Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
  • Corn Rigg Cottage - (Ref. 935096)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  
1 of 18 Artboard Created with Sketch. View Larger Image
  • Corn Rigg Cottage - Lake District - 935096 - photo 1
close
  • PHOTOS
  • VIDEO

Corn Rigg Cottage

Ousby near Penrith, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 935096)

4.6

Very good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 2

  • Bedrooms 1

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

34 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely cottage very clean and had everything we needed for our stay."

    Owners explained noticed problem with our water pressure just before we arrived and they had someone out to fix it next day, really appreciated that quick service. Great location to explore the Lakes.

    Reviewed by LynneOct 2021

  • "We loved the cottage and the location."

    Our one, very minor, criticism would be that the heavy metal gate is quite difficult to open and close.

    Reviewed by StephenAug 2021

  • "The cottage we stayed in, Corn ridge cottage is one of two cottages which are attached."

    They are managed by Eden valley cottages. This company were meant to let us have the key code one week before we were due to arrive. As it was approaching the time of our arrival and we hadn’t heard we had to ring to remind them. There answer being “we were just about to do that”? We were informed by Sykes that the check in time would be 4pm whereas Eden Valley Cottages stated it would be 5pm? This was not an issue as we were told we would receive a text to let us know when it was ready for us to arrive. We actually received this text the next day!! This property is semi- detached and therefore we recommend anyone thinking of renting it to be aware that our neighbours had a yapping dog! So if you want peace and quiet we suggest you inquire first who will be staying next door. It was not the tranquil place we thought it would have been because of that. It also had very limited cutlery/plates/glasses we had one drinking glass between us! We used the dish washer once as they came out greasy as the filter was dirty so we did not use it again. The bedding was of poor quality, the pillows were as thin as flatbread. The downstairs living room is so dark it needs a light on 24/7, quite depressing sitting in there. There were 4 coat hangers to share, and the kettle needs descaling! So all in all we left with very little to recommend except the breath taking views.

    Many thanks for your feedback. We inform guests to expect an email with the details for their stay within a week of their holiday, and you received this email 5 days in advance. We also sent you a text message prior to 5pm on the day of your arrival. We’re sorry that the guests staying in Rusby Barn had a particularly noisy dog. Unfortunately this is beyond our control, but the sound insulation between the properties is very good, and so noise between the two cottages is largely kept to a minimum. We have unfortunately had to remove or pare back some items from the cottage to ensure that absolutely everything can be cleaned thoroughly for COVID safety. We let all of our guests know exactly what is provided, so that they can be more prepared for their holiday. However, we still try and provide the vast majority of what guests need for their stay. We are proud of the quality of the facilities that we provide, and pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the cottage. Our guest feedback reflects this. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BrianJul 2021

  • "The Barn conversion was of a very high standard set in beautiful country side."

    The Lake District was in easy drive Met the owners who could not of been more helpful & made us feel at home. Our dogs where also made to feel welcome & enjoyed exploring the grounds. Would certainly go back.

    Reviewed by JohnJul 2021

  • "A delightful barn conversion in a great location."

    We were very comfortable and had a great stay. Thank you!

    Reviewed by PatsyApr 2021

  • "Lovely small cottage."

    It is difficult for cottage owners to provide everything you need with the COVID restrictions but Corn Rigg met all of our expectations. It was a lovely comfortable cottage, very clean and had everything we needed for our week.

    Reviewed by SharonApr 2021

  • "The cottage was beautifully presented and very clean."

    A welcome pack of kindling and fire wood was a blessing. If I was to have any criticism, it would just be the gate, as it is so heavy and I have a frozen shoulder, so it was tricky, but other than that, the property is a delight for a get away for peace and quiet and the locals were very friendly on our walks...

    Reviewed by GailDec 2020

  • "Corn Rigg cottage was a fantastic property, in a great location."

    The communication from the owners was first class, and the Prosecco and chocolates was a nice touch. Communication from Sykes was also excellent with prompt responses to any queries. Would highly recommend booking this property for your holiday and also via Sykes.

    Reviewed by SimonSep 2020

  • "Lovely cottage ."

    Nice location great starting point for so many locations. Would stay again

    Reviewed by MichaelJul 2020

  • "Was disappointed with the cottage, although it was very clean, it lacked maintenance which included walls needed painting due to marks and dents in the walls, the stair case creaked really bad and needed parts of the paint work painting, would have probably expected this being down whilst they was unable to have people stay during the covid-19 virus."

    The cottage needs to be made to feel more homely, possibly with more items that would create this. The best part was the view from the cottage and the sheep in the fields and how relaxed we felt, but would not stay there again unfortunately.

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re disappointed with your comments, and wanted the opportunity to respond to your feedback. After staying with us for two nights during your week’s stay, you hoped that you’d be able to extend your stay by another two nights and said that you were having a lovely time, so we’re more than a little perplexed by your negative comments. We maintain the cottage to a high standard, and previous guests have consistently commented on how clean, well maintained, and well equipped the cottage is. We clean the cottage thoroughly ourselves every changeover, and we keep on top of any marks on the walls and actually clean these down every week, and we also try and keep on top of any maintenance work that needs doing. We would not want guests to expect a holiday cottage to be in a brand new, pristine, condition, and to also expect that it will have been completely redecorated during a pandemic. In reality, during the pandemic, we had no income for four months, and the Government restrictions imposed during lockdown prevented us from visiting and staying at the property. The Government announced that holiday cottages could reopen again with just two week’s notice. During these two weeks, we deep cleaned and thoroughly disinfected the cottage, undertook a COVID-19 Risk Assessment, developed a cleaning check-list and comprehensive individual guest information packs, and carried out essential maintenance work to both inside and outside the property. After undertaking a COVID-19 Risk Assessment, we made the decision to remove certain items that we could not sufficiently disinfect during every change over. These include cushions, throws, bedroom rugs, some ornaments, and books, games, and DVDs. If this made you feel that the cottage was less homely, then we apologise, but we have only removed these items to ensure the safety of our guests, and we still think the cottage is very cosy and welcoming, and we provide all of our guests with a complimentary bottle of Prosecco and chocolates, and we provide an Amazon Fire Stick for better entertainment options. We did explain all of this to you prior to your arrival, and you seemed to be grateful for the information, and said that it was great, and that you’d never had this information provided before. We always put extra effort in ensuring that all of our guests have as nice a stay as possible. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChristineJul 2020

  • "Corn rigg cottage had all the appliances you needed ."

    It was very clean .bed was comfy . I can't fault the cottage . The area was great for dog walking or walking alone. Nearby villages were lovely .friendly people . Melmerby bakery / gift shop well worth look .food exceptional . Staff lovely . Dog friendly in there . Alston worth a visit it's 12 miles from corn rigg . Oliver was filmed there so you can imagine cobble stone paths .not updated village but folk very friendly ..

    Reviewed by MarkJan 2020

  • "Brilliant cottage will be back, not a fault but would recommend King size bed, better TV downstairs and a decent frying pan."

    Reviewed by DarinJan 2020

  • "The cottage Corn Rigg is as described it has everything you would expect and the bottle of prosecco and chocolates were very appreciated after a long drive the location is remote but there is a good pub within walking distance."

    close to Penrith and Ullswater easy access to both Mattress needs changing desperately is the only slight downside with the cottage

    Reviewed by JasonOct 2019

  • "We had a lovely stay."

    The barn was near a gliding school which worth a visit! It’s a drive to the beautiful Lake District where we spent many hours. We loved the George and Dragon pub - where the food was really special. The cottage had a great selection of books and DVDs which was appreciated. We also had beautiful views and stunning sunsets to enjoy.

    Reviewed by NicolaAug 2019

  • "Really good."

    They've thought of everything. The only negative comment we have to make, and it has been mentioned by others too, is that the mattress isn't great. The pillows could be better too. Otherwise the cottage is really lovely. Absolutely perfect for two. Clean. Well equipped. They've thought of everything.

    Reviewed by PeterAug 2019

  • "We had a lovely long weekend break at Corn Rigg Cottage."

    Generally, the decor and fixtures there are of a high quality and the property, whilst compact, has everything you’ll need and is comfortable. The only slight negative, for me, is that I think the mattress is of a poorer quality than almost everything else and could do with being replaced with something of a better quality. There’s little in the way of support and it feels like it’s reached the end of its useful life. I would like to reiterate though that everything else about the property is of good quality and that it’s a very pleasant place to spend a few days.

    Reviewed by EdJun 2019

  • "We had a lovely stay at this great well equipped barn everything we needed was there."

    The scenery around is beautiful. Many thanks to the owners the information packs they were very helpful too. Would recommend and return.

    Reviewed by JohnMay 2019

  • "Cosy cottage in a great location."

    Great base to visit the lakes and Hadrian’s wall.

    Reviewed by DavidMar 2019

  • "Lovely quiet location with splendid facilities."

    However, website picture gives impression that there is a patio window. This belongs to adjacent cottage and views from cottage downstairs are extremely limited due to slit windows. Enclosed garden is shared with next door also which led to issues between us and neighbours due to dogs "tresspassing" and fouling in "wrong" area. Access arrangements are very poor in that 2 gates have to be opened and shut twice on each occasion cottage is left.

    Reviewed by KevinNov 2018

  • "We did think it was very dark inside seeing as the windows were so small l suppose that was why."

    We were invested with flies......we purchased the stuff we needed and got rid of them......or so we thought! Even with windows and door closed they were still getting in somewhere and drove us mad. I thought l had read in the description that there was a shared grass area that we could walk our dog or let her play. Apparently not.......the lady who was staying in the adjoining cottage told us on no uncertain terms were we allowed to use the grass area. This surprised us, having a dog with us meant we needed a area where she could let off steam etc but the lady who is the Mother of the owner of the cottage was adamant we couldn’t use any of the grass areas.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry if you thought that you were told that you could not use the grassed areas at the cottage. My parents believed that you had asked if your dog could use the open field in front of the cottages, which is owned by a local farmer, and which often has sheep in. Corn Rigg Cottage, and the adjacent cottage (Rusby Barn) both have their own private secluded seating areas, but the grassed areas and the large driveway are open to be used by guests in both cottages. There are also a number of public footpaths and rights of way on the doorstep of the cottages, where guests can walk their dogs. As Corn Rigg Cottage is in the heart of the countryside and surrounded by farm land, you might expect to occasionally see flies about. The cottage was thoroughly cleaned the morning of your stay and also thoroughly cleaned on your departure, and there was absolutely no evidence of any flies, let alone an infestation. We were actually staying with my parents in the adjacent cottage during your stay, and we did not experience any such problems with flies, and have actually never done so. Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by JacquelineSep 2018

  • "The barn was done to a high standard and excellently equipped."

    The best we have stayed at so far. We were not aware it was two holiday lets as the photos showed use of all the ground and there was no mention that the barn was two lets. Our half did not have access to the lawned garden part. Also our dog is not good with other dogs.We kept our dog on a tether when sitting on the patio.On one occasion a dog from the people letting the other side came round to our side and this caused our dog to rear at the other.Luckily the other dog went back to it's side and no harm done. It would help if the two halves of the garden could be fenced off to prevent this issue. Fantastic location with beautiful scenery and lovely having the sheep close to us and hearing them. We would definitely go back.

    Reviewed by SusanJul 2018

  • "This is a beautiful well maintained cottage with everything you need to enjoy a comfortable stay."

    The tranquil surroundings ensure peace and relaxation. The Village is approximately 1 mile away and the local pub serves good quality food at a very reasonable price. I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone who wants all the home comforts in a beautiful, peaceful location, I will certainly be visiting again in the future.

    Reviewed by MichelleMay 2018

  • "Cottage was absolutely lovely with lots of thoughtful extra touches."

    Couldn't fault the cleanliness and the location and views from the front door would be hard to beat. Lovely and cosy and warm even in February - would highly recommend!

    Reviewed by JamesFeb 2018

  • "This wonderful cottage is in a beautiful rural location, well away from any traffic noise, and surrounded by farms and fields of sheep."

    The cottage itself is beautifully furnished and amazingly well equipped, there is nothing that you would need that is not provided. The bed is blissfully comfortable and the shower is fabulous, and the owners provide towels and handwash and hairdryer and ironing board and iron, just everything you could possibly need. Cannot recommend this cottage highly enough; the charming couple who own this cottage even left wine and chocolates on our arrival day.

    Reviewed by JulieFeb 2018

  • "Lovely warm cottage."

    Garden enclosed which was good to let the dog run about.

    Reviewed by WilliamDec 2017

  • "The cottage was so cosy, it was obvious the owners had gone the extra mile to ensure their guests had everything they could need."

    Underfloor heating meant we were never cold and whilst we would have loved to light the log fire, honestly we would have melted. A nice touch was the welcome gift of wine and chocolates. We considered the cottage to be very good value and it felt more like a home than a holiday let. You can even light the chiminea outside and sit and watch the stars in the dark skies. We spent a lot of our time walking around Keswick, lovely views and only a 30 minute drive away. Lots of information available in the cottage of places to visit. All in all we can honestly say this is one of the nicest places we have stayed a d we certainly hope to be able to return.

    Reviewed by KennethNov 2017

  • "Great property in ideal location for exploring Eden valley and the Lake District."

    Reviewed by ValNov 2017

  • "The Lakes"

    Reviewed by AngelaSep 2017

  • "Everything we were hoping for and more even the weather was kind to us"

    Reviewed by DavidJul 2017

  • "Beautiful location."

    All mod cons. Nature on the doorstep. Easy access to many Lakes/walks.

    Reviewed by ShelleyJun 2017

  • "The cottage was so cosy and very peaceful."

    We will definately go back.

    Reviewed by AnneMar 2017

  • "Beautiful cottage and location would definitely book again."

    Also would definitely recommend the Fox Inn for food but don't try to have 2 courses in 1 visit - finished us off. Directions to get to the cottage were great from the south but not so good from the North however if you ignore the sign for Ousby from the A686 and just continue south you will come to the house quoted in the instructions and this is a much easier route in. Or just use a sat nav as the post code on the sat nav takes you straight there.

    Reviewed by AllanNov 2016

  • "Lovely clean and comfortable cottage"

    Reviewed by IanSep 2016

  • "Excellent cottage in a brilliant location for visiting The Lakes and the Yorkshire Dales."

    Superb

    Reviewed by JanetSep 2016

Show more

Summary

  • One double bedroom with TV and en-suite bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting room with dining area and woodburning stove.
  • Air-source heat pump underfloor heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD player & DVD's
  • Amazon Fire Stick
  • Books
  • Games
  • Superfast (Fibre) Broadband
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair on request
  • Off road parking
  • Lawned garden with patio and furniture
  • Deck chairs
  • Outdoor cimeneas
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 2 miles, pub 7 mins walk
  • Note: Some mobile networks may have limited reception
  • Note: Check-in time 4pm.

The property

Superb barn conversion located on the outskirts of the village of Ousby, close to the village of Melmerby in the stunning Eden Valley, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

Converted to a high standard this barn conversion is ideal for a romantic retreat in this picturesque and peaceful area.

Inside is an open plan but cosy sitting and dining area with a Kirkstone slate floor and underfloor heating powered by an air-source heat pump which keeps an ambient temperature.

The woodburner is perfect to cuddle in front of when the evenings are cooler after a day spent exploring.

Enjoy a coffee on the patio and take in the fell views with the Lake District in the distance or have a glass of wine while enjoying the sunset.

From the door you can walk to the pub in Ousby and Melmerby is approximately a mile away with a shop and bakery which is locally renowned.

The Eden Valley area offers lovely walks along riverbanks and country lanes shouldered by the fells.

For those wanting more of a challenge, Cross Fell is the highest and actually overlooks the barn and the long distance Pennine Way is also close by.

The Lake District is very accessible, only 25 minutes to Ullswater and Pooley Bridge where you can take the steam cruises along the lake or enjoy other water activities at Keswick which is just 35 minutes away.

The area also has an abundance of cycle routes for different levels of ability and energy!

Return at the end of your day’s activities and enjoy the comfort of this lovely barn accommodation.

The location of this Ousby barn means you can explore Yorkshire, the Lake District or the west coast with Hadrian’s Wall making this a perfect base year round.

Note: This property can be booked with the cottage next door Ref 922015, together they sleep 6.

View on map

About the location

OUSBY

Penrith 10.3 miles; Pooley Bridge 14.7 miles; Keswick 26.9 miles.

Ousby is a small village surrounded by countryside in the Eden Valley. It has a pub called the Fox Inn, a campsite and a church called St Luke's Church. It is excellent for walking and cycling and is only a mile from the village of Melmerby which offers a wide green with a winding stream, a pub, a shop, a bakery and a church and is situated on C2C Cycle Route. The surrounding countryside is abundant with wildlife and is home to the native red squirrel and hares can be spotted easily, and the varied landscape is also a haven for birdwatchers, where curlews, oystercatchers and lapwings can be seen during the summer months. Within easy reach are many places to visit including the town of Penrith, the village of Pooley Bridge and beautiful Ullswater. A delightful place to stay in order to explore this wonderful area.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it