Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 34 View Image Gallery
  • Moggs Retreat - Lincolnshire - 1010767 - photo 1
close

Moggs Retreat

(Ref. 1010767)

Chapel St Leonards, Lincolnshire Show on map

4.1

Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • shower (18)
  • lovely (15)
  • beach (15)
  • door (14)
  • only (14)
  • clean (13)

43 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely little place to stay, clean, bright and airy, nicely decorated and pleasant furnishings."

    Ideal for a couple or with small children. Great walks for dogs and very handy at just a stones throw from the beach. Everything you would want - my only comment is I prefer a shower to a bath but that’s just my preference. would definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by Sue4.4Mar 2024

  • "My main concern is the lock on the door, many problems opening and closing, has ..."

    My main concern is the lock on the door, many problems opening and closing, has mentioned a few times in guest book since last year, as this is the only exit, very dangerous in case of fire, secondly chips in crockery, not very hygienic, and thirdly would benefit from a privacy lock on bathroom door

    Reviewed by Sheila4.7Feb 2024

  • "The door was difficult to open and shut I noticed it had been reported last October."

    Could do with a shower and a fridge with an ice box.

    Reviewed by Nadine2.8Jan 2024

  • "Cute little chalet down a quiet lane."

    Sea within 2 mins walk. Lovely and clean just a tad tired looking. Had everything you needed for a week. Plenty of heaters as it was freezing while we stayed. Now shower, my husband took our camping shower. Could do with handle to get out of bath(knee replacement) towels etc provided. Cafe/shop/bar close by and Creeks Tavern was lovely and friendly. 6 mile round trip along beach to Chapel St Lenard and lovely friendly beach bar called Admiral Benbow. Also a lovely observatory that did coffee etc. would be fab if had a washing machine and shower but I would definitely go again.

    Reviewed by Sarah3.4Jan 2024

  • "Great difficulty with the front door both opening and closing and locking it."

    Felt like something might break. Otherwise excellent

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Oct 2023

  • "Another great stay."

    We've booked again for next year, love this place!

    Reviewed by Jessica5.0Aug 2023

  • "We drove up the quiet road and opened the door and were delighted with the cleanliness and layout."

    This felt like a home and we settled in quickly. The path to the beach is literally round the corner. Everything was provided though a small freezer would be an excellent idea. The garden was wonderful for sitting in after a day at the beach. We had a wonderful week and have booked for next year.

    Reviewed by Geraldine5.0Aug 2023

  • "Moths Retreat was a great holiday home for a fun beach holiday."

    We loved its location and ease to get to the beach. The home was very comfortable, clean and lovely & quiet. The single bed was a bit bumpy but it didn’t matter as our grandson just moved into the other VERY comfy double bed. We’d certainly like to go again

    Reviewed by Leigh5.0Jul 2023

  • "No shower , access to garden from front door only , beach and shops and pub long walk ,in ending you have to be very fit to enjoy this type of holiday not for us sorry ."

    Reviewed by Paul2.8Jun 2023

  • "We had a great time once again, at Moggs Retreat."

    The addition of the picnic bench and folding chairs in the garden improved the holiday. We sat on the roof terrace at the Boatshed cafe at Huttoft and looked out to the lifeboat shed and the sea . We had a great day out at Mablethorpe Seal Sanctuary and Wildlife Park and we had lovely food in their cafe. We do not mind the absence of a shower at the property as we prefer a bath after a day's walking along the coast.

    Reviewed by Bernadette4.4Jun 2023

  • "Very happy holiday."

    We visited with 2 adults, 1 baby (5 months) and a dog. Had everything we needed, I've been here twice and I can see in the past year the improvements have been made, there is now outdoor seating, a patio area, a new table and chairs set in the kitchen. Perfect location, safe for babies and dogs. We will visit again!

    Reviewed by Jessica5.0May 2023

  • "Lovely little holday home."

    Really clean and well equipt. Plenty of towels and cleaning products, loo roll bin bags etc which isn't always the case with these type of lets. The location was great. Beach was only a 2 minute walk away. The beach cafe serves delicious food with little shop selling buckets and spades and seaside bits and bobs. Only a short drive to sutton-on-sea, Mablethorpe and skegness. Plenty to do around there. The beds were very comfortable and the decor made it feel fresh and homely. My 4 year old loved seeing the bunnies in the field out the bedroom window. Friendly locals. We had a great time and would love to go back.

    Reviewed by Charlotte5.0May 2023

  • "Had lovely few days at moggs retreat ."

    Cottage was nice and clean. 5 min walk to the beach, which the dogs could go on. Bed was a little firm could have done with a mattress topper, but wouldn't stop us returning for another visit

    Reviewed by Susan4.4May 2023

  • "Pros Lovely cosy cottage ideal for our needs."

    Beautiful beach walks only two mins away. Although it was really cold at the time of our visit it didn’t take long for the cottage to warm up. Cons hot water pressure in the kitchen was poor Hooks st the door for coats would be very useful No wooden spoon These cons are no real reflection of the cottage. It was really peaceful and quiet and I’d recommend it to anyone seeking just that.

    Reviewed by Fiona5.0Jan 2023

  • "We were very happy with the accommodation in general it was just what we wanted."

    The cooking facilities were just right. The limitations of the property were well described so we had no issues with the bathroom or garden access. We coped well taking our dog. I would just say that one of the mattresses was not as comfortable as the other two as the springs were felt, given we used all three bedrooms for one night this could have been more problematic. The cleaners I think missed the fact that a dog had been present on a previous visit and the sofa had many dog hairs on. We cleaned the sofa ourselves, problem solved. It did not spoil our stay just something to be aware of. Thanks very much we may well return.

    Reviewed by Geraldine3.4Sep 2022

  • "This is the perfect place to stay if you have dogs."

    The beaches are excellent and right on the doorstep. The location is so quiet and you are not disturbed by noise. Dog bins are close at hand and we took our rubbish to the bins on the sea front every day.The only thing i would say is that due to the lack of plugs in the bedrooms it would be nice to have a light over the bed.

    Reviewed by David4.7Sep 2022

  • "We found the cottage claustrophobic the beds were uncomfortable and the bedding too furry and hot The cottage was for up to 5 people but in our opinion was only big enough for us( 2 adults 1small dog) Beds were pushed to wall so were difficult to get in without climbing over my husband to get out at nighttime I slept on the saggy settee for 2 nights The springs on The 2 seater settee and 1 chair made it difficult to get up as it sloped backwards The small back garden was untidy with rubbish down one side The facilities were clean and fine except for I found a very dirty oven tray in the cupboard under sink “Witch we had not used!"

    !! This cottage needs an update and in our opinion is not up to tha standard we have seen from many Sykes holiday cottages we have stayed in Anderby Creek is a nice place and we would go ther again but not to this cottage,We did enjoy the area Sorry for bad review but it was the worst cottage we have stayed in Caz

    Reviewed by Carol1.9Aug 2022

  • "Not very disability friendly, (could not get in the bath,it could do with a shower instead of a bath) bedrooms very tight on space,we had to ring to get the bin emptied when we arrived, and after 2 weeks bin was over flowing again but no one came to empty in the second week."

    it does warn in the details that it is small but should not be classed as suitable for 5 people

    Reviewed by Jacquie2.2Jul 2022

  • "A lovely Chalet Bungalow at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac with a narrow path to the back lane and beach."

    Everyone is very friendly including those people that live there. Our neighbour even gave us a jar of her homemade jam! Dogs are most welcome - Everyone seems to have one! The Bungalow is well equipped, well maintained, with lawns front and rear. A welcome addition would be patio furniture? We will definitely stay here again!

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Jul 2022

  • "It was a fab stay at a gorgeous location …Moggs Retreat was perfect."

    The description and reviews clearly stated what was there. Thank you for a great holiday

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Jul 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay."

    The rooms were comfortable and the living room was cosy. Perfect location for Anderby creek beach which is one of our favourites. I’d just say similar to others about the access to the garden and the shower attachment wasn’t great. Those amendments would really make the stay perfect. But we otherwise had a lovely stay thank you. Kate, Dan, Joey and Tommy

    Reviewed by Katie4.1Apr 2022

  • "Lovely little place in a lovely location."

    Only issue only issues we had were with the bath and the neighbours!! Very difficult to get the temperature right when using the shower attachment, hot water doesn’t last for long when running a bath. We got used to it by the end. One neighbour clearly doesn’t like that people use it as a holiday home, very rude on more than one occasion, even left notes on our door about leaving our dogs alone even though I was at the property all day with a migraine and it was my wife and children who had gone out. Clearly a unhappy woman, I would find it very difficult to be so miserable if I lived in such a lovely location.

    Reviewed by Ben3.8Oct 2021

  • "Love the setting, it is so so peaceful."

    Moggs Retreat totally suits our needs. Our dogs would thank you too! We shall hopefully return.

    Reviewed by Pamela4.7Oct 2021

  • "A modification to bathroom to accommodate a proper electric shower would improve the property There was not enough chairs to accommodate 5 persons either at table or to sit to watch tv etc."

    Very clean property

    Reviewed by Julie4.1Sep 2021

  • "The accommodation was really good."

    The one thing letting it down for me was the lack of a shower. If this was stated in the description I must have missed it. Apart from that we loved it.

    Reviewed by Julie4.4Aug 2021

  • "Short on dishes in the kitchen for cooking eg Casserole and large frying pans."

    Not having a shower was difficult, but we managed ok. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Aug 2021

  • "We have visited previously, we can already see the improvements these owners are doing by reading the feedback."

    It is a great place to stay, the bench is a welcome improvement in the garden so you don't need to pack outdoor furniture. We wouldn't hesitate to look for next year as it's perfect for dogs!

    Reviewed by Jessica5.0Jul 2021

  • "Very expensive at over £500 for two nights in a 40 year old chalet!"

    It needs an electric shower too! Otherwise it was well kept and equipped , tidy and clean and in a beautiful quiet location near to stunning beaches. Just costly for a family.

    Reviewed by Janet3.8Jun 2021

  • "Let down by cleaners, and lots of bits of damage."

    Whole quavers on the carpet in the livingroom. The sofa and chair had small crumbs/bits on them. Dried food on the microwave. The metal shelves in the oven had stuck on food on them. The kettle was really chalky. One of the wooden chairs is split, I just spotted it before sitting down. (Later I saw a review stating this from last August). A large chunk gauged out of the livingroom door. There was a plastic loop (from a piece of clothing), on the floor next to the bed. In the small wardrobe was a dirty duvet taking up half of the wardrobe space. (There is just one wardrobe, one chest of 3 drawers and one bedside table in the whole 3 bedroom property). There was also a gauge on the wardrobe door. The large plastic section on the fridge door (for holding milk and bottles), had a piece broken off. So it could not be used, as the holder would not stay in place. The hoover has not been used or emptied from the last visitors. Rubbish wheelie bin was overflowing. Emailed cleaners who did not respond. Owner had rubbish collected day before we came home. Before it was lovely and clean, lots of damage has occurred in just a year. New garden bench was lovely.

    Reviewed by Heather2.5Jun 2021

  • "We had a lovley stay in a lovley location very friendly locals."

    Just a couple of things I'd suggest would be to install a shower,fit a new toilet seat and an outsie patio set would be ideal.But all in all a lovley little place.

    Reviewed by Debra4.1Jun 2021

  • "Location excellent, really enjoyed the week."

    Only complaint is lack of garden furniture.

    Reviewed by Alison4.1May 2021

  • "Exceptionally well presented chalet, spotlessly clean and cosy."

    BUT no way would this be suitable for 5 adults. The property needs mirrors, there is only one small mirror in the bathroom and an even smaller one in one of the bedrooms. Maybe add full length mirror to back of doors. Only one tiny wardrobe in whole property which will not hang full length garments, so where do occupants of rooms 2 and 3 hang their stuff and store suitcases etc? No access to garden except going out the front door and through gate. No baking trays in kitchen had to go out and buy one. I would also not recommend this property to anyone who has mobility issues, bath has no handles making it difficult to get out of, beds are really low making them difficult to get out of also. I left a day early desperate for bath or shower, wash not the same somehow. Despite all that I enjoyed my stay, really peaceful and well situated for the beach and walking. Food at PoppasBar really good. Friendly mostly unspoiled place.

    Reviewed by Gill3.4May 2021

  • "We arrived to a clean, well presented bungalow."

    Everything in the pictures was quite clear so we knew what to expect with the bungalow layout, outside fencing and location. This is a perfect place for a break, they have really put effort into decorating each room to give it the 'seaside effect', as well as comfort. I stayed here with my mother and 2 labradors. There was enough room for us all, and we were glad that we found somewhere that accepts 2 dogs as most don't. There is space in the front room area as Kitchen and lounge is in open layout. Yes there is fencing so you need to walk out the door to the back garden but it was fine for us as dogs are well behaved, the garden is lovely fair bit of grass for sitting. Location: It's a 5 minute walk from the beach. Lovely beach cafe down the road. The street is a quiet bungalow area, everyone friendly, says hello. I would definitely recommend and we have actually booked again for this year.

    Reviewed by Jessica5.0May 2021

  • "What lovely place clean and tidy acomadation the beaches are really nice and ..."

    What lovely place clean and tidy acomadation the beaches are really nice and very clean with lots of walking paths and cycling shops are local to very relaxing place

    Reviewed by John4.7Sep 2020

  • "It was much too small, and no direct access to garden."

    No shower just a bath in a cramped bathroom. Not suitable for those with mobility issues. The appliances did not indicate they were PAT tested which I thought was a requirement for holiday rentals. The garden although nice had no garden furniture if you wanted to enjoy it. With there being only one way in at the front, no access to to let our dogs directly into the garden and we had to put them on their leads every time just to let them into it. Little or no storage for clothes and suitcases. Although it was listed as up to five people, there was only a table with four chairs. It was a quiet and pleasant location, and the bungalow was nicely decorated and living area comfortable. In my and my husbands opinion, the single room if funds allowed should be scrapped and an additional door and lobby could be put there, that way direct access to the garden would be available. We think sadly this only suitable for maybe a couple or at most three people for a long weekend.

    Reviewed by Olwyn2.8Sep 2020

  • "We had such a wet rainy week which I know happens a lot in the uk however there were no drying facilities, not even an airer, to dry our wet clothes and wet towels."

    So most of the week we had to wear soggy coats, shoes, clothes and dry ourselves on soggy towels! When we arrived we found items of clothing and toys on back of doors and under beds that were obviously left from previous guests. There were also a few things damaged when we also got there, a hole in the room door, a table chair was broken and the 1970’s shower holder had ripped off the wall and was in the tub when we arrived. Instructions on how to use the emersion weren’t left, I was just happy I had a clue on how to use it from when I was a child. Other than the above Moggs retreat was nice and comfortable, I just think it needs some modernising.

    Many thanks for your review, we are sorry that you had such a rainy week and we have taken your point about drying facilities onboard. As you are aware, its quite a small property so we can’t install a tumble dryer but we will provide a clothes airer for future guests. However, with regards to the damage to the towel rail, we were in the property just before you arrived and can assure you that it was OK when we left. We also didn’t notice any clothes that had been left by the previous guests and neither did the cleaners who attended after we left. Going forward they will check to ensure that there are no personal items hidden away as part of their process. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lindsey3.4Aug 2020

  • "Really lovely and quiet place to have a break and great to be 5 minutes away from the beach."

    The holiday let was really good comfortable

    Reviewed by Ian4.4Aug 2020

  • "The chalet was nice in side and well equipped."

    The only down point was that all the plates and bowls were chipped. So we brought disposable plates to eat off as werent happy eating off chipped plates.

    Reviewed by Joanna4.1Jul 2020

  • "Could do with a proper shower, and bedrooms are very small but comfortable and well decorated."

    Probably more suited for upto 3 guests than 5 though. Lovely beach nearby.

    Reviewed by Heather4.7Jul 2020

  • "The cottage was in good condition but could have been improved by the following: 1."

    The front door was difficult to lock 2. One bedroom door would not close 3, Because of the wide difference in hot and cold water pressures it was impossible to use the shower attachment provided. Provision of a permanent shower would have greatly increased our comfort- especially for my wife who is disabled.

    Reviewed by Michael4.4Feb 2020

  • "Fantastic little home from home."

    Everything you need. Comfortable for 2/3 people only though even though it sleeps 5 But it’s clean and well presented and fantastic location. The nearby beach is beautiful. We took out two sprinters snd they loved the beach. Would defiantly recommend

    Reviewed by Lorraine4.7Jan 2020

  • "A very basic and very small property."

    Bedrooms are tiny. Only a small sofa and one chair in lounge/kitchen, only suitable for 3 people to sit. No central heating, just very small plug in radiators. The garden is NOT dog friendly from a security perspective, it is enclosed at the sides by neighbours fences but not secure along the bottom, there is no fence and there is a large open gap which allows direct access to field. You can only access the garden via coming out of the front door and then through side gate.

    Reviewed by Melony3.1Nov 2019

  • "Well equipped and very quiet area."

    Reviewed by Steve5.0Oct 2019

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • All-ground-floor
  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living area with kitchen, dining and sitting area with electric fire
  • Electric heaters with electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, TV with Freeview and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Lawned garden
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 4.2 miles, pub 1.5 miles
  • Note: Opening to fields at the rear of the garden, please watch children and pets
  • Note: Garden is accessed via exiting the front door and entering through the side gate
  • Please note: The living area at this property is compact, may be most suited to 2-3 adults.

The property

Chapel St Leonards 4 miles.

This cosy single-storey property is located in the little hamlet of Anderby Creek, 4 miles from the village of Chapel St Leonards, on the Lincolnshire coast.

Moggs Retreat is a delightful getaway, perfect for families or those looking for a quiet base which is close to the amenities of Skegness and also the Lincolnshire Wolds AONB.

This all-ground-floor property comes with three well-presented bedrooms, each boasting a refreshing colour palette, ample storage space and plush bedding.

Look forward to relaxing in the sitting room, where you and your loved ones can curl up on the sofa which rests in front of an electric fire.

The open-plan living area is also comprised of the well-equipped kitchen, dressed in a nautical colour scheme, and a dining area.

To the outside are lawned areas which stretch around the side and rear of the property, providing enough space for the children and dog to play freely.

The local area of Anderby Creek is a peaceful and tranquil location, with the main attraction being the long stretch of sandy beach and sand dunes.

It is situated in Lincolnshire’s Coastal Park, an incorporates the England Coast Path that runs next to Moggs Retreat.

There is a beach café with a beer garden, and a further two pubs and a launderette on the main street.

Also, you will find the cloud watching outpost where you can relax and study the sky and watch the passing clouds.

Or you can walk to the Round and Round House, a bird hide in the sand dunes, and observe the views of the coast or the marshlands behind where you will see a variety of species of wildlife.

Also at Anderby Creek is Longways Lakeside Fishing Lake, for anyone who enjoys a spot of fishing!

Chapel St Leonards is a delightful village which offers a small Co-Op and Post Office, as well as a wonderful Animal Farm, which is perfect for a day out with the kids!

The lively resort of Skegness can be found 10 miles away, offering several attractions and amenities, including a Seal Sanctuary, Aquarium, Theme Park and the fun-filled pier.

Outdoor lovers might fancy exploring the Lincolnshire Wolds, an area of outstanding natural beauty which is popular for walking and cycling.

Ideally positioned for exploring all the delights of the North East of England, Moggs Retreat promises a memorable holiday with your loved ones.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

CHAPEL ST LEONARDS

Skegness 6.5 miles; Mablethorpe 10 miles

The quaint little village of Chapel St Leonards is situated on the Lincolnshire coast, seven miles from the popular resort of Skegness. The village centre is bursting with traditional shops, local family pubs and a variety of restaurants and cafes. The beautiful long sandy beaches and sand dunes are the perfect place to relax, with brightly painted beach huts adding to the appeal of this charming village. Chapel St Leonards boasts a good leisure centre, where families can hire motorboats, quad bikes, play crazy golf or simply go fishing. Each year there is the Chapel Carnival Parade, which includes an array of creative floats and activities on the Village Green, complete with a fireworks display on the promenade. Fantasy Island Theme Park in Ingoldmells is just three miles away, and the vibrant larger resorts of Skegness and Mablethorpe are worth visiting.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas