- Hot tub
- Off road parking
- Ground floor accommodation
- Ground floor bedroom
- Garden / Patio
- Broadband / WiFi
Reviews & Ratings
42 Customer Reviews
"All very nice + no complaints - just one minor quibble was with the WiFi and the ..."
All very nice + no complaints - just one minor quibble was with the WiFi and the connection not being reliable enough in the lodge so had to use mobile data instead whilst working remote
"Lodge was so clean ,cozy and comfortable we enjoyed our stay ."
Just a little thing small light on the stove would be great it was bit dark on that area. Overall we had a great time and kids loved it.
Thanks for your lovely feedback, we will make sure to take that into consideration. We hope to see you again in the near future. Property Owner
"We booked one or two holidays a year with Sykes over many years and, until now, have never been disappointed."
This property was rated 4 ticks but offered little to justify that rating. The issues were: • Cottage for six people has a tiny domestic fridge and a freezer compartment that was filled when we put a pack of ice in it; • The double doors to the garden did not close or secure properly; • Cutlery and crockery did not match; • No washing machine and no dishwasher; • Too many negative notices on walls and warning letters - one of them even began "Please comply with the following". Seriously, is that the way you would greet a guest. Things can be put into a positive statement; • Tracks into and around the property were worn into deep ruts and bumps that caused cars to ground; • Minimum of provision, eg six of each item of cutlery (eat breakfast and wash up for lunch and then for dinner; don't have a separate knife, fork or spoon for serving food). Just not generous as we experience from 4 tick properties elsewhere with Sykes; • One tiny tea towel; • Creaky floors; • No light over the cooker (did not work) nor any light over the prep side of the kitchen; • Slats on one of the beds were loose and allowed one to slip through when sitting on the bed; • We understood why there would be nobody on reception (notices indicated that they would be there infrequently) but why not at least have someone around at check in time? • No welcome pack (very rare in most properties and unique in our experience of Sykes); • Cheap glassware All in all, this has damaged our confidence in Sykes. Next year, I will not say, as I usually do to our family when I book, "We don't need to worry, its a Sykes Cottage" Positives: Cleanliness, pleasant interior, good wi fi, hot tub, amazing view and secluded garden.
Thanks for your feedback. In regards to the lodge, it is self catering, we offer towels, kitchen utensils, saucepans, linen etc. We haven't had any issues with the size of the fridge/freezer before, but will of course take this on board. It did clarify there was no washing machine or dishwasher in the lodge. We do offer cabins with these and so maybe you choose the wrong lodge. The roads have been sorted and filled in. There is a welcome pack in the lodge. Thanks Property Owner
"Amazing place very peaceful and nice views, me and my friends really like the place and we will defo be coming back."
Thanks for your recommendation, we can't wait to see you back again. Property Owner
"Absolutely amazing stay enjoyed every second of it only complaints are the ..."
Absolutely amazing stay enjoyed every second of it only complaints are the double bed was a bit worn out so we had to use the single beds and the internet connection was not the best but understandable
Thanks for your feedback. The internet connection has been sorted and the bed will definitely be checked. Thanks Property Owner
"Had a wonderful stay here."
The views were amazing, some of the best we’ve had so far. The lodge was lovely and clean. Could do with some basics like salt, pepper, tea, coffee, sugar & pint of milk as we didn’t bring any as everywhere we’ve stayed these are provided as standard but having said that the town of Rhayader is only a five minute drive away. Hot tub was covered nicely so even though it rained a few times it didn’t stop our enjoyment. Overall, a lovely park, would definitely recommend.
"The lodge we stayed in was clean, cosy and private which was just what we were looking for, we enjoyed the peace and quiet, sitting in the hot tub with a drink or 2 watching all the kites flying above which flew so close ."
Definitely a very relaxing break and the lodge was ideal for that
Thanks for your wonderful feedback, we hope to see you again soon. Property Owner
"Loved the place and could have stayed for a lot longer."
Great location and a very well laid out site. Private and scenery is as good as anything you could wish for.
"2nd time we have stayed and enjoyed it just as much this time."
Hot tub had a new cover and the lodge was lovely and homely. Easy check in and out, no light pollution and if it’s a relaxing quiet location you’re after then I highly recommend Oakwood lodge number 10
Thanks for your tremendous feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Property Owner
Very private balcony with fantastic views and safety guard for dogs. Hot tub cover was in need of repair really struggled to close lid. A curtain or blind on the kitchen door was needed as it looks straight into bedroom which made you feel exposed. I would recommend staying here very convienient for exploring the area.
"Rhayder is a very pretty area."
The view from the cabin was beautiful. It's just ashame about the cabin itself... The cabin Is a nice 3 bedroom size and comfortably sleeps 6, there's a good size bathroom with separate shower and bath which is handy for families with younger and older children. Kitchen is OK but the extractor fan has no light and light covers missing, also very few cooking utensils. Beds were comfortable but most have loose or broken slats. The back door only has a slide latch type lock. The decking at the back has several rotten boards so be careful where you stand. The hot tub has broken jets, no headrests, ripped and broken lid which has to be lifted off by hand as the handle is broken. The owners of the campsite allowed workmen to paint the outside of the cabin with some kind of varnish while we had popped out one day without asking our permission. We came back to the entire cabin smelling awful and wet patches still around the windows and doors so opening windows didnt even help clear the smell and we had to keep our younger ones away from the decking area. We didn't get apology. One thing they did manage was to send a polite girl to change the toaster when the one we had blew all the electrics one morning at the beginning of the week. Generally I would say look else where we won't be going back
Thank you for your feedback. The workmen did carry out some work on the outside of the cabin late one morning when you were out and I understand that the varnish was dry when you returned, and we did apologise for any lingering smell when you phoned us. It is a shame that you didn't mention anything else that you have raised in your feedback at the time as we are always on hand to assist with any guest queries and pride ourselves on giving guests a great stay. The property is self catering and we feel that any necessary utensils are provided for our guests. The decking has been checked and there are no rotten boards but we will monitor this The Hot tub lid has no handles, as we are in the middle of replacing them. Unfortunately, there is a shortage of hot tub parts and therefore there has been a delay replacing the handles. Property Owner
"Our stay was lovely and relaxing, however, we struggled with the cover for the hot tub because it was broken and when we had it changed we still had to pull it off and then lift it back on, we found this awkward and heavy."
We were not asked if we were able to do this and we were told that it could be put on by one person! I agree if you are strong but we have medical conditions that do not allow us to to pick up large heavy Items and I did pull my back!!! The recycling bins could be marked better and I was trying to recycle but all the bins were mixed up, so this was disappointing! Great stay otherwise.
"Having read mixed reviews we were pleasantly surprised with the lodge, it was perfect for our get away break and we will be definitely back again!"
The only issue we had and I had read the same in a number of reviews, how difficult it was to get the hot tub cover back on after use, it is very awkward due to the space.
Thanks for your feedback, we fully understand about the hot tub covers and we are in the middle of changing all of them. Thanks Property Owner
"Beautiful view from cottage peaceful spot will try again hot tub cover needs ..."
Beautiful view from cottage peaceful spot will try again hot tub cover needs attention as splitting but enjoyable well designed cottage and comfortable Patio needs attention as staging in places
Thanks for your feedback. A new hot tub cover has been put on now. Hopefully see you again soon. Property Owner
"We needed a break away and this was perfect."
The view was beautiful.
Thanks Sharon, wonderful feedback Property Owner
"Lovely place to stay, myself and the family loved our time here."
Some mornings we would wake up look outside and have a few sheep in the garden which our daughter was over the moon about. We will definitely look at coming back.
We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for your feedback. Property Owner
"Beautiful setting, nice lodge, very comfortable and well equipped, first night very loud drunk party going on until early hours was disappointing but the rest of our stay was very tranquil."
Took family and dogs and the facilities and area are great for exploring.
Truly sorry about the loud drunk party, we hope it didn't ruin your stay. Hopefully see you back again. Really appreciate the feedback. Property Owner
"We stayed in lodge 10."
It was lovely and clean. The garden was great as was the hot tub. We did have an issue with locking the door, we were unable to lock the door from the outside. Another issue was the Wi-Fi signal with the TV it was a bit hit and miss. Overall we had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend.
"Absolutely loved our stay, will defiantly be booking to come back again"
Thank you for your great feedback. We look forward to seeing you again. Property Owner
"Stayed for a week in April, 2 adults, 2 children and a dog."
Lodge was a good size and very clean, was well kept inside and outside. Was able to log into Netflix and Disney+ accounts on the TV. Shower was nice and hot with good pressure. Beds were good apart from a bit of a ditch in the double bed, still had good sleeps. There was a dog gate at the front of the lodge so she could sit on the decking without escaping. Hot tub was excellent. Had a bit of a problem with one of the brackets for the lid falling off but phoned the number provided and someone was there fixing it within about 5 minutes, thank you. The site is nice and quiet. Its about a 7 minute drive to Rhayader shops/ pubs etc. 20 minute drive to tesco in Llandrindod wells. Also about 15-20 mins to the beautiful Elan valley which has many walks around the dams and mountains. Will definitely return in the future for a nice relaxing dog friendly visit to a lovely part of Wales.
"The lodge was really nice the hot tub not too good the lodge sleeps 6 people but ..."
The lodge was really nice the hot tub not too good the lodge sleeps 6 people but the hot tub is for only 4 some of the jets were missing off the hot tub could also do with some lights where the hot tub is the cooker is really poor and took ages to make food and the decking is loose other than that I would book again
"The first night there was a issue with the lock on the children's bedroom door ,resulted in the children being locked in the room and having to climb out of the window to get out."
Some of the furniture was broken , the hottub wasn't managed by staff as stated ,had to top it up are self's , (but that was OK.) And lots of cats out the back and on the decking that frustrated are dogs , but all in all the cabin was nice, warm ,with everything you need, and we enjoyed are stay.
"Never been to wales before , daughter wanted to go ."
She found the lodges online and we booked. When we got there the lodge was lovely , very clean and felt homely . Lovely view too. Comfortable beds. Well equipped. We came home a day earlier than booked. from the whole holiday we only have one concern. Reception wasn’t manned , just a tiny room with a bench to collect key envelope , it said if we needed to speak to anyone there was a phone number on the wall and a door bell to ring for attention . I had called a few times as we had asked before we went if they had a DVD player in the lodge and was told he would get someone to put one in for when we arrived .there wasn’t one . No answer on the phone so we went out the next day to buy one , nowhere had any . We tried the bell on the way back but got no reply . So decided to telephone again once we were back in the lodge . Still no answer . On Monday night the electric went off , tried ringing 7 times but it just buzzed once then cut off . Hubby looked outside for the electric box but couldn’t find it . found the electric box eventually in the kitchen unit and got it back on . We left trip advisor review as we would recommend it , but think the customer service could do with improving while they have guests on site.
"Lodge was clean, was a quiet relaxing holiday just what we wanted."
Hot tub was amazing and clean.
"Amazing lodge with amazing potential."
A little heartbroken the hot tub wasn’t usable after first night. We rang maintenance but no one showed up! Very disappointing as we booked this especially to help with my arthritis. Apart from that the lodge was amazing. Beautiful location. Beautiful in the day and evening!
"The cabin is ideally suited for relaxation and beautiful views."
The hot tub was most enjoyable. The location of the cabin is ideally suited for day trips to Aberystwyth, Elan Valley, Rhayader is the nearest town with a good choice of independent shops for supplies,Post Office, tea rooms and dining. Other places of interest include the Old Railway Station at Welshpool, Builth Wells, Llandrindod Wells and if you are interested in books Hay -on- Wye is within easy reach. Bwlch Nant Yr Arian visitor centre is part of the National Resources of Wales where up to 150 Red Kites (rare bird) can be seen each day being fed mid afternoon. There is a cafeteria there and nice planned walks around the lake as well as picnic areas. All in all a most enjoyable week was spent in Rhayader and in the surrounding areas.
"Lodge internally was spacious and lovely ."
Garden was unmowed and unkept so could not use it . Hot tub was old and not checked at all while we were there . WiFi did not work .
"Views were fabulous."
We did have weather on our side. Gardens were NOT enclosed if you have dogs it is a problem. In need of dishwasher especially with Covid situation as crockery was stained on our arrival. However, we enjoyed our stay.
"Lovely spacious and comfortable cabin."
Garden and the view were stunning and the hot tub was fab! Only minor issue was we were a little confused about how to close the back door properly, but we got there in the end. Thank you for a fantastic stay!
"Booked this as a surprise for my partner's 30th."
Beautiful views & the lodge was spotless, also loved the hot tub! It is a shame about the amount of flies on arrival, but I'm guessing that's due to the windows being left open by the last guests. Also not as relaxing as we had thought, due to noisy neighbours playing loud music until early hours & allowing their dogs to constantly bark from 5am, these people spoil things for others. It's a shame really as we would have loved it otherwise.
"The cabin was spotless, the location was beautiful and the kids loved the hot tub."
We will definitely be back! Perfect break.
"Very helpful and on tap if anything went wrong ."
We would highly recommend it.
"Very happy with the holiday."
And Sykes Cottages customer service was excellent when we had to change the booking for COVID reasons. Friendly and professional throughout.
"Loved this place."
Was everything we wanted and needed. The Lodge was absolutely spotless! And just so cosy. Will definitely be booking again very soon
"The most beautiful log cabin set in the perfect tranquil place, surrounded just by farm land."
Me and my partner have a lot of log cabin holidays but this was a special one, relaxing in the hot tub on a clear night you can see the stars it was perfect. Everything you needed was at the lodge. It was our first time here at Oakwood lodges, and we will definitely be returning as we’ve already had a look for this year haha. We can’t wait to return in such a lovely and peaceful setting with great owners. Thanks for a lovely stay x
"Beautiful log cabin with amazing views."
"Honestly this place is incredible."
I've been to Greece, florid, Italy and all sorts but I can say hand on heart this was my fave place I have ever been to. Pictures or any words can't do it justice. This is the first review I have ever done as it was so good. I stayed in cabin 11 and the views were beyond anything you see online. The hot tub was incredible, the kitchen had everything you need to cook a good meal. The bedrooms were comfy, living area was very cozy and had great views even sitting on the sofa. I took my girlfriend there for our 3 years together, and she is training to be a farm vet, so cabin 11 was PERFECT for her as it was the closest to the farm. So throughout the day we would just sit outside, take in all the smells, and listen to nature take its course, the sheep were going all through out the day which she loved as its her fave animal. To sum up, if you love nature, animals, breathtaking views, ralaxing, peace, and just excape reality a bit, then I can't think of anywhere better to do it.
"Lovely holiday lodge very homely and comfortable."
The cleanliness was brilliant especially during these uncertain times. The views from the lodge were beautiful loved waking up to see them.
"We enjoyed our week at Valley View despite typical Welsh weather in August - lots of warm rain!"
The area is lovely and Rhyader had lots of incredible pubs with great food. The Elan Valley was very pretty - even in the rain - and we enjoyed several walks and a family cycle ride. The site is lovely and very good for dogs with several exercise fields. It is VERY hilly. The garden is listed as enclosed which is not true - there are three easy exit points so not suitable for off lead dogs. Please amend this in your description to "private garden" We enjoyed the hot tub which was maintained daily. The lodge was well equipped and the bedding/towels were all on the beds on arrival - all that was missing was a potato peeler! Our only complaint would be the beds which are incredibly soft - my husband who has a bit of a bad back struggled to sleep until I moved out into another room!
"Loud dance music from one of the other log cabins ruined our stay!"
It played each evening from about 6pm onwards and we ended up shut in our cabin with the windows closed, boiling hot, rather than outside enjoying the view and the hot tub as planned. On the first night we tried to get in touch with the owners by phone (no answer and voicemail full) and email but no response. Managed to get hold of someone the second night and they finally spoke to the people in that cabin just before 11pm and the music was turned down a bit. Same thing happened on our third and final night. No apology from the owners, just a message saying ‘I have told them.’ We booked this break thinking it would be incredibly relaxing and peaceful - instead it was noisy and stressful!
"Reception never answered to the phone or called back when I left a voicemail."
Thankfully it wasn’t about anything serious but it’s scary to think that nobody would be there to help out!
- Three bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x child bunks
- Bathroom with bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC
- Open-plan living room with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with electric fire
- Gas central heating with electric fire
- Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge with ice box, TV and WiFi
- Fuel and power inc. in rent
- Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
- Off-road parking for two cars
- Enclosed lawned garden and decking area with furniture and hot tub
- Two well-behaved pets welcome
- Sorry, no smoking
- Shop and pub 2.4 miles
Set in the heart of Oakwood Lodge Park, on the outskirts of Rhayader, is this charming contemporary lodge, Valley View.
Inside, the owner has created a smart and warming retreat with wooden panelled walls and plenty of quality furnishings making this a homely space most suitable for families.
Curl up on one of two leather sofas and spend the evening catching up on some of your favourite shows or planning the days ahead.
Offering a lovely sociable space is the large dining table where all six guests can gather around with superb views across the open fields providing a lovely backdrop.
The compact kitchen has been fitted to a high-standard and houses all the necessary appliances for rustling up some delicious meals for the whole family!
Retire to one of the well-presented bedrooms, set up as a double, twin and child bunk room with each bedroom sharing a delightful family bathroom.
To the front of the cottage is an enclosed garden area with beautiful rural views and a hot tub so you can let those bubbling jets work their magic on your aching muscles.
Valley View is the ultimate choice for a scenic retreat to the heart of Wales.
Note: This property can be booked with Refs. 1037959, 1038273, 1038274, 1038275 and 1039135, together they can sleep 32 guests.
Oakwood Lodge Park
Sitting at the centre of Wales, in easy reach of a wide range of countryside delights, these three lodges on the Oakwood Lodge Park provide the perfect place for an escape to Wales with your loved ones. Sleeping sixteen people in total, these holiday homes are perfectly suited to a group of friends or family seeking a traditional lodge dwelling to return to after a day of fun-filled exploration. Settled on the outskirts of the market town of Rhayader, you can expect to find a plethora of natural wonders on your doorstep. All boasting their own hot tubs and spectacular views, there's no better base for a relaxing retreat in Wales. Rhayader is the oldest town in Mid-Wales and hosts a wide range of historical delights to discover, with its clock tower sitting at its centre surrounded by a selection of quaint shops, tea rooms and more, it's an extremely idyllic base. Be sure to take a trip to the Red Kite Feeding Station to witness birdlife like no other, or for an even more scenic experience, the Shropshire Hills Area of Outstanding can be reached via a steady car journey, here you can discover opportunities for rambling and cycling which will lead you to marvellous viewing points overlooking charming villages and luscious landscapes. Enjoy a leisurely stroll through the Elan and Claerwen Valleys before indulging a delicious lakeside lunch in Llandrindod Wells, followed by an afternoon of uncovering its rich history. Surrounded by excitement of all kinds, the Oakwood Lodge Park is perfectly placed for your next retreat to Wales.
About the location
Llandrindod Wells 10 miles; Aberystwyth 34 miles.
Rhayader is a small Welsh market town with a selection of tea rooms, pubs, restaurants, amenities and unique little boutiques, including local antiques. An added bonus of a leisure centre with a large swimming pool and a weekly livestock market. The Red Kite Feeding Station, on the outskirts of the town is a great attraction not to be missed. Rhayader is the first town on the River Wye and is home to the spectacular dams and reservoirs of the Elan and Claerwen Valleys. The Elan Valley offers a variety of walks and cycle trails (cycle hire is available in Rhayader), as well as a visitor’s centre with café and children's play area. This area is known as the Wildlife Centre of Wales, with its amazing variety of nature reserves open for visitors to enjoy. There is also pony trekking available in the area. Visit Builth Wells, where the Spring Festival, Royal Welsh Agricultural Show and Winter Fair are all held annually. Alternatively, a scenic drive will take you to the Welsh coast 34 miles away.
This property offers the following short breaks:
- Last minute