In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 27 View Image Gallery
  • Solway Cottage - Scottish Lowlands - 1081738 - photo 1
close

Solway Cottage

(Ref. 1081738)

Powfoot near Annan, Ayrshire and Dumfries & Galloway Show on map

4.4

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (25)
  • lovely (16)
  • dog (12)
  • great (10)
  • all (10)
  • village (9)

29 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely comfortable cottage, home from home set in the very quiet village of Powfoot."

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Apr 2024

  • "Solway Cottage is a holiday gem."

    It was really comfortable and the owners had thought of all the things we could need. The rooms were well presented, the kitchen well equipped and the bathroom had gone through a makeover and was beautiful. There were places to sit outside and we managed some time in the sun. It is well positioned close to the beach so was superb for our dog. The beach is spotless. The village of Powfoot is delightful and people were really friendly and would always stop for a chat. It was easy to get to other interesting places and Annan had supermarkets and local independent shops. We had one of our best holidays and will certainly want to return to this lovely cottage.

    Reviewed by Pauline5.0Mar 2024

  • "What a beautiful cottage and lovely peaceful village."

    We really enjoyed our stay there and will definitely be back. So many lovely places to visit nearby and also walks that can be done from the cottage itself. The locals are very friendly and helpful in suggesting local attractions. We spent hours on the beach walking the dog who loved it too.

    Reviewed by Tracey5.0Mar 2024

  • "Thank you for letting us rent this lovely comfortable cottage in was warm and cosy even though we had 2 winter storms!"

    ! The welcome back was very much enjoyed thank you. Our dog Oscar also loved his stay with lots of great seaside walks.

    Thank you so much for such lovely feedback. I’m pleased Solway Cottage kept you warm and cosy through the storms! And delighted that Oscar was a very happy dog too! Would love to welcome you back in the future Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Jan 2024

  • "Lovely cottage in a nice, quiet location."

    Solway Cottage is a credit to its owner. First impressions were great, and it continued to impress throughout our stay. Very clean and well equipped, with some lovely extra touches by the owner that were above & beyond what we expected. We've been in property management ourselves, so have high standards, and it was clear to see the owner really cares about her property and her guests. We'd have no hesitation recommending Solway Cottage to anyone.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Dec 2023

  • "This is a lovely little cottage , home from home and everything you need for a relaxing week."

    Thank you for your lovely feedback, it’s very much appreciated. Brilliant to hear you enjoyed a relaxing week. We’d love to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samantha5.0Oct 2023

  • "In a beautiful spot."

    Very peaceful. Great for getting away from it all.

    Thank you for your fabulous feedback. Delighted you enjoyed the beautiful location. Hope to welcome you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kerry5.0Oct 2023

  • "Solway Cottage is a great base for exploring the surrounding area."

    The local walks were great and the dog loved the beach too. The cottage had everything you would need but I have to say something needs done about the beds! We know you can’t please everyone but for us the Double bed Mattress was too soft so we ended up in the twin room which was slightly better. The pillows on all beds were terrible- cheap & nasty not comfortable to sleep on, giving no support at all. When leaving and stripping the beds there was blood on the mattress protector! Suggest a mirror is put on the wall opposite the gate so that drivers exiting the cottage can see if any cars are coming down the hill as it is difficult to see due to the tree blocking the view.

    Pleased to hear you appreciated the cottage and its location. It’s tricky to suit everyone’s needs when it comes to beds and pillows. I am however reviewing the situation and considering an alternative new bed for the master bedroom and pillow refresh. Your other points have also been taken on board. Hope to welcome you back in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Grace3.1Sep 2023

  • "This is our third visit to this property, pleased t find that the uncomfortable settees have been replaced now ideal for evenings relaxing, just one bone of contention 1 of the single beds when turned back sheet it was covered in dog hairs had to take off and wash before using."

    bathroom really needs upgrading. All in all another great holiday in Powfoot. We are back in May to try the owners other cottage and looking forward to trying it out. "The OAP's on tour" will be back.

    Thank you so much for your feedback. It’s great to have welcomed you back again, thank you! Pleased to hear you find the sofas are an improvement. Sorry to hear about the cleanliness concern. In the quiet winter months I am looking for the opportunity to upgrade the bathroom. Look forward to welcoming you to Solway Firth View next year, it’s a really beautiful location on the sea front. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith3.1Sep 2023

  • "Solway Cottage is situated in the pretty village of Powfoot, only a few steps away from the Solway Firth shoreline."

    The cottage is the first on the left, opposite the right hand turning into Ellerslie lane, as you descend into the village. The welcome gifts were greatly appreciated and enjoyed. The settees were comfortable with plenty of cushions. The twin beds, which had been put together to create a large double bed, were very comfortable and we slept well each night despite it being the hot weather in early September. However, there were no pillow protectors and one of the mattress protectors was stained. There is plenty of kitchen equipment though I found the food storage cupboard very small. The shower was very good and has coloured lighting to enhance the experience! The back/ side door was extremely difficult to open and lock , this may need some attention. The washing machine, which we only used once, sounded as if it was a concrete mixer, the noise was dreadful, it may require a service or replacement. The bedroom curtains were not thick enough to keep out the very early morning sunshine and blackout liners could be useful and easy to install. The fridge and freezer struggled to stay cold in the recent very hot weather, a blind on the porch door may be worth considering. There is no information about recycling glass bottles and jars, we brought ours home to recycle. We were alarmed at the prospect of a £250 Good Housekeeping Bond charge given that the whole of the property needed a deep clean. We found clumps of dog hairs everywhere, including hairs in the fridge! We were aware that this is a dog friendly property when we boomed but weren’t expecting this. We did clean the property to a better standard than that which we found. The curtain tie backs were on the floor, I reinstated them to their correct position. The bin in the kitchen had no top but I found it, broken, in the under sink cupboard, this I mended and put back on the bin. The under sink cupboards are dirty and so were skirting boards. There are lots of stains and marks on walls. Maybe others would be content to put up with all of this. We won’t be booking again to stay at Solway Cottage.

    Thank you for your very detailed feedback, Great to hear you appreciated the Welcome pack, however I’m very sorry there were so many other elements at Solway Cottage which did not meet your expectations. There is a comprehensive information pack which provides details on recycling and the correct bin to put these in just at the front of the cottage. All of your other points have been noted and addressed as appropriate. Thank you too for your suggested improvements, this is appreciated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison3.1Sep 2023

  • "Nice comfortable cottage."

    Thoughtful homely touches. Perfect location to the beach and woodland for walking our dog.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback, and it’s wonderful to hear you appreciated the homely touches. It sounds like it was a perfect holiday for your dog too! We’d love you to visit us again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kirsty5.0Aug 2023

  • "Lovely, dog-friendly little cottage located within a short distance of the beach and woodland walks, which was perfect for us."

    The 'welcome box' was a lovely touch and much appreciated. We brought the little lavender bags home as a reminder of a great break at Solway Cottage in Powfoot. The only negative comments (2) were that we did find the double bed a bit small and the bathroom needs a wee bit TLC to deal with the dampness. We will definitely return to Solway Cottage sometime in the future. Many thanks for advertising the dog-friendly accommodation, it was perfect!!

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. I’m really pleased to hear you’d enjoyed Solway Cottage, the beautiful location, welcome pack and I hope the lavender bags serve as a lovely reminder of your stay. Thank you for your feedback on the bathroom, as soon as it was raised to me this was rectified. I am also considering a change of bed during the quieter winter months. Look forward to welcoming you (and of course your dog!) back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gillian3.8Jul 2023

  • "Comfortable clean property."

    With everything you may need for your holiday.Nice welcome pack. Close to a pebbled beach which is dog friendly. Busy small village as golf course and caravan parks in powfoot. Only shop is at caravan park or 10 min drive to Annan where there are supermarkets. Restaurant (need to book in advance for food as very popular)in hotel with public bar 5 min walk ,but plenty of pubs in Annan. Good fish & chip shop in Annan.good location for visiting surrounding places. NB I did see on a listing it Said 2 bathrooms but there is only one toilet/bathroom.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and for all the top tips for future guests. Hopefully you also found the information pack at Solway Cottage helpful. The listing for Solway Cottage states 1 bathroom, I wonder if you’d read about my other cottage Solway Firth View, which is just round the corner, it has 2 bathrooms and has amazing views over the sea. Would love to welcome you there for a future visit. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Heather5.0Jul 2023

  • "Had a great week at Solway Cottage."

    As others have mentioned, the bathroom does require attention though due to mould been present. Kitchen is small compared to the rest of the property but for two of us it was ideal. An unspoilt area and an ideal base for exploring or just relaxing.

    I’m really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Solway Cottage. Thank you for your feedback about the bathroom - as soon as this was brought to my attention it was rectified. I do hope you’ll visit again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.7May 2023

  • "This is our second year at the cottage , love the place but complained about double bed mattress last year still the same and this year, arrived Sat evening after long trip on congested motorway everyone needed a bath to find no hot water in cottage had to boil kettles for a wash only phoned Sunday but Margaret at a wedding phoned again Monday said she would sort, phone us back at 1530 engineer had been and fixed boiler got back to cottage 1900 no hot water had to boil kettles' again no bath again rang again next morning said would sort again."

    arrived back at cottage 1630 engineer on site repaired again successfully this time. Bed still rubbish and uncomfortable but rest of cottage brilliant. Coming back September hope all ok this time otherwise last time here. Cottage equipped with everything you need

    Thank you for staying with us again, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay We appreciate that beds can sometimes be down to personal preference, apologies it wasn't to your liking, we may look to replace this later on but as our calendar is busy, we will need to review this later in the year. Apologies for the issue with the boiler, we had someone attend as quickly as possible and thought the issue had been resolved but this was finally fixed on the second visit, apologies for the inconvenience but sometimes these things can happen. We are happy that we could get this rectified for the rest of your booking. Mags is brilliant and will go to no end to help out guests where possible. We'll see you again in September! Kind regards, Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith2.5May 2023

  • "A very nice gesture on entering the cottage from a welcome pack."

    The cottage was well situated for lots of walks and every opportunity to exercise just a very short distance away from the beach. Friendly neighbourhood. All in all a very restful stay.

    Thank you for such lovely feedback. Delighted to hear you appreciated the Welcome pack and the wonderful location and neighbourhood too. Would love to welcome you back again in the future Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda4.7Apr 2023

  • "This is a beautiful cottage in the little village of Powfoot."

    Beautiful surroundings and close to the beach.

    Thank you for such wonderful feedback. Hope to welcome you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Apr 2023

  • "Great cottage with a warm welcome, thank you for the lovely welcome box, so thoughtful."

    Your cottage is in a lovely village with great walks, friendly helpful locals. Solway cottage is well equipped, clean and comfortable with easily maintained floors which was great at reducing worry of paw prints. Ideally located close to places to visit. Owners obviously care about their visitors and this shows in the overall standard of the cottage and the facilities within. Thank you.

    Thank you for this wonderful feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you come back for another visit. x Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jo5.0Nov 2022

  • "The cottage was perfect for me and my dog, with secure gates."

    There were a couple of things in need of attention ( which I know the owner is on with). The cottage is a lovely place to stay & local residents are so friendly.

    Thank you for your feedback, we have made some great improvements to the property since you last joined us, we hope to see you and your pooch again soon. x Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tina4.4Sep 2022

  • "Lovely cottage, but hot tap bathroom seized had to get hot water from kichen, CD player works when it wants, double bed mattress awful badly needs replacing very large crack in wall hallway and bad crack in joint between ceiling and wall double bedroom, garden driveway needs long term weed treatment, cottage nice and clean but settees need changing dirty looking, bathroom as wa whole needs modernising."

    We are OAPs all four of us but we realy enjoyed our holiday except for above as stated. Kitchen well equipped with all you need. Will book 2 weeks next if above items are sorted out.

    Hi there, We are sorry to hear about the issues with the tap, we inspected it immediately but couldn't find any fault, same with the CD player. There is a slight crack in the hallway, this is purely cosmetic but we have decided to have a full repaint to freshen up Solway cottage so this will no longer be an issue. We have now hired a professional garden maintenance team who are doing great work, in regards to the cleaning we have also hired new cleaners who we are incredibly pleased with. We may look at changing the bathroom in the future but for now we feel it ties in with the cottages look. Thank you for highlighting these issues, we are so glad to know you would like to return. We hope to see you again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith3.4Sep 2022

  • "My wife has a bad back so would have preferred a sofa with a high back and a firmer matress on the bed."

    Lovely location, friendly people in the village

    Thank you for your feedback, we are now looking at replacing the bed, we hope you enjoyed your stay and you visit us again soon. Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jon4.4Jul 2022

  • "We note the electric fire has been removed."

    There is no tumble drier and the washing machine was PAT tested in Aug 2021 so presumably this has been so for at least 11 months. The heated towel rail is part of the central heating which rarely came on as it was warm so we struggled to dry towels. The listing needs updating. We were disappointed to find most of the kitchen items very greasy. The cleaner would not have noticed this without a careful inspection. We washed more than we used but not everything. The kitchen needs a deep clean as do all the floors. The property needs a little love putting in to it. Powfoot is a lovely place to stay with nice walks and plenty of other things to do nearby.

    Hi There, Thank you or your feedback, apologies as we do not have a dryer on the property, we have now amended our information. Our pat testing is fully up to date but we do not have this labeled throughout the property as it's not required. The heating throughout is usually set to a comfortable temperate so the towel rail shouldn't get too hot, we will check this to ensure it's all in working order. We are very sorry to hear about the issues you had during your stay, had you have contacted us during your booking we would have help rectify them. Since your departure we have now hired a new cleaning company who we are thrilled with and have had no issues with since. Thanks and we hope to see you again at Solway cottage! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janice1.9Jul 2022

  • "We loved our stay at Solway Cottage."

    It is in an amazing location which is an amazing bonus.

    Reviewed by Jackie5.0Apr 2022

  • "Excellent clean cottage as described."

    Would definitely recommend to friends.

    Reviewed by John5.0Mar 2022

  • "Fantastic lovely homely cottage in a fantastic location,, would highly recommend to friends and others."

    Would gladly return. Yea

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Feb 2022

  • "Great cottage in super location with all essential requirements covered and more."

    Lovely welcome pack including a good stock of dog biscuits!

    Reviewed by Gary4.7Nov 2021

  • "Great holiday cottage in a lovely location !"

    Reviewed by Brian5.0Nov 2021

  • "A lovely cosy cottage is in a very quiet village right by the beach."

    It's well equipped and has a very generous rooms. The dog loved his walks along the beach and surrounding countryside as did we. We wouldn't hesitate to book again.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Oct 2021

  • "Where very disappointed in the cleanliness of cottage on arrival mainly living room and bathroom and kitchen ( dog hair,dust,stains,food crumbs,soap scum on shower screen ,under side of toilet seat?"

    ) after compliant cleaner sent back armed with flowers and chocolates and full apologies which was a kind gesture but if done right first time then unnecessary . Sadly this is the second disappointment we have had with Sykes holiday cottages

    Thank you very much for your feedback. We were sorry to hear about the issues regarding the cleaning but we were glad this was sorted almost immediately and the comments were taken on board. Once again, thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gordon3.1Oct 2021

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • All-ground-floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size bed and 2 x twin beds
  • Walk in shower, heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room.
  • Oil central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer
  • TV, Bluetooth speaker, CD player & CDs, selection of games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Wi-Fi
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking
  • Enclosed gravelled area with patio and furniture
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Shop 3.4 miles, pub 0.3 miles, beach 0.2 miles
  • Note: No stag/hen or similar
  • Please note that owner can accommodate 10 people if booked with Solway Firth View Ref: 1081476

The property

Annan 3.7 miles.

Solway Cottage is recently refurbished with Scottish décor theme throughout, a modern kitchen and a beautiful bathroom makeover with a large walk in shower.

Kick off your sandy shoes in the porch and step into the newly modernised kitchen, which is well-equipped for all your culinary desires, including an electric oven and hob to cook up a storm!

Settle down at the wooden dining table in the bright and airy living/dining room, to enjoy a tasty meal together and discuss the day’s events flooded with natural light from the double windows, the space is the perfect spot to unwind after a day of exploring.

For alfresco dining, take your meals outside to the gravelled garden where you can savour a glass of wine beside the beautiful fir tree.

As the evening comes to an end, choose from a beautiful king-size bed or two twin beds, both rooms presented to a lovely standard with ample storage space.

Wake-up to a refreshing shower in the beautiful bathroom with large modern walk-in shower and help yourself to the coffee-maker to enjoy a steaming cup of coffee as you plan the exciting day ahead with your loved ones.

For an enchanting escape to the coast, stay at Solway Cottage.

Note: This property can be booked with Ref. 1081476, together sleeping 9 people.

EPC Rating: Band F

EPC Rating: Band E

Cottages On The Solway

A group of two, delightful single-storey cottages resting on the stunning coast of Dumfries, in the quaint village of Powfoot. These pretty cottages are thoughtfully presented and just paces away from Powfoot beach, making it an idyllic escape for families. Solway Firth View is situated on a private road right on the beautiful shoreline, with spectacular views from the cottage. Stepping out of the front door you have your own direct access to the beach in less than a minute, what an amazing location! Solway Cottage offers an enclosed garden to enjoy alfresco dining with your loved ones, and is just around the corner from Solway Firth View and a couple of minutes walk to the beach. Solway Cottage offers an enclosed, front garden to enjoy alfesco dining with your loved ones, whilst both offer off-road parking to easily bring your belongings inside the properties. The cottages offer spacious open-plan living/dining rooms with sumptuous sofas, a TV and dining area to enjoy meals together. There is a contemporary kitchen; amply-equipped for your culinary needs and ready for you to cook up a storm for your guests. Solway Cottage offers a beautiful bathroom where you can enjoy a soothing soak or a refreshing shower, whilst Solway Firth View has two bathrooms to ensure no long waits! Powfoot beach is just paces away from the home, where you can enjoy strolls along the coastal footpath and view wonderful birds. The bustling town of Annan is just under 4 miles away from the cottages, where you can immerse yourself in history at the Annan Museum or travel a little further afield to visit the Devil's Porridge to enjoy a spot of lunch and more riveting history. Annan is home to a bundle of delicious eateries, traditional pubs and unique gift shops to explore during the day, so you are spoilt for choice with amenities in this small town. Venture to the charming town of Dumfries, steeped in history with Scotland's oldest bridges and a medieval church, this town is a picturesque spot for strolls with wonderful views. Be engrossed with Dumfries array of art galleries, Palladian Mansion and Dumfries Museum to uncover its past. The cottages are also a car journey away from the border city of Carlisle, with the grand, 12th-century ruins of Carlisle Castle and the stunning, Gothic Carlisle Cathedral, to make a day in Carlisle memorable. The city of Carlisle is also home to a great range of shops for some retail therapy, a variety of independent cafes and the beautiful Rickerby Park for a relaxing stroll along the River Eden.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

ANNAN

Dumfries 15.7 miles; Carlisle 20 miles

The town of Annan, a former harbour, lies on the banks of the River Annan, in East Dumfries and Galloway, and is steeped in history, with the area once the site of Roman camps and the workplace of the writer Thomas Carlyle. Each year, the town celebrates the Riding of the Marches, in honour of the Royal Charter bestowed by King James V, which involves parades, massed pipe bands and competitions. The area around Annan has many small towns, picture postcard villages and hamlets, plus beautiful unspoilt coastline, with sandy beaches and hidden coves. Visit nearby Caerlaverock Castle, one of Scotland's finest ruined castles or Annandale Distillery. Take a day trip and marvel at the majestic architecture of the grand abbeys of Melrose and Jedburgh or visit the northern Lake District and the historic Hadrian’s Wall. Annan is an ideal base for exploring this lovely area.

Note: No stag/hen or similar
Note: This property can only accommodate Saturday arrivals - if booked in on another day, a 2 week price will apply

Please note that owner can accommodate 10 people if booked with Solway Firth View Ref: 1081476
Please note that the electric fire has been removed from the lounge, pending new lounge pictures.