Furniture and fittings, blown and dirty windows both inside and out. Damp and dirty settees. Dirty kitchen equipment, chest of draws in small bedroom has knobs fastened on with string and sellotape, falling off when used. Flies in the building at all times, despite doors being kept closed. "Garden" Misleading information as this area is only accessible by carrying garden furniture right around the property. Garden furniture stored in garage cobweb covered and filthy.

    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you had issues with the property, and I am surprised that you did not inform us during your stay but chose instead to complain to the neighbours. It is an old property, and if it is not kept well-ventilated then condensation can occur. There is no underlying damp problem, and the tiles that you mention are like that because it is an old wall, and they have been like that since the barns were developed. If you had let me know then we could have terminated your holiday and refunded you. The toilets were fixed easily, and once again I could have helped you with this had you contacted me. We are unable to move the garden area, and we are not permitted to fence it off at this time. Once again, had you contacted us during your stay rather than choosing to let us know a week later we would have done everything possible to help. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PamelaAug 2021

  • "The Piggery is in a fantastic location for exploring the area."

    It was a great base and had everything you need although I would agree with other reviews that the decor is a little tired in places however it did not detract from our stay. The lounge is lovely as is the small garden at the back of the property, both are perfect for reading and relaxing after a day out walking. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I would recommend it to couples or families who are interested in visiting the area.

    Reviewed by RachelJul 2021

  • "Beautiful cottage, everything you could need other than a Hoover provided."

    Could do with a lick of paint but that adds to the quirkiness. Damp in the shower room and bedrooms. But having said that, it is a beautiful location.

    Reviewed by DeborahJul 2021

  • "The piggery was absolutely first class."

    Reviewed by TraceyJun 2021

  • "We really liked the cottage."

    It had everything we needed and the lounge was particularly pleasant and comfortable.

    Reviewed by LaurenMay 2021

  • "Yes: There is a very significant leak to guttering where it has a joint immediately above porch."

    Waterfall! The front door looks scruffy because the door furniture ie brass would benefit from a polish. Some of the seals to double glazed window units have gone and stay misted up. Nowhere to hang clothes in shower room Electric fire really noisy Level of lighting in lounge very poor.

    Reviewed by PeterSep 2020

  • "A 'homely' feel about the property, with all the required facilities."

    We dined in most evenings and found the kitchen facilities well equipped. The location was central with most places that we wanted to visit being about a 30 mile radius. We took an elderly lady who is in a wheelchair and there was plenty of space to move around the premises which are all on one level (after the front door steps). Well done!

    Reviewed by PhilipSep 2020

  • "The Piggery is set in a beautiful location, very well equipped with everything you could possibly need and very clean."

    Absolute peace and quiet and a lovely base for visiting the coast.

    Reviewed by CoreenAug 2020

  • "Lovely, very well equipped & decorated"

    Reviewed by SamuelFeb 2020

  • "Expensive"

    Reviewed by PaulDec 2019

  • "We loved our stay at the Piggery, everywhere we wanted to visit was an easy drive away."

    The cottage had everything we needed, very well equipped. Would definitely visit again.

    Reviewed by JudithSep 2019

  • "A very comfortable cottage and we were very pleased to find a freezer in the garage which was available for use, bur could have benefited from a good clean, as could the oven and hob."

    It was rather a surprise that neither bathroom was fitted with a lock which could have been unpleasant were there to be more than just the two of us. Access to the garden was difficult and the garden itself offered no privacy. Towels were plentiful and thick and the lighting was good.

    Reviewed by MiriamAug 2019

  • "A lovely holiday conversion in a central part of Somerset."

    Internally, it’s faultless. Parking in the courtyard, however, is difficult to say the least. There are two parking spaces allocated to the cottage but other residents feel it’s their right to park directly behind you and disappear. At first I thought it was people being inconsiderate but by the end of the week I felt it was vindictiveness.

    Reviewed by DanJul 2019

  • "A wonderful cottage set in the beautiful Somerset countryside."

    The Piggery was spotlessly clean and much more spacious than we had expected,; it was well equipped and within range of a number of lovely NT properties and market towns. Sherborne and Shaftesbury were particularly attractive. We would certainly consider a repeat booking and can recommend the cottage without reservation.

    Reviewed by RichardJun 2019

  • "Spacious and well equipped."

    Very peaceful surroundings and excellent location to use as a base. Beds were very comfortable but unfortunately the Shower was more like a drizzle and the dvd player only worked sometimes.

    Reviewed by PaulJun 2019

  • "The cottage was in a lovely quiet location , was very clean and very well equipped."

    The instructions in the booklet were clear and useful. The beds were very comfortable and there was a bath and a shower in two separate rooms. Since there is no local shop we were delighted to find milk, tea and coffee left there for our immediate use and also abootle of wine and flowers- a very welcoming touch. We had a lovely holiday- despite awful weather as there is so much to see and do in the neighboring towns.

    Reviewed by VivienJun 2019

  • "Would recommend this place ."

    Very peaceful venue. Spacious and everything needed for my needs . Easy to find , easy parking ,easy access . A place to sit out in the sun, comfy sofa and good beds , nice bedding, great bath and shower . Lovely church in village with a walk in fields and views . Venue could benefit from new glass in windows, and some of the decor being repaired would enhance it but for the price charged this was very fair and did not detract from my comfort or enjoyment . Owners responded quickly to my query’s. ( piano in tune too !)

    Reviewed by SallyMay 2019

Show more

Summary

  • All ground floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, basin and WC and shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with electric fire
  • Electric heating with electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge, dishwasher, washing machine
  • TV, DVD player, WiFi, selection of books and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Rear lawned area
  • Sorry, no pets, no smoking and no parties
  • Shop 4.4 miles, pub 0.3 miles
  • Sorry, this property is unsuitable for any worker bookings or any white vans at the property

The property

Situated 3 miles from the historic market town of Wincanton, The Piggery is a beautiful barn conversion situated in a sheltered shared courtyard with stunning views across the Blackmore Vale.

This charming holiday home is set all over ground floor and is ideal for families and friends looking to escape to the countryside and sample a taste of what the area has to offer.

With two well-appointed bedrooms offering ample storage space and a neutral colour scheme, it is a lovely set up for those holidaying with their kids.

Each comes with bedside tables ad lamps so you can unwind with a book among a soothing ambience before bed.

There is also a family bathroom and shower room, so you don't have to worry about queuing in the mornings to use the facilities.

After an adventurous day exploring the local sights, return to this humble adobe and relax in the lounge before the fire, choose a book from the shelf or perhaps you might like to get competitive with a board game around the coffee table.

The traditional-style kitchen is well-appointed for rustling up something home-cooked and delicious, perfect for getting the family around the dinner table to catch up on the day's events.

There is a small lawned area at the rear of the property which you are welcome to use, but please respect the privacy of the neighbours and we request no ball games.

The village of Horsington offers a village pub selling outstanding beers and food, and there are beautiful walks, riding and golf available locally.

The local towns of Castle Cary and Sherborne are well worth a visit, and the historic city of Bath is 30 minutes away and Salisbury about 45 minutes.

Local attractions include racing at Wincanton, Clarks Shopping Village, Hauser and Wirth Gallery in Bruton, Haynes Motor Museum, The Fleet Air Arm Museum, Kilver Court and Longleat.

There are many National Trust properties locally, including Stourhead, Lytes Cary, Montacute House and Tintinull House.

Somerset offers the finest in food and drink with many opportunities to sample what is on offer.

Templecombe is the nearest main-line train station with regular trains to London and the West Country, and has a small shop with post-office.

Wincanton is a thriving town with a lively high street with a butcher, bakery, delicatessen, wine shop, post office, cafes, take-aways and pubs.

The local race course hosts world class racing during the season.

Somerset is a beautiful county with stunning scenery, good local produce and good connections with trains to London and the main roads A303 and M5.

The coast is approximately an hour away.

It is a good base from which to explore the West Country.

View on map

About the location

WINCANTON

Glastonbury 20 miles

A small yet charming town in Somerset in the South West of England that offers traditional stone buildings with thatched roofs. Despite being small in size, Wincanton offers an awful lot for you to do. During your stay you could visit Wincanton races, the Discworld Emporium or the golf club as well as a splendid variety of independent shops, pubs and restaurants to enjoy at your leisure. Wincanton sits just outside the Cranborne Chase AONB as well as many other areas of natural beauty and awe. The popular destination of Glastonbury is within a short drive.

Region Information

Sorry, this property is unsuitable for any worker bookings or any white vans at the property.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas