Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 12 minutes ago

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 11 View Image Gallery
  • Waterfall - Lake District - 1041644 - photo 1


(Ref. 1041644)

Ambleside, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (15)
  • location (12)
  • stay (11)
  • our (9)
  • great (9)
  • property (9)

31 Customer Reviews

  • "We needed some instructions for the Electric Hob."

    We contacted Sykes by phone when we could not get the Hob On and a very polite gentleman said he would contact somebody and they would call us or visit the property the following morning. We did not receive any further contact from the Sykes team and had to use our own initiative by searching the internet for Hob operating instructions. It was disappointing that nobody checked in with us to ensure we were able to prepare a Christmas dinner. So please prepare some clear simple written instructions for the Hob and place them with the oven instructions.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Dec 2023

  • "When we arrived the property had not been cleaned."

    I know these things happen and the problem was addressed very quickly once I informed you. It was just one of them things but it was difficult trying to explain this to my 3 young grandchildren. I’m just giving you honest feedback back. This was not your fault and would not put me off booking again. I use lakelovers a lot as you will know if you look at your history. Cheers Bryan.

    Thank you for your understanding and honest feedback. May I apologise profusely for the inconvenience of finding the property not ready for your arrival. I am so sorry but am glad to hear that it would not stop you booking again and I do hope you had an enjoyable stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Bryan3.4Aug 2023

  • "Beautiful location and accommodation far better than expected."

    We will be returning - thank you.

    Reviewed by Paula5.0Aug 2023

  • "Lovely accommodation, very spacious."

    Clean, and very comfortable. Loads of room. Lovely to hear the falls from the sitting room window.

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Aug 2023

  • "Generally it was a great property, shame there was no outdoor space."

    Could have been cleaner, Spiderwebs and Windows not very clean, waste bin was horrid, and found three chipped / Cracked glasses (could have been hidden by previous users). Hand shower head holder is fitted upside down, so will not tilt forward, easy to fix. When we arrived all the Windows and Veluxes were open, considering it was raining heavily the house was quite wet and very cold. Plenty of space for everyone to socialise.

    Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that you found the property cold and damp on arrival and for the other issues you listed. I do hope however that you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter4.4Jul 2023

  • "Just a little bit hard to find."

    Quite close to town but a bit of a climb back.

    Reviewed by Robert4.7Jun 2023

  • "Lovely stay, clean and well equipped."

    The waterfall gets very warm in hot weather. We were disappointed that keys for the safety catches on the windows in the lounge weren’t available. It made it a struggle to cool the living area. When we arrived the draw to the washing machine couldn’t be opened (blocked by trim under the worktop). We still used the machine by pouring liquid directly on clothes. On the last day the bottom of the machine shifted forward and needs attention. We called and advised lakelovers. It’s my second time in waterfall and I would use again.

    Reviewed by David4.4May 2023

  • "An excellent location to go and explore this beautiful part of the country."

    Perfect accommodation for 6 people, well equipped and set up for family fun. I would highly recommend this Appartment.

    Thank you for your comments, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you. The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nathan4.1May 2023

  • "Lovely property providing all essentials."

    beds very comfortable. nice views of the falls. nice touch with the wine and the card from the owners . only problem is the parking which is quite tight- hence scraped my car. not clear where 2nd parking space is however there is visitors space adjacent to other properties nearby. bear in mind if you take a dog there is nowhere to let rhe dog out other due to veing a 1st floor property, we used the nearby falls area. The property is on a steep bank we all managed it! however would not be suitable for anyone with walking difficulties. Ambleside town 5 min down the bank. overall enjoyed our stay. Thankyou :-)

    Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wohida4.4Mar 2023

  • "A great spot for our weekend stay in Ambleside."

    The apartment was very comfortable with a well-equipped kitchen and modern bathrooms. It was spotlessly clean. The Falls development is lovely and is a 10 minute walk from the town centre, so ideal for visiting the shops/restaurants in Ambleside and as a base for exploring the local area.

    Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Mar 2023

  • "Well located - peaceful but convenient for town with car parking for 2 cars!"

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Feb 2023

  • "Very disappointed to find a poor standard of cleanliness throughout with dirt hair and toilet tissue on the bathroom floors especially under wall mounted toilets and behind toilet doors."

    Smelly stained sofas covered in debris and hair. Carpets that were vacuumed with a full hoover bag which needed emptying so nothing is picked up and left a lingering foul smell. Food and debris under beds and sofas. The bedding in two out of the three bedrooms was stained and cobwebs in both bathrooms. A real shame becuase the location space and experience could be five stars if the cleaning was undertaken to an acceptable standard. We reported this to lakelovers immediately who were quick to respond, however they had to chase the owners which took a week and by that time we had checked out. Our 4th stay in Ambleside in the last 12 months and we will not return to Waterfall.

    I am so very sorry that you had this experience at our property. We take these issues very seriously and have given your feedback to our cleaning company so that they can ensure that this does not happen again. We do hope that you managed to have an enjoyable time in the Lake District despite this. Once again our heartfelt apologies. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin1.9Jan 2023

  • "We had a lovely time at Waterfall!"

    Will definitely recommend to others. It was spacious and the location was great!

    Thank you for your lovely feedback and we are so glad you had an enjoyable stay! Happy New Year! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Dec 2022

  • "Christmas 2023 had a lovely stay."

    The apartment was warm and spacious. The beds were extremely comfortable. Fantastic shower in the en-suite room. Great location with a short walk to the village. Welcome gifts of wine, biscuits and minced pies were a lovely surprise. Only negative was a persistent banging noise from apartment below who arrived two days before we left. Despite this we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely book again.

    I'm so glad to hear that you had a lovely time at Christmas and that you found the apartment warm, comfortable and convenient. I'm sorry however to hear of the noise from the apartment below and hope that it didn't spoil your stay too much. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patrick4.7Dec 2022

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at waterfall everything was great"

    We are so glad to hear you had a good stay at Waterfall! Happy New Year! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter4.7Dec 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay."

    The apartment was in a fabulous location and we had no issues at all. Would definitely return. However, I really don’t think this property had been deep cleaned. There was a large cobweb in the living room, and this was pointed out on one of the reviews. The floors could have done with a clean as well as the window in the kitchen. We still really enjoyed though and will return. Thank you

    Reviewed by Jean4.4Nov 2022

  • "Not really suitable with a dog."

    No outdoor space to let the fog out. Parking not very good either.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.4Oct 2022

  • "The cottage was very spacious, great location and had everything we needed."

    One small thing to note was some thick cobwebs that had clearly been there for a while and missed when cleaning. This didn’t detract in any way though for an excellent stay. Thank you.

    Thank you for your feedback and we’re so glad you enjoyed your stay! I can only apologise that it wasn’t quite cleaned to the required standard and will ensure that this feedback is passed on. We hope you will visit again in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin4.7Sep 2022

  • "Wow! This property is amazing no expense spared."

    This property was spotless the bed was so comfy too, will be coming back.

    Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Sep 2022

  • "The boiler broke down during our stay."

    Maintenance came straight away and assured us that there was an immersion heater so we would have hot water. That was not the case and there are no electric showers so we went 2 days with no hot water which was highly inconvenient. It took British Gas 2 days to get to us to fix the problem. May we suggest you provide alternative heating or take out better breakdown cover for future guests comfort.

    May I offer our sincere apologies for this inconvenience and I do hope that you were able to enjoy the rest of your holiday despite this. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Melanie5.0Aug 2022

  • "Everything as described but a lot better than the pictures."

    The location is stunning and parking right outside. Easy walk into the town, would highly recommend to anybody

    I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Ambleside! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Jun 2022

  • "Have been staying in Ambleside for many years."

    Absolutely loved this apartment. Very clean Good standard Great location Will definitely be back.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback! We’re so glad you enjoyed staying at our apartment in Ambleside and look forward to welcoming you back! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard5.0May 2022

  • "The property was well kept & modern."

    We felt it was better than what was advertised. A picture of outside would also be good.

    Thank you for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed your time in Ambleside. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gillian4.4Apr 2022

  • "On arrival at the property there was no heating or hot water with the boiler not firing, the TV did not work and one velux window in the lounge was broken (did not fully close) and blind was broken."

    Overall we had a pleasant stay and can see it is a well equipped apartment and very comfy beds, nice bathrooms, well equipped kitchen etc. Maintenance team did come quickly and we found them very helpful and although their first solution didn't last very long, we were able to relight the boiler ourselves.

    I am so sorry about the issues you had upon your arrival at Waterfall. I'm glad that the maintenance team were able to assist you quickly and I hope that you were able to enjoy your stay despite these issues. We are constantly trying to improve things at Waterfall for our guests' comfort and welcome all feedback. I'm glad you found the beds to be comfy and enjoyed these other aspects. We do hope you will return to Waterfall again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer4.1Feb 2022

  • "Amazing location, short walk into centre of Ambleside, all you need in a self catering apartment and more, comfy beds."

    Would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Samantha5.0Sep 2021

  • "Due to the accommodation allowing dogs, found that a through hovering of carpet had not been carried out."

    Ended up with dog hairs over clothes and furniture. As a hover was in the accommodation I used this and this resolved the problem. Apart from that the accommodation was excellent.

    Reviewed by Jennifer4.7Sep 2021

  • "Absolutely superb!"

    Delightful and very comfortable accommodation in a very convenient location. All the mod cons plus a few extra luxuries. We could not have asked for more. Thank you!

    Reviewed by Hugh5.0Aug 2021

  • "We all had a lovely stay at Waterfall Cottage in Ambleside."

    The huge double bed in the main bedroom was incredibly comfortable! The short stroll downhill into Ambleside, with it’s shops, cafes and restaurants, was a real bonus. The only slight shame was a lack of any outside space, but we loved the sound of rushing water from the falls at night. Our family of 5 would definitely recommend this Lakelovers Cottage to friends and family looking for a central stay in the Lakes.

    Reviewed by Nicola4.7Aug 2021

  • "The apartment was lovely and clean and in an excellent location."

    Rooms were all a good size and everything we needed was provided. A couple of very small issues. For some reason the temperature of the showers could not be altered regardless of which lever was turned. It was either very hot or nothing. Also the towels provided had a bit of a nasty, damp smell to them, like they needed to be rinsed and treated with fabric conditioner. Apart from that, everything was great.

    Reviewed by Howard4.7Jul 2021

  • "Superficially the apartment was clean but dishwasher had been left full of dirty ..."

    Superficially the apartment was clean but dishwasher had been left full of dirty plates and food with broken glass sitting in the filter , it needed salt and rinse aid which I sorted , crumbs in toaster and on worktop , dirty pans in cupboard too wasn't great but apart from that everything was ok

    Reviewed by Darren3.1May 2021

  • "Everything including the weather was perfect."

    I liked the position of the property a very pleasant walk into Ambleside.

    Mrs ReedMay 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Over 1 floor
  • 3 x bedrooms; 1 x king size with en suite facilities, 1 x king size, 1 x twin bedroom
  • Family bathroom
  • Lounge, Kitchen, Dining area
  • WiFi
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven, halogen hob, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine/dryer
  • Full size fridge/freezer
  • Bed linen and towels provided
  • Private parking for 2 cars
  • 1 well behaved dog welcome
  • Short walk to village centre, Easy access to local footpaths
  • A minimum of a 3 night stay.

The property

Waterfall is one of a number of luxury residences forming part of the acclaimed 'Falls' development and has been finished to exacting standards by its owners.

The property is a modern and relaxing Lakeland getaway located just a short distance from the centre of the vibrant village of Ambleside.

Sleeping up to six guests over three bedrooms, Waterfall is a spacious apartment perfect for families or groups of friends who are looking for a fabulous place to relax and have fun after a day out and about in the very heart of the Lake District. Ambleside is around a ten minute stroll away with its collection of shops, cafes, local pubs and eateries.

Waterfall is a great base from which to explore the Lake District all year round, as well as access to the village, there are plenty of walks to temp you, departing directly from the cottage door.

Follow in the footsteps of William Wordsworth by taking a walk along the shores of Rydal Water to Grasmere, drink in the amazing views from nearby Loughrigg Fell or Wansfell and for those who are looking for adventure, why not head off to the towering skyline of the Fairfield Horseshoe.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Grasmere 4.4 miles; Windermere 4.7 miles; Keswick 16.7 miles.

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas