Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 21 View Image Gallery
  • Woodland Retreat - Lake District - 1119388 - photo 1

Woodland Retreat

(Ref. 1119388)

Skiptory Howe 41A, White Cross Bay near Windermere, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • all (10)
  • hot tub (10)
  • tub (10)
  • hot (10)
  • our (9)
  • clean (9)

16 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely comfortable stay in a beautiful secluded part of the Park, we definitely would stay here again!"

    Reviewed by Kirsty5.0Mar 2024

  • "All I can put is if you read Emily’s review from her February stay it was the same for us but I think worse."

    Although the cabin inside was clean the hot water was practically non existent. As for the decking I was emailed a couple of days before arriving and offered £50. Looking back now I wish they would have cancelled my holiday. I didn’t know the true extent of the damage and that on day 2 of the holiday the workers arrived to repair the damage and therefore spoiled any piece and quite I hoped for. Then on my last day a gas fitter arrived as we sat down for our tea to repair the boiler. We was not informed of this and found it very intrusive. After the gas fitter left we had hot water for a shower but no heating so I was glad to be leaving the next morning. As for sound proofing the noise at night from the hot tub/boiler was unbearable. I’ve booked many log cabins in the past and by far I hate to mention this was the worse. I apologise for the negative review but the only positive side was the park itself.

    Thank you for your feedback. I can see that in the correspondence regarding the decking, the date and time frame for repairs was provided. We are sorry for the disruption from the gas fitter. We are glad that you enjoyed the park. Lake District Lodge Holidays Owner Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anthony2.2Mar 2024

  • "We couldn't find the property initially which took some time to locate."

    I don't think the sign posts helped as they were sending us one way and the lodge was in another direction. When we saw it, we kept writing it off as we GENUINELY thought it was derelict! That is how the property looks - derelict! We eventually realised it was our lodge. We were horrified. Half the decking is destroyed as well as the outdoor table and chairs. It is barriered off but why this has been left as it is, I will never know. If this was my property that people are *paying* to stay at, I would have had this cleared up instantly. It is an absolute mess. Shame I can't attach photos here. When we got inside, it is lovely inside, however the cleaning standards are somewhat to be desired (being polite). As we entered, I took off my shoes and started moving our belongings around, I kept standing on food (yuck) and the kitchen floor was sticky. So before unpacking I was on my hands and knees cleaning the floor. When I vacuumed I realised the vacuum is dire which could be part of the problem, however, I don't erase all responsibility from the cleaners as we found many disgusting items that we had to clean ourselves. A pan, container, kitchen doors etc. The blankets and cushion covers were filthy so I removed them and placed them with the dirty towels on our departure to push the cleaners to wash them so that the next guest doesn't have to endure the filth. Also to note, we had filthy windows, a dirty oven and filthy oven trays, and a broken bin. When I was vacuuming we also noticed, as my daughter nearly stood on it, was a large nail on the carpet! Another main complain was the hot water in that there wasn't any! We called an engineer out but he showed more interest in exiting the property than resolving the issue. We had hot water intermittently after this, which we survived with - tip - turn the heating off to get a better chance of getting hot water, even if it is for a short period of time. He told us basically that it was a glorified shed and what did we expect - well for £200 a night I do expect hot water funnily enough!!!! I have since read the reviews on here which I wish I had done before booking. I agree with the lady that stayed before us who complained about the boiler noise and the hot tub noise - it is continuous throughout the night. I am really sorry to say this, but please don't waste your money here, it simply isn't worth it. Put it somewhere else where you will get what your money pays for, as this isn't it. Lastly, I wouldn't massively rate the complex either sadly. We didn't eat there (it didn't look appetising) so I couldn't comment but I saw one lady running around all by herself in the restaurant so I had to wait 10 minutes just to get change from her. The bar was filthy and sticky. The arcade has more toy claw games (the rip off ones) than actual games. The receptionist misinformed us so we ended up buying a swimming pass only to be told this wasn't valid for the pool party we had shown up for (despite my husband checking with her before we went) so had to pay for the pool party session on top, all in all £50 just to go swimming. When we got there, they would only let us in at 1pm - when the session starts, so by the time we got changed and put our belongings in the RIDICULOUSLY small lockers, we had lost 10 minutes. Their clock is 5 minutes fast so they kicked us out early, meaning we paid £50 for 15 minutes of swim when we should have had 30 minutes. They should have let us in early to get changed, even if they don't let you in the pool beforehand that is fine, but then to kick us out early on top, having already been ripped off, we weren't impressed whatsoever. Having booked this for my 40th, we made it what we could. But it was a huge disappointment.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. The main area of decking with the hot tub was not affected but Unfortunately, a tree behind the lodge lost a limb the previous week during a storm and damaged the area holding the outside furniture. The contractors were appointed and made this area safe, and the damaged decking is being completely replaced this coming week. I'm sorry that you were unhappy with the cleanliness of the lodge and we are addressing this with the cleaning team and arranging a deep clean prior to any further bookings. Woodland Retreat is a very popular lodge in a great location surrounded by wildlife, having lots of happy returning guests. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. unhappy with the cleanliness and I've addressed this with our cleaning team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emily1.9Feb 2024

  • "The shower was really cold all of the time with no pressure and shower door didn't close so floor was flooded"

    Reviewed by Alison3.4Dec 2023

  • "Very dissatisfied with the campsite."

    Had really bad snow and no precautions were taken at all, no salt, grit or road / walkways made safe. Got our car stuck in snow and all they could provide me with to dig out the car was a dust pan as maintenance had left. Car got stuck while leaving in the exit barrier location and called the emergency helpline several times to no avail. Won’t be going back or recommending. Not worth the large cost, not at all

    We are sorry you were disappointed with Whitecross Bay as the site offers a beautiful location and excellent facilities. Unfortunately, the weather is out of our control, the extremely heavy snow was unprecedented, and the whole area struggled to cope. Cars were stranded on every road in the vicinity, and as a result, over 200 extra guests were provided with emergency accommodation by the staff on Whitecross Bay. The staff did their best under extreme circumstances. emergency accommodation Property Owner

    Reviewed by George2.5Dec 2023

  • "The log cabin is really nice."

    It has all the features that you need to enjoy a stay. Although we did encounter a few problems which we managed to resolve ourselves but did cause little issues. The hot tub is right outside a bedroom which started up every 30 min or so and caused a problem during the night. So we switched it off but obviously it wasn't warm enough to get in first thing in the morning when we switched it back on. The boiler is on the other side of the next bedroom and randomly turns on even when the heating is turned off n the thermostat through the night too so we had to switch this off kn the boiler itself, Then wait untill everyone was up in the morning the turn back on which left the cabin cold. Other that that we enjoyed our stay.

    Thank you for your feedback. It sounds as though the bubble function had been left on and this was all that needed to be switched off. Unfortunately, as we were unaware of this problem we could not assist and make our stay more comfortable. We are glad that you enjoyed the cabin and all that the area had to offer. Lake District Lodge Holidays Owner Relations Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jessica3.4Nov 2023

  • "Lodge was lovely and clean with hot tub ready for our arrival."

    Lodge was in a good position within park and really welcoming of dogs which was a great plus. Our only gripe was that the hot tub was quite loud during night, wasn't entirely sure if it was possible to switch off and we kept missing the man who came to check on hot tub each day to ask. Other than that would recommend.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. It sounds as if the bubble feature maybl of been left running as this can cause extra noise. We would love to welcome you back Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer4.7Oct 2023

  • "Generally very impressed with property and on site facilities."

    Found odd that no toilet paper or washing up liquid supplied, though available at on site shop. If arriving later, would not have been open. Also noted shower base slippery, could have done with an anti slip mat for safety.

    Thank you for your feedback, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologise for the lack of toilet rolls and basic cleaning supplies as these are supposed to be provided for all guests, unfortunately It must of been accidentally missed by the maintenance team. We Hope we can accommodate you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin3.8Sep 2023

  • "What a fantastic time we had during our 5 night stay."

    The lodge was superb. Clean and very well stocked with all the equipment you could hope for. It was a very tranquil and scenic setting. Even though the park was busy we felt that we were the only ones there at times. Saw some wildlife right from the decking area which the grandchildren loved. Could do with a towel rail in the bathroom but is me just being picky. 4 adults and my two grandchildren loved it. Thank you.

    Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay. We also love to sit and watch the wildlife, I Hooe you got to see the deer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Aug 2023

  • "The property is very well described and in a beautiful setting."

    We were quite fortunate with the weather and was able to use the hot tub despite the weather forecast making us think it was a waste getting it. The actual lodge itself. The whole of our party were dubious in the actual place having been cleaned thoroughly and personally feel it was cleaner when we left. We had to go round removing approximately 30+ spiders which my step daughter is terrified of, on our last day we spotted where we had missed and there were 3 in the area near the dog at the front door. The beds weren’t the most comfortable but I’m comparing this to my own mattress at home and therefore realise it’s not always possible to have it comfortable for everyone when it comes to the beds. The bunk beds are no where near good enough for an adult and I feel the listing should say suitable for 4 adults and 2 children not just 6 ppl. The seating area is a lovely area but the settee has such large seats that is hard to get comfortable and we sat in the dining room chairs a lot. All in all we had a lovely time and even saw a Deer on our way to the lodge, which was great. It’s a shame that the lodge isn’t in the sun, but we knew this before we booked. The hot tub is great but very noisy in the night for the person sleeping in the room directly next to it. We had a great time but think the cleaners need to actually clean, this includes every crevice as it was full of cobwebs around windows and the amount of spiders. I do t think it’s somewhere that we would return to.

    Reviewed by Andrea4.1Jul 2023

  • "We loved the lodge, felt secluded, and had everything inside we could have needed, loved the hot tub, and impressed that the maintenance for the chemicals was done daily, even the weather behaved (mostly) - would definitely recommend this lodge to family and friends, and if we decide to have another holiday at the Lakes, would consider staying here again."

    Thank you for your lovely review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope we can accommodate you again in the future x Property Owner

    Reviewed by Trudy5.0Jun 2023

  • "The cabin was excellent it had everything we needed for a fantastic holiday it ..."

    The cabin was excellent it had everything we needed for a fantastic holiday it was clean comfortable and in a great location for the rest of the park

    We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Woodland retreat does have such a perfect location, especially for viewing the wildlife from the hot tub on the edge of the woods. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Jun 2023

  • "Lovely place immaculately clean inside and all new kitchen appliances."

    2 Twin rooms very comfortable unfortunately the advertised adult bunk beds my daughter was way to tall to acutely fit in the bed it’s ok for anyone that is not much taller than 4ft. The decking area is lovely just a shame it’s not in the sun but the hot tub is great. We thought the outside could do with a little TLC and could have done with a clean. All in all we had a lovely stay and the site is great location would recommend to friends.

    Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Woodland Retreat. We have now updated the information for the bunk beds to only be used by children. The lodge has a great private location on the edge of the woodland, which does unfortunately mean tree debris on the decking is unavoidable, but It's great for watching the wildlife from the hot tub. decking Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrea3.4May 2023

  • "Just returned from woodland retreat 41a , great location with a car although there is a bus stop just outside of resort."

    Lovely lodge set back practically in forest beautiful setting even saw a deer on our 1st day. I agree with other review on arrival decking looked neglected although it was only leaves it was a build up of them obviously not been swept for some time.I did sweep them,also outdoor table needed a clean. Inside was immaculately clean & tidy all modern appliances in kitchen area & smart tvs, WiFi slow. There is only 1 full shower room the other is toilet & sink..We had a problem on our 1st day with no hot water quick call & guy was with us 10 mins later problem solved. Our group was 4 adults 1 baby & 1 dog had plenty of space. Hot tub is added bonus which we all really enjoyed. We absolutely loved this lodge did not want to leave & will definitely be returning .

    Reviewed by Donna4.4May 2023

  • "Excellent Property and very well appointed."

    Initial impression on arrival was slightly disappointing as the decking area looked a bit messy with leaves and twigs. A good sweep would have solved this. Once inside however, everything was clean and tidy. Wifi was a little slow but adequate. Hot Tub was excellent and enjoyed by everyone. Would definitely visit here again in the future.

    Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you got to see the deer at the back of the lodge. Due to the woodland location, we do get constant leaf and twig debris. But we will ensure Maintenance sweep the deck down in between guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.7Apr 2023

  • "It is an amazing property and a lovely site, we had a great time, thank you so much."

    We also got the leisure passes and enjoyed swimming, sauna and the system room, all the staff here are friendly and helpful. Our only concern is the loose handrail on the way up to the decking but I'm sure this can be fixed. Also it would be helpful to have instruction manuals for the modern equipment (I could not get the hob to work). However, these things did not impact the holiday at all. The site is right next to Windermere which is beautiful and easy to drive to, as well as local shops. Would recommend a Beatrix Potter visit too. The hot tub was all ready and working as we arrived so happily jumped in and enjoyed the moment after traveling. We will definitely consider this holiday again in the future. Thank you!

    Thank you for you for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will ask Maintenance to take a look at the decking rail to ensure that this is fixed. We hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kim5.0Feb 2023

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lake District Lodge Holidays collection.
From the moment you arrive in the Lake District there is a huge choice of activities and things to see as you take in Britain’s latest World Heritage Site – it’s the only National Park to be recognised for such status.


  • Single-storey
  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double, 1 x bunk beds (suitable for children only)
  • This lodge sleeps 4 adults and 2 children only
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin, and WC
  • Cloakroom
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • The decking is surrounded by woodland plus an Oak and Yew Tree, you will find debris will fall.Usage of the hot tub is between 10am and 10pm only.
  • Central heating
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, and dishwasher
  • Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Private wraparound decking with furniture and hot tub
  • Two well-behaved dog allowed, more on request
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1 miles, pub on-site, lake 0.6 miles
  • Note: Check-in is from 4pm, check-out at 10am
  • Note: The on-site bar and restaurant is dog friendly
  • Note: Guests can purchase a leisure pass from reception to access the on-site leisure facilities, including an indoor swimming pool
  • Note: A kids club and an adventure playground are on offer at an additional charge
  • Complimentary WiFi is provided by the park and subject to fair usage guidelines, Quality and reliability of connection will vary based on the number of people using it, prevailing weather conditions and therefore may be limited or slower than you are used to, WiFi is for personal use only and is not intended for high data usage, gaming and/or use for business purposes, This is only suitable for page browsing and sending emails, Bookings cannot be accepted if they are solely reliant on the provision of uninterrupted and unlimited Wi-Fi, We are not held responsible or liable for the WiFi on the park
  • If you encounter any issues with the WiFi, please contact White Cross Bay reception
  • Access to the local leisure facilities is complimentary and can be withdrawn at any time without financial penalty, we as the letting agent or the property owner cannot be held responsible for this provision in service, as it’s subject to third-party provider located off site.

The property

Perched upon White Cross Bay Holiday Park in the tranquil location of Troutbeck Bridge in Cumbria, is this charming single-storey holiday lodge, Woodland Retreat.

As the name suggests this property is enveloped in the beauty of surrounding woodland and enjoys a private wrap-around decking with hot tub, an open-plan living space and close proximity to amenities and attractions, welcoming six guests and their four-legged companion to enjoy an idyllic retreat in Cumbria.

Approach your new abode after unloading in the off-road parking space, admiring your surroundings from the comfort of your own private decking as you go; cross the threshold into the kitchen, where you can find all the expected appliances guaranteed to make your self-catered stay a success.

Nearby, discover the sitting area where you can unwind in the warmth of the living room and relish a movie or two with use of the Smart TV as the designated chef cooks up a storm; delight in mealtimes at the dining table or venture outside to enjoy a feast alfresco with the lovely surroundings in your backdrop.

When the sky grows dark, retreat to one of three fabulously appointed bedrooms, including two doubles and an children's bunk room, to snooze in.

Complete your morning routine in the sleek shower room before taking advantage of the on-site facilities, including a shared indoor swimming pool and a welcoming restaurant.

Close by, you can tour the grounds of Holehird Gardens and admire an array of wildlife on offer or treat the family to a day out at Brockhole on Windermere where you will find delicious food, go-karting, archery, and treetop treks, guaranteed to excite guests of all age.

Travel to Windermere and hike to the top of Queen Adelaide’s Hill to bask in the breath-taking scenery, test out your swing at Windermere Golf Club or visit The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction which hosts displays about the much-loved children’s’ author; sail to Ambleside to visit the writer’s former home at the National Trust Hill Top.

In Grasmere, discover Wordsworth Grasmere, a fascinating museum dedicated to the life and work of the famous poet, ahead of spending the afternoon exploring Rydal Cave and enjoying a picnic in the serene setting of Rydal Mount and Gardens.

Woodland Retreat is the perfect base for a family holiday in The Lake District National Park.

Please note: Due to the size of the bunks, this property allows four adults and two children only

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 8.7 miles.

The twin towns of Bowness and Windermere are both vibrant, fun-filled places set within the splendid scenery of the Lake District. Both towns provide a range of amenities, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes whilst Ambleside offers the additional attraction of a boat ride to Bowness, the Lakeside Aquarium and Beatrix Potter's 'Hill Top House' at Sawrey. Grizedale Forest Park is within easy driving distance and is home to a range of activities including many good walks, mountain biking and the 'Go Ape' adventure park. The region also boasts many National Trust properties as well as a variety of water sports for those who prefer a more adrenaline-fuelled trip. Children will enjoy a trip to the 'World of Beatrix Potter' in Bowness whilst the villages of Grasmere, Coniston Water, Kendal, Keswick and the Lakeland Mountains are all within easy reach.

View more holiday cottages in Windermere

Please note: this lodge sleeps 4 adults and 2 children. The bunk beds are only suitable for children.

Woodland Retreat is accessed by 6 steps. The lodge is then all on the same ground floor level.

There is a Good Housekeeping Bond of £200 for this property.

Please note, charging of electric vehicles is not permitted in this lodge. The nearest charging point can be found at Booths Supermarket in Windermere.

Complimentary WiFi is provided by the park and subject to fair usage guidelines, Quality and reliability of connection will vary based on the number of people using it, prevailing weather conditions and therefore may be limited or slower than you are used to, WiFi is for personal use only and is not intended for high data usage, gaming and/or use for business purposes, This is only suitable for page browsing and sending emails, Bookings cannot be accepted if they are solely reliant on the provision of uninterrupted and unlimited Wi-Fi, We are not held responsible or liable for the WiFi on the park. If you encounter any issues with the WiFi, please contact White Cross Bay reception.

Park Rules and Operations – White Cross Bay

All holiday parks are owned and managed by a separate company to ourselves. Lake District Lodge Holidays has no association with the owners of these parks or responsibility for the provision of services they offer. At certain times of year, there maybe a reduction in those services, which is outside of our control.

Commercial vehicles, caravans, camper vans, Hen or Stag parties are not permitted onsite. Dogs must be kept on leads at all times and are not be left alone in the lodges at any point during your stay.

You will be staying on an operational holiday park, which means work may be undertaken from time to time by the park owners during your stay. Although Lake District Lodge Holidays will always try to inform guests in advance if something may impact on a stay and if we have prior knowledge. We cannot be held responsible or accept any liability for park operations of which are outside of our control and which we have no knowledge of.

Any issues relating to a stay at a privately owned lodge should be reported back through Lake District Lodge Holidays as the park are not responsible for managing the lodge or booking for private sublet guests during their stay.

Hot Tubs

For the comfort of other holidays guests we request that noise is kept to a minimum. Usage of the hot tub is between 10am and 10pm only. If you are found to breach these timings then you may be asked to vacate the park with no call for a refund.

All hot tubs are maintained to strict industry standards and HSE guidelines by separate qualified independent contractors on behalf of the property owners. This includes changing the water between guest stays and checking the water condition on a regular basis.

Whilst every effort is made to have a hot tub ready for immediate use by the arrival time stated, this may not always be possible. In such cases the hot tub will usually be ready to use later that day unless otherwise advised. In such cases no compensation or refund is payable unless the hot tub is faulty.

Information about using a hot tub safely is provided at all lodges with a hot tub and on a prominent notice near the tub. All hot tub users should wear an appropriate bathing suit. Usage of a hot tub is at a guests own risk and Lake District Lodge Holidays accepts no liability for anything which may happen to a guest as a direct result of using a hot tub.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Off-season
  • Christmas