Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 25 View Larger Image
  • The Old Sweet Shop -  - 973652 - photo 1
close

The Old Sweet Shop

Scalford, Leicestershire (Ref. 973652)

4.4

(21 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

21 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely cottage, once warmed up and the fire on, it was very cozy."

    Everything you needed was there. Nice touch with logs and basic essentials. A bit of a problem with closing the main door, very stiff. Enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by BrianFeb 2022

  • "The Old Sweetshop was simply adorable."

    Full of character, very well equipped and we had a very welcome break.

    Reviewed by CliveJan 2022

  • "Lovely property is a quite village."

    Reviewed by RachelNov 2021

  • "We enjoyed a great week’s stay at The Old Sweet Shop."

    House was very clean and comfortable. The owner left coffee, teas, biscuits and crisps for us on arrival, which was lovely. Location is very pretty. The pub opposite is great, food there was excellent. Highly recommend.

    Reviewed by ClaireOct 2021

  • "Lovely locations."

    House very comfortable and has everything you need. Parking can be a problem, but we parked a bit further down the street. The cleanliness of the house needs sorting. Lots of cobwebs, generally clean. But in these times more attention is needed. Beds and bedding very clean and comfortable

    Reviewed by KateOct 2021

  • "I found the Old Sweet Shop to be a lovely property opposite an excellent pub."

    However, it was not as clean and cobweb free as I would have expected especially in these times. It would have been nice to have a potato peeler, I had to go out and buy one. Also a smaller sharp knife would have been useful asI found it very hard to cut carrots and cherry tomatoes with a carving knife. I understand the house can’t be equipped with everything but these are 2 essentials for self catering. A bulb in the lamp next to the bed I slept in would have helped and also one on the stairs. If a bulb is not going to be put in the fitting on the stairs please leave a flash light at the bottom so one can see how to get up the stairs!!! Apart from those points Scalford is well positioned for many outings

    Thank you for your feedback, we do take feedback very seriously and have noted your comments. The kitchen is fully equipped and we will check if these are missing and have replaced. Had we been aware the bulb had blown we could have rectified immediately. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarmenJul 2021

  • "Had a lovely time in the old sweet shop!"

    Clean and excellent facilities! Everything you need for a comfortable stay. Would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by GemmaSep 2020

  • "Wonderful cottage, you literally only need to take clothes, food and drinks because everything else is provided, we only needed to take t towels, dishwasher tablets and wash tablets for the washing machine, it is exactly opposite a pub, the Kings Head, which at the moment due to Covid and outside eating and drinking can be a bit noisy but it didn't bother us, the owner Michael is very helpful and because we had 2 vehicles he let us park one of them in his car park, every night we had take away drinks, because we had a 16 month old with us who likes to go to bed early, the food looked amazing, we didn't eat there due to dietary problems, Coeliac & dairy free and they arent guaranteeing they can do dietary food, which is completely acceptable, we drove to Tesco which is 10 minutes away and bought our own food, there is a 3 drawer freezer & fridge in the cottage, so it was easy to make up some food and freeze it down to get out when needed, easy access to drive to lots of places, Belvoir Castle, Belton House, Rutland waters etc, would highly recommend this cottage and village."

    Reviewed by BeverleyAug 2020

  • "Middle bedroom with twin beds had wasps falling and flying from light fixtures we think the children could hear buzzing through night must have been in loft."

    Nescafé coffee sachets well out of date cleaning wasn’t the best.

    Reviewed by DeniseJul 2020

  • "We had a wonderful relaxing stay at the Old Sweet Shop."

    .. a tastefully decorated cottage in a beautiful village... very characterful! The cottage was very comfortable... beds were perfect! It was thoughtfully and well equipped, from games and dvds to books, even for children... and sweets in sweetie jars! A wonderful base to explore from... the acclaimed Twin Lakes just up the road, The lovely ancient market town of Melton Mowbray with its famous pork pies, National trust properties and Rutland Water all within easy distance. The Owner was so helpful when we needed some advice! We would definitely recommend a stay in this lovely cottage.

    Reviewed by RuthFeb 2020

  • "Charming cottage in beautiful countryside, would stay here again when visiting this part of the UK."

    Reviewed by JaneSep 2019

  • "The location was really good for the activities we had planned."

    The pub across the road was great. The cottage was clean, tidy and well equipped. We found it to be wonderfully quirky with loads of character. Would definately book again and using sykes was pretty straight forward.

    Reviewed by ColinAug 2019

  • "This cottage is on the edge of quite a busy road close to a junction and suffers from a lot of traffic noise."

    There is practically no outdoor space, as mentioned in the description, the rear yard is shared with other households and only a tiny space around the back door is available for use by the cottage. The general standard of cleanliness was very average. I mentioned to the contact that the downstairs floors seemed 'sticky' and although another attempt was made to clean them, there wasn't any improvement. Generally areas which were out of sight were not cleaned. On the positive note, communication with the cottage was good and the general decor and comfort was lovely.

    Reviewed by IanJun 2019

  • "The cottage was lovely and great location opposite a pub."

    It was just as described and all the guests (6 of us in total) were easily accommodated. Will visit again.

    Reviewed by LaurieJun 2019

  • "- no cottage 'handbook' in the cottage - just an emailed version which wasn't easy to access while on holiday, as it wouldn't open on my phone."

    - heating - the cottage was chilly when we arrived. The radiators came on intermittently so we thought it would settle down. The cottage 'handbook' proved to be incorrect (out of date) with regard to the heating system, so nothing we tried helped the problem. Next morning was VERY cold. The problem was sorted by email correspondence with the owner. - there were no logs provided for the fire (which would have helped with the temperature . . ) I texted the caretaker who said they weren't provided as standard - just kindling. (Now at home, I have checked the cottage details on Sykes website, which said that a starter pack of fuel for the log burner would be provided.) - the cottage sleeps 6 but there are only 4 seats in the sitting room. Awkward! - cleanliness. The cottage was superficially clean but some corners were grimy, especially in the kitchen and bathroom. There was old food in the freezer. The washing-up sponge provided was clearly not new. Crumbs on worktops and in bread bin and cupboards. - several light bulbs were not working. We reported a problem with the bathroom light which became apparent late on the arrival night. (I texted the caretaker next morning.) The bathroom light flashed on and off in a nightmare fashion, so that use of the bathroom at night was very difficult and unpleasant. This problem had not been fixed when we left. - overall, we still enjoyed our stay, but it should have been so much better. - our previous experience with Sykes Cottages this year was superb (Little Owl, Market Rasen)

    Thank you for your feedback, we have spoke to the owner of The Old Sweet shop and are working to ensure the issues you have highlighted are rectified. It is unfortunate that you left, dissatisfied with your stay. We also value feedback and use this to ensure descriptions of properties are detailed and correct. Please contact us if you have any more to add, our lines are open 7 days a week. 9-7pm. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PenelopeMar 2019

  • "Just a couple of points."

    ....some bins contained rubbish from previous occupants. It would have been nice for some milk to be available to go with complimentary teas and coffees. Also as discussed parking situation needs to be made clearer...although pub were very obliging regarding allowing us to park on their front. On the whole though we had a lovely weekend.

    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear some of the rubbish was still in the bins, these are external bins and if it has not been the bin collection day yet, I am unable to prevent this. With regards to the milk this was an oversight and I apologise for this. The parking is roadside and you are able to park in front of the property. Once again, thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by VickiJan 2019

  • "I booked over the phone as I had problems making the payment on line."

    I found them very helpful and friendly. The cottage we chose was perfect. It was spacious, well maintained & comfy. So many little touches that made it feel like home. would definitely book again if we go to this area again.

    Reviewed by NormaAug 2018

  • "Best place we stayed in a month in the uk"

    Thank you very much for your feedback. It would be lovely to have you back in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarolineJun 2018

  • "WE had a good time the property met our expectations the location was fot our purposes ideal indeed we may be tempted to return in the future."

    Reviewed by GaryJun 2018

  • "The Old Sweet Shop was a perfect location for a group of friends and their kids to meet for a catch up."

    The cottage was full of character and decorated/furnished beautifully. Lots of care had gone into making sure that we had everything we needed for our stay. The owners communication in the lead up to our stay was brilliant. The location was fantastic to explore the local area and the kids play park a couple of minutes walk and the pub across the road with a wonderful beer garden was a bonas! We would definitely recommend The Old Sweet Shop

    Thank you do much for your feedback. It was lovely to have you stay and we would love to have you back in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LucyMay 2018

  • "We had a lovely holiday at The Old Sweet Shop."

    The cottage was so well presented with beautiful homely interior decoration. The beds were super comfy. Fantastic Pub directly opposite too. We’d recommend.

    Thank you so much for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It would be lovely to have you back in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NathanMar 2018

Show more

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 2 x king-size (zip/link, can be twin upon request), 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen with breakfast bar
  • Dining room with woodburner. Sitting room with woodburner
  • Travel Cot & Highchair
  • Gas central heating with woodburners.Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for fire inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent.Travel cot and Highchair available
  • Lockable bike storage
  • Parking on the courtyard is not permitted, roadside parking only
  • Access to property through shared courtyard
  • Two dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Small shop and pub 2 mins walk.

The property

This heart-warming semi-detached cottage is situated in the village of Scalford in Leicestershire, with a homely interior perfect for you and your loved ones.

Whether you are planning a romantic break or a holiday with the family, this retreat offers a comfortable base to begin your getaway in style.

The kitchen has been modernised with a breakfast...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £125.

View on map

About the location

SCALFORD

Grantham 13 miles; Oakham 13 miles.

Scalford is a small village located 4 miles to the north of Melton Mowbray. Melton Mowbray is the Rural Capital of Food hosting a variety of annual food events and festivals. The locality is famous for it’s pork pies and cheeses such as Long Clawson Stilton. The village retains many amenities and has a good community spirit. Facilities include a popular village pub, a preschool which the school has close links with, and a Post Office. The village hall is surrounded by a playing field and hosts many community events and is also used extensively by the school. There is a Methodist Chapel and St Egelwins Church within the community. Both are used by the school for concerts and services throughout the year. Scalford is also equidistant between Leicester and Nottingham, whilst Grantham is a short journey on the A607. Oakham, and Stamford can be easily accessed for its magnificent Georgian architecture, niche shopping as well as beautiful riverside meadows. Days out and activities locally could include: Twinlakes Park – All Action All Weather Family Theme Park only 3 miles away.
Melton Theatre, or Regal Cinema – Melton’s much loved, historic, independent art deco cinema. Leicester’s National Space Centre, Donington Park Motor Racing and various fishing lakes local to Scalford with a choice of many country footpaths ideal for dog walking, right on the doorstep.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas