In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked Poppy Cottage in the last 24 hours

1 of 13 View Image Gallery
  • Poppy Cottage - Lake District - 913188 - photo 1

Poppy Cottage

(Ref. 913188)

Lancaster, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (55)
  • lovely (33)
  • our (23)
  • location (20)
  • well (20)
  • good (19)

76 Customer Reviews

  • "Beautiful place to stay, would highly recommend and we will be going back."


    Reviewed by Leanne5.0Mar 2024

  • "Lovely location and lovely space inside the cottage and its bedrooms, with a good set of equipment."

    However, the WiFi was terrible; the towels were hard; the shower leaked over the bathroom floor; there were no instructions (that we could find) inside the cottage about how to work the heating or dishwasher; and the directions and signage were not very good especially as we arrived in dark, rainy conditions. It was hard to see where the Golf Centre was and before reaching that, there was a sign for our cottages outside cottages that were nothing to do with ours, but they looked like they were the ones. So we parked behind them and found we were in the wrong place.

    Reviewed by John3.1Mar 2024

  • "Nice spacious cottage, great location for exploring the area, great value for money."

    Reviewed by Debra4.4Dec 2023

  • "The cottage was perfect for our needs and 2 of the bedrooms were huge!"

    ! We used the smallest as it was next to the bathroom downstairs. Well equipped kitchen although I do agree with someone else's comment that the oven doesn't seem to get to temperature as it took so much longer to cook our meals, so maybe it just needs to be checked. Only criticism would be to get better signage as like others we couldn't find it. We arrived late and it was pitch black - we saw the sign on the fence but it gave no indication of whereabouts they were, we drove past this and came to a gate which said it was a private road and no unauthorised access so didn't realise we had to actually go through and take a sharp left. It was only after I was getting quite distressed that I actually had to knock on someone's door to ask and a lovely man walked me round as they were just behind his house. But now we know where it is we would definitely stay again

    Reviewed by Janice4.7Nov 2023

  • "Wonderful Holiday Home!"

    We were an extended family of 6, visiting my son at Lancaster Uni. The cottage was a perfect location and was dog friendly. Accommodation was spotlessly clean and a starter pack of wood was supplied for the wood fire. The accommodation was warm on arrival (cold weekend Mid-November), We arrived late and I will mention, directions on Sykes are not descriptive enough. Follow Google Maps and when you get to a left turn, the wall in front details Golf centre, turn left past large cottage and you will see on your left a hedge, gap that is just wide enough for car and cottages detailed as Ashton Cottages. You need to turn immediately left between hedge/wall and cottage wall, this then opens onto a car park for 6/7 cars on your left. We missed the turning and started heading down to caravan park. I must stress this would be easy to find in the light it is only because we arrived so late. Definitely try this accommodation you will not be disappointed.

    Reviewed by Alethea5.0Nov 2023

  • "Directions were confusing once you enter the complex and signage not visible enough Spacious and lovely locality; warm and comfortable."

    Furnishing, curtains and decor outdated. No hairdryer Mold and dirt in and around toilet and windowsills of downstairs ensuite Toilet seats not secure..rather uncomfortable Had to clean around taps and plugs in both bedroom sinks... Also had to clean shower and bath plug holes areas...before use We really found this a terrible negative start to our break and did not expect this at all No microwavable dishes...and not working properly No instructions for cooker or microwave TV apps not accessible...were not able to use these...If they are not for general use, this needs to be stated

    Thank you for the feedback, we will look into some of the issues raised. In the meantime, we do encourage guests, by way of provision of a framed notice in the cottages, to contact management during their stay if there are any cleaning/maintenance/accessibility or assistance issues; it is curious given some of the comments noted in the feedback that this particular customer raised no such issues noted in the feedback at anytime during their stay. The cottage provides several microwaveable dishes. A hair dryer is available on request. Appliance instructions can be found in the cottage and are available on line in any event; the micro wave does appear to be working correctly. Only one of the 3 bedrooms offers a sink in the room itself and there is only one en-suite in the entire cottage. The downstairs bedrooms do not offer any en-suite. There is a family bathroom downstairs. There is no separate shower in the cottage as suggested by this customer. Further, it is recalled that this customer arrived very late at night and was shown the way into the cottage complex by a member of staff; the cottages are located in a country estate in a rural setting, there is no street lighting on the long drive however the cottage complex is clearly signed and the cottages lit outside. The TV is a smart TV and offers all available Apps however any subscriptions to any fee paying Apps is strictly down to the customer; no such benefits are advertised under the listing. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dhenis2.2Nov 2023

  • "Well when we book up with you you told us it be alright for disabled people that it had walk in shower and that the beds was not wooden but sorry to say there was no walk in shower at all it was over the bath."

    And all beds was wooden base that was big good at all so not good at all so what compensation are you going give us as it did up set the whole of holiday so be great ful if someone could get back in tough asp

    Reviewed by Julie4.4Oct 2023

  • "Lovely cottage in a lovely spot ."

    Owners were very helpful

    Reviewed by Jill5.0Oct 2023

  • "This is a classy open plan cottage in a rural setting."

    For us, it was a great mix of feeling remote while being a 5 minute drive from both Lancaster and Glasson dock, as well as being a stone's throw from a brilliant garden centre and cafe. Perfect for a family get-together.

    Reviewed by Dave4.7Sep 2023

  • "Lovely property,peaceful location."

    Very spacious, everything you need there.only thing missing was a mat near patio doors but that was because I like to wipe my feet and not get the lovely wooden floors dirty! Also electrical appliances like microwave and cooker top had trouble figuring out how to work! Might be a age thing! Maybe leave instructions. Overall all though definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Sep 2023

  • "Delightful property in an excellent location."

    Throughly enjoyable watching the sheep and bats in the evening!

    Reviewed by Tim5.0Aug 2023

  • "It's hard to enjoy a holiday when the standard of accomodation falls well below that if your own."

    The place was grubby and looked as though it hadn't been maintained for some time. Paintwork needing done, ants in the external doorframe, sprung beds that kept springing as you lay on them, downstairs double bedroom smelled very 'unfresh', kitchen table so sticky, that even after cleaning, arms stuck to it, communal washing machine full of black mould and no plug on the tumble drier... All a bit depressing and sad as had obviously been nice in its day.

    Thank you for your feedback. I must point out that there is a framed note in the cottage which alerts guests to refer any maintenance issues etc to management; no complaints whatsoever were received, or maintenance issues raised by you during your 3-night stay. As to the allegations concerning the washing machine, it is in frequent use and checked on a regular basis; it is not full of black mould as alleged. As to the allegations concerning a tumble drier, you will note from the listing that there is no tumble drier whatsoever offered for your use as guests staying at Poppy Cottage. As to the table, it is unfortunate that you may have used an abrasive scourer on the surface which has caused significant damage; this is one of the reasons we ask that guests contact management rather than attempt to carry out works themselves which unfortunately in this case has resulted in the table having to be replaced. Since receipt of your feedback, each bed has been tested, door ways checked, there was no sign of noisy springs, no ants were found in the door frames. There are two double bedrooms downstairs neither of which appear to smell 'un-fresh'. Poppy cottage will be re-decorated at the end of the season, in the meantime, maintenance have touched up any damaged paintwork where possible. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wendy2.2Jul 2023

  • "We were only staying at the cottage for a few days as we were attending a wedding."

    Whilst the cottage did its job for somewhere to stay, the rooms were large and the cottage well laid out. However I feel like some love and care needs to be given back to these cottages, they could be beautiful and a real asset to the owners but instead they are out of date, run down and not looked after. They need a good facelift, proper garden furniture with a garden that isn't over grown. There was no welcome hamper, or even just a few tea bags, coffee etc. No logs were provided for the fire, even though it said on the information that there would be. No information booklet on the area, said there were woodland walks but these were blocked off with pallets so we couldn't take our dog into the woods. My husband was told he couldn't go down the road past the caravan park as it was private but there were no signs to say this, in fact there was no sinage at all. If you are allowing people to bring dogs, then they need to be informed of where they can be walked around the area to avoid any issues. As I said, such a shame as these could be lovely properties, they need to up their game

    Thank you for your feedback. Proper garden furniture is provided at Poppy Cottage. We don't provide a welcome hamper. We don't consider the garden overgrown, the majority of guests prefer well-established shrubs to create privacy, the grass can only be cut if the weather is dry; it has been very wet recently. We don't provide logs in the summer. If customers require a starter pack of logs or there are any maintenance issues then the customer is advised to contact the management during their stay; you did not raise any issues during your 2-night stay. The woodland walks affiliated to and situated next to the cottages are not blocked off with pallets, your comments concerning alleged pallets suggest that you probably wandered/trespassed onto third parties' property around half a mile away from the cottages over which the cottages have no control. The caravan park referred to is quite obviously private, protected by an electronic security barrier and clearly not for the use of guests staying in the cottages - there is clear signage affixed to the gate posts stating that the road is private, no access without permission and no unauthorised access. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nanette2.2Jul 2023

  • "I really don't want to sound negative about Poppy Cottage as regular users of Sykes cottages this was the lowest quality one we have stayed in, I will explain my reasoning around this though."

    The good points are its a lovely location and lovely and quiet and the accommodation is spacious. However this really needs some TLC and a bit more effort on the cleaning front we only used the ground floor double bedroom and found the following issues. Lamp shade above the bed covered in dust and lots of cobwebs, the bed linin whilst clean was of poor quality and and sounded like you were lying on a plastic bag which made it difficult to sleep because of the noise everytime one of you moved. The adjacent bathroom is in need of some maintenance its dated and at the head of the bath it looks like the shower screen is leaking and water has leaking down the wall and has had poor attempts at fixing so smells of damp and signs of mildew, cleaning not great either again lots of cobwebs. Kitchen area whilst reasonably well appointed the fridge cabinet is clearly broken as the door doesn't fit flush with the rest of the cabinets and feels like its falling forward, other cupboard doors do not shut properly either some of the upstands around the worktops are loose and not secured.Kick plinths do't fit properly. Oven not as clean as it could be and would benifit from a deep clean, the dishwasher basket is broken and rusty in places and needs some attention. The wall behind the hob could do with a much larger cleanable splashback as there is lots of cooking stains on the wall. There are under cabinet lights either side of the cooker hob we never did find out how to turn them on. The General living area was comfortable but again attention to detail lots of cobwebs not very well cleaned. There were DVD's on the shelf but NO dvd player. No visitors book or instruction manuals for any appliances. Very little information of where to go or local attractions no information about local restaurants or pubs etc. No hand soap in any bathrooms or kitchen space. All other sykes cottages we have stayed at have also included a small welcome pack ie milk, teabags, possibly some bread etc but there was nothing here. Limited cleaning products available. Also on the day of our arrival we had a thunder storm and the rain was hammering against the front of the property so we closed the window in the ground floor bedroom and the water flooded through the frame onto the windowsill opening the window allowed the water to run down the inside of the frame but not into the interior of the property which I feel is a bit counter intuitive. My personal opinion is that all these issues could be easily resolved with a bit more attention to detail and better maintenance between clients.

    Reviewed by John2.8Jul 2023

  • "Fantastic cottage in gorgeous surroundings."

    The owners were very helpful and friendly and even let us bottle feed the lambs. Thanks for the most enjoyable weekend.

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Apr 2023

  • "Just perfect - ticked all the boxes for us."

    We hope to stay at Poppy Cottage again.

    Reviewed by John5.0Apr 2023

  • "A previous review suggested the cottage may have been 4 star some time ago, but no longer."

    I think this fair. It could do with some sprucing up - inside and outside. Paint was tired. Outside no effort had been made to sweep up debris (catkins etc) from autumn. The grass was not cut. The hedges between the cottages were overgrown, and too late to cut them this year. The bedroom furniture was sparse. The cooker took ages to reach temperature, and I think the actual temperature was well below stated. There was some washing up liquid, but nothing to wash dishes with, or dry them. There was no surface cleaner or anything to clean with other than a vacuum. We had to buy everything which is poor. Not that it is expected but the only property we have ever stayed in with no welcome pack. Overall it served a purpose (we were staying for a wedding), but was disappointing.

    Reviewed by Nick2.5Mar 2023

  • "Fantastic hosts and friendly help when I needed it."

    Ask for Basil cottage if you’re working remotely and need strong wifi. We will be back!

    Reviewed by Rebecca5.0Nov 2022

  • "The living and kitchen area at this property were lovely."

    However the bedrooms and bathrooms let the property down. The furniture was sparse and had seen better days but the cleanliness of the bedrooms was inadequate. Bedrooms were very dusty and lots of cobwebs, carpets could have benefitted from a good hoover. The downstairs shower room had a musty smell and could do with an update. I personally think the upstairs bathroom could benefit with a shower as one shower for up to 6 guests isn’t adequate. The glass pain in the right hand side patio door is also loose. This needs addressing. We also got dog mess on our shoes from the back garden in the day of arrival from pervious guests The property was hard to find and some signage would help.

    Reviewed by Kerry2.2Oct 2022

  • "The downstairs bathroom has an awful smell, assume its the drains."

    An air fresher would have helped alleviate some of the odour. The toilet flush needs attention, 2 or more flushes needed to clear the bowl. The photos must be years old, the garden is definitely not as shown with mature tress on either side instead of the open views we expected to see. The upstairs bed and downstairs twin next to the window are very uncomfortable, 2 of our party did not sleep well at all, pleased we were there only 3 nights. If we had known what the 2nd bathroom was like we would not have booked, now I know why there are no pictures of this or the other bathroom. Towels were rough. The access road and the cottages need better signage, walked from the long barn cottages to find Poppy, up a private road with tight turn on left which is easily driven past. Would be very difficult to find in dark. We were very disappointed and Poppy Cottage is not in our opinion 4 star accommodation. Dishwasher shelves starting to rust. It was not worth the amount we paid. On a positive the bedding was clean and comfortable.

    Reviewed by Caroline2.8Oct 2022

  • "I booked this cottage for my brother and his wife."

    They absolutely loved it really enjoyed their stay. Bit tricky to find especially in the dark might be worth putting a sign where it says private road as flower delivery guy also didn’t think he could down private road and struggled a bit. But lovely when they found it.

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Oct 2022

  • "Initial approach signage could be improved, cottage names in windows when in driveway, but could do with something on end if block."

    Very spacious, well equipped kitchen, lots of books, dvd, puzzles and games to use. Generally clean but lots of cobwebs, stains on curtains and blinds. Poor fitting patio doors, rain was very heavy but came in under doors along with wasps. Upstairs mattress not very comfortable, constant spring noise. Plenty of room to house a King size as it is the en suite room. Pleasant stay, excellent location, would definitely visit again.

    Reviewed by Stephen3.8Oct 2022

  • "The cottage was generally quite good,spacious with comfortable seating, however there were some issues which could do with being addressed."

    The curtains covering the window to the rear garden were in need of attention as they were heavily stained by what appeared to be water that had come into the lounge via the patio door which didn't seem weatherproof, the light in the downstairs bathroom didn't work & it is a dark room even during daylight hours.There was only one light working in the upstairs bedroom too. It could do with a shower also . The rubbish bins were permanently full during our stay ( not sure how often they get emptied) In conclusion, with a little attention this cottage could be top quality as it is situated in a very peaceful location.

    Reviewed by David4.1Sep 2022

  • "The cottage is more spacious than we expected."

    The open plan high-ceilinged, living area - with lounge, dining room, and kitchen - is massive, and all the other rooms are a very good size. Very comfortable with leather 3-seater, and 2-seater sofas, plus one matching chair, and good-size smart TV with Netflix. The garden is also bigger than you’d think from the photographs

    Reviewed by Anthony3.8Aug 2022

  • "Had a great time, thanks."

    The cottage is well equipped, comfy sofas and the books and puzzles were great. The duvets and pillows were good quality and clean. Our stay would have been even better if: Plumbing fixed, very noisy! Blinds fixed in upstairs room New towels, matching would make it feel more luxurious Cleaning was ok but things like the fan in the top bathroom were dirty The cottage didn't feel as luxurious as it should have done from the listing and price and these fixes are not expensive

    Reviewed by Julie3.1Aug 2022

  • "The property was probably a top end holiday let when first created 15 years ago but the building and equipment is tired."

    The owner did little to overcome that and make it welcoming. We had to get Sykes to prompt them to respond to our key collection enquiries in the first place. There was none of the usual welcome pack (milk, tea etc.), no local guide or operating instructions for white goods, a tap not working (known to the owner), lights not working, insufficient pans, and a single cushion on the 3 sofas. Some attention to those points might have overcome the basic fact that the property is past needing a proper refurb. The owner calls the property "4 star". It's not. We left a day early.

    Reviewed by Tim2.2Apr 2022

  • "Excellent property in a quiet and peaceful village."

    The Cottage itself looks great. It was our first family trip with our 10 months old dog and he loved it. He made friends with 2 Shetland ponies in the farm. Nice walk in nearby woods. The owners are very helpful and live opposite. We had an issue with locks jamming which was resolved quickly. Great property for family and writhing short distance from Lake District walks .

    Reviewed by Ravinder3.8Apr 2022

  • "We hired both cottages to accommodate our family, we have booked the 3 of them in December for another visit."

    An amazing place to stay, close to Lancaster City Centre but seems so rural because of its surroundings. Lovely walks, horses in the field behind the garden. The owner and his wife are very helpful and are at hand if needed. I would definitely recommend this cottage.

    Reviewed by Suzanne5.0Apr 2022

  • "We had a wonderful stay at Poppy Cottages!"

    A beautiful, serene, comfortable place to stay. The owners were on site to handle any questions and/or problems. Feeding the baby lambs was so sweet. We would recommend this property to anyone!

    Reviewed by Jennifer4.7Mar 2022

  • "Poppy cottage was beautiful, the middle cottage in a row of three."

    The location is quiet, the outlook from the back garden and out over the fields was wonderful with a couple of sheep and three lambs having fun in the field. The main living area was spacious with a galleried landing and the kitchen very well stocked with all the utensils and crockery you could possibly need. I didn’t light the log burner because the central heating kept the whole cottage beautifully warm. Two of the three bedrooms were doubles with en suite facilities and the third was a twin room.Roger, the owner, took time out to come and see if everything goes to my liking and I was surprised to learn that he lived 2 miles from where I used to live in North London! My three days stay was really enjoyable and I have no hesitation in recommending this cottage to any future “Staycationists”. Thank you Roger and Sarah.

    Reviewed by Pete5.0Mar 2022

  • "Fantastic stay, plenty of towels, linen."

    Kitchen well equiped. Property could maybe benefit from a boot rack inside or outside as we kept them by the door and footwear was muddy. Overall fantastic stay great location lots on your door step, alpaca farm, cycle path nice cafes in Glasson. Short distance to Lancaster city.

    Reviewed by Laura4.1Feb 2022

  • "We had a wonderful stay at Poppy cottage from 7-14 of January 2022."

    The cottage was clean and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and the wood burner kept us lovely and warm. Thank you

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jan 2022

  • "We thought the cottage was lovely, very homely and comfortable."

    Everything we needed was there, and we really enjoyed our three nights.

    Reviewed by Pamela5.0Dec 2021

  • "This was a fabulous cottage that exceeded our expectations - the hosts were wonderful and the location was great for us."

    The rooms are airy and really comfortable - highly recommend!!!

    Reviewed by Janet4.7Dec 2021

  • "Brilliant walks from the doorstep with stunning views across the river Lune."

    Very peaceful and relaxing location also perfect for sightseeing out and about in Lancashire.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Aug 2021

  • "We had an enjoyable time, and the owners were very easygoing and helpful."

    I would recommend they install a shower unit upstairs. One shower unit over a bath for six possible occupants is not enough. Most people prefer a shower these days. We also did not like a sink in the bedroom which we thought was unhygienic after using the toilet. My real bugbear was the lack of recycling. We questioned the owners, who said the council wouldn't collect recycled waste from the holiday cottages as they were on business rates. This may be the case, but we need to stop putting recyclable waste into landfills, it isn't good enough, and a solution should be sort. Also, the rubbish was free for all with no allocated bins for each home. This meant we had to open every dustbin to find space and during the hot weather this was not very pleasant. We liked the place, it was very spacious and with a few alterations would make it a perfect destination.

    Reviewed by Alyson3.8Jul 2021

  • "Lovely cottage in nice a quiet area yet close to many amenities."

    Cottage had everything we needed and was excellent value for money.

    Reviewed by David5.0May 2021

  • "Lovely, cosy cottage in a very tranquil setting."

    Handy base to explore Lancaster and surrounding areas.

    Reviewed by Alison5.0May 2021

  • "Wi fi was problematic, not an issue generally but one of our party had work to do."

    Badly sign posted, we had problems finding Poppy Cottage and there was no sign in the window between Basil and Parsley Cottage. However we loved the walks nearby, bluebell woods, coast, canal and was perfectly placed for our needs, lovely garden for sitting outside, overlooking paddock. So would revisit, definately.

    Reviewed by Fay3.8May 2021

  • "It would be useful to have a sponge for washing up by hand."

    Everything else was fine, we appreciated the good supply of crockery and cutlery.

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Apr 2021

  • "We really enjoyed our time at the cottage."

    The views into the field are beautiful. The place was clean and tidy and had all we need. Thank you

    Reviewed by Andrew4.7Sep 2020

  • "The cottage and owner were fantastic set in lovely grounds it was exceptional."

    But Sykes on the other hand ,on the phone for hours trying to get through,promised a call back didn’t get one, charged us £200+ to move the holiday due to covid rescrictions,no email address I don’t know what’s happened to this company it used to be so customer focused but not now !!!

    Reviewed by Carl5.0Aug 2020

  • "We really enjoyed our stay."

    The cottage was clean and well equipped. It was an lovely location, very quiet and the view from the garden and french windows was great - we were entertained by the ponies frolicking in the field. The location was ideal for visiting Lancaster city and the university. The only reason for not giving top score on comfort was that the right hand bed in the smallest bedroom had a couple of springs which were sticking up and affected my son's sleep, other than that, all was good.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth4.7Aug 2020

  • "Cottage ok furniture bit old and very sparse in bedrooms tv too small for room ..."

    Cottage ok furniture bit old and very sparse in bedrooms tv too small for room although weather not good while staying there the garden furniture in much need of renewal for warmer months nice bedding in on suite down stairs bedroom enjoyed log fire Children’s games need replacing as grandchildren could not play any as all had pieces missing and with weather being awful nothing for them to do loverly area

    Reviewed by Susan3.4Feb 2020

  • "Not sure if this cottage has been let before as there was no visitors book ."

    .. it is a lovely spacious cottage on an estate and we really enjoyed staying there...

    Reviewed by Maureen4.7Jan 2020

  • "Unfortunately we couldn’t get any WiFi in Poppy Cottage."

    I know the cottages either side had routers and so it may be an idea to get one in the cottage. Also a few light bulbs weren’t working. Outside front lights do bedside light in upstairs bedroom a little temperamental

    Reviewed by Simon3.8Dec 2019

  • "Fabulous little cottage very comfortable with everything you require although not one member in the party could connect to the WiFi and the phone signal is very poor, we didn’t really need either so not a problem for us."

    The outside light didn’t work. Met owners on last day who were very friendly and accommodating of extended leave time.

    Reviewed by Angela4.4Nov 2019

  • "For a cottage for 6 adults there was one shower that was either stone cold or scalding hot, and dribbled out."

    When we spoke to the landlords they did come to try to fix the problem but admitted that they are always booked up so haven’t done any maintenance on the cottage for a long time. Again, for 6 adults staying for a week the kitchen was not appropriate, there was not enough cupboard space and the fridge was a built in one so was way too small. We had to clean the kitchen cupboards and run all the dishes through the dishwasher before we could use them as they hadn’t been left in a clean enough state. We also had to go out and buy dishwasher salt and rinse aid and filled up the dishwasher, something that I would not expect to have to do as i believe this should be something that the owners do for basic maintenance. There was dog poo all over the garden and the rug was full of dog hairs. The dining table chairs kept coming apart when you sat on them (the dowels kept coming out making them unstable) so clearly need gluing back together. Visiting in October we put the heating on and it just kept switching off so our towels didn’t dry properly. The tv was too small for the size of the room. There was no recycling facilities available. The listing says it is near a pub but you cannot walk to the pub as there is a main road that is 50 mph but there is no footpath, and you have to walk through fields to get to a footpath which would not be appropriate to walk to in the dark. Some positives to finish with: the log burner and main room was nice and spacious. When we alerted the owners to the shower problem they were quick to respond (although they didn’t have a clue how to fix it and we spent the rest of the week putting up with the shower.

    Reviewed by Julie2.8Oct 2019

  • "Had a very relaxing no hassle experience at poppy cottage"

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Oct 2019

  • "Cottage in great location but it was a bit tiered needs a good clean & general repairs doing."

    Reviewed by Robert3.1Sep 2019

  • "Really lovely cottage in a beautiful setting."

    The ponies at the garden fence were the icing on the cake for our visit. We went with my parents who have poor mobility. It was an idyllic relaxing break for them, whilst close enough to Lancaster, Blackpool and Morecambe for trips out to amuse our daughters. The cottage was spotless and exactly like the photographs, with lots of books and games available. My only observations, though certainly not criticisms, are, some low lighting in the living area would be nice for the evenings, and whilst loving being in the heart of the countryside, we did not enjoy being bitten by insects. It was however a very hot weekend we stayed, but would maybe take a citronella candle to deter the bugs next time. Would definitely recommend Hodgsons Chippy, a 10 minute drive away in Lancaster. On a whole, we would definitely recommend Poppy Cottage and look forward to staying again in the future.

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Aug 2019

  • "Lovely holiday cottage on a beautiful Estate."

    Great starting point for walks and day trips to a beautiful countryside. The beautiful cottage has everything you need, including games and a great choice of books. The little garden has a fence to keep little children and dogs safe. You have a lovely view and it’s very quite. We can recommend the little cafe in the garden center, just over the road and “the stork” as a family pub. Both are dog friendly. Just a little tip: If you’re not used in chlored water, bring some bottled water with you.

    Reviewed by Swantje5.0Aug 2019

  • "Poppy Cottage was spacious and comfortable."

    Very contemporary in layout and decor. Easy reach into Lancaster for local shopping and some good walks directly from the cottage. We had a very enjoyable week there.

    Reviewed by John5.0Jul 2019

  • "I would suggest maybe a grip rail above the bath for helping the less able, and ..."

    I would suggest maybe a grip rail above the bath for helping the less able, and may be larger bath towels, apart from that great value thank you

    Reviewed by Gary5.0Jun 2019

  • "Lovely peaceful holiday."

    No visitor book within the property. Owners were very pleasant in communication. The ponies in the adjoining field love a fuss and carrots. Property well equipped and a good base for having a tour around.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.1May 2019

  • "Fabulous comfy beds and bed linen ."

    A Few of the pillows had gone lumpy so needed replacing . Great location tucked away but the easy access to so many places makes it a great base . We loved exploring Lancaster . The cottages look small from the outside but ours was spacious and well equipped (other than it needed a hairdryer !! ) I particularly loved the upstairs bedroom . We were a group of 4 ladies ( usually 5 ) on one our regular walking trips and we all loved it . This was perfect to accommodate us all in comfort . A bonus would have been a separate shower . The amazing garden centre on the estate was worth a visit or 2 or 3 !!! For anyone that is into golf the immaculate looking 9 hole golf course on the doorstep ( very reasonable) and the Lancaster golf club next door would make it a fab place to stay . We would certainly return here .

    Reviewed by Sandra4.7Apr 2019

  • "The cottage was spotlessly clean and spacious with everything needed for a home from home experience."

    There was a good selection of books and the children really enjoyed playing the board games. The 3 bedrooms were tastefully furnished with the 2 bathrooms both close at hand. Communication with the owner about key collection was very easy. Had we had any problems they were always only a text away. The location was very good for Lancaster and the Lake District. As a bonus for the children 2 ponies were in the field adjoining the cottage! I would not hesitate in recommending this cottage/owners for a really good family holiday.

    Reviewed by Shirley5.0Mar 2019

  • "Fabulous place, very spacious."

    Perfectly clean.

    Reviewed by Michala5.0Jan 2019

  • "The cottage is lovely, the owner seems very nice and helpful."

    We had a wonderful time. Perfect county escape for the weekend.

    Reviewed by Lucy5.0Jan 2019

  • "Poppy cottage is absolutely gorgeous, so comfy and cosy."

    The woodburner is fab, we definitely made full use of it, comfortable beds, fully equipped kitchen, plenty of space for a family of 6.Even the 2 ponies in the field facing were lovely to watch. I can recommend staying here to anyone. I would definitely stay again. Fantastic weekend break with the family, that we enjoyed from the minute we arrived.

    Reviewed by Kelly5.0Nov 2018

  • "It was Perfect no problems peaceful and quiet easy access to areas surrounding Roger lovely with his meet and greet was wonderful then never bother us unless wanted which we didn't neighbouring cottages resident's lovely ideal location for dogs."

    .Thank you..

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Oct 2018

  • "We had such a lovely time staying at poppy cottage, 3 couples and 2 dogs and we all loved it."

    Spacious cottage in a beautiful setting with walks from the doorstep. Would definitely recommend to others wanting to stay in this area.

    Reviewed by Katherine5.0Oct 2018

  • "The gentleman and his family who maintains the cottage and surrounding areas, was a pleasure to meet and anything you needed he was there in an instant, nothing was a problem."

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Aug 2018

  • "Fantastic location, everything we wish for , owners were available if we needed ..."

    Fantastic location, everything we wish for , owners were available if we needed anything, but not intrusive, cottage was lovely, had everything inside , plus two gorgeous ponies in field, adjacent to garden , would highly recommended poppy cottage in Lancaster,,

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Jul 2018

  • "Our third visit to this cottage, every visit gets better with the owners providing items which people mention."

    The cottage is a credit to the owners who are always on hand if needed

    Reviewed by John5.0May 2018

  • "Excellent spot for getting about the area."

    Cottage and owners friendly and accommodating

    Reviewed by Jean5.0Apr 2018

  • "Beautiful spacious cottage."

    Very warm and welcoming perfect for a winter weekend away with the family.

    Reviewed by Anna5.0Mar 2018

  • "Poppy Cottage is set in beautiful surroundings."

    On arrival we went to look where the cottage was and saw the owner by chance who said the cottage would be ready slightly earlier than we anticipated which was fantastic so we popped into Lancaster which is only a short drive away for some supplies and headed back. The cottage is so well equipped with everything you would need, we requested 3 double beds and the 2 downstairs are huge! The views from the living room area and garden are lovely and we were welcomed each morning by the 2 lovely Shetland ponies who were in the paddock at the back next to the garden. We went in March so couldn't sit out in the garden but I'd imagine it would be lovely in the summer with the large doors opening from the living area into the garden. Being fond real ale and food lovers we of course were keen to find the nearest pub, on our drive in we saw The Stork so decided to walk there one afternoon. There is a lovely track that runs along the river that is easily accessible from the cottage albeit you have to descend down the side of a bridge to get on to it but it's pretty easy, although I wouldn't want my 80 year old grandmother attempting it! The Stork is a 20 minute walk away and the track is ideal for dogs to be off the lead, the pub is friendly and welcoming with a large open fire and I was told they kept a very good pint, can I can vouch for the good wine list! We even returned the following day for lunch and the food was outstanding! Real home made food, which you don't find very often these days! The lakes are about an hours away, we drove to Windermere one morning for a walk and not having been to that part of the world before it was outstandingly beautiful. The garden centre on site was lovely to mooch around, lots of lovely locally made bits and bobs, the cafe was being refurbed and it had limited seating when we got there so didn't stay however if was completely full on a Tuesday afternoon which is always a good sign on a week day I say! All in all our trip to poppy cottage was fantastic, great surroundings, lots of places to walk and discover, our 2 night stay was just not long enough!

    Reviewed by Sasha4.4Mar 2018

  • "Fab barn conversion, well equipped and comfortable."

    The only thing that was a pain was the communal washing machine, but wouldn't stop us going again. Friendly and helpful hosts :)

    Reviewed by Sarah4.4Feb 2018

  • "Lovely cottage with helpful owners, who, when something wasn't quite right, were quick to respond and put it right."

    Would definitely book again.

    Reviewed by Pamela3.8Jan 2018

  • "Great location, lovely and warm and extremely well equiped."

    Liked the neighbour (a very friendly donkey). Garden centre a few yards away serves a lovely breakfast, lunch or cake.

    Reviewed by Lindsay5.0Nov 2017

  • "Very welcoming owner lovely cottage very quiet"

    Reviewed by David5.0Mar 2017

  • "A few things within the cottage didn't work like under counter lights but this didn't deter from the experience."

    I would suggest another chair in the living room as the sofas were a bit to small for 6 people. Also we couldn't find any placemats for the table? Overall a good clean cottage with warm atmosphere.

    Reviewed by Alice4.4Sep 2016

  • "Poppy cottage was perfect , beautiful surroundings , perfect location , even waking up with donkey , goats & peacocks was lovely , thoroughly enjoyed the week , weather was perfect , took an 88yr old lady with dementia with us and it just made her holiday with the animals & also the cottage itself was ideal for her ."

    she wanted to take donkey home with her . would return without a doubt accomadation was very cosy & comfy , pleasant staff members always there to help , facilities are great . Was that nice i even phoned my parents to come down for 2 days they loved it . Photos that come with site its even better than that .100%. michelle & John from East Ayrshire . Scotland .

    Reviewed by John5.0Sep 2016

  • "Cottage was well appointed and perfect as we have two dogs."

    Owners very pleasant and reacted within the hour when we asked for some bushes at the entrance to be clipped as we had a large car and they were in the way. Lots of lovely walks from the cottage. Would not hesitate to use again.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Sep 2016

  • "We have just returned from a wonderful weeks holiday."

    So relaxing, amidst lovely countryside and our three year old grandson thought it was lovely to feed the two goats and donkey who were on our doorstep and the peacocks and peahens who came to greet us each morning. The property needed for nothing and was so spacious. The good weather was a bonus - a really good holiday. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Virginia5.0Aug 2016

Show more Hide all


  • Mostly ground floor
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x super king-size double (zip/link, can twin on request), 1 x first floor double with basin and en-suite bath and WC, 1 x twin (zip/link, can be super king-size double on request)
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburner
  • Shared external utility.
  • Oil central heating with woodburner
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine in external utility, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair
  • Ample off road parking
  • Lockable bike storage
  • Lawned garden plus shared paddock
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome, £30 charge for the first dog and £20 for the second
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 2 miles, pub 1 mile, cafe 3 mins walk
  • Lancaster Golf Club 5 mins walk
  • Note: The utility and paddock are shared with other holiday cottages on site
  • Please note there is a £150 Good Housekeeping Bond at this property.

The property

Situated mostly over the ground floor, with just a double bedroom with an en-suite bath upstairs, this mid-terrace barn conversion is just a short distance from Lancaster near the River Lune.

As well as the double upstairs, there are two bedrooms on the ground floor, with the option of being zipped into super king-size doubles, or unzipped into twin beds, plus a family bathroom.

The open plan living space, where you can find the kitchen, dining area and sitting area, has a warming woodburner and wide double doors opening into the fenced, lawned garden, where you can enjoy dinner in the summer.

There is lots to do nearby, including wonderful walks from the doorstep, making this lovely cottage a fabulous base for a family holiday or a getaway with friends.

Note: This cottage is attached to Refs. 913176 and 913187, together they sleep 16.

Ashton Hall Cottages

Lancaster 3 miles. These charming, stone-built terraced barn conversions sit in beautiful countryside close to the River Lune in Lancashire, just a few minutes’ walk from Lancaster Golf Club. Ideally located to enjoy the Lune Estuary and the nearby historic city, the cottages offers delightful holiday accommodation for friends and families, with the Lake District just a 40-minute drive away. These excellent cottages have a superb open plan living area boasting high ceilings, bright kitchens and cosy woodburners. External doors lead from the living areas into each of the property’s private gardens, and a shared walled paddock beyond, plus an abundance of woodland walks and cycle routes leading down to the River Lune are available from the doorstep. With a selection of golf courses, the Forest of Bowland, the Lune Estuary and Lancaster all within very easy reach, avid golfers, outdoor enthusiasts and those simply in search of a relaxing break are sure to enjoy these delightful Lancaster cottages.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


Morecambe 3 miles; Windermere 30 miles; Blackpool 37 miles.

The historic city of Lancaster sits on edge of Morecambe Bay, with the River Lune flowing through its centre. Lancaster retains many excellent examples of handsome Georgian architecture, and with its captivating medieval castle, Ashton Memorial, and four museums, it’s an interesting place for those in search of history and tales of the past. Among the many amenities, there are two venues for live performances, the Lancaster Grand Theatre and the Dukes, as well as open-air concerts held frequently in the pretty Williamson Park during the summer season. The Forest of Bowland and The Arnside & Silverdale Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty provide visitors with lots of opportunities to take in the flora and fauna of the area, with wonderful walking and cycling ways to enjoy. There are also good road and rail links into Cumbria and beyond, meaning Lancaster is a wonderful base for also exploring the Lake District.

Totally number of persons is 6.

Please note: The grounds surrounding and the property itself are for rental purposes and only available to use during your agreed booking period. It is not available for public use.
Please note there is a £150 Good Housekeeping Bond at this property.

Please note: Two well-behaved dogs welcome, £30 charge for the first dog and £20 for the second, for any additional pets please contact the reservations team to discuss.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute