In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lincolnshire 30 minutes ago

4 people have recently viewed this property

Moggs Retreat

Chapel St Leonards, Lincolnshire (Ref. 1010767)

3.8

Good

Sykes rating

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor accommodation
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor bedroom
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

22 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely little place in a lovely location."

    Only issue only issues we had were with the bath and the neighbours!! Very difficult to get the temperature right when using the shower attachment, hot water doesn’t last for long when running a bath. We got used to it by the end. One neighbour clearly doesn’t like that people use it as a holiday home, very rude on more than one occasion, even left notes on our door about leaving our dogs alone even though I was at the property all day with a migraine and it was my wife and children who had gone out. Clearly a unhappy woman, I would find it very difficult to be so miserable if I lived in such a lovely location.

    Reviewed by BenOct 2021

  • "Love the setting, it is so so peaceful."

    Moggs Retreat totally suits our needs. Our dogs would thank you too! We shall hopefully return.

    Reviewed by PamelaOct 2021

  • "A modification to bathroom to accommodate a proper electric shower would improve the property There was not enough chairs to accommodate 5 persons either at table or to sit to watch tv etc."

    Very clean property

    Reviewed by JulieSep 2021

  • "The accommodation was really good."

    The one thing letting it down for me was the lack of a shower. If this was stated in the description I must have missed it. Apart from that we loved it.

    Reviewed by JulieAug 2021

  • "Short on dishes in the kitchen for cooking eg Casserole and large frying pans."

    Not having a shower was difficult, but we managed ok. Thank you.

    Reviewed by HelenAug 2021

  • "We have visited previously, we can already see the improvements these owners are doing by reading the feedback."

    It is a great place to stay, the bench is a welcome improvement in the garden so you don't need to pack outdoor furniture. We wouldn't hesitate to look for next year as it's perfect for dogs!

    Reviewed by JessicaJul 2021

  • "Very expensive at over £500 for two nights in a 40 year old chalet!"

    It needs an electric shower too! Otherwise it was well kept and equipped , tidy and clean and in a beautiful quiet location near to stunning beaches. Just costly for a family.

    Reviewed by JanetJun 2021

  • "Let down by cleaners, and lots of bits of damage."

    Whole quavers on the carpet in the livingroom. The sofa and chair had small crumbs/bits on them. Dried food on the microwave. The metal shelves in the oven had stuck on food on them. The kettle was really chalky. One of the wooden chairs is split, I just spotted it before sitting down. (Later I saw a review stating this from last August). A large chunk gauged out of the livingroom door. There was a plastic loop (from a piece of clothing), on the floor next to the bed. In the small wardrobe was a dirty duvet taking up half of the wardrobe space. (There is just one wardrobe, one chest of 3 drawers and one bedside table in the whole 3 bedroom property). There was also a gauge on the wardrobe door. The large plastic section on the fridge door (for holding milk and bottles), had a piece broken off. So it could not be used, as the holder would not stay in place. The hoover has not been used or emptied from the last visitors. Rubbish wheelie bin was overflowing. Emailed cleaners who did not respond. Owner had rubbish collected day before we came home. Before it was lovely and clean, lots of damage has occurred in just a year. New garden bench was lovely.

    Reviewed by HeatherJun 2021

  • "We had a lovley stay in a lovley location very friendly locals."

    Just a couple of things I'd suggest would be to install a shower,fit a new toilet seat and an outsie patio set would be ideal.But all in all a lovley little place.

    Reviewed by DebraJun 2021

  • "Location excellent, really enjoyed the week."

    Only complaint is lack of garden furniture.

    Reviewed by AlisonMay 2021

  • "Exceptionally well presented chalet, spotlessly clean and cosy."

    BUT no way would this be suitable for 5 adults. The property needs mirrors, there is only one small mirror in the bathroom and an even smaller one in one of the bedrooms. Maybe add full length mirror to back of doors. Only one tiny wardrobe in whole property which will not hang full length garments, so where do occupants of rooms 2 and 3 hang their stuff and store suitcases etc? No access to garden except going out the front door and through gate. No baking trays in kitchen had to go out and buy one. I would also not recommend this property to anyone who has mobility issues, bath has no handles making it difficult to get out of, beds are really low making them difficult to get out of also. I left a day early desperate for bath or shower, wash not the same somehow. Despite all that I enjoyed my stay, really peaceful and well situated for the beach and walking. Food at PoppasBar really good. Friendly mostly unspoiled place.

    Reviewed by GillMay 2021

  • "We arrived to a clean, well presented bungalow."

    Everything in the pictures was quite clear so we knew what to expect with the bungalow layout, outside fencing and location. This is a perfect place for a break, they have really put effort into decorating each room to give it the 'seaside effect', as well as comfort. I stayed here with my mother and 2 labradors. There was enough room for us all, and we were glad that we found somewhere that accepts 2 dogs as most don't. There is space in the front room area as Kitchen and lounge is in open layout. Yes there is fencing so you need to walk out the door to the back garden but it was fine for us as dogs are well behaved, the garden is lovely fair bit of grass for sitting. Location: It's a 5 minute walk from the beach. Lovely beach cafe down the road. The street is a quiet bungalow area, everyone friendly, says hello. I would definitely recommend and we have actually booked again for this year.

    Reviewed by JessicaMay 2021

  • "What lovely place clean and tidy acomadation the beaches are really nice and ..."

    What lovely place clean and tidy acomadation the beaches are really nice and very clean with lots of walking paths and cycling shops are local to very relaxing place

    Reviewed by JohnSep 2020

  • "It was much too small, and no direct access to garden."

    No shower just a bath in a cramped bathroom. Not suitable for those with mobility issues. The appliances did not indicate they were PAT tested which I thought was a requirement for holiday rentals. The garden although nice had no garden furniture if you wanted to enjoy it. With there being only one way in at the front, no access to to let our dogs directly into the garden and we had to put them on their leads every time just to let them into it. Little or no storage for clothes and suitcases. Although it was listed as up to five people, there was only a table with four chairs. It was a quiet and pleasant location, and the bungalow was nicely decorated and living area comfortable. In my and my husbands opinion, the single room if funds allowed should be scrapped and an additional door and lobby could be put there, that way direct access to the garden would be available. We think sadly this only suitable for maybe a couple or at most three people for a long weekend.

    Reviewed by OlwynSep 2020

  • "We had such a wet rainy week which I know happens a lot in the uk however there were no drying facilities, not even an airer, to dry our wet clothes and wet towels."

    So most of the week we had to wear soggy coats, shoes, clothes and dry ourselves on soggy towels! When we arrived we found items of clothing and toys on back of doors and under beds that were obviously left from previous guests. There were also a few things damaged when we also got there, a hole in the room door, a table chair was broken and the 1970’s shower holder had ripped off the wall and was in the tub when we arrived. Instructions on how to use the emersion weren’t left, I was just happy I had a clue on how to use it from when I was a child. Other than the above Moggs retreat was nice and comfortable, I just think it needs some modernising.

    Many thanks for your review, we are sorry that you had such a rainy week and we have taken your point about drying facilities onboard. As you are aware, its quite a small property so we can’t install a tumble dryer but we will provide a clothes airer for future guests. However, with regards to the damage to the towel rail, we were in the property just before you arrived and can assure you that it was OK when we left. We also didn’t notice any clothes that had been left by the previous guests and neither did the cleaners who attended after we left. Going forward they will check to ensure that there are no personal items hidden away as part of their process. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LindseyAug 2020

  • "Really lovely and quiet place to have a break and great to be 5 minutes away from the beach."

    The holiday let was really good comfortable

    Reviewed by IanAug 2020

  • "The chalet was nice in side and well equipped."

    The only down point was that all the plates and bowls were chipped. So we brought disposable plates to eat off as werent happy eating off chipped plates.

    Reviewed by JoannaJul 2020

  • "Could do with a proper shower, and bedrooms are very small but comfortable and well decorated."

    Probably more suited for upto 3 guests than 5 though. Lovely beach nearby.

    Reviewed by HeatherJul 2020

  • "The cottage was in good condition but could have been improved by the following: 1."

    The front door was difficult to lock 2. One bedroom door would not close 3, Because of the wide difference in hot and cold water pressures it was impossible to use the shower attachment provided. Provision of a permanent shower would have greatly increased our comfort- especially for my wife who is disabled.

    Reviewed by MichaelFeb 2020

  • "Fantastic little home from home."

    Everything you need. Comfortable for 2/3 people only though even though it sleeps 5 But it’s clean and well presented and fantastic location. The nearby beach is beautiful. We took out two sprinters snd they loved the beach. Would defiantly recommend

    Reviewed by LorraineJan 2020

  • "A very basic and very small property."

    Bedrooms are tiny. Only a small sofa and one chair in lounge/kitchen, only suitable for 3 people to sit. No central heating, just very small plug in radiators. The garden is NOT dog friendly from a security perspective, it is enclosed at the sides by neighbours fences but not secure along the bottom, there is no fence and there is a large open gap which allows direct access to field. You can only access the garden via coming out of the front door and then through side gate.

    Reviewed by MelonyNov 2019

  • "Well equipped and very quiet area."

    Reviewed by SteveOct 2019

Show more

The property

Chapel St Leonards 4 miles.

This cosy single-storey property is located in the little hamlet of Anderby Creek, 4 miles from the village of Chapel St Leonards, on the Lincolnshire coast.

Moggs Retreat is a delightful getaway, perfect for families or those looking for a quiet base which is close to the amenities of Skegness and also the Lincolnshire Wolds AONB.

This all-ground-floor property comes with three well-presented bedrooms, each boasting a refreshing colour palette, ample storage space and plush bedding.

Look forward to relaxing in the sitting room, where you and your loved ones can curl up on the sofa which rests in front of an electric fire.

The open-plan living area is also comprised of the well-equipped kitchen, dressed in a nautical colour scheme, and a dining area.

To the outside are lawned areas which stretch around the side and rear of the property, providing enough space for the children and dog to play freely.

The local area of Anderby Creek is a peaceful and tranquil location, with the main attraction being the long stretch of sandy beach and sand dunes.

It is situated in Lincolnshire’s Coastal Park, an incorporates the England Coast Path that runs next to Moggs Retreat.

There is a beach café with a beer garden, and a further two pubs and a launderette on the main street.

Also, you will find the cloud watching outpost where you can relax and study the sky and watch the passing clouds.

Or you can walk to the Round and Round House, a bird hide in the sand dunes, and observe the views of the coast or the marshlands behind where you will see a variety of species of wildlife.

Also at Anderby Creek is Longways Lakeside Fishing Lake, for anyone who enjoys a spot of fishing!

Chapel St Leonards is a delightful village which offers a small Co-Op and Post Office, as well as a wonderful Animal Farm, which is perfect for a day out with the kids!

The lively resort of Skegness can be found 10 miles away, offering several attractions and amenities, including a Seal Sanctuary, Aquarium, Theme Park and the fun-filled pier.

Outdoor lovers might fancy exploring the Lincolnshire Wolds, an area of outstanding natural beauty which is popular for walking and cycling.

Ideally positioned for exploring all the delights of the North East of England, Moggs Retreat promises a memorable holiday with your loved ones.

Summary

  • All-ground-floor
  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living area with kitchen, dining and sitting area with electric fire
  • Electric heaters with electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, TV with Freeview and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Lawned garden
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 4.2 miles, pub 1.5 miles
  • Note: Opening to fields at the rear of the garden, please watch children and pets
  • Note: Garden is accessed via exiting the front door and entering through the side gate
  • Please note: The living area at this property is compact, may be most suited to 2-3 adults.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

CHAPEL ST LEONARDS

Skegness 6.5 miles; Mablethorpe 10 miles

The quaint little village of Chapel St Leonards is situated on the Lincolnshire coast, seven miles from the popular resort of Skegness. The village centre is bursting with traditional shops, local family pubs and a variety of restaurants and cafes. The beautiful long sandy beaches and sand dunes are the perfect place to relax, with brightly painted beach huts adding to the appeal of this charming village. Chapel St Leonards boasts a good leisure centre, where families can hire motorboats, quad bikes, play crazy golf or simply go fishing. Each year there is the Chapel Carnival Parade, which includes an array of creative floats and activities on the Village Green, complete with a fireworks display on the promenade. Fantasy Island Theme Park in Ingoldmells is just three miles away, and the vibrant larger resorts of Skegness and Mablethorpe are worth visiting.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it