In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

12 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 26 View Image Gallery
  • Granary Nook - Lake District - 972388 - photo 1

Granary Nook

(Ref. 972388)

Windermere, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (30)
  • location (23)
  • stay (17)
  • great (17)
  • our (16)
  • lovely (13)

45 Customer Reviews

  • "Granary Nook is an excellent choice for exploring the Lake District National Park."

    It’s centrally located in Windermere, yet down a quiet street so feels peaceful. The cottage is clean and smart with lovely decorations and a welcoming atmosphere. The kitchen is very well equipped and the furniture comfortable. The property has a spacious, safe and enclosed outside area for dogs with seating. I’d highly recommend Granary Nook!

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy you had a great stay. Glad the dogs enjoyed the enclosed courtyard too. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Laura5.0May 2024

  • "Excellent Family stay not our first time, has all amenities and facilities available on your doorstep ideal location for exploring the lake district."

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad you were able to take advantage of the excellent location. We hope to see you again soon for lots more exploring Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kris5.0Apr 2024

  • "Lovely cottage, so central but so quiet."

    Comfy beds, sofas, etc. Great enclosed outdoors space for the dogs.

    Thank so much for your lovely feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the location. The centre of Windermere, set back in a quiet courtyard is one of the reasons we bought the property. Of course the outdoor courtyard is great for dogs and is a rare find in Windermere. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Brandy5.0Dec 2023

  • "Lovely cottage, great location."

    It was clean and had everything we needed for our stay. Really suitable for our dogs too. Would definitely come again :)

    Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed everything that the property and area have to offer. Lakelovers Owner Relations Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lorna4.4Oct 2023

  • "The location is absolutely superb!"

    but the overall cleanliness of the house needs work everything is very tired and there were cobwebs everywhere, but on a more positive note the bed and towels we used were all clean and comfortable.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry you had some cleanliness issues. However we dont have any record of you reporting this. We take cleanliness very seriously. Our staff inspect our properties between each booking where possible. Granary Nook has the advantage of being very close to our office. We would always deal with any issues that are raised if we are aware of them. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle2.2Sep 2023

  • "Cottage in general is lovely, well maintained, great location, great that it comes with the parking permit, close to shops, bars, restaurants and great that it’s dog friendly."

    Parking wasn’t an issue, we had to park a little far away once in 6 days which isn’t bad at all. All in all a lovely cottage. The only downsides for us (and they are minor, it wouldn’t put us off staying again) we’re- the Wi-Fi isn’t very good, so whilst you say there’s a smart tv with Netflix etc. the WiFi isn’t strong enough for anything other than terrestrial channels to work. There are cobwebs in the alcoves in the living room, the yard could be nicer in that it’s just slate with a table and chairs etc, it might be difficult to maintain pots etc. but we’d have spent more time outside if it was nicer/greener out there. The slate also wasn’t very nice for the dogs feet (although she can be dramatic so it’s not necessarily the same for other dogs).

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your stay at the Granary Nook. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience, and we appreciate your kind words about the location, parking, and dog-friendliness of the property. We're sorry to hear that you had some issues with the Wi-Fi and the yard. We understand that the Wi-Fi provider in the area is not the best, but we have been informed that the network is to be upgraded within the area so this should improve the network within the next few months. As for the yard, we'll monitor feedback from guests moving forward to see if the gravel needs to be changed. We appreciate your feedback and we're committed to providing our guests with the best possible experience. We hope you'll stay with us again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lyndsay4.4Sep 2023

  • "Great location , great little cottage a little dirty in places and internet ..."

    Great location , great little cottage a little dirty in places and internet never works apart from that it was very nice enjoyable stay

    Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the location of the property, right in the centre of Windermere and set back in its own courtyard. We are sorry about the cleanliness. We didn't receive that feedback from you,so were unable to resolve during your stay. Apologies for the WIFI. It was a BT fault and has since been fixed. We are glad you had a nice stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jade3.4Aug 2023

  • "Had the best time staying in granary nook for my husbands 50th birthday."

