Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 40 View Image Gallery
  • The Bothy - Scottish Lowlands - 22382 - photo 1

The Bothy

(Ref. 22382)

Southerness, Ayrshire and Dumfries & Galloway Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (19)
  • beach (16)
  • clean (13)
  • spacious (12)
  • comfortable (12)
  • lovely (12)

35 Customer Reviews

  • "Amazing property."

    Clean, comfortable, warm and more spacious that it looks. Has all the essentials you would need for a short stay. I had a lovely stay here. It’s a stone throw away from the beach and the property is down a little private road, so it’s out of the way. The communication with the owners was also fantastic. Would highly recommend and would stay here again. The only negative fault we could find was the bottom sheets on the beds were rather noisy, but I guess that was the mattress protectors, which you would have on if it was your holiday home that you were letting out, not sure if there are quieter or softer products available. And the bath taps are labelled wrong. Those are the only things that we noticed, which are minor and would not deter from staying again. Anyone looking at the property book it, you won’t be disappointed.

    Reviewed by Katie5.0Mar 2024

  • "Superb cottage."

    Comfortable and equipped to a high standard. Great location very near the beach where we had some wonderful walks.

    Reviewed by Guy5.0Feb 2024

  • "We have just returned from The Bothy in Southerness, we enjoyed both the property and the setting."

    We found the cottage to be very comfortable warm & spacious downstairs with all the necessities you would need. Upstairs the master bedroom is also quite spacious and has the convenience of an en-suite. However we found the other two bedrooms to be a little challenging as these are halve the size of the master and the ceilings slope down as these rooms are in the eves of the property. This however would not be an issue for children. This property suited us in the fact that we could have a good quality meal just round the corner at the “Paul Jones bar & grill” if we felt we didn’t want to go further afield, if however you like a more formal restaurant the “Mia Casa”on the outskirts of Dumfries would be a good choice. All in all we would recommend The Bothy to most for a good base to explore the surrounding towns and villages.

    Reviewed by Janice4.7Sep 2023

  • "The Bothy is a lovely modern home with everything you could need for a relaxing holiday."

    A very short walk to the lighthouse and sea views from some windows. Satellite television and toys for the younger children helped pass the time when we needed to be in. A washing machine, clothes line and airers helped to keep on top of the washing. The owner goes out of his way to ensure you are happy and supplies lots of useful information. He is available 24/7 if needed. A peaceful retreat at the end of the day spent sightseeing in a beautiful area. Would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Judith5.0Aug 2023

  • "We enjoyed a lovely week in The Bothy."

    Very comfortable, clean and literally a home from home. The host, Tom, couldn't have been more helpful. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Aug 2023

  • "Excellent cottage, very nice surroundings and all as described."

    We had a great week here and the grandkids really loved the beach being so close to the cottage. The garden area is good and very useable space. All in all a really pleasant cottage to base our holiday at. Owner really helpful as well with information and making sure everything was ok

    Reviewed by Roderick5.0Jul 2023

  • "Fantastic location, cottage spotlessly clean and very comfortable."

    Reasonable priced too, I would highly recommend booking this cottage, superhero place to stay

    Reviewed by Maxine5.0Jun 2023

  • "This was a lovely cottage, spacious & clean, the only thing I would have liked to have seen would be an information pack, things to do, see etc."

    in the area & instructions for the appliances. We did work these out but sometimes by trial & error!

    Reviewed by Susan5.0May 2023

  • "The Bothy is a credit to the owners, a beautiful, well maintained and equipped cottage which was spotlessly clean."

    I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing stress free holiday

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Oct 2022

  • "Nicely, there was a dishwasher which we were unaware of, but soon made use of"

    Reviewed by Fiona4.7Oct 2022

  • "Just recently returned from a weeks holiday at The Bothy, this cottage is fab, it was as described and had everything we needed."

