Don’t miss our Summer Sale

Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outSave up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

1 of 23 View Larger Image
  • Beech Grove Lodge - Lake District - 1068881 - photo 1
close

Beech Grove Lodge

Glade 17, Fallbarrow Park near Bowness on Windermere, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 1068881)

4.7

Excellent

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

21 Customer Reviews

  • "Fabulous lodge ."

    Absolutely spotless . Lovely big bedrooms . Great location on the park and very private patio which was spacious

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Beech Grove, and we hope that you would return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AnneJul 2022

  • "Was really hot while we were there definitely could have done with a fan, ..."

    Was really hot while we were there definitely could have done with a fan, everything else was brilliant really enjoyed our stay and we have booked for next June

    Many thanks for submitting your valued feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Beech Grove and that you have booked again for next year. Please accept our apologies for the lack of a fan in the property. We completely understand the importance of this, especially in the heat we are currently experiencing and will ensure that one is installed straight away. We look forward to welcoming you back next June. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SusanJul 2022

  • "Okay lodge in nice part of the park."

    All nice and clean and beds were very comfortable and shower good and powerful. As mentioned in previous reviews settee was uncomfortable and cushions get sliding forward making you nearly slide off chair. Disappointed that there wasn't a welcome pack on arrival so couldn't even make a cuppa after the long journey, a little thing which would have made a big difference.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear of how much you enjoyed your stay in Beech Grove Lodge. Thank you for making us aware of the issue with the sofa, this will be looked into and for your recommendation of a welcome pack. We do hope you will return and visit us again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JonJul 2022

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your Lodge."

    It was super comfortable and spacious and very clean. The decking was very useful for the kids esp and the setting for the Lodge felt safe for our 2 kids age 4 and 6. A bath sheet and small towel would be useful in the Main bedroom for the adults as we found bigger towel provided was too small

    Thank you for your feedback, we are so pleased to hear of how much you enjoyed the lodge. Following your comments on the towels, these will be passed to our Head Housekeeper for her to discuss with the owner. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ClodaghApr 2022

  • "The property is set in an ideal low position in fallbarrow on arrival it was warm and clean and had everything you need for your holiday , the double bed is very comfortable , a couple of minor things could be improved the 2 seater sofa in front of the tv seat cushions keep sliding forward causing you to slide off the sofa "very annoying " the living room tv needs to be updated there aren't many tv channels I always bring my firestick and an external hard drive but there was no usb port or spare 240v socket ,a hoover would of made tidying more easy than a carpet sweeper."

    I've been staying at fallbarrow for 20yrs in lodges this definitely is one of the best and made our holiday very comfortable 5*

    Hi Steven. Thanks for the great feedback and even more so for the suggestions. The sofa issue is one we've tried to resolve and will have another go. As for the TV we are planning to install a smart TV as soon as the wifi on the site has been brought up to standard and can take advantage of the additional channels and features now available. We have a hoover and will make it available - unfortunately the charger went missing and we needed to replace it. Hope you'll return again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by StevenFeb 2022

  • "We stayed for four nights over a Feb half Term."

    The park is in an amazing location, just a short stroll to everything Bowness on Windermere has to offer. The cabin was lovely, very comfortable and modern. It was exceptionally clean too. Both bathrooms were lovely and modern. We had trouble adjusting the temperature of the en-suite shower which was permanently too hot so we started to use the shower over bath instead. It wasn’t a big deal for us. The beds were very comfortable and we all had a good nights sleep. The kitchen was very well kitted out with everything we needed during our stay. A few cushions on the sofa would have been appreciated though! All in all great break away - we would definitely return in the future.

    Thank you for your valued feedback. We appreciate your kind words and your recommendations of a few cushions on the sofa which was a policy during COVID restrictions. With these easing, we will be putting the cushions out again. It would also be our please to welcome you back. The shower controls were recently replaced, but we will take another look at this and we're really sorry you weren't able to use the shower. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SheridanFeb 2022

  • "Very comfortable lodge in a super location."

    Warm for those winder nights and very close to all amenties in Boweness and good walking trails.

    Thank you for your valued feedback. We are pleased to note that you were happy with the lodge and managed to use many of the amenities and walks in the Lake District. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JamesDec 2021

  • "We stayed 5-8 November."

    The property perfect for us as we had 92 year old parent with us so needed one level. Spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. Ideal for short walks into Bowness or drive out into the Lakes. Would definitely stay again.

    Thank you for you positive feedback, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SharonNov 2021

  • "We were absolutely delighted at our stay."

    This was a special break, being our honeymoon and David and Jackie went above and beyond! Would highly recommend & we can’t wait to return! Great property, beautiful location, easily accessible and simply perfect! Thanks to David for helping us arrange the most relaxing honeymoon. It was everything we wanted and more!

    Thank you for positive and valued feedback. We are very pleased to hear that your honeymoon was helped to make a special time by the owners. We look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LorraineOct 2021

  • "Beautiful settings on the Park which is situated in a great location."

    The lodge was better that expected it is in a great location on the park is very clean, comfortable and well maintained. I would definitely stay there again. Your booking service is easy to use and I would definitely book through you again and I will be recommending your company and Beech Grove Lodge to family and friends.

    Thank you for the review following your recent stay to Beech Grove Lodge. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and would stay again! It really is a great lodge and an excellent location. We look forward to you returning in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MargaretAug 2021

  • "Really nice accommodation, great location so close to all amenities and Bowness centre, in a few minutes of walking."

    The interior was extremely clean and inviting, all rooms a very good size, kitchen well equipped. I marked ‘cleanliness’ down a mark purely on the exterior porch area which had not been cleaned therefore, we did this ourselves. 15 minutes closer attention would’ve prevented this comment. We were blessed with amazing weather and was very hot, so much so, we struggled to sleep, the provision of a couple cheap fans would have prevented some discomfort and this is why I marked ‘comfort’ down a mark. The beds were however, very comfy, the bathrooms and showers excellent. The location felt secure and safe, the driveway was off road, ideal for hiding away our mountain bikes. It’s easy to focus on the negatives, they were minor in comparison to everything else which was perfect. I’d definitely recommend and be back. 9/10

    Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear of how much you enjoyed your stay. We take your further comments onboard and we will pass these to the independent cleaner and the owner for their information. That said, we do hope they did not impact on your stay too much and you will return for another wonderful stay soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BruceJun 2021

  • "Lovely lodge for exploring the Lake District, has everything you need for a comfortable stay."

    Reviewed by AlwenaJun 2021

  • "Very happy with the stay, fantastic location."

    Lost power for a few hours but this was quickly resolved. We will likely come back again.

    Reviewed by JessicaJun 2021

  • "A very clean and comfortable lodge."

    Only two minor gripes, the WiFi is almost non existent and the outside decking area needs cleaning and made a bit more user friendly.

    Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent visit to Beech Grove Lodge and we are pleased that you had a good stay. Thank you for making us aware of the issues with the WiFi, as advised, the WiFi is complimentary and provided by the park. We have passed your comments to the Park Management and we can only apologise for the inconvenience caused. With regards to the outside space, we am pleased to let you know that we are arranging for the decking to be replaced in the coming weeks as we are conscious that it has deteriorated in recent years. We hope you will visit us again in the future and fully enjoy the outside space. Property Owner

    Reviewed by WendyMay 2021

  • "Excellent location and good standard accommodation but comparing the lodge with previous experiences elsewhere not ' Prestige ' as advertised."

    The major disappointment was the condition of the outdoor space, very wore and tired and had obviously not been recently cleaned. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Location What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Lake Cruise

    Mr Paul MessengerApr 2021

  • "First time in the Lake District, perfect cabin, much bigger than expected and the bed was an absolute DREAM, especially when returning from long walks."

    Would highly recommend, perfectly situated as well, short walk from all the amenities and places you've likely booked to eat / drink What did you enjoy most about your stay? The bed What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? The 14km walk up and along Hellvellyn, from Swirls car park by Thirlmere - we got the last proper spot at 10:30am, so go earlier!

    Mr Stoirm ArnoldOct 2020

  • "Had a fabulous time, weather was hot and sunny when we arrived."

    The location of the lodge was great, only a short walk into town. Been many times before and this visit was as good as previous visits, will be back hopefully in October. What did you enjoy most about your stay? The location being so close to the town and the lake What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Any one of the river cruises

    Mrs Wendy McGroryAug 2020

  • "I would highly recommend staying at beach grove lodge, it was a great experience and a lovely place to stay."

    Plenty of bars and restaurants to visit great for the night life, ideal for couples and family outings as there are lovely places to walk and view the lake side views. Everyone is really welcoming and we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely be visiting again. What did you enjoy most about your stay? The atmosphere at the lodge What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Experience the walks

    Mr Vijay ChhanaAug 2020

  • "Lovely lodge."

    Home from home. In a great location only 5 minutes walk into Bowness centre. Would return to this lodge. What did you enjoy most about your stay? The quietness and location What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? It?s nice and peaceful on the park but have the choice to go into town

    Miss Dawn WebsterJul 2020

  • "Had a lovely time."

    Cottage beautiful, excellent location. Everything you could need was there . Thank you What did you enjoy most about your stay? Excellent location for bars and restaurants What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Walk to the lake, ferry trip. The Boatery bar ,

    Mrs Louise DrysdaleMar 2020

  • "Just back from Beech grove lodge lovely clean warm lodge best I have stayed at."

    Everything you could need for a great stay. What did you enjoy most about your stay? One of the best lodges What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? A walk around tarn hows

    Mrs Denise VickersJan 2020

Show more

This property is part of the Lake District Lodge Holidays collection.
From the moment you arrive in the Lake District there is a huge choice of activities and things to see as you take in Britain’s latest World Heritage Site – it’s the only National Park to be recognised for such status.

Summary

  • All-ground-floor
  • Two bedrooms 1 x king with newly refurbished en-suite shower room, 1 x twin
  • Family bathroom with bath, over bath shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living area with electric fire, TV, feature fire place, 2 x sofas, kitchen with 5 ring hob, Decking with outdoor furniture
  • A barbecue slab is provided but please bring your own disposable barbecue and dispose of it appropriately,
  • Full gas central heating
  • Gas hob and electric oven, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, microwave
  • WIFI provided by Fallbarrow Park, newly installed decking with outdoor furniture
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent (please bring your own leisure towels)
  • Parking for two cars
  • Please note, charging of electric vehicles is not permitted in this lodge, The nearest charging point can be found at Booths Supermarket in Windermere
  • Sorry no smoking and no pets
  • Shop on site: 500 yards, Shop in village: 0.2 mile, Pub on site: 500 yards, Pub in village: 0.2 mile
  • WiFi is complimentary and provided for personal use only and is not intended for high data usage, gaming and/or use for business purposes
  • Complimentary WiFi is provided by the park and subject to fair usage guidelines, Quality and reliability of connection will vary based on the number of people using it, prevailing weather conditions and therefore may be limited or slower than you are used to, WiFi is for personal use only and is not intended for high data usage, gaming and/or use for business purposes, This is only suitable for page browsing and sending emails, Bookings cannot be accepted if they are solely reliant on the provision of uninterrupted and unlimited Wi-Fi, We are not held responsible or liable for the WiFi on the park
  • If you encounter any issues with the WiFi, please contact Fallbarrow Park reception.

The property

Beech Grove Lodge is a spacious and modern lodge located in the popular and quieter Glade area of the desirable Fallbarrow Park.

Just a short walk from the clubhouse, this two bedroomed lodge is perfect for couples or a family looking for a relaxing get away.

Stepping into the large open plan living/dining/kitchen space, you will be instantly relaxed and ready to start your break.

The kitchen is fully equipped to make a delicious meal then settle down to play some games or watch a film.

Down the hall, two bedrooms and the family bathroom can be found.

Step out onto the large decking area (newly installed) situated at the back of the lodge with seating so you can relax in private on a summer evening.

Fallbarrow Park sits on the eastern short of Lake Windermere, in a picturesque woodland setting with views across the lake and up to the fells all around.

The bustling, cosmopolitan village of Bowness-on-Windermere is 0.2 miles walk away handy for many shops, bars and restaurants.

From Bowness Pier you can start an unforgettable day out on the water with Windermere Lake Cruises – board a beautiful cruiser and hop on and off or rent a canoe or a motorboat.

If you wish to stay closer to your lodge, Fallbarrow has on site bar, restaurant, deli, as well as a children’s play area, beer garden, picnic area and woodland walks.

Further afield, drive up to Windermere village – two miles away, or the bustling market town of Ambleside four miles away and you are only four miles from Troutbeck village at the foot of the Kirkstone Pass which winds its way up over the high fells and then down to Ullswater.

A beautiful spot to make memories with your family and friends.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

BOWNESS-ON-WINDERMERE

Windermere Train Station 1.5 miles: Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 7 miles.

The vibrant twin towns of Bowness and Windermere hold enduring appeal for visitors to the Lake District National Park, with each providing a range of nearby attractions, amenities, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes. A variety of boat trips and boat hire are available from Windermere Lake Cruises in Bowness to Brockhole, Ambleside and Lakeside (at the southern end of the lake where the Lakeside Aquarium and the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway are situated). The World of Beatrix Potter attraction and the Old Laundry theatre are 1.5 miles away. Orrest Head, where Alfred Wainwright was inspired to write his series of iconic guidebooks, is a 30-minute walk to enjoy the spectacular panorama of far-reaching views over the lake and surrounding fells. Brockhole, which offers high wire tree top experiences, is less than two miles away, and the historic villages of Grasmere, Ambleside and Troutbeck are a short drive away. There are also a variety of watersports on offer for the more energetic at marine centres along the lake. The area is ideally situated for exploring all that this region has to offer, whether by foot, bike, car, railway or bus; and is within easy reach of attractions such as the spectacular Langdales, Beatrix Potter’s Hill Top House at Far Sawrey, Coniston, Grizedale Forest Park, with its delightful walks and famous outdoor sculptures, mountain biking and “Go-Ape” adventure park, Ullswater, Kendal, Keswick, stone circles, Roman forts and England's highest mountain, Scafell Pike.

View more holiday cottages in Bowness-on-windermere

Region Information

Beech Grove Lodge is accessed by 4 steps. The lodge is then all on the same ground floor level.

A travel cot will fit in the twin bedroom only. Please bring your own travel cot and highchair as they are not provided.

Fallbarrrow Park management lock the entrance gates at midnight. If you are arriving after midnight, please call the night warden.

Please note, charging of electric vehicles is not permitted in this lodge. The nearest charging point can be found at Booths Supermarket in Windermere.

Park Rules and Operations – Fallbarrow

All holiday parks are owned and managed by a separate company to ourselves. Lake District Lodge Holidays has no association with the owners of these parks or responsibility for the provision of services they offer. At certain times of year, there maybe a reduction in those services, which is outside of our control.

Commercial vehicles, caravans, camper vans, Hen or Stag parties are not permitted onsite. Dogs must be kept on leads at all times and are not be left alone in the lodges at any point during your stay.

You will be staying on an operational holiday park, which means work may be undertaken from time to time by the park owners during your stay. Although Lake District Lodge Holidays will always try to inform guests in advance if something may impact on a stay and if we have prior knowledge. We cannot be held responsible or accept any liability for park operations of which are outside of our control and which we have no knowledge of.

Any issues relating to a stay at a privately owned lodge should be reported back through Lake District Lodge Holidays as the park are not responsible for managing the lodge or booking for private sublet guests during their stay.

Complimentary WiFi is provided by the park and subject to fair usage guidelines. Quality and reliability of connection will vary based on the number of people using it, prevailing weather conditions and therefore may be limited or slower than you are used to. WiFi is for personal use only and is not intended for high data usage, gaming and/or use for business purposes, This is only suitable for page browsing and sending emails. Bookings cannot be accepted if they are solely reliant on the provision of uninterrupted and unlimited Wi-Fi, We are not held responsible or liable for the WiFi on the park. If you encounter any issues with the WiFi, please contact Fallbarrow Park reception.

There is a Good Housekeeping Bond of £100 for this property.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Off-season
  • Christmas