Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 21 View Image Gallery
  • Rose Cottage Coniston - Lake District - 1042271 - photo 1

Rose Cottage Coniston

(Ref. 1042271)

coniston, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (25)
  • garden (20)
  • bed (13)
  • road (10)
  • out (10)
  • all (9)

33 Customer Reviews

  • "The cottage is lovely, we really liked the unique decor and appreciated the little welcome box."

    However, the garden was quite overgrown and my dad had to cut back some of the bushes so we could walk on the path more comfortably / safely, as some of the bushes were sharp. We also felt that checking out at 10am was so early considering the price for two nights and us not being able to check in until 4pm on the Friday. We also only had 1 working shower, my dad is a gas engineer so looked at it but said it just would not work. It meant that it took us a longer time to get out on the Saturday as 6 adults needed to share just 1 shower.

    Reviewed by Rachel4.7Jun 2024

  • "Absolutely gorgeous cottage."

    One shower not working properly but good to have second bathroom. I know it warns you in details but securing the garden would be so much less stressful than dogs or children getting out on the busy road. We had a man come in and use the front garden as a toilet rather than pay the 30p to use public ones opposite! My daughter was so sad to leave, we were having such a good time. ❤️

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7May 2024

  • "It is a lovely cottage, but it felt like it needs some more love and care."

    Overall it felt dusty and damp in places, and the washing machine is broken. We enjoyed being in Coniston, but the driveway is very dangerous onto the road, it would benefit from a mirror. Also as the property says it is suitable for dogs and children it really needs to secure a garden area off from the road. On a positive the kitchen is well stocked with plenty of utensils and crockery!

    Reviewed by Sarah2.5Sep 2023

  • "We had a brilliant time at Rose Cottage."

    Everything we needed was thought of and the beds were the best we have had in a rental property. The location is perfect and the large garden was a real bonus. We had many tears from the kids before we left as they didn’t want to leave. We will be back.

    Reviewed by Beth5.0Aug 2023

  • "Really beautiful cottage and we wanted for nothing."

    However, as it was so expensive for just a week I would not expect mould in the bathroom / shower or any cobwebs at all and the floors and units to be spotless. I would also expect the wood to be provided for the fire ( I left some I had bought ) The garden needs the furniture updating and maybe some more seating, parasols etc and the raised beds attended to so you could all sit out together on a nice evening and enjoy the Mountain View and air. That being said we really enjoyed our stay really cosy the beds are super comfortable the linen spotless and very dog friendly. The boot room is great but might do well with an external heater to dry wet walking gear.

    Thank you for your comments. We will ask our Housekeeping Team to look into your comments. We take all comments on board. The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Charles4.4Jul 2023

  • "Our 5th annual stay at Rose Cottage."

    As usual a very good stay. Except - we were dismayed on arrival to discover that there was a lack of some basic supplies. Not even of partly used "left-overs", which have been there in all our previous stays - viz Toilet rolls, liquid soap and washing-up liquid. Very difficult on arrival after a long journey to find no toilet paper or soap! PS we left ours for the next guests! Was this an oversight? On a separate matter we also discovered several rubbish bags left next to the completely rammed full green bin. A rat was seen investigating the nibbled at rubbish bags. We put the green bin out for emptying on Monday evening. The abandoned rubbish bags could then be binned and the scattered rubbish collected. Otherwise an excellent stay.

    Reviewed by Christine4.7Jun 2023

  • "Perfect position in the village, very short walk to 4 pub/restaurants."

    Access as we knew is not easy and proved to be a little challenging. The big disappointment was the outside space, the garden is 70% overgrown and is open to the the main road. Being a dog owner I would have happily paid a further £100 had it been secure for animals, which wouldn't take much. The garden seating was mostly rotten and unusable. Were it secure then we would have definitely returned but as it is we wouldn't, great shame.

    Reviewed by Peter3.1Jun 2023

  • "This is a lovely property, very comfy beds as well :) Garden was lovely, seating area was great…we had fabulous weather so was used regularly."

    Only suggestion would be to give better guidance over parking, it is very easy to miss. It’s also tricky to navigate if have a larger vehicle.

    Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found the garden to be lovely. We will take a look at the listing to ensure that the information given is correct. We hope to welcome you to the Lake District again. The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Katherine4.1May 2023

  • "All good but the garden good do with a bit of TLC."

    Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon4.7Apr 2023

  • "We loved staying in Rose Cottage."

    The location was fantastic. The outside of the cottage could do with a little care and attention (cutting back of plants and repainting). The inside of the cottage was cosy, warm and clean. The bathrooms were immaculate and very well appointed. We struggled to locate the cottage driveway initially. A more detailed description of the exact whereabouts would be very helpful, as our Satnav took us up towards the Sun Inn. Immediately next door to the Coppermines Cottages office, for example. Manoeuvring the car once in the drive was tricky as there is a tree and shrub to negotiate. Although we did get used to this, removing the shrub would be helpful. We also made sure one of us was at the driveway entrance to guide the car out if we left, as visibility on leaving is very poor. The beds were very comfortable, and we all slept very well after wonderful days out on walks from the doorstep. The kitchen was well equipped, but a larger frying pan and four slice toaster would have made it perfect! There are 4 pubs within a minute's walk and a lovely cafe if you fancy breakfast out (which we did a couple of times!)

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will take a look at the details that get sent out to guests to see if there is anything that needs amending. We hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anita4.4Mar 2023

  • "It's a lovely cottage in a fantastic location."

    Not a big deal but I'd recommended: cutting the hedge back on the drive entrance, the visibility, even with someone guiding you back is very poor. I even found it difficult to walk out the drive safely. If the hedge was cut back to the bank height, just by the entrance this improve visibility greatly. In the middle of the drive is a bit of a hedge, which severs not purpose & if removed would make parking cars much easier. The tree in the middle of the drive is lovely & I'm not suggesting removing this. These are not complaints just observations, the view from the garden is fantastic, but obscured by the hedge, if the hedge was cut down, you would not have to stand to admire the wonderful view of the mountains behind the house. I loved staying in a house with PV electric panels, the wood stove is magic, internet worked like a dream as did the smart TV. I loved reading the Wainwright books & the OS maps, the large OS map on the wall is inspirational. If none of the recommendations were implemented, I'd still recommend the house

    Reviewed by John5.0Dec 2022

  • "A lovely cottage which is spacious & well equipped ."

    Very comfortable beds and 2 lovely bathrooms ( the waterfall shower is great). Very dog friendly & the stone tiled entrance is perfect for drying the dog & leaving muddy boots . We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rose Cottage and felt very relaxed . Thank you .

    Reviewed by Adrian5.0Oct 2022

  • "Directions are confusing as for coming from the South."

    Would be easier to find if name sign on cottage/door. Well stocked utensils in kitchen and log fire. Great base for village and surroundings.

    Reviewed by Ian4.7Sep 2022

  • "Loved this cottage - stayed with my dog, husband, 2 young children and older parents."

    Plenty of space for 6 of us, really well equipped and decorated, boot room/lobby is a brilliant space and my children loved looking at the map on the wall. Well located within Coniston - lots of local shops and activities to experience. My children can't wait to come back again. Would definitely consider. Any noise from the road/garage is not intrusive! Builders were helpful about moving vehicles as needed - garden was worked on whilst there, so much improved. Do need some new outside seating though, as one bench was completely broken and another was starting to break!!

    Reviewed by Hazel4.1Aug 2022

  • "Ur week’s stay at this beautifully decorated cottage was spoilt by the fact that builders arrived at 8am on Monday 4th July to work on the property next door; it was not made clear in Sykes advert that Rose Cottage is semi-detached."

    The builders were there punctually at 8am from Monday to Friday. Sykes had phoned me in May to reassure me that some remedial building work would be completed by end of June so that our week would not be disrupted. When I mentioned this to the builders, they commented that they did not know where that information came from. The outside of the property was rather untidy ( I had to cut back overgrown rose bush in order to access the side door) and there was no garden furniture apart from small low table and 2 small benches; the other garden bench was rotten and unsafe to sit on . Access to the cottage was via a shared drive and there is a blind spot when exiting, needing my wife to stand on opposite side of the road to indicate when there was no traffic approaching. The view from our bedroom and the dining room was of the public toilets, which were obscured during the day by the builder’s trucks. Coniston is a beautiful village but our stay was spoilt by the fact that not all facts and details were disclosed at the time of booking/payment, which is totally unsatisfactory having paid over £1,200. I would not be recommending this property!

    We would like to report that the building works in the adjacent property are now completed. Whilst we cannot guarantee the weather, we can be confident that noise and access difficulties will be much reduced compared to the past two years. Property Owner

    Reviewed by James2.5Jul 2022

  • "Cottage was beautiful but there was no mention of the extensive building work going on next door, with noise, blocked driveway."

    We were only staying for two nights so it didn’t matter much but for anyone staying longer it would be an issue.

    We would like to thank you for your feedback. The owner made Lakelovers aware of the building work so we are so sorry that this was not communicated to you. We are pleased that you liked the property and we hope to welcome you back in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anna4.1Apr 2022

  • "The place was clean and tidy and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay."

    The location was brilliant. Pubs and restaurants within 50 yards which was brilliant. Close to the water and the old man with loads of walks etc nearby. I would 100% return. All in all this was a great little place. My only concern is shared with other people in the reviews. The garden not being fully enclosed which wasn't necessarily a problem for us but if we had young children with us then being located on the main road could be a problem. It would be nice to let the dogs off but it's not the end of the world. .. work is still going on at property next door. Didn't really affect us as we were there for the weekend and not through the week. The only thing was that the workmen had a dog that they allowed to just roam around which could be a problem if you have an unfriendly dog.

    Reviewed by Liam4.7Mar 2022

  • "The cottage itself was lovely, but just lacking in these final touches."

    A starter pack of wood, kindling and matches; and milk and tea bags would be welcome for the price of this cottage. It’s the first cottage of this quality we’ve stayed in that had nothing. Put the heating on before guests arrive. It was freezing and took 3 hours to get warm. There are no blue recycling boxes or bags. Could do with new red wine glasses-there’s only one.

    Reviewed by Jane4.1Jan 2022

  • "Rose Cottage is very average, but I think the reviews we saw were a little harsh."

    The garden is a bit overgrown but given the time of year, but our kids could still play kick a ball in it. The rubbish had been cleared away, although the grey bin was overflowing when we arrived and the recycling bag had been filled with glass and bags of stuff which it clearly stated shouldn’t be put in there (that’s down to previous guests as it clearly states what goes in what bag/box). The builders are still there, but we didn’t hear that much. The garage is directly opposite the house, but is closed 10pm-7am and we heard nothing excessive. More broadly, the shower needs a thorough clean - the grout is stained and needs a steam clean. The house and furniture feels a bit tired and needs some tlc, e.g. masking tape on the bathroom and bedroom doors to cover the cracks in the wooden panelling? Not something I’d expect at this price point… We would agree with previous reviews - for a house marketed as for 6, there are only 5 chairs in the lounge and i wouldn’t want to try to sit 6 people round the table in the dining room. The tumble dryer doesn’t work - annoying given the washing we needed to do due to the weather and walking. It would also be good if someone could review the timings on the radiators - they’re all over the place in terms of when they come on as the clocks on them are wildly wrong and we had no idea how to change them to be correct.

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review further to your stay with us at Rose Cottage Coniston, although points of your review were disappointing to read.Rose Cottage has been independently accredited as a 4 star gold by Visit England and this is done annually, so we believe this is a fair rating of this property as it has been done by the experts. Your points regarding the cleaning and maintenance have been fed back to our housekeeping and maintenance team and will be addressed going forward. Your comments regarding the size of proeprty to people ratio are being taken on board and discussed, so thank you for these. We do hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind Regards, The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul2.5Oct 2021

  • "Really disappointed with our recent stay at Rose Cottage."

    The photos of the outside of the property are dated and not representative of reality. We arrived to find the outside littered with refuse, overflowing bins, rubbish bags in the drive and crate on crate of empty bottles everywhere. The garden is overgrown and neglected with trees, bushes and brambles swamping the front, covering footpaths and blocking light from most windows. Couple this with the extensive renovation works taking place in the adjoining property (we’ve since read reviews saying this will be complete in a/w, note doesn’t say which year…), every morning banging, drilling and workmen noise started before 0800 and until 1600 (2 vans). This should be included on the description of the rental, we would never have booked if we’d known. The inside of the property was ok, it’s an old property, part of the attraction for us however the smell of damp was really strong and unpleasant, particularly in the lounge and front bedrooms, (we couldn’t use one bedroom) needs some attention, perhaps ask the builders next door?Facilities felt dated and basic, they did the job and bathrooms just weren’t clean. We had to keep the curtains closed for privacy as outside was a builders yard with vans and tradesmen coming and going, which blocked our car in several times. The pricing of the stay was a premium so we expected more, we love the lakes and were looking forward to some rest, easy days and some peace and quiet. We left a day early as we couldn’t bear another day of noise and disruption, not worth the money and not as advertised. Reader be warned.

    Thank you for your feedback further to your stay with us at Rose Cottage; although it did make for disappointing reading. It was really unfortunate that you stayed here during the work being carried out at the neighbouring property as it seems it marred your stay. We apologise for the garden looking overgrown, dude to the time of year you had come and stayed the owner wasn't able to get to the property to do any upkeep in the garden. Thank you, The Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare2.2Oct 2021

  • "Originally listed as having an enclosed garden."

    Then we were told after we had paid that actually the garden wasn’t enclosed and was right on a main road. When we arrived there was at least a months worth of recycling rubbish that hadn’t been emptied strewn over the drive with 4 full boxes, three full sacks and a full recycling bin. We put out our rubbish on Thursday as indicated at the bottom of the drive and it wasn’t collected.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback further to your stay with us at Rose Cottage Coniston. I was really disappointed to read your comments regarding the refuse at the property. Regrettably ourselves and the owner rely on a private rubbish collection which is at the owners expense and is by no means a cheap service to use. Unfortunately on occasion guest can forget to present the bin where it should be for collection which in turn means it is missed by the refuse collection company. It seems that this was the case here. We do apologise for the inconvenience caused here and we really do hope to welcome you to stay with us again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tiffany2.8Oct 2021

  • "Having a great base for super holiday where I was able to take my dogs and feel at home"

    Reviewed by Andre5.0Sep 2021

  • "The photographs you show do not represent at all this cottage, especially the outside."

    The garden is overgrown and unkempt. In fact it was a disgrace. The parking is an absolute nightmare due to overgrown bushes. On arrival every the outside waste bins were full to overflowing, there were even full bin liners strewn over the drive. There was no room for our waste until we put out the bins on Thursday, the day before our departure. I do appreciate this is an old building but there is a strong smell of damp downstairs, every window seemed to have damp patches on the plasterwork, and damp coming through the kitchen ceiling. The kitchen is gloomy and in need of some attention, it felt grimy. The BP garage directly opposite is very noisy at night and early morning. On the plus side it is a wonderful position in the village for access to all the amenities and walks straight from the door. Would I come back, no.

    The owner would like to respond to recent comments. During 2021 works have been going on in the neighbouring property and so that has created regrettable difficulty for guests, particularly regarding vehicle access. The good news is that the roof work has finished, the scaffolding is gone and the interior works will be finished in the course of the autumn and winter. Lakelovers, at the request of the owner, has written to all those who booked during 2021 to apologise for the inconvenience encountered and experienced. The current photos on the website do offer an accurate representation of the property. It is true that the garden is not enclosed, and during 2021 it did not receive the attention it usually receives because the owner was prevented from visiting for over 18 months because of Covid measures. If you scroll back to any of the customer reviews 2020 and earlier you will be reassured that Rose Cottage has been a Gold Award winner for good reason. If you are planning to book for 2022 please do so with the full confidence that you will follow in the footsteps of a vast majority of very satisfied guests, many of them multiple repeat visitors. A warm, dry, well-loved and welcoming cottage awaits you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amanda2.5Sep 2021

  • "Garage noise across the road constantly meant we had disturbed sleep."

    ....workmen next door....

    Reviewed by Katherine3.1Aug 2021

  • "Great service throughout the booking process."

    The property was great, well equipped and easy to access.

    Reviewed by Sam4.7Aug 2021

  • "This cottage is not as advertised."

    It is on the main road in Coniston. The driveway is dangerous, and the cottage is directly opposite an extremely busy and noisy BP garage and spar shop. The garden pictured does not belong to the cottage, and the cottage is attached to another cottage which is fully scaffolded undergoing extensive building works on a daily basis. Coniston as a base is great, but this cottage is not what it seems when you book it. We personally wouldn’t book again.

    Thank you very much for your comments Dr Milhench and for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. Customer feedback is very important to help us continually improve our standards. We at Lakelovers are very concerned to hear that the description is inaccurate, so we have passed your comments onto the Property Owner and also our Quality Assurance Manager, who has now visited Rose Cottage and together we have now revised the property information and acted upon any areas you have highlighted. Once again thank you, we appreciate your time and do hope to see you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison2.8Jul 2021

  • "Cottage for 6 people, but only 5 chairs in the living room."

    Ceiling height ok, but low door frames led to lots of bumped heads. Garden not enclosed and on a main road. Drive very tight to turn a big car if neighbours have a vehicle in their drive. Tap water tasted metallic. Beds were comfortable, although 1 broke it was quickly fixed.

    Reviewed by Tim2.5May 2021

  • "It was a wonderful cottage and we loved it."

    Ms WoodAug 2019

  • "We adore this cottage!"

    Despite the wet, the gales & the lack of sunshine, we have had a brilliant time. The bedrooms are beautifully presented & the bathrooms are fabulous. Lit the fire on a chilly night and it was so cosy. Lots of walking, cycling, canoeing & go-ape-ing, in near by Grizedale, was petrifying but awesome. Would love to come back.

    M,J,F,E & JAug 2019

  • "Lovely cottage for 4 adults & 2 children, nice central location & well appointed."

    Johnson FamilyJul 2019

  • "Cottage in great location for pubs, shops, restaurants, the lake and walks."

    Nice garden/sitting for eats/drinks out. Comfortable lounge furniture and beds, very good kitchen appliances/utensils. Excellent wifi connection

    Mr SimpsonJun 2019

  • "The cottage was excellent in every way."

    Perfect central location; ample parking and size for 6 guests + 1 dog; comfortable, particularly the beds; and excellent facilities. We also got lucky with the weather, so were able to make use of the beautiful sun-trap garden!

    Mrs ColemanMay 2019

  • "We loved the secluded location of the cottage, right in the centre of Coniston allowing access to all the local facilities and enabling us to park the car and get out and about without driving again until we left."

    Mrs BennettMar 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Over 2 floors
  • 3 x bedrooms; 2 x king size, 1 x super king size or twin (specify when booking), 1 x family bathroom, 1 x shower room, lounge, separate dining room, kitchen / diner, larder, large wild garden (not fully secure) and private parking for two cars
  • Semi-detached traditional Lakeland cottage, log burning stove, electric heating (Rointe 'instant heat' heaters), electric oven & electric hob, dishwasher, fridge-freezer, washer-dryer, kitchen TV, lounge TV & DVD, Wi-Fi, village centre location, 2 x medium dogs accepted, bed linen and towels provided

The property

Lakelovers' luxury at the heart of Coniston village!

Right in the village centre, this beautifully converted 18th Century farmhouse offers stylish and unique accommodation for a party of six.

Home comforts and high hills make this a perfect base for good friends or a small family to enjoy the very best of the Lake District.

Rose Cottage is crammed full of character, history and romance! Tucked delightfully beneath the high Lakeland fells, your holiday home-from-home inhabits a truly enviable location.

The facilities and attractions of one of the areas most celebrated villages, Coniston, are just outside your door, and the finest of hill scenery wraps itself around you while the serene beauty of Coniston Water is laid invitingly beside you. Your party will surely enjoy a day cruising the lake on the famous Gondola steam-launch, and for more energetic times there are exceptional water-sport opportunities, including many types of craft for hire at the lake shore.

We also suggest a day pony trekking at Spoon Hall, particularly attractive to children, while the walking possibilities announce themselves very clearly to your eyes; Coniston Old Man, one of the best loved fell walks in the Lakes towers over the little slate village. Rose Cottage itself is full of wonderful character features, including the traditional low ceilings and lovely stained-glass window by the stairwell.

Elegant throughout, your accommodation will ease you into Lakeland life and make you want to stay permanently rooted in it!

A superbly homely kitchen, boasting wonderful dark-wood finishings, provides you with the best in country living.

The traditional slate-flagged floors and beamed ceilings really set the atmosphere, and, of course, the warming log-burner brings life and warmth and that quintessential country-cottage feeling!

The owners would like to report that the building works in the adjacent property are now completed. Whilst we cannot guarantee the weather, we can be confident that noise and access difficulties will be much reduced compared to the past two years.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Hawkshead 4 miles; Ambleside 8 miles.

Nestling at the head of Coniston Water, the pretty village of Coniston is surrounded by some of the most beautiful scenery in the Lake District National Park, making it a superb base for touring, with Hawkshead, Ambleside, Windermere and Grasmere just a short drive away. Superb walking, mountain biking and climbing are available locally on Coniston Old Man and Wetherlam, and the lovely woodland trails at Grizedale Forest. For watersports enthusiasts, the quiet lake is ideal for dinghy sailing and canoeing, whilst the less active can enjoy a leisure cruise on the beautiful steam yacht 'Gondola’, or visit Brantwood, the former home of John Ruskin. Nearby attractions include the award-winning village of Hawkshead, home of the Beatrix Potter Gallery, Tarn Hows, one of the most visited beauty spots in the country and Esthwaite Water, famous for its fishing. A first class holiday location at any time of the year.

View more holiday cottages in Coniston

Please note this property has a zip link bed. This will be made as a twin by default. Please contact the call center should you wish it to be a super king.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas