- Off road parking
- Ground floor bedroom
- Open fire
- Garden / Patio
- Cot available
- Highchair available
- Washing machine
- Broadband / WiFi
Reviews & Ratings
53 Customer Reviews
"We booked this house for a family holiday (11 adults, 3 toddlers and a dog!"
) even though the weather wasn’t the best for us, it didn’t stop us from enjoying every moment. We even had a power outage during a storm! The owners brought us lots of candles and checked we were okay and had everything we needed (we made it fun for the kids got them a torch each and made dens!) The house itself house was perfect for us, layout and space to fit everyone in and the owners were lovely. Lots of info for activities and WiFi was spot on. The house was lovely and clean and the dog loved the field at the back - just be sure the sheep have moved back if you have a dog as they liked a morning graze close up to the house! Thanks for a lovely stay - amazing memories made :)
"Loved this property and location, will definitely be returning."
Was ideal for our family. Thank you
"We booked this house for a big family reunion with family members travelling from Europe and the US as well as southern England and we couldn’t have chosen a better place."
The property is huge and very comfortable with everything you need for a holiday with a large group. It has a traditional rather than modern feel which we loved although the kitchen has all the modern appliances you need and the broadband is good. Having 2 dishwashers is great for a big group but remember to bring tablets as there weren’t many when we arrived and more bin liners would have been useful. But the best thing about the house is the location as the views are fantastic especially in the lovely weather we had during our stay and there is plenty of space outside to relax and lovely walks right from the door. The approach road is a little tricky as it’s very narrow so not for nervous drivers but worth the effort.
"We stayed at Ghyll bank house for 6 days, perfect for our big family, breath taking views, clean with all the facilities."
The post code will take you straight there, which is a plus point. Definitely going there again. The owner was very helpful as well. Thank you once again.
House clean, warm, comfortable and well equipped. Bedrooms spacious and comfortable. A few more toilet rolls would have been appreciated.
"The owners of the property are lovely and really helpful we travelled when the heavy snow was expected in the area and they stayed in touch and kept us updated on the weather a few days before arriving to make sure we were going to be able to make it."
The then made sure we had arrived OK and checked in on us to make sure everything was fine. The property and location is fantastic, it was a family holiday with 14 of us going including children and all had a great time, there was plenty of facilities for us all and even some spare beds. We will be definitely looking to go back especially in summer.
"Ghyll Bank House is absolutely lovely in a beautiful location."
My family and I had a wonderful week celebrating my 70th Birthday. The house, although spacious was cosy and warm and the views from every window were amazing! We had lots of walks on the hillside, behind the house, with our two dogs, to admire the stunning scenery. The owners, Mr and Mrs Beatty, were charming and helpful. The only downside to the property is there is no recycling facility and refuse bins were filled too quickly with our large party! It was our first visit to the lakes and can’t wait to return and definitely to Ghyll Bank House!
"What a great house we felt so comfortable there."
The living room was so good that we could relax in loved it our first time in the lakes and was absolutely blown away with it and the house was the icing on the cake. With 4 grandkids and 2 dogs the space in the house and fields was amazing
"The house provided a lovely space for our large family and the views and location were amazing."
The kitchen was well equipped but the fridge and cooker need a little maintenance, as did the small shower cubicle upstairs. Overall the house was warm and comfortable.
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, I value all feedback, we are replacing the face of the oven, and sorting the screws in the shower, happy to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. Property Owner
"We had a fantastic stay here, the kitchen facilities were great and easily allowed us to cook for 18 friends over the weekend with comfort."
Warm spacious property. Owner was very attentive to our queries, Perfect for a large group of friends to catch up with good local walking routes, or just a large lounge to stay in by the fire and catch up Would stay here again if looking to stay in the region again.
"The cottage was a great family or party accommodation."
Well stocked with everything you need. Views were amazing from the living room. On the negative the cottage was in need of updating. And the hill where the cottage is situated was a problem for some of our party.
"The property was clean."
Beds very comfortable. The property was a nice size and slept 18 no problem. The views from the property were amazing, especially with the snow we had during our stay.
! The house is large and easily accommodated all of us in every respect. Lots of room for the kids to play indoors. Kitchen well equipped and a joy for three "cooks" to use at the same time, specially with the extra stove in the adjacent utility room. We pushed the two dining tables together so we could all sit "in the round". Bathrooms/showers/toilets more than adequate - no queueing! If I had to make a suggestion it would be to put up coat hooks (high and low) on the wall by the back stairway to hang dry coats, preventing them from being slung over the backs of chairs or the floor (kids!!). A big thank you to the hosts for making this one of our best family holidays ever!!
"Ghyll Bank House was in an excellent location, fabulous views and walks from the door."
It was fine for our purposes and the kitchen was well equipped. The downside: the property needed updating - even a small investment would make a huge difference. Disappointed with the comfort of the beds and bed linen, damp smell in adjoining rooms, small point but the dvd didn't work, the bins and lampshades needed replacing. Owners very attentive and on hand when needed. Overall, a great experience in the Lakes but we would not return to this particular property.
Thank you for your feedback, it is essential that we are made aware of issues guests have so we keep our standards as high as possible. Although we have never been told of a damp smell previously, we will certainly look into this. In regards to the DVD player, there are two in the property we will check them both. We are looking into updating some things in the property now the peak season is over. We are glad that you had a great holiday with us. Property Owner
"The house was perfect for the 14 of us."
We all loved the position it holds over the splendid countryside. Each day it felt more homely and I was sad to leave it. If ever there was a reason for us to reunite under the one roof, this house would be the choice. Again. Yes.
"We had an excellent week at Ghyll Bank House and enjoyed the beautiful views and sunsets from the living area which was so big and comfortable."
It was suitable for all in our party. The children especially liked the space and the front garden to play in. The bbq seating area was big enough for all and sheltered from winds coming up from the valley.
"Everything we needed and more."
Whilst it felt truly remote, Staveley was only 10 minutes in the car. Ample on site parking. Heating and hot water for such a large property were excellent. The children loved the lambs in the adjoining fields and the occasional sighting of a wild rabbit. Some lovely walks from the property. Sitting room and dining room were both good size and accommodated all of our group. We would certainly go back to this property again. As feedback only, the main cooker wasn’t the easiest to use as all the markings have worn off the controls - having the second oven in the utility room was great though, as was having 2 dishwashers. One or two of the mattresses gave rise to comment - the double + single with no en suite for example felt like a ‘water bed’. Mainly the beds were very comfy. There was only one tea towel provided - maybe we missed that on the details - had we known we would have brought our own, but not a problem they sell them in Kendal. We did have a small problem with the water but the owner was brilliant and came straight away and resolved it. We all had a very enjoyable week here.
"Great for a large group."
Access to property up a steep country lane can.be difficult in the dark and if the weather was icy. Two of the bedrooms are joined and really only suitable for a family unit which was a bit of a downside for our group. On the positives we really loved the large lounge and dining room spaces. And the great views across the valley. Walking was also superb and able to walk from the door both up the fells or into stavely which has a lot to offfer.
"Great for large family gathering, lots of space to eat in dining room and open to kitchen, so great for chatting while meal in prepared."
Lounge is huge, great for playing board games. House is lovely, cosy and warm.
"House and location great, everything we expected."
Rooms and facilities very good. All appliances worked perfectly. Wifi throughout house also very good, even good enough for streaming in the living room.
"Lovely place in a lovely location - even having “typical” Lakeland weather didn’t bring it down."
House was well sized for a larger group and gave everyone a chance to mingle or find their own space, as required. Kitchen was a bit of a mixed bag of equipment - plenty of crockery and cutlery, but mixed styles with a few pans and trays which have seen better days. Fridge was a bit small, considering it’s meant for large groups, but that really means you need to be a bit more careful in not storing everything in there.
"1. I booked Ghyll Bank House as we needed disabled access for one of my nephews who is confined to a motorised wheelchair."
The only external door with such access was round the back which, in itself, would be no problem. However, the doorway was quite narrow and the wheelchair had to turn at right-angles to get to the other rooms. This was only possible with the help of some strong young men in our party who were able to man-handle the chair into the correct position. This would have been impossible for my nephew to manage on his own (which he normally does). Also, he was unable to use the shower in the ground floor shower room as there was a raised ridge to get over to enter it. All in all, I would describe the property as not easily accessible for disabled people although it would be fine for people with limited mobility. 2. The mattress on the double bed in the ground floor bedroom was very uncomfortable (eg springs protruding) and needs to be replaced. 3. On the positive side, the catering facilities were excellent. It was particularly good to have two cookers and two dishwashers. 4. Overall it was an excellent venue for my long-delayed family celebrations for my 70th birthday. Our party's age range was 7 months to 73 years!
"There was 14 guests and this was the perfect place for us to have a fabulous time, we would definitely book this again."
If there is one thing I would recommend is a hot tub to sit and enjoy the views
"This is a wonderful place , the views are heavenly, the property met every need me and my 14 family members required ."
I can’t recommend this place enough , the best ever in my 50 years of holidaying . Thank you ❤️
"Not very clean."
Furniture and carpet had stains on them and interent didnt work in parts of the house
Thank you very much for your comments and for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. Customer feedback is very important to help us continually improve our standards. We have spoken to the owner regarding your comments and he said it is a shame that you didn't mention anything during your stay as they would have done their best to assist you. Once again, we thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. Property Owner
"The location was wonderful."
As a big family party with a wide range of ages, the freedom for the grandchildren was great, and the views of the wonderful countryside outstanding. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
"The location is stunning."
A lot of the decor is very dated and for the money we paid was disappointing.
"The cottage met our requirements however for the amount we paid for the week I would expect it to be of higher standard."
Parts of the house are very tired and old. The entire house needs to be decorated and cleaned up. The bathrooms were very clean and nice. The living room and dining room need a makeover.
"I've just written at length about this and my beastly new laptop has played up and swallowed it and I simply don't have time to do it all again."
We had a ball! Thankyou -
"All the party, 21 of us, contracted a sickness virus late Saturday evening, Sunday and Monday, with some people still off work and school today."
Not sure if this was from the house or a person who brought the bug with them.
"This is a beautiful property in a fantastic setting and on the large side sleeping 18, although the bedroom/bathroom configuration is not the best and would not suit everyone."
But there is always a premium to pay for large party properties and small things seem to become very important. A little more attention to detail and putting things right has to be paramount. We had in one bathroom no hot water for a week, the basin tap and loo seat where extremely loose.☹️ Large cobwebs on the dining room ceiling and drawing pins stuck in around the table top. Cupboards and drawers where littered with odds and ends. Some of the bedding left a lot to be desired. Would we go back? Yes. But I would love to think that some money was being ploughed back into the property so that facilities and comfort as well as cleanliness was as good in late season, as they where in early and peak season. I’m aware November is late in the season and a few knocks and scrapes are expected. You do need to keep your eye on the ball. Paul Blagden
"Lovely isolated location, however, beware meeting locals on the single track road going down the hill, they don't like having to reverse for holiday makers!"
Even it is only a few metres! On several occasions, myself and our friends were met with foul language and insults which soured our enjoyment of our holiday somewhat.
"An excellent house and location for a family group."
Large lounge and dining room. More fridge space would have been useful for a large group but we managed. Some of the mattresses are very much in need of replacement. But overall I would recommend this property for a large group.
"Wonderful location with spectacular view."
easily accommodated our extended family of 17 aged from 2-69! Plenty of room for us all. WiFi and phone signals intermittent but good in the village. Our stay was enjoyed by us all. Owners extremely responsive to all our reeds.
"The house is set in a beautiful position the views are spectacular."
There were 8 adults and 9 children in our party and the occomodation suited our every need Plenty of space for the children to play inside and outside . We would like to return one day. It was thoroughly enjoyed by all
"I and my 13 strong family party have just returned from Ghyllbank House set high on a hill above Staveley, and affording wonderful views over the countryside and in the distance, Morecambe Bay."
The house itself is lovely. Plenty space for everyone, and very importantly- toastie warm ! It is well equipped although there are a few things that would have improved our holiday. Only two dish towels were provided ( I bought 6 for £5 in Kendal market) Of the four bathrooms only one had a hand towel, and some of the beds require toppers, as the springs poke through making them extremely uncomfortable. But having said that , we had a great holiday and hope to return.
"Everything about the house and setting was so lovely we’ve booked to come back in November."
Our only regret is the weekend went too quickly.
"Had a wonderful time at Ghyll Bank with our family of 18."
..varying in ages from grandparents to teens and small children. Stunning location and a very comfortable house. We would love to go back.
"Well equipped property which was ideal for a big group."
Only suggestion would be that a drying room would be handy (it was very wet outside when we walked the Kentmere round on the Saturday!). Location is fantastic. Staveley (Hawkshead Brewery and Eagle & Child) only a 20-25 minute walk downhill (but feels like a lot longer on the return!)
"What a perfect property for adults/children/dogs to spend New Year, everything was catered for in the house, and the stunning location made it even better."
Close to Staveley's pubs and Hawkshead brewery, and a short drive to windermere and some amazing walks!
"Just the check out was a bit rushed"
"A great house for large gatherings, we were able to sit 16 people around the dining table in one room (usually a challenge) the kitchen was well equiped, with a good amount of crockery, glasses etc."
The house was clean and tidy, the sofas comfortable and the views are stunning. The main dishwasher did not clean very well (most things had deposits on them coming out of the unit) but the second worked very well, so just used that one instead. The wifi was very unreliable, but was also nice to get away from technology. Ample parking, and was easy to find, good space for kids to run around, BBQ and sit outside (again enjoying the marvelous view). We stayed for 1 week October 2018.
"We visited ghyll bank for a family weekend with young children and their great ..."
We visited ghyll bank for a family weekend with young children and their great grandparent we were delighted with our stay the cottage provided a perfect setting for us to be together thank you
"Great location with lovely owners."
Would definitely stay again. Highly recommended
"This was a wonderful holiday for 15 members of my family to celebrate my ‘big’ birthday!"
The house accommodated us beautifully with plenty of room, comfort and was lovely and clean. So lovely to wake up to the stunning views and the situation was ideal with easy access to nearby towns and lakes. A golden find as my husband put it.
"17 of us stayed at the house for a very special 70 th Birthday."
Accommodation excellent. Facilities very good. Good position for travelling to various attractions. Ages ranged from 72 down to 5 years old....all had a very good time!
"See my review under Ghyll Bank Bungalow that we also occupied."
"We found the decor in side the property not as illustrated on your website."
....it is bit misleading.
"For information only there was a drainy smell in the dining area which we could not discover or prevent but we have advised the owners."
apart from that we had no complaints and had a very enjoyable stay thank you.
"Ditto for the bungalow."
"Beautiful big house in such a wonderful location,owners very helpful and friendly."
More than what you would expect in a large kitchen.
"The. owners of the property visited us one morning."
The lady walked into the house without knocking. We thought this was a little rude.
- Eight bedrooms: 1 x first floor double with en-suite bath, basin & WC also accessed via landing, 1 x first floor double, 2 x first floor family rooms with 1 double & 1 single (one with en-suite bath, basin & WC), 1 x first floor twin, 1 x first floor bunks, 1 x ground floor double leading to 1 x twin with adjacent shower room with shower, basin and WC
- First floor shower room with shower, basin & WC
- First floor shower room with shower only
- Ground floor WC
- Fitted kitchen
- Dining room with TV & woodburner
- Large sitting room with TV and open fire
- Hall with open fire.
- Oil central heating with open fires & woodburner
- Electric range cooker with ceramic hob, microwave, American style fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, 2 x dishwashers, 2 x TV with Freeview, video, DVD
- High speed, super fast broadband
- Oil, electricity & starter pack of fuel for open fires & woodburner inc. in rent
- Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
- 2 cots & 2 highchairs (please bring own cot bedding)
- Ample off road parking
- Spacious, shared grounds
- Private patio, garden furniture & BBQ
- Two well-behaved dogs welcome
- Sorry, no smoking
- Shop & pub 1.5 miles
- Note: No fireworks due to the proximity of animals
- Note: The en-suite to one of the first floor doubles can also be accessed via the landing
- Note: If you wish to charge your electric vehicle at the property, please consult with the owner.
Set in a wonderful hillside position, this magnificent house offers spacious accommodation throughout, ideal for family and friends.
This large Lake District cottage boasts a wonderful sitting room which has a TV and open fire, a superb fitted kitchen with adjoining dining room and the flexibility of eight bedrooms.
The large gardens and patio are ideal for sitting out, enjoying the views and watching the wildlife.
Windermere, Bowness and Ambleside are a short drive away.
Note: This property can be booked with Ref. 2027 to sleep 21 people.
Staveley 1.5 miles. Originally a traditional Lakeland farm, Ghyll Bank is located in beautiful countryside, with Lake Windermere less than 5 miles away, and breathtaking views across the Lake District Fells including the unspoilt Kentmere Valley. Ghyll Bank offers two attractive buildings; a wonderful large house and a cosy single-storey cottage. These rural Lake District cottages offer charming holiday accommodation with beautiful walks from the door along ancient bridleways to Brunt Knott, Craggy Wood, Reston Scarr and, for the more experienced walkers, the Kentmere Horseshoe. Outdoor enthusiasts can enjoy a number of activities within easy reach of these Lake District holiday cottages including sailing on Lake Windermere, cycling and fishing, or simply enjoy a relaxing holiday in your rural Lake District retreat. All the village amenities are on hand including shops, a pub, Post Office, chemist and doctor’s surgery, along with a children’s playground. The converted mill yard is home to the renowned Wilf’s Cafe, a cookery school and Hawkshead Brewery, along with Wheelbase Cycle Hire. These great properties are ideal for a rural cottage holiday in the Lake District.
About the location
Windermere 5 miles; Kendal 5 miles.
The thriving Lakeland village of Staveley is situated on the eastern fringes of the Lake District National Park and offers superb access to the whole region. The beautiful Kentmere Valley is just a short walk away and with the River Kent tumbling its way through the valley to Staveley, it is very popular with mountain bikers and walkers alike. Staveley Mill Yard is a former wood turning mill at the heart of the village, which is now a thriving tourist attraction with cycle hire and outdoor shops, artisan bakery, brewery and the renowned Wilf's Cafe. This complements the excellent range of amenities in the village, which include a variety of shops, two village pubs, craft shops, a children's playground, a regular bus service and a railway station. Close by, the bustling towns of Kendal, Windermere, Bowness and Ambleside are popular with visitors, providing a range of amenities to suit all tastes. Lake Windermere offers boat trips, including a ferry to the Lakeside Aquarium and Grizedale Forest Park. The 'Windermere Steamboat Museum' displays a fascinating collection of boats whilst children will enjoy the 'World of Beatrix Potter' in Bowness, where technology brings her characters to life. Within easy reach of Coniston Water, Kendal, Keswick and the Lakeland Mountains, Staveley is ideally situated for exploring all that the region has to offer.
View more holiday cottages in Staveley
This property offers the following short breaks:
- Last minute