Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 22 View Image Gallery
  • Old Mill Cottage - Lake District - 1042490 - photo 1

Old Mill Cottage

(Ref. 1042490)

Ambleside, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (19)
  • shower (17)
  • cottage (16)
  • balcony (13)
  • good (12)
  • above (12)

31 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely cottage with plenty of room."

    Didn't include some essentials like hand soap, salt & pepper, cleaning spray so had to buy our own. Otherwise clean and cosy with a large kitchen and plenty of kitchen equipment. Steep hill leading up to the property but easy to get parked once in. Good value for money.

    Reviewed by Kathryn4.7Apr 2024

  • "The property is perfectly located in Ambleside and had an amazing time whilst visiting."

    Reviewed by Navi5.0Mar 2024

  • "Well furnished property that had all the necessary comforts for a very comfortable stay."

    . Tastefully decorated and appropriately sized rooms, especially the kitchen.

    Thank you for leaving your feedback. We are pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you- The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.4Feb 2024

  • "Cottage good as normal , upstairs toilet seat not the best and lock on front ..."

    Cottage good as normal , upstairs toilet seat not the best and lock on front door didnt work very well , upstairs flat not mentioned in booking info and alot of noise from flat above

    Reviewed by Stephen3.4Nov 2023

  • "Had problems with the electricity tripping out for 3 days on the trot I did email yourselves to see if anything could be done but got no reply so very disappointed in that we could not put things in the fridge as it would be off many times in the day with it tripping out !"


    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of the issues you experienced with the electricity We cannot see an email regarding the issues, but we will look into this. Thank you- The Heart of the Lakes Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen3.4Aug 2023

  • "I was slightly apprehensive booking the apartment due to the comments about noise from above and the poor shower."

    However I’m happy that I did not let that deter me from staying here. The location is great, super close to Ambleside, walking via the small footpath named “Peggy Hill” (and it is a hill!) yet wonderfully peaceful and a great place to spend a summer’s evening sitting on the balcony watching the sunset. The shower was absolutely fine, perhaps a new one, and electric so you can shower at any time. The shower curtain was also ok (perhaps new?); in such a situation it’s not so easy to keep it absolutely pristine. You can hear the people walking around in the apartment upstairs, but luckily there was a quiet couple there during our stay! If you choose to sleep in the twin bedded room downstairs, the apartment above would not cause any disturbance when sleeping. One review had mentioned that the mattress in the master (where I slept) was too soft. I know what they mean now. It isn’t that it’s too soft I don’t believe, it is that the side closest to the bedroom door is perhaps damaged. It is super squishy at this point and I can see if two of you were sharing this small double(?) then the person on that side would certainly feel like they were falling out. That’s something that should be reviewed by the owner. Otherwise, cleanliness was as expected from a holiday let - surface rather than deeply cleaned, but ok, and not anything which cannot be lived with/remedied should you wish to. All in all a lovely place to stay and recommended for ease of access to Ambleside, yet peaceful, as well as for good access to some nice walks from the door.

    Thank you very much for your comments and for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. Customer feedback is very important to help us continually improve our standards. The Property Owner will receive your feedback in order for them to act upon any areas you have highlighted. We are glad glad that you had a wonderful holiday and enjoyed all the local area has to offer. Heart of the Lakes Owner Relations Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrea4.1Jun 2023

  • "Place is great location, lovely views, clean and comfortable."

    Only issue is that the shower is still a waste of time. The pressure is awful and would swing from hot to cold in seconds. I stayed a few years ago and the shower was useless then. Based on several people commenting on it, I hoped it would have been addressed. Great unless you like a good shower after a days hiking.

    Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the views, and found the cottage clean and comfy. We take your comments on board, and our Maintenance Team will look into the issue with the shower. Thank you. The Heart of the Lakes Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tim3.4Jun 2023

  • "On arrival the cottage was clean and spacious, the view from the living room on a clear day was wonderful, the balcony too to enjoy the view was a nice touch (maybe some cushions for the hard chairs)."

    The shower as others said was awful with such a lack of pressure for 3 adults and 2 children. Appreciate the nice size bath sheets which was a nice touch. The beds in all rooms, the mattresses were so very soft, especially the double bed, when one person moved it threw the other around the bed, which made for not a pleasant sleep. The noise from the apartment above was not acceptable, first night had techno music. They did apologise in the week though. The second tenant was horribly worse as they had a dog which was jumping over the furniture late at night and banging for hours on the floor. To the point where by 10pm I had enough and shouted up at them to stop the noise. Would be much better to have these as the same change over date to avoid this, as I am sure whilst we were hovering on the Saturday morning early it wasn't much fun for them. There was a request to clean the property but nothing was left to help facilitate this. I did take Dettol so I could help, but if this is the expectation make sure the products are there to help.

    Thank you for your comments, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the property. We do find that bedding and mattresses are down to personal preference. We are sorry to hear of the issues that you experienced with guests above the apartment. We take all comments on board. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma2.8Apr 2023

  • "Would have given five star, could just do with a better shower - otherwise fab ..."

    Would have given five star, could just do with a better shower - otherwise fab property and a superb location for Ambleside

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Jan 2023

  • "2yr we’ve booked this cottage , good again good location , wifi this year helped , would happily book it again"

    Reviewed by Stephen3.8Nov 2022

  • "We had a wonderful week at Old Mill Cottage."

    The apartment was clean and comfortable and the location was excellent, so we could walk into Ambleside and do many lovely walks from the front door. I don’t understand previous poor reviews at all, we were really happy here. Yes the wifi was intermittent but we didn’t go on holiday to the Lake District to sit on the internet all week. We would definitely book this again with no hesitation. Thank you!

    Reviewed by David5.0Oct 2022

  • "Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in old Mill Cottage."

    An ideal location for walks from the door and all amenities within easy range. The cottage provided for all of our needs. As previously stated in other reviews the shower could be improved but adequate for a week’s stay. The dog loved sitting on the balcony but unfortunately it was a bit chilly by the time we got back ( lovely feature for the better weather).

    Reviewed by Jane4.7Oct 2022

  • "Having read some of the previous comments we were a little dubious but we found the cottage homely and enjoyed our stay immensely, the views from the balcony were stunning (ok so the shower pressure was not the best but was adequate and in no way did it spoil our time at the cottage and there is a bath) The cottage is very clean with a well equipped kitchen and very comfortable lounge, the cottage is within walking distance of Ambleside all of us had a lovely week exploring beautiful Cumbria with the sense of knowing we had a lovely base to come back to."

    Kevin, Heather and Leah Stewart

    Reviewed by Leah4.4Sep 2022

  • "If we had paid full price I would have been very disappointed."

    The flat is mostly ok, but I can't help feel that standards are dropping at Heart of the Lakes since Sykes took over. There is something very odd about a place with several large clocks none of which work, and this reflects the general neglect of the place, the worst of which is the patch of mold over the door in the master bedroom and the moldy shower curtain. Also the shower itself is barely adequate - more style than substance. Other issues were the lack of a hair dryer, the frying pan needs repairing and to cap it all off the fact that there was no toilet roll supplied for the downstairs toilet.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide additional feedback following your stay at Old Mill Cottage. Regarding the clocks not working we will investigate this. The mold above the door is being investigated by the maintenance team. Following your feedback about the shower curtain this has now changed and a new one is in place. If you had contacted the local office, we would have been happy to sort this out for you. Many thanks, Housekeeping Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael2.2Sep 2022

  • "Old Mill Cottage is lovely and perfectly placed for visit to the Lakes."

    It was clean, tidy, has everything you would need during your stay and the view from the balcony is spectacular. A few things stopped me from giving a 5 star review: 1. The shower is awful and only delivers a slow trickle of water so you are in there for ages. 2. There is a patch of black mould above the door in the master bedroom - not good for those who suffer with respiratory issues. 3. The internet is intermittent - not great when you are holidaying with teenagers. 4. The noise from the above apartment - we stayed here last year and were lucky enough not to have anyone staying above so didnt experience any noise. This time was a total different story - you can hear every single thing happening above. Not the fault of the inhabitants, its very much a sound insulation issue or lack there of. Two mini daschunds running around sounded like a train going backwards and forwards!! Perhaps not a huge issue to those only staying for a couple of nights but being woken up during the night and very early in the morning (05.45) each day for a week is a bit much.

    Reviewed by Laura4.7Aug 2022

  • "Basic things like soap, washing up liquid, not there."

    Instructions not provided for television, radio, shower, nor how to warm the place up - never able to use TV or radio. No information about where the refuse/recycling area was - no dustbin to put anything in. A really disgusting shower curtain. So called information pack a joke! No warning that there was a property above Old Mill Cottage and it was alarming to hear footsteps, creaking floor boards etc. until we investigated - still made upstairs noisy, esp in night.

    Reviewed by Barbara2.5Aug 2022

  • "Beautiful view from the balcony really made the holiday"

    Reviewed by Lynne4.7Aug 2022

  • "I have some good news and some bad news."

    .. First the good: - This is an excellent character property with fantastic views over Loughrigg Fell with .... Good parking. .. Easy walking distance to Ambleside. ... Lovely Balcony... Large kitchen... A decent amount of living space Now the Bad: - You get one chance to make a first impression.The welcome pack. Well it was a small washing-up package. See below for where I am going with this... Wherever we stay if you are like me you'll agree it's the little things that make a big difference. Things that do not cost that much more money tbh - significant can make a big impact. Case in point - the shower curtain - it was disgusting! Mould growing all over it. We reported this on the first day of our holiday to the agent, including sending photographic evidence thinking someone would be so appalled and go out by a new one. I mean, how much does a shower curtain cost? We were sure someone would change it - it was just "riffy". The reality was no action was taken. As a result, none of my family felt we could have a shower all week!! Bottom line we didn't want that brushing up against us. To add insult to injury in these higher cleanliness times (Covvid!?!?!) you would have thought this would have been a priority. So for us in the bathroom - it was baths all week. Not a deal breaker - but every time we used the facilities it grated. You've paid good money and the owners/agents/cleaners can't be bothered to deal with a complaint made. That wasn't very pleasant. The description states TV with a basic Sky TV package. The truth is the Sky box I'm pretty sure we owned maybe c. 20 years ago. Worse still, you got 'most' but not all Freeview channels! Come on - we're in 2022, and you are charging decent money for this property. Whilst I'm not planning to watch that much TV, it is nice to come in and relax with a service that, let's face it, most people have at home nowadays. There is severe mould in the Master Bedroom that needs attending to. Wifi was unreliable and painfully slow. IN CONTRAST.... ..... the following week (for less money), we stayed at another property. Check this out.... The welcome pack included a loaded fruit bowl with bananas, apples, oranges, and juicy peaches—a delicious home-baked family-sized Victoria Sponge Cake. Fresh ground Coffee, and yes, you got it.... cleaning products!! Can you feel the difference? WIFI - a fast, reliable service. Helpful when planning your days out! TV - a 4K HD Smart TV with a Netflix subscription included. Truth be told, the extras in the second place probably didn't cost that much more...but what kind of review have they got? How many people have we told about that property? Summary: - This is a great, interesting property close to all amenities. We got married in Grasmere, so we know the area well and have been frequent visitors for decades. Our sense is this property is trading off its location - which is fair enough. That said, when I've paid good money for school holiday time, I expect creature comforts and for it to be a 'home from home'. The owners need to address the mould issues since it could pose health risks and up the ante in terms of wifi/TV package just to bring it into what you expect in this day and age.

    Reviewed by Karl4.1Jul 2022

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Old Mill Cottage and would really like to return there."

    The facilities and position were, for us, ideal - once we got used to the split level and its originality. The fact that it was central but removed was a delight although the constant noise of the crows was slightly annoying. Other than that - for us - perfect!

    Reviewed by Bernadette5.0May 2022

  • "Very clean and comfy cottage."

    Highly recommended. We will visit it again.

    Reviewed by Sylwia5.0Apr 2022

  • "Beautiful setting in Ambleside and also convenient for the town."

    Lovely views from the balcony. The property was spacious and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen. Shower wasn't that powerful and we were a bit chilly downstairs but other than that, fabulous!

    Reviewed by Francesca4.7Apr 2022

  • "Very nice cottage in a good spot easy access to town centre , parking for 2 cars is a bit tight , no mention when booking cottage of apartment above and noise this creates ."

    Shower not the best

    Reviewed by Stephen4.4Oct 2021

  • "The property is in a great location, with good facilities and lots of space."

    We have stayed in many properties in The Falls area of Ambleside so have seen varying standards. There are two main downsides to this property that need looking at and people need to be aware of when booking. Firstly this property has an apartment above it and you can hear people clearly going about their business and the shower is bordering on useless and needs upgrading.

    Reviewed by Helen3.8Oct 2021

  • "We loved the cottage but we weren't aware there was no wi-fi!"

    ! We wouldn't have booked it if we had known that. There wasn't a very comprehensive information booklet either. The shower was not very powerful and it would have been better to have a wooden floor in the hallway instead of carpet. But the overall space and comfort was great, it was warm and cosy. I would book it again if there was wi-fi.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave additional feedback following your stay at Old Mill Cottage. We are pleased to say we now offer Wi-Fi at the cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by louise4.1Oct 2021

  • "The listing of the property is misleading: 1: The noise levels from the flat above affect the enjoyment of the stay."

    2: Sky TV - NO sky channels were available, this is simply freeview. 3. NO WIFI - unacceptable for the price of the property and in this day and age. 4: The damaged and dangerous balcony. This needs urgent attention: Tiles were loose, the sub floor is rotten and very precarious to stand on. The fire proofing from below has come down, leaving the balcony unsafe and therefore unusable. This should be fixed before anyone gets hurt. 5: Although the property is pet friendly, it is quite a built up area and there is no where to let your dog do its business! However, the location of the property is fantastic, and we had a lovely holiday due to the fantastic weather and wonderful surroundings.

    Reviewed by Catherine2.8Aug 2021

  • "No WiFi"

    Reviewed by Martin4.7Jul 2021

  • "We were a little worried about our stay having read other reviews but were pleased to say the apartment was good, spotlessly clean, and we enjoyed our stay."

    We were concerned about the balcony potentially being out of use having been emailed about it before we arrived and being asked to move the car one day so it could be investigated underneath. It was one of the main reasons we chose the property. The few loose tiles at one end didn't affect our use of it, and we found it really nice to sit out there having a drink in the evening and relaxing on it in the morning before we went out for the day. Other reviewers commented on the shower which Heart of the Lakes went and checked out for us before we arrived - it worked fine for an electric shower. Not the most powerful but typical of an electric shower. Yes, there is an apartment for two people directly above the property but we didn't find the noise bad like someone else commented on. The only thing that was disappointing is the lack of WiFi, particularly with two teenagers. We never book somewhere that doesn't have it so it was a surprise to learn there was no WiFi. We were able to connet to BT WiFi hotspots by going out on the balcony so we could get some coverage that way. I'd recommend making that more explicit in the listing copy as these days it is really unusual for a holiday property to NOT have WiFi - particularly as the property above did have it apparently. All in all, it was a comfortable stay, with a lovely view in a peaceful residential setting only a few minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside.

    Reviewed by Simone4.1Jul 2021

  • "The view from the balcony was amazing."

    recent reviews had mentioned noise from above but this was not a problem for us. Lack of wi fi was a problem and we think should be emphasized in the listing, or put in the cottage- like others we had assumed it was available. single beds rather hard. Recycling: pleased to have facilities but would be good to mention in advance and for the information at the property to be clearer about how to divide categories and also in a more prominent place. Information in household appliance folder needs sorting out. One larger saucepan would be helpful.

    Reviewed by Ruth4.1Jul 2021

  • "The Cottage had an apartment above, this was not described in the listing, nor was it made clear in any of the research done prior, there was no soundproofing between the floors so you could hear the above residents walking around, using the bathroom etc…."

    Place looked quite dated and the exterior had tiles missing from the balcony/outdoor space, although we were informed of this beforehand, We cut our trip short by 5 days, noise from above was unbearable Sykes Cottages resolved our complaints but were very very slow in coming back to me and I had to chase on numerous occasions for a resolution

    Reviewed by Geraldine2.8Jun 2021

  • "Sykes were very good in coming out promptly to the cottage to try to sort problems."

    The facilities and comfort of this cottage would have scored top marks except for two things. Two very important things..... 1. There is no WiFi.... Agreed that this is not listed under the facilities, and therefore my mistake, but these days I would expect this as standard in all holiday let properties 2. The shower is almost useless, if you want a hot or even remotely warm wash. To get any power it has to be freezing cold. I had to have a bath in order to wash my hair as the power in shower is so bad the shampoo wouldn't rinse out! The cottage is also in need of repair...... 1. There was water leaking into the small bedroom by the window.... A lot of water 2. The balcony has several loose tiles (this has been marked off with tape) but still needs repaired. In the car port there was a piece of plaster board from the underside of balcony which has broken and leaves a hole. This may have been done to investigate the tiles above or may be the cause. 3. There is no lock on the bathroom door. I think the owners need to spend some money getting this cottage up to the standard of the rest of The Falls properties. We have stayed in this development several times over the years and love the location. We would not return to Old Mill Cottage unless we were sure of these improvements. Lastly, although advertised as no smoking, and even having been cleaned (supposedly deep cleaned due to covid) we found a dish full of cigarette ends in living room behind the tv. I assume people had been smoking on the balcony and hid the evidence!! It made the room smell awful!!! We don't blame Sykes for this as it was behind the curtain and behind tv and I wouldn't expect furniture to be moved that much. We only found it when looking for a router, to discover there wasn't one!!!!

    Reviewed by Clare2.2May 2021

  • "Dishwasher hadn't been emptied Clothes from previous customer in ..."

    Dishwasher hadn't been emptied Clothes from previous customer in drawers Toilet doesn't flush Loads of crumbs behind and under the toaster Hot water doesn't work in shower

    Reviewed by Gillian2.8May 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground-floor cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room.
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave, radio, TV with Sky free view and DVD Player
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for two cars
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Wi-Fi
  • Please note this property is an apartment
  • Please note, Old Mill is a split-level apartment with a separate apartment above

The property

Old Mill Cottage is a stone built, three-bedroom property spread over two floors, that sleeps up to 5 people.

Set within a half mile walk to the centre of the bustling, small town of Ambleside this property was once part of a former Bobbin Mill which took its power from the waterfalls.

A short walk will take you to the town centre, where you will find excellent restaurants, individual local shops, bars, cafes, recreational facilities and an excellent cinema.

Walk into Rothay park and enjoy the level riverside walk.

Explore some of the most dramatic walking trails the National Park has to offer.

There so many glo-rious opportunities for a wonderful walk: everything from a village or lakeside stroll to an adven-turous trip to the stunning high fells.

Ambleside is set at the heart of the Lake District National Park and is the perfect location to explore the Lake District's charming town, villages, lakes and beautiful scenery by public transport or by car.

Leave your car in your undercover space and enter the hallway on the ground floor, where you can hang your walking gear.

Walk into the bright and contemporary kitchen with dining area and antic-ipate the relaxing meals you will enjoy with your family or friends.

At this level you will also find a twin-bedroom with built-in storage and a WC with hand basin.

Climb the stairs to your comfortable sitting room, walk through the French windows onto the spa-cious balcony and enjoy the magnificent views to Loughrigg Fell.

Explore further and you will find two bedrooms - one double and one single and a bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Grasmere 4.4 miles; Windermere 4.7 miles; Keswick 16.7 miles.

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas