Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

9 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 18 View Image Gallery
  • Old Bakers Cottage - Lake District - 972229 - photo 1

Old Bakers Cottage

(Ref. 972229)

Grasmere, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (18)
  • grasmere (13)
  • location (11)
  • well (10)
  • parking (9)
  • bed (8)

28 Customer Reviews

  • "The water in the cottage smelled and tasted awful."

    We compared to the cottage next door and their’s was fine. We were not able to drink it. Very disappointed with the response from Sykes. They did deliver 15L of water and apparently someone visited the cottage and said it was ok when it was not. The problem persisted and Sykes failed to call us back despite advising that they would on more than one occasion. We managed the week with bottled water but not ideal. We’ve stayed in this cottage before and never previously had a problem. Cottage also suffering from damp with black mould on bedroom wall although appreciate this is an old cottage and this may be difficult to manage.

    We are very sorry to hear of the issue you had with the water in Old Bakers Cottage during your stay. We have spoken to Sykes who assure us their maintenance team checked the water and found it clear and drinkable but supplied you with bottled water for your reassurance. It is a mains water supply and we believe there may have been some roadworks nearby which affected the water temporarily as there has never been a problem before I’m sure you can appreciate this was something out of our control and hope it did not spoil your return to Old Bakers Cottage. David and Julia , the owners Dear Janice, We are sorry for this issues you faced at the cottage, when we visited during your stay, we found the water clarity and taste to be fine, but left you with a 25lt drum of drinking water for peace of mind. We will continue to monitor this to ensure the issue remains an isolated incident. Kind Regards, Lakelovers Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janice2.8Oct 2023

  • "When we arrived there was no soap, no bathmats, no extra bin liners, the toilet seat was broken and the shower in the master bedroom en-suite could not be adjusted to a low enough temperature."

    The latter two issues were fixed promptly following a call to Sykes. The patio area, shown as neat and tidy in the photo's, was overgrown with weeds. There was evidence of inadequate cleaning, i.e dust accumulated in a couple of places. The photos also showed tea and coffee in the kitchen, implying that some sort of "welcome pack" would be provided. It was not. Positives were that once the shower was fixed it was good, and the location at the heart of the village was convenient. Although the parking permit was for a car park around 100 yards from the property, there was no problem parking immediately outside for a short period for loading/unloading.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that the initial problems were speedily resolved by the maintenance team. As we are a self catering accommodation we don't supply consumables and only supply a starter amount of household products. We are glad that the parking permit was beneficial and that you enjoyed all the area had to offer. Lakes Cottage Holiday Owner Relations Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andy2.2Jun 2023

  • "Fabulous Cottage in the heart of Grasmere !"

    Close to the shop and to all the pubs in town. All facilities in the cottage were excellent, large size rooms and en-suites. Very well equipped kitchen, pantry and laundry room. Thanks for making our stay a great one.

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are so pleased to read that you had a lovely holiday. We hope to welcome you again. The Lakes Cottage Holidays Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nitin5.0May 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay at old Bakers Cottage."

    . it’s very comfortable and really well located in the centre of Grasmere. The parking permit was very handy and we loved having two ensuite bathrooms. The washing machine was not working unfortunately but hopefully it will have been fixed in time for the next guests. Also in case you are a light sleeper it’s probably not for you as from the main bedroom you can hear people going up and down the stairs to the 1st floor property quite loudly. All in all tho a lovely place to stay and we would very much like to return.

    Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take all comments on board. We hope to welcome you back. The Lakes Cottage Holidays Owner Relations Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane4.7May 2023

  • "A comfortable stay."

    Great location, especially with elderly parents on rollators and walking sticks. Issue with toilet seat wobbling was resolved quickly. Well stocked in kitchen with utensils etc. Nice and cool in the very hot weather and easy to heat in the cooler. If you want a straight forward place to stay without all the gadgets and gismos that can be over whelming to the elderly this is definitely the place to go. Co op us up the road is well stocked and Tweedies bar an even shorter walk is very welcoming.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback, the cottage is perfect for the elderly being all on one floor and only a few minutes walk from the village centre with shops, restaurants and pubs. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Aug 2022

  • "Fantastic property in good position, we have stayed before and really enjoyed our return visit!"

    It would be handy to have a spare key, we had to coordinate our return to the property when we were not out together!

    Pleased you enjoyed your repeat visa but surprised that with good comments to receive a low mark of 75 ? There is a back door key and front door key can be left in the key box . We ll add a spare key Many thanks Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mary3.8Mar 2022

  • "We felt that the property was fine but would not write home about it, especially as it was really, really expensive for the week we were in Grasmere."

    It is a bit 'tired' in places, especially the kitchen. It is a dark apartment lacking light. Some of the wall heaters were not working, there were light bulbs out, clock battery not working - all little touches which just signalled that owners/rental company don't really care about whoever is renting the place). No welcome pack which is usual for other properties in the lakes and elsewhere. Noise from the flat above is problematic - a new group moved in the night before we left - like a herd of elephants clattering about overhead and woken up early by toddler thumping about. Was actually glad to go home because of that. It was fine but wouldn't rent it again.

    Sorry to hear of your problems with light bulbs etc . There are spares in the utility room and we could have delivered extras if required . Apologies if noise from the upstairs apt was annoying - A quick word with guests above should have helped or we could have done this for you There is a well stocked co op 200 metres away for all essentials . Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mike3.4Aug 2021

  • "Amazing! The cottage is in a great location, just a minutes walk to the shops, cafes, pubs and walking paths of Grasmere."

    Our family loved our stay, it was so comfortable and homely. The parking permit came in very handy when we visited other towns in the area. Would definitely recommend to others.

    Thank you for your positive feedback , so pleased you enjoyed your stay .it is in a fantastic location but just off the busier part of the village . Hope to see you again . Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kelly5.0Jul 2021

  • "We noted that previous renters had fed back the lack of opening windows and poor ventilation."

    The owner had rebutted those remarks but I have to concur with the previous renter. Only the front bedroom had windows that would open. We also had an issue with the layout of the front bedrooms bathroom, we chose this appartment due to its apparent ease of access for an elderly family member but the wc was not easily usable due to the total lack of anything to grab onto ..... maybe a simple grabrail would solve this issue. The lack of local information at the appartment was dissappointing (eg. a list of local takeaways that deliver would be a help). Final issue was with the parking as the lack of a guaranteed parking spot in the local carpark did cause logistical problems for us and there were no other realistic parking options. The local carpark was full to capacity most days between about 10 and 6 perhaps this should be noted to renters in the literature.

    Reviewed by Scott3.4Jul 2021

  • "We've been to this cottage many times and it's perfect in terms of location, layout and facilities."

    Our expectations would have been exceeded except for the state of the "delightful" courtyard. We had lovely weather and spent time in this outside area. Unfortunately, weeds were knee high and courtyard covered in general detritus. We spent time weeding and sweeping in order to be able to sit in what should be a lovely area.

    Pleased to see you have stayed again at Old Bakers Apologies regarding the Patio. If you d called we would have attended to the weeds It as now been replanted , new table and chairs and Parasol. Many thanks Outside of property as been painted Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janice3.8Jun 2021

  • "Mattresses found to be heavily stained when stripping beds on departure."

    No mattress protectors. Winter duvets too hot. Windows painted shut. Shame, sloppy housekeeping spoiling a lovely cottage in a great location.

    We are sorry you were not entirely happy with your accommodation, as you are aware your query regarding the duvets being winter tog was responded to immediately, the summer duvets were on all beds and despite the double bed having a double duvet we arranged for you to use the super king size duvet at your request. The arch windows do not open but the others have a top opening window. All of our beds have mattress protectors which are laundered every change, these were found in the laundry bag along with the other bedding you had removed from the twin beds, the double protector was still on the bed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet3.1Jun 2021

  • "When we arrived at the property, the parking was unavailable, as outside of cottage was all double yellow lines."

    We followed all rules and regs regarding Covid, and when we arrived at the cottage there was no opening windows, or ventilation which we thought was poor considering the covid rules of fresh air. The cottage became claustrophobic on an evening, as the front door could not be left open as it opened on to the street where the public passed quite close. Otherwise all ok, nice central position to Grasmere.

    Reviewed by Kaye4.4Jun 2021

  • "We loved the cottage but wish it had been dog friendly we missed having our little pooch with us."

    But the location and cottage were perfect for my mum who is 82 we lost my dad in October 20 and it was a perfect pick me up for mum

    Reviewed by Susan5.0May 2021

  • "Could hear people in cottage above walking/running about until quite late at night, possibly it was children and this prevented me getting to sleep a few times."

    If the floor above could be soundproufed more the cottage would be perfect

    Reviewed by Tracy4.7Oct 2020

  • "The cottage was very comfortable and had everything we needed."

    The location was perfect for the walking we did. We parked the car on arrival and only used it once during our stay.

    Reviewed by Colin5.0Sep 2020

  • "The cottage is in a perfect spot in the village to take advantage of all the lovely restaurants and cafes."

    It is also well placed for visiting Keswick, Cockermouth,Ambleside and Kendal. We were worried about the parking situation when we did the booking, as the cottage comes with a permit for a car park - we needn’t have worried, the car park was only a stone’s throw away and it was easy enough to pull up outside the cottage to load/ unload heavy bags! We would definitely recommend the cottage.

    Reviewed by Mary5.0Nov 2019

  • "Wow!! What an amazing property, the photographs don't do it justice"

    . Everything we needed AND more, very clean and comfortable - we wanted to move in! Perfectly placed in the middle of Grasmere village for local restaurants and bars, and for some beautiful walks. Easy bus route to Keswick and Windermere. Will definitely return as three nights just wasn't enough! Thank you

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Sep 2019

  • "Old Bakers Cottage was a great find."

    Perfectly located in Grasmere close to village shops, cafes, pubs and very handy for the bus. Plenty of walks from the door with great views of the surrounding area. The cottage was very cosy, spacious and quiet despite being on a well used lane. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Jon4.4Aug 2019

  • "Great location and Old Bakers Cottage suites us down to the ground."

    We have recommended you to a number of our friends and are aware two couples are actively looking to book something with you based on our recommendation.

    Reviewed by Adam5.0Jul 2019

  • "Very comfortable and spacious accommodation."

    Instructions for arrival and use of appliances, etc., were accurate and detailed. The location, in the center of Grasmere, could not have been better, and provision of the parking permit was a welcome perk. My only suggestion is that the cleaning staff might want to check the utensils and dinnerware in the cupboards, as we found many items put away but not cleaned adequately. Did not want to leave this beautiful place.

    Reviewed by Carroll4.7May 2019

  • "A very cozy cottage in the heart of Grasmere with everything on door step - walks and village amenities."

    Nearby towns/ villages within easy reach Sykes Cottabes app really helpful in efficiently managing my booking Thank you and see you again soon !

    Reviewed by Basit4.4Feb 2019

  • "Well done Sykes and holiday cottage owners."

    Access simple, cottage warm clean and comfortable. Sykes called on first day to make sure everything ok. Had a lovely break.

    Reviewed by Fiona4.7Dec 2018

  • "The photos on the website did not do this property justice."

    An excellent place to stay and a very high standard. The beds were so comfy you did not want to get up! We were also very surprised at how much space there was. Very good size bedrooms and living space. The free parking pass was very useful around the Lakes car parks and saved us a lot of money. The location was very good and very near to Tweedies bar and the excellent Jumble Room restaurant. Both on the same back street. Minor criticisms are the fact some of the storage heaters were not working but replacement electric heaters were provided. No fear of being cold at night though. The cutlery in the kitchen was in need of attention. Only three teaspoons, also mentioned in a previous review of the property which makes me wonder if anyone reads them? Nevertheless I would definitely recommend this property for a stay and we will not hesitate to book again if we want to return to Grasmere.

    Reviewed by Jon5.0Oct 2018

  • "Old Bakers Cottage is a large, spacious cottage which accommodates a family comfortably."

    The rooms are all of a good size, and there is a large dining table and plenty of chairs. The kitchen is well equipped, everything being in good condition. Each bedroom has its own bathroom, and everything is on one floor which is ideal for older people or young children. Outside there is a small table with chairs. There is no parking, but a parking voucher is provided for the nearby car park. All in all, a very comfortable cottage near the centre of Grasmere.

    Reviewed by Malcolm4.4Aug 2018

  • "Kitchen facilities were getting a bit “tired”."

    Could do with new pots, cutlery etc

    Reviewed by Jon4.4Jul 2018

  • "With the flat being central it was good walking all close , it was very spacious and the kitchen was well equipped ."

    The beds were really comfy. Loads of hanging and drawer space . In the early morning sun it was nice to sit at the table n chairs at the back . Plenty of places to eat n drink

    Reviewed by Janice3.8Jun 2018

  • "The Old Baker’s Cottage really is positioned well for walking to restaurants and local shops."

    Also there are some lovely walks around Grasmere without having to drive. The cottage is spacious, clean and has everyything you need.

    Reviewed by Bruce4.7Jun 2018

  • "The cottage was very spacious and well appointed."

    The location was perfect for accessing hill walking without using our car and very close to a good selection of great pubs and restaurants. There were a couple of minor issues with the heating and plumbing but they were dealt with promptly. I cannot fault the customer service from Leigh at Lakes Holidays - we would certainly visit this cottage again for walking around Grasmere.

    Reviewed by Carolyn4.4Mar 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • All ground floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite bath, separate shower, basin and WC, 1 x king-size double (zip/link, can be twin on request) with en-suite shower, basin and WC
  • Sitting room with dining area with electric fire
  • Utility
  • Kitchen
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer and dishwasher
  • Electric heating with electric fire
  • TV with Freeview
  • WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Permit parking for 1 car
  • Courtyard with table and chairs
  • Travel cot available
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub - 3 minute walk

The property

This is a wonderfully decorated ground floor apartment set in the centre of the village of Grasmere in Cumbria.

Flexible sleeping with en-suite facilities, a cosy living room, well-equipped kitchen and delightful patio area make this cottage a fantastic spot for a group of friends or family to come and enjoy a relaxing holiday in an idyllic location.

Note: This cottage can be booked with Ref. 972230, together they sleep 12.

Baker's Cottages

A couple of immaculately decorated properties both in the same beautiful, stone-built cottage in the stunning village of Grasmere in Cumbria. The cottage is set in the heart of the village and is over three floors, providing a ground floor flat and a two-storey maisonette. Both properties are charming and pristine, boasting comfortable living areas with electric fires, well-appointed kitchens, sumptuous bedrooms each with en-suite facilities, WiFi and astonishing views towards Helm Crag. Old Baker's Cottage on the ground floor boasts its own private patio area with seating, whilst the top floor of Baker's Rest Cottage is under the eaves and provides a velux window with fantastic views. The amenities of Grasmere come less than a stones' throw away, the village offers a fair selection of inns, cafés and shops to enjoy at your leisure. If you are feeling more active and adventurous, explore what else the Lake District has to offer, whether it be walking, cycling, lake cruises, watersports or stunning buildings and history, this National Park has it all! A couple of stunning properties in the centre of a wonderful countryside village.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


Ambleside 5 miles; Windermere 9 miles; Keswick 13 miles.

Situated in the heart of the Lake District National Park is the lovely village of Grasmere, probably best known as the home of William Wordsworth, a place he once described as "The most loveliest spot that man hath found". Any visit to Grasmere needs to include The Grasmere Gingerbread shop, where the Wilson family has been making gingerbread for over 60 years. Also in the village are a number of shops, pubs, a church which dates back to the 13th century, and Grasmere Lake. Grasmere Sports takes place every August, where you can watch participants compete in a variety of sports, including Cumberland wrestling. Just five miles away is the town of Ambleside and Lake Winderemere where you will find shops, pubs, restaurants and the 17th century Bridge House, which is one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District. Cruises, boat trips and watersports can all be enjoyed on Lake Windermere, and the towns of Windermere and Keswick are also within driving distance. Grasmere is a wonderful base for your Lake District retreat.

View more holiday cottages in Grasmere

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Christmas