Ending soon! Save up to 20% on August ’22 Holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

4 people have recently viewed this property

  • Mrs Puddleducks - (Ref. 972629)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.


1 of 21 View Larger Image
  • Mrs Puddleducks - Lake District - 972629 - photo 1

Mrs Puddleducks

Windermere, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 972629)


Very good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 3

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

43 Customer Reviews

  • "Fantastic cottage."

    Located next to shops and bus stops so we could move about with ease. At the end of a long day of exploring we could relax in the hot tub. The back gate could be more secure as we had a small dog with us. However if you use the key located in the kitchen it makes it a bit more secure. Remember to unlock it so the maintenance man for the hot tub can get in. Great holiday. Fantastic cottage

    Reviewed by LouiseJul 2022

  • "The property was lovely."

    Only recommendation would be the speed of the internet. We are traveling but working and the internet speed was so weak we could not work in the house.

    Thank your for your review. As a result of your comment, we have contacted our internet provider who has tested the line and confirmed that there was a fault which was reducing the download speed. This has now been rectified. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, it is much appreciated. Otherwise I am really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by FloJun 2022

  • "First time staying in a cottage we found it excellent it was perfect in every ..."

    First time staying in a cottage we found it excellent it was perfect in every way great that it allowed us two bring our two frenchie with us thanks they loved it would definitely recommend

    Reviewed by MarieMay 2022

  • "Loved the hot tub!"

    It was warm and ready when we arrived and helped us relax after busy days hill walking and wild swimming. Minutes walk from cafes, pubs and restaurants, not to mention beautiful lakes and mountains. If I had to nit-pick, I would change the wicker placemats as they don't clean well. Otherwise a lovely stay, thank you Mrs Puddleduck.

    Reviewed by EmmaMay 2022

  • "Very disappointed with hot tub."

    The cottage was specifically booked as it had a hot tub. We used this for the first, and last time, on Tuesday evening. The sides of the tub felt dirty and clearly had not been cleaned prior to our stay. As we were preparing to leave the property the hot tub service man arrived and I explained our concerns, he told us they are cleaned between each stay. He ran his hand around the inside of the tub, and confirmed it hadn’t been cleaned, apologised, and immediately phoned his manager to advise the tub had not been cleaned prior to our arrival. The cottage itself is in a wonderful location with all amenities, just massively let down with the hot tub.

    Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you didn't contact Lakes Cottage Holidays during your stay as they would have had the hot tub checked. We have been reassured by the servicing company that the hot tub had been cleaned and drained according to their schedule. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JacquiApr 2022

  • "Mrs Puddleducks is the perfect base for an action packed Lake District holiday."

    The off street parking and hot tub were fantastic plus points to the well appointed home from home. We really enjoyed the location being close to shops, walks and transport hubs.

    Reviewed by AlisonApr 2022

  • "Brilliant location."

    Well equipped but some items very worn or "Billy Basic". Lovely comfortablebed.. Cafetiere broken just usable. Ensuite bathrooms very very small Note said enjoy your complementary bottle of prosecco but none was provided!

    Reviewed by AnneMar 2022

  • "We really couldn’t have asked for anything more."

    The location and off road parking was perfect. The house is very well equipped with everything we needed for a relaxing mini break. The beds were comfy and having a hot tub made it extra special. Thank you for making our stay so perfect.

    Reviewed by PaulaFeb 2022

  • "Lovely stay at Mrs Puddleducks."

    Very well situated near the centre of Windermere. It had everything we needed in the kitchen and having a bathroom and bedroom each (3 friends) was really good. A few minor issues, the small bedroom has no storage at all, the door was hanging off the top hinges so wouldnt shut, the shower door was off its bottom rails and some outdoor lights by the hot tub would have been useful as it gets very dark early this time of year. We managed to park at the back but there were no spaces at the front so glad we only had one car.That said these things did not spoil our stay at all and we would definitely stay again

    Reviewed by KarenDec 2021

  • "We stayed as a group of 4 friends and thoroughly enjoyed our stay the 3 bathrooms were a bonus and the cottage had everything we needed and was in a great location."

    Only 15/20 mins stroll into Bowness would definitely stay again

    Reviewed by AndreaOct 2021

  • "Some kitchen utensils need replacing,especially tin opener,and waste of time with TV in basement."

    Otherwise really enjoyed stay.

    Reviewed by PaulSep 2021

  • "We had a fabulous holiday in the Lake District, and Mrs Puddleducks was a perfect location to stay to explore the area."

    Mrs Puddleducks had everything a family needs and was very comfortable throughout. The hot tub at the end of the day was also very much appreciated. Totally recommended property in an amazing location

    Reviewed by RebeccaAug 2021

  • "Fabulous location, excellent facilities in a clean and comfortable home."


    Reviewed by StewartAug 2021

  • "Have just come back from a 4 night stay, property in great location and very clean however very steep stairs, to 1st & top floor, not mentioned in description, Bed was really uncomfortable, mattress protector too small, should mention that extra towels are needed for hot tub, no bath mats in showers, no ice tray, and a laminate saying enjoy your bottle of fizz, on us, no Prosecco in cooler!"

    ! Although according to guest book the occupants before us had there’s!!

    Reviewed by BarbaraJun 2021

  • "The cottage location was great !"

    for the most part the cottage was comfortable except for the bed in one room it had a lump in the middle which made it slope towards the side of the bed therefore struggling to stay in bed so made for not a great nights sleep if a new mattress was in place there would be no negatives at all parking is tight but we do have a large 4x4 so are used to tight spaces the kitchen is well kitted out Hot tub was at 38 degrees it was great after a day out . Only a short walk to all the amenities we used the bus to get to the lake which was easy and only a 2 minute walk to the stop I would advise to book places to eat as area was busy

    Reviewed by LindaJun 2021

  • "The bed in the back bed room was not very comfortable, had a mattress topper on that did not fit."

    Both front and rear doors need to be adjusted, I can only guess at what the neighbours thought every time I had to slam the rear door to close it. Not really a complaint, just something you should know.

    Reviewed by PaulMay 2021

  • "House was clean and comfortable and reasonably well appointed."

    Very good location. Hot tub was good.Small number of issues which could improve. Firstly, we clearly did not read the description closely enough to work out that the cottage is on 3 floors with narrow stairs. We had a 15 month old baby, and were glad of the one stair gate, although two may have been safer. We also did not work out that there is no washing machine and with wet weather, walkers and a baby, that was a distinct disadvantage although the local launderette got a lot of trade from us. Towels were a bit small and the female contingent do like a fluffy towel. Given how clean the cottage was, toilet brushes could do with changing - they were past their best and left more than they removed. Overall, would use it again.

    Reviewed by RobMay 2021

  • "Really great place to stay, central to shops and pubs."

    Super Morden, clean and comfortable. Only criticism is the TVs were not easy to use.

    Reviewed by PhoebeApr 2021

  • "Overall the cottage was as pleasant and as advertised, very clean, well equipped kitchen."

    the only problem we had was the parking. The space at the back of the house was fine, neighbours parked their cars on the road at the back in the evening blocking the exit. This was quite difficult as we have a big car. We also tried to park at the front and there was no chance of this as many other people had parked the cars.

    Reviewed by KellyApr 2021

  • "It's a nice house with good facilities, clean and tidy."

    The hot tub was amazing and as it was raining and windy most of the time we were there it was great to have the canopy and that it was well protected from the wind! We didn't have a car so the location is great for the railway station, buses and the supermarket.

    Reviewed by MichaelDec 2020

  • "Absolutely beautiful little house and spotlessly clean."

    The prosecco in the cooler was a very nice surprise too, thank you! The 3 bedrooms, shower rooms, lounge areas and kitchen were very comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay. Well within walking distance of the lake itself and Bowness too. We had a wonderfully relaxing trip. The only issue we had was upon arrival when we attempted to park round the back of the property (in the advertised “off road parking”) we were unable to do so because of the amount of cars and vans from a nearby business which made it impossible to access the rear parking bay. We managed to get parked at the front and used the parking permit provided at the accommodation, however it is a fairly busy road I think we were lucky to get a space. Just something for the owners, and other guests, to be aware of.

    Reviewed by CharrisOct 2020

  • "Absolutely stunning and immaculately clean."

    The Prosecco in the wine fridge when we arrived was a lovely surprise and very welcomed! Would definitely book again. Hot tub is well maintained and also lovely and clean.

    Reviewed by KatieOct 2020

  • "Well situated cottage in Windermere with everything you need inside, nice little seating area and hot tub out back which gets the afternoon sunshine, all local amenities are just a few minutes walk away with plenty places to dine out “need to book in advance due to covid restrictions” also parking available for 2 cars."

    Reviewed by ColinAug 2020

  • "The Wi-fi could probably do with looking at - the download speed was very poor, which wasn’t great when one of us had to work whilst there."

    Apart from that, everything was great thank you

    Reviewed by CatherineJul 2020

  • "Excellent all round experience"

    Reviewed by CraigJul 2020

  • "Home from home, nice nest to explore the Lake District."

    The hot tub is definitely a bonus. Lots of shops and restaurants just on the doorstep.

    Reviewed by ZsuzsannaJul 2020

  • "Location perfect."

    Shops, bars , restaurants all within a few metres walk. Jacuzzi a bonus at the end of the day . Would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by DonMar 2020

  • "Ease of booking initially."

    SImple App to manage my holiday. GOOD communication at all times. The office staff in Windermere were lovely all greeted us with broad genuine smiles and made the collection of keys etc so simple. The cottage was decorated and had a Xmas tree we thought this was a really nice touch. Comfortable beds with good sized rooms. Hot tub was immaculate and a very nice man came twice to maintain it during our stay.

    Reviewed by MichaelDec 2019

  • "Superb location, though don’t expect real hot tub privacy because of the central location"

    Reviewed by DavidNov 2019

  • "En suites in main bedrooms, modern decor was very impressive, locality to restaurants and shops."

    Reviewed by SylviaJul 2019

  • "Its a little inconvenience not having laundry machine in the house"

    Reviewed by FangJul 2019

  • "Beautifully presented property."

    ,in great location everything u need on your doorstep ,would definitely stay here again ,credit to the owners and all who help towards making the property it is .

    Reviewed by RoyJun 2019

  • "The cottage is lovely, just thing a couple things should be added."

    It would be nice if there there is a curtain across the front door, whilst there we had to but one of the blankets over the door, also all the rooms seem to have TV's with DVD players with the exception of the downstairs living area. Also the ensuite in the front bedroom is very tiny, it's nice that the two top bedrooms have them but the one at the front is tiny and not user friendly. The hot tub is a bonus with this place, however did feel a bit over looked, but that's what you get with a terraced house. The location couldn't be faulted, it was perfect close to town with alot of nice places to eat, drink plus a co-op, sainsburys. The welcome pack was a fantastic touch, we would of liked more details on what's in the area, and even a guest book so that we could of put some recommendations in and see what others would recommend.

    Reviewed by RachelJun 2019

  • "The cottage was beautiful presented and clean on arrival."

    There was a little complimentary surprise on arrival which was lovely and went down with the girl. In general it was a lovely relaxing girly weekend in the beautiful setting of Windermere. The cottage was easy to find, close to the town with everything on your doorstep. Thank you for a lovely stay :)

    Reviewed by EmmaMay 2019

  • "Mrs Puddleduck's was wonderful!"

    We had a fabulous time there, lots of home comforts. Loved the hot tub!!!! The call on Saturday to see if everything was ok was great, other Lakes cottage companies could learn from this!

    Reviewed by KayMay 2019

  • "Gorgeous cottage, close to pubs and shops, loved the layout and the hot tub in the enclosed yard."

    Small detail but it's the first time I've stayed at a self catering cottage and had to go out and buy hand soap for the bathrooms and kitchen. However the cottage was full of charm, we loved the general Beatrix Potter theme and it was a lovely surprise having a bottle of bubbly ready chilled. Would definitely go back.

    Thank you for the great review, we really appreciate your feedback and thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We apologise that the hand soap was not provided on this occasion and we will ensure it continues to be placed inside the property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KarenApr 2019

  • "On arrival the cottage was had a very welcoming feel."

    We loved the complimentary bottle of prosecco which we thoroughly enjoyed. The cottage was spotlessly clean. All the rooms were very spacious and we loved the on suite bathrooms in the 2 upstairs bedrooms even though they were quite small still very adequate. The 2 living areas were very cosy. All bedrooms and living rooms were supplied with Tvs which were all great only feedback I would say is some of the tvs YouTube didn't work but wasn't a problem it was just to let you know. The hot tub was amazing and we were lucky enough to have amazing weather both in the day time and night lovely added feature. The area is very well situated for walks and for places to eat and drink. Overall would definitely recommend this cottage.

    Reviewed by DawnApr 2019

  • "So so so pleased with customer service I received from Sykes , I queried a few things with them and received prompt and friendly replies."

    Stayed at Mrs Puddleducks Cottage , Windermere, beautiful cottage, comfortable, warm , very clean and the hot tub was fab, had an amazing weekend, THANK YOU

    Reviewed by AnaMar 2019

  • "Really lovely cottage, easy to pick up and drop off keys."

    Main problem is the 10am check out time. A 12pm checkout would be much nicer. It was a bit of a stretch getting out on time and was a bit of a downer on our Sunday morning

    Reviewed by JackNov 2018

  • "Nice cottage with well equipped kitchen and comfortable sofas and more spacious than expected as there were 2 living rooms."

    Bathrooms not particularly clean - toilet & sink ok but shower tray was dusty. Matresses on beds were lumpy and uncomfortable.

    Reviewed by MartinAug 2018

  • "Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mrs Puddleducks, very tastefully decorated and ..."

    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mrs Puddleducks, very tastefully decorated and the location was perfect for us as we didn't have a car, would certainly return x

    Reviewed by IsobelJun 2018

  • "Before I become too negative I would like to say the accommodation was ideally situated , clean and ample room, however there were a few things that could be improved."

    There was a note welcoming us with a bottle of wine in cooler it wasn’t there, not an issue but not a good start. We were very disappointed as the accommodation was over three floors and this wasn’t really apparent from the images, this caused a problem as the stairs were quite steep and subsequently quite tiring, especially as kitchen and living area we used were on lower floor and toilet on different floor. Average age 65. Also the television in bedroom at the back didn’t work. The internet service was terrible so limited to choice especially as they had invested in Now tv and it didn’t work. The bed also in main bedroom needs a new mattress as this was very uncomfortable. These issues won’t stop us using Sykes again I hasten to add.

    Reviewed by ChristineMay 2018

  • "Thanks for the bottle of prosecco, nice touch!"

    Was extremely disappointed that the hot tub wasn’t able to be used on our first evening, despite us not arriving until almost 7.30pm. It was only at 28 degrees as it had been treated and cleaned. We had been really building up the excitement for our children for weeks, telling them as soon as we arrive, we’ll jump straight in. They were devastated to not be able to use it as soon as we got there, having to wait for the next morning when it had heated up. We chose this property due to its location and also the hot tub, so feel we’ve missed out on one night of using then main facility we had booked it for.

    Reviewed by CarlaFeb 2018

Show more

This property is part of the Lakes Cottage Holidays collection.
Let Lakes Cottage Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday


  • Over three floors
  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x ground floor bunk bedroom suitable for 2 children or 1 adult & 1 child
  • Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Lower ground floor kitchen with dining area
  • Sitting room.
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent.
  • Bed linen and towels included
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Off road parking for 1 car and parking permit for an additional car
  • Enclosed patio area with garden furniture and hot tub
  • Two well behaved, small dogs allowed
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Note: Max 5 adults - adults to use the bottom bunk only.

The property

Mrs Puddleducks is an enchanting traditional Lakeland stone, mid-terrace, three-storey cottage, refurbished to a high standard and situated in the heart of Windermere.

The cottage can sleep five making it ideal for families or groups of friends who want to enjoy a charming and cosy retreat or explore the Lake Districts spectacular sites of natural beauty.

Boasting the feel of a modern holiday home, Mrs Puddleducks features solid wooden floors throughout.

On the lower ground floor is a diner kitchen, equipped with electric cooker and hob, microwave, dishwasher and fridge.

On the ground floor is the living room features a wall mounted plasma TV with Freeview and DVD player.

The ground floor also hosts a bunk bedroom and a shower room with WC.

On the first floor, there are two double bedrooms which both feature TV’s, en-suite shower rooms and WC.

Wi-Fi is available.

At the rear of the property, French doors lead out onto a patio area and hot tub.

The cottage also has private parking for one car and a parking permit for one additional car.

Being in the centre of Windermere, Mrs Puddleducks has local shops, coffee bars and internationally acclaimed restaurants all on the doorstep.

Situated in the Lake District, guests at Mrs Puddleducks are spoilt for choice with nearby natural sights to see.

Orrest Head offers stunning views of Lake Windermere and the surrounding fells.

School Knott and The Dales Way are also accessible, while Lake Windermere is just a mile away.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £85.

View on map

About the location


Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 8.7 miles.

The twin towns of Bowness and Windermere are both vibrant, fun-filled places set within the splendid scenery of the Lake District. Both towns provide a range of amenities, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes whilst Ambleside offers the additional attraction of a boat ride to Bowness, the Lakeside Aquarium and Beatrix Potter's 'Hill Top House' at Sawrey. Grizedale Forest Park is within easy driving distance and is home to a range of activities including many good walks, mountain biking and the 'Go Ape' adventure park. The region also boasts many National Trust properties as well as a variety of water sports for those who prefer a more adrenaline-fuelled trip. Children will enjoy a trip to the 'World of Beatrix Potter' in Bowness whilst the villages of Grasmere, Coniston Water, Kendal, Keswick and the Lakeland Mountains are all within easy reach.

View more holiday cottages in Windermere

Region Information

Please note: A Good Housekeeping Bond of £85 is applied to this property
Property sleeps 6 BUT MAX 5 ADULTS. no adults in top bunk bed

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas