Don’t miss our Summer Sale

Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

19 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 20 View Larger Image
  • The Cottage - Lake District - 1001257 - photo 1
close

The Cottage

Cartmel, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 1001257)

4.2

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 7

  • Bedrooms 4

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Open fire
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

9 Customer Reviews

  • "Great property, well presented, clean and spacious."

    Would definitely book again.

    Reviewed by AmandaJun 2022

  • "We had a lovely time at The Cottage in Cartmel."

    It is spacious, nicely decorated and in the perfect location to explore the lakes.

    Reviewed by JennyMar 2022

  • "An ideal location in the heart of the beautiful Cartmel; a fabulous holiday let to help us celebrate my wife’s 40th Birthday."

    The cottage is lovely inside, lots of space, but still feels cosy with everything you need. You know you’ve found a good place after your days out, you can’t wait to get back to the cottage. Our boys loved the top bedroom and my wife and I already miss hearing the Church (Priory) bells on the hour. Would highly recommend for a Lake District break, benefitting from being based in Cartmel

    Reviewed by DominicFeb 2022

  • "We turned up on a very cold Friday night (0 degrees) the heating in the house hadn’t been on for a long time."

    The house was absolutely freezing, there’s is a lovely big log burner in the cottage so we thought we’d make a fire to get some warmth, there are no logs provided with the property and the shop was closed. The shower leaks through the dinning room ceiling, the radiator on the landing doesn’t work. There was no hand soap in the whole house, I understand we are in the times of Covid but you could at least provide individually wrapped soap? The property is ok, a little tired around the edges.

    FROM THE OWNERS: Thank you for your feedback. We have looked into each of your comments. Our plumber has thoroughly investigated the shower and was unable to replicate any leak or find evidence to suggest what might have occurred at the time. We can confirm there is absolutely no leak anywhere in the property now - the shower and pipes have all been double checked and are working fine. The one radiator you mentioned has been dealt with - it simply required bleeding of air, as happens with radiators in any properties. The Cottage always heats up extremely quickly as soon as the boiler is turned on upon guest arrivals. Between different guest bookings the cleaning company always ensures that the heating is turned off in the interests of the environment and energy usage. As you say it is indeed a lovely log burner - and it warms the house beautifully. We do not supply logs since The Cottage is a fully self-catering property. MESSAGE FROM SYKES COTTAGES: Thank you very much for your comments and for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. Customer feedback is very important to help us continually improve our standards. If Sykes had been made aware of any concerns during your stay, we would have attempted to rectify the issues while you were in the property. We are open till 7pm on weekends and have an out of hours line, we are sorry to hear that you did not try and contact us during your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BenDec 2021

  • "Very disappointed that no tea / coffee / milk etc."

    Given arrival time is 5pm and after travelling for 8 hours to reach the cottage it seems incredibly cheap and mean spirited not to provide a tea bag. And it isn’t as though the accommodation was cheap! Left a sour taste in the mouth and spoiled was was otherwise a lovely cottage.

    Reply - from the owners of The Cottage: We hope you will find our following reply helpful and we genuinely thank you for your feedback. In this instance we would point out that with the ongoing covid situation over the last couple of years we (along with many other property owners) have taken the view that for safety reasons it is best not to provide any foodstuffs (or drinks) in the property at all. It is worth mentioning too that The Cottage is, as advertised, a fully self catered property in any case. We are of course sorry that you were disappointed by this detail, but we genuinely hope you can understand the reasoning behind it. We are grateful, and pleased, that you felt it was otherwise a lovely cottage. Kind regards, The owners Property Owner

    Reviewed by IanSep 2021

  • "Great location, great accommodation only slight issues are no parking with house so a merry dance on finding a spot each day and the pots and pans in the kitchen were not at all clean."

    Reply - from the owners of The Cottage: We hope you will find our following reply helpful and we genuinely thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in The Cottage. Cartmel is definitely a wonderful, popular and beautiful village. Some years ago in order to prevent the village being blocked by too many cars the local council laid out a number of marked parking spaces, and in addition there is a large car park on the Race course across the village square. However, there are also certain areas of permanent free parking dotted about the village. When you first arrive in The Cottage our guests find we have provided our own map showing such free parking within a short walk of the property. Many guests to The Cottage make use of this throughout their stay. Finally, in terms of the pans during your stay, we always immediately liaise with the cleaning company on any guest feedback if it relates to their services, and they commit to ensure the problem does not recur. Since your feedback there has been no recurrence. We are really sorry for any inconvenience you felt at the time. Thank you again for your helpful feedback. Kind regards, The owners. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BobJul 2021

  • "Fantastic location in the centre of Cartmel ."

    Quirky cottage , very steep stairs . Would go back

    Reviewed by ChristineMay 2021

  • "Superb accommodation and very deceptive as it's huge!"

    The cottage itself is right in the centre of Cartmel, really convenient for the quirky shops and restaurants, including L'Enclume which is divine, as well as lots of lovely walks and stunning scenery. Try the Cartmel Food Shed for delicious sandwiches to takeaway if you're planning a picnic and don't forget to grab some sticky toffee pudding (or try the ginger pudding too) from the village store. We initially thought parking was going to be a problem as the cottage does not have its own space, but there were plenty of spaces on the side roads just a short walk away. The children loved the attic style bedroom and used it as a playroom too as it was so big and all the games and books were a very nice touch for the rainy days! The stairs are a bit narrow and steep to go up to the bedrooms and bathroom, which weren't an issue for us, but worth bearing in mind if you have reduced mobility. The kitchen is a really good size with literally everything you need to prepare family meals and we did an online food delivery for the 1st night so the location and convenience was perfect for us. Overall a fantastic stay in a gorgeous area and a beautifully kept cottage and we will most definitely return.

    Reviewed by MarianneOct 2020

  • "Despite not finding where the hairdryer was stored, I am delighted with the thought that has obviously gone into making The Cottage really comfortable."

    From throws to help you cosy up and get comfy in the evening, a fully equipped traditional picnic basket ready for use in the kitchen, an extensive range of appliances and utensils readily to hand in the kitchen, to the excellent and responsive heating system, everything is geared to provide a restful holiday with the convenience of eateries and walks on the doorstep. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by JanetSep 2020

Show more

Summary

  • Four bedrooms: 1 x super king, 1 x king, 1 x 3/4 bed and 1 x 2 single beds
  • Cloakroom/utility/WC
  • Bathroom with bath, separate shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Gas central heating and woodburning stove
  • Double gas Range oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, Smart TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • on street parking and public car parks in village available
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub within 0.1 miles

The property

A contemporary and stylish dwelling set within the 'prettiest village in the Lake District', The Cottage is the perfect property for a group of friends or family looking to explore this scenic region of England.

Step into the sitting room, combining contemporary with traditional features, where you will find a warming woodburning stove tucked beneath a quaint inglenook with a plush seating arrangement adjacent, here you can relax with the Smart TV providing hours of entertainment before heading into the kitchen to prepare a lovingly-made meal.

The kitchen offers a spacious spot, with plenty of room for little helpers to get involved in the preparation, with the assistance of the wide range of appliances.

Move through into the dining room to sit together to enjoy meal times, or use this space to play board games when you're not exploring the excitement of Cartmel.

Cartmel is a wonderful base for a holiday at any time of year, with quaint cobbled streets and streamside walks, you can find a selection of shops and eateries to choose from, alongside an impressive racecourse offering a fantastic day out for all of the family.

Head into the beauty of the Lake District National Park for a plethora of walking routes and opportunities to spot nature, it's an experience like no other with plenty to explore.

The bustling market town of Kendal can be reached by a scenic car journey, boasting historic monuments, leisure facilities and being rich in cultural experiences, the surrounding areas of The Cottage offer a wide variety of attractions to suit all tastes, all-year-round.

View on map

About the location

CARTMEL

Grange-over-Sands 2 miles; Bowness on Windermere 12 miles.

The historic, South Lakeland village of Cartmel is renowned as the prettiest village in the Lake District. The Priory Church, one of the finest ecclesiastical buildings in the north of England, remains the heart of the community with its gatehouse forming the entrance to the village. The village features pretty streamside walks, quaint cobbled streets littered with antique shops, a charming gift shop, welcoming, traditional pubs serving real ale, the nationally acclaimed, Michelin Star awarded L'Enclume restaurant, and the Cartmel Village shop, which sells the famous sticky toffee pudding. Take advantage of excellent walking opportunities amidst beautiful, unspoilt countryside, visit The National Hunt Racecourse, Campbell Legend Bluebird Exhibition, Lakeland Motor Museum and Holker Hall with its spectacular gardens, all of which are close by. The quiet seaside retreat of Grange-over-Sands, with its Edwardian buildings and mountain backdrop, is a mere 2 miles away, whilst Windermere, with its panoramic views over England's longest lake, is within a thirty minute drive. A superb holiday destination, at any time of year.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas