Secure your Spring 2022 holiday today for just £99

Available on selected breaks taking place between 27th May - 21st July 2022

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 7 minutes ago

20 people have recently viewed this property

Todd Crag View

Ambleside, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 922398)



Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes


  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor bedroom
  • Icon/Feature/Shop Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

40 Customer Reviews

  • "As regulars to Ambleside, we knew where was best to stay."

    We loved the location, the views and the cleanliness of the property. It was however rather damp in the bedrooms, especially in the morning, struggled to get our towels dry as the heating didn’t stay on long enough and the lack of comfortable seating to relax in the evening for 4 people meant one or two of us having to sit on the dining chairs. Having said that, we walked all day and used the local bars at night enjoying all that the area has to offer. The gift of the NYE celebration wine and chocolates was a lovely touch and much appreciated. We would return again in the spring/summer and enjoy the balcony which is SW facing- would be great for drinks in the evening.

    Reviewed by DianaDec 2021

  • "We were very happy with the accommodation."

    Our only minor comment would be to say that the mattress was a little soft for us. That's because we like a harder one.

    Reviewed by GlennDec 2021

  • "This is the second time we have stayed at Tod Crag View."

    The property is comfortable, a good size for our needs, and extremely well situated in the heart of Ambleside. Plus the view from the living room window is stunning. The only downside is the parking spot, which is very tricky to navigate, but I can appreciate there is no simple solution. We would happily stay there again.

    Reviewed by JamesOct 2021

  • "Lovely apartment which is well cared for and nicely decorated with lovely views."

    Mostly very clean. Just 3 negative points. 1) the oven needed a good clean 2) a hot stand for pans/oven tins would have been very useful 3) future guests need to be aware the parking is VERY tight. We only have a Ford Fiesta and it was a 2 man job for us to get the car into the parking spot. It is parallel parking between two cars with a wall either side. That all said we would definitely recommend!

    Reviewed by SueSep 2021

  • "The property was dusty in places."

    The parking should be reevaluated for modern car sizes and a warning that the parking spaces are small and there is no turning space requiring cars to be maneuvered into place however due to the size of the spaces you may be required to ask another resident to move to get you car out

    Reviewed by ShaunAug 2021

  • "Lovely comfortable apartment."

    A little small if you had 4 adults staying but suitable for 2 adults and 2 children. Brilliant location and stunning views from the balcony. New carpets had been fitted throughout the apartment and everything you needed in the kitchen. Would recommend and stay again in the future.. PARKING a little tight as a very narrow driveway alongside the buildings and only suitable for small/med car but with a little compromise and talking to the other neighbours we managed to park our large car.

    Reviewed by AnnetteMay 2021

  • "It was our first unpleasant stay in Lake District."

    Firstly the car parking place is suitable only for a small car.We had to use a car park when arrived. As we walked in we smelled of damp.There were provided dishwasher tablets, but no dishwasher....also washing machine, but no washing toilet roll either?I booked our holiday as a family holiday for 3 people, unfortunately our daughter couldn’t come because of her work.At some point it was good, as the place is definitely not big enough for 3 adults, it’s 2 bed flat, but only 2 seater sofa in the living room.Besides no side tables or coffee table to have a cup of tea or a glass of wine while rest your feet and watch telly after walking long hours. The sofa was so dirty and old, didn’t want to sit many doors in the living area was annoying. 2 sockets didn’t work and the frying pan was so out of shape and old in the kitchen.....shocking.Microwave was right next to the bin, couldn’t even think to get my food in it, disgusting. Shower head and a bath mat needed cleaning, black dirt on both on them and cold water tap had to turn anti-clockwise? One full size mirror in the flat and a wall clock would have been nice and thoughtful. Everything was so dirty or dated or both and holiday In that place certainly overpriced. We loved a view and a central location of Ambleside.So many nice places to go for a meal or drinks and go for a walk. Wouldn’t recommend and wouldn’t return.

    We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, we are restricted with parking as is most of the lake district with space for a small and smaller medium size car as described, there is a car park opposite our property if needed, we are replacing our carpets after being cleaned last year whilst we do not believe there are any damp issues but will investigate accordingly, we have notified our cleaning service provider that we do not have a dishwasher but a washing machine and will be providing an airer if guests wish to wash and dry their clothes, we have provided a copy of your feedback to our cleaning provider as no toilet roll and any cleaning issues are not acceptable, our leather sofa is 5 years old and unfortunately there are marks from usage but we dispute your claim it is dirty and not clean enough to use! We are hoping to get it 'cleaned' but there should have been a clean throw over the sofa in any event, there is a side table for tea/coffee next to the sofa as shown on our property page whilst the apartment has a door from the kitchen into the lounge/dining area and one door to the bedrooms and bathroom as this is a very cosy apartment, we are sorry a double socket was not working, we were not aware of this and have asked an electrician to replace, our Raymond Blanc saucepans and frying pans are only 5 years old and will replace where applicable, the bin gets moved by our cleaners & doesn't have to be next to the microwave whilst the microwave can be moved by our guests if preferred onto a work surface but we feel the work surfaces are better kept as clear as possible. The shower head and bath mat are clean and new as we are in our apartment this week but again will ensure our cleaning provider is made aware of this. There is a mirror in each bedroom and will not be purchasing a full size mirror as do not believe this is required in the lake district for most of our guests. There is a clock in the lounge under the TV. We have many returning guests, take feedback seriously and act accordingly, our apartment is frequently occupied so wear and tear even on new items occurs. All furniture and utensils are only 5 years old or less. All photographs on Sykes website were taken in 2020 and truly reflect the condition and furnishings in our apartment. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AnnelySep 2020

  • "Lovely cottage with amazing views."

    The location was very central and good access into Ambleside town centre.

    Reviewed by MichaelSep 2020

  • "Furnishings ie sofa could do with updating or cleaning as was heavily marked."

    Reviewed by CarolynSep 2020

  • "We had a fantastic holiday in this lovely apartment which had everything we needed and was big enough for our family of 4."

    The views were simply stunning and we found lots to do in the area.

    Reviewed by JohnJul 2020

  • "Although the view is stunning from Todd Crag we felt that the property was very basic and tired."

    The shower was lukewarm at best, not good after a day's walking. An outside light would be helpful, we arrived in pitch black! It would be also be helpful to provide toilet paper and hand soap in the bathroom.

    Thank you for the feedback and accept our apologies for the lack of toilet paper. This has been taken up with Orian Property Services who service the property on our behalf and they have assured us that it won't happen again. We are not sure why the shower was only luke warm and haven't had any previous comments regarding any issues but will certainly look into it. With regard to an outside light, downstairs do have a security light which does give some light at the entrance to our property but for us to have one would be intrusive for our neighbour in Gale House. We are disappointed that you found the property basic and tired. We strive to keep it clean and well stocked but over time natural wear and tear occurs. We did have the lounge carpet cleaned in October 2019 and the bedrooms were re-painted in March 2019. Previous guests have commented on the kitchen being well equipped and a good standard of equipment in the rest of the property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JerryJan 2020

  • "An extremely comfortable flat with some impressive views, situated conveniently ..."

    An extremely comfortable flat with some impressive views, situated conveniently in the centre of Ambleside for all local amenities

    Reviewed by DavidNov 2019

  • "A very enjoyable week, but two sets of keys would have been ideal."

    Reviewed by MarkSep 2019

  • "My son and I thoroughly enjoyed our break in Ambleside and would recommend the flat to anyone looking for accommodation close to the town centre."

    The walk up is a tad steep and may not be suitable for everyone. However the views are worth a bit of puffing and panting ! I wasn't so keen on the parking arrangements. Parallel parking aside, the lane is narrow and it takes time to manoeuvre especially when the car in front of you is really too big for the spot. The flat was spotless, except for the carpet, and had everything we needed. If it wasn't for the parking, I would definitely come back.

    Reviewed by SylviaSep 2019

  • "The apartment is good and in an excellent location."

    Although it is for up to four people it may be a bit cramped with 4 adults. Be aware that there is parking but only for a small car.

    Reviewed by RobertJun 2019

  • "Great location with lovely view."

    Handy for walks, buses, shops. Apartment is comfortable but starting to look a little jaded.

    Thank you for providing feedback on Todd Crag. In March we redecorated both bedrooms, replaced and painted a damaged skirting board in the lounge, had remedial work completed in the porch/conservatory following the new replacement of this conservatory in June 2016 plus we have had new loft insulation installed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JohnFeb 2019

  • "Excellent location, quiet and relaxing"

    Reviewed by IgalDec 2018

  • "We loved the apartment and it’s situation."

    The views were lovely in all weathers and it was good to have a balcony and covered area to sit. The facilities in the apartment were excellent overall. It was lovely to sit at the table and take in the views whilst eating our meals. Parking space fine if one of the spaces in front or behind was vacant not enough room to manoeveur otherwise. We parked outside of the apartment one evening - no problem.

    Reviewed by JillAug 2018

  • "The apartment is really well located, with a short flight of steps taking you directly onto Ambleside's main shopping street."

    Literally 2 mins to Tesco and 4 mins to Spar and Co-op. It is comfortably equipped with lots of attention to detail. The bathroom is especially good (large, with a powerful shower). There is a glass-roofed 'lobby' with loads of space to hang wet coats (or in our case to store muddy running shoes). I would re-iterate what others have said about the parking. You have a space in the centre bay in a line of three. If flats 1 and 3 have both occupied their spaces, then you will only be able to get into parking space no. 2 if you are in a fairly small car (we have a VW Golf). This is because you are restricted on the 'open' side by the wall of the apartment block, so you can only swing the front of the car out by a certain amount or you will scrape the wall. If either of the spaces 1 or 3 are empty, however, then you have no problem as you can drive straight in. So when the instructions say 'medium-sized car', take it seriously! There was no electric whisk/mixer in the kitchen. Not a big deal but my kids wanted to bake. The recycling situation is not satisfactory. You basically throw all of your rubbish into a single bin located outside the front door. If you want to recycle then a note in the flat advises you to go to a public recycling centre in Ambleside. This may be the fault of the council rather than the flat owners, but surely there is provision for household recycling collection in Ambleside? All in all, a very well located and well equipped flat, with lovely views a bonus.

    Reviewed by MatthewJul 2018

  • "This apartment has a wonderful location with a brilliant view from the balcony but still just two minutes walk from the town."

    It was well equipped with comfortable beds and a very good bathroom and shower. We were accompanied by our 18 year old daughter and her boyfriend who were out and about a lot which helped with space. It is quite small for four people, but it was very warm during the week we were there, and we didn't feel particularly cramped. We were able to use the balcony for sitting out on as well as the living room which has a very comfortable sofa big enough for two. The dining table folds out to seat four comfortably for meals. There is also an additional sitting area in the front porch which traps the heat very effectively. The TV had plenty of on demand channels and WiFi was good. The parking space is a bit tricky and we were lucky that the space behind wasn't being used which left us a bit more wiggle room. In fact, we only moved the car once during the week as there is so much to do from Ambleside itself. We got a useful pack of easy to follow walks from tourist information, it's also only ten minutes walk to the pier and we got all day tickets for the boats, buses are frequent and we also enjoyed the cinema, cafes and restaurants in town. A great little base in a great little town. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by MaureenJul 2018

  • "Amazing views from balcony."

    Great location. Front door lock very temperamental. Parking. Thankfully only 2 other cars there otherwise parking would have been very tricky.

    Reviewed by KevinJul 2018

  • "It was very hot, the flat faces SW, so gets sun most of day."

    Living room is like an oven, could do with cooling fan in extreme conditions as we've had. Living room carpet looked like it needed deep cleaning. But that is only criticism, very pleased, great flat for two, good location, balcony was fab for good weather. Loved it.

    Reviewed by MarkJun 2018

  • "Problem with car parking we had small car as advised but people in other cottages had large cars and made it impossible on a no of times for us to park."

    We loved location and views. Plenty of room for two but not 4 we managed with 3 could do with another comfortable chair sofa only big enough for 2.Cottage clean and well equipped. Loved the birds that visited verandah.

    Reviewed by AlisonApr 2018

  • "Perfect location ideal for a couple or a family with small children bedside table would have been nice and full length hanging space in main bedroom."

    Would stay there again

    Reviewed by JohnMar 2018

  • "The property is in a great location- close to the centre of Ambleside and with great views."

    It is very well appointed. The listing makes it clear that the car parking space is only suitable for a smaller car. We managed to use the space successfully because many of the other spaces were empty and we have a rear camera on our car. However without a camera and if others were using the car park it would have been extremely difficult as one would have to reverse some distance down a narrow space between a wall and other parked cars and then parallel park in the space provided. It is not simply a small parking space in which one can bay park. I think that should be made more clear on the listing so people know what to expect.

    Reviewed by JaneFeb 2018

  • "The perfect little home from home in our perfect location."

    Literally a stones throw from all the amenities of the lovely village of Ambleside, whilst also having that great get away feel by being completely silent at night. The apartment is situated on a road running parallel to one of the main streets into the village, with the benefit of being up the hill so the views are beautiful and easily appreciated as you sit and have breakfast either at the dining table or out on the balcony. The apartment couldn't have provided a more lovely place to stay for me and my husband, with an ideal kitchen for us to eat in on occasions, a great bathroom with massive shower and a very cosy bedroom. We didn't need the second bedroom but it is adiquate space for two children. The lounge has a smart tv which meant we could log in to our Netflix account as well as watch freeview. The lounge itself is very comfy for two people and I'm sure would fit young children as well. We really hope we can stay here again as it had everything we needed and is situated in a great location for all the lakes we wanted to explore.

    Reviewed by FrankieJan 2018

  • "Very comfortable and clean property, wonderful view over the town and the nearby mountains, very well equipped kitchen, great to have parking space so near."

    Would certainly like to book this again!

    Reviewed by GailDec 2017

  • "This was a fantastic flat with all the mod cons; a real home away from home."

    We loved the view and would definitely recommend this cottage to friends and family.

    Reviewed by KennethAug 2017

  • "This apartment has lovely views, is warm and cosy and has easy access to Ambleside."

    It is a great place to stay. We hope to stay there again.

    Reviewed by LizOct 2016

  • "Todd Crag is a lovely place to stay,enjoy the town of Ambleside, appreciated the view, and just relax."

    All in all, a fine holiday cottage.

    Reviewed by HelenJul 2016

  • "This is a lovely cottage."

    It is clean and well maintained with mod cons. The property has fantastic views. It was great having own parking space.

    Reviewed by DeanJun 2016

  • "The property was in good position to explore the rest of the Lake District and the view from the balcony was beautiful."

    Reviewed by PatJun 2016

  • "The property was in a wonderful location overlooking Ambleside; we loved the views from the balcony."

    It was very warm and cosy to return to after a day out walking and there were loads of walks from the property so we hardly needed to use the car.

    Reviewed by HeatherApr 2016

  • "We felt that the quality of the furnishings and in particular, the entertainment system in Todd Crag was above what we have seen in other holiday accommodation."

    Although small, the apartment had everything we wanted for our stay and we would definitely make a return booking. As the apartment was up on a hill, the views were stunning and the french doors to the balcony made this aspect really special.

    Reviewed by DamianFeb 2016

  • "A great apartment with superb views."

    It was ideally situated for Ambleside centre and the lakes.

    Reviewed by RichardFeb 2016

  • "The property was very well equipped and in a perfect location right in the centre of Ambleside."

    There is everything you need in the apartment with stunning views over the surrounding hills and fells. We had a fantastic week here and would certainly return in the summer. The apartment is very well furnished with very good quality mattresses on the beds which were extremely comfortable. The property also has a good TV and entertainment system.

    Reviewed by DebraDec 2015

  • "Todd Crag is in a fantastic position and was a lovely comfortable place to stay - a home from home."

    Reviewed by RebeccaNov 2015

  • "The property is well equipped and in a really good location."

    There are fantastic views from the kitchen and sitting room.

    Reviewed by ElizabethOct 2015

  • "This was one of the nicest property's we have stayed in at in the Lakes."

    It was very clean, cosy and comfortable and only a short distance from the centre of Ambleside. Would love to come again and have already recommended to friends.

    Reviewed by SueSep 2015

  • "The accommodation was really comfortable, better than expected and at a very good price."

    We plan to return in the near future.

    Reviewed by GlenysJun 2015

Show more

The property

A first-class apartment set in a most enviable location, on a high hillside close to the centre of Ambleside, in the very heart of the Lake District.

The property boasts fabulous triple-aspect views of some of the most beloved landmarks of the national park, including the Old Man of Coniston, Wetherlam, Loughrigg and the magnificent Fairfield Horseshoe ridge stretching away into the distance.

A private off road parking area is on the same level as the property, with the main entrance opening into a lovely sun room, an ideal place to sit and relax after a busy day out and about.

The kitchen adjoins the sun room and boasts stunning sights over the town’s rooftops towards the fells beyond.

A spacious sitting room, with patio doors leading onto the front balcony, provides a second place to relax and take in the beautiful surroundings and there is a modern shower room with a large walk-in shower, whilst six steps up from the living area lead to the two cosy bedrooms.

The centre of Ambleside is just a short stroll away, home to a host of eateries, traditional old pubs serving an array of award-winning local ale, and a unique cinema where for the price of your ticket, you can enjoy a film, live jazz music and a lovely meal to boot.

With a good selection of shops, outdoor centres, galleries and a lovely park, Ambleside is a wonderful resort whatever the time of year.

Take a cruise down the lake to the bustling town of Bowness-on-Windermere where you’ll find the Lakes Aquarium in Lakeside great for little ones, or alternatively you can disembark at Brockhole and walk back to Ambleside over Wansfell, through pretty countryside.

With Rydal, Grasmere and Hawkshead an easy drive away, this is a great central Lakeland location for that well-deserved break with friends and family.


  • Mostly ground floor
  • Two upper ground floor bedrooms (6 steps from the ground floor): 1 x king-size double, 1 x twin
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting room with dining area and electric stove-effect fire
  • Summer room.
  • Gas central heating with electric stove
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, Smart HD TV with FreeSat, Blu-ray DVD, iPod dock, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 1 small/medium-sized car
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 4 mins walk
  • Note: There are 6 steps up from the lounge to the bedrooms and 2 steps to access property
  • Note: Although this is a pet-free property, the owners may occasionally stay with their dog
  • Note: This property is only suitable for children aged 12 and over
  • Please note - the designated parking place maneuverability is tight

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


Windermere 4 miles; Grasmere 4 mile; Keswick 15 miles.

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside

Region Information

Note: This property is only suitable for children aged 12 and over.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it