Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 30 View Image Gallery
  • Wren Lodge - Yorkshire Dales - 1037247 - photo 1

Wren Lodge

(Ref. 1037247)

Gargrave, Yorkshire Dales - North Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lodge (26)
  • lovely (16)
  • our (14)
  • dog (13)
  • all (12)
  • wren (11)

37 Customer Reviews

  • "One of the best self catering we have stayed in, excellent location, very peaceful."

    Credit to the owner and maintenance staff.

    Reviewed by William5.0Nov 2023

  • "Overall impression upon arrival was excellent ,secure gated entry into the park ."

    Lodge looked lovely ,well presented with parking along side .upon entry we were reminded once again of the pets policy for our 4 legged friend ,pet friendly is an overstatement , pet tolerant would would be a better description.nothing was provided which we have been accustomed to at other places we have stayed ( dog bowl ,blanket ,dog treats etc ) ,I know we were advised to bring everything for our dog beforehand ,which we did ,but its the little touches which mean a lot . The pets policy also threatens that you would be leave the site if your dog was found seeing on the grass ,we had to exercise our little dog on the road outside the site ,which has no footpath , not ideal with the amount of farm traffic using this narrow road . we were also concerned upon arrival of a guy spraying weed killer on the grass and gravelled areas around the lodges , although he did say it was ''pet-friendly ''. The layout of the lodge was great , all on one level which was a bonus .the inclusion of a washing machine and tumble drier was a great help with the wet weather we experienced ,the dishwasher and the cafetiere were a big help also . plenty of crockery and adequate pots and pans were available ,the only comment I would make is there was only 3 large spoons for cereals ,soup etc . The sofas were nice but uncomfortable ,no back support and the zip -together king size bed was also uncomfortable ,luckily we were able to move to the much more comfortable double bed in the other bedroom . the overall cleanliness was okay but we discovered all sorts of hair and grit under the sofas and under the cushions ,which we hoovered ourselves. we did appreciate a change of bedding and towels after our first week in residence though , which was nice. The major gripe however was the lack of WIFI ,although it was not advertised as having this facility ,its something that we expected this day and age in a luxury accommodation ,its something the owners may wish to consider if the technology is available in the area. we went to the local pub in the village to use their free WIFI ,and enjoy a good pint ! Overall ,if you don't have a dog and don't mind the lack of WIFI ,this lodge is ideal for you ,plenty of space for 4 people ,and a nice outside seating area when the weather is fine .The village of Gargrave is nice ,a bit of a walk ,but everywhere is within walking distance ,it just depends how dedicated you are

    Thank you for your feedback. I spoke with you once you had arrived and twice during your stay and not once did you say that under the sofas weren't clean so I am surprised you have made this comment. I also inspected this lodge before your arrival and it was clean. We have NEVER had complaints about the beds been uncomfortable so again this is a suprise, however it is hard to please everybody. We will be replacing the sofas in due course. We have had some very bad experiences with dogs that's why we have to be very informative of what we expect. We no longer accept new bookings with dogs due to these bad experiences. Once we have honoured all bookings with dogs we will be replacing the sofas. I don't believe it is up to us to provide dog bowl, blankets etc mainly because of been able to wash these such as pet bedding, we only have a 2hr turn around window and also if your dog has an allergy or anything else. Like you say sykes don't advertise the lodge as having wifi so i would recommend in future if this is a necessity to your life you book somewhere that has it. We like the fact our guests can switch of from the toll everyday life can bring. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark3.1Sep 2023

  • "Lodge was stunning visually , beds comfy, rooms and bathrooms of a nice size, ..."

    Lodge was stunning visually , beds comfy, rooms and bathrooms of a nice size, spot lights at low level were a nice touch for lighting on a night time, couch is very uncomfortable , lack of pottery when you have 4 occupants , having no internet for watching films etc gets boring and struggled with just freeview and you are either go dog friendly or no dogs allowed as-rather than dog tolerant at the minute, as having to walk off site to take your pet to wc on to The main road which is 60mph is really not advisable with dogs/children specially being a narrow road with no paths

    Reviewed by Simon3.8Jul 2023

  • "I would say more like dog tolerant than friendly can’t walk the dog on the site and if you do and get caught you will be asked to leave the site it’s a pity as we loved the site."

    Lodge was very nice but cleaning needs to be better

    Reviewed by David3.8Jul 2023

  • "The lodge wasn’t very clean, under the bed was thick was dust, the hob was mucky the highchair had food stuck to it and was grubby some crockery was dirty and the sofas hadn’t been moved as was muck under them too."

    Only thing I would suggest is our decking had 2 ways up to it but without a gate, we were in the dog friendly one so this wasn’t ideal for dogs or small children, the lodges are brand new and lovely just a shame the cleanliness let them down

    Reviewed by Rowan3.4Jul 2023

  • "Hi, This was our 4th visit to wren lodge, the lodge itself is stunning in a fab location."

    However, we would like to point out that the furniture ie the sofas are extremely uncomfortable and would recommend replacing them. Also the fact that no WI-FI is available, would I’m sure put many people off from Booking or returning to this fab location and lovely facilities.. Could you not look at a TV and WI-FI package SKY TV and unlimited WI-FI in the price? Think the small issues would make a fab stay an unforgettable stay.

    Reviewed by Debbie3.8Jun 2023

  • "I spent the weekend at Wren Lodge with My Dad, Step Mum and cousin."

    We really enjoyed our stay the description was accurate. The lodges are situated in a beautiful settings the stream beside the park is lovely you can sit on the grass and watch the sunset. The only downside is the lack of Wi-Fi if o was to go for longer than 3 days I would probably want to watch more channels such as Netflix and other streaming services to have a movie and snack night also the second bedroom was made into a king size for us but we had one pillow each which were extremely thin compared to the main bedroom which had 2 pillows each and better quality so if you have neck problems or like to sleep higher take an extra pillow. There is on local shop the Co-op but there is a big Tesco and Morrisons in skipton so get everything you need for the duration of the time there. Other than that no complaints really enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Fay4.7May 2023

  • "Being an older person the sofas were very difficult to sit and rise, I have bad knees and struggle anyway."

    Also a broom would have been very helpful on the wooden floors just to sweep round daily. This does not reflect at all on the lodge which was very good and clean as expected

    Reviewed by Andrew4.7Apr 2023

  • "The property was extremely comfortable and I would highly recommend it."

    If I had any complaints it would be trivial things like when the 2nd bed is made up as a double there are no bedside tables. The other thing would be that we could not use the dishwasher as we had to wash up as we went because there were not many cups and plates. Otherwise it was fantastic.

    Reviewed by Heather4.7Apr 2023

  • "The lodge is advertised as pet friendly, however the tone of the messaging about pets suggests otherwise."

    Reviewed by Annabel3.4Apr 2023

  • "My 91 Yr old mother and I had a fabulous week at Wren Lodge."

    All amenities were spotlessly clean and well laid out especially as my mum has a few mobility issues. It was cosy everything you need. It is the 2nd visit for us as its quiet and easy access to the dales and shopping Mills. Would highly recommend this small park and will be making a 3rd visit in the near future. Thank you for a lovely week.

    Reviewed by Yvonne5.0Mar 2023

  • "Lovely cabin and furnishings would definitely recommend and will be back Thanks."

    Reviewed by Arthur4.7Mar 2023

  • "The property was generally excellent with the following minor reservations."

    1.The lack of internet connection via WiFi is a restriction since it precludes the ability to use iplayer etc on the TV 2.For a property which accommodates 4 people the minimal amount of some items of cutlery and crockery requires frequent washing in the dishwasher which is a poor use of energy. If this is done manually then there is no washbowl and the large sink requires a lot of water and again consumes unnecessary energy. Otherwise the property was excellent.

    Reviewed by Malcolm4.7Sep 2022

  • "This has to be one of the best places I have ever stayed it was so beautiful inside."

    Very modern very comfortable very homily. Everything you would need is available. We have even booked again for next month as will bring my parents next time Thank you for such a lovely home the last few days

    Reviewed by Christopher4.7Sep 2022

  • "The place was beautiful, super comfy furniture and a great modern design, loved the little balcony and sliding door which made for perfect outdoor living in the sunshine."

    The shower and bath were amazing, great water pressure that heats up fast! Only criticism would be that there is no Wi-Fi and signal was quiet poor in the area so it was hard to get even 4G. Would definitely recommend this lodge and we really enjoyed our stay!!

    Reviewed by Millie4.4Jul 2022

  • "Lovely quiet site."

    Lodge was great . Sofas are not very comfortable as back cushions filling all thin. Not enough china in the lodge and dinner plates too small more like salad plates . No spare bowls for dips crisps etc . Could do with extra chopping boards, fruit bowl for fresh fruit and extra roasting tin to cook fish etc on . Saucepans quite scratched inside . Mugs very crazed and stained Cooking utensils plenty and knives good . Lots of glasses. Beds and pillows really nice . Towels good quality It would benefit from racks to dry clothes on that don't tumble dry or a small washing rotary line between lodges to save electricity and pegs We loved it and have booked 2 more visits Wi-Fi would make it perfect . In this day and age it is the norm to have it . ,

    Reviewed by Jane4.4Jun 2022

  • "Awww we loved this log cabin."

    In fact I didn’t want to leave

    Reviewed by Sally4.7May 2022

  • "On the surface the property was very nice but on closer inspection not as clean as expected."

    It lacked attention to detail being dusty in places and with fluff and hair in the shower; not ours. Also having a very elderly dog we found it wasn’t easy to adhere to all the rules as taking her out on the road was impossible; being blind she couldn’t cope. Even with a younger animal it would have been difficult to walk safely along the road.

    Reviewed by Mary2.8May 2022

  • "Overall we had a great week in the lodge."

    The lodge is furnished to a high standard and fully met the description. I would point out to the owner that they probably ought to check on the contractors carrying out the cleaning from time to time. I wasn’t going round inspecting but some things had been missed and probably for a while; light fitting above the breakfast bar were greasy and dusty and there was a pile of hair / dust which had been swept up but left in the passage. However the lodge was generally very clean and nothing major wrong. The lodge and area was very peaceful and provided a great base for our week in Gargrave. Lack of Wi-Fi was disappointing but I didn’t realise until after I booked. I realise this was not stated in the list of facilities so it was my oversight but maybe a warning to prospective visitors would be helpful. Again this wasn’t major but may be to others. All in all a lovely week in lovely accommodation.

    Many thanks for your feedback. This is unusual for the property and as you mention the property was generally clean. It is a shame you didn't call whilst you were staying as we could have dealt with this for you straight away, as we pride ourselves on all our guests having a great stay. We will feed this back to the cleaners. Thank you again for letting us know. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Trevor3.8May 2022

  • "The lodge was advertised as dog friendly but a more accurate description would be dog tolerant."

    There were so many rules about having the dog there I don't know why they bother to allow dogs. Although the lodge was fine we wouldn't go back due to this fact about dogs.

    Reviewed by Margaret4.4Apr 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay and would return, the cabin is very nice indeed and the site quiet and peaceful."

    We found that the sofas were too low for our comfort. Quite a lot of crumbs and food particles were present between the cushions on one of the sofas The lack of WiFi is inconvenient

    Reviewed by Kevin4.4Mar 2022

  • "Lovely accommodation clean, spacious well equipped and set in a lovely quiet location close to a small village, fab pub nice walks and the railway station."

    Only one gripe if your dog needs the toilet in the night, you have to leave the site to go on a dark country lane to try and find somewhere for the dog to toilet. Maybe a small area allocated on the site away from the lodges might be helpful. Not all dogs will use the gravel to toilet.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Nov 2021

  • "All of us loved Wren Lodge including Inca the Lab."

    Lovely lodge in a beautiful peaceful setting, yet near to the village and wonderful walks along the canal. The lodge was very clean and comfortable with all mod cons! Nearby is Skipton and Bolton Abbey where there are wonderful walks and clotted cream teas! We are already planning a return visit.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Nov 2021

  • "We stayed at Wren Lodge for 7 nights."

    The Lodge was stunning, beautifully kept. This is the first time we have visited and we loved it. The washing & drying facilities were very handy too. Our dog also had a great time. Very peaceful and in a beautiful village. We will definitely be visiting again. The cabins are stunning. We are saving for our next visit. Hopefully we will be back soon. Thank you

    Reviewed by Debbie5.0Sep 2021

  • "Absolutely beautiful lodge and perfect location lots of lovely places to visit will definitely return"

    Reviewed by James5.0Jul 2021

  • "First things first, lodge was beautifully appointed, excellent facilities and in a lovely area."

    My key feedback would be that it’s listed as dog friendly but would challenge that. Once fee paid, a large list of do’s and dont’s that includes leaving the park to exercise and toilet the dog. Fines for this and that and threats of removal if dog barks etc…. when looking for a relaxing holiday, that was all a little stressful. Would come back again but would leave dog with friends next time!! Suggest the Lodge Park dispenses with the “ dog friendly “ experiment and becomes a no dog zone. Keeps owners and non dog lovers happy alike.

    Reviewed by Lindsay4.7Jul 2021

  • "We had a fabulous holiday at Wren Lodge!"

    Lovely place to stay. Very clean and comfortable with everything we needed. Gargrave is a small but lovely village with a shop where you can get most things. Had some excellent walks, and was great that we could take the dog!!

    Reviewed by Jenny5.0Jun 2021

  • "The lodge was very clean but some of the crockery was chipped."

    We bought new but reported it to the owner. The lodge otherwise was excellent.

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Jun 2021

  • "Oven needed cleaning as did toaster."

    Not enough tableware and some of it chipped. No bedside table or mirror in second bedroom. No full length mirror. Not what we would expect from "luxury" accommodation. Otherwise very good and we enjoyed our stay but these small changes would have made it better.

    Reviewed by Margaret3.8Jun 2021

  • "Wren lodge was clean, comfortable and provided all we needed for our week’s stay."

    The site was very quiet and relaxing which suited us fine. No play or dog walking areas. Although there are no amenities on site you will find plenty in the nearby village of Gargrave including a Co-op, cafe and fish and chip shop (the local pub Masons Arms is closed until 21 July). We found lots of walks directly from the site both by the canal and using the Pennine Way. Would have welcomed better weather but this didn’t spoil our week away! All in all had a great holiday and would return.

    Reviewed by Malcolm5.0May 2021

  • "The cottage was amazing, far better than we expected, loved the quite location."

    Quality of the equipment in the lodge Easy walk to the village Great spot from were to visit other parts of the Yorkshire Dale's. Railway station within 15 mins walk which allowed use to leave the car at the lodge most days

    Reviewed by Michael5.0May 2021

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at Wren Lodge."

    The lodge was immaculate. It’s decorated really nice and has everything you would need. It’s well located with just a short walk into the village.

    Reviewed by Creta5.0Apr 2021

  • "We enjoyed the weekend and left the lodge feeling very relaxed and rejuvenated."

    Wren lodge has everything you need for a relaxing break, including very comfortable beds!! It was cleaned to a very high standard which set the tone for a stress free break, we have added this to our list of must return accommodation.

    Reviewed by R4.7Apr 2021

  • "Very well equipped and comfortable chalet."

    Easy access to all the lovely walking areas around.

    Reviewed by Miriam5.0Sep 2020

  • "Great break away."

    Our 2nd time here but at a different lodge. The lodge was fantastic with all amenities and its finished to such a high standard. The only thing if you have a dog coukd do with a gate on edge of decking as it was warm and had to keep dog tied up as had bifold foirs open. Great lodge as a base for exploring and great little pub within walking distance. Thank you

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Aug 2020

  • "Wren Lodge was a fantastic place, top quality place to stay and use as a HSE to chess the Dales."

    The park wasn’t fully complete and they were installing an additional lodge whilst we were there, the team installing it were really pleasant and friendly. The park is pet friendly but the downside was lack of walking area to let the dog out locally. Walking from the area you need to walk 0.5miles on a road to the canal, locks Gargrave’s stepping stones. The lodge has no WiFi, but does have dvd and a free view satellite tv. The park hopefully would consider a small play area for kids too. Overall a great place to stay.

    Reviewed by Jamie4.4Aug 2020

  • "Wren cottage far exceeded our expectations, it was fabulous."

    We loved it and hope to return again, the lodge has been finished to a very high quality and was very comfortable. The location is perfect, very peaceful with an easy walk to village and beautiful walks along the canal. Congratulation to Milton park for doing such a good job, thank you we had such a lovely holiday.

    Reviewed by Maureen5.0Jul 2020

Show more Hide all


  • All-ground-floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin (zip/link can be king-size on request)
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Utility
  • LPG central heating and underfloor heating in bathroom
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, TV with Freeview
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and travel cot on request
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Private decking area
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Electric car charging is not permitted (charging point situated at Skipton Town Hall car park)
  • Shop within 0.6 miles, pub within 0.4 miles
  • Note: If you require the zip/link 2'6" twin beds to be made into the king-size double, please contact Sykes Cottages seven days before arrival
  • Please note: No stag/hen/similar parties are allowed at this property
  • Please note: there is £100 good housekeeping bond for this property
  • This property is pet free, please beware there are current bookings with dogs until 3 November 23 at the property

The property

Located just below the glorious Yorkshire Dales National Park and resting within the village of Gargrave in North Yorkshire, is this charming timber lodge, Wren Lodge.

Perfect for hosting a small family or a couples’ getaway, this lodge which lies on a private site next to six others, enjoys stylish and quality interiors, thoughtfully chosen to present an excellent spot to spend your down-time.

Within the wonderful open-plan living space everyone will find a favourite spot; the sumptuous sofas arranged around the flat screen TV provide somewhere to switch off and relax, while the dining table is perfect for spreading out with a board game brought from home.

Perch at the breakfast bar with a glass of wine while you oversee the food preparations by your lovely chef, making use of the contemporary fitted kitchen with fabulous appliances concealed by the classic units.

The bi-folding doors mean you can bring the outside in on summer days, step onto the decking and relax in the warmth on the outdoor furniture.

A winter break can be enjoyed here as you not only will be warmed by the central heating, but the bathroom has underfloor heating for extra comfort.

Catch your rest in one of the two bedrooms, choose the king-size for its quality interiors and en-suite shower room, where a double walk-in shower with fantastic feature lighting will refresh you, along with a light-up mirror resting over the basin, perfect for getting ready in.

Choose the twin room to suit a pair of friends or the little ones, or if you need another king-size request these zip/link beds to be joined up for your convenience!

Completing this outstanding interior is the family bathroom with a bath and shower over, as well as the utility room with a washing machine and a tumble dryer, making your self-catered stay a breeze.

Begin to get to know the area by heading into Gargrave to browse the shops and eateries, with some pubs scattered around too if you need a well-earned pint.

Wren Lodge will be a wonderful home-from-home for you and your loved ones in North Yorkshire.

Note: This property can also be booked with Refs. 950869, 969614, 1014369, 1044657 and together can sleep a total of 18 guests.

Milton Park Lodges

If your specific property is not available for your chosen dates, the following properties may be available - 969614 (Woodpecker Lodge), 1014369 (Robin Lodge), 950869 (Squirrel Lodge), 1044657 (Otter Lodge). Five wonderfully appointed lodge-style dwellings resting within the village of Gragrave, with breath-taking views of the River Aire. The lodges are perfect for a relaxing holiday with your loved ones or even an action packed adventure for those looking to explore this area of Yorkshire, steeped with history and character. The interior design of the property enjoys a contemporary styling with large glass windows that flood the rooms with natural light to ensure delightful bases to come back to of an evening. They each come with a spacious open-plan living room, where you will find all the necessities to host a relaxing evening in with your loved ones, comprising of an amply equipped kitchen, a quaint dining area and a plush sitting area. Spend a moment or two upon the private decked area to enjoy a refreshing beverage whilst taking in the countryside views. If you fancy a special treat one evening you will find a local pub within a short stroll and a shop within one mile for picking up the necessities. If you are feeling active, enjoy a walk within Skipton Wood which lies along the ancient castle. Alternatively, explore miles of the Yorkshire Dales National Park, which plays host to an array of breath-taking landscapes and thriving villages. Milton Park Lodges offer an outstanding base for exploring the area further with your loved ones.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Skipton 4 miles; Settle 12 miles.

A pretty village on the banks of the River Aire, around 7 miles from Malham, with its spectacular limestone cove and scar. In the village you will find a selection of places to eat including a fantastic Indian restaurant, along with a small selection of pubs, cafes and shops. Traversed by the Leeds-Liverpool Canal, cycle route 68 and the Pennine Way, Gargrave is a fantastic base for exploring this part of Yorkshire. Four miles away is the ancient market town of Skipton — “The Gateway to the Dales” — with its historic castle and celebrated high street. On the border of the Yorkshire Dales National Park, this is an ideal location for walking, cycling and touring.

This property is pet free, please beware there are current bookings with dogs until 3 November 23 at the property

Electric car charging is not permitted (charging point situated at Skipton Town Hall car park).

Please note: No stag/hen/similar parties are allowed at this property

Please note: there is £100 good housekeeping bond for this property

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas