Don’t miss our Summer Sale

Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Yorkshire Dales 39 minutes ago

9 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 33 View Larger Image
  • Burrow Barn - Yorkshire Dales - 983967 - photo 1
close

Burrow Barn

Bentham, Yorkshire, Yorkshire Dales - South (Ref. 983967)

4.8

Excellent

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 8

  • Bedrooms 4

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

58 Customer Reviews

  • "The barn, met and exceeded our expectations."

    We found everything to be in very good condition, clean and to a high standard. The instructions from Sykes and from the owners were clear and concise. It made for an easy and stress free holiday. We would definitely use Sykes again and would consider staying at Burrow barn again if circumstances allow. The only suggestions I would make are the possibility/option of turning one of the double bedrooms into a twin for flexibility and the mattress on the superking size bed is a bit soft. Other than that it was great, the local village was lovely especially the bakery, sweet shop, chippy and Chinese takeaway. Having visited the Yorkshire dales 20 years ago, it was lovely to return, and has made us want to come back. Alex and Emma Green

    Reviewed by AlexJul 2022

  • "Absolutely stunning cottage, with everything you could need and more!"

    one of the best places we have stayed, and would love to go back again!

    Reviewed by RobertJul 2022

  • "Amazing place, well kept and very clean!"

    Can’t fault it. Quite challenging to have dishwasher emptied before checkout at 10am along with beds striped, all bins emptied and house left generally tidied whilst packing, eating and getting out of the door on time.

    Reviewed by CharlotteJul 2022

  • "Lovely time had in this beautiful conversion."

    Everything we needed was there and spotlessly clean. Underfloor heating was a big bonus and hot tub was perfect temperature and spotless - would definately recommend

    Reviewed by WilliamJul 2022

  • "Thank you for an amazing stay."

    We can’t understand recent negative reviews, the place was near enough perfect. The pictures don’t do it justice, the cottage was stunning with a very high standard of cleanliness. The location was ideal for exploring local areas of interest like Ingleton Waterfalls. The hot tub was great, the home was spacious for 8 adults, and the information pack provided was useful. Our only points for improvement would be that provision of shower gel would have been nice, the mattresses in some bedrooms (particularly the bunk beds) need replacing, and that we would have liked to check in earlier than 5pm and leave later than 10am, even if it meant the option to pay for this. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, we would highly recommend Burrow Barn to anybody.

    Reviewed by JessicaJul 2022

  • "Myself and 7 friends stayed here for my 30th Birthday for a long weekend!"

    The Barn was amazing and the photos don't do it justice! It was well equipped with kitchen items and the smart TV with a Netflix account was a great touch! The best part has to the very large garden and terrace and the hot tub! We can't wait to stay again!

    Reviewed by SuzanneJun 2022

  • "Listing photos not same as property."

    Rattan furniture is actually stored in their garage loft space and a wooden set with broken chairs is available on the poorly fitted decking next to the slabbed area which is collapsing in a number of places. Parasol full of large holes. Blinds and SMEG fridge shown in photos not there at all or replaced with something basic. Locks on bifold door fell out. Roof windows had to be balanced open with coat hangers. Double bed mattress is collapsed and not possible to sleep on. Master bedroom had broken toilet seat and wardrobe door was wedged I. The gap so fell out when opened. Hot tub had not been cleaned. Edges really dirty. Owners never came, never topped up hot tub or checked chemical levels. We do not think it was emptied and cleaned from the last people. It looks like owners do not care. Interestingly, the house is up for sale so not sure what happens if you have a holiday booked and the house goes through! Beautiful scenery and places to go but would advise looking at a different property as your base.

    Thank you for your feedback. Although the photos are not exactly the same as we are yet to update these, we feel the property has been upgraded throughout and feel this should not be an issue. We review our property/garden before and after every stay and we take photographs when needed to provide to Sykes Cottages if we feel any comments left by guests are unreasonable. We reviewed the property before your stay and again after and can confirm that the table and chairs which we have upgraded the rattan furniture with is not broken; the parasol had no holes in prior to your stay but we have seen that there is now a very large hole apparent and this will now have to be replaced. The decking was also inspected following your claims and this has found to be in order with no collapsing areas; photos have been sent through to Sykes confirming this. The lock on the bifold door remains in place; photos have been sent through to Sykes confirming this. The roof windows are conservation skylights which means that the winding handles have been removed so guests do not open them in the bedrooms as this was they only way to fit blinds. All rooms have alternative windows that do open. We refute your claim regarding the bed as this has been investigated and found not to have collapsed; photos have been sent through to Sykes confirming this. Again, no issues were found with the toilet seat; photos have been sent through to Sykes confirming this. Regarding the hot tub, we absolutely must dispute these claims. We adhere to all health and safety checks of the hot tub and visited the property early every morning of your stay to complete all chemical checks which we log; we have also taken photographs of the hot tub on your departure which also show the tub to be clean. Overall, we are very sad to have read your comments and do not agree with the majority, we are, however, very glad you enjoyed the scenery in the area. Rest assured, if you truly experienced any issues within our property, we would have been happy to discuss this with you and would have aimed to rectify anything we could have during your stay. Kind regards, the property owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SharonJun 2022

  • "Well equipped barn, regarding space."

    ... but lacks attention to detail, chipped plates, dishes, lamps not working in bedroom, log burner no logs .....sky light in a bedroom you had to use steps to close. A pole would of helped. Leaking sky light in another bedroom which had leaked on personal items. Outside hot tube could of had a cover over for when it rained. Patio full of weeds, rubble bags left outside, barbecue full of cigarette ends, patio chairs not enough, old broken bench and pots left outside... dangerous if children wanted to play near them. Overall very disappointed

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We have inspected all the crockery at the property and have struggled to find any chips; we will continue to monitor this weekly. I can see that one lamp bulb had gone and we would have been happy to rectify this for you had we been made aware. Unfortunately, as per our description, we do not provide logs for the log burner, these can be purchased locally if needed. The roof lights are conservation lights stipulated by planning consent. As such, these are made from aluminium and can condensate slightly, however, as this light is above the wardrobe, we have never had any problems with water leaking on personal items in the past but can only apologise if this is something you experienced. The blinds available for these lights are limited in design and can not be closed with a pole which is why a small step stool is provided. We did review the garden before and after your stay and we do disagree with your comments on the upkeep and have provided Sykes Cottages with the photographs of how the garden was found after your stay. Overall, we are sorry you were disappointed with your stay and we would have loved the opportunity to have addressed any issues during your stay had we been contacted. Thank you again for your comments. Kind regards, the property owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SusannJun 2022

  • "Really enjoyed our stay at burrow barn!"

    ! The property is just lovely, the pictures really don’t do it justice. Easy to find and plenty of parking. The garden is very spacious which is perfect as we have two small boys who love to be outside. The property is well equipped and we really appreciated the stair gate so we could block off the stairs. My only criticism is the mattress in the master bedroom was rock solid and quite uncomfortable to sleep on. We had such a lovely week and would book again!!

    Reviewed by EloiseMay 2022

  • "Burrow Barn provided roomy accommodation and a well equipped kitchen."

    It was well situated to visit the Forest of Bowland and Western Yorkshire Dales. The hot tub was a bonus and was always ready for use. The decked area at the rear offers picturesque views over fields.The negatives for us was the road directly outside which was noisy in the early morning and the mattresses on the beds in the upstairs double rooms need to be replaced urgently.

    Reviewed by GordonMay 2022

  • "A great place to stay."

    Reviewed by JamesApr 2022

  • "This is an excellent property."

    It was spotlessly clean. The barn was extremely well equipped and tastefully decorated. The hot tub was appreciated by all of our party and the toy cupboard and books were enjoyed by the children. The large lawned area at the rear,with extensive views,provided space for the youngsters to play. The barn is well placed for walks in classic Dales scenery;with local walks from the door. The Sundial in Low Bentham, in particular, and the Black Bull were welcoming pubs. Minor quibbles The bathroom and downstairs toilet doors scrape on the tiles and need planing and re-hanging. The smaller table in the lounge has a wonky leg. The master bed mattress is too soft (but that is personal preference). The welcome pack could contain more information,local maps etc. Overall an excellent property.

    Reviewed by JohnApr 2022

  • "Great cottage."

    Good fire and hot tub nice family holiday.

    Reviewed by PatrickApr 2022

  • "Such a beautiful cottage with everything you need for a relaxing and perfect stay."

    The cottage is better in person and the photos can not do it enough justice. It was spotlessly clean and had everything on hand to make your stay perfect. The hot tub was amazing and we really enjoyed using it, the kitchen was well stocked with all utensils and it was really clean and a great place to gather around the table. The hosts really had thought of everything with dressing gowns for the hot tub even provided. Do not hesitate to book you will not be disappointed. We had a lovely weekend for my 50th birthday celebrations.

    Reviewed by NicolaMar 2022

  • "We had a lovely holiday at Burrow Barn."

    It's a very comfortable house with lots of space for everyone. Loved the library area and all of the books and toys provided. My daughter was in her element searching through the toy cupboard and finding new things to play with! The hot tub was a hit though it was disappointing not to be able to use it on our first night whilst it was heating up. Could do with some new frying pans as those provided were very dirty. Overall, beautiful place to stay and would thoroughly recommend. I hope we will return.

    Reviewed by NicolaFeb 2022

  • "A spacious and comfortable cottage."

    We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We particularly liked the hot tub, the views and the log burner. The kitchen was great- a good size and well stocked with everything we could need. Large living room was great and good to have the second seating area. The only slight negative is that a 5pm check in time is quite late and there was no flexibility on this when we asked. However we loved the cottage and would not hesitate to recommend. Thanks

    Reviewed by CaroleJan 2022

  • "We had a really great weekend and the house just made it!"

    We wanted a relaxing stay for a girls weekend. It was stunning to walk into and had all the amenities we needed for our stay. It was beautiful and clean, and the views from the hot tub were picturesque. It was a short walk to the village pub for Saturday dinner. We would all definitely recommend this house to anyone. Thank you.

    Reviewed by SarahJan 2022

  • "Amazing weekend break!"

    Excellent facilities, suited our needs perfectly. Really enjoyed the hot tub both nights and perfect location for a nice weekend walk. Thank you for a lovely weekend, we will be booking again!

    Reviewed by SarahJan 2022

  • "A lovely stay had at Burrow Barn as a group of 8 friends."

    It would have been nice to see more Xmas decorations but the tree was a nice touch. The kitchen was lovely and spacious, well equipped big enough to comfortably seat everyone for dinner. Our only feedback is more outside lighting (it was very dark getting in and out of the hot tub) and also, mirrors and lamps on everyone bedroom would have been helpful. Overall however we would return.

    Reviewed by VictoriaDec 2021

  • "A beautiful barn with great facilities!"

    We would definitely stay here again!

    Reviewed by JoannaNov 2021

  • "Myself & 6 friends enjoyed a belated 40th birthday celebration but it was worth the wait."

    The barn was gorgeous with everything we needed. Comfy beds, lots of seating especially the dining table. The hot tub was a bonus & the log fire. This place is ideal for exploring the dales & walking distance to shops & pubs. We had a fab time.

    Reviewed by LisaOct 2021

  • "We found Burrow Barn to be everything we needed for a break with our friends."

    It was very comfortable and large enough for those who wanted to find a spot for some peace and quiet.The kitchen dining area was very well equipped and this tended to be our focal point especially with the open views of countryside through the patio doors. The addition of the hot tub was a bonus, though not used as much as we would have liked as we were out and about so much! We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Burrow Barn to anyone.

    Reviewed by SallySep 2021

  • "We felt the en suite downstairs was too small and lacked a shower, one of our party found having to go upstairs for a shower difficult."

    The extractor in the other en suite was not working and without other ventilation it was a problem. The sink was rather small. Facilities and and equipment were, otherwise, excellent. Hot tub was a boon.

    Reviewed by SteveSep 2021

  • "The barn was beautiful."

    Perfect location, and even though the weather wasn’t ideal there was plenty to do to keep us amused.

    Reviewed by PhillipAug 2021

  • "Amazing cottage, great owners very helpful in days out ideas."

    We couldn’t of wanted for anything more.. The 2 grandchildren loved the hot tub as did the adults. And the garden was amazing . Thank you for letting us book your beautiful property, we will def be booking again in the future. From the Copeman family.

    Reviewed by KayJul 2021

  • "The location and property was fabulous!"

    10 minutes walk to all the local amenities, including a number of nice pubs. We had a wonderful stay and thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub and garden thanks to some great weather - it has a lovely view. Would highly recommend!

    Reviewed by SophieJul 2021

  • "It was absolutely lovely."

    A real luxury!

    Reviewed by KarynJun 2021

  • "We had a lovely stay at Burrow Barn."

    The house is beautifully decorated and plenty of space for the 4 of us. The outside space is well maintained and looked after, it would have been nice to have more for the children outside, but they loved the hot tub! The only downside was the building work across the road which could be noisy during the day.

    Reviewed by RebeccaJun 2021

  • "Brilliant stay at Burrow Barn, stunning house with everything you need for a lovely break!"

    We had the best time. Lovely hosts, nothing was a problem. Thank you!

    Reviewed by LianneMay 2021

  • "Beautiful house."

    Very spacious. Lovely and clean. Great amenities. Close to the town and lovely walks.

    Reviewed by NicolaMay 2021

  • "The barn is beautiful - it is well equipped and comfortable and we were reassured by the cleanliness given the current pandemic."

    The hot tub was great and the guest robes were a lovely touch. We didn’t venture out all weekend, partly because of the pandemic but mainly because we were quite happy to have a very relaxed weekend. Hopefully we will be back!

    Reviewed by LaurenOct 2020

  • "Fantastic house."

    Perfect for what we wanted and wouldn't hesitate to go there again. Skyes simple and easy to use to find the property and again wouldn't hesitate to book through them again.

    Reviewed by TomOct 2020

  • "Me and my friends had such a lovely time!"

    Reviewed by MollySep 2020

  • "There needs to be more pans so that people can cook easier for 8 people."

    Cooking a roast for 8 people with only 2 pans was extremely hard.

    Reviewed by TinaAug 2020

  • "Burrow Barn is beautifully furnished and the perfect place for a family celebration in the Yorkshire Dales."

    We were all in need of some down time and Burrow Barn certainly provided that, without us feeling in each others pockets. The dining area is great for socialising and the bedrooms are comfortable, clean and stylish. The hot tub was well tended to by the owner, who popped round at the weekend to check it was working. This was such a lovely addition to the barn and one that the littlest one of the group found most brilliant! (The older ones were quite chuffed with it too!). The local amenities are plentiful and within easy walking distance. We used the Black Bull pub for drinks, Bentham Chippy which was nice and Little Fortune for a Chinese which was really, really good. We managed to climb one of the Yorkshire 3 peaks whilst we were there and the birthday boy had a brilliant weekend. All in all, a fabulous stay and a true gem in the Yorkshire Dales- thank you. As for Sykes Holidays, we couldn't fault the service and appreciate the level of detail that goes into each holiday listing and contact email. Thank you.

    Reviewed by NicolaMar 2020

  • "Firstly, can I just say that Burrow barn was fantastic."

    The garden, hot tub and outside space was fabulous, and the house its self was beautiful. I could not fault anything about the place. My only negative would be that Sykes Cottages took payment twice, by mistake. I had warned them prior to this happening, as my payment wasn't attached to my booking on their system. This caused alot of unnecessary stress.

    Reviewed by GlenMar 2020

  • "Wonderful stay in such a gorgeous cottage."

    Very spacious and warm which is always nice. Only recommendations would be to supply condiments, washing up liquid, and a hairdryer. Plenty of other things supplied and great location so all in all we had a very comfortable stay. Thank you

    Reviewed by SusanFeb 2020

  • "Stayed here with 4 of my girl friends."

    we had and amazing weekend in this cottage. It was clean warm and very cosy ideal for a weekend away. Hot tub was lovely and we made the most of it. The cottage is walking distance into bentham itself with some lovely pubs. I would highly recommend this cottage.

    Reviewed by EmmaJan 2020

  • "Burrow Barn was stunning."

    Clean, comfy and really warm! The log fire made for cozy nights in. The kitchen had everything we needed for cooking. The hot tub was fabulous - we used it a lot and even got to star gaze from it one night when the skies were clear - lovely experience. The tumble dryer was a bonus for drying our swimsuits between hot tub uses. The kids loved to watch the rabbits playing in the garden at breakfast time. The downstairs bedroom was great for my mum who has recently has knee surgery so can't get about as well as normal. We had some lovely days out too, exploring White Scar caves and completing the Ingleton Waterfall walk, both are just a short drive away. We would love to go back to Burrow Barn again and would highly recommend a stay there :)

    Reviewed by KarenJan 2020

  • "Loved our stay at Burrow Barn."

    Very homely from the moment we entered the premises and easily accommodated our family of six adults and two children. Set in a quite location but within easy reach to local villages. The Barn is full of character from years gone by to a modern fully functioning home and a added bonus of a large hot tub. Anyone visiting this establishment will not be disappointed a huge credit to the present owners of Burrow Barn.

    Reviewed by AndrewDec 2019

  • "We booked Burrow Barn for our Christmas girly get together and when we arrived everything was WOW!"

    The cottage is furnished to an exceptional standard, was incredibly clean and felt more like a home rather than a let. The crockery, cutlery, utensils in the kitchen were sparkly and clean and there was absolutely everything you could have needed. The lounge was very spacious and the roaring log fire kept us all cosy. The bedrooms were very clean and comfortable as were the bathrooms. The hot tub was divine after a long day walking at Ingleton Falls. Would we stay here again? In a heartbeat.

    Reviewed by AlisonDec 2019

  • "Stayed with friends & family."

    We all have a,wonderful weekend. The barn was well equipped. Close to local shops & pubs. Would recommend to others.

    Reviewed by MarieNov 2019

  • "We had a great time at Burrow Barn."

    It is a really comfortable place to stay with great facilities and is just a short walk from High Bentham where we had a good afternoon at the Horse and Farrier pub having a drink and something to eat. Our weekend was very relaxing and we would definitely recommend this property for a few days away.

    Reviewed by DavidNov 2019

  • "This was one of the most relaxing places I’ve ever visited!"

    Perfect for a few nights away with family or friends I couldn’t recommend it more

    Reviewed by NatalieOct 2019

  • "Lovely long weekend stay at this venue, the place was immaculately clean and in a great location."

    All mod cons and great size rooms for larger parties. Only one slight issue for the winter months is that the hot tub could do with some kind of cover, wasn’t an issue for us as we took a mobile gazibo.

    Reviewed by MarkSep 2019

  • "Beautiful barn conversion."

    High end finish. Lots of space. Private, not overlooked. Comfortable beds. Amazing hot tub. Would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by KimSep 2019

  • "Perfect !"

    Reviewed by VanessaSep 2019

  • "We all loved burrow barn."

    we've booked again for next year. only thing I'd say is need a roof or some kind of shelter over hot tub.

    Reviewed by KerryAug 2019

  • "We stayed in July for a week with all the family (5 adults and 2 kids) and it was a great cottage, everything you could want, The full place had the wow factor."

    Kitchen was well equipped for cooking and great for hosting. All rooms where clean and well presented. Bathrooms where done out to a high standard and where very clean. The local village had some good pubs we ate at the horse and farrier twice and both really nice home cooked meals and had the Indian takeaway which was also nice. There is a playground in the middle of the village that the kids really enjoyed. The cottage is a good base to explore all the Yorkshire dales and lakes. Having the hot tub was a real added bonus. Would stay here again and highly recommend to anybody wanting to stay here.

    Reviewed by RobertJul 2019

  • "No hot water and owner not interested as was away for weekend!"

    The barn itself was fabulous but 8 people with no hot water on a scorching weekend is not acceptable

    Reviewed by ClaireJul 2019

  • "Superb barn, spacious, well presented, well stocked."

    Hot tub was a great bonus. Loved the garden for games. The owner offered us a part reduction as the WiFi wasn’t working which was very kind. The only thing missing was more outdoor furniture to accommodate all guests but this did not spoil our fun at all. I would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by KathrynApr 2019

  • "Absolutely loved this barn."

    It had everything you could ever need in a home away from home. Little touches really made it personal. Things like ice cubes in the freezer, coffee, sugar, books, games and every kitchen item you have at home. The hot tub was really hot and secluded with wonderful views of the mountains. The whole place was spacious and clean. Loved every second and will definately return.

    Reviewed by JacquiApr 2019

  • "Celebrating mum's 80th with my 2 sisters and aunt at Burrow Barn has left us with such happy memories."

    The barn worked really well for us despite 2 of our party having reduced mobility. It is a great place to spend with family or friends in a lovely part of the country. The garden/patio area is so peaceful and tranquil and having a hot tub is an added bonus. We all 100% recommend it and will definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by TinaApr 2019

  • "Beautiful cottage enjoyed by all of the family!"

    Perfect location for walking or for the children to just playing in the garden - hot tub is a added bonus! There is nothing that the cottage doesn’t have from toys, books to bathrobes! If you don’t fancy cooking but want to enjoy the cottage there is a pub (sundial) just down the road that does take out - amazing food!

    Reviewed by KellyMar 2019

  • "The holiday cottage was beautiful, far better than the pictures!"

    Very clean, spacious, welcoming and in beautiful area and hot tub! What more do you want! Our children loved it and are requesting to go back.

    Reviewed by DanielleMar 2019

  • "Fantastic cottage with amazing space."

    We had a great time and really enjoyed the hot tub. Great location and really high spec. Will definitely return.

    Reviewed by AndrewMar 2019

  • "Fantastic barn finished to a very high spec and ideal for families and groups."

    Large rooms yet still cosy. Hot tub was a big hit. Kitchen was a pleasure to cook in.

    Reviewed by BenJan 2019

  • "Beautiful barn conversion, really spacious with great facilities including a hot tub."

    It's location is perfect! Just a 5 minute walk to the village and you'll find a selection of pubs serving great food, a Barclays bank and cashpoint and there is also a Spar supermarket. It's also an ideal base for walking, Inlgeton Waterfall Trail is just a short drive away!

    Reviewed by ClaireDec 2018

Show more

Summary

  • Four bedrooms: 1 x super-king size double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x king-size double, 1 x adult bunks, 1 x ground floor double with en-suite basin and WC (no shower or bath)
  • Bathroom with bath, separate walk in shower, basin & WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Gas central underfloor heating with woodburning stove
  • AGA range cooker, electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, iron and board, dishwasher
  • Smart TV, DVD, wireless Bluetooth speaker, WiFi, selection of books, games, toys and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Off-road parking for 4 cars
  • Lockable bike storage
  • Large enclosed garden with patio and furniture and hot tub
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 10 mins walk.

The property

Burrow Barn is a detached barn conversion located halfway between the small towns of High and Low Bentham in the Yorkshire Dales, which have a great range of shops, pubs and restaurants.

Sitting within its own generous grounds, the property is within easy walking distance of High and Low Bentham, and a short drive from Kirkby Lonsdale, Settle and Ingleton.

Beautifully converted to a high standard, you can enjoy luxurious accommodation in an attractive setting.

The spacious interior offers heart-warming features including an original farmhouse range cooker, slate floors and exposed wooden beams, along with underfloor heating throughout.

The large sitting room displays a woodburning stove with plenty of comfortable seating.

There is ample room in the farmhouse kitchen, which offers a dining area and fantastic views across the countryside through folding doors.

For those wanting to enjoy the views whilst relaxing there is also a luxurious hot tub.

With the Yorkshire Dales, Forest of Bowland and Lake District nearby the property makes an ideal base for all, including families, couples and groups of friends.

For the more active amongst you there are hill walks, including the famous Yorkshire Three Peaks, cycling, mountain biking, and an 18-hole golf course, all on the doorstep.

Those wishing to take things more gently can enjoy rambling country walks on the footpath that leads straight across fields from the property, and visit the many local shops, restaurants, and pubs.

A wonderful hideaway to be enjoyed the year-round.

View on map

About the location

BENTHAM, YORKSHIRE

Ingleton 3.5 miles; Kirkby Lonsdale 8.4 miles; Morecambe 16.8 miles

Positioned just west of the Yorkshire Dales, on the northern fringes of the Forest of Bowland, this lovely town is split into High Bentham and Low Bentham, with the babbling River Wenning running between the two. The town boasts an annual agricultural show, with handicraft, horticulture and livestock competitions, which dates back to the 19th century. In addition to this is the annual Carnival and funfair, entertaining a thriving community with workshops, music and many fundraising events. High Bentham has an array of public houses and eateries to choose from, and the railway station sits on the Leeds to Morecambe line. For walking enthusiasts, there are colour coded circular trails of different lengths and capabilities, right on the doorstep. The neighbouring village of Ingleton offers some wonderful caves and tumbling waterwalls, along with a year-round climbing wall and a good range of shops, pubs and places to eat. Enjoy a trip out to Morecambe Bay with your bucket and spade, where you can fly your kites, build sandcastles or simply take a stroll along the promenade. For more independent shops and restaurants, the town of Kirkby Lonsdale is only a short drive away, with access to Ruskin's View. Take the footpath from the churchyard at St. Mary's Church and follow the trail high about the River Lune, where you can marvel at a panorama of the Lune Valley and Underley Hall. A wonderful location for exploring National Parks, Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty and the North West coastline.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas