Secure your Spring 2022 holiday today for just £50

Available on selected breaks taking place between 1st April - 31st May 2022

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 1 minutes ago

Spiral Steps

Thirlmere 21, White Cross Bay near Windermere, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 1068856)

3.5

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Hot Tub Hot tub
  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

16 Customer Reviews

  • "The lodge was excellent."

    Well appointed with a very good hot tub. The shoreline of Windermere is less that 1 minutes walk away. We had a very comfortable stay and would return to this lodge. it was one of the nicest lodges we have used in our many visits to White Cross Bay. In previous years Lake District Lodge Holidays were an excellent provider. Now they have been bought over by Sykes, we have noticed a decline in the quality of service. It is difficult to contact Sykes if there are issues. On arrival we found that we had no heating or hot water. It was impossible to contact Sykes. The helpful site workers at Parkdean (thank you Sophie) tried on our behalf but also could not get through. Parkdean then contacted the lodge owners directly on our behalf and from there the owners facilitated a prompt response to our problem. The issue was resolved after a 24 hour wait which would have been longer without the assistance of Parkdean, who were not obligated to help us. The would make us wary of returning to White Cross Bay which disappoints us as we love coming to the lakes. Also, wifi is very poor across White Cross Bay unless the lodge has dedicated wifi. We could barely get a signal throughout our weeks stay unless we walked to the restaurant.

    Thank you for your valued feedback. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay in the Lakes. We are sorry to learn that you had difficulties contacting our 24 hour service team regards your heating. We are pleased that this did get resolved in a timely manner and you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay. Regarding the wifi, this is provided by the park and outside of our control. We are sorry it impacted your stay and we apologies for any inconvenience caused. We hope that in future we can welcome you back to the Lakes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LornaOct 2021

  • "The lodge was in a great location and very nice except for the ensuite which we didnt use because it wasnt nice."

    Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Noting your comments regarding the en-suite, we can confirm the owners are carrying out a refurb to the en-suite shortly. We do hope you will return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SharonSep 2021

  • "Lovely lodge."

    Great location on the park. Really clean. Love the roof terrace!!

    Thank you for the great comments, Mrs Smith. We agree, Spiral Steps is a lovely lodge and the perfect location for a break in the Lakes. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SamanthaAug 2021

  • "Firstly I would like to say that I couldn’t fault the maintenance service gentlemen who came to fix the broken curtain pole, kitchen light and the hot tub but on a whole this stay was really very disappointing."

    We stayed in a different cabin back in December, booked through Lake District lodge holidays at White Cross Bay so when looking for a summer break I didn’t hesitate to book again through them. This lodge was dated, the cleanliness was severely low considering we are still fighting a global pandemic, I really thought it would be spotless but it sadly wasn’t, even my children noticed how dirty and grubby it was and they are 6 and 9. The cabin also smelt like wet dog and the bathrooms smelt constantly. The facilities in the lodge were also nowhere near as good as the last, and it was just little things like plastic glasses for when eating and drinking outside. I normally feel gutted when a holiday comes to an end but this time I couldn’t wait to get home and this was also echoed by my children. It was just such a shame after how good our visit had been in December.

    We are sorry to hear that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay. As we were not made aware of any cleaning issues whilst you were here we can only say we are sorry. Had you brought your concerns to our attention at the same time of reporting the maintenance issues we would have arranged for these to be put right at the same time. Thank you for now bringing these matters to our attention and we shall certainly pass these on to the cleaning company responsible. On a more positive note we hope that you otherwise enjoyed your stay in the lakes, a beautiful part of the world. Thank you for the review and we hope we welcome you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ZaraAug 2021

  • "The lodge was comfortable enough and clean."

    The en-suite needs upgrading and the floor in the en-suite is in dire need of replacement. The lodge is close to lake but wasn’t keen on the position of it , very overlooked from all angles, especially on the decking and hot tub area. The hot tub it’s self was probably the best we’ve used on the park.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hot tub during your stay. Regarding the en-suite, this is due to be replaced during the quieter months, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the location of Spiral Steps, this location has always been very popular and with the balcony above the lodge, the views are lovely! Maybe this long was not the one for you but we do hope you will return and visit another lodge on our portfolio. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KimberleyJul 2021

  • "It was lovely stay and really good location for walking into windemere."

    The only bad thing was the cleanliness and the lodge wasn’t as modern as we would have expected. The en-suite was uncomfortable but apart from that our stay was lovely.

    Reviewed by AbbyMay 2021

  • "Fab cosy, comfortable lodge with everything you need great hot tub and outside spaces and balcony, enjoyed an early morning cuppa with beautiful views of the mountains in the distance ."

    . park facilities are excellent lovely pub grub and friendly staff .. loved our break, thank you

    Reviewed by KimMay 2021

  • "The lodge was lovely clean & very comfortable."

    However the hoover in the lodge did not pick up anything so could not Hoover iv the lodge all week. Also was advertised as having WiFi but did not specify this was the parks free WiFi which was sporadic at best.

    Reviewed by AmandaApr 2021

  • "Generally the visit was a pleasant experience."

    The lodge was good, clean and had all that you would expect.The hot tub was well maintained( twice a day). Very disappointed with the fact when we bought drinks on the app as opposed to the bar direct there was a What did you enjoy most about your stay? Hot tub What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? The Windermere boat trip

    Ms Helen PicklesSep 2020

  • "Had a lovely stay at Spiral Steps."

    Close to water so easy to get to. Accommodation has quality furnishings and everything needed. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Huge hot tub fan! Located perfectly for our dog walks and access to the Lake. What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Nice lunch out in Grasmere.

    Mrs Nicola BeaversAug 2020

  • "Nice modern fittings."

    Excellent utensil facilities Great shower (we didn't use the en suite) didn't need to Lovely roof terrace especially on a morning Beds comfy We are regular visitors to white cross bay and have stayed in many lodges and caravans, this could be the favourite so far Just the decking was rotten in places What did you enjoy most about your stay? Everything What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? .

    Mrs Zoe BrownJul 2020

  • "A great lodge in a really beautiful location."

    The balcony area and hot tub were a fantastic addition and really made the holiday that extra bit special. What did you enjoy most about your stay? The location and the hot tub. What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? A boat trip on Coniston Lake was very atmospheric.

    Ms Pauline PenmanJul 2020

  • "Lovely comfortable cabin!"

    All we needed as a family to stay happy and content. Kids especially loved the cabin and the seating area on the roof. Although it rained heavily (which couldn What did you enjoy most about your stay? Relaxed environment What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? For younger children the Chocolate factory.

    Miss Hayley HarlingMar 2020

  • "A nice lodge in a good location in the park."

    The hot tub is fantastic - really clean and a perfect temperature. The roof terrace gives some great views of the lake. The lodge did smell ever so slightly of dog when we first arrived. However the lodge is well equipped and there is lots of cupboard space in the kitchen. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Hot tub and roof terrace What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? A walk up Brant Fell in Bowness

    Mrs Samantha SmithJan 2020

  • "We absolutely loved our stay at at spiral steps ."

    The lodge was very different to lodges I have stayed in , the spiral steps are a great feature to the lodge , we had beautiful weather so we actually used the spiral steps to the little area which was a proper sun trap , the lodge was really big and the bath was a added bonus too . Totally going to book again for next year as we loved it .. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Everything What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? A perfect location

    Mrs Karen EwartSep 2019

  • "I know this is a dog friendly lodge We had to get a good air freshener to mask the smell of dogs Decking and outside furniture needed to be cleaned The lodge was well equipped with all that you would need The hot tub was very enjoyable after a long day walking around the area I would recommend this lodge if you was taking dogs with you What did you enjoy most about your stay?"

    Looking and walking around the area What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? The village of grassmere

    Mr Paul GreenJul 2019

Show more

This property is part of the Lake District Lodge Holidays collection.
From the moment you arrive in the Lake District there is a huge choice of activities and things to see as you take in Britain’s latest World Heritage Site – it’s the only National Park to be recognised for such status.

The property

Sprial Steps is a lovely lodge at White Cross Bay, sleeping four people and with its own private hot tub.

The lodge boasts a unique rooftop balcony accessed by a spiral staircase, hence the name Spiral Steps Lodge.

From the balcony you can enjoy spectacular views towards the lake and mountains – a perfect place to enjoy a summer sunset.

Inside the lodge is compact but has all the essentials needed to have a fantastic break.

The living area is a great space to settle down and watch a film, then you walk through to the kitchen/dining area where a delicious meal can be prepared.

Further down the lodge are two bedrooms and a family shower room.

Step outside onto the lower deck where the private hot tub and seating is found and head up to the roof top deck for drinks and al-fresco dining.

White Cross Bay is in a fabulous location, on the shores of Lake Windermere, with views across the water and to the surrounding fells, you are literally in the heart of the Lake District.

Spiral Steps Lodge is a short walk from the waterside where you can head down to the jetties, breathe in the fresh air, and enjoy the views and watch the boats on the marina.

On the Park itself, there is a bar and restaurant with outdoor seating area for dogs, picnic area and children’ play zone.

Note: Some facilities on the park are subject to extra cost such as use of the pool, gym, entertainment, bar and restaurant.

500 yards up the main A591 is Brockhole Lake District Visitor Centre, with a great way to spend a day with gardens, house, café, restaurant, walks, boats, adventure playground and Tree Top Trek: there’s lots to do!

You’re also just two miles from bustling Windermere and three miles from Bowness.

Three miles in the other direction, head to Ambleside and two miles north on the A592 is the pretty village of Troutbeck, home to two traditional pubs with log fires, great food and ales.

Make wonderful memories here at White Cross Bay with your loved ones.

Summary

  • Two Bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x narrow twin, both with storage, family shower room with shower, WC, basin
  • Cosy living area, seperate dining/kitchen area, patio doors leading out onto deck with hot tub and outside furniture
  • A barbecue slab is provided, please bring your own disposable BBQ and dispose of responsibly.
  • Full gas central heating
  • Gas hob and electric oven, fridge/freezer, microwave, electric fire, TV/DVD player
  • TV in master bedroom, TV/DVD player in second bedroom
  • Hot Tub - to be used between 10am and 10pm only
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent (please bring any leisure towels)
  • Parking for two cars
  • Wifi provided by White Cross Bay
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Two dogs welcome, pub and shop onsite 500 yards, village pub and shop two miles
  • Complimentary WiFi is provided by the park and subject to fair usage guidelines, Quality and reliability of connection will vary based on the number of people using it, prevailing weather conditions and therefore may be limited or slower than you are used to, WiFi is for personal use only and is not intended for high data usage, gaming and/or use for business purposes, This is only suitable for page browsing and sending emails, Bookings cannot be accepted if they are solely reliant on the provision of uninterrupted and unlimited Wi-Fi, We are not held responsible or liable for the WiFi on the park
  • If you encounter any issues with the WiFi, please contact Limefitt Park reception
  • Note: For use of the onsite facilities, a complex pass is required, these can be purchased from reception.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

WINDERMERE

Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 8.7 miles.

The twin towns of Bowness and Windermere are both vibrant, fun-filled places set within the splendid scenery of the Lake District. Both towns provide a range of amenities, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes whilst Ambleside offers the additional attraction of a boat ride to Bowness, the Lakeside Aquarium and Beatrix Potter's 'Hill Top House' at Sawrey. Grizedale Forest Park is within easy driving distance and is home to a range of activities including many good walks, mountain biking and the 'Go Ape' adventure park. The region also boasts many National Trust properties as well as a variety of water sports for those who prefer a more adrenaline-fuelled trip. Children will enjoy a trip to the 'World of Beatrix Potter' in Bowness whilst the villages of Grasmere, Coniston Water, Kendal, Keswick and the Lakeland Mountains are all within easy reach.

View more holiday cottages in Windermere

Region Information

Spiral Steps is accessed by 3 steps. The lodge is then all on the same ground floor level. There is a steep spiral staircase to access the rooftop balcony, these may be unsuitable for children or for anyone with mobility issues, caution is advised.

There is insufficient space to fit a travel cot in any of the bedrooms and would have to be placed in the living room area. Please bring your own travel cot and highchair as these are not provided.

White Cross Bay has its own onsite facilities. You will need to purchase a complex pass from reception which includes the use of the pool, gym, entertainment and access to bar and restaurant. The prices are subject to change by park management.

Complimentary WiFi is provided by the park and subject to fair usage guidelines, Quality and reliability of connection will vary based on the number of people using it, prevailing weather conditions and therefore may be limited or slower than you are used to, WiFi is for personal use only and is not intended for high data usage, gaming and/or use for business purposes, This is only suitable for page browsing and sending emails, Bookings cannot be accepted if they are solely reliant on the provision of uninterrupted and unlimited Wi-Fi, We are not held responsible or liable for the WiFi on the park. If you encounter any issues with the WiFi, please contact Limefitt Park reception.

There is a Good Housekeeping Bond of £100 for this property.




Park Rules and Operations – White Cross Bay

All holiday parks are owned and managed by a separate company to ourselves. Lake District Lodge Holidays has no association with the owners of these parks or responsibility for the provision of services they offer. At certain times of year, there maybe a reduction in those services, which is outside of our control.

Commercial vehicles, caravans, camper vans, Hen or Stag parties are not permitted onsite. Dogs must be kept on leads at all times and are not be left alone in the lodges at any point during your stay.

You will be staying on an operational holiday park, which means work may be undertaken from time to time by the park owners during your stay. Although Lake District Lodge Holidays will always try to inform guests in advance if something may impact on a stay and if we have prior knowledge. We cannot be held responsible or accept any liability for park operations of which are outside of our control and which we have no knowledge of.

Any issues relating to a stay at a privately owned lodge should be reported back through Lake District Lodge Holidays as the park are not responsible for managing the lodge or booking for private sublet guests during their stay.


Hot Tubs

For the comfort of other holidays guests we request that noise is kept to a minimum. Usage of the hot tub is between 10am and 10pm only. If you are found to breach these timings then you may be asked to vacate the park with no call for a refund.

All hot tubs are maintained to strict industry standards and HSE guidelines by separate qualified independent contractors on behalf of the property owners. This includes changing the water between guest stays and checking the water condition on a regular basis.

Whilst every effort is made to have a hot tub ready for immediate use by the arrival time stated, this may not always be possible. In such cases the hot tub will usually be ready to use later that day unless otherwise advised. In such cases no compensation or refund is payable unless the hot tub is faulty.

Information about using a hot tub safely is provided at all lodges with a hot tub and on a prominent notice near the tub. All hot tub users should wear an appropriate bathing suit. Usage of a hot tub is at a guests own risk and Lake District Lodge Holidays accepts no liability for anything which may happen to a guest as a direct result of using a hot tub.


This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Off-season
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it