Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 31 View Image Gallery
  • Cedar Wood Coniston - Lake District - 1060189 - photo 1

Cedar Wood Coniston

(Ref. 1060189)

Coniston, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Electric vehicle charging
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • views (16)
  • property (16)
  • lovely (13)
  • no (13)
  • well (12)
  • bed (11)

27 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely property - exceptionally clean throughout and with good facilities."

    The house isn't an obvious choice but it is lovely inside. Great showers, enormous bath (a 7ft person could lie down in it and be submerged). Fabulous view from the rear, off street parkiing and very very quiet. We moved here after renting a different property in Grasmere with another company that was not as described and were very happy with our choice. The only possible criticism (as many others have said) is a lack of glasses / cups. The house sleeps up to 6 and there are only 6 cups/. They only cost a few quid so would definitely make the experience a bit better, but this is a minor oversight. The internet seemed to drop to to 0.2mb for the last day we were there as well, but that didn't seem to be related to the house, more likely the ISP. We have already reserved it for next year.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at Cedar Wood Coniston. We take all comments on board. Thank you- The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rob4.7Feb 2024

  • "Lovely large property with stunning views ."

    Very comfortable beds , great showers and a well equipped kitchen . All very important! Very convenient location and easy to walk into Coniston. Would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Sep 2023

  • "Excellent accommodation in lovely location, close to amenities with beautiful views."

    Certainly hope to return.

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Sep 2023

  • "Firstly we appreciate that the owner has put a lot into this property, nice fixtures and fittings of good quality."

    Sadly, they are being let down by the people who clean and maintain the property. A filthy toilet brush is unforgivable. Cobwebs and dirty floors and soiled pillow covers. The gardener who was there 5 minutes used a mower that does not collect the grass which then gets walked indoors. The patio area and furniture has not been cleaned for some time. The one complaint which was most significant is Sykes description of the property, even leading to miss selling. Sykes clearly says there is a bedroom and bathroom on the ground floor, when in fact the only room on the ground floor is the kitchen/dining room. One of our party is a wheelchair user and finding there is actually 3 steps to go up to get to the bedroom, bathroom and lounge affected his holiday independence badly. He had to ask for assistance when going to bed, going to the bathroom and joining the rest of the family in the lounge. No where in your description of the bungalow do you mention 3 steps, you always refer to ground floor. You need to point this out to future customers.

    Thank you for your feedback. We were sorry to hear of your complaints. We were so surprised by the severity of your feedback that we wanted to see for ourselves (as owners) before responding as we have never received feedback like this. As LakeLovers advise, any such concerns should be raised with them during your week to give them the chance to resolve issues during your stay. Addressing your specific points as you have raised them: 1) We have raised with housekeeping the cleaning issues you raise. The bedding and towels are replaced weekly between each visit and so will have been freshly laundered. The property has wooden or tiled floors throughout which are cleaned between visits and are not dirty. Perhaps the wooden and tiled flooring make any dust more obvious than carpet? We have asked LakeLovers to be mindful of this in future. 2) The patio/outdoor furniture are both clean (we brought a pressure washer with us on the back of your comments just in case). There are occasional leaves blown in the wind. There is a patch on one step below where a pair of Swallows have nested and there are bird droppings under that nest. This is unfortunate but is also part of nature which the Lake District is renowned for. We will remove the nest when their chicks have fledged. 3) Property description: We are sorry for your family member's mobility issues within our home but the property has never been advertised as "disabled or wheelchair-access friendly" and the pictures of the property on the website clearly show that the ground floor has a split height between the front door entrance and the majority of the ground floor. Of course, if there is a critical 'feature' that you require in a property, such as step-free access, low threshold or wider doors or additional mobility aides, we always recommend calling LakeLovers before booking to confirm if the property is suitable which, in this case, it wouldn't have been. If they don't know, they always check with us, as owners, before responding to enquiries. We are sorry that there were elements to your stay that clearly disappointed you but we also think that there are elements of your feedback that are unjustified - particularly relating to misselling. We hope that you enjoyed your visit to the Lake District and glad you enjoyed some aspects of our home. With best wishes Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sonia1.9Jun 2023

  • "We liked the space and the way the bungalow had refurbished."

    The furnishings were of a good quality and it was spotless. The view was fabulous although sadly impeded a little by the height of the central flower bed. The owner was quick to respond to questions during our stay, we did have issues with the wifi and never quite got it working properly in the lounge. We felt that the kitchen lacked some items, and to just have 6 everyday drinking glasses was very frustrating as was the lack of any tupperware to keep left over food or take out. We were also disappointed in the welcome pack, I can't recall the last time we stayed somewhere and opened an empty fridge, surely a pint of fresh milk is possible. Maybe some kitchen roll, foil. For the high price there was nothing that made us feel special eg no bottle of wine or cake, biscuits etc. Indeed we had to buy washing up liquid and had only 2.5 toilet rolls in 3 toilets for a 2 weeks stay. There was no mid stay clean. The linen was left on the doorstep and damp by the time we returned. We had to stripped the beds and so had to re make with old linen before changing them again the next day. The dirty linen was not collected. There were no mattress or pillow protectors in the downstairs room with the result that both were stained. There was no local information, maps, guide books, fliers. We did find a small booklet in an unused kitchen cupboard as we were leaving. It was not left out. We had not realised this was a Sykes property, we would not have booked had we known. I disagree with their approach to many things and particularly their attitude during covid. I suspect had the owner lived nearby and managed it personally it would have felt far more welcoming and that someone had made a real effort to make our stay special rather than just routine.

    Thank you for your feedback. I can see that you raised your concerns on the lack of mid-stay clean prior to your holiday and were informed that the cleaners are not insured to enter the property whilst guests are in situ. As this is a self-catering property, we only provide a starter set of toilet rolls. The owner has appointed a local brand to maintain the property, which is part of the Sykes family. We are glad that you otherwise enjoyed the bungalow and the furnishings. Lakelovers Owner Relations Expert Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue4.1May 2023

  • "We stayed in the cottage for a week in February half term."

    Despite the cottage being listed as dog friendly we would not recommend it for dog owners, the garden with its fencing is too low and wire to be secure and with the inquisitive sheep in the next field we couldn’t allow our dog free rein in the garden. The drive is also an issue, we arrived in the dark and damaged the side of our car turning into the cottage as the wall is not lit so is impossible to navigate at nightwithout someone being outside to direct, and is difficult in the day even with light. The cottage is very nice and spacious with plenty of room for the 4 of us, however, it did lack some basic extras that we would expect for a highly rated cottage in this price bracket such as washing up liquid, more than 2 dishwasher tablets and maybe an extra toilet roll for each bathroom?

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you found the driveway difficult to manage. Whilst it is not the widest driveway, we have had a concrete truck and skip lorry driven up to the front door in the past and out without any issues. The driveway has space for six cars and vans. There are reflective strips on the drive way to guide drivers on where the boundary is in the dark and there are also automatic PIR lights on the house itself which provides light. That said, there are many places in the Lakes which lack street lighting and visitors should bring torches. Regarding dogs, the fencing was installed by a sheep farmer, is sheep-proof and standard height as found in the Lakes. We aren’t aware of previous guests having had an issue with the fence height or managing their dog on the property. We also have a dog and have not found this to be a problem. Thank you for looking after your dog during your stay. Dishwasher tabs and toilet rolls are provided by Lakelovers to guests and we will look further into this to help you enjoy your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kate3.4Feb 2023

  • "The property was lovely!"

    Really clean and finished to a high standard. The showers were great, beds comfortable, and we had nearly everything we needed (a potato masher and some more glasses, mugs and large plates would have been good). The car charger was brilliant for us and the owner called us to help when we couldn’t work out how to get it working. The property is close to Coniston with all its amenities, about 10 mins’ walk via the path or the road. The views of the lake are beautiful and we would definitely return.

    Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take all of your suggestions on board. We hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Leah5.0Feb 2023

  • "We had a fabulous stay."

    Lovely, comfortable property with excellent facilities. Very clean and had all the essentials needed. Stunning views from the living area.

    Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad that your enjoyed your stay at Cedar Wood and hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Sep 2022

  • "A beautiful property in a beautiful setting."

    We felt there were a few things missing in the property like it would have been lovely to have had a sun canopy for the outside table, there was also no pizza cutter, the wooden table outside had seen better days, a washing line would have been helpful too, not as many accessories in the kitchen as we had hoped there would be. Also the property could do with a good cleanup, lots of dust and cobwebs inside and outside. Apart from these things it was a well sized property with beautiful views. Not sure if we would stay there again. Coniston itself is a beautiful part of the Lakes District, we would definitely stay in Coniston again.

    Dear Stephen. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. If you need anything in the future that will help your stay, please contact Lakelovers directly. They will be able to provide a replacement pizza cutter or resolve any queries you might have so you are able to benefit from a resolution during your stay. There is a dryer in the utility and in addition, there is a large airer in the garage which can be taken outside. On the patio, there are two tables of which both can seat six. One is a resin based table and one is wooden. Due to the variation of the weather in the Lakes, the wooden table has naturally adapted, which is to be expected. The unencumbered views to the Coniston Water mean the garden can get windy and for this reason, there isn’t an umbrella. We are sorry you found some dust inside and please rest assured Lakelovers will look into this and improve the service going forward. With the floors being either wood or slate, dust is generally minimal but will look to improve the cleaning service provided. We are pleased you enjoyed the property and were able to get some sunshine too. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen3.1Jul 2022

  • "We had the most wonderful time in Coniston and the house was just perfect."

    It had plenty of room, it was comfortable, the garden was a delight and we couldn’t get enough of the view….the perfect location, overlooking the lake. After a day of exploring the area and challenging ourselves to various walks and hikes (the Coniston Old Man is visible from the front of the house) it was great to come back and chill in what felt like home from home - all we needed was right there. I did not want to leave so hopefully will be back again to visit.

    Dear Sam We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Cedar Wood and thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We would be delighted to if you came to stay with us again and you are welcome at anytime. Best wishes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sam5.0Jul 2022

  • "We had a fantastic stay at Cedar Wood to celebrate my dad’s 60th."

    As soon as we walked through the doors of the property, we noticed the spectacular views which really did make it special. The property itself is clean, well stocked and really thoughtfully designed. The beds were comfy and showers were powerful! Overall, we all felt the house was even better than we’d imagined from the pictures online and would really recommend it for a great stay in the lakes.

    Reviewed by Stephanie5.0May 2022

  • "Entrance is extremely difficult and that's with an Audi TT Coupé."

    No mention of the two roads. House itself is superb.

    Reviewed by Karl4.4May 2022

  • "My wife and I had a wonderful week at Cedar Wood helped somewhat by glorious sunshine the whole time."

    The accommodation is superb being spacious, modern and with a great view. Absolutely will recommend at every opportunity. Thank you Sykes and hope to find a similar property through you in Devon for September.

    Reviewed by Joe5.0Apr 2022

  • "This is an amazing property."

    Very modern with a view to die for. Everything has been thought of for the perfect holiday.

    Reviewed by Davina5.0Mar 2022

  • "Beautiful property with fantastic view."

    Very well thought out and furnished beautifully. Our only downside was the internal steps with Mum as struggles going up and down for the toilet and downstairs bedroom but other than that it was perfect

    Reviewed by Anne4.7Mar 2022

  • "Really lovely house and comfortable."

    Great location,

    Reviewed by Sarah4.4Mar 2022

  • "Beautiful property with fantastic views of the lake and top-class facilities."

    We had a really enjoyable and relaxing stay at Cedar Wood and would love to return.

    Reviewed by John5.0Jan 2022

  • "I spent a long time searching for suitable accommodation, (3 bedrooms, minimum of 2 bathrooms, parking for 3 vehicles and dog friendly) so that my son, his partner and their young dog and my sister and her husband could join myself and my husband to celebrate my 70th birthday."

    We arrived in November 2021 during a day of torrential rain and found the cottage to be so cosy and warm particularly with the underfloor heating. I had made a note of the owner’s guidance re the heating system but luckily we didn’t have any issues, turning it down low in the evening or when we went out and up again in the morning or on our return when the cottage quickly got warm. The cottage is immaculate, beautifully furnished, styled and decorated to a very high standard. My family said the beds upstairs were very comfortable and my husband and I found the bed in the large downstairs bedroom to be so comfortable that I made a note of the mattress and we purchased one on our return! The kitchen had everything we could have needed and was a delight to use. We received a small welcome pack and as recommended, I brought with me pods for the coffee machine. The lounge was so peaceful and the views from the kitchen and lounge were stunning, (as were the views from the back bedroom) with a lovely secure garden overlooking a field of sheep and the lake. My son’s little dog loved that he could go out of one door and ask to come in at another! The following 2 days must have been some of the warmest November days on record and we were able to walk down to the lake and also to Coniston village, where we had very enjoyable meals at the Black Bull Inn. We all agreed Cedar Wood was the perfect choice - we couldn’t have had a better weekend. We too can highly recommend Cedar Wood and look forward to returning in the future.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Nov 2021

  • "Cedar Wood is a fabulous quality property."

    We have stayed in a wide variety of accommodation over the years but we can honestly say that Cedar Wood is at the top of that list and we can’t wait to book again! The cottage is spacious, with plenty of rooms and a fenced garden with fantastic views. Loved the double patio doors off the kitchen, it made it feel so light. It would be lovely to go back in the summer and make use of them and the outdoor seating area. The kitchen has plenty of cupboard space if you had a bit of a longer stay. We were there for a weekend in Early November. The lounge has comfy sofas and feels cosy at one end of the room for chatting or relaxing and the other end for watching some TV. The ground floor bedroom is extremely spacious with dressing area and on suite shower room with the most wonderful shower! The 2 upstairs bedrooms are again spacious with lovely touches, like the lighting that automatically comes on/goes off in the wardrobes. There is a lovely toilet/sink bathroom upstairs too. This is a very well thought out property with quality furnishings, the floors, doors, curtains and bedroom furniture are all of a lovely standard. A nice little welcome pack in kitchen of teas/coffees/sugars and biscuits was a nice touch. I think a few essentials in the kitchen cupboards would be very much appreciated, for example tomato ketchup & brown sauce. Vinegar. Salt & pepper. Things that have a very long shelf life but that are unlikely to be taken on a weekend away. A great selection of kitchen pots and pans etc are available. We had a small issue with the heating, it wasn’t really on when we needed it but we weren’t too cold (although the weather was mild). We tried to adjust it but it was more the times it came on rather than the temperature. There were blankets in the cupboard if needed. Comfy bed in the downstairs room (can’t vouch for the upstairs ones, though my mum and kids said they were good). Also noted was that the TV’s were of a good size and range of channels to choose from. The dog was happy in the garden watching the Herdwick sheep in the field behind. My children loved the book selection available too. The walk down the path to the water and surrounding area was great to explore. We didn’t get to see much else as the weather was pretty awful on the first day but we managed to get out the second day. We immediately wanted to rebook this property for a longer stay! Highly recommend it.

    Thank you so much for your feedback. Regarding supplying condiments in the kitchen cupboards, particularly in times of Covid, we are advised to not leave food stuffs and preferably only supply items that can be put through the dishwasher or wiped down between tenancies. However, we will revisit your suggestion when Covid is finally vanquished! Regarding the heating: The newly fitted gas-fired heating system is always available 24/7 rather than timed. The house has four separate heating zones with NEST Thermostat controllers for each zone. Additionally, there are thermostatic valves on all radiators and each bathroom also has an additional electric 'boosted' towel rail should tenants want to dry items when the rest of the house is sufficiently warm. We've found some tenants turn off certain thermostatic valves on radiators - particularly in the bedrooms as they like the house warm but the bedrooms cooler or unheated. Unfortunately, this then impacts subsequent visitors who might like the bedrooms as toastie as the rest of the house! We'll update the visitor welcome manual to explain what to look out for along with recommended thermostatic valve settings for each room should they have been altered by a previous guest. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you visiting again. We hope you have a very enjoyable Christmas. We'll be enjoying our Christmas in the Lakes! Best wishes, Cedar Wood Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kelly5.0Nov 2021

  • "Cedar Wood is a fabulous cottage!"

    Extremely comfortable, spacious - well presented and clean. Beautiful views! Well located and close to pubs etc. with walks from the door. Also I think cottage is nicer than photos (which is pretty rare). Nothing negative to share (apart from terrible weather but meant we appreciated the house even more I think). We like staying in different places but hope to be back at some stage.

    Reviewed by Louise5.0Oct 2021

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cedar wood."

    The house exceeded our expectations- the view from the kitchen/garden/lounge is beautiful. The photos don’t do the rest of the property justice- it is finished to a very high standard with lots of lovely little touches. The kitchen is very well equipped and the beds are so comfy. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this property!

    Reviewed by Nicky5.0Sep 2021

  • "Excellent location for us as my wife only has partial mobility she could enjoy the views when I went out to walk the dog."

    Short walks were available from the door with the option to take much longer walks over Coniston Old Man, Wetherlam & the Dow group of fells. The cottage is very roomy, comfy and very well equipped. One very small improvement would be to fit something in the bathroom shower for soap / shampoo, much like the en-suite shower (but lower).

    Reviewed by Allan4.7Sep 2021

  • "Heating was preset on ‘Nest’ and it was meant to be on a room thermometer which always seemed to read higher than it actually was, therefore on cold, wet days when we needed to dry off coats etc, it didn’t come on, we couldn’t put it on manual and it felt rather cold."

    First house I’ve stayed in for ages with no ‘welcome pack’, great house though and very clean. Amazing views, well equipped house and fabulous location.

    Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to write. The cottage is heated with a mixture of radiator and underfloor heating and there are four zones throughout the house with four distinct and independent sensors which accurately reflect the temperatures in the house. In addition, the bathroom radiators are duel-fuel and have a boost function which turns them on for either half hour, one hour or one and a half hour intervals which can dry these items and the switch is next to the light switch. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with Lakelovers in future Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7Aug 2021

  • "Cedar Wood was a lovely property with beautiful views of Coniston Water from the main reception rooms and rear garden."

    Highly recommended for a relaxing holiday with lots of walks in the area.

    Reviewed by Sara4.7Jul 2021

  • "Amazing house with stunning views."

    Everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We couldn’t fault a thing.

    Reviewed by Jackie5.0Jun 2021

  • "Cedar wood was stunning!"

    It has been well maintained and felt brand new. It had everything you would need in the kitchen and plenty of utensils for cooking in. The house had loads of gadgets, and underfloor heating. The bedrooms have plenty of storage and are very comfortable, the upstairs twin has amazing views. The garden is stunning and safe for little ones and dogs. Loved the stone bench at the bottom of the garden , lovely views of the lake from there. I would of liked a built in BBQ shelf as we had nowhere to stand ours on safely without scorching the walls so didn't use it. The drive takes some negotiation if like us you have bigger cars but ok once you master it. The garage has electric doors great to store prams or bikes, with access to the house internally. There is a pub 5 min walk away, and plenty more in the village, with loads of shops and cafés, Lovely walks all around the area, 15 min stroll from the house takes you down to the lake. I can't criticise anything about our stay we loved everything. The owners have thought of everything to ensure you stay is wonderful, would highly recommend Cedar Wood and would definitely return if staying in the lakes again.

    Thank you for your feedback, its great to hear you had a lovely stay at Cedar Wood. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you once again for taking time in sending your kind comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0May 2021

  • "Fabulous property - high quality fittings and furnishings, lovely patio/garden and really well equipped; great location with stunning views."

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Apr 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x ground floor king-size with en-suite shower room with basin and WC, 1 x first floor king-size, 1 x first floor twin
  • Bathroom with bath, separate shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Sitting room
  • Home office
  • Utility.
  • Gas central heating
  • Range cooker with 5 ring electric hob and electric ovens, microwave, american style fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Large lawned garden
  • Patio with furniture
  • Secure bike storage
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Off road parking for 3 cars
  • Electric car charging point
  • Pub and shop 10 min walk
  • Please note that there are 3 steps linking the main living area with the kitchen and entrance hall.

The property

This modern detached house has beautiful views to the lake and the hills and is on the edge of Coniston village within a few minutes’ walk of local pubs, village shops and, of course, the lake.

Enter the front door into the spacious hallway which links all the principal rooms on the ground floor.

The bright and airy sitting room has large picture windows and glazed door to the patio that frame the beautiful views and allow the light to flood in.

Comfortable sofas are arranged to enjoy the views and as evening arrives, relax in front of the TV.

The open plan kitchen with dining area is very sociable, with an island and large dining table.

The fitted kitchen, with granite work tops has everything you need.

The dining table is placed in front of the large, dual aspect, patio doors to enjoy the view.

There’s also a second TV in this area.

Along the hallway, there is a cosy snug, that doubles as a reading room, TV room or home office.

Also on this floor is a comfortable king-size bedroom with views to the imposing skyline of Coniston Old Man, and with en-suite shower room.

On the ground floor is the stylish family bathroom with bath, large shower, basin and WC.

To the first floor are the other two bedrooms; one king-size and views to the mountains, the second with twin beds and views to the lake.

Both rooms feature Velux windows that make them bright and airy.

Between the rooms there is separate WC and Basin room.

There’s also a handy utility room with washer/dryer and an adjacent secure storeroom for bikes and outdoor equipment.

The pretty garden is a real feature of the house and enjoys views across the meadow and down to the lake.

A large patio is presented with outdoor garden furniture and a lake view seat, to sit and enjoy the breathtaking views.

Less than ten minutes’ walk to the bustling village of Coniston with a great selection of local pubs and small shops.

Walk down the lane to the lake shore and Coniston Water, and take to the water on the historic steam yacht Gondola or Coniston Launch.

Walkers will be spoilt for choice from gentle low-level walks to challenging hike to the high fells of the Coniston Mountains.

A Coniston holiday cottage takes you away from the hustle and bustle of Bowness and Lake Windermere, to a wilder landscape full of adventure.

Coniston Water is famous for its part in Arthur Ransome's Swallows and Amazons, with Peel Island being the setting for the 'Wild Cat Island' featured in the story.

The lake is also known for Donald Campbell's water speed record attempt in 'Bluebird'.

But the real magic comes from the breath-taking surroundings; dramatic fells including Coniston Old Man, wild woodlands and wonderful Lake District walks.

You'll have access to no end of stunning routes, from leisurely strolls to challenging ascents.

You'll enjoy access to the peaceful village centre, well equipped for stocking up the kitchen with traditional butcher, artisan bakery and supermarket.

There are lovely tea rooms, cafes and traditional Lakeland pubs in Coniston village, and the Black Bull Inn is well worth a visit for its award-winning brewery the Coniston Brewing Co.

View on map

About the location


Hawkshead 4 miles; Ambleside 8 miles.

Nestling at the head of Coniston Water, the pretty village of Coniston is surrounded by some of the most beautiful scenery in the Lake District National Park, making it a superb base for touring, with Hawkshead, Ambleside, Windermere and Grasmere just a short drive away. Superb walking, mountain biking and climbing are available locally on Coniston Old Man and Wetherlam, and the lovely woodland trails at Grizedale Forest. For watersports enthusiasts, the quiet lake is ideal for dinghy sailing and canoeing, whilst the less active can enjoy a leisure cruise on the beautiful steam yacht 'Gondola’, or visit Brantwood, the former home of John Ruskin. Nearby attractions include the award-winning village of Hawkshead, home of the Beatrix Potter Gallery, Tarn Hows, one of the most visited beauty spots in the country and Esthwaite Water, famous for its fishing. A first class holiday location at any time of the year.

View more holiday cottages in Coniston

Some restricted headroom in 2 upstairs bedrooms.
Please note: 1 dog only allowed