In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 16 View Image Gallery
  • Ullswater 29 - Lake District - 996673 - photo 1

Ullswater 29

(Ref. 996673)

Penrith, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Hot tub
  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Sauna
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • staff (19)
  • apartment (16)
  • stay (15)
  • facilities (15)
  • lovely (15)
  • all (13)

49 Customer Reviews

  • "Perfect property in a fantastic location."

    Staff and facilities are brilliant.

    Thank you so much for your kind feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steve5.0Mar 2024

  • "The duplex apartment was fabulous, very comfortable, spacious and much better equipped than Sykes’ description stated, eg oven gloves,tea towel, kitchen roll, detergent, tea, coffee, etc."

    With 4 of everything not really enough to be able to wait to fill dishwasher but that didn’t bother us, we wash up as we go. Found the bed comfortable but small (standard double). The duvet was too small for the bed, we found a larger one in the cupboard and swapped it, possible just a housekeeping error. The appartment. was very warm, clearly well insulated. We turned the rads down to 2. It was clean but there were dusty areas eg radiators and in corners. Bathroom needs a bit of maintenance but still lovely. Sykes’ information is out of date. Reception closed at 6pm, we almost missed it. The pool, sauna etc were shut at 6pm Tues -Thurs. Sykes had said 9pm, We’d have aimed to arrive 1 hr earlier had this information been supply. There is a pay washing machine and dryer on site £2.50 for each. Whitbarrow staff and holidaymakers were all very friendly, felt like a real home from home. Other reviews complain about the parking, this is less than 5 mins walk away and Whitbarrow are happy foryou to park by reception to unload/load your car, so no problems experienced. Disabled parking is right next to reception. There are Charging Points there too. Location was great as close off to A66 (and quiet!), we had good hill days out at Ullswater, Ennerdale and Honister Pass.

    Thank you for your kind and helpful review. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jean3.4Jan 2024

  • "This place was the most amazing getaway for me and my partner!"

    The hotel and facilities was so accessible! The restaurant was so nice and the spa/pool was so relaxing! I can imagine this place would be perfect in the summer as the apartment has a balcony! The hotel itself was close to cafes and activities to provide more variety with food and entertainment! We loved this place and we hope to come again in the foreseeable future! (Would highly recommend) ❤️

    So glad you enjoyed your come again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Storme4.7Jan 2024

  • "The apartment was clean and comfortable."

    The kitchenette was adequate for a week's stay. The views from the patio doors and terrace were beautiful and the terrace would be well used in the Summer. We looked forward to our return to the apartment after a day in The Lakes. All staff were polite and friendly. The leisure facilities were good and easily accessible as they were in the same building as the apartment. We look forward to a return visit.

    Thank you for your kind feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carole5.0Dec 2023

  • "The property is fantastic and the complex that its in is brilliant."

    The only negative that we had was the bed felt a little worn but that didn't spoil our holiday but I imagine it will for some people.

    Thank you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steve5.0Oct 2023

  • "Very nice place to stay Staff are friendly facilities are very good Room has ..."

    Very nice place to stay Staff are friendly facilities are very good Room has a fantastic view Comfy bed and in all fantastic Two things that let it down for us was the very small kitchen with no oven we struggled with no oven And the sofa incredibly uncomfortable this led to extreme bad backs and necks Oh and very small tvs All that aside we had a wonderful time first time in the lakes Would recommend

    Thank you for your kind feedback. Sofa has to conform to regulations and type and quality and make decided by resort. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.4Oct 2023

  • "Cosy and comfortable with great facilities."

    Thank you for your lovely comments Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hazel5.0Sep 2023

  • "I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Whitbarrow Village."

    My apartment at Ullswater 29 was excellent. It was beautifully presented & had everything that I needed. The only problem that I personally encountered was the fact that the apartment was a duplex. I have angina & asthma plus I am in my late seventies & climbing 13 steps, a few times a day, didn’t suit me. Unfortunately the lift was out of action one day during my stay & as the apartment was on the second floor I again struggled when walking up the stairs. The fire alarm went off in the very early hours of one morning during my stay plus also late one night. I was staying at Whitbarrow for a week. The alarms were false alarms. The staff were very apologetic. The staff at reception were very helpful & attended, very quickly, to any problem that I had. The pool looked very inviting & was enjoyed by fellow holidaymakers. I used the restaurant on a regular basis &, on the whole, the food was quite good & the majority of the staff were extremely helpful and kind. The grounds are very well maintained. I wouldn’t hesitate to return to Whitbarrow Village again. This was my third visit. Next time I would ensure that I didn’t book a duplex apartment due to my health issues

    Thank you and so sorry about the duplex…one advantage of Duplex is that you have much more space than studio and the rates are same or even less than standard studio as I prefer to have unit occupied rather than increase rates as we are all suffering from a cost of living crisis. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mary5.0Sep 2023

  • "Excellent accommodation."

    Fantastic view setting and facilities. 2 small points clean the bedroom velux as then you can lie in bed looking at stars....and a stool for upstairs to do make up. We took a dining chair up! Apart from those minor things, it was a brilliant holiday.

    Thank you ..I will look into it but can only use furniture approved by resort. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Sep 2023

  • "2nd Time staying at this property and I doubt it will be the last."

    Its a lovely apartment on a nice complex. Very comfortable with amazing views

    Thank you for your kind comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wendy4.7Aug 2023

  • "Place and staff were amazing."

    Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Surrounding area was beautiful and interesting with something to please all. The facilities and apartment were better than we had expected and was certainly value for money for all age groups

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Aug 2023

  • "Absolutely loved it."

    Comfortable and clean. Views were amazing. Apartment had everything we needed. Would definitely recommend staying here. Only one thing and nothing to do with apartment, was the lift was broke in the building the whole time we were there. Not good when you are on second floor with cases and shopping to bring up. But only mattered on check in and check out day. Rest of the time it was healthier to use the stairs

    Thank you for your kind review..much appreciated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dianne5.0Jul 2023

  • "I would advise to buy all your food supplies in penrith as there are no shops in ..."

    I would advise to buy all your food supplies in penrith as there are no shops in the village, if staying in the hotel there is no carpark which was not stated when booked you have to park in main carpark 5 _10 minutes away , when we stayed there the lift was out of order the whole week had to carry luggage up 2 fights of stairs, the crazy golf was a big let down needs improvement and maintaining, the apartment was basic the kitchen as only got a 2 ring hob no oven and a microwave the restaurant was only opened 3 days ,the staff were very helpful ,

    Thank you for your helpful review. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda4.7Jun 2023

  • "This duplex apartment enjoys lovely views and it is quite comfortable."

    Being on the second floor it can be a trek if the lift is out of action, which it was for the entire time I was there. There are no mobility aids in the bathroom, surely an oversight as they are so easy to install. Although you can unload your car, you have to park it in the large communal car park which is some distance (if you have a disability car badge, you can be accommodated at the nearer the apartment but that is not guaranteed). I would not recommend too much cooking (there is no oven) in the apartment as the smell does tend to linger! Surely a washing machine would be of more value than a dish washer and the TV is from another age! I was unable to eat in the restaurant as it was closed Monday to Wednesday inclusive during my week. It looked very nice with beautiful views. The swimming pool, sauna etc. are all very nice and well maintained; it's great at low season when you can have the place to yourself, but I would not want to be anywhere near it at high season! The Staff are very friendly and helpful. I would return but to an apartment on the ground floor and out of season. But Apartment 29 is fine if you are able bodied. Oh, forget streaming films from Netflix etc. as the signal is not strong enough for that.

    Thank you so much for your detailed and comprehensive feedback..truly appreciated. I have been informed lift is fixed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vincent5.0Apr 2023

  • "Excellent accommodation with spectacular views from the terrace."

    Slightly cramped in the living area due to amount of furniture. The property sleeps 2 yet there were 4 chairs around the table. I didn't miss having an oven as much as i thought i would and i soon got used to the size of the kitchen preparation area. The bedroom was nice and big with only 1 small problem which was the radiator gurgled when on so it had to be turned off at night. This wasn't a major issue for us. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was very good. The bath was slow to fill but was large and very enjoyable after a days walking. Overall an excellent stay in a great location and a very enjoyable stay was had by us both. I would certainly use the property again.

    Thank you for your kind feedback. Radiator will be checked and any air inside drained. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alec4.7Mar 2023

  • "Great holiday location and facilities thank you"

    Thank you for your very kind comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Feb 2023

  • "We enjoyed our time there - and have rebooked for next year"

    Thank you…hope you got your bottle opener! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Feb 2023

  • "The suite was beautiful with everything we needed."

    Unfortunately, we had issues with the TV but the problem was sorted quickly and efficiently. A big thank you to Sykes cottages staff and the owners.I do feel as the problem with the tv switch may occur again it may need further action. This however did not take away our wonderful experience at Whitbarrow Village and would recommend the accommodation and the place to everyone.

    Dear Madam, I have personally come down to resort and bought new tv as well. Thank you for highlighting the issue and your patience and feedback which is truly appreciated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.7Jan 2023

  • "Comfortable,homely,clean,peaceful and perfectly supplied equipment made our stay easy and relaxing."

    The views were beautiful and we would have used the terrace had the weather been better. We made full use of the leisure facilities on a daily basis and appreciated their location in the same building as the apartment. We would look to return in the future.

    Thank you for your lovely comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carole5.0Dec 2022

  • "Lovely apartment as usual at Whitbarrow, but only complaint we have is there isn’t anywhere to put stuff, especially in kitchen it is very bijou with microwave and two ring hob ."

    But otherwise we were quite pleased, and the leisure facilities are an additional bonus, especially if the weather is inclement.

    Thank you for your useful feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by M4.4Nov 2022

  • "The Jacuzzi was out of action and apparently this is a common occurance."

    The steam room also not working properly. So only the sauna working and luckily was not packed out so we were able to use. Our unit 29 very comfortable the tv could do with up dating in the living room. We had our fire stick with us but not able to use it. Regardless I would recommend it and would gladly visit again. Thank you!

    Jacuzzi and sauna and steam all fixed and operational. Firestick issue as they don’t have strong Wi-Fi and resort prefers people not to use it. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet4.7Nov 2022

  • "Absolutely fantastic place to stay in, warmth, comfortable, relaxing, quiet, friendly,"

    Thank you for your kind comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lyne5.0Oct 2022

  • "Had a lovely week in this comfortable apartment."

    Fantastic views, comfortable bed and the on site facilities were fab. The balcony could do with some maintenance as it has some loose tiles and slippy moss on it but other than that the apartment was perfect. It’s well placed for all the north Lakes has to offer and we’ll definitely be booking again.

    Balcony tiles sit on surface naturally apparently to allow rain water drainage but moss and weeds cleared. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lindsay4.7Sep 2022

  • "We had an excellent stay, the accommodation was lovely very comfy and the area is an excellent base to explore the North lake's."

    The leisure facilities were very good and the staff excellent could not have been better.

    Glad you enjoyed it. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Sep 2022

  • "Ullswater 29 is the perfect accommodation for a couple."

    Well equipped with all you might need with a lovely balcony which was certainly appreciated in the hot weather (the on site swimming pool was an added bonus at the end of a long hot walk in the fells). A great location for days out in the Lake District or even across to Northumberland or North Yorkshire. We had a fabulous two weeks.

    Thank you and glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Aug 2022

  • "Excellent accommodation."

    Excellent facilities. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very quiet location. Car needed to access local amenities.

    Thank you for your kind comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Jul 2022

  • "Very clean & comfortable stay, staff very friendly & helpful, only downsides were the lift out of operation (an on going problem) & you have to park a couple of hundred yards away in the main car park."

    Lift fully operational…checked! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Brian4.7Jun 2022

  • "Lovely apartment shame the lift wasn’t working ( we are not as young as we use ..."

    Lovely apartment shame the lift wasn’t working ( we are not as young as we use to be ) but we did have a wonderful time we slept well the bed was very comfortable the scenery was beautiful the leisure facilities first class we would love to return xx

    Lift fixed! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sheila4.1Apr 2022

  • "We had a lovely break, accommodation was of high standard & clean, it was disappointing that the lift to the Ullswater apartments was still not working, this has been several months now also it was unfortunate about the mix-up on booking in."

    My booking confirmation email advised accommodation would be ready at 3pm, at 12.30 on the day when we were over halfway there, we received a text advising accommodation would not be ready till 4pm. On arrival at 3.20pm was advised room still not ready, at 4.05pm got key but had to wait outside room till cleaners finished, they apologised & advised they had been advised we would arrive the next day, got in to room 4.20pm.

    Lift fixed.. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nigel3.8Mar 2022

  • "Excellent stay."

    Room is just as shown and the pool / jacuzzi / steam room / sauna are all good. As has been said before the staff at reception are excellent although we didn't have any problems during our stay. Was amazed at what you go for what (in our case) was only £46 per night! If I had to give a negative I'd say that the apartment can be a bit on the dark side as all the lighting comes from lamps so there's nothing to illuminate the middle of the room, however we didn't find it a problem.

    Lamp bulbs all changed…rooms much brighter Property Owner

    Reviewed by Matthew5.0Feb 2022

  • "We love this property."

    It's a bit gloomy and as the switches for the far lighting system are wired upsidedown it would help to have some explanation. A bottle opener would help too. Staff are superb and we'll book again.

    Reviewed by Simon4.7Jan 2022

  • "Overall the cottage was a lovely relaxing stay."

    There was just a couple of things that I would say need attending to . Bathroom shower no hot water so had to have baths or use the shower after having a swim and a bulb out over the sinks. Cobwebs hanging from the smoke alarm and the beam in the bedroom, water damage stains on the ceiling over by the small window and thick dust behind the TV. Light out in the extractor above the hob . All reported to reception staff, who were all lovely. The only down side to the holiday was that the lift was broke the whole week, this really did impact on the week as the cottage was on the top floor which ment using the stairs each time we left the cottage and as one of us is disabled this made it very difficult especially when first checking in and checking out carrying cases and bags up and down stairs. But we would defiantly stay here again, the location was beautiful, the staff couldn't do enough for you .

    Reviewed by Neena3.1Nov 2021

  • "Would have loved better pillows, for more comfortable sleep."

    Reviewed by Rosemary4.4Oct 2021

  • "Whitbarrow is a nice resort that is badly in need of refurbishment and direction."

    Restaurant open 3 nights out of 7 we stayed. Bar open 5 days. Blamed on staff shortages. Maybe they should of moved some of their many time share selling colleagues into other parts of the resort where they would of been more use.

    Reviewed by Richard3.1Sep 2021

  • "Lovely suite in a very nice complex."

    Amazing views from the balcony. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

    Reviewed by Wendy3.8Aug 2021

  • "On arrival and on numerous occasions had to wait at reception for service even though no other guests waiting."

    Apartment was not cleaned properly, dust, stains and bit's on floors. Could also do with a makeover. Had to keep all windows and vents shut due to a infection of wasps, complained to reception given some spray.

    Reviewed by Richard3.1Aug 2021

  • "The suize was first class."

    Lack of communication from Sykes cottages themselves until 1 week before we were due is not good customer service and stating dsy before we lrave via an email telling us how to tge suite should be left per instructions from the owner, I have no contact with the owner only Sykes cottages so lack of customer service there too.

    Reviewed by Yvonne4.1Jul 2021

  • "The holiday village was extremely clean and gardens well kept."

    The whole experience was one of luxury. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit!

    Reviewed by Steve5.0Jun 2021

  • "For once in the Lake District the weather was perfect and meant we could stay out much longer each day and enjoyed some lovely food too."

    Reviewed by Jane5.0May 2021

  • "It was a lovely setting and the premises were lovely."

    The only problem we had was I cooked using the water and it tasted terrible then i drank some of the water and felt quite ill as it tasted like drinking pool water . After letting reception know the next morning and just drinking the bottled water we had we found out that we had no drinkable tap water as a pipe had burst . Thankfully the Whittbarrow hotel gave us use of another room as otherwise we would have been unable to stay.

    Reviewed by Ezri4.1Dec 2020

  • "Holiday was searched with the criteria of a hot tub, there is a hot tub of sorts well a jacuzi but it’s not your own which we normally have."

    Listing would be better to make this clearer and not have it come up when you check the hot tub requirement. Lovely hotel in a peaceful setting very happy with stay, but be aware it’s not your own hot tub.

    Reviewed by Mark3.4Aug 2020

  • "Great location to visit the north side of the Lake District, quiet, peaceful, clean, friendly staff, TV downstairs and upstairs, no USB connection on TVs, free WiFi."

    Would go back.

    Reviewed by Incze4.7Aug 2020

  • "We had the most amazing time at ullswater 29 the view from our balcony was breathtaking accommodation very clean"

    Reviewed by Lynette5.0Aug 2020

  • "Beautiful building in beautiful grounds"

    Reviewed by Clare4.7Aug 2020

  • "If it wasn't for the current environment which cut our time there short I think it would have been amazing, beautiful place and plenty to do near by, we fully intend to go back when this is all over."

    Reviewed by Chelsea4.4Mar 2020

  • "The lighting in the apartment was slightly dark due to this been lamps and wall lights."

    The jacuzzi was unfortunately unavailable during our stay due to refurbishment. Other than that it was a great stay and would recommend.

    Reviewed by Craig4.4Feb 2020

  • "Once again a very enjoyable break."

    All the staff were friendly and attentive

    Reviewed by Mike5.0Feb 2020

  • "Staff friendly, Gym & Pool good."

    Ullswater 29 has stairs between living area & bedroom, toilet/bathroom downstairs, not a problem for us but could be for some. Oven/Grilling facilities were simply a microwave (plus 2 ring hob) so it can limit what you can cook. Lighting is described as romantic but not easy to read or work with. No bottle opener (crown top type - there is a corkscrew) provided. Cooker extractor just above the sink so average height will bang their head. I imagine it could be very busy in high summer. View (when it stopped raining) was lovely. I would cheerfully return.

    Thank you for your feedback. Oven and grilling facilities are as advertised as a hob and microwave in the property description below. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and want to return to Ullswater 29. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Jan 2020

  • "The accommodation was very good and the location is great, everything we needed for a relaxing week."

    We are considering staying again in the future. Highly recommend the property.

    Reviewed by Jacqueline5.0Jul 2019

Show more Hide all


  • One bedroom: 1 x double bedroom
  • Bathroom with a bath and shower over, double basin and WC
  • Open-plan living room with a kitchen, dining area and sitting area.
  • Hob, microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge, dishwasher, TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Parking in on-site car park
  • Balcony area with furniture
  • Shared use of on-site leisure facilities, including indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, hot tub, gym and games room
  • Sorry, no pets, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 2.6 miles
  • Note: a refundable £100 Housekeeping Bond may be payable directly to Seasons Holiday Park.

The property

Ullswater 29 is a first floor apartment based in Penrith, Cumbria.

Step into the lovely porch area, where you can kick off your boots and coats and enter the cosy open-plan living space.

The lounge has a cosy sofa bed, ready for any extra guests you may have, or to sit and relax on of an evening in front of the TV.

With a set of French windows leading out to the balcony and offering an abundance of natural light to the room.

The dining area has seating for up to four people and is perfect to enjoy a lovely romantic meal together of an evening.

The kitchen houses all the necessary appliances you could need to cook up a delicious meal, with lovely wooden units and sleek white worktops.

The bathroom has been newly fitted with a luxurious bath and a power shower over, as well as a double basin so you won't be stepping on each other's toes!

Upstairs, you will find one double bedroom, with its Velux windows and wonderful skylight.

Outside has a patio balcony area with seating provided and magnificent views across the surrounding countryside hills.

With stunning on-site facilities including the heated swimming pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub available to use while you stay at this property.

While you visit Penrith, why not visit Penrith Castle?

The ruins of a 14th-century medieval castle.

It was once occupied by Richard III and is surrounded by a grassy meadow, which is ideal for romantic picnics.

Ullswater 29 is a lovely romantic holiday home in the heart of Cumbria.

View on map

About the location


Keswick 17 miles; Carlisle 20 miles.

The bustling market town of Penrith, once the capital of Cumbria, enjoys a central position between the Lake District, the Westmoorland Dales and North Pennines and is ideally placed for taking in all that the region has to offer. Renowned for its wealth of specialist shops, the sandstone buildings of Penrith hide intriguing yards, lanes and alleyways, with a myriad of attractive cottages, gardens and little shops. With a wide choice of excellent pubs, hotels, restaurants and entertainment, Penrith also offers a museum, and Millennium Trails round the historic city streets. Within easy reach of the town is Rheged – an innovative visitor centre with shops, restaurants, exhibitions and a giant cinema screen showing educational and informative films. Brougham Castle, Brougham Hall (The Windsor of the North), Lowther Castle and Gardens, Long Meg and her daughters (the 3rd largest stone circle in England) and the historic city of Carlisle are all a short drive away, as is the stunning scenery of both the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales.

View more holiday cottages in Penrith

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas