Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th June. Available on breaks arriving 1st September - 31st December.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 24 minutes ago

5 people have recently viewed this property

Peggies Barn

Maulds Meaburn, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 920910)


(44 ratings)

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 3

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

44 Customer Reviews

  • "Fantastic location and wonderful views from the dining room over the valley."

    En suites to each bedroom was great, although the soundproofing isn’t so good. Downstairs bedroom was ideal for my elderly father in law. One minor point, the baking trays are very rusty and could do with replacing Enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend

    Reviewed by JohnApr 2022

  • "Beautiful barn lovely setting helpful owners would recommend Sykes."

    Reviewed by IreneJan 2022

  • "Unfortunately when we arrived we found that the house had not been cleaned, dirt and hair in bathrooms and the living room sofas and floor were unclean."

    I want people to be aware what they are getting and luxury accommodation is not what you get. Previous people have mentioned the lack of firewood being left and one person mentioned loss of power. We stayed one night and then left as the power had gone off therefore no heating at all and in December with elderly relatives with us we could not take the chance it may be fixed. The water leak in the downstairs ensuite (coming through the light fitting) was also an issue for safety. The property itself needs some TLC and the living room area needs new furniture as one chair was threadbare and the sofa even when hoovered had stains and marks all over. If the maintenance was completed and the issues with power and leaks sorted, the place spruced up and cleaned then it would be worth the costs, as it is now I don't feel it is.

    Reviewed by ChristineDec 2021

  • "As everyone else said only thing was no logs for burner."

    After reading this on other feed back brought our own so was fine.

    Reviewed by DebraDec 2021

  • "No hot water after 11am, had to contact Sykes on Christmas Day who acted promptly but was only fixed on 27th December by owner 2 days before we left."

    Only enough hot water each day to have a shower but didn't realise this on Christmas Eve as didn't need hot water to soak items etc as we went out for the day. No log burner ash bucket or tools provided for the log burner. Small amount of logs provided but no firelighters or matches provided. When we arrive on Thursday at 5pm the barn was cold as all the electric heaters were turned off at the plug so had to turn all heaters on. Cleanliness was very poor considering the current situation, knife down the side of the sofa, mess under the sofa cushions, dirty marks on window sills, half used products left in bathrooms and fridge, hair on the side of the bath but yet signs to tell us to wash our hands frequently due to covid-19. Lovely welcome pack left with chocolate, wine and tin for roasting turkey in.

    Thank you for your feedback. It is a shame that you did not call the owner sooner on the number provided in the property, however once you called Sykes we updated the owner and she got an electrician out on 27th December who fitted a new time clock. There is a silver ash bucket next to the wood burner, but it needs no tools or fire lighters to operate and the instructions for use are in the welcome pack. The heating is controlled by NEST and is set permanently at 15 degrees but you can turn this up at any time to suit your needs. The sofas had been washed by the owner a week before the previous guest to you stayed and we apologise that the cleaner must have missed the knife. Thank you again for your comments and if you had called the owner sooner, they would have been more than happy to assist with the issues raised. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MichelleDec 2021

  • "The only issue we had which has been mentioned by previous occupiers is there wasn't any logs on arrival which does stipulate as part of the price in the booking."

    We did try to contact the housekeeper (ring/text/voicemail) and didn't get any response. It was very cold and windy on arrival so was expecting to set up a nice log fire but to no avail.

    Reviewed by GaryDec 2021

  • "We had a fantastic time at Peggie's Barn and it was in the main,."

    everything that we had hoped for. It was in a lovely secluded area with some fabulous dark skies to view the Milky Way and other stars if you are lucky. The accommodation was really nice and seemed to have a high quality about the fixtures and fittings, although a couple of areas needed a more detailed clean such as the downstairs shower area for one. Only had a couple of inconveniences worth mentioning - 1, I specifically contacted SYKES to ensure that there would be a fire starter pack available as we were staying during a very cold time. I was assured that there would be one as SYKES had spoken to the owners and wasn't happy to arrive and find 3 half logs in a basket with no matches, kindling or fire starters. 3 logs lasted about 5 mins so had to go to town to buy our own; 2, if there are more than 4 people staying, then keep your showers to a minimum time as we ran out of hot water completely and unable to wash up lunch dishes. Contacted house keeper as thought there was a problem to be advised that the water and heating are on timers that shut off during the day and the hot water will not heat up until later in the afternoon which was a monumental inconvenience and she mentioned she had discussed with owners to change timings, but nothing had happened. This wasn't very good as the weather was cold and being able to manage our own heating would have been warranted. Other than that, we would certainly come again and possibly stay in the farm house with our family from Australia when they are able to travel.

    Reviewed by DavidNov 2021

  • "The property on arrival is beautiful, the road outside is National Speed limit & is a blind exit - obviously not the owners fault - just something to be aware of."

    The closest pub is further than reported - it’s more of a drive than a walk. Entranceway is very large, the lights were flickering when we arrived, so we tended not to use the main one. The kitchen is adequate for a family - my mum couldn’t work the hob easily with her arthritis & found it frustrating. The fire was built when we arrived, but there was no welcome pack & the closest main shop is in Penrith, that’s around a 1.5hrs round trip on a quick basic shop. Not great when you arrive at dusk & don’t know the roads/area - I’d take some basics with you jic. Beds were very soft, showers were fantastic - towels were sheets not blankets, I personally prefer the larger blankets. You can hear the neighbours through the bedroom wall upstairs - this disturbed my sisters sleep quite a lot as they were very early risers… The dining table is not directly under lights as they are off centre & then interfered with the TV signal, so this caused us some issues when we were trying to do jigsaws etc. We enjoyed the week here, but we wouldn’t return to this property.

    Reviewed by SandraNov 2021

  • "Nice spacious cottage."

    Settees and chair rather worn! Beds nice and comfy but seemed quite small

    Reviewed by CherylOct 2021

  • "Cottage was excellent and very comfortable."

    The views from dining room were lovely. However we were very annoyed that there was no starter pack for the wood burner as it had stated very clearly that one would be provided.

    Reviewed by StephenOct 2021

  • "Lovely barn conversion in beautiful setting."

    Weather was not the best but accommodation and setting made up for it

    Reviewed by AndrewOct 2021

  • "We have now stayed in both Peggies Barns, our latest stay being in Barn 2 the 3 bed."

    Amazing location as we like to be away from towns and use as a base to travel around the Lakes and beyond. The best and only local pub worth going to is The Butchers Arms 5-10 min drive in Corby Ravensworth. The accommodation is wonderful but needed some urgent maintenance as the master bathroom leaked through ceiling lights of downstairs bathroom when anyone had a shower. This was reported to the cleaner who said owners aware as happened before. Also disappointing having to pay extra for logs for the burner. No welcome groceries/milk which would’ve been nice when travelling all day. Plenty of kitchen equipment apart from baking trays which all need replacing as all rusty. The cottage was plagued with flies which is expected near a farm but seemed excessive! Lots of webs throughout cottage, again expected in a rural location but could be removed by cleaner more thoroughly before anyone coming to stay. Some of the garden furniture was broken and could not be used. During our stay when we returned from a day out someone had obviously been in the cottage as a chair had appeared in the hallway that was not in the cottage before with no written explanation as to why - maybe checking the leak?

    Reviewed by CatherineSep 2021

  • "Exceeded expectations."

    Photos very accurate. All 3 bedrooms being on suite made it very comfortable for our family. We had exceptional weather, pity there wasn't an outside dining table for our bbqs. Only problem we had was we are used to a light duvet and the one on our bed was a 10.5 tog, far too heavy. We managed using just the duvet cover and a blanket we had in the car. Would definately go again.

    Reviewed by SusanJun 2021

  • "This is a lovely cottage, we really liked the views from the kitchen and patio."

    It was spotlessly clean, fitted out to a high standard, the kitchen was well equipped and the beds were comfy. It was ideal for us as a group of friends.

    Reviewed by RowenaJun 2021

  • "Tranquility."

    Reviewed by JennyMay 2021

  • "Fabulous well equipped cottage, stunning rural location with beautiful views, lovely welcome pack on arrival."

    Reviewed by SarahDec 2020

  • "We had a great stay at Peggies Barn."

    Perfect escape from the day to day routine that 2020 has thrown at us!

    Reviewed by RachelOct 2020

  • "Excellent very comfortable and well equipped."

