Ending soon! Save up to 20% on August ’22 Holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

1 of 19 View Larger Image
  • Kingfisher - Lake District - 1068866 - photo 1
close

Kingfisher

Langdale 8, White Cross Bay near Windermere, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 1068866)

4.5

Very good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

22 Customer Reviews

  • "A lovely, comfortable and clean lodge but unfortunately despite being advertised as having wifi this did not work at all."

    It made planning activities, speaking to family at home and checking the day's weather forecast, etc impossible from the lodge. The wifi worked, but was not connected to the internet. Lodge management advised this was a park issue, the park advised it was a lodge management issue. Disappointing that nobody would step up to assist with solving this as the lodge would have been perfect had we been able to make our plans using the internet.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you found Kingfisher to be clean and comfortable. We apologise for the issues that you encountered with the WIFI, whilst we did try to resolve the issue, it was not an issue that we were able to help with, as the WIFI is the parks area of responsibility. We hope to welcome you to the Lake District again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LucasJul 2022

  • "This was our second stay at Kingfisher Lodge."

    We chose to use this lodge again because it is clean, well presented, well equipped and comfortable. We were very grateful for the good quality curtains and blinds which helped to keep temperatures down during the heatwave! We would happily stay at this lodge again. Could you find some tongs for the kitchen? There were some last time we stayed but we had to buy some this time. All in all an enjoyable break in great accommodation.

    Hello. Shirley thank you.it’s nice to know you enjoyed your second stay at Kingfisher. ,sorry about the missing kitchen tongs ,I have reported it to LDLH and will replace them asap ,they might be in a.different cupboard. ,things do get moved around !! Property Owner

    Reviewed by ShirleyJul 2022

  • "We have high standards."

    .. and the Kingfisher met them! It was home from home, well equipped and spotless. Communication was brilliant from start to finish. It as our first time in the Lakes and although only a 2 night stay, we thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you

    Hi. Lisa. I too have high standards and do my best, along with my cleaner to achieve it so it makes my guests happy, hope you can find time to come back for a longer stay in the future. Thanks. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LisaJun 2022

  • "What a beautiful lodge."

    We have visited White Cross Bay many times over the last 15 years but this is by far the nicest lodge we have stayed in. The owners have obviously finished it to a very high standard and it really shows. Well equipped, lots of storage space, comfortable sofas and beds, good power shower, dishwasher and a washing machine. Wi-Fi more than suitable for web browsing (three of us using at the same time). The lodge is located in a quiet street central to the park amenities the pool, bar, restaurant and shop just a short walk. I must note that on booking this property we read the last review which did make us think twice about booking - I'm so glad we listened to the previous reviews as this lodge was absolutely outstanding and we really would have missed out. Kingfisher served as an excellent base for our Lakes Holiday, we had a comfortable and relaxing stay which was very much needed and would absolutely recommend to everyone, family and friends. Hope we can come back very soon.

    Thank you for those kind words I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at my lodge, and thought it was the best in your 15 years of holidays at WXB ,I too was worried the last review would put guests off of booking ,but thankfully you looked further down the line at the other reviews,I would advise any guests if anything is not right when they arrive to get in touch with LDLH straight away don’t wait until your holiday is nearly over !! Thanks again and hope to see you soon at Kingfisher Property Owner

    Reviewed by JoanneApr 2022

  • "The initial cleaning to the lodge looked as if it had been prepared with a lick & a promise, namely Bathroom mirrors not cleaned Bathroom towel radiators not cleaned Skirting boards in Bathrooms not cleaned Bathroom floors not cleaned There was not any toilet rolls in either Bathroom upon arrival !"

    The WIFI is simply not fit for,purpose, despite specifically requesting at time of the initial booking to ensure the lodge had a reliable WIFI infrastructure. Despite sending numerous e mails to Sykes cottages, Lake District Lodge Holidays & making reception aware of the issue over a two week period all of my requests were ignored/fobbed off & nobody took ownership of the issue. Reception even had the audacity to advise me on Sunday 10th that there was a site wide WIFI issue & that engineers were attending site on Monday 11th to resolve !!!!! Outside lighting at front of the lodge inoperative, again when logged with LDLH nobody even acknowledged this, yet alone addressed the defect En suite shower riser rail broken on arrival 2 x switch fused spurs in Kitchen not screwed back to their respective mounting boxes Again, I have to ask the question, does anyone actually inspect these lodges / undertake routine maintenance ? Will any party have the courtesy to respond to my comments ? And in addition to all of the above LDLH have the audacity to charge you a £100 ‘good housekeeping deposit’ !!!

    We were sorry to hear you feel the cleaning wasn’t up to the normal standard we would expected on our guests arrival. Our Head housekeeper and Maintenance Operative did attend the lodge to meet you in person and discuss the issues you had raised at the time which were rectified. However, regrettably the following items: Bathroom Mirrors, Bathroom Towel radiators, Skirting boards in bathroom, outside lighting, switches were not brought to our attention or we would have addressed these for you also. We have spoken to the owner of the lodge and they have provided the following response to your feedback: Sorry to hear your list of problems and can’t understand when the last guests have praised the cleanliness of the Lodge ,one thing I would pick you up on is there being no toilet rolls provided I happened to be there that particular day and there were two in both bathrooms and everything seemed to be up to standard! With regard to the Good Housekeeping Bond this is taken on all our properties to cover damage to the property, which has been returned to you. I can as stated within the details of the property and within your terms and conditions at the time of booking: Kingfisher Lodge has its own complimentary dedicated WiFi, WiFi is for personal use only and is not intended for high data usage, gaming and/or use for business purposes, This is only suitable for page browsing and sending emails, Bookings cannot be accepted if they are solely reliant on the provision of uninterrupted and unlimited Wi-Fi and we are not held responsible or liable for loss of connection. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AndrewApr 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay at this clean, comfortable and well equipped lodge."

    The cooking facilities were excellent and we found everything we needed. We had a problem with plumbing on the third day (Sunday) that was very quickly sorted. Many thanks to Sykes customer service and the maintenance team. We would definitely use this lodge again.

    Thanks Shirley ,good to know you enjoyed your stay at Kingfisher we do try and keep it as good as we can to make you want to come again!, Property Owner

    Reviewed by ShirleyMar 2022

  • "A very comfortable, clean well equipped and modern lodge with everything you could need."

    The owner has done his very best to make this lodge special for his clients. A comfortable bed is important to us and we were not disappointed The Christmas tree and exterior lights made our New Year stay extra special. Its quiet location is a plus especially during busy weeks .We would definitely highly recommend Kingfisher Lodge

    Thank you for your valued Feedback. It is good to see that you enjoyed your stay in the lodge and that it was fully equipped for you. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JoanDec 2021

  • "Great location on the site with a 2 minute walk to the shores of Lake Windermere."

    Lovely and quiet too. The lodge had everything we needed and was well equipped. Stylish and nicely decorated and furnished. We weren't disappointed at all. Wardrobe and plenty of coat hangers which was very useful.

    Reviewed by AmandaSep 2021

  • "Fantastic lodge, exactly as described and extremely clean."

    The beds and sofas were super comfy and there was good power to the shower. Lovely site, will definitely be back

    Reviewed by DeborahAug 2021

  • "The lodge was absolutely awesome it had everything we needed and loved it will ..."

    The lodge was absolutely awesome it had everything we needed and loved it will be back and recommend to family and friends

    Thank you for taking the time to review Kingfisher Lodge, which is in a perfect position to explore the Lakes. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DawnJul 2021

  • "Despite 2020 myself and husband and son stayed for a short (Birthday) weekend at the beginning of December."

    We were delighted with the accommodation very clean and modern. The location was great too, the facilities were closed due to the restrictions they had decided not to open but we were informed and to be honest didn't make any difference to the overall stay which we enjoyed very much. What did you enjoy most about your stay? The location and cleanliness What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Brockhole

    Mr Nikki HaleDec 2020

  • "The lodge is well looked after and everything is in excellent condition."

    We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay and would certainly return. What did you enjoy most about your stay? The lodge was excellent What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? A cruise on the lake

    Mrs Christine KeberOct 2020

  • "Lovely break in a lovely lodge."

    We could not fault the lodge, it was extremely comfy, spacious and had everything you would need for a short break. Don What did you enjoy most about your stay? The lodge and the lovely surrounding areas to visit What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Day out to Ambleside, Keswick & Grasmere

    Mrs Alwena OwenOct 2020

  • "Kingfisher lodge was exceptional, very clean and modern."

    Everything u could ask for. Thankyou will be returning What did you enjoy most about your stay? The lodge What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Keswick

    Mrs Susan PearmanSep 2020

  • "Nicely situated in a quiet area of White Cross Bay and a short walk to the lake shore and marina area What did you enjoy most about your stay?"

    Everything!! What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Circular walk round Buttermere, a real favourite

    Mrs Linda HalloranSep 2020

  • "A stunning lodge which, as ever, has been furnished and maintained to the highest of standards."

    A cosy lodge, perfect for a small family or couple and has the benefit of a washing machine to save on costs whilst away. Lodge has dedicated WiFi but connection can be unreliable so don What did you enjoy most about your stay? Comfort and standard of the lodge whilst using the site as a base to explore the Lakes. What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Brockhole

    Miss Vicki KinsleyAug 2020

  • "Our stay at Kingfisher lodge was absolutely wonderful and we will 100% be returning."

    Thank you so much! What did you enjoy most about your stay? The comfort of the lodge What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Brockhole treetops

    Mrs Natalie ShepherdAug 2020

  • "On arrival we were pleasantly surprised as the interior of the lodge was immaculate and very well appointed."

    Great location to reach various lake villages plus drive to various mountain scrambles / climbs / walk. Would definitely consider staying again at some point in the future. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Fresh air and mountain walks What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Circular walk up Helvellyn

    Mr Greg RobinsonJul 2020

  • "The lodge is well equipped and spotlessly clean on a well set out site with good facilities."

    There are plenty of places to visit locally. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Having a break after lockdown, What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? The aquarium at Lakeside.

    Mrs Cheryl BarnardJul 2020

  • "The lodge is faultless."

    It What did you enjoy most about your stay? How homely and relaxing the lodge was. What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? We always enjoy Ambleside and Bowness

    Mrs Kayleigh ElmsJul 2020

  • "Was really pleasantly surprised when arriving to the lodge and wasnt sure what to expect."

    But the minute we stepped in i knew it was going to be lovely, i travelled pregnant with a toddler so just wanted a comfortable relaxing few days and thats exactly what we got. we normally stay in caravans on other similar sites but nothing compares to this now! the site itself doesnt have a lot on but we didnt really need to venture there. Location is fantastic and views on windermere just a short walk away are amazing. would definitely stay again What did you enjoy most about your stay? comfort of lodge What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? brockle park

    Mrs Sian RobertsJan 2020

  • "Had a fab time and the lodge was superb."

    Comfiest bed we have slept in. Would definitely stay again. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Good location for exploring the area. What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Tree tops experience.

    Mrs Sharon CarrOct 2019

Show more

This property is part of the Lake District Lodge Holidays collection.
From the moment you arrive in the Lake District there is a huge choice of activities and things to see as you take in Britain’s latest World Heritage Site – it’s the only National Park to be recognised for such status.

Summary

  • All-ground-floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size with en-suite shower room, basin and WC, 1 x twin
  • Family bathroom with bath, over head shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with electric fire
  • BBQs are not permitted at this property
  • Full gas central heating
  • Gas hob with electric oven and grill, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, TV/DVD player, Bluetooth speaker, master bedrrom has TV, second bedroom has TV/DVD player, secure bike shed, outdoor furniture
  • One well behaved dog welcome
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent (please bring any leisure towels)
  • Parking for two cars
  • Please note that the charging of electric vehicles is not permitted at this lodge, the nearest charging point can be found at Booths Supermarket in Windermere
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Kingfisher Lodge has its own complimentary WiFi supplied by the park, WiFi is for personal use only and is not intended for high data usage, gaming and/or use for business purposes, This is only suitable for page browsing and sending emails, Bookings cannot be accepted if they are solely reliant on the provision of uninterrupted and unlimited Wi-Fi and we are not held responsible or liable for loss of connection
  • Note: For use of the onsite facilities, a complex pass is required, these can be purchased from reception.

The property

******* PRICE REDUCTION - 31st December for 3 nights £650 plus booking fee *********** If you would like to book please call us on 015397 61514 and click option 1.

You will be able to make your booking over the phone with a member of our reservations team.

Kingfisher Lodge is a contemporary lodge situated in the Langdale area of White Cross Bay, a central location not far from the clubhouse facilities.

Sleeping up to four guests, this beautiful lodge is ideal for couples or families.

This bright and airy lodge offers a large open plan living/kitchen/dining area, giving it that warm feeling to settle down for the evening.

Step outside onto a large decking area with outdoor seating where you can enjoy the surrounding views after a long day walking on the fells.

With the added bonus of dedicated lodge Wi-Fi, this is a super choice for those looking to get away and unwind.

White Cross Bay is in one of the most lovely settings on the shores of lake Windermere, with jetties and a marina and views of the magnificent fells all around.

On the Park itself, there is a bar and restaurant with outdoor seating area for dogs, picnic area and children’ play zone.

Note: Some facilities on the park are subject to extra cost such as use of the pool, entertainment, bar and restaurant.

You’re just two miles from bustling Windermere village with shops, cafes and pubs, and three miles from Bowness boat landings, where the elegant cruisers come in and you can hop on a boat trip.

Bowness is a cosmopolitan village with award-winning restaurants and pubs and quirky shops, a cinema and the ever- popular World of Beatrix Potter attraction.

Three miles in the other direction, head to Ambleside, another bustling town with shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants and of course, fabulous walks in every direction.

Make memories that last a lifetime here in the Lake District.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

WINDERMERE

Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 8.7 miles.

The twin towns of Bowness and Windermere are both vibrant, fun-filled places set within the splendid scenery of the Lake District. Both towns provide a range of amenities, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes whilst Ambleside offers the additional attraction of a boat ride to Bowness, the Lakeside Aquarium and Beatrix Potter's 'Hill Top House' at Sawrey. Grizedale Forest Park is within easy driving distance and is home to a range of activities including many good walks, mountain biking and the 'Go Ape' adventure park. The region also boasts many National Trust properties as well as a variety of water sports for those who prefer a more adrenaline-fuelled trip. Children will enjoy a trip to the 'World of Beatrix Potter' in Bowness whilst the villages of Grasmere, Coniston Water, Kendal, Keswick and the Lakeland Mountains are all within easy reach.

View more holiday cottages in Windermere

Region Information

Kingfisher Lodge is accessed by 7 steps. The lodge is then all on the same ground floor level.

There is insufficient space to fit a travel cot in any of the bedrooms and would have to be placed in the living room area. Please bring your own travel cot and highchair as they are not provided.

White Cross Bay has its own onsite facilities. You will need to purchase a complex pass from reception which includes the use of the pool, entertainment and access to bar and restaurant. The prices are subject to change by park management.

Kingfisher Lodge has complimentary WiFi. WiFi is for personal use only and is not intended for high data usage, gaming and/or use for business purposes, This is only suitable for page browsing and sending emails, Bookings cannot be accepted if they are solely reliant on the provision of uninterrupted and unlimited Wi-Fi and we are not held responsible or liable for loss of connection.

There is a Good Housekeeping Bond of £100 for this property.

Please note that the charging of electric vehicles is not permitted at this lodge.
The nearest charging point can be found at Booths Supermarket in Windermere.

Park Rules and Operations – White Cross Bay

All holiday parks are owned and managed by a separate company to ourselves. Lake District Lodge Holidays has no association with the owners of these parks or responsibility for the provision of services they offer. At certain times of year, there maybe a reduction in those services, which is outside of our control.

Commercial vehicles, caravans, camper vans, Hen or Stag parties are not permitted onsite. Dogs must be kept on leads at all times and are not be left alone in the lodges at any point during your stay.

You will be staying on an operational holiday park, which means work may be undertaken from time to time by the park owners during your stay. Although Lake District Lodge Holidays will always try to inform guests in advance if something may impact on a stay and if we have prior knowledge. We cannot be held responsible or accept any liability for park operations of which are outside of our control and which we have no knowledge of.

Any issues relating to a stay at a privately owned lodge should be reported back through Lake District Lodge Holidays as the park are not responsible for managing the lodge or booking for private sublet guests during their stay.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Off-season
  • Christmas