    Clean, tidy, well centred for everything in windermere village and the lakes in general. Surprisingly quiet even though just off the main Rd through windermere village. We will definitely stay here again. ❤️

    We are really glad you had a great stay and your husband had a good birthday. The location is one of the reasons we love it ourselves. Once you park the car, you don’t need to drive anywhere if you don’t want to. You are welcome back anytime Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma5.0May 2023

  • "A fabulous wee stay in a very cosy cottage."

    Perfectly situated in Windermere for all the amenities in town. Incredibly comfy rooms and a great set up for a family of five!

    Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback. As owners we always try and provide the facilities and comfort we would want ourselves when we go on holiday. Glad you were able to enjoy how close everything is. You are welcome back anytime Thanks Anne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Claire4.7Apr 2023

  • "Prime location."

    House very tired and could have been cleaner. No house instructions and outside rubbish bin was full when we arrived. Top lock on door is an issue as it wouldn't unlock from inside. Heating works really well though.

    Thank you for your feedback. Guests are encouraged to contact the office to resolve any issues during their stay. We don’t have a record of any contact from you during your stay. There is a file in the lounge for guests with information in. If you could advise what house information you felt was missing we can get it added. We pay for a private company to empty the bins eat week so will look into that. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Scott2.8Feb 2023

  • "Really enjoyed our Christmas at the cottage - very comfortable and cosy."

    Ideally situated and wouod definitely stay here again. Just a couple of ideas - bin bags could be provided (needed a couple on Christmas Day but there weren't any, usually there are a couple provided in other cottages) and a better scourer could be provided so the grill pan can be cleaned better, and a pair of tongs would be good when cooking bacon etc. Apart from these 3 little suggestions, the cottage was perfect. Thank you.

    Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you had a good Christmas. Extra bin bags are normally provided but we have now put a roll in so guests should never run out. Scourer and tongs have also been added. Thanks for taking the time to do this review and we hope to see you back again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clive4.4Dec 2022

  • "We loved the cottage, it was clean and in a central location (but still quiet), so easy to nip to the shops especially on the arrival day."

    Parking was fine we never struggled to park on Oak Street. The only thing we were not aware about and couldn't find information on, was the bin situation, we were unsure what was allowed into the bins and when and where to put the bins out for collection. We also noticed other people had used Granary Nook Cottage bin as all the other bins were overflowing. I tried to recycle at Booths but they had changed their policy so no recycling facility was available there. So some info would be good.

    Thank you so much for the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Granary Nook. You make a good point about the bins. We pay for a private company to empty the bins and recycle what they can. However we could make publicise that better. Other people using the bins is frustrating. We do ask neibours not to Glad you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jonathan3.8Nov 2022

  • "The house was in an excellent location."

    For 5 adults a second bathroom is needed. There was a parking issue. The information originally implied a specific parking space but when we got the detailed information after we had paid it was simply one permit. Finding a parking space was very difficult. In addition we had 2 cars and had to pay parking which was an added expense.

    Thank you for your feedback. The cottage was built in the 17 hundreds and unfortunately we can’t put in another toilet. We have looked into this. We try to make this clear on the information and the fact that the permit is for road parking and not a separate space. We hope you enjoyed the great location and your holiday Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jill3.4Oct 2022

  • "Cottage was perfect for our stay - with the local restaurants and shops literally on our door step."

    Windermere is lovely and we were glad to stay there rather than Bowness. Just one point to make about cleanliness - the grill tray in the oven clearly hadn’t been cleaned for some time so had obviously been missed either by the previous holiday makers or cleaners. Other than that the cottage was spotless and exactly what we were looking for. Would definitely come back again. Thank you.

    Thank you for your feedback. It was good to hear that you had a good holiday. You are right and the location of the cottage in the centre of Windermere (although down a quiet courtyard) is perfect. We will feedback to the cleaner about the grill pan. We look forward to seeing you at Granary Nook in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pam4.4Oct 2022

  • "What a wonderful gem of a cottage literally a stone’s throw from Windermere!"

    One of the most convenient locations we’ve ever stayed in and a fantastic base for a family holiday. The cottage was well equipped with everything you could need, and felt very homely. Literally 20 steps from the shops yet lovely and quiet in the house plus the private courtyard was a big bonus for our dog. Would highly recommend and we will definitely stay again.

    Thank you so much for your feedback. Great to hear you had a good holiday and appreciated the excellent location of the cottage. We look forward to welcoming you to Granary Nook again in the future Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tracy5.0Aug 2022

  • "The cottage is perfect for a stay in Windamere /Bo'ness."

    There's evething you might need. Great location and dog friendly too.

    Thank you so much for the lovely feedback. We are glad you had a great holiday Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paula5.0May 2022

  • "Small Sofa was broken, quite uncomfortable, back yard was ok for letting the dogs out, sadly some dog poo left by previous occupants or maybe a cat."

    Beds were comfortable super king was welcome, surprised bed size is never on the filters. We’d never book a place that says double bed, it’s essential for us as we have a super king at home, the twins on the top floor probably only good for kids we didn’t use them. Shower was poor, not much better than a watering can. Smart tv so plenty of viewing options. Refurbishment definitely diy. mish mash of mugs, cutlery etc. No welcome pack which I thought was mentioned, but I may be mistaken. Looked like the cleaners didn’t move the furniture to clean. Parking wasn’t easy although only one time we couldn’t find anything. However the location is perfect, seconds from the centre, decent eating options on your doorstep, booking for san pietro essential, we failed sadly. The shy pig was the best place we ate at. Tapios and cafe Italia both ok. Enjoyed our stay despite some of the flaws, a little pricey for the standard of property. Huge potential though.

    Reviewed by Ian3.4Apr 2022

  • "The cottage was comfortable."

    It was absolutely freezing on arrival, so not sure if for winter stays, the heating could be arranged to be on in advance of people arriving. We found there was very little cupboard space for food, as there is lots of clutter in the cupboards and around 14 wine glasses, and 2 draws of utensils etc.... so the kitchen could be organised a lot better. Bathroom door is difficult to close

    We apologise for the heating not being on when you arrived. This is something we normally do for guests but found it difficult to get round all our properties before new year. We hope you found that once the heating was switched on the cottage warmed up very quickly. Many guests compliment the cottage on its kitchen facilities. We are sorry you did not feel this way. We hope that you had a good holiday and new year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew3.8Dec 2021

  • "The property was in a fantastic location, we had no problems parking but this was probably due to the time of the year."

    The property was clean and tidy the only slight negative feedback is that the cleaners hadn’t checked the grill pan and we had to clean this. I would recommend it.

    Thanks for the feedback. We are really pleased you loved the cottage. We will feedback to the cleaner. The location is fantastic and it’s great you were able to enjoy it. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Nov 2021

  • "The “second” main bedroom straight ahead of the stairs door does not shut properly"

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention; we will ensure the problem is resolved. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Oct 2021

  • "Ideally located right in Windermere town centre Facilities it has everything you need comfy."

    It’s only negative is if you stop with say 4-6 is just 1 toilet and bathroom area which is on top floor of 3 but as a couple it was fine for us, we would definitely stop there again due to its base point

    We are glad you liked the property and were able to appreciate the location right in the heart of Windermere. We have looked at putting in a second toilet but unfortunately this isn’t possible. Thanks for your response Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil4.7Sep 2021

  • "I have sent numerous emails and am still awaiting a response."

    It did take us time to investigate your feedback in detail. We hope this has now been addressed to your satisfaction Property Owner

    Reviewed by Liz2.2Jun 2021

  • "The only annoying aspect was the loo seat."

    I noted that someone else had mentioned this in the Visitor Book. It slides around a lot and if you try and fix it back in position it ends up moving again. It could really do with being replaced with something that doesn't move, if possible. We loved the superking bed, the decor of the bedrooms in particular was really nice and the kitchen was adequately fitted out. There was also plenty of room in the lounge for a dog bed. We did miss having a folder, as we've come to expect from staying in lots of self-catering accommodation, that has a good summary of local information, manuals for ell appliances etc. but we managed to figure out the hob, dishwasher etc. so it didn't detract too much from our stay.

    Thanks for your feedback and we are glad you appreciated the cottage. Thanks for the feedback on the loo seat. It has been replaced a few times without a ‘fix”. This has now been addressed. The super king bed was a new addition this year ( it also splits into 2 singles) so it’s great that you appreciated its comfort. Thanks for your feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Leigh4.7May 2021

  • "Great location, impressed with all the amenities that the house had but weren't listed (blow dryer, full kitchen accessories, etc)."

    Only disappointment was the wi-fi was a bit wonky but hubby figured it out.

    Thank you for your feedback. It’s great that you appreciated the location right in the heart of Windermere. We have always tried to ensure that the cottage has the amenities we ourselves would expect . Apologies for the so go. It sounds like the provider was having issues at that time as we haven’t received any other comments from other guests. We are happy you enjoyed the cottage and appreciate you taking the time for feedback, Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.4Apr 2021

  • "The cottage was in an excellent location for us, it was also perfect for us taking our dog."

    We had a lovely stay and would book it again

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Sep 2020

  • "Granary Nook is smack bang in the centre of Windermere meaning the car (parking permit included) didn’t get used nearly as much as other trips to the Lakes (so many great local pubs."

    ) There are many nearby lovely walks and runs, there is a park at the top of the cottages street and Bowness is only a mile away (all downhill going!) A short but steep walk to Orrest Head is worth the view! The cottage is nicely tucked away with all the facilities you will need and is cosy and comfy enough to relax in at night. We were a little concerned that the cottage may be noisy with it being so close to town but that wasn’t an issue at all, we were only disturbed by cooing pigeons. The secure yard was excellent for our small dogs. The bathroom is on the second floor but the stairs are not steep so even for my 70+ mother in law it wasn’t a problem. Beds comfy, we took our amazon firestick to get Netflix (never sure if TV is going to be smart) and wifi was fine, cooked every night and all utensils/equipment were there, gas central heating and elec fire soon took the late summers evening chill off. Would definitely recommend Granary Nook.

    Reviewed by Anthony5.0Sep 2020

  • "Cottage was quite dirty, it was meant to be for up to 6 people but there were only 3 large plates."

    Many of the cups were cracked. Cutlery tray was dirty, cobwebs in the kitchen. When we arrived socket hanging off and window wouldn’t close upstairs, although this was addressed there was bits of plaster on the window sill which was not cleared up. Bulbs missing or not working in a few of the lights. When we stripped the beds we saw the throws on the end of the bed were dirty. Parking - we managed to park in the designated road once. As have a blue badge we had to keep moving it on double yellow every 3 hours. Think thus would a not most people with a car and should be made clearer. Overall it just felt unloved and needs a deep clean, we actually come home a day early in the end. I think the photos on the listing are very old. Windows were all filthy. We tend to stay in a cottage 2-3 times a year and this was substandard to be honest.

    Thank you very much for your feedback. We are really pleased to say that all these issues have now been rectified. I can confirm that there is a 12 piece dinner set located in the property and several cups and glasses. We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with the parking, unfortunately peak season in Windermere can be a bit tricky! The parking permit does enable road side parking on a first come first served basis. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jose2.2Aug 2020

  • "Great stay in central location"

    Reviewed by James3.8Aug 2020

  • "The cottage is very well equipped."

    The location is perfect too. We had a lovely long weekend and would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Mar 2020

  • "On arrival at the cottage we were disappointed to find the bedding was still dirty with stains and marks on the sheets, pillows and throws."

    Thankfully we had our own spare bedding with us so used this instead. The settee was also filthy with food, dog hairs and rubbish in between the cushions. The cutlery was also still dirty. We clean Ed the cottage and hoovered the settee ourselves to get it to an acceptable standard. I seriously think the cleaner needs a few lessons in housekeeping. I did report this on an email to head office and also visited the office once it was open after the Sunday. There was nothing they could do as we had resolved the issue ourselves although we shouldn’t of had to. We paid for a service and didn’t really receive it with regards to finding the cottage clean and tidy. There was also no information booklet on things like what to do with the keys on departure or explaining how the appliances worked.

    Thank you for your feed back and we apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We certainly would have sent a cleaner to re attend immediately upon your arrival, however we understand that the property should have been up to standard on arrival. We can confirm the welcome folder is inside the property and we have purchased new linen for the property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kim3.1Dec 2019

  • "The only thing that could be added is a full length mirror in the master bedroom somewhere you can sit and dry your hair instead of standing."

    Apart from that we found the cottage more than adequate and very comfortable. It’s in a great location near to everything.

    Reviewed by Bev5.0Dec 2019

  • "I felt like the cottage could have been cleaner."

    There was dog hairs on the floor in the living room, dog muck in rear yard and some not so pleasant to see bodily deposits on the spare bedding in the wardrobe. There were old dirty dog toys under the sofa too ,I had to go and get toilet roll as soon as I got there too. It was in a great location, there was no parking but the permit helped out. Plenty of bars cafes and shops near by. Picking the key up and dropping it off was fine and expeditious the staff seemed friendly enough. Overall I don’t think that it was value for money I can’t recall the exact amount but it was over £400 for three nights mid week out of season which was expensive for what it was.

    Reviewed by Thomas2.5Sep 2019

  • "Parking an absolute nightmare, curtain rail came off the wall the first night."

    ...rain more powerful than the shower, cold and dark cottage, desperately needs bringing up to date...and more cobwebs than a thriller video! Massively overpriced cottage. Hugely disappointing.... Steve Corr.

    Thank you for your feedback. The team in the office were able to arrange for maintenance to attend to the curtain rail after it was brought to their attention. Unfortunately, no cleanliness or other property issues were reported so we were unable to investigate or resolve any of the points raised in the feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steven2.5Jul 2019

  • "Great Cottage, central to all the shops and restaurants."

    Spotless clean, with an abundance of crockery etc which would suit for having a night in. Welcome pack on arrival which enabled us to have a cuppa whilst we unpacked. Large area which was secure at the back for our little dog. Would definitely recommend Granary Nook, we will be back!

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0May 2019

  • "Granary Nook is a fabulous cottage in an excellent location, however there were a couple of things which we did feel let the cottage down."

    There were quite a few cobwebs dotted around especially in the kitchen and there seemed to be a problem with moths in the bathroom which did bother the youngest guest (7). Also none of the doors seemed to close properly (the bathroom had to be locked to keep it closed, not ideal with young children) and some of the handles are broken as is the front door handle. Also the VELUX blind in the bathroom has definitely seen better days and the outside light for the enclosed yard wasn't working. None of these were major things for us but we did feel they just let the cottage down as a whole. The staff at the lettings office were great and we would use them again.

    Reviewed by Rachel3.4May 2019

  • "The rental company followed up on my queries and checked on the first day that we had successfully collected the keys and found our way around the accommodation etc."

    The only frustration with Granary Nook is that the bathroom and only toilet are on the top floor. This is a minor point as the rest of the property was just what we required and met our expectations. the property is very central in Windermere, a short walk from the station and parking was possible in the surrounding roads.

    Reviewed by Richard4.7Apr 2019

  • "Had a wonderful stay really is a home from home, beautiful cottage in a fabulous location."

    Don't want to leave as its been such a lovely stay.

    Mar 2019

  • "Cottage was in a great location but is in need of some cosmetic updating, in particular the bathroom."

    We would like thank you very much for you feedback. Please be assured that the property has since has since been repainted and is now ready for the spring! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rob2.8Nov 2018

  • "Granary nook was in a fantastic location with so many shops, cafes, bars etc near by."

    Definitely a great base to explore the lakes. However I was very disappointed with the level of cleanliness throughout the cottage..... none of the furniture had been moved to ensure it was thoroughly clean and there was a thick layer of dust under sofas, beds, around edges of bathroom etc. My children were playing with toys that rolled under the sofa, when retrieved they were covered in dust. Also we found a pull out camp bed which we thought would be useful for our young child to sleep on, but again once retrieved from under the bed where it had been stored it was covered in dust. Unfortunately my little girl has asthma, which is made worse by dust mites, and she was very affected by the dust in this property. Such a shame, as with a better standard of cleanliness this property would have been great. I would appreciate it if you could pass these comments onto the owner. Thanks

    Reviewed by Claire3.8Oct 2018

  • "This was our first time to the Lake District but it definitely wont be our last, it is such a magical place and has such a raw beauty, we have already started looking to go back next year."

    Reviewed by Brian5.0Sep 2018

  • "Could not get more central in Windermere."

    Shops and pubs on doorstep. Excellent base for walkers and seeing more of the Lake District. Parking is a bit of an issue even with a permit. We were very lucky as someone was pulling away as we arrived so car was left parked for the three days. The cottage is really well equipped and there was lots for extras. Everything you could possibly need. There is a great enclosed gravelled yard if you are taking dogs and a park at the end for Oak Street for walks. It's a bit of a walk to the lake or Bowness but there are buses running frequently. First time we have taken our dogs away with us but this was a great start and they were perfectly happy in the cottage.

    Reviewed by Lorraine4.4Aug 2018

  • "Lovely homely cottage."

    The owners have really thought of everything to make you feel at home. So convenient for shops and restaurants., Staff in the office were helpful and friendly.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Jul 2018

  • "We loved the location of the cottage and spent much of our stay outdoors."

    We would love to stay again abs would certainly recommend it to others. The welcome pack was a lovely touch

    Reviewed by Kerry3.8Jul 2018

  • "It was a lovely cottage to stay in, however, the only issue we would say is with there only being one toilet and it being on the third floor."

    Lots of nice shops nearby and it was a short walk to Bo’ness. Lots of choice for pubs and restaurants/takeaways which was ideal. Would also say this cottage would be more suitable for families or elderly couples. Would highly recommend to others.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jun 2018

  • "Great cottage in a fantastic location close to lots of amenities in Windermere."

    The car parking permit was also a bonus. The cottage was cosy and the outside space a real bonus with 2 dogs. We had a great time, the cottage had everything we needed and we hope to return.

    Reviewed by Nora5.0Mar 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Over three floors, three bedrooms: 1 Master king size (can be split into twins - please request at time of booking), one double, one twin
  • Top floor bathroom with shower over, WC & basin
  • Kitchen with dining table, Sitting room with electric fire
  • Electric fire, electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine and dishwasher
  • Gas central heating
  • Smart TV
  • Wifi
  • Selection of books and games
  • Power included in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair provided
  • Parking permit for one car on street provided
  • Large, graveled courtyard with gates for bike storage
  • Garden furniture
  • Sorry no smoking, 3 pets accepted
  • Shop 2 minutes walk and pub 5 minutes walk.

The property

This delightful stone built cottage is tucked away in the heart of Windermere.  Set over three floor, it is an ideal base for families or couples who want a central location from which to explore the South Lakes area. You enter the house through a pleasant Hallway and straight ahead is the lovely well equipped kitchen with a slate floor, where you can enjoy tasty meals at the dining table.   The sitting room has two comfy sofas and a smart TV.  Take the stairs to the first floor and find two comfortable double bedrooms, one with king sized zip link bed.

Continue up to the top floor for the spacious bathroom with shower over, WC.

and basin. On this floor you will also find a children's twin bedroom tucked into the eaves. From the kitchen a door leads to the large rear courtyard with outdoor furniture for enjoying your meals al fresco on warm summer days. Just a short walk brings you into the centre of the  bustling village of Windermere with its plentiful bars and restaurants.   There is a good selection of local shops where you can buy everything from home made pies to a pair of designer shoes. Bowness and the lovely Lake Windermere are a 25 minute walk or short bus trip away with attractions such as Lake Cruises, Beatrix Potter and the retro Royalty Cinema. Windermere is a great base for exploring the Southern Lake district lakes and fells, with regular buses and easy access to Ambleside, Grasmere and beyond. A cosy cottage ideal for a relaxing family holiday

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 8.7 miles.

The twin towns of Bowness and Windermere are both vibrant, fun-filled places set within the splendid scenery of the Lake District. Both towns provide a range of amenities, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes whilst Ambleside offers the additional attraction of a boat ride to Bowness, the Lakeside Aquarium and Beatrix Potter's 'Hill Top House' at Sawrey. Grizedale Forest Park is within easy driving distance and is home to a range of activities including many good walks, mountain biking and the 'Go Ape' adventure park. The region also boasts many National Trust properties as well as a variety of water sports for those who prefer a more adrenaline-fuelled trip. Children will enjoy a trip to the 'World of Beatrix Potter' in Bowness whilst the villages of Grasmere, Coniston Water, Kendal, Keswick and the Lakeland Mountains are all within easy reach.

View more holiday cottages in Windermere

Please note: This property is in a residential area excessive noise will not be tolerated.
Please note: For the security of the parking permit and damages a Good Housekeeping bond of £100 is applied upon booking.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas