Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 12 View Image Gallery
  • Crook Lodge - Lake District - 937354 - photo 1

Crook Lodge

(Ref. 937354)

Allithwaite near Grange-over-Sands, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Electric vehicle charging
  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lodge (44)
  • hot (36)
  • hot tub (34)
  • tub (34)
  • stay (26)
  • lovely (25)

74 Customer Reviews

  • "Much better than the adjoining property, cleanliness was acceptable but issues with TV reception on last night was awful."

    Sofa not the most comfortable and we actually used the outside furniture as it was more comfortable We enjoyed the stay and would consider another visit unlike the attached property

    Reviewed by Phillip3.1Jun 2024

  • "We have stayed in Crook Lodge on several occasions, after our visit in October I telephoned Sykes with some observations regarding some maintenance."

    On our arrival last week some of the things were the same!! I feel the lodge is starting to look quite tired (nearly all the crockery has chips in), there is still no plug to the kitchen sink (nor is there a washing up bowl), the lights in the bathroom mirror do not work and although we were not in the lodge that often the tv was next to useless- no signal at all most of the time!! When you pay these prices, things should be spot on. We were quite disappointed overall

    Reviewed by Jill3.1May 2024

  • "Great place to stay."

    Would be nice to have a few staples in kitchen like oil for cooking, more than one roll of toilet paper, etc Would've also been great to have a cover of some sort over the hot tub whe it rains. Overall, a very nice place to stay!

    Reviewed by Stephen4.7Apr 2024

  • "More light needed by the hot tub."

    .maybe on the wooden posts it seemed very dark. That's my only criticism otherwise excellent stay....

    Reviewed by Jackie4.7Mar 2024

  • "Had a lovely 5 night stay here, the place was clean, tidy and has everything you needed inside."

    Only downsides were the duevet had stains on it, when we arrived the fridge tray on the door was partly broken and obviously it broke fully on us. It was also made to look like it was one lodge untill we got there and it was semi- detached which should be made more obvious because the last coulple of days we had some very noisy neighbours walking and running around the lodge! One of the pictures showed infront of the lodge there were trees- they have now gone and there are two lodges positioned infront of you which is abit miss leading. It should also be made more aware that you are on a site with many lodges on not just this one. But all in all it was a very relaxing and nice stay.

    Reviewed by Lewis4.1Jan 2024

  • "It was a lovely cottage, very homely."

    And the kitchen was very well equipped.

    Reviewed by Sumbal5.0Jan 2024

  • "We have stayed in Crook Lodge several times and it is always home from home."

    Perfect spot for a relaxing holiday, hot tub is an added bonus. Booked to stay again next year

    Reviewed by Jill4.7Oct 2023

  • "Lovely lodge and quite site could not fault in anyway"

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Sep 2023

  • "The only problem was the shower, when we had a shower it started banging, and ..."

    The only problem was the shower, when we had a shower it started banging, and water was coming out of both heads, plus i noticed a grub screw was rite out, but over all, we had a great stay would stay again, nice location

    Reviewed by Stephen4.7Aug 2023

  • "Crook lodge Water didn’t work when we showed up only just trickled out and ..."

    Crook lodge Water didn’t work when we showed up only just trickled out and when it was turned on at the source it leaked for over a day under the cabin Hot tub isn’t full size only a small tub very very cozy for two people Key lock was very tough to open Water temp in shower was cold most of the time No privacy to hot tub need a little fence or some trees for privacy everyone could see us in the open walking dogs past Boiler made a loud knocking sound randomly all the time kept me awake But over all for the price of the place of a few things got fixed then it was mint to be honest

    Reviewed by Steven4.1Jun 2023

  • "Only bedroom patio door opened with keys."

    The kettle switch was broken on arrival so couldn’t be used. No kidding or firewood. On opening the main patio doors found a cigarette half burnt in the door frame.

    Reviewed by Kevin3.8May 2023

  • "Hi the place could be lovely and has a good location however the whole place was really dirty."

    The floors were disgusting. The bathroom wasn't clean. There was dust everywhere. Sofa had bits all in the cracks The bed felt dirty bitty and not clean. The hot tub was completely overlooked which made us feel uncomfortable and we hardly used it. Next door was loud and could be heard the whole time. The mattress could really do with replacing. Considering the cost we did expect much more. It was one of the more expensive places I've stayed with little to contribute to the cost. I know this isn't the fault of Skyes cottage but the company who look after the property should be passed on this feedback. I wouldn't stay again and hope they make sure changes to their cleanliness and pricing.

    Thank you very much for your feedback. We are disappointed that your stay has been less than you have expected and have spoken to the company who are contracted to clean the lodge and ensure it is kept to the high standards of cleanliness that is rightly expected by guests. We are can only apologise that you believe the property was in as poor a condition as you have stated in your feedback. Ive spoken to the management company and they have advised this is very out of character and believe that the property was prepared to their usual high standards. The hot tub privacy has been addressed and a screen of bamboos planted for guests benefit. Thank you for this constructive criticism which we have acted upon. With regards to the noise created by neighbours on the site this is unfortunate and less than fair on guests such as yourselves. We would have been happy to raise this with the site operators had you raised this during your stay so this could have been addressed as we are always on hand to help any customers while they are on holiday Thank you again for your comments Property Owner

    Reviewed by Abigail2.2Apr 2023

  • "Absolutely beautiful property."

    Clean, tidy, well equipped and comfortable. We really enjoyed our get away and would come again. Our only moan was the hot tub was overlooked. We could see the road and the lodge next door and vise versa. Some form of fencing or cover would be good to make it more private and not so looked over by others. Thankyou :)

    Reviewed by Kellie4.7Feb 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay."

    There was no hair drier provided which is something most people assume is standard these days and I note a previous comment had mentioned this and you did say you would rectify this.

    Reviewed by Morag3.8Oct 2022

  • "I booked this lodge to celebrate our anniversary."

    On arrival we were very impressed with the overall space and location of the lodge. However my partner went to have a bath and the water was tepid and not hot enough to make a bath. I booked here knowing it had a bath as my partner struggles to regulate her temperature especially once she has got cold. After a day hiking needed a bath to heat her up hence why I booked a property with a bath it was luke warm at best even though the shower and water coming from the sinks was hot. We called the plumber but he said he was unable to do anything this is false advertising and I'm extremely disappointed in this. The lodge was very dirty and the floors have not been mopped. The lodge itself is well located and quiet. The hot tub is a nice addition to the property. The outside decking area is lovely but cushions would be a welcome addition yo the outside furniture this area including table and decking was also very dirty considering check out is so early I would expect much higher cleaning standards. With it being our anniversary we were celebrating with a bottle of champagne there were no champagne flutes and only one wine glass very poor considering this is a place recommended for couples. We enjoyed our stay but its a shame these things have left us feeling frustrated especially considering the price we paid. A hair dryer would also be a good addition to the property..

    Thank you for your feedback Your comments are very our of character for the property I am sorry that you had problems with the water temperature, this hasn't been reported to us before and the water is regulated by a mixer tap which is in perfect working order. We don't leave any contact details n the lodge for a plumber but we are on hand to help with any issues that you may have during your stay and we didnt receive any contact from you regarding any of the items raised in your feedback. We pride ourselves in making sure that the properties are cleaned thoroughly to a high standard as our previous scores show. We will look at adding champagne flutes and a hairdryer to the property following this feedback Once again, thank you for your comments Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martyn2.5Aug 2022

  • "Really enjoyed staying at the Lodge for a second time."

    The Lodge is spotlessly clean and highly functional. Very comfortable stay and enjoyed the hot tub and privacy. The Lodge is on a secluded spot on the park. The only slight downside is the height of the trees opposite the decking area. The trees block the evening sun. Would it be possible for the estate to trim the height of the trees? Lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Jul 2022

  • "We had a lovely romantic stay at Crook Lodge."

    The fixtures and fittings and decor looked new and was extremely clean throughout. The Lodge is in a secluded position, the best on the site in our view. We sat out in the sun in peace and tranquility and the hot tub was lovely and relaxing after a day of touring the lakes. Would love to come again.

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Jul 2022

  • "We absolutely loved it and most certainly stay there again."

    Just couple of things, we didn’t find cleanliness to high standards. There were plenty of cobwebs and floor was bit dusty. Also be much better if checkout time was bit later, about 10 - 10:30. Other than that? Awesome

    Reviewed by Rajesh4.4May 2022

  • "In the past I have had issues with the companies that run holiday accommodations, but it was nice seeing that everything that attracted us to this property was correct, in excellent condition and true to the descriptiion of the facilities."

    Okay we had problems at first with the TV but we overcome that and in my opinion we didn't travel to watch the "idiot box". Would have no problems booking this again.

    Reviewed by Terry5.0Apr 2022

  • "The lodge was lovely, had a really nice break found everything that was needed, the little box of washing up liquid and sponge was a massive help as we didnt even think of taking any."

    The hot tub was also a massive god send after all that walking.

    Reviewed by Michele5.0Mar 2022

  • "We had the most amazing week away."

    100% worth the money as it’s in the perfect location, only 10 mins away from any takeaway and 40 mins from windermere. We would come back in a heartbeat. Only thing we found although it wasn’t a problem for us as our next door neighbours were so considerate of us but the property is listed as detached, however it is very much semi detached it is private so we didn’t find this an issue. The wifi isn’t the best either and the tv hasn’t got options of netflix or anything like that, so i wouldn’t suggest bringing your own laptop where you can watch your favourite shows. Despite all of this we honestly had the best week away and it was made so nice because we had a lovely lodge to come back to from a busy day, especially the hot tub was the best perfect treat. Overall we are planning on looking to book again next year as it was honestly so perfect.

    Reviewed by Abby3.8Feb 2022

  • "We had a really nice relaxing stay, my husband and I work for NHS and needed a break and this was just what we needed every thing was high spec and clean nice log burner to cuddle up at night , bed was comfy would just say pillows too soft for us but that said most people would like the squishy pillows ."

    Hot tub was excellent so hot perfect for a January evening we would definitely book crook lodge again it was at the end of the park which is perfect very private

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0Jan 2022

  • "The property was good, it was dirty on the decking, and the windows were dirty and had loads of cobwebs."

    The heating never went on in the morning the place was absolutely freezing. Apart from that the cabin was fantastic

    Reviewed by Jamie3.4Jan 2022

  • "We stayed in this lovely lodge for Christmas."

    It's warm, cosy and comfortable and in a very peaceful location, (currently being the last lodge in the park). It was a short walk to the interesting shops and pubs in Cartmel and also a fairly easy walk to Grange over Sands. The hot tub and log burner were lovely to have. Unlike some other reviewer, we found the bed and seatee very comfortable and our next door neighbours were very quiet. The only problems that we found, were that it was a little difficult to find in the dark, the front door was a bit difficult to lock and unlock and the bath water wouldn't get hot enough to have a relaxing bath, (but we did have the hot tub so it didn't matter much). All in all the lodge is great.

    Reviewed by Karen4.4Dec 2021

  • "We have just spent 4 nights at Crook Lodge, and thoroughly enjoyed our whole experience."

    The lodge is warm, secluded and has everything you need for a perfect romantic getaway. The only thing I could fault with this property would be that the front door seems to stick and is hard to lock/unlock, this isn't an issue though as the door to the bedroom works fine. I'd suggest that a property guide/manual should also be on site, for instructions on the hot tub/log burner. We couldn't seem to find the WiFi password anywhere either, but this again made for the more secluded retreat we were looking for so wasn't an issue for us. Overall we would 100% come back to Crook Lodge, the place itself and the area around makes for a perfect getaway.

    Reviewed by Michael4.7Dec 2021

  • "The property was well equipped."

    Warm just right for a stay hot tub very good alovely cabin in a good location .It could do with a few snags attending to .Door at the back would not open inside doors handles loose two hobs not working light bulbs missing .This did not spoil our stay which i would recommend would stay again

    Reviewed by Alan4.4Nov 2021

  • "There was no mention that it was a slipt lodge and was a semi detached as neighbours were very loud."

    It was clean but the sofa was very uncomfortable and the bed even worse. The mattress was like sleeping on a floor it was that uncomfortable. Although it's a very nice park nice and quiet bar the neighbours. The local pub in allithwaite was very nice and the owners were very welcoming.

    Reviewed by Oliver2.8Oct 2021

  • "On the whole we enjoyed our stay but were let down by a few minor issues, these included: cleanliness of the property (cobwebs in the ceilings, dust and dirt, plus stains on pillows and duvet)."

    Based on the early checkout and late check in we would expect an immaculate property. Secondly, some of the facilities are not great (the broom is broken and sliced my hand when trying to use, the hoover isn’t great, one of the hobs didn’t work, the clock didn’t work and some lights didn’t work). Lastly, and this is something that is not Syke’s fault, but our neighbours were very, very loud and kept us up most nights unfortunately. Aside from this, the accommodation is good, is in a great location and the bed is probably one of the comfiest I’ve stayed on! The hot tub is also immaculate and we made use of it every day during our stay. We would visit again but would hope that the mentioned points and attention to detail when managing the property are improved on.

    Reviewed by Leia3.8Sep 2021

  • "Location was brilliant."

    We would cycle into cartmel and it would only about 5 minutes. The plot where lodge is on is very private and quiet. Perfect for chilling out in the hot tub. Segway tour in Cartmel was good fun. Loved Unsworths yard brewery in Cartmel as it had a nice little court yard and the pizzas were delicious. Just don’t order the Bramble cocktail as it was tasteless. Would recommend booking pub meals or restaurants as it was busy and one night we struggled for somewhere to eat. The Cavendish Arms is a lovely pub with delicious food definitely recommend. Really friendly staff too.

    Reviewed by David5.0Aug 2021

  • "Cleanliness wasn't great, had to get brush and vacuum out to remove cobwebs in lounge."

    Bedroom and bathroom corners. Similar issue outside upon entering which instantly gave poor impression upon entering. Hot water was below heat expectation for showering and bath. Although furniture, kitchen facilities and hottub were to ab acceptable standard. Just felt with significant price increase for these properties that overall cleanliness should be much better. Grounds and peaceful area was pleasant, but for me it's unlikely I'd return here especially if prices continue to increase.

    Reviewed by Derek3.4Aug 2021

  • "Lovely lodge and has everything you need for a holiday in the Lake District :)"

    Reviewed by Jake5.0Jul 2021

  • "All in all a comfortable stay."

    Flies a problem maybe due to the sheep that visited frequently. A bottle of wine or something would have been nice. Please note no bath robes or larger towels for hot tub. We enjoyed feeding the birds in the trees next to the lodge and bought seed, feeders, nuts and fat balls. Lovely to sit outdoors and breakfast and even poor weather didn’t stop this. Had a lovely meal in the Pig and Whistle. Perfect location to explore the Lake District.

    Reviewed by Sally4.7Jul 2021

  • "Absolutely stunning place."

    The cottage had everything we needed and more, it was spacious enough for the two of us to move around with plenty of comfort. The bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. The cottage is located at the end of the ‘road’ which was lovely, no one driving past or disturbing us. Hot tub turned itself on a few times and the first we looked at each other a bit frightened but we figured out that it must be warming itself up! We stayed for 7 nights and had the best time. We would highly recommend renting a boat on lake Windermere and doing a hike on Keswick Via Sharp Edge, along with going to the safari zoo. We explored a lot on our bikes and enjoyed it so much. We were really really sad to leave, but for sure we will be back. Thank you for making our experience a 5* stay!

    Reviewed by Ela5.0Jun 2021

  • "The lodge sat in a lovely peaceful site with a very private setting."

    We enjoyed the use of the hot tub. A few more small plates and mugs would have been welcome.

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Jun 2021

  • "Absolutely beautiful accommodation was brilliant would definitely book again the ..."

    Absolutely beautiful accommodation was brilliant would definitely book again the only downside was no cups to have a tea or coffee

    Reviewed by Martin4.7May 2021

  • "Ideal bolt hole for two."

    Overall good value for money. Peaceful site and the lodge hotub is private and not overlooked. Great for spotting wildlife, lots of different birds, rabbits and the occasional deer. Lovely walks central to lodge with some challenging hills, close to the village of Cartmel with plenty places to eat. Could maybe leave some fly spray for guests to use and towels to use in the hot tub.

    Reviewed by Karen4.7Apr 2021

  • "Lodge was everything we wanted"

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Dec 2020

  • "Lovey stay and would definitely book again!"

    The welcome back could do with being reprinted as it was falling apart but everything else was perfect! Thank you for a lovely cottage

    Reviewed by Craig3.8Oct 2020

  • "Had everything you could need!"

    Lovely and cosy and extremely clean. Hot tub was amazing and a beautiful setting, will definitely be returning and would 100% recommend. Thank you for an amazing stay.

    Reviewed by Jamie5.0Oct 2020

  • "We arrived at the cottage and it was really clean which put us at ease given the current pandemic."

    Although we weren’t provided with any soap to wash our hands with or any toilet roll so first thing was to go to the shop to buy some for the week, very disappointed as something so simple should’ve been provided. We also were not given any matches to light the fire with so we ended up just using the heating, luckily during our stay it wasn’t too cold so it didn’t bother us! There wasn’t adequate hot water to run a bath or have a proper shower - I would say lukewarm water, if it wasn’t for the hot tub it wouldn’t have been great after a long day of walking! We tried to ring skyes everyday but couldn’t get through to anyone to try and fix these issues which was very disappointing! Given the changes to our arrival and departure times we would’ve appreciated something such as a bottle of wine or chocolate/coffee etc just to make up for the last minute changes, other places we’ve stayed have provided these and it’s a very nice touch! I would come and visit again if these issues were amended but a note to self to bring toilet roll.

    Reviewed by Kathryn3.4Sep 2020

  • "Lodge was secluded and very private beautifully presented inside and out I could live there all year round !"

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Sep 2020

  • "Lovely location and very quiet and peaceful."

    Hot tub very very good and not overlooked by any other lodges. The lodge was very well equipped and surprisingly spacious. Easy walking distance to 2 villages. Although semi detached we hardly heard anything from the adjoining lodge. The only thing I'd recommend would be a few more mugs.

    Reviewed by Andy5.0Sep 2020

  • "There was a few issues with the Lodge."

    Overall it was ok. But what we expected for what we paid was a much higher standard. For example the bath hot tap we could only get luke warm water. Site maintenance tried to fix it but couldn't so they suggested we use the shower to fill the bath. Disappointed at the size of the hot tub found it quite cramped as I am quite tall. Rubbish collection was only once, maybe recycling bins would help for glass, paper, etc. A welcome pack would have been a nice touch, milk in the fridge etc. (we always get one with Hoseasons) We usually book a lodge with a hot tub with Hoseasons and never had any problems with their holidays. But we would thought we would give your company a try and see if you could match up to Hoseasons standard, but sadly your firm didn't match their standard, so we will not re book with sykes holiday's.

    Reviewed by Jonathan3.1Jul 2020

  • "Absolutely loved our stay and especially enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub at the end of each day, following sight seeing trips."

    The hot tub was tucked away nicely so that you're not overlooked and the lodge was fully equipped.

    Reviewed by Sharon4.4Jul 2020

  • "Perfect for a few nights away."

    Hot tub was very private and was drained and cleaned every day we were there. The lodge is at the very back of the park so nice and peaceful, will definitely be re booking.

    Reviewed by Harry5.0Mar 2020

  • "Me and my newly pregnant girlfriend really enjoyed our stay here, it was lovely and had everything we could ask for."

    Really nice lodge, great facilities and was spotless when we arrived. The only things I could think of for feedback is that we did not have a remote for the freesat box, and we could have done with some kindling and some extra logs for the log burner.

    Reviewed by Leigh4.7Feb 2020

  • "Beautiful home hub to experience the Lake District from"

    Reviewed by Dale4.7Feb 2020

  • "Extremely happy with our holiday, lodge was super clean and warm."

    Our water stopped working but maintenance were quick to fix it and im sure it isnt a common issue. Would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Callum5.0Dec 2019

  • "A beautiful, spotless lodge with everything you could wish for and more!"

    We wouldn't hesitate in going back. Highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Oct 2019

  • "We had a great stay at Crook Lodge."

    It was lovely to see the wildlife which included squirrel, deer and various birds. It is not mentioned anywhere about the high standards of the hot tub. It is drained after every stay. It is also tested every day during your stay. It is private and not overlooked. We do however recommend that you take extra towels for the hot tub. The bed is so comfortable you can guarantee a great night sleep. Well equipped, you shouldn't want for anything. There was one downside though that it is adjoining to another lodge and unfortunately our neighbours were a little noisy into the early hours.

    Reviewed by John5.0Aug 2019

  • "Booked crook lodge to celebrate my partners 30th birthday and could not be happier with choosing this lodge !"

    ! Great location, very private, well equipped !! Will definitely be looking to book it again !!

    Reviewed by Luke5.0Aug 2019

  • "Absolutely fantastic, loved every minute in the lodge"

    Reviewed by Dan5.0Apr 2019

  • "Everything was perfect and well exceeded myself and my partners expectations."

    The lodge was beautiful and had everything that we needed, We thought the lodge was perfectly positioned, much more private than some of the other lodges nearby. We spent every night in the hot tub, just what you need after a day out exploring this beautiful part of the country. Would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Charlotte5.0Apr 2019

  • "Crook Lodge was absolutely lovely."

    The location was great and the facilities excellent. The hot tub, wine cooler and wood burner (which we didn’t need due to glorious weather!) were luxurious extra touches and the bathroom was hotel standard. The Wi-fi signal was by far the best we have had at similar locations. My only suggestions for improvement would be a mirror in the bedroom and a toilet roll in the bathroom when guests arrive. We would love to stay again!

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Feb 2019

  • "Beautiful lodge which is homely from the minute you walk in."

    Facilities within are perfect and are easy to use. The only minor problem we had was the fire alarm went off every time you opened a hot oven. Nevertheless, it is good to know it works. A good waft with a pillow seemed to do the trick. Would highly recommend and hopefully will be back in the future. Exceeds looks on photos.

    Reviewed by Lucas5.0Jan 2019

  • "Loved this little weekend break in this lodge."

    And for those that whinged about there not being enough toilet roll, it costs a couple of pounds to take your own. The lodge itself had everything u would need, literally going from home to Home, oven, microwave, kettle. Even had sachets Of hot choc, tea, coffee, milk. Beds were very comfortable, clean, fresh towels, bathroom was spotless. Couldn’t fault the place. Even had washing up liquid, cleaning cloths, washing machine. The hot tub was the perfect thing after a long day of walking and exploring. Definitely recommend, you won’t be disappointed.

    Reviewed by Monna5.0Nov 2018

  • "What a beautiful place, stayed here at Crook Lodge, did not want to leave, cannot say anything bad about this lodge, it was perfect in so many ways, had an amazing time, will be back, perfect location, loved every minute of it."

    Reviewed by Mandy5.0Sep 2018

  • "We could have done with more towels."

    There also was a power cut one night for 6 hours. This meant all the appliances bleeped all night causing a sleepless night. There was no comment or apologies from the management which was disappointing.

    Reviewed by Alan4.7Aug 2018

  • "The visit to Crook Lodge was a nice relaxing break for my wife and I."

    The lodge was so cute as it is purely designed for two, table chairs, hot tub etc. Immaculately clean well equipped all modern kitchen and bathroom added to the joy we felt upon entering the lodge. This is our second stay with Sykes, having stayed in a big family lodge with our family previously. Both times we have been provided with exactly what we wanted. The booking and contact from Sykes is excellent. The only small issue is that maybe if the lodge was ready earlier as I believe it was we could have been notified instead of waiting until 1500hrs, because as check out is 10am, that is quite a bit of time lost. When the lodge next door was vacated it was cleaned by midday.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Aug 2018

  • "This lodge was perfect for a relaxing couple of days away."

    I will defiantly be returning.

    Reviewed by Matthew5.0Jul 2018

  • "Great location if chilling out and relaxation is required"

    Reviewed by Jill5.0Jul 2018

  • "Lovely location."

    The photos aren’t entirely accurate, it should be clearer that the cabin is ‘semi detached’. The info binder inside the cabin needs updating, there was no fan in the middle of a heatwave and there was only half a roll of toilet paper and 2 towels each. I’d expect more for the price.

    Reviewed by Joseph3.1Jul 2018

  • "We arrived on Friday and was really pleased with the lodge, superbly stocked and elavated location was great."

    Although you are aware of other lodges around you it feels secluded, being tucked away at the very top of the park. The hot tub was fantastic, only down side was the noise it made throuout the night! Although it did not disturb us, light sleepers may be affected.

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Jun 2018

  • "Had an enjoyable and relaxing stay at crooks lodge using all the facilities it has."

    Couldn’t of asked for much more. In a really nice and pleasant area of cartmel with the shops a walk or drive away. Me and my partner will be coming back in the future

    Reviewed by Dean5.0Apr 2018

  • "Fab holiday, great lodge."

    A few extra logs/kindling would have been great as we loved the fire. Having a salt and pepper pot and extra toilet roll would also be helpful :) Apart from that, place was lovely and had everything else we needed. Very relaxing place and we loved the hot tub! Fab location as only 20 mins walk into cartmel and 10 min drive into centre of Grange over sands and Holker Hall. Would definitely come again and will be recommending

    Reviewed by Abigail5.0Mar 2018

  • "Really nice cottage but the mattress was so soft it may have not been there."

    So much so we left a day early as we were there for a week. Manual made reference to fire lighters and kindling of which there were non, nor anything to light it with. Not a major issue as the local shop sold them. We missed the one liner advising the place is a semi detached unit, as the photos are deceiving, it looks like one detached unit. And we had Mr and Mrs door slammer next door. Nice and clean digs however and we were allowed in an hour early as the cleaners were done. Cartel is a lovely village which provided a good base for exploring the South lake district. Generally speaking the digs were good but the mattress issue would prevent me booking again.

    Reviewed by Richard3.1Mar 2018

  • "This is one of the nicest cabins I have ever stayed in."

    Very clean almost new very enjoyable

    Reviewed by Shaun5.0Feb 2018

  • "This was a very well equipped, well maintained and well positioned cabin."

    Just a short drive from the lakes through stunning scenery and a short walk/drive to cartmel which is home to fantastic pubs, restaurants and independent farm shops! Would definitely recommend and will be back!

    Reviewed by Matt5.0Feb 2018

  • "Stunning location, easy to find, worth a half hour journey to Windermere which again is beautiful."

    Had a fantastic weekend as a present for my 21st birthday!

    Reviewed by Jasmine4.8Feb 2018

  • "Perfect!!!"

    Reviewed by Nick5.0Nov 2017

  • "The 5 hours drive from london was soo worth it."

    I was a little worried about the cleanliness before arriving but i must say, IT WAS SPOTLESS. Its was peaceful and quiet, i will definitely be coming back.

    Reviewed by Nana4.8Jul 2017

  • "Great location."

    Luxurious Very peacful and relaxing holiday. We will definetly return.

    Reviewed by John5.0Jun 2017

  • "Fantastic clean lodge, with everything you could need."

    Wifi was excellent too

    Reviewed by Steve5.0Jun 2017

  • "The lodge was virtually new and was very impressed with everything in and ..."

    The lodge was virtually new and was very impressed with everything in and outside the lodge and the surroundings was perfect and private and very quiet

    Reviewed by Mick5.0Jun 2017

Show more Hide all


  • Semi-detached property, adjoining to property ref: 936085
  • All ground floor
  • One double bedroom with en-suite shower, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburner.
  • Gas central heating with woodburner
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, TV with FreeSat, DVD, WiFi
  • Decked patio with hot tub and furniture
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 1 car
  • There is a commercial EV charger available on-site approx 50 yrds from the lodge
  • Note: Although all ground floor, the lodge is accessed via 5 steps and one step out from patio doors
  • Note: There are also steps from the decking
  • Note: Property unsuitable for children, including infants
  • Please Note: For Sunday check ins, regrettably the hot tub cannot be made ready until the Monday
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1 mile

The property

This superb lodge is situated a 15 minute stroll from the historic village of Cartmel, at the top of the exclusive Pastures lodge park in a slightly elevated position towards the boundary of this 26 acre park with woodland and glade, thus affording extra outdoor space and privacy.

Immaculately-presented in a quality contemporary style, this spacious lodge has open plan living with patio doors from the living area and a bedroom that opens on to the spacious elevated decking screened by glass with patio furniture and hot tub.

On entering the lodge there is a vestibule with seating area and the washer/dryer which leads into the open plan living space with a large comfortable leather settee and woodburner, perfect to relax in front of on those chillier evenings.

When warmer, open the patio doors and step onto the decking perhaps for an alfresco meal or drink and listen to the sound of bird song.

The well-equipped stylish kitchen has integral appliances, granite surfaces and has a very useful wine chiller.

Stepping into the spacious bedroom there are also patio doors leading to the private decking and the en-suite bathroom has a bath with rain shower over and with beautiful contemporary fixtures and fittings.

The lodge also benefits from a hot tub allowing guests to relax after a hard day exploring the local area.

Picturesque Cartmel is just three quarters of a mile away with its 12th century priory, and interesting independent shops and, of course, its eateries and pubs, including the infamous L'enclume restaurant together with a great selection of other restaurants.

There is also the racecourse which holds meets during the summer months when the whole village is open, so a fantastic day out is within walking distance.

Locally, there is Newby Bridge, which is at the southerly tip of Windermere, where you can take a boat cruise and view the stunning lakeland scenery on route to Bowness or Ambleside.

Cyclists will also delight in the many trials especially in close by Grizedale Forrest.

Grange-over-Sands is just 2 miles away, a Lakeland Edwardian coastal town with estuary promenade walk, a chocolatier and cafes.

Humpreys Head is a pretty walk with coastal views and bluebell-filled woodland and this point is said to be the last known sighting of a wolf.

This fabulous lodge is perfectly positioned for exploring this glorious lakeland area both near or further afield all year round.

Return back to the lodge at the end of the day and enjoy total rest and relaxation.

Note: This property is adjoining ref: 936085, together they sleep 4.

View on map

About the location


Cartmel 1 mile; Grange-over-Sands 2 miles.

The lovely village of Allithwaite is idyllically located on the southern edge of the Cartmel Peninsula, at the edges of the Lake District and Morecambe Bay. Described as being “set like a jewel in a cloak of green”, this village provides a shop, and a local pub serving food. The historic village of Cartmel, renowned as the prettiest in the Lake District, is just 1 mile away, and boasts charming streamside walks, quaint cobbled streets littered with antique shops, traditional pubs and the acclaimed Michelin Star-awarded L'Enclume restaurant. It is also home to the famous priory and racecourse. The picturesque Edwardian seaside resort of Grange-over-Sands is also within 2 miles and features a traffic-free promenade, delightful ornamental gardens, a choice of golf courses and excellent birdwatching opportunities. A superb base from which to enjoy this magical area.

Note: Although all ground floor, the lodge is accessed via 5 steps and one step out from patio doors.
Note: There are also steps from the decking.
Note: Property unsuitable for children, including infants.
Please Note: For Sunday check ins, regrettably the hot tub cannot be made ready until the Monday.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas