Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 5 minutes ago

17 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 42 View Image Gallery
  • The Spinney - Lake District - 1041718 - photo 1
close

The Spinney

(Ref. 1041718)

Ambleside, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.7

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • well (7)
  • property (7)
  • comfortable (6)
  • stay (6)
  • no (5)
  • warm (4)

11 Customer Reviews

  • "We were so happy that Sykes Cottages helped us out, after being disappointed with the National Trust at the last minute."

    The property was clean and warm and very spacious. We were very comfy , in some very cold and wet weather- well it’s the Lakes!! We had to chip packed ice off the steps outside which were very dangerous- no grit or salt available and parking for cars was challenging. More toilet rolls would have been appreciated!! Overall, we had a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Alison4.1Jan 2024

  • "Absolutely spotless."

    beautiful large bedrooms, well equipped kitchen, comfortable lounge and lovely dining room, 5 mins (steepish) walk from Bowness so no need to struggle looking for parking, lovely view of waterfall. Very warm house. Would definitely stay there again.

    Reviewed by John5.0Nov 2023

  • "We had the most wonderful stay."

    This property was perfect as a base for our 8 person party. A warm welcome with real attention to detail. We would recommend the Spinney to everyone without hesitation. Thank you.

    Thank you for your comments, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back. The Owner Relations Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0May 2023

  • "We returned home last night after a great week in Ambleside."

    The Spinney was first class, it was perfectly clean and comfortable. We were bit worried about the road leading to the property as it seemed very steep and narrow, but there is a quiet road which takes you straight in to the village and is very manageable. The floor at top of stairs is very creaky which was bit annoying when you have got 2 babies over to sleep but only minor in the overall very positive experience. Would definitely like to stay at The Spinney again.

    Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your week. We hope to welcome you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rosemary5.0Apr 2023

  • "Generally the house was clean, comfortable and in good condition, warm and well looked after."

    Reviewed by Geraldine4.7Dec 2022

  • "Fantastic cottage in great location, our fourth stay at the spinney and we'll definitely be back"

    Reviewed by Gary5.0May 2022

  • "We have just returned from The Spinney and we are already talking of booking it again."

    It is in a perfect location being very close to Ambleside (five to ten minutes walk) but extremely quiet. The house itself is lovely, it’s very well equipped & comfortable. We are looking forward to staying there again.

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Nov 2021

  • "Good, large and comfortable holiday let."

    Conveniently located within easy, albeit up a hill (it is the Lake District!), walking distance from the town centre. We noted previous feedback regarding the property interior being dated, this is true to an extent but the property is well kitted out and so did not stop us enjoying a pleasant week staying here.

    Reviewed by Andy4.7Oct 2021

  • "The accommodation was excellent, there was plenty of space for the 6 of us."

    If there is one issue it is there is only 1 parking space out the front of the property and although there are 2 visitor spaces just 30 yards down the road, these are quite tight spaces.

    Reviewed by David5.0Sep 2021

  • "The Spinneys is a large, comfortable space for 4 adults."

    It’s well located for easy access to town and has good recycling facilities (which seems to be rare with Lakelovers properties). The kitchen has a good level of utensils. It really does need updating though… I slept terribly on an awful 50-60mm layer of foam mattress protection, with an awful plastic topper. I removed it in the end, to sleep on the actual mattress. The bathrooms all need updating - there’s only one decent shower, the other two are electric, which don’t work if they are in use at the same time. The kitchen only has a small under-counter fridge… too small for food and booze, and the same size freezer that we didn’t used. The kitchen is covered in little ‘warning’ labels from the owner that are really irritating… one little box has 3 labels on it saying ‘do not turn off’… the washing machine must have 10+ labels on it!! Requesting ‘quick washes only’… it’s not welcoming. Two good quality ovens are great, and the electric hob is fine. Kitchen would benefit from a few trays, for TV dinners and some new chopping boards. A new kitchen is really needed, as well as the bathrooms - so some serious cashes needs to be dropped for 4/5 stars. There’s no outside space that’s really useable, just a front and back balcony area that’s in the shade all day - and the steps up to the property are very slippy in the wet on account of mould growth. We don’t regret staying at the Spinneys, we had a pleasant stay but probably won’t stay again - there are just far superior options.

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your recent stay at The Spinney. We are saddened to hear of these deficiencies raised and have discussed them with the owner to ensure attention is made to those outstanding. We are in discussion with the Housekeeping team regarding the mattress protectors. Originally these plastic ones had been added for hygiene reasons but understand they can be uncomfortable so will look at alternative. The labels throughout the property are there for ease of use with such things in the property through past experiences these have generally helped with guests. We thank you for your comments and glad to hear you had a lovely break regardless. Many thanks! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dan3.4Jun 2021

  • "The property was very well located, in walking distance from the town centre and the start of some nice walks."

    We had a nice view from the windows, the landscape was very nice, and the people there are very friendly. I enjoyed most the beautiful nature and the open space.

    Dr MaesJul 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.

Summary

  • Over 2 floors
  • 4 bedrooms; 1 x king size with ensuite, 1 x king size with open views, 2 x twin bedrooms, bathroom
  • Separate shower room
  • Spacious lounge
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room.
  • 3 bathrooms - En-suite bathroom with shower over bath, bathroom with shower over bath, shower room with double shower unit
  • Choices Leisure Club access included
  • Near village centre
  • Feature balcony
  • Great river views
  • Wi-Fi
  • Garage parking & extra private parking space
  • Children's toys and DVDs
  • Double electric oven
  • Halogen hob
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine/tumble dryer
  • Gas central heating
  • Bed linen and towels provided

The property

Set in 1.5 acres of tranquil woodland close to Stockghyll waterfalls, The Spinney is a spacious and stylish property that is part of the “Falls” development - a converted old bobbin mill just a short distance from the vibrant town of Ambleside.

The property boasts a unique layout including a lounge that opens out onto a waterfall balcony.

A delightful cottage with views of Nab Scar and Fairfield that are simply amazing.

The property has a spacious lounge with vaulted ceiling galleried landing, Lakeland fireplace and deep-cushioned furnishings.

There’s also an oak-fitted kitchen, a separate dining room and it sleeps up to eight guests in two king sized bedrooms and two twins - the master bedroom enjoys glass doors that open onto a balcony providing a romantic escape.

Other features include ensuite bathrooms and private parking.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

AMBLESIDE

Grasmere 4.4 miles; Windermere 4.7 miles; Keswick 16.7 miles.

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside