In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 39 View Image Gallery
  • Laal Field House - Lake District - 1041740 - photo 1
close

Laal Field House

(Ref. 1041740)

Keswick, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.5

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (13)
  • garden (11)
  • our (10)
  • property (9)
  • location (9)
  • spacious (8)

21 Customer Reviews

  • "The location of this house is fantastic plenty to do on your doorstep parking no problem."

    The pictures on Sykes do not do the house justice it was much bigger and better and the garden is like a park our dog was so happy running around and it was secure for him. We liked it so much we tried to book for next year, however it does not seem to be available.

    Reviewed by Debbie4.4Jun 2024

  • "A beautiful place to stay with a fantastic garden for the dogs."

    We have been twice and will be booking again soon.

    Reviewed by Jean5.0Jun 2024

  • "This was our second stay at Laal Field House and we will definitely be looking to book again."

    Just a shame it’s fully booked until November! Lovely clean, spacious and comfortable property within easy walking distance of the town centre and a great secure garden for our dog. We did ask that the twin beds were made up as doubles which wasn’t done but it wasn’t a big issue for us. The same happened last year too.

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Jun 2024

  • "The holiday went very well, comfortable a very nice place in Keswick Just one ..."

    The holiday went very well, comfortable a very nice place in Keswick Just one minor thing is that the kitchen needed a knife sharpener as all the kitchen knives were blunt

    Thank you - I am pleased that you enjoyed your holiday - and we will sort the knife sharpener out. We look forward to welcoming you back. Louise & David Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0May 2024

  • "This is a lovely, spacious, well-equipped cottage in a great location."

    There is a very large, but private, outdoor area and yet it is centrally placed in Keswick with everything within walking distance. The new Premier Inn does not really impinge on you at all. However during my stay our dog became entangled in the tv wires and pulled the television off the stand, smashing the screen. The tv was replaced quite quickly but it was only then when the stand was pushed back to the wall that I realised that it had been pulled away and left leaving wires trailing across the floor. This had been done because the tv is not large enough for the room and had not been pushed back leaving the room in a dangerous state. The cleaners should make sure the cottage is safe if the previous guests do not do so. This accident could have been a lot worse if a child had been involved.

    Reviewed by Frances4.1Sep 2023

  • "We were welcomed by the owner who was very pleasant."

    We reported wasps in one bedroom, and were advised a couple of hours later that the w/c in the main bathroom was not to be used. We were expecting some action during our stay, but nothing was evidently possible. As we had been pre-advised of a broken blind, we felt that the wasps nest issue and the non availability of the w/c did not provide us with a satisfactory experience, especially in the light of the cost of rental. The customer service from Sykes was prompt, but we did not feel they understood the nuisance caused by these matters. The property is beautiful, but we are unable to recommend it.

    I am sorry that the wasps were not sorted out - I must have misunderstood that the pest control had been out to resolve from the previous week. Unfortunately the plumber was unable to get until the following Friday. Other than the niggles within the property we hope you enjoyed Keswick and the restaurants in the town. It would be nice to welcome you back another time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John3.4Jul 2023

  • "Fabulous well equipped property."

    Spotlessly clean with comfy beds and our dog loved the huge secure garden. We had thought that the nearby Premier Inn would have impacted on privacy but there was no noise at all and it didn’t really overlook the garden. We did have a couple of small issues which were dealt with and the lovely owner even phoned and then visited to check everything was OK. A couple of suggestions which are in no way complaints but would have been appreciated would be a coffee machine and a garden parasol to provide some shade. There were cafetières but I am a total coffee snob and love my morning coffee. If there was a garden parasol stored away we didn’t see it, however, the property was so big we may have missed it! Lastly, a wifi repeater might improve the signal to the end bedroom. The biggest issue is that we want to book to come back and there looks to be no availability!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Janet, and I certainly take your comments on board - we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Jun 2023

  • "Could do with a larger bin for the rubbish."

    Otherwise a beautiful cottage in a wonderful location.

    Reviewed by Jean4.7Jun 2023

  • "We have spent a week at Laal house and it was absolutely fantastic."

    My 2 dogs were in heaven from the moment they arrived and the eldest Betty who is 11 would have lived in that amazing garden for ever. The house was spacious and perfect for all of our needs. We were so close to the Cumbrian way but also close to all of the amenities in Keswick. We couldn't have picked a better location as it was also so quiet and peaceful yet perfect for all shops, bars, takeaways etc. We will definitely come back to this property and will recommend to friends and family. Our only slight issue was the bin situation as the wheelie bin was tiny and we had to take our recycling into town as there was no recycling bin. Also, the check out time of 9:30 was a slight disappointment. Overall a fantastic week and an amazing home.

    Thank you for your very kind feedback. We are so pleased that you and your dogs enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to Laal Field in the future. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Apr 2023

  • "Very comfortable house in a great location."

    Absolutely loads of space. We loved watching the wild rabbits nibbling the grass as we ate dinner. Thankfully not too much noise from the Premier Inn building works (they were mostly doing internal work on our visit) and the site manager even came round to check they weren't being too disruptive. Once it's all built and operational, I can't see it being a problem. Only real niggle was that there weren't quite enough mugs!

    Reviewed by Andrew4.4Oct 2022

  • "A very comfortable holiday home ideally located for walks and the town centre with the added bonus of private parking."

    Reviewed by Yvonne4.7Sep 2022

  • "Very disappointed have been coming to Laal for many years but the new Premier inn has impinged in every way!"

    Privacy, noise traffic really spoils the ambiance of beautiful Laal! Also the recycling situation is a nightmare the property houses minimum 6 people with 1 tiny black bin which had been mainly used by passing workmen!! Surely there should be more than one small bin for such a lovely large property?? Seems strange still a lovely part of the Lakes.

    Hi Margaret - we are very sorry you were disappointed. We had to remove the recycling bins as people were putting rubbish in them rather than recycling which meant the binmen would refuse to empty them, we do give directions to the local recycling. We hope you will give us another try as I know you have come many times Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret3.4Sep 2022

  • "Beautiful, spacious bungalow in large garden, perfect for the grandchildren to run around."

    Excellent location with lovely views and plenty of parking. Would certainly book again. The only slight criticism we would have is the kitchen is rather under equipped. A colander, cheese grater, large saucepan (there was only one) jug, microwave containers and extra mugs would be good but this in no way detracted from our enjoyment of this fantastic property. Many thanks.

    Very sorry you were short of crockery - obviously some needs to be replaced - I will get that sorted next week! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne4.4Aug 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay in such wonderful accommodation, the location was ..."

    We really enjoyed our stay in such wonderful accommodation, the location was ideal and I’d definitely like to stay here again

    We would love to welcome you back next year. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Aug 2022

  • "The weather was brilliant, we have stayed at this beautiful house four times now, can’t wait to go back again, first class."

    We look forward to welcoming you back Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Jul 2021

  • "Ideal spot to enjoy Keswick as it is in easy walking distance."

    A massive house, clean and light. Very airy. Some seating was a bit uncomfortable and poor outside furniture restricted the ability to enjoy the massive garden to the full. A Barbecue area would be useful. Lack a little garden maintenance with long grass and overgrown bushes and hedges. The dogs loved the garden space. Thought the small TV sitting room was a wasted space. Potential to have as another bedroom and sleep up to eight.

    Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay - we try to be wildlife friendly with the hedges and thus they only get cut outside the nesting season so adopt the same practice as agriculture which is no hedgecutting/trimming from 1st March to 1st September. A BBQ area is on the to do list for the future - we hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert3.8Jun 2021

  • "Lovely spacious property with a massive flat garden… the grandchildren loved it as it was perfect for outdoor games of football, cricket etc."

    and also very safe as fully fenced and hedges around so private too. The front very large gated area to the property is also perfect for parking with masses of room. Laal Field House is in a good position just outside the busy centre of Keswick ( so quieter) but a very short walk in… and the pencil museum is just across the road . Good proximity to excellent cafes and restaurants too and walks to Portinscale and beyond or the lakeside at Keswick. Some more outside seating on the patio would be great . The only problem for some would be the large mound of rubble next to the property but it’s not very visible in the garden or from the house. I hope the premier inn is built soon or the rubble removed as it doesn’t look good as you arrive…but instantly forgotten once inside it in the garden.

    Reviewed by Carol4.7May 2021

  • "Found front door very hard to close!"

    Think it's sticking needs looking at? Also patio doors difficult to lock or open, have stayed at laal field for last three years

    Reviewed by Helen4.7May 2021

  • "This spacious detached property with an enclosed huge garden was absolutely perfect for the family and our 2 Springer spaniels."

    The location of the property was ideal. We have stayed in the lake district twice every year for about 7 years with my family and this property met all our needs.

    Mrs HorrocksOct 2019

  • "Ideal for a family of 5 plus two dogs."

    Spacious, well kept accommodation with a large secure garden. Great location near to centre of Keswick but fairly quiet and great views.

    Mr DarlisonJun 2019

  • "The property is excellent, very clean and spacious."

    Well appointed to explore the different lakes and amenities. Granddaughters loved their spacious beds and bedroom. They enjoyed playing in the huge garden . The property is well located to the town centre which is only a short walk away.

    Mr HodkinsonNov -0001

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 2 x king size double or twin singles (both on ground floor), the zip & link beds will be made as single unless otherwise specified when booking 1 x double with ensuite shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC (ground floor)
  • Sitting room
  • Dining room
  • Sunroom
  • Kitchen
  • Gas central heating with electric fire
  • TV
  • Wlectric double oven and electric hob
  • Dishwasher
  • Fridge, freezer and drinks fridge
  • Washing machine and tumble drier
  • Dog shower
  • Drying area for boot and outdoor gear
  • Large garden
  • Sorry No Cot/High Chair available please bring your own if needed during the holiday
  • Off-road parking for three cars
  • Secure storage for mountain bikes
  • Two well behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.1 miles and pub 0.3 miles

The property

Laal Field House is a much loved family home that is just across the road from the former Cumberland Pencil Mill, the famous pencil museum.

Step inside this larger than average detached house and you will find plenty of space for everyone to relax and enjoy their holiday. On the ground floor the comfortable sitting room is bright and spacious and this is complemented by a family dining room, with adjacent sun room and a well equipped kitchens.

Also on the ground floor are the choice of two welcoming bedrooms both overlooking the garden with views to the hills and benefiting from a ground floor shower room. Stairs lead to the first floor and the third bedroom with spectacular views to Skiddaw, one of the Lake District’s highest mountains and this bedroom benefits from an ensuite shower room. To the rear of the house there is a large lawned garden with picnic table and plenty of space for children to play.

To the front of the property there is private parking for three cars and the garage is available for the secure storage of mountain bikes and outdoor gear and the owners have also added a dog shower! Less than five minutes walk from Laal Field is Keswick’s market square with a great array of shops, cafes, bars and restaurants.

Walk just a few minutes further and guests arrive at the shores of Derwentwater.

Walkers will be delighted by the great choice of walks from the town including high level walks to the mountain skylines or low level valley or lakeshore strolls.

Mountain bikers will be drawn to the mountain bike trails of the neighbouring Whinlatter Forest.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

KESWICK

Bassenthwaite 7 miles, Ullswater 16.6 miles; Cockermouth 13 miles.

The popular town of Keswick is the holiday centre of the North of the Lake District and has plenty to offer the visitor at any time of year. The town boasts numerous shops and restaurants to suit all tastes, as well as offering miniature golf, excellent parks, the famous Theatre by the Lake, a charming cinema, the Pencil Museum, a climbing wall, fishing and great mountain biking opportunities, whilst the beautiful lake of Derwentwater at the head of the stunning Borrowdale Valley is only a few minutes walk from the town centre. Nearby, between Braithwaite and Buttermere is the beautiful Newlands Valley, while picturesque Bassenthwaite Lake is well worth a visit. From a gentle countryside ramble to a challenging hike up Skiddaw or the famous Catbells, there really is something for everyone. Visit Castlerigg Stone Circle, the Jennings Brewery and Mirehouse, a grand house and gardens on the shores of the Bassenthwaite Lake, or take a fabulous boat trip around Derwentwater. With plenty of attractions for the kids, lovely parks and the nearby Lake District Wildlife Park this is a great Lakeland destination whatever the time of year.

View more holiday cottages in Keswick

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter