Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 11 minutes ago

1 of 9 View Larger Image
  • Swallow's Nest - Lake District - 914594 - photo 1

Swallow's Nest

Thornthwaite near Keswick, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 914594)


(41 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

41 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a wonderful weeks stay at Swallows Nest."

    The cottage is superbly located for trips all around the Lake District. There are great views of Skiddaw from the living room. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend without hesitation.

    Reviewed by OliverMay 2022

  • "Great place to stay."

    Only disappointment was that listing noted towels included but had email noting towels not included in this time of covid (May 2022).

    Reviewed by ColinMay 2022

  • "We loved the Swallow's Nest."

    The warmth of furnishings, spaciousness, the view from the living room.

    Reviewed by GrahamMar 2022

  • "Swallows Nest provided very comfortable accommodation."

    It was lovely and warm and having 2 bathrooms was perfect. It is well located and great not having to worry about parking. We were a party of 4 but with 6 it would have been snug. Minor additions would be a set of large matching wine glasses and a soup ladle. Also, the toaster was a bit dodgy for 4 slices. Otherwise it was a good stay despite the weather! Thank you.

    Reviewed by TriciaDec 2021

  • "Ideal location."

    Close to Keswick but away from the thick of it. Good buses to Cockermouth and Keswick. Great views from cottage and good for accessing a few walks. Very comfortable and roomy. Good having 2 bathrooms. We have stayed here many times.

    Reviewed by SandraDec 2021

  • "The issue of not providing towels is disappointing to anyone visiting this property."

    So, the kitchen, the mugs in the cupboard were full of stains, the fridge had tape holding the bottom door shelf together, no dishwasher. The double bedroom, the shower was very very small and the shower head was held together with tape. The location was excellent, a pity some aspects of the property are not up to standard.

    Thank you for your feedback comments. We appreciate you taking the time to pass on your comments about the property. Your feedback and scores are not reflective of the feedback that we usually receive as the last two Customers have given us 100% scores in all areas The property isn't advertised as having a dishwasher. I am sorry about the stains in the cups, I will make sure they are all checked on the next changeover. The fridge is fully functional. We had some slight damage to the bottle shelf by a previous Customer and rather than replace the fridge, we have repaired this as it works perfectly The en-suite shower is a standard size and is fitted with a mira power shower which rapidly provides plenty of hot water. Some damage has been caused to the clamp bracket (either through wear and tear or guests moving the shower head without depressing the release button, -most probably both). We are trying to get a replacement clamp bracket. Meanwhile a couple of inches of tape keeps it in working order and does not detract from the quality of the shower. The property is advertised as supplying towels however due to Covid, they have removed these during the pandemic. The owners do advise of this in the key collection details that they send to Customers. All owners are on hand to help with any issues you may have during your stay We are glad you enjoyed the area and thanks again for your comments Property Owner

    Reviewed by RobertOct 2021

  • "I feel not supplying the towels as listed and using covid as a reason is a cop out as I have had a previous holiday this year and the towels were supplied and I don't see them as being any different to the bed linen."

    Although not a massive inconvenience to bring our own they do take up valuable space in luggage, but I guess this is the owners prerogative and this didn't distract from the holiday

    Reviewed by RobinSep 2021

  • "This is a spacious apartment in a lovely location with a magnificent walk up Barf and Lords Seat right on the doorstep."

    Reviewed by JemmaJul 2021

  • "No parking outside the front of property Fixtures and fittings very tired, leaking tap, broken freezer door, faulty bedside lamp which was dangerous as flickered when turned on."

    Latch broken on front door. Why lack of Broadband with such lousy speed when fibre to the premise (fttp) has been available to this premise for at least 3+ years (this was checked on BT.com 40-900mb available at this location) this would benefit all guests at Beckstones Farm not just at Swallows Nest.

    Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at Swallow's Nest. There is parking outside the property, as shown on the pictures. We can also offer a car park suitable for 6-8 cars if required. As there are 7 taps in the property we will check each of them, however as we live in the area and provide our contact details we wish these had been brought to our attention during your stay so we can assist. We have checked the freezer compartment and can easily open and close this. We have inspected the door, and can't see any breakages. We have already checked the broadband for better speeds however this is not possible due to the location of the property, however we do already advise on our description that the broadband is only suitable for browsing. Property Owner

    Reviewed by HayleyJul 2021

  • "We stayed at Wrens Nest from 2013 -2019 and decided to move next door to Swallows Nest as the facilities are all on one level - my wife has mobility issues."

    We were impressed with the spaciousness and facilities.

    Reviewed by GrahamJun 2021

  • "Accommodation was good clean and well appointed good acces to both Keswick and Cockermouth ideal for walkers"

    Reviewed by JamesMay 2021

  • "As we've stayed here before, the cottage continued to meet our expectations."

    Personally the double bed is much too hard for me but I took a memory foam topper and that helped a lot. Sadly we had to come home early due to the second lockdown and whilst we were there it poured with rain but none of that was the fault of the cottage or Sykes. My partner managed to get out on his mountain bike very day and enjoyed Whinlatter. I loved relaxing in the cottage and reading - a very welcome break from working on a busy ward :)

    Reviewed by ErikaOct 2020

  • "Enjoyed a very pleasant, weeks stay at Swallow's Nest."

    The property is very comfortable, well situated and enjoys fantastic views across to Skiddaw and down towards Keswick. The property made a great base for us and was in a perfect location for exploring the northern lakes, with a short drive into Keswick or Cockermouth. Perhaps it would benefit from a touch of modernising but other than that I couldn't fault.

    Reviewed by RichardOct 2020

  • "Lovely place to stay, amazing views over an ever-changing mountain scene."

    Comfortable, everything you need - extensive dvd collection! Convenient situation for getting places; near enough to Keswick for shops and restaurants - just a few minutes drive - but far enough away to have the peace and quiet we wanted. Would definitely book again!

    Reviewed by SusanAug 2020

  • "We enjoyed our stay in this cottage, which was clean and warm, weather on this week was really terrible , we came home early as we werent able to get around as we had wished."

    However although we could not find any major problems with the cottage, we did feel that it perhaps lacked one or two personal touches . There were lovely Lakeland views though.

    Reviewed by EuniceDec 2019

  • "Lovely spacious, warm cottage in a wonderful location with fabulous views from the lounge window of Skiddaw."

    Very easy to get to from A66 and plenty of parking. Walks from the door to some amazing views over Bassenthwaite!

    Reviewed by TraceyNov 2019

  • "Swallow’s Nest was a great base for a week in the Lakes."

    The cottage was warm and cosy, well equipped, plenty of room for a family of four. Good family bathroom and nice en suite in the double bedroom. Kitchen has everything you need ( except no dishwasher). It’s in a great location for walking and for mountain biking, with a bridle path close by that takes you straight into Whinlatter Forest. Secure bike storage in a locked garage was another plus. Beautiful views from the picture window in the living room. We’d definitely recommend this cottage.

    Reviewed by CatherineOct 2019

  • "All good, have stayed in a lot of places and used other companies and got same good service as with other companies from Sykes so will use again when searching for holidays in future."

    Especially good comma from Sykes, thanks.

    Reviewed by GillianAug 2019

  • "It is the second time that we have stayed at this property and will very likely chose it again."

    Reviewed by WalterMay 2019

  • "Once again we had a lovely holiday in this cottage, all the facilities you could need along with a friendly helpful host."

    Situated far enough away to feel as though you're in the countryside but close enough to all the local amenities.

    Reviewed by CarolineApr 2019

  • "The cottage enjoyed breath taking views."

    It was clean, warm cosy and well equipped for all our needs. The owners were welcoming and friendly but not intrusive. We loved the location and accessibility to the lakes. We would most definitely return.

    Reviewed by AnnApr 2019

  • "Have visited this lovely cottage many ,many times and never disappointed."

    A great retreat

    Reviewed by SusanMar 2019

  • "Cosy cottage in a lovely location"

    Reviewed by JanMar 2019

  • "Nice cottage - clean, warm and dry with good facilities."

    It is in a superb location with great views, some good walks on the doorstep and easy access to Keswick for shopping and to the rest of the Lakes for walking further afield. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Only minor criticisms - a dishwasher would be a bonus and the WiFi is quite low bandwidth - my phone generally had a faster connection.

    Reviewed by TimFeb 2019

  • "This cottage is very cosy and comfortable, so ideal for a winter break."

    Lovely views over the valley too.

    Reviewed by ElizabethFeb 2019

  • "The cottage was lovely, cosy and with beautiful views."

    The owners were nice and helpful.

    Reviewed by SusanNov 2018

  • "This was our second holiday at Swallows Nest and we have already booked for next September."

    We are very satisfied with this warm and cosy cottage.

    Reviewed by PeterSep 2018

  • "Lovely cottage with great views."

    Good facilities and well stocked. We would visit again.

    Reviewed by ColinAug 2018

  • "Great holiday"

    Reviewed by YvonneJun 2018

  • "What a fantastic place to stay, this was our first visit to the lakes which were spectacular."

    In the early morning and early evenings you could watch wild deer within feet of the front door. The cottage was in a lovely position and was clean, spacious and really comfortable and exceeded our expectations. If we had one very minor criticism it was that the beds were very hard but that may suit many people. A really enjoyable stay which we intend to repeat.

    Reviewed by StephenApr 2018

  • "We had a wonderful holiday in the lake district all done to the beautiful setting of such a lovely cottage."

    The home was all we could hope for and more. The location was perfect for being out of town to enjoy the deers walking by the front door, but near enough to get anywhere we wished. I would love to recommend this cottage to everyone but then we would lose a perfect escape!

    Reviewed by CarolineApr 2018

  • "This cottage did not have a hair dryer, last thing you want to do after a long ..."

    This cottage did not have a hair dryer, last thing you want to do after a long journey is buying things for the let that should be standard, also no spare towels, t rolls, w liquid, I feel the cottage just lacks detail

    Reviewed by DavidMar 2018

  • "Brilliant views from Lounge."

    Great watching winter weather systems coming in from th East over Skiddaw and Helvellyn in the distance.

    Reviewed by ChrisFeb 2018

  • "A well heated and comfortable cottage, and so very suitable for a winter break."

    The views from the front and back of the cottage are really contrasting, with open views to the hills at the front, and close up views of a pretty wood behind. We loved the views in all directions. Would happily book again.

    Reviewed by ElizabethJan 2018

  • "Superb cottage ( but don't tell anyone else or they will want to book it )"

    Reviewed by SusanNov 2017

  • "The pictures of this property do not do it justice, it is large and has big rooms with lots of space."

    The owners are lovely and very helpful. The property has everything you need for self catering. We stayed for a few very cold, wet and windy days in November but the house was lovely, warm and cosy and just what we needed to relax for a couple of days away from the hustle and bustle. The views from the property are absolutely stunning.

    Reviewed by CarolNov 2017

  • "Swallows next cottage was gorgeous."

    We had a lovely time in mid November 2017 and would love to go back. It is we'll appointed for buses to Keswick and cockermouth. The views from the cottage are spectacular, we wish we could have taken them home with us.

    Reviewed by PaulineNov 2017

  • "I would have liked a washing machine and tumble dryer."

    Two machines not a combined one.

    Reviewed by NigelSep 2017

  • "Great location for exploring the lake District."

    Cottage had all the amenities required with plenty of space for the children and dog. However no safe outside area for small children.

    Reviewed by LorraineJul 2017

  • "The cottage was fantastic / the owners were great and extremely helpful."

    We couldn't have wished for a better holiday and, yes, I have just booked it again for November

    Reviewed by SusanFeb 2017

  • "Overall the cottage was well equipped and clean."

    The mugs in the kitchen were all stained which we cleaned before using,especially as there is a note asking you to keep the cottage in a condition in which you found it, also a hairdryer would be an asset.

    Reviewed by NigelSep 2016

Show more


  • All ground floor
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin, 1 x adult bunks
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting room with dining area.
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge, washer/dryer, TV with Freeview, DVD, radio, WiFi, selection of books, games, CDs and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen inc. in rent
  • No towels provided
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Lockable bike storage in garage
  • Small patio
  • One well-behaved dog over 12 months old welcome at a charge of £25 payable on arrival
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pubs 2 miles
  • Lake Bassenthwaite 10 mins walk
  • Note: Property is on a slope, with 4 steps to access
  • Although it appears to be first floor, the entrance is from a lane to the rear at ground floor
  • Note: WiFi is suitable for browsing only.

The property

A converted barn, this spacious, single-storey cottage nestles under Thornthwaite Forest, just outside the village of Thornthwaite, and four miles from the popular town of Keswick.

With spectacular, panoramic mountain views to Skiddaw and the Helvellyn range, and a ten minute walk to the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake, this cottage near Keswick is a wonderful base for a walking holiday, or a relaxing getaway with friends or family.

The master bedroom in this Lake District cottage...

View on map

About the location


Bassenthwaite 7 miles, Ullswater 16.6 miles; Cockermouth 13 miles.

The popular town of Keswick is the holiday centre of the North of the Lake District and has plenty to offer the visitor at any time of year. The town boasts numerous shops and restaurants to suit all tastes, as well as offering miniature golf, excellent parks, the famous Theatre by the Lake, a charming cinema, the Pencil Museum, a climbing wall, fishing and great mountain biking opportunities, whilst the beautiful lake of Derwentwater at the head of the stunning Borrowdale Valley is only a few minutes walk from the town centre. Nearby, between Braithwaite and Buttermere is the beautiful Newlands Valley, while picturesque Bassenthwaite Lake is well worth a visit. From a gentle countryside ramble to a challenging hike up Skiddaw or the famous Catbells, there really is something for everyone. Visit Castlerigg Stone Circle, the Jennings Brewery and Mirehouse, a grand house and gardens on the shores of the Bassenthwaite Lake, or take a fabulous boat trip around Derwentwater. With plenty of attractions for the kids, lovely parks and the nearby Lake District Wildlife Park this is a great Lakeland destination whatever the time of year.

View more holiday cottages in Keswick

Region Information

Note: Max. 4 people.

Note: No towels provided

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute
  • Christmas