- Off road parking
- Open fire
- Garden / Patio
- Cot available
- Highchair available
- Washing machine
- Games Room
- Broadband / WiFi
- Shop less than 1 mile
- Pub less than 1 mile
23 Customer Review(s)
“A large and spacious house.”
Plenty of room for 10 people
Plenty of room for 10 people- Mr Fairfield, July 2020
“The house was incredible value.”
As a group of ten on a walking holiday we paid approximately £30 each per night, had ample room and most importantly lots of showers and baths to choose from! It is wonderfully well equipped and comfortable and we all agreed it was the best holiday rental we have stayed in (our walking holidays are an annual trip). On our last night a water pipe burst so our water cut out. Although we were unable to contact anyone about this due to it being outside of office hours, a very kind neighbour knocked on our door to tell us what had happened and that the water company had been alerted.- Miss Anderson, March 2020
“I celebrates my 70th birthday with seven of my friends , the house was fantastic everything and more than we expected logs to make an open fire the house was lovely and warm ,clean, and spacious the beds where really comfy and the decor was fantastic.”
The views from the house where amazing ,we will definitely be going again we all loved it- Mrs Masset, February 2020
“We really enjoyed our stay at Ladstock Hall.”
It was a real joy for our family to stay in such a spacious property. The only issues related to basic maintenance, and it could do with a more thorough clean. It was a bit grubby into the corners. For example the shower cubicle in our bedroom had matted hair in one corner. A bit off putting! Our bedroom door knob came off in my hand. I had to try to fix it.We had the same problem with one the bedside draws. Most of the toilet seats are loose and the utensils in the kitchen are very old and tired. Some of pan handles for example are wobbly and could come off. There was a dripping leak in one of the bedrooms after storm Ciara on Sunday morning. However, there was exceptional amount of rain, but the owners should be aware. I should also add that if the children’s play house is advertised as a feature it should be useable. In this case it was dirty and looked like it hadn’t been used in years. We couldn’t let our Grandchildren use it. Which was a shame. Other than those points we had a great time and would probably book again if the above issues were addressed.- Mr Womersley, February 2020
"We are sorry to hear that Ladstock Hall was not up to its usual high standard during your stay.We have taken up your comments with our cleaning team All toilet seats and door handles etc have now been checked by our maintenance men I understand that nothing was reported to the office during your stay as we would have been happy to sort everything for you The weather was exceptional while you were there and we did have a problem with some gutters which has now been fixed The playhouse is not normally used during the winter and it has had leaves and debris blown into it.It has been swept out after the stormy weather and we have checked the items in there to see what needs to be replaced I am pleased that you still enjoyed your stay and had a great time.Ladstock Hall is an exceptional property and we hope we can look forward to welcoming you here again" Thank you Julia Sykes owner relations
“Absolutely spot on, the house was shared by me and 9 friends fri-Sunas we were at a wedding on the Saturday, we just wished we had more time to spend in the house itself!”
Definitely recommend and hope to be booking again.- Miss Turner, November 2019
“This is a lovely house and although we used it as a base to explore the surrounding area we decided to spend the Thursday at the property, the morning was however ruined by some extremely noisy gardening.”
Not everyone wants to be greeted whilst on holiday by the howling of a petrol strimmer at 9.00 in the morning. We would suggest that if it is really necessary to use industrial grade machinery to cut the grass, this is done on changeover day- Friday, to limit the disturbance.- Mr Bolt, July 2019
“The pictures and description do not do this wonderful place justice.”
It was like staying in a luxury hotel with everything readily available. We will be back without a doubt!- Mr Davis, April 2019
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding Ladstock Hall, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay in our cottage and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. David and Julia Sykes owner relations
“We love coming to stay at Ladstoke Hall.”
We are repeat visitors but it is failing to keep up with technology and it is starting to date/age. The oven is difficult to operate with a timer that complicates things and the dishwasher is pretty awful. The WiFi coverage is very sparse and is frustrating. We live in a similarly large and old house and have had to work hard at achieving coverage but have managed. It is possible and becomes easier year by year.- Mrs Scott, March 2019
Further to your stay at Ladstock Hall and your recent review. We are aware of the intermittent Wi-Fi problems and certain rooms have better reception than others however we are in the hands of our providers and Cumbria is notorious for its poor quality Wi-Fi, hopefully when the Wi-Fi in the area improves this will help remedy the issues within the house. We have replaced the oven and dishwasher in the last few weeks having taken on board guests feedback. Larger holiday cottages unfortunately do get quite a bit of ware and tear due to the volume of people staying in them, we do regularly take our cottages off the system to enable us to carry out essential maintenance and updating of the cottages and Ladstock Hall will be getting some TLC in the next few weeks bringing it back up to the standard we expect for our discerning guests. Sykes owner relations
“The heating in the large sitting room was not working at all during our weekend stay.”
Someone came out to look at it but was unable to repair. I was kept informed by phone which was very helpful. We made do with a log fire. Fortunately I had brought logs, kindling and firelighters otherwise we wouldn’t have been able to light the fire. More logs were provided as well so that was helpful.- Mrs Andrews, March 2019
“We had a great time at Ladstock Hall and all the facilities were exactly what we needed.”
We will be re-booking again for next year,- Mr Clarke, November 2018
“Excellent accommodation in a great picturesque setting.”
The house has an abundance of character and plenty of space. 100% recommend.- Mr Wilson, November 2018
“We arrived in the property (after a long journey from Scotland) to find various rooms on the upper floors inundated with hundreds of flies (both living and dead).”
In the top bedrooms the dead flies where scattered all over the floor and amongst the towels and bedding. I complained to Sykes immediately and was given a reference number and name. We received no further guidance or help that evening and so our first few hours of our holiday we spent cleaning/hoovering up the flies. Not agreat start!! As more flies were appearing I realised that these were Cluster Flies of which I have had previous experience of in my own property. There is no amount of cleaning that will get rid of them only a pest controller. I stated this the following morning when 'chasing' up my complaint to be told a cleaner was attending. She did - with fly spray!! I complained (during phone calls and to the cleaner) that the house had obviously not been checked prior to our arrival, of which the cleaner confirmed that, as there were no occupants in that week, that Wednesday was the last time it had been looked over. This I stated was not acceptable. I was emailed a feedback form which asked whether the problem had been resolved. It hadn't, and I stated this, along with the discription I'm giving now. I then heard nothing all week. Not Satisfactory!! Although I do suspect the cleaner was in everyday from Monday to spray around windows as when we arrived back every evening we had to hoover up the dead flies. I'm not sure whether my advice will fall on deaf ears or if the owner will contact a pest controller as the flies will continue to be a problem. However, my main complaint was the way it was handled (or not in this case) when we first arrived. If you have a changeover day on a Friday and the customers are not allowed entry to the property until 4pm at least be prompt in addressing any issues that arise immediately upon arrival. Flies may not be a top priority but, because of the quantity, the first impressions were that the house was unclean and unpleasant. We were ruluctant to stay in these rooms and I stated this in my first telephone conversation. Sadly, I also believe that these emails I receive are generic ones that are sent. It feel it would have been more appropriate to talk to me personally while the matter was ongoing.- Mr Price, October 2018
“Fabulous location with lots of things to do within easy reach.”
The house was huge - plenty of room for the extended family. Beds were comfortable- Mrs Yellott, October 2018
“Fantastic service - we had an issue with the heating and they were out within ...”
Fantastic service - we had an issue with the heating and they were out within the hour - they let us have a late check out too- Mr Belfield, March 2018
We stayed at the deluxe cottage (No. 7) and I have to say it was better than expected, even though the reviews had highly recommended it. The cottage was furnished to high spec, the views were amazing and the location really easy to get into Keswick. Highly recommend the climb up Skiddaw mountain which we could see from our patio. We can't wait to return next year!- Juliasinclair123, August 2017
Good afternoon Thank you for your review following your stay at Ladstock Hall. We are delighted you had a fantastic stay and enjoyed the location and the amazing views! It is great to hear you're planning to return next year and we look forward to welcoming you. Kind regards Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060 Sykes owner relations
Ladstock Hall is a simply wonderful place. We stayed in a large group of 10 for a birthday celebration and had a great time. The house is so spacious, it is easy for everyone to disperse around it and get some quiet time. The sitting room, kitchen and dining room all have plenty of space for everyone to sit in comfort and eat and talk together. The house is really well appointed, with lovely quality bedding and decent showers. It is in a fabulous location - you can walk straight out of the back of the house but you are only a few minutes drive from Keswick. The views are amazing. All in all would be very hard to improve on.- 511louisem, March 2014
Thank you for your review of Ladstock Hall. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at this property and found it perfect for your needs. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards Lakes Cottage Holidays Tel 017687 74060 Sykes owner relations
Er stayed at Ladstock Hall the week after my daughter got married, along with the new extended family, and it was brilliant. the house was amazing,with beautiful furnishings and fittings, and the views are just wonderful. So much space, even with ten people, and plenty of bathrooms, absolutely essential. The service from Cottage Holiday group was exceptional, as I received a message regarding some lights not working, and one when they were fixed. We hope to stay there again. Location was also great for walking and biking without using the car.- A FlipKey verified reviewer, March 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Ladstock Hall, Thornthwaite. We are delighted you enjoyed the furnishings, the space provided at the property and the location. We are pleased you enjoyed the service from Lakes Cottage Holidays and we hope to welcome you back to Ladstock Hall in the future. Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060 Sykes owner relations
Beautiful house, quirky and full of character but also really well equipped. Excellent kitchen with two ovens, baking equipment and great cookware. Large living areas with big comfy sofas. Good Wifi, didnt slow down even with 9 people attacking it at once. No signal in some bedrooms but strong downstairs and in rooms directly above the living room. Bedrooms comfortable and warm. Plenty of hot water and powerful showers. For atmosphere there are open fires in living room, dining room and kitchen. Worst bit was the rain - but it gave us an excuse to settle down and play games.- A FlipKey verified reviewer, January 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Ladstock Hall. We are delighted you found the accommodation offered at Ladstock Hall was beautiful, well-equipped and full of character. Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Ladstock Hall or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future. Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060 Sykes owner relations
“Totally Amazing - Exceeded Expectations - Beautiful Property - Happy New Year”
We booked Ladstock Hall to spend some time near Keswick which we love, and when we arrived the house was dressed for Christmas and warm & inviting. We were so happy to find a holiday rental that exceeded our expectations and the furnishings and attention to decor in the house is really lovely. Everything you expected in a house that sleeps 10 adults was available and we certainly put that to the test, inviting friends to celebrate New Year with a murder mystery evening and cocktail party! The week was amazing, the views from all rooms breathtaking and the house is also an easy walk to local friendly pubs. Would absolutely recommend Ladstock Hall for large groups and smaller get togethers - fantastic, couldn't fault it! We have great memories to take away with us - thankyou.- JoOEdinburgh, January 2014
Thank you for your review of Ladstock Hall Your review was a pleasure to read and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities the property had to offer. We hope that we can welcome you to Ladstock Hall again in the future. Kind Regards Lakes Cottage Holidays Tel 017687 74060 Sykes owner relations
“A memorable 65th birthday celebration!”
It is not that easy to find accommodation for 10 when you're limited to the Keswick area but once we stumbled across this place we realised that miracles do happen! It's not that easy to find if you arrive in the dark but once there you are simply bowled over by the beauty and quality of the place. The kitchen is just superb, great for breakfast for 10 and a coffee and chat; the dining rooms provides ample accommodation for a wonderful family meal and a fine sound system; the lounge and the wood burning fire are ideal with Christmas décor the icing on the cake. The bedrooms are spacious and provide amazing views across the valley; the second floor is perfect for a family of 4 to be housed and separated as necessary. There are good walks from the back of the house into the Windlatter Forest which is beautiful. The cleaners were friendly and helpful too. There is only one negative and that's the towels - say no more!- A FlipKey verified reviewer, December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of Ladstock Hall. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were bowled over by the beauty and quality of the property. Ladstock Hall is not advertised as providing towels, but if required, they can be hired from our local Keswick office. We hope that we can welcome you back to Ladstock Hall or another one of Lakes Cottage Holidays properties. Kind Regards Lakes Cottage Holidays Tel 017687 74060 Sykes owner relations
We had 3 generations in our group holidaying at Ladstock Hall & it met all our needs. The house is furnished to a very high standard & has everything you could want. The garden is lovely & peaceful so you can relax & unwind after a day out walking & exploring. Keswick is close by & has everything you could need with some great shops. A fantastic place we would definitely recommend & would love to stay again.- A FlipKey verified reviewer, August 2013
Thank you for your review on Ladstock Hall We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060 Sykes owner relations
“Meets all expectations”
Ladstock Hall is exactly as described and is well thought out for all members of the family. Large and luxurious, it deserves its 5 star rating. Rooms are decorated beautifully. Well equipped. Views are stunning. Plenty of walks for those who are so inclined. Pretty garden with games provided (boules set, croquet). Peaceful. Feels detached even though part of a small development. High standard of cleanliness. Lots of small, clever touches - a recent book collection, range of DVDs, local leaflets, chess set on table near window, etc. Good WiFi connection in most parts of the house. Nice to be there during very good weather in July 2013 but this house would have plenty to offer at any time of the year no matter what the temperature outside. Hoping to return.- Shelley P, July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review on Ladstock Hall We re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at this wonderful property. Its location is perfect for enjoying the beautiful scenery and the many walks from the door. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Lakes Cottage Holidays 01768774060 Sykes owner relations
“Delightful location, spacious rooms , but,”
As a group of ramblers (mostly retired but active) this property was ideally located. The booking arrangements were easy and straight forward with no hassle or problems, finding the property was easy and access and parking for the four cars in our party presented no difficulties. The reception rooms were delightful and kitchen facilities excellent for a large party. One of our members did suggest that not all pans / bowls need to cater for ten people and that a number of smaller recepticals might be helpful. We did have one major issue. The twin bedded room at the top (which now features in the photographs but as we booked whilst the house was being renovated did not at the time of our booking) does not accommodate two adults with any ease, the head room from one bed to a large sharp beam is insufficient. This room ought to be described as either for children or it should have a small double rather than single beds. With that one exception the property was brilliant, and best suites either families or groups of nine. Signed Tony Dixon, Secretary.- A FlipKey verified reviewer, June 2013
Thank you for your review on Ladstock Hall. May we firstly apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay at this wonderful property. A copy of your review has been passed to the owner who have taken your comments on board. We can now confirm that this bedroom is now advertised as "suitable for children only". We pride ourselves on customer service and will investigate and rectify, where possible, any issues raised. We hope this did not detract from your stay and we hope to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future. Sykes owner relations
This property is part of the Lakes Cottage Holidays collection.
Let Lakes Cottage Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday
Braithwaite 1 mile.
A luxury, Grade II listed house set in a breathtaking countryside location in the small village of Thornthwaite, near Keswick in Cumbria.
Ladstock Hall comes with excellent facilities and is in a stunning location; it's the ideal place for families and friends to come together and enjoy a break.
This magnificent property retains the original wooden beams, lead windows and oak features, all of these are featured in the regal dining room along with a fantastic copper fireplace.
The bespoke oak kitchen is a spacious room with granite worktops, feature fireplace, Inglenook seats and a bay window with views over the splendid garden.
If you're not out exploring the Lake District, make the most of the warming sitting room, it offers ample comfortable seating, a 50" Smart TV and a characterful open fire for you to put your feet up and relax in front of.
The ground floor also comes with an extra snug room, a cloakroom and a utility with storage space.
The five bedrooms come on the first and second floors of the house, they are all cosy and well-furnished, some with incredible views of the surrounding area.
There is also a family bathroom and a shower room, both sumptuously decorated to complete the interior of Ladstock Hall.
The gardens that come with this property are simply fabulous, with wonderfully kept gardens along with a children's play house and a seating area if you fancy some alfresco dining.
Braithwaite is a delightful, rural village and a great place to base a holiday.
It boasts a pleasant range of amenities as well as some incredible views.
The Lake District offers a lot of places worth visiting, with Keswick being the closest, a lovely market town with lots to do.
Ladstock Hall is a fantastic place to stay in a wonderful location.
- Over three floors
- Five bedrooms: 2 x first floor king-size double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x second floor king-size double, 1 x first floor twin (zip/link, can be double on request), 1 x second floor twin
- First floor bathroom with shower over, basin and WC
- Second floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
- Ground floor cloakroom with basin and WC
- Kitchen with open fire
- Dining hall with open fire
- Sitting room with open fire
- Snug room.
- Oil central heating with three open fires
- Electric range cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, 50" Smart TV and 2 TV's with Freeview, DVD, WIFI, selection of toys
- Fuel and power inc. in rent
- Starter pack for fires inc. Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
- Two travel cots and two highchairs available
- Ample private parking
- Lockable storage
- Rear lawn with a children's' playhouse and patio with table and chairs
- Shop and pub 1 mile
- Sorry, no pets and no smoking
- Note: Second floor twin room has a low sloping ceiling, may only be suitable for children
- Note: There is a £200 refundable good house keeping bond at this property
Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.
View on map
About the location
Bassenthwaite 7 miles, Ullswater 16.6 miles; Cockermouth 13 miles.
The popular town of Keswick is the holiday centre of the North of the Lake District and has plenty to offer the visitor at any time of year. The town boasts numerous shops and restaurants to suit all tastes, as well as offering miniature golf, excellent parks, the famous Theatre by the Lake, a charming cinema, the Pencil Museum, a climbing wall, fishing and great mountain biking opportunities, whilst the beautiful lake of Derwentwater at the head of the stunning Borrowdale Valley is only a few minutes walk from the town centre. Nearby, between Braithwaite and Buttermere is the beautiful Newlands Valley, while picturesque Bassenthwaite Lake is well worth a visit. From a gentle countryside ramble to a challenging hike up Skiddaw or the famous Catbells, there really is something for everyone. Visit Castlerigg Stone Circle, the Jennings Brewery and Mirehouse, a grand house and gardens on the shores of the Bassenthwaite Lake, or take a fabulous boat trip around Derwentwater. With plenty of attractions for the kids, lovely parks and the nearby Lake District Wildlife Park this is a great Lakeland destination whatever the time of year.
Note: Second floor twin room has a low sloping ceiling, may only be suitable for children.
Note: This property accepts arrivals on Monday & Friday only.
This property offers the following short breaks:
Sign up for exclusive offers and discounts
Uh oh! An error occurred, could you double-check your email?
Thank You! You have subscribed successfully
Are you on the phone to our call centre? Your Customer ID is: oae6tp6e