    Beautiful situation with lovely views

    Reviewed by AnneSep 2020

  • "The accommodation was beautiful and very well appointed."

    The only frustration was the lack of phone signal but apart from that it was a wonderful base for our family.

    Reviewed by JanAug 2020

  • "This is the best holiday cottage that we have stayed in."

    There was so much space and the views from the property were stunning. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by KayJul 2020

  • "A lovely spacious holiday home finished to a high standard."

    The views are delightful. En suites with each bedroom are ideal. We would love to return

    Reviewed by GillMar 2020

  • "Very good cottage for three couples - all bedrooms were en suite and of the same high standard ( not always the case)"

    Reviewed by JanJan 2020

  • "It would have been nice to have a complymentry wood and kindling pack as we were charged £8 the next day"

    Reviewed by FredDec 2019

  • "This is a well equipped, well maintained property."

    It is very comfortable. Its outside presentation and inner hallway has a very high wow factor. From the Dining table the views of the valley below are stunning. Other reviewers have mentioned the view on a clear night of the stars and planets above. I have to say that this is mind blowing and the best that I have seen in the UK. We a group of 6 thoroughly enjoyed our time here. For disabled travellers. My Daughter found it easy to enter and get around in this property. One tiny point though for Disabled occupants the downstairs bed is a little high. But with assistance this was managed. All in all a brilliant holiday base to experience the countryside and visit both the Lake District (a short distance away) and the East coast (a little further).

    Reviewed by GrahamSep 2019

  • "Beautiful setting, wonderfully clean and well laid out."

    Very comfortable - it was a home from home

    Reviewed by EileenSep 2019

  • "We had a very enjoyable stay for a week and the outlook from the patio is breathtaking."

    It was all very comfortable and modern inside with plenty of room and I would definitely recommend staying there. You do need transport all the time as it is in a small village but if you do not mind that then it’s perfect. There was only one very small thing that it maybe would be a good idea for the cottage to have and that is a tumble dryer but we managed fine without one but we’re very lucky with the weather. We had a very enjoyable week at Peggies Barn and thank you for letting us stay.

    Reviewed by GillianJul 2019

  • "We had a very relaxing and comfortable stay at Peggie’s Barn, throughly recommend."

    Reviewed by JennyJun 2019

  • "Couldn't wish for a more perfect and wonderful holiday in peggy's barn."

    So quiet and peaceful with stunning views. Will definitely recommend it and would be returning for another holiday soon.

    Reviewed by StephenJun 2019

  • "Extremely poor mobile reception would have been useful to know about in advance."

    Reviewed by TerenceFeb 2019

  • "Maybe bigger towels, shelves in bathrooms."

    Maybe tea, cofffee and milk welcome pack. Although we did get xmas card and bag of goddies because it was xmas which was a lovely touch. But all of these very small things really as bed were really comfy, heating good, loads of space for clothes lovely entrance hall with plenty of space for boots and coats etc. Massive openplan kithen, dinner and lounge. Great views very helpful house keeper. Great place to stay for visiting lake district and yorkshire dales. Great walks all in all one of the best we have stayed in. Certainly would love to come back in a diffrent season. There is no mob reception but only need to go to top of the hill rather nice as phone doesnt keep ringing! Loved it thank you Huckle family from kent

    Reviewed by JanetDec 2018

  • "Re directions to the property - these assumed visitors were travelling from the North."

    We couldn't find anything for those approaching from the South . We found it helpful to read previous visitors reviews on this property. We learned from this that only one bathroom had soap dispensers, so we took our own. As you will know better than us, most properties provide this. Anyone taking their own odd cooking pots need to know the induction hob has to have induction friendly pots, otherwise it will not work! These are minor details - the cottage was very comfortable, clean and what we would expect from a Sykes property. Thanks.

    Reviewed by FredNov 2018

  • "Wonderful accommodation."

    Spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, log burner. Good location for exploring the Yorkshire dales. Good food and ale available in both the Butchers Arms and the White Horse, Kings Meaburn. Would definitely recommend renting Peggie's Barn.

    Reviewed by JeffreyOct 2018

  • "A great place pictures don't show how big the place is, great views all around, ..."

    A great place pictures don't show how big the place is, great views all around, it's a home from home, would recommend peggys barn to anyone

    Reviewed by MarySep 2018

  • "Beautiful property, superbly equipped, and what a wonderful setting, so peaceful."

    Reviewed by SuzanneAug 2018

  • "Beautiful cottage."

    Interior was spotless and a very modern but also homely feel. The views out onto the fields as you tuck into your breakfast sets you up for the day with a smile. An ideal location for exploring the region. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by DavidAug 2018

  • "The property was as described and wonderful location."

    All you would need in a home from home with the property. A wonderful holiday and it helped that the weather was great too.

    Reviewed by KayMay 2018

  • "A fabulous cottage very spacious and clean."

    All fittings to a very high standard and in a very central location for all the lake district attractions. Couldn't improve on anything

    Reviewed by SusanMay 2018

  • "The family that own the property were very friendly and popped in to make sure ..."

    The family that own the property were very friendly and popped in to make sure everything was ok and if we needed anything just to get in touch,this was lovely considering they were really busy with lambing

    Reviewed by LizMar 2018

  • "The views from the dining table are amazing"

    Reviewed by IainMar 2018

  • "The barn was absolutely amazing, the size of it, the rooms decor, the comfort of furnishing."

    It had the wow factor. It was lovely and warm and we were there in the worst snowfall they had had for a good while. The housekeeper and her family were extremely helpful. We will go back to peggies barn as it was that amazing to would be nice to see the surroundings in a different season as the winter gave fantastic scenery and views.

    Reviewed by MandyFeb 2018

  • "We absolutely loved Peggies Barn and would definitely love to stay again."

    There are a few things however, as a group, we all felt that would make it even better. If there were shelves in the ensuite bathrooms, there would be places to store toiletries and not have to leave on the floor. There was no soap in any of the ensuite rooms, only in the downstairs toilet, so we had to make a trip out to buy some. There was a gorgeous log burner but nothing to light it with, fortunately the people in another cottage had a spare lighter that we could use. There was no handrails in the disabled room near the toilet or shower. This would make life easier. Apart from these few issues we would highly recommend. Thank you.

    Reviewed by PamelaDec 2017

  • "Beautiful converted barn in a beautiful location, the views are stunning,"

    Reviewed by SophieOct 2017

  • "Excellent property and would highly recommend."

    A few small extras like soap dishes and shelves in the 3 en suite shower rooms would be of benefit

    Reviewed by RogerJun 2017

  • "Luxuriously appointed cottage in an absolutely stunning location."

    The facilities are second to none, with virtually every need catered for.

    Reviewed by KenJun 2017

Show more


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x double with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x ground floor double with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Ground floor basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove
  • Utility
  • Electric heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, Smart TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for stove inc in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Front and side patio garden with decking and furniture
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1.5 miles
  • Note: There is wheelchair access to the property, please contact the owner for more details.

The property

Maulds Meaburn 1.5 miles.

This stunning semi-detached barn conversion is situated close to the village of Maulds Meaburn, just a short distance from the popular town of Appleby-in-Westmorland.

This spacious cottage is perfect for families or...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Appleby-in-Westmorland 6 miles; Penrith 13 miles.

The attractive, unspoilt rural village of Maulds Meaburn in the Lyvennet Valley is ideally placed for exploring the Lake District, Eden Valley and the Yorkshire Dales. Hunter Davies described the village as "one of the most beautiful villages in the country". It is a quiet picturesque village in Cumbria not far from the Eden Valley and about six miles from Appleby-in-Westmorland. It forms part of the parish of Crosby Ravensworth and stands either side of Lyvennet Beck which flows from the south through Crosby Ravensworth and finally enters the River Eden near Temple Sowerby. Nearby Appleby sits at the heart of the lush Eden Valley, and is one of the loveliest towns in the north of England and was originally the county town of Westmorland. Appleby is a major stop on the Settle-Carlisle Railway, which is one of the most beautiful railway journeys in Britain; still today, many of the old steam trains wend their way along this line and over the awe-inspiring Ribblehead viaduct. Visit Appleby in June and experience the famous Horse Fair, the largest Romany gathering in Europe, enjoy a walk on the Pennine Way at Dufton, or explore one of the local cycle trails. With the delightful Pooley Bridge, Penrith and the magnificent Lake District within easy reach, this is an ideal holiday location.

Region Information

Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it