Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 19 View Image Gallery
  • Thie Loghey - Lake District - 1041702 - photo 1

Thie Loghey

(Ref. 1041702)

Hawkshead, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 4 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lodge (9)
  • great (8)
  • everything (6)
  • our (6)
  • clean (6)
  • lovely (6)

15 Customer Reviews

  • "Our third time at the property and we’ve thoroughly enjoyed it."

    Hi David So pleased you’ve enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your 5 Star review. We look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth visit someday soon. Elly & Pete (Owners) Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Sep 2023

  • "Really enjoyed the lodge."

    Great location, very peaceful. Outside space awesome for our three young children to run off some steam safely. Great facilities and all clean and tidy. Problem with oven on arrival sorted out immediately. Fence on decking rotting to left hand side just to make you aware. Will defo consider staying again. Thanks

    Dear Andrew Many thanks for your feedback. We're pleased to hear that Thie Loghey proved to be a good match for you and your family. Thanks too for your feedback re decking fence. We are aware we have a problem and hope to have the decking replaced as soon as the joiner has time to accommodate us - and we have no guests staying. We look forward to welcoming you back someday soon. With kind regards Elly & Pete Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.7Aug 2023

  • "Thie loghey is in a beautiful, quiet spot about 8 mins walk from Hawkshead centre."

    It is very well equipped with everything we needed for a comfortable stay - fluffy large towels, iron, washing machine if needed, hair/ body wash, great shower and bathroom and phone charger! spacious living area and bedrooms. Welcome pack of jams and relish was a nice touch too. The highlights were the views and being woken by bird song in the morning. It’s just such a relaxing place to be and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The weather was excellent - clear blue skies and hot all week - no need to use the log burner! A great base for visiting all the lakes and attractions as well as being able to explore places off the beaten track. Would definitely recommend/ return.

    Dear Michelle Thank you so much for your kind words and 100% score. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and would happily welcome you back to Thie Loghey. Kind regards Pete & Elly Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0May 2023

  • "Our third visit and it was as lovely as ever."

    Beautiful peaceful setting which we value so highly. Everything as it should be - thank you owners! We would love to see the leather seating replaced as it is now a bit less than comfortable.

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The Owner Relations Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.4May 2023

  • "Super Lodge, clean and has everything you need for your holiday."

    Mattress in one bedroom a tad solid but new so..... Was so nice to have the space in this Lodge, only thing was the worktops in kitchen were sticky,couldn’t put anything down for long as it stuck, apart from that can’t complain! Would recommend the bedroom carpet (with en-suite) give a wee shampoo! Definately would go back.

    Reviewed by Wanda5.0Jul 2022

  • "Fantastic lodge with everything you could ever need and more in a fabulous location your attention to detail is outstanding."

    Only critical point was the constent reminder of how to leave the lodge which i personally thought was a bit patronising that said would definitely stay again

    Hi Andrew Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you found the lodge to be to your liking and we are thrilled you would consider returning one day; we hope you do! With regard to the constant reminders of how to leave the lodge - apologies. As owners, we are unaware of any such messages being sent and we'd be interested to know more please. You can respond to us directly at if you wish. Thank you. Kind regards Elly & Pete Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.4May 2022

  • "We had a second lovely stay and appreciated the improvements and additions made since last year."

    We also appreciated the quality of the fittings and furnishings. Minor criticisms Seating is less than comfortable Window blinds were very dusty

    Hello John Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our improvements and additions; we hope to continue with these over the next 6-12 months. We are sorry you didn't find the seating comfortable; we will review this when we are next at the lodge. Many apologies for the dusty blinds; we have asked our cleaner to pay particular attention in future. We know it is a constant battle to keep them clean! Many thanks for taking the time to give your feedback. Kind regards, Elly & Pete Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.4Apr 2022

  • "Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at thie loghey, well appointed luxury lodge, we hope ..."

    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at thie loghey, well appointed luxury lodge, we hope to return, Sykes cottages kept us well informed which contributed to a great holiday

    Hello Rodney, Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you hope to return one day. We do hope so! It is good to hear that our agent's attention enhanced your experience. With kind regards Elly & Pete Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rodney5.0Dec 2021

  • "A lovely lodge."

    Quiet location, lovely views. Very well equipped. The lodge has everything we needed and more. Very cosy and clean. A really comfortable stay with a short walk to Hawkshead. We had a great family holiday and will definitely be back. We’ve stayed in many properties in the Lake District and this is one of the best.

    Hello Alison, Thank you for your feedback. Apologies for our slow response - our ability to be able to respond to feedback is relatively recent. We are delighted that you found Thie Loghey to be more than you expected and we hope you do indeed return one day. You will be more than welcome. With kind regards Elly & Pete Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Oct 2021

  • "We have stayed at Thie Loghey several times in the past."

    This time however we were disappointed. The lodge just wasn’t clean - the blinds were thick with dust as were the headboards of the bed frames. There were cobwebs, and floors looked like they hadn’t been hoovered. There were white sticky marks on the leather sofa ( one of which was a handprint). There was mould around the shower and the shower heads. We spent an hour cleaning and dusting after 4 hours in the car to get there which is unacceptable. The lodge is tired and could do with some updating but that would’ve been fine if it had been clean. The lodge is in a beautiful position with great views and is very peaceful. It’s only a short walk into Hawkshead which is ideal. I’m sad to say I’m not sure we will be returning because of the lack of cleanliness.

    Reviewed by Louise3.1Sep 2021

  • "Very comfortable, well equipped lodge in a lovely location."

    Really scenic area with lots of great local walks. Feedback just for the owners: One negative…. the mattress on the main bed has a large dip on the side nearest the en-suite and probably needs replaced.

    Hello Andrew, Thank you for your feedback. Apologies for our very slow response; our being able to respond via the website is a recent improvement. We're delighted you found Thie Loghey to your liking. With regards to your observation re the mattress, thank you for your comment; we are happy to report both double bed mattresses have been replaced and we feel sure you will notice the improvement should you return to Thie Loghey one day. With kind regards Elly & Pete Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.7Aug 2021

  • "Some features in the lodge are in need of updating due to wear and tear and a few other niggles to make you aware of: • There are two holes in the decking, this didn't give a great first impression when we arrived."

    •The key code number I was sent prior to arrival didn't work so had to spend time trying to get through to office to get the right key lock code • We had shopped for provisions before arrival but then found there was no spare toilet paper and both toilets had minimal left in the lodge, not great after a long journey as had to go out again. • Although on the surface the lodge looked clean and tidy there were crayons left on the floor by the dining table and next to double doors. Crumbs,wool and dirt on floor at front of sofa. The sofa comes apart, the sections move when used and in the gaps there was a old hair covered comb and more dust and dirt. • The sofa moving made it a bit uncomfortable as gaps kept needing to be pushed together. • We swivelled the tv so we could all see the screen but the picture went fuzzy, it looks like the aerial had been taped up which means you all have to sit on top of each other to watch it, not comfy with two 6ft + guys. • Some of the kitchen doors need repair or replacing, looks like water damage and the work surface was sticky. • There were quite a few cobwebs in the lounge\diner, quite full of dead insects. I get the lodge is in the countryside and you get more insects etc but not the best image for an expensive lodge I didn't check my emails whilst away but on return home found I'd been emailed on what needed to be done prior to leaving. It would be helpful to send this before the holiday not during as I imagine lots of people like us reduce use of tech when away, I never check emails as need to switch off. I actually think we left the lodge in a cleaner state than we found it but I hadn't known we needed to strip the beds so sorry that we didnt. It wasn't all bad and it's a lovely lodge in a great position but just in need of a little TLC.

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your recent stay. We are sorry you had issues with the key safe. We sent an Errata out to all guests with the new updated key safe code and we also sent a reminder of the new key safe 7 days before your stay. Many apologies for the unacceptable state of cleanliness of the property upon your arrival. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We can assure you this was very much a one off as we have since discovered that the regular cleaner's child was in hospital and the replacement cleaner sadly let us down. We have also taken note of your observation of the holes in the decking and have made arrangements for this to be fixed ASAP. Regarding provisions in the property, these are self catering lodges and therefore only 1 roll per toilet is left just to start you off. Again we send an email 7 days prior to your stay with all information on departure as well so sorry you must have missed this email completely. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane3.4Aug 2021

  • "Loved it ! Just about to book again."

    Since you ask, here are a few comments which may help you / owners get even better. Cleanliness very good - Venetian blinds a bit dusty / cobwebby Deck + outside table could have been cleaner Insufficient toilet rolls and washing up liquid Provision of kitchen roll would be nice One tea towel not enough Logs/kindling/firelighters should have been provided ( description says “fuel & power provided”) or specifically noted as not provided Chairs on deck are in terrible unsightly condition Dishwasher front panel terrible. .........and finally, the note stating milk would be delivered unless cancelled was apparently out of date and misleading.

    Reviewed by John4.7Apr 2021

  • "The location was fabulous, lovely walk into Hawkshead and great walks from the lodge."

    Property was lovely, nicely furnished and extremely organised with everything you could ever need inside. Amazing views from the terrace. Property was very clean too. Would stay again.

    J LeonardAug 2019

  • "Always enjoy our holidays in the lakes but this property's facilities were excellent."

    What made it extra special was sitting on the balcony taking in those fantastc views and fabulous sunsets. Bliss.

    Mrs NimmoNov -0001

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Highly Commended for a Four Star property
  • Accommodation set over 1 floor
  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double (one with en-suite shower room with basin and WC), 1 x twin
  • 1 x bathroom with shower over bath, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area, sitting area and woodburning stove.
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, TV, Blu-ray & DVD player, CD player and iPod dock, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Balcony with furniture and BBQ
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Pub 9 mins walk
  • Shop 10 mins walk.

The property

This luxury Lake District lodge is one of only five lodges set within a rural location just 10 minutes’ walk from the centre of Hawkshead and surrounded by stunning Lake District landscapes.

Thie Loghey offers light, airy and spacious accommodation with floor-to-ceiling windows, cosy woodburning stove and a large furnished veranda with BBQ.

The perfect base for families or friends in the Lake District.

The spacious living area is open plan with kitchen, dining area and sitting area featuring oak floors, vaulted ceiling, woodburning stove and large TV.

From here there is access to the large veranda with furniture and BBQ, great for relaxing and dining in the summer months and star gazing in the evening.

The comfortable master double bedroom features luxury en-suite shower room.

There is a second double and a twin bedroom available with a separate modern family bathroom with shower over bath. The village of Hawkshead is renowned for its connection with Beatrix Potter, and has many pretty cobbled streets to wonder, local shops to browse including Hawkshead Relish and cosy Lakeland pubs to enjoy.

There are plenty of Lake District walking routes nearby, one of our favourites in Tarn Hows, a circular path that is wheelchair and pushchair friendly with beautiful views.

Thie Loghey lies between Windermere and Coniston and provides the opportunity for a varied Lake District holiday from enjoying rural walks to exploring the village shops and pubs.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Ambleside 5.1 miles; Kendal 17.4 miles.

The picturesque village of Hawkshead still retains the charm and character that so endeared it to its most famous residents - William Wordsworth and Beatrix Potter. Visitors can wander the wealth of tiny alleyways, thoroughfares, archways and courtyards between the whitewashed 17th century houses. There are many pleasant inns, teashops, guest houses and gift shops in the village, as well as the Beatrix Potter Gallery, which houses an annually changing exhibition of the famous author’s illustrations and stories. The other famous Hawkshead enthusiast, William Wordsworth, attended the Old Grammar School in 1779-87, which still stands today, and you can visit the building where the Lakeland poet developed his love of the form, and even see the desk into which he scratched his name as a small boy! Newby Bridge is ten miles away and offers attractions such as the Aquarium of the Lakes and Windermere Lake Cruises, sailing daily between Ambleside, Bowness and Lakeside. With stunning scenery and numerous attractions within easy touring distance, Hawkshead is in an ideal location at any time of the year.

View more holiday cottages in Hawkshead

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Last minute