    It was light, airy, clean and spacious, (we are a family of 4). The owner Tom was really helpful too. The garden was a sun trap, the beach, which is only 1 minute 36 seconds walk, (my son timed it!) away is good. We practically had this to ourselves for the whole week! A 5 minute drive down the road is another beautiful beach, Sandyhills. If you are staying with young children we would recommend a day at Mabie Farm Park, (20 mins drive away) this was such good value for money and we were there for the whole day. They have animal that you can feed, slides, train, cafe, hay barn, boat rides, swings etc. Southerness is a hidden gem, pretty quite but has a shop, arcades, fish and chip shop, couple of pubs. We would definitely recommend The Bothy and hope that we will be able to return sometime soon. Thanks for having us!

    Reviewed by Suzanne5.0Aug 2022

  • "Great property, very close to the beach."

    Tom the owner could not have been more helpful during our stay.

    Reviewed by Louise5.0Jul 2022

  • "The Bothy is a beautiful cottage with lovely furnishings and fittings."

    It’s large spacious lounge and kitchen are ideal for families. The garden is a sun trap and completely enclosed which is just perfect for small children. There is a highchair, travel cot and 2 stair gates, which is very helpful and saves having to take these items with you. All in all we had a great week and would definitely book again and highly recommend!

    Reviewed by Allison4.7Jul 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our time at the Bothy."

    The cottage was clean, comfortable and well appointed

    Reviewed by David5.0Jul 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at The Bothy, I have just got home and wish we were still there."

    The house was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. My parents, brother and his wife came… then my sister and I was there with my four year old who had a lovely time in the garden. A stone's throw from the beach where we cooked up sausages and had a good paddle. Would return.

    Reviewed by Ellen5.0Jul 2022

  • "Spacious, comfortable and well equipped bright house close to beach."

    All mod cons and nice outdoor seating area. Owner very helpful.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jun 2022

  • "Had a great week at the bothy, to say we decided to holiday when three named storms battered the country you would never have known once inside the cottage, lovely snug and cosy."

    It's a fantastic cottage to visit this lovely part of Scotland situated in a very peaceful part of Southeness with the beach two minutes one way and the paul Jones pub the other, had a couple of nice meals here. Didn't get chance to use the garden but it looks nice, enclosed and peaceful. The cottage had just about everything we needed, the ladies in the party commented that mirrors near to plug sockets and bathroom bins would improve the cottage, all in all a great week at the bothy. Would I stay here again? Definitely yes and I hope to later this year.

    Reviewed by John4.7Feb 2022

  • "Superb holiday home for a family of 4!"

    It had everything we needed, really spacious and clean house with 3 large bedrooms and big living room. The wrap around garden was a big hit with the kids and the location couldn't have been better - a stone's throw from the beach and village centre with its pubs, chippy, amusements and shop. I would recommend this holiday house to anyone, it is perfect for families with young and older children.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Oct 2021

  • "A great place to stay, an easy drive to local attractions and beech."

    The property is clean, tidy and has everything you could need for a good holiday. Its easy to find and is perfect for a quiet peaceful time. Just Brilliant.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Oct 2021

  • "The cottage was lovely the only negative about it was the beds, both double beds where extremely uncomfortable so much so I slept on the couch."

    The beach was lovely, food and service at Paul Jones was excellent.

    Reviewed by Tracie4.7Sep 2021

  • "Owner was very helpful but the bike store was not really available."

    He keeps his own bikes in there. He did recommend a place for storage although it was not that secure. There was a chiminea in the pictures that wasn't there on site- a minor issue. Unlike other reviews we did find the cottage clean enough. Bizarrely there were no bins in any of the rooms which was awkward. On the whole nice, would recommend.

    Reviewed by Nick3.8Aug 2021

  • "Ideal location, so near the beach, bar restaurant and a wee arcade for kids."

    Reviewed by Georga5.0Jul 2021

  • "The 4 of us have stayed in 2/3 cottages almost every year for the last 10 years and never complained about a cottage before but this one was disgusting."

    We arrived late in the afternoon with shopping we collected on the way so we could relax for the evening only to find there was nothing to wash pots up with only a teatowel no kitchen towels and only 1 toliet roll in each of the bathrooms to last for a week? I turned down the duvet on the bed on our 1st night only to find 2/3 absolutely disgusting stains on the sheets, god know what they were. I have taken photos but the beds had never even been checked on change over let alone changed. We couldn't sleep in the that bed or the other after this as we were put off so much by the lack of cleanliness. We then couldn't wash the duvets because there was no wash up items or detergents for the washing washing and being late at night there was nothing left to do but sleep in the lounge on the sofas where we then found the backs of the cushions caked in somebody else's long hair!! Only thing left was to put our coats across the cushions and then sleep on them. All the towels and the rest of the bedding didn't smell clean and certainly they wasn't freshly washed. The next morning the 1st thing we had to then do was go back 12 miles to a supermarket to buy cleaning materials so we could clean up. What a fantastic holiday this was turning out to be..NOT After taking photos of the disgusting stains on the bed sheets the rest of the week was ruined by not being able to get those thoughts out of our minds and also what else hasn't been checked or cleaned properly throughout the property. I couldn't sleep in the any of those beds and even though my wife eventually slept in a bed I spend the WHOLE week sleeping on my coat on the sofa. There were lots of other things which I can go on and on and on about but quite frankly we just disgusted and disappointed with the whole week there and this was supposed to be our 1st week away together since the Pandemic started to get some relaxation in. Surely with the current situation going on at the moment the basic cleanliness should be absolute priority, well it would be I had a cottage to rent out. Even if you paid us we would NEVER GO BACK THERE.

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry your experience did not match your expectations. This is a completely uncommon instance as you can see from all the positive feedback and high star rating the property has been given by previous guests. If you had contacted Skyes or us direct when you had an issue with the bedding, the matter would have been addressed immediately but unfortunately you did not provide us the opportunity to do so. The property is fully cleaned with bedding and towels freshly laundered following each booking, never has this been raised as a concern so we are really surprised but disappointed to hear this. In relation to the cleaning materials, although this is something that is not stated as provided or is a requirement of the rental, this is something we will consider for our future guests. Within the Southerness village, there are two shops which are well stocked and provide said items and much more. We appreciate all feedback as we want to maintain a high standard and make any improvements so to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay so it is very disheartening to read such a negative review which you felt necessary to post rather than dealing with us directly as the property does deserve the compliments noted. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Roger2.8Jun 2021

  • "The Bothy was comfortable and spacious for myself, husband and teenage daughter."

    It was spotlessly clean and everything we needed was there! Comfy beds, lovely relaxing sofas, massive telly, sunny patio and garden. It has been decorated since the photos on the Sykes website and is lovely. It also has Wifi which on the advert it says it doesn't. 2 minutes walk from the beach and a beautiful bit of coast. Good base for exploring this part of Dumfries and Galloway.

    Reviewed by Blythe5.0Sep 2020

  • "We had a good stay, cottage is lovely, refurbished to very good standard."

    There are two thing missing for us- a dishwasher(this adds a chore to holiday stay), and comfy bed in master(the one there has squeaky frame and sagged mattress). If those two things could be sorted we'd be coming back for sure. Owner- Mr Ryan was very helpful. Location is absolutely perfect, 2 mins walk from the Lighthouse/beach. Plenty to do in 30min drive from the cottage. If you get good weather, your holidays become great adventure for all the family.

    Reviewed by Andrzej4.1Aug 2020

  • "Fantastic little place, immaculate throughout."

    Will definitely be visiting again.

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Sep 2019

  • "A lovely house in a lovely location, with lots to do nearby."

    Only downside was the WiFi speed in the property, but sometimes a digital detox is ideal, when there are beautiful walks along the beach and nearby towns and countryside.

    Reviewed by Allison5.0Apr 2019

  • "Just very quiet and relaxing, exactly what I was looking for."

    Reviewed by Barbara5.0Nov 2018

  • "A superb cottage, well eqipped and very comfortable."

    One of the best we have stayed in. The location for visiting Galway was excellent. Local shop and fish and chip shop closed for the season the first days we were there as the two main caravan sites were closing so if visiting early or late be aware. As a result the area was very quiet which suited us.

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Oct 2018

  • "Excellent cottage, in quiet location just a short walk to the beach."

    Spacious kitchen, lounge and downstairs bathroom. Been recently decorated throughout. Good base to tour Dumfries and Galloway.

    Reviewed by Christine4.7Sep 2018

  • "The Bothy is a lovely seaside cottage - huge living room with comfortable leather settees and a large TV with Sky."

    A couple of tiny points - there didn’t seem to be a guest book which is sometimes helpful when others leave feedback about the area and places to go; the only other thing was that there was no ‘information’ folder that lists things like when to put the bins out/recycling etc. These things really don’t matter but just an idea for the future. Loved our break, it was peaceful, warm and cosy. Thank you for a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Aug 2018

  • "The cottage was excellent, newly decorated and new carpets absolutely beautiful."

    The only down side was that there was no internet access and a very poor mobile phone reception

    Reviewed by Eileen4.7Jun 2018

  • "The Bothy is comfortable and spacious."

    Plenty of parking for 2 large cars. Huge kitchen / Dinning room perfect for a family holiday. We will be back

    Reviewed by Brian5.0Oct 2017

  • "The cottage was excellent except for the low ceilings upstairs, for tall people I returned with a few bumps to the head."

    This would not stop us returning as the cottage was excellent.

    Reviewed by Susan4.8Aug 2017

  • "Property was spacious, comfortable and handy for beach and local facilities while being in a quiet side road."

    Reviewed by Brian5.0Oct 2016

Show more Hide all


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Ground-floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Sitting room
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven, gas hob, fridge/freezer, washing machine, Smart TV with basic Sky and BT TV package inc. Sports and streaming services, DVD, CD, iPod dock, USB ports in sockets, selection of books, games and DVDs and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot, highchair and stairgate on request
  • Off road parking for 3 cars
  • Lockable bike storage
  • Enclosed lawned garden with furniture and barbecue with utensils
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop, pub and beach 2 mins walk
  • Note: Due to this property being a storey and a half cottage, there are low ceilings on the first floor and care should be taken at all times
  • Note: The decorative woodburner is a cosmetic feature and does not emit any heat
  • Note: Max 4 adults
  • Note: Check-in 4pm
  • Note: Guests using the Smart TV's streaming services must log in to their own accounts

The property

A charming detached cottage, superbly situated close to the coast in the village of Southerness, on Scotland's Solway Firth.

Well-appointed throughout to provide comfortable and stylish accommodation, this Southerness cottage is the perfect choice for family or friends looking to spend some time exploring or relaxing beside Galloway's beautiful coastline.

This comfortable Solway cottage provides three bedrooms, with one suitable for children and one boasting an en-suite shower room.

The ground floor offers a family bathroom, a kitchen with a sociable dining area and a sitting room with a decorative woodburner and French doors that open out to the rear patio area.

A garden encloses this Southerness cottage, with a gravelled parking area to the front and a lawned area to the side and rear with furniture and a barbecue, offering the ideal place to relax or enjoy some alfresco dining.

Southerness, with its harbour and beach, is only one of the attractions in this beautiful part of Scotland.

Walkers can enjoy the nearby peak of Criffel, which offers superb views, as well as the surrounding, scenic Galloway Hills plus the many pretty coastal paths.

Cyclists can explore the numerous routes including the renowned 7stanes trails.

With several opportunities for golf and fishing enthusiasts, as well as pretty villages, castles and abbeys to discover, this Southerness cottage offers something to delight everyone.

EPC Rating: Band D

EPC Rating: Band D

Short-term Holiday Let Licence No: DG-00534-F

View on map

About the location


Castle Douglas 19 miles; Dalbeattie 13 miles; Dumfries 16 miles.

Southerness is a small coastal village established in the late 18th century, which looks out over the Solway Firth, and forms part of the Colvend coast, one of the finest stretches of coastline on the 'Scottish Riviera'. Home to three pubs, two village stores, a leisure centre with a pool at Parkdean and two miles of sandy beaches with sand dunes, rock pools and Gulf Stream warmed waters, and one of the oldest lighthouses in Scotland, built in 1748, it has everything you will need for a relaxing holiday. The nearby Criffel Hill rises to 569m, offers wonderful views of the farmland and the sands of the Nith Estuary below, and provides great walking opportunities. The Southerness Championship Golf Course adjoins the village and offers panoramic views of the Solway Firth, the Cumbrian Lake District to the south and the Galloway Hills to the west. A great location, with something to keep everybody occupied.

This Property only accepts 7 night bookings during school holidays, half terms and between the months of April - September.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Christmas