In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 7 minutes ago

14 people have recently viewed this property

Owls Nook Lodge

Langdale 9, White Cross Bay near Windermere, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 1068845)

3.8

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Hot Tub Hot tub
  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor accommodation
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor bedroom
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

45 Customer Reviews

  • "Although we had a lovely stay at Owls Nook, we won’t be returning to this lodge when there are more modern, bigger lodges for the same price."

    The lounge, kitchen and bathroom had been refurbished and looked nice but the bedrooms need a complete overhaul. Having said that, the sofa has seen better days and ruins the refurbished look. The smell of damp from the wardrobes meant we had to leave doors open all of the time to ensure our clothes didn’t smell, the ... Continue reading

    The lounge, kitchen and bathroom had been refurbished and looked nice but the bedrooms need a complete overhaul. Having said that, the sofa has seen better days and ruins the refurbished look. The smell of damp from the wardrobes meant we had to leave doors open all of the time to ensure our clothes didn’t smell, the blinds were mostly broken and the quality of the bedding was awful. The duvet covers were all bobbly and there was a drawer missing from one of the bedrooms. The hot tub was lovely although the fairy lights were hit and miss if they would work making it a dark area at night. The wifi was non existent - we couldn’t access the Amazon prime or Netflix on the TV as the wifi didn’t work. This didn’t ruin our stay but in this day and age, it should work.

    Thank you for your valued feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a lovely stay at Owls Nook. Thank you for your recommendations regards the sofa. The Maintenance Manager will look into the damp, blinds and outside lighting and the Housekeeping Manager will look into the quality of bedding used. The Wi-Fi is complimentary ... Continue reading Property Owner

    Thank you for your valued feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a lovely stay at Owls Nook. Thank you for your recommendations regards the sofa. The Maintenance Manager will look into the damp, blinds and outside lighting and the Housekeeping Manager will look into the quality of bedding used. The Wi-Fi is complimentary from the park, some lodges do have their own independent Wi-Fi so this may be looked into next time. We do apologies for any inconvenience caused. We do hope you will return to enjoy another wonderful stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AndreaDec 2021

  • "We have stayed at White Cross Bay many times, in a few different lodges but have never experienced damp as bad as at Owls Nook."

    The bedrooms had a terrible smell of damp, as soon as you open the doors and clothes, that had been in the wardrobe and drawers, smelt awful. A couple of things missing from the kitchen that would have been useful, a small vegetable/chopping knife, a measuring jug and a different potato peeler, the one in the cabin was ... Continue reading

    The bedrooms had a terrible smell of damp, as soon as you open the doors and clothes, that had been in the wardrobe and drawers, smelt awful. A couple of things missing from the kitchen that would have been useful, a small vegetable/chopping knife, a measuring jug and a different potato peeler, the one in the cabin was like a weapon of torture. Somewhere to store coats would be good too as we had to hang wet/damp coats on the bedroom door, which didn't help with the already damp area. Good points were, the hot tub was lovely and lit up nicely on an evening, the shower was really nice and had good water pressure and the location was nice and quiet.

    Thank you for your valued feedback. We will pass the damp issue onto our Housekeeping Manager and we apologies for any inconvenience caused. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PaulNov 2021

  • "Loved our stay and will be booking again."

    Thank you for the great comments, Mrs Sheffield. We are delighted to hear you loved your stay and look forward to welcoming you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DavinaOct 2021

  • "The Wi-Fi situation could be improved significantly."

    As the world moves forward Wi-Fi is becoming more and more important to people and some people may need to work whilst on holiday now. I’d suggest an independent Wi-Fi system is installed on each cabin.

    Thank you for your feedback. The WIfI at the lodge is complimentary from the park and we apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused, some lodges do have their own independent WiFi so this may be should be looked at next time. We look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AndrewOct 2021

  • "The cafe you have some of your staff were rude a part from that every thing was ok"

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear of your experience in the restaurant. We shall pass this to the parks management for their knowledge. The staff and the facilities are outside of our control as the park is a different company to us. That said, we do hope you enjoyed your stay in Owls Nook and the lodge ... Continue reading Property Owner

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear of your experience in the restaurant. We shall pass this to the parks management for their knowledge. The staff and the facilities are outside of our control as the park is a different company to us. That said, we do hope you enjoyed your stay in Owls Nook and the lodge had everything you needed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AudreySep 2021

  • "Nice clean lodge, but mattresses and pillows need renewing, mattresses very thin and hard as are the pillows, resulting in an uncomfortable nights sleep."

    Bathroom could benefit from a shelf in the shower as had to put shower gel etc on floor.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do find comfort to be a personal preference, however, we have made the owner aware of your comments. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We do hope you will return to enjoy another stay with us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DianeSep 2021

  • "Lodge was great - we noticed some negative comments about cleanliness prior to going but it was very clean and modern kitchen etc."

    Hot tub was a bit cold on arrival but warmed up and worked perfectly. Good facilities. Could do with an extra key for a lodge of 7

    Thank you for the review, Mr Taylor. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Owls Nook. This comfortable three bedroom holiday lodge is in a great location, perfect as a base from which to explore the Lakes. Noting you would like another key, we shall suggest this to the owners - thank you. We look forward to ... Continue reading Property Owner

    Thank you for the review, Mr Taylor. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Owls Nook. This comfortable three bedroom holiday lodge is in a great location, perfect as a base from which to explore the Lakes. Noting you would like another key, we shall suggest this to the owners - thank you. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChrisAug 2021

  • "The lodge was lovely and the hot tub a real bonus to be able to relax in the evenings ."

    The only negative I can comment on was dirty kitchenware in the cupboards that we needed to clean before use but this did not detract from the enjoyment of our stay. Excellent communication from Lake District Lodge Holidays - would book through the company again.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted to hear of how much you enjoyed your stay. Owls Nook has recently been refurbished throughout and the owners have made it a real home away from home. We are sorry you found some of the kitchenware not cleaned to our usual standard, we shall certainly pass this to the independent ... Continue reading Property Owner

    Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted to hear of how much you enjoyed your stay. Owls Nook has recently been refurbished throughout and the owners have made it a real home away from home. We are sorry you found some of the kitchenware not cleaned to our usual standard, we shall certainly pass this to the independent cleaning company to make sure it does not happen again. That said, we are glad it did not impact your stay too much and we do hope you will return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NatalieAug 2021

  • "The lodge was lovely!"

    Very clean and tidy. The beds unfortunately were not very comfortable and the walls super super thin but I guess that's what you expect from a chalet. The hot tub was lovely but extremely difficult to get in and out. Overall it was a positive experience though, everything was there that we need and the dishwasher was an ... Continue reading

    Very clean and tidy. The beds unfortunately were not very comfortable and the walls super super thin but I guess that's what you expect from a chalet. The hot tub was lovely but extremely difficult to get in and out. Overall it was a positive experience though, everything was there that we need and the dishwasher was an excellent extra that was very needed! Who wants to wash up on holiday!

    Thank you for leaving a review, Mrs Allcock. Whilst delighted to hear you had a positive experience we are sorry that you found the beds not to your liking and the hot tub a little difficult to get in. We shall follow up on all you have said and advise the owners accordingly. Thank you for letting us know that you otherwise ... Continue reading Property Owner

    Thank you for leaving a review, Mrs Allcock. Whilst delighted to hear you had a positive experience we are sorry that you found the beds not to your liking and the hot tub a little difficult to get in. We shall follow up on all you have said and advise the owners accordingly. Thank you for letting us know that you otherwise enjoyed your stay and we hope we welcome you again in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Bonnie-maeAug 2021

  • "Please refer to case reference cor 224567 CF."

    A full written complaint is being submitted. Suspected gas leak at property and all gas supplies had to be closed. Leaving us with no hot water or heating for our first day and half of holiday.

    Reviewed by MargaretAug 2021

  • "It would be useful to have a working vacuum cleaner so that we can maintain upkeep of the property over the course of our stay."

    Thank you for making us aware and we shall check this on the next changeover day. We hope that you otherwise had an enjoyable stay and will consider returning in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MatthewJul 2021

  • "We had a fabulous 7 nights at Owls Nook."

    On arrival we were surprised to see a brand new kitchen! Very nice. Hot tub excellent and the storage shed was perfect for our 4 bikes and kit. The only negatives of the stay were the lack of Wi-fi - even though a router is present in the lodge with the password. Couldn’t connect and I phoned Sykes how promised to ... Continue reading

    On arrival we were surprised to see a brand new kitchen! Very nice. Hot tub excellent and the storage shed was perfect for our 4 bikes and kit. The only negatives of the stay were the lack of Wi-fi - even though a router is present in the lodge with the password. Couldn’t connect and I phoned Sykes how promised to look into it and come back to me - they didn’t. Even tthe Wi-fi at the Boathouse is poor unless you are sat in the middle of the venue. When the mobile phone signal is so weak too (3 and o2), the Park really needs to invest in upgrading this and supplying all lodges. It really should be a pre-requisite these days. Other than the Wi-fi - a great time has by all.

    Thank you for your review on Owls Nook a privately owned lodge, we are pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay. The WIFI is a complimentary service provided by the holiday park (Parkdean Resorts) which is only suitable for page browsing and sending emails. Quality and reliability of connection will vary based on the number ... Continue reading Property Owner

    Thank you for your review on Owls Nook a privately owned lodge, we are pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay. The WIFI is a complimentary service provided by the holiday park (Parkdean Resorts) which is only suitable for page browsing and sending emails. Quality and reliability of connection will vary based on the number of people using it, prevailing weather conditions and therefore may be limited or slower than you are used to. We have brought the issue of the reliability of this service to the attention of the Park Management who are looking into this further. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GaryJul 2021

  • "The Owls Nook was in a quiet nice location, easy to find."

    Very close to the Tree Top Trek which was great. The lodge was basic but absolutely fine. We cooked just like we would at home, had everything you would need. The hot tub was great! Everywhere was very quite like the pub/restaurant and our dog was very welcome in there which was good. We had a lovely time! What ... Continue reading

    Very close to the Tree Top Trek which was great. The lodge was basic but absolutely fine. We cooked just like we would at home, had everything you would need. The hot tub was great! Everywhere was very quite like the pub/restaurant and our dog was very welcome in there which was good. We had a lovely time! What did you enjoy most about your stay? Hot tub. What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Tree Top Trek

    Ms Victoria Taylor-roweOct 2020

  • "Was nice 3 nights stay all clean and tidy good location hot tub was lush good food on onsite bar would stay again What did you enjoy most about your stay?"

    Hot tub What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Walk to windemere

    Mr Paul KennedyOct 2020

  • "Lovely holiday, the kids loved their daily hot tub session!"

    Thank you! Clean, lovely lodge, clean hot hot tub. DVD player didn What did you enjoy most about your stay? How hot and clean the hot tub was What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Walks out to coniston copper mines

    Miss Jenny MooringAug 2020

  • "Ok so it What did you enjoy most about your stay?"

    Exploring the area. Quiet site What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? The castle (can?t remember the name)

    Mrs Kelly GillAug 2020

  • "Recently home from a 4 night stay in Owls Nook."

    The lodge was really nice and in a fantastic location. Park seemed quite quiet although amenities were open and other guests were being very respectful of social distancing. We were all very comfortable in the lodge and most things we needed were provided. I would ensure you bring your own hand soap, washing up liquid ... Continue reading

    The lodge was really nice and in a fantastic location. Park seemed quite quiet although amenities were open and other guests were being very respectful of social distancing. We were all very comfortable in the lodge and most things we needed were provided. I would ensure you bring your own hand soap, washing up liquid and extra dishtowels. We used the hot tub every day and although there was a small issue on the first night this was dealt with really quickly and efficiently. Thank you for that! My only recommendation would be to provide an additional bath mat as all 5 of us were in and out the shower regularly and it got really wet after the first day or two and was difficult to dry! What did you enjoy most about your stay? The hot tub and fantastic location! What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Visit Ambleside

    Mrs Katie JamiesonJul 2020

  • "Had a terrible stay from start to finish."

    ... Continue reading

    Beautiful location. Great holiday park, but terrible lodge. I have already spoke with someone regarding this. Pictures will follow. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Location. What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Lake Windermere and surrounding areas.

    Mrs Donna MuirheadJul 2020

  • "We stayed here for a week as a family of 5/6 (6 for one night luckily) for new year with 2 other families staying in other lodges."

    On arrival the lodge was dirty. First thing I did was sweep the floor and go to the on-site shop for cleaning products and to clean the windows (could barely see through them with all the dirty marks on them). On making drinks the glasses were filthy and had to be washed before being used, on further checking all the dishes ... Continue reading

    On arrival the lodge was dirty. First thing I did was sweep the floor and go to the on-site shop for cleaning products and to clean the windows (could barely see through them with all the dirty marks on them). On making drinks the glasses were filthy and had to be washed before being used, on further checking all the dishes were dirty with bits of food stuck to them. Utensils were minimum, knives were useless. Laminate flooring throughout but no mop. Went to use the ironing board it fell to pieces, phoned the maintenance and they brought mop and new ironing board. There was a note from the team to let us know we needed to keep checking the boiler pressure as it keep dropping. All the wardrobes smelt damp. The 3rd bedroom was tiny, you have to climb over the steps for the bunk bed to get to the bottom bed, no wardrobe (boiler in there) tv smallest in memory of man. Bathroom was best room in lodge but still wasn What did you enjoy most about your stay? The location and park What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? A boat trip

    Mrs Linda WardJan 2020

  • "We spent 3 nights at Owls Nook Lodge in the run up to Christmas, we were very pleasantly surprised at how cosy and clean the lodge was."

    Our first time at the lake District and I'm sure we will be returning. Have recommended to all my friends and family and plan to rebook this year. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Location and listening to the owls on an evening What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for ... Continue reading

    Our first time at the lake District and I'm sure we will be returning. Have recommended to all my friends and family and plan to rebook this year. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Location and listening to the owls on an evening What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? The lake

    Mrs Kirstie LoveJan 2020

  • "Lodge was clean & mostly comfortable, mattress on beds not the best & pillows read hard,."

    We missed having a glow from the fire, & bulb out in standard lamp too (no replacement. We enjoyed the hot tub- although it look as though here was a door to the lodge beside it, you actually had to walk round to the front (in freezing temperatures). It was fairly well equipped, but luckily we brought our own Yorkshire ... Continue reading

    We missed having a glow from the fire, & bulb out in standard lamp too (no replacement. We enjoyed the hot tub- although it look as though here was a door to the lodge beside it, you actually had to walk round to the front (in freezing temperatures). It was fairly well equipped, but luckily we brought our own Yorkshire pud tins for our What did you enjoy most about your stay? The hot tub What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Visit to Bowness on Windermere

    Mrs Carol BianchiDec 2019

  • "A lovely park, great facilities, nice hot tub, only gripe was the awful, uncomfortable mattresses on every bed, even our 3 year old could feel the springs."

    Two problems, one rectified (blocked toilet from previous occupant) and heating/boiler problem not sorted during our stay. What did you enjoy most about your stay? The location What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Visit Ambleside

    Mrs Kathleen CarrDec 2019

  • "Everything was clean when we arrived!"

    Lovely warm homely and comfy accommodation and furnitures. Would definitely recommend staying here! What did you enjoy most about your stay? Warm and cosy at night What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Windermere on bowness boat cruises

    Miss Lauren BeckSep 2019

  • "Everything about our stay was hassle free from check in to check out."

    The staff were lovely and helpful and the clubhouse was a great base for our adventures in the Lakes. The lodge was in a lovely peaceful surrounding and had everything we needed for our stay. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Location and site amenities. What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) ... Continue reading

    The staff were lovely and helpful and the clubhouse was a great base for our adventures in the Lakes. The lodge was in a lovely peaceful surrounding and had everything we needed for our stay. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Location and site amenities. What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? We loved walking and had the pleasure of taking our dog with us on our trip, Ambleside and Bowness were both lovely places with lots to see and do.

    Mrs Shirley TimmonsSep 2019

  • "My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Owls Nook in mid September with our dog."

    We loved the location of the park and it was amazing being a stones throw from Lake Windermere. The site is ideal for exploring the Lake District. The lodge itself was excellent value for money; cosy, clean and everything you could need. The hot tub was perfect for relaxing in after a busy day exploring. Would definitely ... Continue reading

    We loved the location of the park and it was amazing being a stones throw from Lake Windermere. The site is ideal for exploring the Lake District. The lodge itself was excellent value for money; cosy, clean and everything you could need. The hot tub was perfect for relaxing in after a busy day exploring. Would definitely recommend. What did you enjoy most about your stay? The location and the hot tub! What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? We really enjoyed the boat trip to Ambleside from Bowness.

    Mr Matthew EmerySep 2019

  • "So many problems with the lodge such as it wasn What did you enjoy most about your stay?"

    The hot tub What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Boat trip

    Miss Lucie MorrisonSep 2019

  • "Had a lovely break with my family and dog, we all enjoyed the lodge very much it was so comfy and we all especially enjoyed the hot tub."

    The lodge itself was spotless with everything we needed for our stay and it is set in a great park, the kids found plenty to keep themselves occupied as did the adults. The surrounding towns and villages were beautiful plenty of lovely walks and nice place for eating out in pubs and hotels with nice people. Looking ... Continue reading

    The lodge itself was spotless with everything we needed for our stay and it is set in a great park, the kids found plenty to keep themselves occupied as did the adults. The surrounding towns and villages were beautiful plenty of lovely walks and nice place for eating out in pubs and hotels with nice people. Looking forward to booking for next year. What did you enjoy most about your stay? I enjoyed everything about the holiday What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? The boat trip out on the lake was beautiful well worth the money.

    Mrs Margaret MacduffJul 2019

  • "Had a lovely week, we were very lucky with the weather which is a bonus."

    Family enjoyed park and lodge. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Fabulous weather and lovely location What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Hawkshead

    Mrs Deanna SykesJul 2019

  • "We stayed for 4 nights at owls nook it's a lovely little lodge but I think it could do with abit of a refurbishment as you can tell in some areas that it is one of the older lodges."

    I also noticed that I dont think our toilet had been cleaned which was abit of a disappoinment and felt abit uncomfortable. The other was we had abit of trouble with the door to the lodge, it's not very secure even when locked. The beds are abit hard too so you dont get a very good night's sleep. We would defo book again ... Continue reading

    I also noticed that I dont think our toilet had been cleaned which was abit of a disappoinment and felt abit uncomfortable. The other was we had abit of trouble with the door to the lodge, it's not very secure even when locked. The beds are abit hard too so you dont get a very good night's sleep. We would defo book again but maybe not for this lodge. Everything was only minor bad points the main thing was the toilet not being clean but apart from that the location is perfect and we had a really nice time, I would defo be returning and defo recommend to others. What did you enjoy most about your stay? The locations near by, the camp site was lovely and clean and staff were friendly What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Pop to windermere and hire a little boat for an hour or 2 really good to see some views from the lake

    Miss Nicole JonesJun 2019

  • "Great value for money lovely lodge and hot tub."

    Slightly tired but would not deter us from re booking. Restaurant and bar on site good but waited a long time to be served. Swimming area nice for kids. Great location What did you enjoy most about your stay? Relaxing What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Brockhole ... Continue reading

    Slightly tired but would not deter us from re booking. Restaurant and bar on site good but waited a long time to be served. Swimming area nice for kids. Great location What did you enjoy most about your stay? Relaxing What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Brockhole 10 min away

    Mrs Janine DentonJun 2019

  • "We had a week stay in owls nook lodge with children & grandparents, it was clean & the facilities were great in the lodge, the shower room had been refurbished since our last stay & was a great improvement, the lodge would be a bit cosy for 7 people but is plenty big enough for 4-5 people, the hot tub was especially pleasant after a full day What did you enjoy most about your stay?"

    the hot tub for the adults & the football pitch for the boys What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? we walked 10 minutes up to Brockhole & took the boat trip to Ambleside & windermere, we were lucky with the weather as the sun was out

    Mr Garrett KavanaghApr 2019

  • "Really enjoyed our stay at White Cross Bay in Owls Nook."

    The Lodge had everything we needed and was in a great location. Cosy but spacious too. Perfect. Thank you What did you enjoy most about your stay? The location of lodge and park. Kids loved having the hot tub as well. What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Me ... Continue reading

    The Lodge had everything we needed and was in a great location. Cosy but spacious too. Perfect. Thank you What did you enjoy most about your stay? The location of lodge and park. Kids loved having the hot tub as well. What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Me and my family went on a boat ride on lake Windermere and the port was just a short walk

    Mr Peter HarrisApr 2019

  • "Really would recommend staying at the Owls Nook, the accommodation was really good and the hot tub was fantastic."

    The site was a perfect location right on Lake Windermere, very close to all the amenities nearby. The site is spotless and has excellent facilities for families with their dogs. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Location to everything What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend ... Continue reading

    The site was a perfect location right on Lake Windermere, very close to all the amenities nearby. The site is spotless and has excellent facilities for families with their dogs. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Location to everything What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Treetop Lake District - Brockhole

    Mrs Suzanne OrlowskiApr 2019

  • "Myself and 3 other adults (1 being 6ft 7), 3 kids and 2 dogs stayed here for a long weekend."

    Would highly recommend. Best weekend ever, it suited us!!! We did loads of walks and coming back to the hot tub was brilliant. So peaceful, beautiful lodge in a beautiful place. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Hot tub with the trees What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend ... Continue reading

    Would highly recommend. Best weekend ever, it suited us!!! We did loads of walks and coming back to the hot tub was brilliant. So peaceful, beautiful lodge in a beautiful place. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Hot tub with the trees What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? We did a walk to bowness took us an hour but with 3 kids. We went to the Peter rabbit museum

    Miss Alice LloydApr 2019

  • "Absolutely fantastic, perfect location, value for money and the bonus of a hot tub warmed and ready to use on arrival."

    What did you enjoy most about your stay? Ability to relax and the location What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Boat cruse on Windermere

    Mr Chris WoodsMar 2019

  • "This is the second time we What did you enjoy most about your stay?"

    Location What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Any of the beautiful mountains in the lakes.

    Mr David NoonDec 2018

  • "Owls nook lodge was the perfect weekend away!"

    The lodge itself was lovely, spacious and very clean. The owners had kindly provided a lot of utensils for us to use also. The lodge location was only a 10 minute walk from the lake and only a 2 minute walk to the reception area. We visited in the winter however there was outside seating which we cannot wait to use in ... Continue reading

    The lodge itself was lovely, spacious and very clean. The owners had kindly provided a lot of utensils for us to use also. The lodge location was only a 10 minute walk from the lake and only a 2 minute walk to the reception area. We visited in the winter however there was outside seating which we cannot wait to use in the summer. We will definitely be returning and staying in owls nook lodge. Thank you for reading! What did you enjoy most about your stay? The hot tub What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Lake Windermere

    Miss Paige DysonNov 2018

  • "Well.looked after lodge and comfortable everything was supplied."

    Slight issue with cleaning on arrival but solved immediately and resolved efficiently. My opinion it's only really for 4 ppl even tho it's 3 bedroomed it's a tight squeeze when all in lounge and to all sit round dining table you have to pull it out from wall and make sure everyone sat down as impossible to move round. ... Continue reading

    Slight issue with cleaning on arrival but solved immediately and resolved efficiently. My opinion it's only really for 4 ppl even tho it's 3 bedroomed it's a tight squeeze when all in lounge and to all sit round dining table you have to pull it out from wall and make sure everyone sat down as impossible to move round. Overall we had a lovely time staying in playing games as we had 2 children with us. Did try the boathouse pub on site 1 night but very small for size of site (would be tight squeeze in there in summer). What did you enjoy most about your stay? The whole break was enjoyable What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? We enjoyed the boat trip from bowness to ambleside

    Mrs Dianne FlanaganNov 2018

  • "We were pleasantly surprised with the general condition of the lodge."

    Never having been to the site before we were made to feel welcome by the site staff. The whole booking procedure and following details were very comprehensive and straight forward. The only problem we encountered was- how to operate the electric hob(having been gas hob users). Eventually, with the help of the site maintenance ... Continue reading

    Never having been to the site before we were made to feel welcome by the site staff. The whole booking procedure and following details were very comprehensive and straight forward. The only problem we encountered was- how to operate the electric hob(having been gas hob users). Eventually, with the help of the site maintenance staff, we managed to get it working. The only other minor inconvenience was the freezer door, which had been damaged prior to our arrival. The hot tub was a delight and was immaculately clean and well maintained .Over-all we had a a relaxing weekend break and look forward to re-booking Owl's Nook Lodge in the not too distant future. We will also recommend it to our friends. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Hot tub. What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Hire a boat from Bowness.

    Mr Richard JeremyOct 2018

  • "The lodge is compact but comfortable and set up with pretty much everything needed."

    I'd be hesitant to say it slept 6 adults as we were a party of 5 and that was pretty much at maximum as far as space and comfort is concerned. Clean rooms with plenty of towels and a nicely done shower room. The hot tub was amazing!! Piping hot on arrival and just the cherry on the cake! The led lights weren't working ... Continue reading

    I'd be hesitant to say it slept 6 adults as we were a party of 5 and that was pretty much at maximum as far as space and comfort is concerned. Clean rooms with plenty of towels and a nicely done shower room. The hot tub was amazing!! Piping hot on arrival and just the cherry on the cake! The led lights weren't working on the hot tub which was a shame as it would have been nice at night. We enjoyed breakfast on the decking each morning which was lovely! What did you enjoy most about your stay? Hot tub! What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Bowness on Windermere is a stunning place

    Mrs Joanne TempletonOct 2018

  • "Really nice lodge, not as basic as we expected."

    Hot tub was great, we all enjoyed using it. Fab time What did you enjoy most about your stay? Comfortable lodge and nice to have the dogs with us. What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Brockhole is so close and you can pick up the boat from there.

    Mrs Jeanette HughesSep 2018

  • "We stayed for a short weekend break in August."

    The lodge provided everything we needed for a comfortable break..hot tub was excellent. The lodge was a short distance away from the swimming pool and restaurant/bar. Lake Windermere is 10 mins drive away. Whilst staying here we ate out at the pub, both in Whitecross bay and at nearby Limefitt. Meals were tasty and affordable. We ... Continue reading

    The lodge provided everything we needed for a comfortable break..hot tub was excellent. The lodge was a short distance away from the swimming pool and restaurant/bar. Lake Windermere is 10 mins drive away. Whilst staying here we ate out at the pub, both in Whitecross bay and at nearby Limefitt. Meals were tasty and affordable. We did have a small issue with the drain in the shower which was quickly sorted by maintenance. What did you enjoy most about your stay? the hot tub! Bowness and Windermere and the aquarium of the Lakes was good too. What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Bridge house Ambleside

    Mrs Nicola CurrieAug 2018

  • "Had wonderful stay great place well equipped wonderful site near lake Windermere marina loved hot tub nice and quiet set in woodland would definitely come back What did you enjoy most about your stay?"

    Setting it was everything I could of wished for What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? We went for a walk around tarn hows lovely walk easy one then went to coniston lake on a cruise round lake

    Mrs Wendy McphersonJul 2018

  • "This is the third lodge I have stayed in at White Cross Bay and every time has been fantastic."

    The lodge was spacious and well equipped. The hot tub was wonderful after a long day hiking up the hills. I will definitely be back. This is a dog friendly lodge and although I have a dog, I couldn What did you enjoy most about your stay? The hot tub and location What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day ... Continue reading

    The lodge was spacious and well equipped. The hot tub was wonderful after a long day hiking up the hills. I will definitely be back. This is a dog friendly lodge and although I have a dog, I couldn What did you enjoy most about your stay? The hot tub and location What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Walk from Rydal Water to Grasmere

    Mrs Jennifer WilliamsJun 2018

  • "We had a great week and family holiday here at owls nook the lodge was in general clean and tidy a could not pick on certain things but your on holiday what's the point the lodge had some nice hidden surprises like washing up liquid toilet roll etc had two small issues one with the hot tub and the other the DVD player, after phoning the helpline on both occasions these issues were dealt with within an hour impressive !"

    ! Would stop here again as in a nice quiet location and safe What did you enjoy most about your stay? Hot tub , location weather What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Brokhole walking distance great for families, south lakes zoo

    Mr David BroderickJun 2018

Show more

This property is part of the Lake District Lodge Holidays collection.
From the moment you arrive in the Lake District there is a huge choice of activities and things to see as you take in Britain’s latest World Heritage Site – it’s the only National Park to be recognised for such status.

The property

Resting in the Langdale area of White Cross Bay is this delightful, three-bedroom lodge, Owls Nook Lodge.

Presented to a lovely standard, this inviting abode offers a snug spot to return after your fun-filled days of exploring the Lake District.

Discover the open-plan living space, complete with a sumptuous corner leather sofa to lounge on, complemented by an electric fire and a Smart TV, so you’ll no have trouble relaxing here.

Allow the chef of the group to get acquainted in the kitchen, boasting an electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer and even a dishwasher, so you won’t have to lift a finger when it comes to washing up!

Serve up home-cooked meals at the dining table before popping open a bottle of wine and toasting to a long-awaited family getaway!

As the evening comes to a close, retire to either of the three bedrooms, all of which offer fitted storage, plush furnishings and Smart TVs.

There are two doubles followed by a bunk bedroom for children, serviced by a modern shower room with sleek fixtures and fittings.

Continuing to impress, to the exterior is a spacious decking with private hot tub, ideal for enjoying a few glasses of prosecco under the stars, while there is also secure bike storage for those keen cyclists.

On-site you are spoilt for things to do; take a splash in the pool, work up a sweat in the gym, reward yourself with a meal in the restaurant and enjoy some entertainment at the bar.

Just 500 yards up the road is Brockhole Lake District Visitor Centre home to its gardens, house, café, restaurant, walks, boats and adventure playground and Tree Top Trek, offering something for the whole family!

Venture into Windermere village, just two miles away, where you can find a wealth of shops, cafés and pubs to sample, or head into Bowness for award-winning restaurants and magnificent attractions including the World of Beatrix Potter, sure to be hit with literacy lovers!

The area is a haven for walkers, cyclists and adventurers alike, boasting a myriad of routes around Lake Windermere and through woodlands such as Grizedale Forest, as well as watersporting opportunities for the more active.

Enjoy the attractions of the Lakelands during a stay at Owls Nook Lodge.

Summary

  • Single storey
  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double with Smart TV, 1 x children’s bunk with Smart TV
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining and sitting area with electric fire
  • Gas central heating with electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, 4 x Smart TV, DVD player, selection of books and games, WiFi
  • Hot Tub - to be used between 10am and 10pm only
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for two cars
  • Decking with furniture and hot tub
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1.1 miles, pub 2.4 miles
  • Note: WiFi may be weak with high usage, please only use for page browsing and sending emails
  • Note: A maximum of 6 adults can stay at one time and a maximum of 3 children can stay at any one time (with 4 adults).

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

WINDERMERE

Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 8.7 miles.

The twin towns of Bowness and Windermere are both vibrant, fun-filled places set within the splendid scenery of the Lake District. Both towns provide a range of amenities, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes whilst Ambleside offers the additional attraction of a boat ride to Bowness, the Lakeside Aquarium and Beatrix Potter's 'Hill Top House' at Sawrey. Grizedale Forest Park is within easy driving distance and is home to a range of activities including many good walks, mountain biking and the 'Go Ape' adventure park. The region also boasts many National Trust properties as well as a variety of water sports for those who prefer a more adrenaline-fuelled trip. Children will enjoy a trip to the 'World of Beatrix Potter' in Bowness whilst the villages of Grasmere, Coniston Water, Kendal, Keswick and the Lakeland Mountains are all within easy reach.

View more holiday cottages in Windermere

Region Information

Owls Nook is accessed by 5 wooden steps to the decking. The lodge is then all on the same ground floor level.

There is insufficient space to fit a travel cot in any of the bedrooms and would have to be placed in the living room area. Please bring your own travel cot and highchair as they are not provided.

White Cross Bay has its own onsite facilities. You will need to purchase a complex pass from reception which includes the use of the pool, gym, entertainment and access to bar and restaurant. The prices are subject to change by park management.

Complimentary WiFi is provided by the park and subject to fair usage guidelines, Quality and reliability of connection will vary based on the number of people using it, prevailing weather conditions and therefore may be limited or slower than you are used to, WiFi is for personal use only and is not intended for high data usage, gaming and/or use for business purposes, This is only suitable for page browsing and sending emails, Bookings cannot be accepted if they are solely reliant on the provision of uninterrupted and unlimited Wi-Fi, We are not held responsible or liable for the WiFi on the park. If you encounter any issues with the WiFi, please contact White Cross Bay reception.

There is a Good Housekeeping Bond of £100 for this property.



Park Rules and Operations – White Cross Bay

All holiday parks are owned and managed by a separate company to ourselves. Lake District Lodge Holidays has no association with the owners of these parks or responsibility for the provision of services they offer. At certain times of year, there maybe a reduction in those services, which is outside of our control.

Commercial vehicles, caravans, camper vans, Hen or Stag parties are not permitted onsite. Dogs must be kept on leads at all times and are not be left alone in the lodges at any point during your stay.

You will be staying on an operational holiday park, which means work may be undertaken from time to time by the park owners during your stay. Although Lake District Lodge Holidays will always try to inform guests in advance if something may impact on a stay and if we have prior knowledge. We cannot be held responsible or accept any liability for park operations of which are outside of our control and which we have no knowledge of.

Any issues relating to a stay at a privately owned lodge should be reported back through Lake District Lodge Holidays as the park are not responsible for managing the lodge or booking for private sublet guests during their stay.


Hot Tubs

For the comfort of other holidays guests we request that noise is kept to a minimum. Usage of the hot tub is between 10am and 10pm only. If you are found to breach these timings then you may be asked to vacate the park with no call for a refund.

All hot tubs are maintained to strict industry standards and HSE guidelines by separate qualified independent contractors on behalf of the property owners. This includes changing the water between guest stays and checking the water condition on a regular basis.

Whilst every effort is made to have a hot tub ready for immediate use by the arrival time stated, this may not always be possible. In such cases the hot tub will usually be ready to use later that day unless otherwise advised. In such cases no compensation or refund is payable unless the hot tub is faulty.

Information about using a hot tub safely is provided at all lodges with a hot tub and on a prominent notice near the tub. All hot tub users should wear an appropriate bathing suit. Usage of a hot tub is at a guests own risk and Lake District Lodge Holidays accepts no liability for anything which may happen to a guest as a direct result of using a hot tub.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Off-season
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it