In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 1 minutes ago

13 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 19 View Image Gallery
  • 2 Beacon High - Lake District - 1537 - photo 1
close

2 Beacon High

(Ref. 1537)

Lindale, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.8

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (26)
  • lovely (21)
  • bed (11)
  • our (10)
  • well (10)
  • comfortable (10)

35 Customer Reviews

  • "Delightful place."

    Well equipped and very comfortable. Would definitely like to go back next year.

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Dec 2023

  • "Lovely cottage and would come back again and again"

    Thank you, it makes it all worthwhile. David and Brenda Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alexandra5.0Nov 2023

  • "This was a little gem, in a quieter area of The Lake District, but with places to visit nearby: Grange, Cartmel, Sizergh, village pub, etc."

    More spacious than we’d expected, warm and cosy - and two bathrooms was a bonus. Lovely housekeeper. The only problem we had was getting the logs to burn; fortunately had brought some well seasoned with us.

    Reviewed by Valerie5.0Nov 2023

  • "This is a lovely villa suitable for a couple or small family."

    Located in the village of Lindale, which is a bit lacking in facilities, but the location is ideal for the lakes and Grange-upon-Sands. Cartmel would be recommended for food / eats close by, Grange is larger, but we found better quality in Cartmel. This house has a convenient layout, is well stocked in terms of utensils and plates / crockery etc. Has a lovely sunny patio with 2 tables. Very private garden. It is missing a coffee machine (we took our own - so not an issue) and you need to bring your own towels (also not an issue). Everything else was there, and it was an easy stay. Parking the car is a bit tricky (as advertised) but you can also easily park on the street a short walk from the property. We'd revisit this property, and really enjoyed our stay there.

    Reviewed by Mike4.4Aug 2023

  • "Hi the cottage was lovely easy access just narrow wee road but u expect that in a beautiful little village but still east to get in and out own parking space the garden was lovely and very private it was a little secret garden beautiful when sun is out but it could do with a little cut back not a lot but still stunning."

    The cottage was spotless everything easy at hand good mobile service. The bedrooms where clean and very comfortable overall beautiful cottage we will definitely be back next year I would recommend this cottage

    Reviewed by Veronica5.0Jul 2023

  • "I booked a four week stay at 2 Beacon High and I cannot thank David and Brenda enough for the care and thoughtfulness they have put into ensuring their holiday cottage has all that is required for a comfortable and lengthy stay."

    I never wanted for, or needed anything extra to enjoy my stay there. 2 Beacon High and its owners, David and Brenda, made my stay feel very homely and comfortable, and I would not hesitate in recommending their lovely cottage for any length of stay.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Mar 2023

  • "Really Nice Cottage house ."

    We had great break with my family. I highly recommend that:)

    Reviewed by Agnieszka5.0Dec 2022

  • "We had a wonderful time at this property."

    It was as described, lovely and quiet and perfect for a short break with the family exploring the local area, reading and playing games by the open fire. The owners were lovely, we suffered a mishap (my fault entirely) and they couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful.

    Reviewed by Ema5.0Oct 2022

  • "Very good nice and quiet clean cottage nothing bad to say all round excellent."

    Reviewed by John5.0Sep 2022

  • "The cottage was very nice, comfortable and clean."

    The pressure in the shower is very strong which we liked. I would recommend taking extra towels or your own bath mat as the shower door tends to leak. Views from the main bedroom are lovely. WiFi and internet worked fine. It's a perfect base to explore the Lake District.

    Reviewed by Louise4.1Aug 2022

  • "Great location, lovely garden, comfy beds and great bed linen."

    However, generally, the cottage could do with some paint and both bathrooms would benefit from extractor fans which could be fitted in the glass, as clearly the walls are too thick. We did open the windows when using the shower, but the obviously mouldy walls, particularly in the downstairs shower room were unpleasant to see. Our main issue is the kitchen. The roller blind at the window was presumably broken as it was taped up. The wooden worktops were frankly disgusting….a gluey surface which things stuck to and you felt were never clean. The oven wasn’t clean and apart from the grill pan we could not find a simple baking sheet to use. We had to wash every pan, as some had food adhered to them. In fact I hand washed or dishwasher cleaned everything before we used it! All used linen which we were instructed to put in the yellow bags under the stairs, had to be left on the floor in the bedrooms as the yellow bags under the stairs were stuffed full and I had no intention of investigating the contents!!

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review, and we are sorry that you felt disappointed. The character property was built in the 1860s and so the walls are thick, but I can confirm there is no mould anywhere. We do supply an array of kitchen utensils including a baking tray. We do apologise if the linen was not collected before your arrival and will ensure this doesn't happen again, thanks for letting us know. Sykes cottages do have a dedicated help line for any guests staying at the property and we are sorry that on this occasion you did not contact anyone during your stay as we would have been able to reassure you regarding the bathrooms and also take the linen away immediately. The kitchen blind is held with ribbons and operates as it should, and the kitchen has been checked thoroughly as per our usual high standard cleaning protocol. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paula3.1Jun 2022

  • "Excellent. Plenty of room and very clean."

    We had no problems at all. It was well equipped. The property was in an ideal position for what we planned to to do. It is away from the hustle and bustle of the central lakes, but easy to get to when we needed to. Would use the property again and recommend.

    Reviewed by David5.0Jun 2022

  • "Beautiful cottage in a peaceful location."

    Cosy and warm with everything you need and a lovely garden too. Open fire with a basket of logs and kindling was also a real bonus for cold evenings. Didn’t want to leave :-)

    Thanks for your kind comments, which we really appreciate. It makes it all worth while. Brenda and David. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amy5.0May 2022

  • "This is a lovely holiday cottage, very well looked after by its owners, with many thoughtful extras that make you feel comfortable."

    We loved that we could cook and relax as if we were at home. The owners clearly care about their guests as we were left a lovely welcome message and a small issue we had with the WiFi was dealt with very promptly. We’d love to visit again in the summer and enjoy the beautiful garden. Thank you David and Brenda.

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Dec 2021

  • "One of the sky light blinds in the twin bedroom is missing, other than that it is a lovely homely cottage and we really enjoyed our stay."

    Thank you for your recent feedback, feedback is important to us. Just to let you know that the blinds have now been replaced at 2 Beacon High. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nick4.7Oct 2021

  • "The cottage is very nice and cosy."

    Just maybe a better signposting, especially for arriving in the evening and maybe switching to another internet provider for a better wi fi connection. Thank you.

    We appreciate your comments. We have updated the router on Wifi and ensured that the house number is now more obvious. Property Owner

    Reviewed by marius4.7Dec 2020

  • "Better sign posting of cottage, possibly name of cottage on the end of parking space."

    Would have liked to have known that the pub had restricted opening hours. Lovely cottage, nice & warm, open fire was great, a little more kindling would have helped. Location was ideal but would suggest that if you are not a walker, it might not be for you. Would stay again & would reccomend it.

    Reviewed by Cliff3.8Sep 2020

  • "Lovely cottage with a pretty garden to sit out in."

    Bigger than appears in the photos & very clean. Would happily stay here again. Few tiny things need attention - microwave turntable doesn’t turn & bathroom door upstairs is getting very sticky. We found the beds rather soft but know that is personal thing. The barbecue was tucked away under covers in the shed so not sure if that’s useable or not. No info on it in the welcome pack. Kitchen equipment was good but sharp knife could do with replacing & some larger saucepans or wok / higher sided frying pan would be handy for one pot meals. There were only 2 of us so kitchen / diner worked well but might be a bit tight for 4 if all moving around at the same time. WiFi was fine but signal for an EE phone was patchy in the house. Vodafone was fine. Excellent location for accessing the Southern Lakes, Arnside & the Cumbrian coast. Had a lovely short walk on Humphrey Head for brilliant views of Morecambe Bay. It is in a village & there is a little road noise & cockerels locally so not for those seeking isolation! Happily recommend this property. We had a brilliant holiday.

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Sep 2020

  • "Loved the cottage,the key is tricky to get especially if it’s dark, the double bed needs replacing,not very comfortable,but having said that there is everything you could possibly want,spotlessly clean and cosy,we wished it would have been cold enough to light the fire!"

    ! Would stay again

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to say the double bed has been replaced and you are welcome back anytime. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marie5.0Sep 2020

  • "Cottage was very nice apart from cockeral in adjoining property awaken us at 3."

    30 each morning as we were sleeping in back bedroom.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Mar 2020

  • "On first impressions on seeing the climb up to the house from the carpark set me back a bit being 76yrs old but I had to admit after a week here I lost weight and felt great, second impression, on opening the door we were taken back a step, the house was brilliant in every way, big rooms and well presented we have never been in a cottage that had large bedrooms and the beds were very comfortable."

    We really enjoyed our stay there.

    Reviewed by Brian5.0Oct 2019

  • "This is a lovely cottage!"

    We really enjoyed our time here. The cottage is actually bigger than the pictures make it seem and its very homely. The kitchen is well equipped. Lots of interesting books, games and information left in the bookcase, and an excellent base to see the rest of the lake district. Its in a very quiet village, which has a lovely relaxed family friendly pub within 5 mins walk that serves a very good Sunday lunch. we have a child with autism and she needs quiet and her own space, this gave her both and she managed to totally relax while there, in fact she really didn't want to come home! The only thing i would change are the curtains in the children's room. They are very thin and let the morning light in. We got over that by using our spare towels but they could really use some thicker curtains with black out material. i would definitely book it again.

    Reviewed by Tammy5.0Aug 2019

  • "Unfortunately the directions to the cottage was inaccurate the mention of the ..."

    Unfortunately the directions to the cottage was inaccurate the mention of the Lonsdale Inn caused confusion after trying in vain to locate it We were informed that it had been demolished recently

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. The directions have now been reviewed and updated. If we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Relations team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Francis5.0Jun 2019

  • "This was our third visit to Beacon High so we knew to expect high standards!"

    We found everything great, just one small comment. All the drinking glasses are really small - maybe the large ones have been broken over the years, so we had to buy a large one for my husband to use as a water glass. Apart from that, the cottage is in a great location for exploring the southern lakes and Grange has a lovely cafe where we enjoyed several lunches and could buy their homemade dinners to take home and heat up. Also a great range of cakes to eat in or take home for later. Great chocolate shop just up the road too!

    Reviewed by Stephanie5.0May 2019

  • "Really beautiful house in a small quiet village."

    It has a pretty front garden that is well looked after with a table and chair that we used for having breakfast outside. The house has been recently renovated and is very comfortable and clean. The only thing that I would suggest to improve the staying would be to provide towels (at least for the hands). Even though it was noted in advance, it is quite inconvenient to bring your own. In general we had a very pleasant time and we would definitely like to come back!

    Reviewed by Irene4.7Apr 2019

  • "We had a lovely stay."

    We felt very comfortable straight away. Great to have another bathroom downstairs with the shower for my Mum. Everything was well thought out - the little tags with information were helpful - especially to find the pans/sauce pans under the oven, as the drawer was deceptive! Do a little homework before you get there to locate the house as I didn’t and instead my satnav took us just short of the property. We got there late at night and I had to rely on the GPS receiver on my phone to get us there In the dark. If I had checked properly on a map we would have got there there straight away! Property feels in a secure, beautiful location. With easy access to and from the property to quickly get on major routes to explore the Lakes.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Oct 2018

  • "Pretty village location with plenty to do in the immediate area."

    We enjoyed a high level of privacy whilst at the cottage, essential to us while on holiday. The Royal Oak in the village serves excellent meals ( booking is essential) and everyone was very welcoming. A regular bus service operates to Grange -Over - Sands and Kendal should you want to take a break from driving/ walking. All in all a very good week, the weather too, apart from one day,was fabulous.

    Reviewed by Douglas5.0Sep 2018

  • "Cottage was lovely - a little hard to find initially - perhaps could do with name of house at bottom of drive."

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Aug 2018

  • "Just that the cot we requested was a travel cot which was kept under the stairs."

    It smelled very musty and looked unclean. My daughter who had her 5 month old baby with her felt she couldn't possibly use it because of the smell etc. Fortunately she only planned to stop two nights with us and the baby had to sleep in a single bed with her which was not ideal. Other than that it was a lovely house and we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anybody.

    Reviewed by Mark4.4Aug 2018

  • "Lovely holiday cottage, nice quiet location near to village shop & pubs."

    Had everything we needed, was very comfortable and clean. Very close to Lake Windermere and lots of other great locations. There is also a bus route that operates through the village. Only problem we had was with opening the key safe. Would recommend.

    Reviewed by Susan4.4May 2018

  • "We found this cottage ideal for our needs ."

    Quiet, close to other areas we wished to visit.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Mar 2018

  • "It was absolut fantastic."

    Reviewed by Ines4.8Aug 2017

  • "Lovely cottage in lindale,bigger than we expected."

    Met all our needs over the Christmas break.

    Reviewed by Jennifer3.8Dec 2016

  • "The cottage better than we expected."

    The pictures don't do it justice. Just one small suggestion - would have been nice if a hairdryer was provided. It didn't occur to me that there wouldn't be one as all the cottages I've rented in the past have.

    Reviewed by John5.0Sep 2016

  • "Lovely cottage, perfectly located for visiting the Lakes and Cartmel Races."

    The boys loved their bedroom - it was huge! It was a delight to sit in the traditional kitchen every morning, planning our days out. We would definitely come here again.

    Reviewed by Jason4.6Aug 2016

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • First floor bathroom with bath, shower over bath, basin and WC
  • Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Large kitchen/diner with fully fitted and well-equipped kitchen and cosy dining area
  • Spacious sitting room with open fire and feature window.
  • Gas central heating with open fire
  • Electric cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, Smart TV with Freeview, DVD, CD player, speaker, radio, WiFi, library of books and games
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for open fire inc. in rent
  • Bed linen inc. in rent
  • Towels not included
  • Off road parking for one car with additional on street parking adjacent to the property
  • The parking on the lane is narrow and we request that you park considerately
  • There is a public car park close by which can also be used for additional vehicles
  • Enclosed mature garden with patio, garden furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Lakes walking guide book included
  • Pub 6 mins walk
  • Please note: this property only accepts 7 night bookings as a minimum
  • Please note: property does not allow infants or children under 12 years old

The property

A truly delightful property!

This charming semi-detached cottage nestles in a quiet position in the traditional south Lakeland village of Lindale, now a UNESCO World Heritage Site, 3 miles from Grange-over-Sands.

The cottage seamlessly combines original features and little 'nooks and crannies' with modern comforts, to provide comfortable, bright and airy accommodation.

Outside there's a beautiful cottage garden and patio, ideal for warm summer evenings.

It's a great location too - the coast is nearby and Lake Windermere is just a short drive away.

With lovely views and many walks from the doorstep this is an idyllic retreat to be enjoyed throughout the year!

Please note: This property only accepts 7 night bookings as a minimum.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

LINDALE

Grange-over-Sands 2 miles; Cartmel 3.6 miles; Windermere 12 miles.

Lindale, a small village situated in the south of The Lake District National Park, now a UNESCO World Heritage Site and just a few miles from Lake Windermere, makes the area a perfect holiday destination. Set amidst the charm of The Southern Lakes, this attractive village, with handy gastropub, The Royal Oak, makes an inspiring choice from which to enjoy the whole of this magical area. Just a few minutes drive brings you to Cartmel, a delightful village to wander around, famed for its delicious sticky toffee pudding, 12th century priory, National Hunt race meetings and gourmet restaurants. You could also visit Grange-over-Sands, a charming seaside Edwardian town. Take a stroll on the promenade and return through the quaint narrow streets with some lovely tea rooms and specialist shops including a bakery, chocolatiers, and award winning butchers. The Lake District has so much to offer, there is sailing on Windermere, cycling in The Grizedale Forest, Go Ape Treetop adventures, Birdwatching at Leighton Moss and The Foulshaw Osprey Experience. There are also stately homes at Holker Hall, Levens Hall and Sizergh Castle and a heritage steam railway which runs from Haverthwaite to Lakeside. The Arnside and Silverdale Area of Outstanding Beauty is also a short journey away. But leaving the best till last, walking or touring in the fabulous Lake District, with its fells, lakes and tarns is an absolute must, most of which is just a short drive or walk away.

May we politely ask that you use energy sensibly - Little things like turning off lights when you leave the room, think when you turn up the heating, and only using dishwashers when full and at the appropriate temperature setting, all contribute towards more sustainable holidays and positively impact the environment.