Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 21 View Image Gallery
  • Acorn Cottage - Lake District - 1042605 - photo 1

Acorn Cottage

(Ref. 1042605)

Ambleside, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (23)
  • cottage (18)
  • bed (15)
  • location (15)
  • parking (14)
  • stay (13)

32 Customer Reviews

  • "Only issue we could find with the property was the lack of parking but again this is down to the local council and there silly rules regarding 1Hr parking."

    Reviewed by Adam5.0Mar 2024

  • "Enjoyable holiday despite weather."

    The house is in a perfect location to walk into town.The lounge is rather small especially as the house sleeps five .Great kitchen,very well equipped.Beds comfortable but lumpy pillows. Superb shower room on second floor.There were a couple of maintenance issues which I reported to the agency in Ambleside when handing in keys.No information provided in house.

    Reviewed by Linda3.8Nov 2023

  • "Bonny well appointed cottage which we really enjoyed staying at ."

    Location just great but a few things that the owners should address ... Parking should be better explained ,use the permit for nearby car iark not outside, need a welcome pack Property was in need of a deep clean ( dusty with cobwebs ,floor in bathroom needed attention ) and lick of paint ,didn't stop us enjoying the facilities Well equipped kitchen, No working fire but warned priorr to visit Comfy bed lots of towels liked the night lights

    Thank you for your comments. We take all feedback on board and will look at the information provided. We will pass on your comments to our Housekeeping Team. Thank you- The Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by David3.4Sep 2023

  • "We stayed here in August 2023."

    A family of 5 adults, we found the cottage to be comfortable (albeit the living room a little snug for all of us to be in there together). Beds were really comfortable which was appreciated after lots of long walks and the bathroom facilities good too. The kitchen was very well equipped for us to cook together most evenings and a good size for us to socialise around the dinner table. The location served us very well, being close to all that Ambleside has to offer yet up a road quiet enough to feel peaceful and away from the bustle. We parked on the main carpark most nights which was not really very far to stroll to/from either. Would definitely look at booking again if holidaying in the area.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities on offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Lakelovers Owner Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennie4.7Aug 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay at Acorn Cottage."

    It was centrally located in Ambleside, clean with comfortable beds and sofas and a very well equipped kitchen. The cottage would benefit from a welcome pack to orientate guests to where things are (this would have avoided us having to contact the office but they were very helpful).

    Reviewed by Jane4.7Jul 2023

  • "A great location."

    Our only complaint would be the pillows!! Everything else was fine. Will be back as we love Ambleside and met loads of very friendly local people and returned to many local haunts namely The Golden Rule, Lucy’s on Plate and Sheila’s.

    Reviewed by Amanda4.1Jul 2023

  • "Perfectly lovely cottage, ideally placed."

    No complaints about our stay.

    Reviewed by Pauline4.1Jun 2023

  • "Location excellent Cottage beautiful Only bad points not enough toilet paper for 5 adults & absolutely no hand sanitizer or hand wash was provided only small things but it's the very least you would expect."

    ...but we would still book this cottage again!!

    Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The toilet roll supplied is intended as a starter for your stay due to the property being self catering. We take all comments on board. We hope to welcome you back. The Owner Relations Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Geraldine4.1May 2023

  • "I think this is one of the best cottages we've stayed in."

    It was very well situated for all the local amenities and was so cosy and comfortable. The cottage is nicely decorated throughout and the walk in shower was fabulous after a long day hiking. The beds were lovely and comfortable so we slept well and we both thoroughly enjoyed our weeks stay in Acorn Cottage.

    Thank you so much for your kind comments and we are so glad that you enjoyed all that the property and area had to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Mar 2023

  • "I think a note telling where the gas tap is for the fire would have been very helpful."

    Other than that it was a lovely, comfy and perfectly placed property.

    Thank you for your feedback. We take all comments made on board. We hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Heather5.0Feb 2023

  • "Lovely warm and clean property."

    Close to the park to take the dog. Close to the shops and restaurants and cinema. No problem with the parking.

    Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Acorn Cottage. We hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Darrell3.4Jan 2023

  • "Details of cottage changed post booking and not allowed to cancel which made ..."

    Details of cottage changed post booking and not allowed to cancel which made life very awkward and not what we would have booked if we had known

    Reviewed by Robert2.2Dec 2022

  • "The property didn't deliver what was sold when I paid for the property, I."

    E. a second car pass. I tried to contact the owner 4 times before the holiday to receive no answer to a solution I proposed. SYKES did promise every time to ring back, they never did. On our second last day we rang them and they ( SYKES) gave a good will gesture of £36 covering extra parking costs incurred. As far as I know the owner never responded. The property lacked instructions and the bin instructions were incorrect, leading to an upset neighbour.

    Reviewed by Peter3.8Nov 2022

  • "Another lovely week for us in Acorn Cottage."

    Everything was spotlessly clean, and it's so cosy. The beds are all so comfortable too. It's perfectly placed for the shops and the park, and yet away from traffic noise. Parking availability has changed since we were last there, but this was notified to us in advance of our arrival and it was no bother. We love the new sofas. As a suggestion, it would be great to have a few more mugs, and also a large rectangular baking dish, but that's pretty incidental really. Can't wait to come back next year!

    Reviewed by Agnes4.7Oct 2022

  • "Parking is a problem at this property!"

    ! The website states that there is "off road parking" this is just not the case and is very misleading! There are parking restrictions in the street where the property is located and there are just ten on the road. parking spaces for the whole street. We had problems parking our car near the property throughout the week we stayed there. Wouldn't recommend this property if you are travelling by car. We also had problems with the heating in the property that took four days to resolve. Beds were comfortable and easy access to town.

    Thank you for your feedback Mr Egginton. We are very sorry to hear your comments regarding the parking issues. We have now amended the feature box to show 'permit parking', this was an human input error. However the detals in the summary section, which mentions parking permits for SLDC and on street parking are correct, (both subject to availability). We are sorry this caused confusion and can only apologise. Kind regards Heart of the Lakes team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen2.8Sep 2022

  • "The cottage was lovely & clean & vey well equipped in the kitchen."

    My only problem was that we all only had one pillow each. It would have been nice to have some spares. Having the 2 parking permits was a great bonus.

    Reviewed by Julie4.7Aug 2022

  • "We had an amazing stay in Acorn Cottage, house was in an excellent location, a short walk to park and the shops."

    The house was very comfortable for 5 adults, clean and well equipped. Lots to see and do in the area. Would have no hesitation in recommending or returning to Acorn Cottage.

    Reviewed by Lorna5.0Jul 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at Acorn Cottage in July."

    We couldn’t fault the place. Beds were super comfy as were the couches. We didn’t eat in much as there is such a wide variety or restaurants but the kitchen was well equipped. As others have said before, it’s a pity the outside space isn’t a bit more inviting but with the park around the corner it didn’t bother us that much. Thank you for an enjoyable mini break!

    Reviewed by Debra5.0Jul 2022

  • "Great location, lovely cottage, really very well equipped."

    Loved it. Our third stay here!

    Reviewed by Carol3.8Jun 2022

  • "Absolutely perfect holiday for us and our dog."

    The proximity of the park was great and our dog soon was charging towards it on every possible occasion. Like others said the back is not fenced so dogs will have to be on lead outside. Despite being next to the school we really didn't hear much from the kids. The local chippy was dangerously close though... House was lovely and cosy - room enough for the 3 adults in our group - despite the snow. We didn't do much cooking but the kitchen was very well stocked, and the dishwasher a welcome bonus. Heart of the lakes had our parking permit ready and waiting and we never struggled for a space, although it wasn't school holidays. Would definitely stay again! Thank you guys.

    Thank you for this lovely feedback. The owners have worked hard in the last couple of months to replace/update everything in the cottage that had resulted in previously less favourable comments. We are so pleased that this has been achieved and you found everything to be perfect! We look forward to welcoming you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Feb 2022

  • "Location is excellent- the main reason we chose this cottage."

    Bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchen are fine, but the sitting room is inadequate for 5 adults. The sofas are very uncomfortable and this whole space could do with rethinking to provide a comfortable living area. Disappointed to find no welcome pack or instructions on arrival. Any claim that this is Covid-related would be undermined by the fact that there were other books/leaflets available within the property. Also disappointing to find that basic supplies were so limited- had to buy toilet roll, dishwasher tabs and washing up liquid to get through the week. It's not unreasonable to expect approx £5 worth of essentials when paying £500+ for a week's stay.

    Thank you for your feedback. The owners have now replaced both sofas and all bed mattresses - brand new, good quality, extremely comfortable. We hope you will come again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian3.1Jan 2022

  • "Really enjoyed our stay."

    Right in the middle of Ambleside with restaurants and walks right outside the front door. Rooms are decent size. Beds were comfortable. Cottage was clean throughout. Perfect for our family of four. Dog enjoyed it as well. Maybe could do with more TV channels.. perhaps a sky connection would have helped for us. But overall we were all pleased with the property.

    Reviewed by Rahul4.7Dec 2021

  • "On advertising the cottage it says outside garden, I would call that space its not safe enough for pet's to be let out alone."

    And in the main bedroom the bed felt damp, there is also black damp under the window sill in the same room!!!! And outside light didn't work this was reported but not sorted But overall was a nice place to stay location wise.

    Reviewed by Jackie3.4Oct 2021

  • "Positives, location is amazing, right by the park for the dog, and right by the shops if you need anything."

    Great walks nearby, you could leave the car all week if you wanted. Bedrooms comfortable, upstairs bathroom is gorgeous. Negatives, as others have said, you would not want to sit in the yard surrounded by bins. If you have a dog or small child they can run in other yards or up the path to the road, but it is right by the park so we didn't need to use the yard anyway. We found sofas uncomfortable. You could not fit 5 adults on them. 2 adults and a couple of children might be ok. All in all we had a great week!

    Reviewed by Julia3.4Sep 2021

  • "This is a lovely terraced cottage in the heart of Ambleside with easy access to shops and restaurants."

    Clean and modern inside, fully fitted kitchen/diner and I especially liked the second floor shower room. A very nice space. A parking permit is included in the rental and parking directly outside the front door is possible, though a little patience is required sometimes as these spots are popular with the school opposite. However there are plenty of parking spaces nearby. There is no garden or outside space (the table and four chairs by the communal bins didn’t work for me!) but I didn’t find it a problem. There is a large child friendly park two minutes from the front door and easy walking directly onto Loughrigg Fells and beyond directly from the house. Overall I happily rent this house again.

    Reviewed by Robert4.7Sep 2021

  • "Positives: Property felt clean on arrival."

    Location to Ambleside excellent. Top floor bedroom & bathroom spacious and light. Utility room excellent for storage of wet/muddy stuff. Negatives: listing describes garden/patio - it is not! The outdoor space is a concrete slab surrounded by large refuse bins from cafe in a tiny walkway. Not secure for dogs nor children. Lounge is compact & sofas uncomfortable. Kitchen lino is ripped in many places. Shower screen leaks creating pools of water. Decoration and stained furniture needs some TLC in most rooms. Would not stay here again.

    Reviewed by Rachel2.2Aug 2021

  • "The cottage is in a great location - the town centre is on the doorstep, a great park is 1 minute away and it is on a walking route into the hills."

    The cottage was clean when we arrived and there were no issues with parking, the disc was really useful. We have similar views to other reviewers: the garden/patio is a table and chairs in a tiny yard next to bins - "garden/patio" feels like an exaggeration. The lounge was fine space wise for 4 (2 adults and 2 children) although the sofas are not especially comfortable. Agree that some rooms would benefit from repainting e.g. kitchen wall under window is rather shabby. Overall it was fine but wouldn't rebook this particular property.

    Reviewed by Paul2.8Jul 2021

  • "Great location, literally a stones throw from the restaurants,cafes and shops."

    Comfortable accodation. Nice bedrooms and top floor bathroom had a great shower and was bright and airy. The kitchen had what you needed and a good sized solid table. The lounge was 'snug', 4 adults on the sofas and a chair from the kitchen for the fifth. Thankfully just the two of us after the first 3 days. What I would say is that we had a great time but I have stayed in accomodation this year at a similar price which was in better overall condition. It needs a face lift particularly downstairs. Also some welcome items would have been appreciated, other places have managed this also, the lack of leaflet or booklet, information, we felt was a little lazy (and not due to Covid as other places still have these including when out and about) not to provide. I think it was the lack of thought which was disappointing and which would sway me to try somewhere else next time. Oh and dont expect a lay-in, the nursery opposite starts at 7 am. Parking was easy to find. Great if you only want straight forward basic accomodation.

    Reviewed by Isabella3.8Jul 2021

  • "Shame owner didn't take advantage of lock down to perform much needed redecoration and maintenance eg hooks missing off dressing gown hanger in twin bedroom."

    Cottage is well located, two minutes walk to the park for dog, although noise from school breakfast club across road (from 0730) somewhat irritating. Nice to have a good size TV (for a change) and two car parking passes and two door keys (front/rear) a bonus. Settees in lounge need replacing, very old, stained, hard and uncomfortable with far too many cushions. My daughter and partner said mattress on double bed very soft and uncomfortable. Outside patio area is no more than a smelly dustbin yard. Would have benefitted from a welcome folder with cottage info and a visitors comments book. Hope price for accommodation will reduce to a more realistic level next year!

    Reviewed by Richard3.4Jun 2021

  • "1 Dishwasher was almost impossible to use."

    No instructions and previous occupants had same difficulty and reported it. 2 Rear patio does not exist just a rather unpleasant bin yard 3 the street parking voucher was withdrawn But reinstated when I complained. A young man from customer services Thomas was patient and helpful and arranged to reinstate the permit. PS we came home early on the Wednesday.

    Reviewed by John3.8Jun 2021

  • "It met expectations except for not having the onstreet parking permit which was promised in the description - we did go back to the offices to ask for it but were not helped by the person there who was uninterested in the matter."

    Also there were no garden table and chairs to sit out on as promised in the description. If the house was full - ie with 5 people rather than the 3 in our party, I don't think the sitting room furniture is big enough. We'd have liked there to be better lighting in the sitting room to read by. The kitchen diner was a good size and well-equipped and the location was great. It was warm and comfortable and we enjoyed our stay.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide additional feedback following your stay at Acorn Cottage. It was with regret to learn that the parking permit allowing you to park on the nearby street had unfortunately been misplaced by previous visitors and we were unable to source a replacement from Cumbria County Council during your visit. Our office did offer to refund the costs of any parking tickets you had to purchase during your stay along with our apologies. It was with regret that we were unable to offer an additional permit as per your request. A replacement permit has now arrived at the office for the benefit of future guests. Outside furniture is provided in the shed at the property with instructions supplied within the cottage. Despite these issues we are pleased that you found the property to be well equipped and in a great location. We hope to welcome you back for a trouble free stay in the not too distant future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rebecca4.7May 2021

  • "It was a lovely property to stay in over Christmas, warm, clean and an excellent location"

    AshcroftDec 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Over three floors
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size, 1 x second-floor twin, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Second-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with gas log-effect stove
  • Gas central heating and gas log-effect stove
  • Electric oven with gas hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, 1 TV with Freeview, DVD player, WiFi, and a selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Parking permit for one car for SLDC car parks
  • Unrestricted parking available opposite the property between the hours of 6pm – 10am on a first come first serve basis.
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub within 0.1 miles

The property

Acorn Cottage is a charming and traditional stone-built Lakeland property spread over three floors and sleeping up to five people, perfect for a group of friends or family seeking to explore the beauty of the Lake District National Park.

The cottage rests in a characterful location close to the centre of Ambleside, and has been carefully refurbished with co-ordinated soft furnishings and chic décor throughout to create a stylish and welcoming holiday home at any time of year.

Walk through the attractive, traditional porchway, and step into the beautifully appointed sitting room and relax on the sumptuous suite as you admire the gas log-effect fire offering a homey ambiance to the room in the winter.

Discover the delightful and well-equipped kitchen with a large dining table and cream shaker-style unit, where everyone can gather together to indulge in family meals in this welcoming room, toasting to a truly terrific retreat.

Climb up to the first floor to find a roomy and stylish single room with fitted wardrobe, and a gorgeous master bedroom with king-size bed and a chic sofa chaise longue making a charming spot to enjoy your morning coffee.

Also on the first floor you will find a contemporary family bathroom, while the stairs up to the second floor lead you to a cheerful twin bedroom and a separate shower room with an oversized shower, offering each and every guest a snug spot to rest and rejuvenate after each adventure-packed day.

Sitting just outside the centre of Ambleside, the property benefits from being within walking distance of all the amenities you could need on a self-catered stay; take the short stroll and indulge in a bite to eat at one of the welcoming restaurants, cafes and pubs, or visit one of the many shops to pick up some essential ingredients for your family favourite meals back at the cottage.

The town also boasts a four screen cinema, perfect for those rainy days, while those seeking adventure should be sure to take a stroll into the scenic Rothay Park and enjoy a picnic by the river, the perfect way to create everlasting memories with your loved ones.

Also in walking distance is Waterhead, where you can enjoy a cruise on beautiful Lake Windermere, or hire your own boat to explore its remote bays for a day trip like no other.

A short drive or bus journey will take you to Brockhole, the National Park’s Visitor Centre, where you will find many exciting attractions for all the family, including a treetop walk and zip wire, minigolf, archery, kayaking, and so much more, with many of its watersports offering you a wonderful way to explore the luscious waters of the famed Lake Windermere.

From your doorstep you will have some of the most spectacular and idyllic walks in the Lake District, making Acorn Cottage a fantastic choice for any adventure seeker.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Grasmere 4.4 miles; Windermere 4.7 miles; Keswick 16.7 miles.

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside

Note: Logs available for purchase locally.
Note: Sorry, no children under five years. Note: There is a basement flat that is occupied residentially.
Note: Sloping ceilings on the second floor, please mind your head.
Note: The small patio is not enclosed